Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: December 20, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 355 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
302
Mixed:
32
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Great movie. Awe inspiring. No fancy things about. It was convincing especially with age and time. Basically it stuck to the core elements of what made the original great. A hero faced against the odds, to rise above them a win with your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorMar 13, 2016
Rocky Balboa, again, makes a terrific honor to his name and the film's. This is a totally dramatic and action-packed film, that shows Rocky Balboa's past and present, fighting for him, one more time. Rocky's fans will never be disappointedRocky Balboa, again, makes a terrific honor to his name and the film's. This is a totally dramatic and action-packed film, that shows Rocky Balboa's past and present, fighting for him, one more time. Rocky's fans will never be disappointed with this masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Feb 9, 2016
Even after 10 years, Rocky Balboa fails to lose its luster. I've seen all of the Rocky franchise and while these movies are entertaining to a point, you begin to lose hope for the serious especially after sitting through Rocky V, which wasEven after 10 years, Rocky Balboa fails to lose its luster. I've seen all of the Rocky franchise and while these movies are entertaining to a point, you begin to lose hope for the serious especially after sitting through Rocky V, which was the worst entry in the series. Rocky Balboa succeeds because its a film that was needed to finally bring a sense of conclusion to the Rocky franchise and send Rocky off the right way, the way he deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 7, 2016
Rocky Balboa will bring back all the Rocky moments from all the trainings to the fighting. You'll at least enjoy this movie more than Rocky V anyways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheDude-Nov 17, 2015
Rocky Balboa is a great send off to the series delivering on some great acting and scenes filled fantastic dialogue and emotion and is one of the best in the series as always the end fight is as always brilliantly executed and has a lot ofRocky Balboa is a great send off to the series delivering on some great acting and scenes filled fantastic dialogue and emotion and is one of the best in the series as always the end fight is as always brilliantly executed and has a lot of tension and is awe inspiring my only problem with the film is that the villain of the film "Dixon" wasn't as intimidating and threatening as i would have liked him to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well,
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well, incredible. Some may argue that it's melodramatic as hell, but it captures the spirit of the original Rocky and gives a satisfying ending to this disjointed franchise.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DobianNov 19, 2014
Rocky Balboa was FINALLY the sequel that faithfully captured the spirit of the original. Rocky II was simply so that Rocky could win the championship, III and IV were Rocky in some kind of alternate cartoon action universe, and Rocky V wasRocky Balboa was FINALLY the sequel that faithfully captured the spirit of the original. Rocky II was simply so that Rocky could win the championship, III and IV were Rocky in some kind of alternate cartoon action universe, and Rocky V was about Rocky not boxing which equals terrible. But this movie comes along and it's like I'm seeing the Rocky I met in the original for the first time in over thirty years. Like the first film, it's all about the characters and the whole theme of being true to yourself and trying your best. Not to mention, we get to see Spider Rico again! No overwrought dramatics about winning the un-winnable fight against some cartoon supervillain like a Clubber or a Drago. There is no villain in this one. Mason Dixon as the current champ isn't a cartoon, he's a fully fleshed-out character who is as troubled about this fight for his own reasons as Rocky is. Without giving away who wins, Rocky himself compliments Dixon as a great champion after the final bell. In the end, it doesn't matter if Rocky wins or loses the fight. Just like in the first movie, he's already won. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joyalSep 10, 2014
Sylvester Still got the fight in him, truly inspirational,totally loved it,a good feel film, rocky balboa has heart ,excellent screenplay ,a lot of touching moments, good supporting cast, good acting and direction by sylverster, i loved thatSylvester Still got the fight in him, truly inspirational,totally loved it,a good feel film, rocky balboa has heart ,excellent screenplay ,a lot of touching moments, good supporting cast, good acting and direction by sylverster, i loved that dialogue- "it ain't about how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward" i will do that ,if u not watch this film yet,go and watch it, another favourite quote " it ain't over till 'it is over " Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 28, 2014
I swore for years I would never watch a single Rocky movie: they're not my type, and I could not dislike Stallone any more than I do.

But ever since I got interested in Milo Ventimiglia, I could no longer avoid this final part of the
I swore for years I would never watch a single Rocky movie: they're not my type, and I could not dislike Stallone any more than I do.

But ever since I got interested in Milo Ventimiglia, I could no longer avoid this final part of the series. The others I won't bother to watch.

To my surprise, the movie was rather good. The growth of the plot was predictable, there was nothing surprising there - and then again, Stallone's performance was rather good. Like a man who has been hit in the head one too many times, but who still cares. The relationship between father and son (Stallone/Ventimiglia) grew from ragged to whole. The change was perhaps a little too swift, but then again, that was not the point in the movie the makers wanted to highlight, I suppose.

The big fight in the end, which was the goal of the whole movie, wasn't something spectacular. Realistic, yes, but that's about it. Once you've seen something like that, you've seen them all.

