Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: December 20, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 357 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
303
Mixed:
33
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TokyochuchuDec 10, 2012
Who would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feelWho would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feel unbelievably happy every time I see it. Absolutely perfect! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
CarlosG.Sep 10, 2007
This movie was good but as good as Rocky 4.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
akeemgJan 21, 2009
This movie was touching. I really love and enjoyed hearing those great little speeches that rocky made through out the movie,those are my favorite parts to watch.This is the best rocky movie in the entire series
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ThatCooperGuyJun 25, 2015
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well,
These movies have been very cluttered, but entertaining to a point. After IV, I seriously lost hope in the series. I couldn't even sit through V all the way, even Stallone said he dislikes V.

Luckily, this final Rocky movie is, well, incredible. Some may argue that it's melodramatic as hell, but it captures the spirit of the original Rocky and gives a satisfying ending to this disjointed franchise.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MarioG.Jan 9, 2007
Just a few words to describe this movie: wonderful, perfect, fantastic. It has been the first film in my life that has made me crying! Thank you, Italian Stallion!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkB.Feb 6, 2007
What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade What is it about Sylvester Stallone that inspires such vehement bouts of schaudenfraude in otherwise rational people? A fellow contestant on a movie-related TV game show I once appeared on launched into a gleefully profanity-laced tirade about what a 'loser' he thought Stallone was in his late career; Razzie award honcho John Wilson seemed a bit disappointed that Stallone's latest installment in the Rocky saga was actually quite good (and therefore ineligible for Razzie award consideration). Perhaps it has something to do with even his supporters' general assumption that since his first big success with the original Rocky back in 1976, the size of his ego has ballooned past that of his famous muscles, and that he tends to assume that we're all as interested in him as he is in himself. (I mean, who wants to hear his recent admission that he gave up sex while filming Rocky Balboa to get the same edge that professional boxers used to similarly abstain in order to give themselves? I don't WANT mental pictures of Stallone pouring ice water down his pants a la Jake La Motta in Raging Bull. TMI, Sly!) Since Stallone has always seen himself as Rocky and vice versa, and the fortunes of both larger-than-life figures have run parallel, it's not surprising that Stallone's many personal and professional disappointments as of late (an eponymous magazine that only ran 3 issues, a boxing-related reality TV series that was irreparably crippled by the suicide of one of the contestants, the failure of Cop Land to regain him Serious Acting Cred, and the fact that his biggest box office hit in the last 10 years was--gulp!--Spy Kids 3-D: Game Over) undoubtedly spill into this chapter. The result is that Stallone admirably humbles himself and his character, scaling down from the overblown tendencies of some of the previous chapters and suffusing Rocky Balboa with more tenderness, humanity and heart--the qualities that made Rocky an iconic figure to begin with--than we've seen since he took on Apollo Creed for the very first time so long ago. In fact, after the sincere but overwrought Rocky II, the entertaining if synthetic III, the fraudulent IV and the completely forgettable V, this is not only the best of the Rocky sequels by far, but the ONLY truly essential one. Stallone, like Balboa, goes back to the original's roots, remembering that it was a character study first, a love story second and a boxing movie third, and that our emotional investment in the first two was what made the third so effective. Talia Shire, as now-deceased wife and love of his life Adrian, may not show up here except in photos and flashbacks, but her presence is so powerful that it compares with Hitchcock's Rebecca in terms of characters who absolutely dominate the proceedings while not actually being around to actively participate in them. (That's why the much-discussed friendship that Rocky develops with a minor character from the first film, played here by Geraldine Hughes, is exactly that: a friendship. No less and no more. Another look at this movie's final scene establishes that.) Stallone also remembers that the best Rocky movies, like the best Disney animated features and the best James Bond films, feature the best antagonists, and here for the first time since Apollo, Rocky's opponent (Antonio Tarver) is not a cardboard cartoon villain but a complex, multidimensional individual with insecurities and vulnerabilities. (And let's have no more carping about how unconvincing and improbable the plot device that gets them together in the ring--a computer-simulated fantasy fight--may be. It's no more so than in Numero Uno, and anyway, when you're enjoying the ride this much, why grouse if the ignition initially sputters a little?) It's just one more indication of how much of a joy Rocky Balboa is to watch that the familiar musical theme by Bill Conti (best known in recent years as "Stickman", the Academy Awards conductor that Julia Roberts chewed out onstage for trying to attenuate her acceptance speech, so clearly this represents a comeback for HIM, too) once again elicits genuine excitement and anticipation rather than being an easy punchline. But then Rocky Balboa is so good at what it's doing that it inspires even those of us who have kept our esthetic distance from Stallone (and with Cobra, Stop or My Mom Will Shoot and Driven on his resume, it's safe to say that this covers nearly all of us at several points) for the first time in easily retrievable memory, to actually want a piece of the Rock. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulL.Jan 3, 2007
Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both perenial underdogs that people love to see succeed since we know they can. Neither dissappoint this time around and it makes you feel great for both the filmmaker and the character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoB.Jan 4, 2007
I think this is a wonderful movie, it is going beyond a boxing exhibition. It is about the challenges an ordinary person can run into his/her life. Characters are well defined, I think this is a two thumbs up movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KurtM.Feb 12, 2007
Great movie. Awe inspiring. No fancy things about. It was convincing especially with age and time. Basically it stuck to the core elements of what made the original great. A hero faced against the odds, to rise above them a win with your heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TianaB.Feb 20, 2007
Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this movie, she was its heart and soul. Yo, Rocky and Adrian, you did it again!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
adieb.Aug 1, 2007
very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just like in the first film,man it was an amazing acting,perfect actually, to brought back the character he created almost 30 years ago and he didn't forgot.at first i though its gonna be a crappy low budget sequel like some other movies.but its nowhere near that category..it truly is a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lolanAug 3, 2008
Joe is an amazing fighter, has a bright future ahead of him hope to see him in many more pictures.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobHuttDec 21, 2006
There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. It turned an unknown actor who share the same philosophy as his character on the screen Rocky into the American symbol of never-give-up the good fight. The message has always been that it's better to try and fail then not to try at all. And Rocky connects again with a knockout blow that will stand the test of time. This movie is truly a holiday gift and we should all thank Sylvester Stallone for allowing us a peek into his alter ego one last time. Go see and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidDec 21, 2006
The emotion of the movie reaches to the sky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FantasyDec 20, 2006
Rocky is back and just in time. I just saw it in a packed theater and his human indominable spirit remains as young as ever. Rocky is humble and looking back over the years we realize what a treasure this character truly is. Go see and enjoy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyDec 23, 2006
The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us Americans have come to know, respect, and love for the past 30 years. He symbolizes the American Dream in that we should never give up. As for Paulie and Rocky they are true to their characters and play their final role in this series straight up and not over the top. As we watch one can't help but think of our own lives and draw inspiration from Sylvester Stallone on the silver screen. After all when Sly wrote this story Hollywood did not want him as Rocky as he was a nobody. Sly would not take NO for an anwser and persevered in real life and the rest is history. When you see this movie it is almost like a watching a loved one heading off into the final chapter of his life. Thank you Rocky because you will live on with honor for all eterity. This is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyG.Dec 24, 2006
Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can be correct and 97% of your fellow reveiwers are wrong. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the movie but don't insult a fantastic movie because of your own insecurites. This is a work of genius and word of mouth and at the box office will prove this review correct. This is a must see movie for anyone who still has dreams and ambition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinD.Dec 20, 2006
Rocky Balboa may not be the greatest movie to ever hit the silver screen, but it does delivers its message with full impact. Stallone gives us a fitting ending to the Rocky series that it has deserved for so long. This is a movie that any Rocky Balboa may not be the greatest movie to ever hit the silver screen, but it does delivers its message with full impact. Stallone gives us a fitting ending to the Rocky series that it has deserved for so long. This is a movie that any genration can enjoy. Its impossible to leave this movie in a bad mood...period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobinM.Jan 10, 2007
This movie was simply awsome. Stallone was excellent and the story was touching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DelanoP.Jan 1, 2007
this is the first boxing movie I've ever seen that features HBO's PPV boxing. it made it seem almost real. a must see in my book. And yes it is another classic that will be played again and again in my house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeniseT.Jan 1, 2007
It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of It was a pretty good movie but it wasn't as good as the original Rocky. It was pretty sad that his wife died I wasn't expecting that at all. I give it to Sylvester Stallone for getting back in the ring though. If I had my pick of the best it would be Rocky V. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmineD.Jan 15, 2007
I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not wanting to be told how their life should be lived just because they've reached a certain point in it. The movie comes close to the original, and that says a lot for the 6th movie in a saga. GO GET'EM ROCK!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrishM.Jan 15, 2007
I couldn't believe what I was seeing! Sly looked just as good (or better) than he looked 30 years ago! Wonderfully written script! Great acting! Loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyB.Jan 19, 2007