Great words about fighting and never giving up, though. Inspirational.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysApr 17, 2014
The wonder and awe of the Rocky movies is the fact that even 30 years after the first movie's release, the series still feels revitalized and rejuvenated. Watching Rocky Balboa, nostalgia of the first movie will hit you like a wave, but it'sThe wonder and awe of the Rocky movies is the fact that even 30 years after the first movie's release, the series still feels revitalized and rejuvenated. Watching Rocky Balboa, nostalgia of the first movie will hit you like a wave, but it's a wave you'll enjoy riding. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MDiGIaCJan 1, 2014
As someone who has sat through all of the Rocky movies, there was no better, more emotional way to bring the entire legend of Rocky to retirement. A roller coaster of emotion and a nostalgic nod to the seasoned Rocky fans this conclusionAs someone who has sat through all of the Rocky movies, there was no better, more emotional way to bring the entire legend of Rocky to retirement. A roller coaster of emotion and a nostalgic nod to the seasoned Rocky fans this conclusion really couldn't have been more well done, plenty of heart and plenty of spirit, that's what Rocky is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Rocky Balboa boxes for one last time.
A tale of loss and of redemption. Rocky Balboa finds a way to win hearts in this underdog story of true ability by the drive of one man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuDec 10, 2012
Who would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feelWho would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feel unbelievably happy every time I see it. Absolutely perfect! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
This Rocky went in the right direction and went back towards the style of the first two Rocky movies, just when the cheesy 80's style was starting to wear on us. Very touching and the fight scene is well-made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobMar 11, 2012
Its a lot better ending to the franchise then Rocky 5 but still an un-needed one really. Its pretty much a combination of every other Rocky film. It was ok and worth the watch but I still feel it was un-needed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jedi_JettsonFeb 29, 2012
It doesn't match up to the first two, but it improves over Rocky III, IV, and V and Rocky Balboa (Sylvester Stallone) returns facing hardcore challenges you wouldn't expect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gta9246Feb 18, 2012
Very epic film. Rocky 'The Italian Stallion' Balboa shows that if you want something, you can go get it if you work hard for it. The Rocky series is one of the most epic and awesome movie series there is, and i don't think that there will beVery epic film. Rocky 'The Italian Stallion' Balboa shows that if you want something, you can go get it if you work hard for it. The Rocky series is one of the most epic and awesome movie series there is, and i don't think that there will be movies like this in the close future... Old movies FTW!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
This is a far better ending to the franchise then what Rock 5 was. The acting was solid but it still follows the same basic Rocky formula. I liked how the film was more serious this time around and focused on the problems Rocky faced outsideThis is a far better ending to the franchise then what Rock 5 was. The acting was solid but it still follows the same basic Rocky formula. I liked how the film was more serious this time around and focused on the problems Rocky faced outside of training for his opponent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MustisTheCatAug 17, 2011
I got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background of the main story. This is about ending a great series of movies telling a story about a guy from theI got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background of the main story. This is about ending a great series of movies telling a story about a guy from the slums who fought his way to glory but still remained a human being with all his faults and tragic events. I have never thought Silvester Stallone for a bad actor, average maybe, but still making excellent movies. In this one he plays it really well. We see a broken down boxer struggling to live his life without his wife Adrien, trying to recreate the connection with his son lost somewhere along the way of him growing up. Throught the film he visits the old spots from the previous movies, recalling his biggest moments in life and how it could all have gone a whole different way. He tries to return to the ring one last time to show that the great Rocky Balboa is still here, living amongst us. The champion he challenges is also a likeable characterm not over the top. A guy who respects Rocky deep inside, but he also must maintain his own glory as the best in current times. Also Rocky does it kind of funny, as he is perfectly aware of his age and limitations. This film does not feature the typical villain - hero duel from previous Rocky movies. More like both boxers are level headed persons with their own problems. The music is top class, acting is good. Directing is spot on. The story is well thought and executed. When watching the intro I felt as if I was to be dissapointed. Couple of hours later I was both happy and sad for Rocky, as the story has really ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Khunter4382May 31, 2011
"Yo Adrian! We did it!" Stallone nailed it! This is a beautiful film that truly measures the importance of an aging life and how one copes with losing a loved one and being the "has-been". This film wanders into sweet nostalgia and stays"Yo Adrian! We did it!" Stallone nailed it! This is a beautiful film that truly measures the importance of an aging life and how one copes with losing a loved one and being the "has-been". This film wanders into sweet nostalgia and stays there the whole time, all the while lingering on heartbreak, redemption, and inner peace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HomeCriticOct 25, 2010
Rocky Balboa is a great film, which brings back nostalgia. It completely stands on it's own but also is a great sequel to Rocky's franchise. It's a movie which brings back you to the roots, and has a charm of Rocky I and II. The story isRocky Balboa is a great film, which brings back nostalgia. It completely stands on it's own but also is a great sequel to Rocky's franchise. It's a movie which brings back you to the roots, and has a charm of Rocky I and II. The story is really well made, the characters are great and interesting as always. The story brings you in Rocky's perspective right away. Nostalgia is a main engine of this movie and if you want remember good old days of Rocky you should definitely check it out. It's little bit disappointing that there is no Survivor song in the movie, but it's good that there is a main Rocky theme "Gonna Fly Now". In conclusion the movie is really worth watching. It's nostalgic, depressing at the moments, but at the end leaves you with warm emotions. I really enjoyed it and in my opinion its better than III and V. If you're a fan of Rocky, this movie won't disappoint you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
He was right: it aint over till it's over. Rocky Balboa is a tender, poetic picture, and when you watch it, at least, when I watched it - and I've seen it twice - you will be struck by the honesty of the filmmaker. Stallone may not be a greatHe was right: it aint over till it's over. Rocky Balboa is a tender, poetic picture, and when you watch it, at least, when I watched it - and I've seen it twice - you will be struck by the honesty of the filmmaker. Stallone may not be a great director in the sense of traditional greatness, but his greatness is with the real truth by which he tells this story. He WANTS it told. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
akeemgJan 21, 2009
This movie was touching. I really love and enjoyed hearing those great little speeches that rocky made through out the movie,those are my favorite parts to watch.This is the best rocky movie in the entire series
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
lolanAug 3, 2008
Joe is an amazing fighter, has a bright future ahead of him hope to see him in many more pictures.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
scottbJul 20, 2008
This movie was way better then i hoped it to be. This movie had the same feel as the first rocky movie. just the drama which stalone pulls of perfectly. if he made another movie like this i would see it in a heartbeat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nomadJul 15, 2008
The very first scene of Rocky visiting Adrians grave got me 100 percent and i never took my attention off the screen down the line.. Not just a bogus sequel of Indi Jones ilk that came across as a money grab and nothing more but actually a The very first scene of Rocky visiting Adrians grave got me 100 percent and i never took my attention off the screen down the line.. Not just a bogus sequel of Indi Jones ilk that came across as a money grab and nothing more but actually a great capper to a great series.. My hat goes of to Sly! YOu are the MAN Sly!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonP.Apr 7, 2008
Great Movie, I enjoyed how they focused on the man!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousJoeFeb 23, 2008
Four words: A damn good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BWilliamsFeb 18, 2008
I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this character and makes you want to believe hes real and makes you get behind him and theres no better credibility for acting than this. It was also good to see he proved his point without winning. If he won it would have given us a predictable less satisfying ending than the way the man won our respects without winning the match. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerG.Jan 27, 2008
A great ending to a great series that will live on for generations. Rocky Balboa is an excellent movie with something for everyone. Longtime fans will rejoice just by the fact that the series wasnt finished with Rocky V, and casual A great ending to a great series that will live on for generations. Rocky Balboa is an excellent movie with something for everyone. Longtime fans will rejoice just by the fact that the series wasnt finished with Rocky V, and casual movie-goers will also love this film. Just watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlosG.Sep 10, 2007
This movie was good but as good as Rocky 4.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
adieb.Aug 1, 2007
very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just like in the first film,man it was an amazing acting,perfect actually, to brought back the character he created almost 30 years ago and he didn't forgot.at first i though its gonna be a crappy low budget sequel like some other movies.but its nowhere near that category..it truly is a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JochraJul 28, 2007
I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back simplicity of the first film. And a fitting return. The training montage had it all, the sides of beef, the (original?) dodgy grey tracksuit, and of course, the steps. But more than that this film, apart from some schmaltzy stuff, presented a believable development of a character that anyone who enjoyed the first film would welcome. Take one and 6 together and you have some powerful modern cinema that Stallone can be proud to be judged by. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilboBJul 23, 2007
This film exceeded my expectations...it is occasionally bogged down in sentimentality but overall a worthy swansong for the character and a welcome return to form for Sly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkH.Jun 15, 2007
It benefits from low expectations and suffers from too much schmalz. But in the end, Stallone's return to the old formula that worked so well is a far more fitting end than Rocky V (and a tribute to steroids). Great touch using real It benefits from low expectations and suffers from too much schmalz. But in the end, Stallone's return to the old formula that worked so well is a far more fitting end than Rocky V (and a tribute to steroids). Great touch using real announcers and fighters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisD.Jun 10, 2007
What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the edge of my seat, nearly in tears - I couldnt believe how well done this flick was. Rocky Balboa the character is an American icon that will live on for generations thanks to Sly Stallone's vision - well done!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamB.Apr 8, 2007
When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. But is it? "Rocky Balboa" somehow not only redeemed Stallone for his awful fifth movie, but it is now the best movie of 2006. Rocky is back, only now working as a manager of a small town resteraunt. All he has left are his stories and Pauly. A lot of drama in this film is in the death of Rocky's beloved wife Adrian. It's so well done that your heart breaks. It seems that all movies are mentioned but the fifth one(wonder why.....), so it's not like it's some sort of remake or re-interpretation like everyone mistakingly thought it would be. Now Rocky must take on Mason "The Line" Dixon, currently one of the nastiest boxers active to redeem himself and show the world that he's still got it. No matter what, he does. The final fight is fantastic, and the acting is top notch. Stallone truly taps into the character that is Rocky. By the end, you WANT Rocky to win. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeekApr 6, 2007