The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a better ending. I grew up on Rocky and his story and this was a perfect ending to a true American Icon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnujV.Jan 2, 2007
the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and sensationalize minor flaws, where i personally believe they should highlight more on the principles the movie is based on rather than jus browbeat irrelevant stuff.. the world needs optimism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyK.Jan 3, 2007
I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with this movie. I advise everyone to go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimC.Jan 4, 2007
Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love of the characters, and this shines through in the movie. More than a movie about fighting and training, this final installment in the Rocky series transcends life, and reaches out to the audience with raw emotion. The music is perfect, and all characters works so well together especially Rocky and Paulie. The perfect final installment to the orginal Rocky and Rocky Two. Thank you to Mr. Stallone for making this movie, and the inspiration you have provided to audience members to take the hits in life and to keep moving forward. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffYJan 4, 2007
After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the only two people who were excited as I was - my brother and one of my coworkers. Before I get deeper into my reactions of Sly's latest installation into the beloved Rocky series, let it be known that whatever I am about to write, I do not intend it as a review as I believe the Rocky series have gone beyond that which needs a movie "review". To me, and hopefully many others as well, Rocky has reached an echelon in it's own class. There are sequels, and there are trilogy's, but the Rocky series has impounded and unsurmountable amount of impact and influence into the lives of those who've kept faith in a character whom I feel is the truest hero that represents the meaning of courage, love and moral values. How many Hollywood heroes can you say that about? The Rocky series, at its core, is not about beating up bad guys, swash buckling adventure, or saving the world. It's a story about Rocky Balboa, a man with a big heart who goes through the ups and down of life in its most extreme. Boxing was always just a tool to illustrate the trials of life that he goes through. All throughout the series, Rocky never fights anyone in particular. In actuality, every one of his fights were internal. In the first Rocky, he "goes the distance" with Apollo Creed, but it was never about winning the fight. He was given an opportunity and the fight was about how far he could take himself. In essence, he was fighting himself. This underlying motif manifests itself best in the first Rocky and the latest, "Rocky Balboa". It does seem to get less apparent as the movies evolves from an Oscar winning drama into quintessential hollywood flicks, but it never really disappears. Some may criticize the series as getting lost from its original meaning, detracting to senseless action and formulaic plots. I would agree to a point, but I am not complaining at all! In fact, I applaud it for what it has become. As extensions of the original, the series has brought us the most memorable moments in film history. Who could forget the fight with Mr. T ("dead meat") in Rocky III or the big Russian dude, Drago ("I will break you") in Rocky IV. Nonetheless, beyond the adrenaline filled fight scenes and cool one-liners, these sequels still contained the core value that brought alive the character Rocky and the unforgiving world that is created. Time and time, Rocky is tested and the result is that he has to fight, but it was never ever for himself in the selfish sense. After going the distance, he fights for Adrian in the second (giving her a better life), and then he fights for Micky (but not for vengeance), and in the fourth he fights for Apollo who stood for America (again not for vengeance). Actually, my man Bill Simmons believes Rocky single handedly ended the Cold War! Like Bill Simmons, I don't know how many times I've watched Rocky. You can not deny the characters' influence over our lucky generation. Rocky Balboa is by far a much better role model than the so-called heroes on film these days. [***SPOILER***] It just brings you to tears to see Rocky after all these years and long after Adrian's death, spending time in front of her grave and revisiting places they've been together. That is true love - undying love. "Adrian is dead, but she never is in here". This concept of love, I believe, is dead in the new generation brought up by MTV. Rocky stands for those heroes, famous athletes, or celebrities who are as nice in person as he is in the media (if there are any). A prime example of this kind of moral value that is lacking in not only movie heroes, but professional athletes and celebrities alike, is a scene in Rocky Balboa where Rocky goes and just casually changes the light bulb for a friend he just met. This kind of gesture is subtle but it is nonetheless powerful and reminds us that nice guys do exist. We are living in a generation of people who are more realists than idealists who accept "darker" versions of classic heroes like Batman and James Bond because to them it seems more "believable". It is nice to be reminded that throughout all these years and even though times have changed, Rocky still retains his high moral esteem. Rocky is still Rocky. The strength of his character has been tested, having been pinned against multiple opponents and the quality of his character comes in full breadth in "Rocky Balboa" and for one last time, it reminds us of an old belief that has been long lost. Thank you Mr. Stallone. You have truly created an unforgettable character and an epic story that should be retold with every generation so that his values can be passed throughout time. Just don't be like George Lucas and re-release the series with inserted scenes and computer graphics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DL.Feb 23, 2007
Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and emotion rather than an action fest...Truly a triumph