I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely outstanding!!! I cried like a child and thought it was BY FAR the best Rocky of all and the others didn't come close. Obviously Rocky I made the last Rocky what it was. Without Rocky I this last fillm would not have worked. Rocky Balboa is literally a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillK.Apr 2, 2007
I was shocked at how good this was. The best I've seen in a long time. Its like night and day from Rocky V. The acting in this one is great, the story is great and really inspires. It will almost make you irrationally want to see yet I was shocked at how good this was. The best I've seen in a long time. Its like night and day from Rocky V. The acting in this one is great, the story is great and really inspires. It will almost make you irrationally want to see yet another sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffF.Mar 28, 2007
I just wish Stallone had written some real dialogue insted of the nonstop speeches.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewS.Mar 23, 2007
I smiled from beginning to end. Rocky Balboa is the perfect coda to our greatest modern fairytale. This movie channels the best of the previous installments, particularly the original. Two or three awful (but small) supporting performances I smiled from beginning to end. Rocky Balboa is the perfect coda to our greatest modern fairytale. This movie channels the best of the previous installments, particularly the original. Two or three awful (but small) supporting performances and a slow buildup didn't damper my enthusiasm. My favorite movie of 2006. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TetoMar 22, 2007
Since the original in 1977 this is the best Rocky's sequel...emotive and inspiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryB.Mar 21, 2007
In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his best and most nuanced performance of the series, going back to some of the more interesting aspects of his character from the first movie. When I first heard the movie was being made, I thought it was a horrible idea but figured I'd see it for laughs. However, it was a legitimately good and inspiring movie that is much lower on cheesiness and implausibility than I had expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RafaelO.Mar 6, 2007
Its surprising, this realistic drama definitely punched a lot of reviewers from the last Rocky
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DL.Feb 23, 2007
Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and emotion rather than an action fest...Truly a triumph!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TianaB.Feb 20, 2007
Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this movie, she was its heart and soul. Yo, Rocky and Adrian, you did it again!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeanoS.Feb 15, 2007
The fight physical side wasn't as good as previous movies but the emotional side was spot on. It tied all the loose ends up and really works well with the previous rocky's, the training scene was a little cheesy but because the The fight physical side wasn't as good as previous movies but the emotional side was spot on. It tied all the loose ends up and really works well with the previous rocky's, the training scene was a little cheesy but because the film was based around the character instead of the final fight it didnt matter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtM.Feb 12, 2007
Great movie. Awe inspiring. No fancy things about. It was convincing especially with age and time. Basically it stuck to the core elements of what made the original great. A hero faced against the odds, to rise above them a win with your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Feb 6, 2007
What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade about what a 'loser' he thought Stallone was in his late career; Razzie award honcho John Wilson seemed a bit disappointed that Stallone's latest installment in the Rocky saga was actually quite good (and therefore ineligible for Razzie award consideration). Perhaps it has something to do with even his supporters' general assumption that since his first big success with the original Rocky back in 1976, the size of his ego has ballooned past that of his famous muscles, and that he tends to assume that we're all as interested in him as he is in himself. (I mean, who wants to hear his recent admission that he gave up sex while filming Rocky Balboa to get the same edge that professional boxers used to similarly abstain in order to give themselves? I don't WANT mental pictures of Stallone pouring ice water down his pants a la Jake La Motta in Raging Bull. TMI, Sly!) Since Stallone has always seen himself as Rocky and vice versa, and the fortunes of both larger-than-life figures have run parallel, it's not surprising that Stallone's many personal and professional disappointments as of late (an eponymous magazine that only ran 3 issues, a boxing-related reality TV series that was irreparably crippled by the suicide of one of the contestants, the failure of Cop Land to regain him Serious Acting Cred, and the fact that his biggest box office hit in the last 10 years was--gulp!--Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over) undoubtedly spill into this chapter. The result is that Stallone admirably humbles himself and his character, scaling down from the overblown tendencies of some of the previous chapters and suffusing Rocky Balboa with more tenderness, humanity and heart--the qualities that made Rocky an iconic figure to begin with--than we've seen since he took on Apollo Creed for the very first time so long ago. In fact, after the sincere but overwrought Rocky II, the entertaining if synthetic III, the fraudulent IV and the completely forgettable V, this is not only the best of the Rocky sequels by far, but the ONLY truly essential one. Stallone, like Balboa, goes back to the original's roots, remembering that it was a character study first, a love story second and a boxing movie third, and that our emotional investment in the first two was what made the third so effective. Talia Shire, as now-deceased wife and love of his life Adrian, may not show up here except in photos and flashbacks, but her presence is so powerful that it compares with Hitchcock's Rebecca in terms of characters who absolutely dominate the proceedings while not actually being around to actively participate in them. (That's why the much-discussed friendship that Rocky develops with a minor character from the first film, played here by Geraldine Hughes, is exactly that: a friendship. No less and no more. Another look at this movie's final scene establishes that.) Stallone also remembers that the best Rocky movies, like the best Disney animated features and the best James Bond films, feature the best antagonists, and here for the first time since Apollo, Rocky's opponent (Antonio Tarver) is not a cardboard cartoon villain but a complex, multidimensional individual with insecurities and vulnerabilities. (And let's have no more carping about how unconvincing and improbable the plot device that gets them together in the ring--a computer-simulated fantasy fight--may be. It's no more so than in Numero Uno, and anyway, when you're enjoying the ride this much, why grouse if the ignition initially sputters a little?) It's just one more indication of how much of a joy Rocky Balboa is to watch that the familiar musical theme by Bill Conti (best known in recent years as "Stickman", the Academy Awards conductor that Julia Roberts chewed out onstage for trying to attenuate her acceptance speech, so clearly this represents a comeback for HIM, too) once again elicits genuine excitement and anticipation rather than being an easy punchline. But then Rocky Balboa is so good at what it's doing that it inspires even those of us who have kept our esthetic distance from Stallone (and with Cobra, Stop or My Mom Will Shoot and Driven on his resume, it's safe to say that this covers nearly all of us at several points) for the first time in easily retrievable memory, to actually want a piece of the Rock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnA.Jan 21, 2007
Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this movie would have been the best of the year. And the ending wasn't that great either. Maybe Everything from Punchie to a drunk out of work Paulie was perfect in this movie. If Rocky would have disowned his son and adopted Steps this movie would have been the best of the year. And the ending wasn't that great either. Maybe Rocky 7 will be better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyB.Jan 19, 2007
The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a better ending. I grew up on Rocky and his story and this was a perfect ending to a true American Icon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnN.Jan 17, 2007
I was raised on Rocky movies. They are a small piece of cinema tape that binds me to my dad. I'm glad I can share this movie "heart" with my son.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRockJan 17, 2007
It was an awesome movie. [***SPOILER***] It was cool when Rocky got punched in the ribs by Mason and he broke his hand (Rocky has abs of steel).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Jan 17, 2007
I really liked the way it mimicked most of the other Rocky films at some point. Really liked the ending, going back to mimick the first Rocky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishM.Jan 15, 2007
I couldn't believe what I was seeing! Sly looked just as good (or better) than he looked 30 years ago! Wonderfully written script! Great acting! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveJan 15, 2007
Erases the 4th & 5th one in my mind - a great way to to end an american icon!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineD.Jan 15, 2007
I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not wanting to be told how their life should be lived just because they've reached a certain point in it. The movie comes close to the original, and that says a lot for the 6th movie in a saga. GO GET'EM ROCK!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudioFJan 15, 2007
Touching story, this movie mixed up all the ingredients that a great movie can have... Stallone was just great! Now I feel real sad that the Rocky Series are over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinM.Jan 10, 2007
This movie was simply awsome. Stallone was excellent and the story was touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarioG.Jan 9, 2007
Just a few words to describe this movie: wonderful, perfect, fantastic. It has been the first film in my life that has made me crying! Thank you, Italian Stallion!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Jan 7, 2007
This movie wasn't to continue. It was to nicely conclude the series. Best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoB.Jan 4, 2007
I think this is a wonderful movie, it is going beyond a boxing exhibition. It is about the challenges an ordinary person can run into his/her life. Characters are well defined, I think this is a two thumbs up movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffYJan 4, 2007
After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the only two people who were excited as I was - my brother and one of my coworkers. Before I get deeper into my reactions of Sly's latest installation into the beloved Rocky series, let it be known that whatever I am about to write, I do not intend it as a review as I believe the Rocky series have gone beyond that which needs a movie "review". To me, and hopefully many others as well, Rocky has reached an echelon in it's own class. There are sequels, and there are trilogy's, but the Rocky series has impounded and unsurmountable amount of impact and influence into the lives of those who've kept faith in a character whom I feel is the truest hero that represents the meaning of courage, love and moral values. How many Hollywood heroes can you say that about? The Rocky series, at its core, is not about beating up bad guys, swash buckling adventure, or saving the world. It's a story about Rocky Balboa, a man with a big heart who goes through the ups and down of life in its most extreme. Boxing was always just a tool to illustrate the trials of life that he goes through. All throughout the series, Rocky never fights anyone in particular. In actuality, every one of his fights were internal. In the first Rocky, he "goes the distance" with Apollo Creed, but it was never about winning the fight. He was given an opportunity and the fight was about how far he could take himself. In essence, he was fighting himself. This underlying motif manifests itself best in the first Rocky and the latest, "Rocky Balboa". It does seem to get less apparent as the movies evolves from an Oscar winning drama into quintessential hollywood flicks, but it never really disappears. Some may criticize the series as getting lost from its original meaning, detracting to senseless action and formulaic plots. I would agree to a point, but I am not complaining at all! In fact, I applaud it for what it has become. As extensions of the original, the series has brought us the most memorable moments in film history. Who could forget the fight with Mr. T ("dead meat") in Rocky III or the big Russian dude, Drago ("I will break you") in Rocky IV. Nonetheless, beyond the adrenaline filled fight scenes and cool one-liners, these sequels still contained the core value that brought alive the character Rocky and the unforgiving world that is created. Time and time, Rocky is tested and the result is that he has to fight, but it was never ever for himself in the selfish sense. After going the distance, he fights for Adrian in the second (giving her a better life), and then he fights for Micky (but not for vengeance), and in the fourth he fights for Apollo who stood for America (again not for vengeance). Actually, my man Bill Simmons believes Rocky single handedly ended the Cold War! Like Bill Simmons, I don't know how many times I've watched Rocky. You can not deny the characters' influence over our lucky generation. Rocky Balboa is by far a much better role model than the so-called heroes on film these days. [***SPOILER***] It just brings you to tears to see Rocky after all these years and long after Adrian's death, spending time in front of her grave and revisiting places they've been together. That is true love - undying love. "Adrian is dead, but she never is in here". This concept of love, I believe, is dead in the new generation brought up by MTV. Rocky stands for those heroes, famous athletes, or celebrities who are as nice in person as he is in the media (if there are any). A prime example of this kind of moral value that is lacking in not only movie heroes, but professional athletes and celebrities alike, is a scene in Rocky Balboa where Rocky goes and just casually changes the light bulb for a friend he just met. This kind of gesture is subtle but it is nonetheless powerful and reminds us that nice guys do exist. We are living in a generation of people who are more realists than idealists who accept "darker" versions of classic heroes like Batman and James Bond because to them it seems more "believable". It is nice to be reminded that throughout all these years and even though times have changed, Rocky still retains his high moral esteem. Rocky is still Rocky. The strength of his character has been tested, having been pinned against multiple opponents and the quality of his character comes in full breadth in "Rocky Balboa" and for one last time, it reminds us of an old belief that has been long lost. Thank you Mr. Stallone. You have truly created an unforgettable character and an epic story that should be retold with every generation so that his values can be passed throughout time. Just don't be like George Lucas and re-release the series with inserted scenes and computer graphics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimC.Jan 4, 2007
Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love of the characters, and this shines through in the movie. More than a movie about fighting and training, this final installment in the Rocky series transcends life, and reaches out to the audience with raw emotion. The music is perfect, and all characters works so well together especially Rocky and Paulie. The perfect final installment to the orginal Rocky and Rocky Two. Thank you to Mr. Stallone for making this movie, and the inspiration you have provided to audience members to take the hits in life and to keep moving forward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyK.Jan 3, 2007
I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with this movie. I advise everyone to go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulL.Jan 3, 2007
Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both perenial underdogs that people love to see succeed since we know they can. Neither dissappoint this time around and it makes you feel great for both the filmmaker and the character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CathyA.Jan 2, 2007
I thought the Rocky movie was great. It touched me just like the first one does. It will have you on your feet shouting for Rocky. Very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveR.Jan 2, 2007
Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Rocky I. This was a classy, well made, well acted film. It wasn't overly sentimental, it wasn't overly preachy. It is an audience movie, more than anything. During Rocky's rousing exchangees with Paulie in the meat plant and his son outside Adrian's restaurant, as well as with the boxing federation, brought passionate reactions from the audience both times I saw the movie. They were incredible moments. The training montage...it was electric when that familiar score came back on, and the fight was realistically done with tension and drama. The movie was excellent. It was heartbreaking, sweet, and electrifying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnujV.Jan 2, 2007
the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and sensationalize minor flaws, where i personally believe they should highlight more on the principles the movie is based on rather than jus browbeat irrelevant stuff.. the world needs optimism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeniseT.Jan 1, 2007
It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of the best it would be Rocky V. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DelanoP.Jan 1, 2007
this is the first boxing movie I've ever seen that features HBO's PPV boxing. it made it seem almost real. a must see in my book. And yes it is another classic that will be played again and again in my house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DraculaDec 31, 2006
Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen status and saying good bye on your own terms without fear. It was NOT a boxing movie per se. Even the fight was NOT about a BAD Guy but rather facing FATHER TIME. And the fight was explained in that Antonio Tarver broke his hand in the first round. Ron obviously you had no clue what was going on and therefore missed one great movie. Rocky is and will always be champion of the underdog in that if you can dream it you can do it. Pity you didn't comprehend what you went to see. This is a fitting climax to a great saga. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulFratianniDec 31, 2006
The latest and hopefully last in the Rocky series threw every cliché in the book at you and even included the kitchen sink, to mix metaphors, and I still liked it. [***WARNING SPOILERS***] There was the egg drinking, the meat The latest and hopefully last in the Rocky series threw every cliché in the book at you and even included the kitchen sink, to mix metaphors, and I still liked it. [***WARNING SPOILERS***] There was the egg drinking, the meat pounding, the running up the steps, and of course the music we all know and love so well. It was a trip down memory lane with numerous flashbacks which thankfully were not too long, actually they were almost too short. The best parts of the film are not the fight scenes but watching how a simple man can show so much kindness and wisdom to the people that surrounds him. The best scene was when old Sly was with Paulie, talking about what he had in the basement surrounding WARNING [***SPOILER***] his wife's death. Wow, he really shined through on that one. What was disappointing about this movie is that it really could have been so much more. Though the fight scenes were somewhat exciting they were even less believable than the other Rockys. In the end (ANOTHER SPOILER) both fighters barely even look winded. And I did not like the last scene either. It really didn't touch the viewer like it supposed to. Still, overall Rocky Balboa was a worthy end to a series that will forever been an American Icon to us and the rest of the world. I kept hearing the getting stronger song in my head and punching around well after the movie was over. Any movie that can do such upon the consciousness deserves the be seen as a worthy tribute to a lasting legacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillC.Dec 29, 2006
Chad s from the advanced scouting team...i see your point, however. All that matters is weather the movie was good or not. And it fit was great, Nostalgia played a big part, but it was part of the movie, and i enjoyed myself immensly. Dont Chad s from the advanced scouting team...i see your point, however. All that matters is weather the movie was good or not. And it fit was great, Nostalgia played a big part, but it was part of the movie, and i enjoyed myself immensly. Dont read to much into it, movies are entertainment plain and simple, and this movie WILL entertain you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJKDec 29, 2006
Best of all the rocky's.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoxanneH.Dec 28, 2006
I thought this moving was going to be a disaster, but instead I found myself crying at the end. I didn't want the movie to end! It was a great experience and a great decission to do one more round. Thank you Mr. Stallone!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lucas_in_denverDec 27, 2006
Rocky Balboa is a wonderful film, one of the few films this holiday season that I can take the entire family to and not feel that my hard-earned dollar was wasted! As a father to three young boys, I definately had a lump or two in my throat Rocky Balboa is a wonderful film, one of the few films this holiday season that I can take the entire family to and not feel that my hard-earned dollar was wasted! As a father to three young boys, I definately had a lump or two in my throat when it came to a few scenes with his son, also at forty-something, I can begin to identify with the "stuff in the basement" scene from the film. There is alot going on in Rock Balboa that is both heart-warming and emotional, yet uplifting. A great end to a great series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyE.Dec 27, 2006
I absolutely loved this movie!! It's the only movie I've been to where everybody in the theater clapped at the end. It's a really inspirational movie that everyone should see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrookeC.Dec 27, 2006
Quite simply, the shocker of the year. I was expecting hig camp at the most, and what I got was a truly good film. This is what Rocky is all about, and even I, the most hardened movie cynic was on the edge of my seat during the fight. What a Quite simply, the shocker of the year. I was expecting hig camp at the most, and what I got was a truly good film. This is what Rocky is all about, and even I, the most hardened movie cynic was on the edge of my seat during the fight. What a way to go out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RalphieBoyDec 27, 2006
Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own peace and in the process earns the grateful respect of an entire nation. This is a holiday treasure that will long be remembered as a fitting ending to the never give up spirit of its author Sylvester Stallone. Just fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayDeeDec 27, 2006
"Rocky Balboa" ends the series the best way possible: showing just how human we all are~even Rocky! I give Stallone many kudos for his writing. His acting is surprisingly wonderful! And, he was certainly up to the challenge of directing this "Rocky Balboa" ends the series the best way possible: showing just how human we all are~even Rocky! I give Stallone many kudos for his writing. His acting is surprisingly wonderful! And, he was certainly up to the challenge of directing this movie as well. Hats off to ya Rocky/Stallone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MGDec 26, 2006
Watching Balboa was like seing an old buddy, I have always been inspired by Rocky and going for that "one last round" that will make you accomplish more than if you quit to early. He closed this one like what he always was...a winner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
josakDec 26, 2006
It would be very easy to tear this movie apart, because it does have some obvious technical flaws -- but that's not the point. This is a sincerely good-hearted, honest movie, and you can't help but admire it. Like one reviewer It would be very easy to tear this movie apart, because it does have some obvious technical flaws -- but that's not the point. This is a sincerely good-hearted, honest movie, and you can't help but admire it. Like one reviewer said, it's impossible not to like. It really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LarryBDec 26, 2006
Great feel good movie..film was more about a man's struggles than the fight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
deeDec 26, 2006
Loved this movie. Stallone puts his heart and soul on the screen in this one. His portrayal of Rocky is outstanding. You can feel all of the emotion, the sadness, the emptiness, the lonliness, and the loss of Adrian. He captures it Loved this movie. Stallone puts his heart and soul on the screen in this one. His portrayal of Rocky is outstanding. You can feel all of the emotion, the sadness, the emptiness, the lonliness, and the loss of Adrian. He captures it beautifully. His training and the fight scene not overdone. He shows us a old guy trying to give his best. The best! A perfect ending to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenniferDec 26, 2006
I agree with most of the reviews below. Seeing this installment of Rocky was like catching up with an old friend. I think true Rocky fans will love the film. I mean, we have been involved with Rocky for years now. He is part of the family. I I agree with most of the reviews below. Seeing this installment of Rocky was like catching up with an old friend. I think true Rocky fans will love the film. I mean, we have been involved with Rocky for years now. He is part of the family. I will say there is a scene in the movie that is gut wrenching. Absolutely tears at your heart. Overall, well done. The movie blends in well with the previous five while keeping up the the times and boxing as it is today. I believe Rocky fans will come out to see the movie and feel the magic one last time. All Rocky fans should make sure they come out for this one. It will be worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HoraceDec 25, 2006
Rocky is just a feel good movie which shows where he's been and where he is today. And he goes out on his own terms in the same manner that all of us can only hope to someday. This is a holiday deligt for all Rocky fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisH.Dec 25, 2006
Excellent! Well done Stalone for putting things right in the Rocky story! Fingers crossed he does the same with the new Rambo film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabriDec 24, 2006
This was defintely a movie for the Rocky fans. Not so much focused on the training and getting back into the ring, but more on catching up with good old rocky and seeing where his life has brought him. It was sentimental and emotional, a This was defintely a movie for the Rocky fans. Not so much focused on the training and getting back into the ring, but more on catching up with good old rocky and seeing where his life has brought him. It was sentimental and emotional, a proper ending to the Rocky series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyG.Dec 24, 2006
Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can be correct and 97% of your fellow reveiwers are wrong. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the movie but don't insult a fantastic movie because of your own insecurites. This is a work of genius and word of mouth and at the box office will prove this review correct. This is a must see movie for anyone who still has dreams and ambition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulP.Dec 23, 2006
I went in a unbeliever and left loving every second of it ! way to go ROCKY !!!!!! great job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaDec 23, 2006
Rocky puts an emotional knockout of on your heartstrings. What a wonderful way to end a beautiful story. Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyDec 23, 2006
The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us Americans have come to know, respect, and love for the past 30 years. He symbolizes the American Dream in that we should never give up. As for Paulie and Rocky they are true to their characters and play their final role in this series straight up and not over the top. As we watch one can't help but think of our own lives and draw inspiration from Sylvester Stallone on the silver screen. After all when Sly wrote this story Hollywood did not want him as Rocky as he was a nobody. Sly would not take NO for an anwser and persevered in real life and the rest is history. When you see this movie it is almost like a watching a loved one heading off into the final chapter of his life. Thank you Rocky because you will live on with honor for all eterity. This is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomR.Dec 22, 2006
Rocky Balboa does more to teach us about life and hope then any of our political leaders. This movie also shows us how out of touch most critics are with the rest of us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TIMC.Dec 22, 2006
This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the father-son dialogue). The best part of the movie is the believable climatic fight, because Dixon is not some one-dimensional bad guy (like Draco or Mr T), because he is not a bad guy. He is a beliveable, true character. How often do you find that? Finally, the music. Oh, so glorious. Along with Ben Hur, Conan, Empire Strikes Back, Conti's Rocky is amonst the best of the past 40 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelBDec 22, 2006
I've gotta tell you, I wasn't expecting much when I sat down. I was just hoping that this last installment would end on a high note. But, by the time the fight actually started, I was standing up yelling "Rocky", "Rocky"!! Sly I've gotta tell you, I wasn't expecting much when I sat down. I was just hoping that this last installment would end on a high note. But, by the time the fight actually started, I was standing up yelling "Rocky", "Rocky"!! Sly delivers on this one and remains true to the character of Rocky Balboa. It's not flashy, it's not filled with over used catch phrases, it's simply a good movie done well by a good actor. I'm telling all my friends to see it and I'm headed back to see it again!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jpDec 22, 2006
Rocky Balboa has done what Rocky 5 couldn't give closure to one of the greatest american heros of all time. Stallone seems right at home as Rocky and delivers his best performance since Copland.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaC.Dec 22, 2006
I love Rocky..all of them! He is all about heart and this latest Rocky has all of that and more! I give Sly so much credit for creating such an insprirational movie with the Rocky series! My husband and I truly love him!!!! We feel like he I love Rocky..all of them! He is all about heart and this latest Rocky has all of that and more! I give Sly so much credit for creating such an insprirational movie with the Rocky series! My husband and I truly love him!!!! We feel like he is a part of our lives! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrentM.Dec 22, 2006
This is a great movie...Rocky IV is still the best one followed by Rocky III...this may be the third best film though and is way better than Rocky V...which is the worst of them all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredDec 22, 2006
Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and in the end the entire audience is cheering. What a wonderful Hollywood surprise. For all of us who laughed at Sylvester Stallone when he said he was making this, well, be prepared to eat your words. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful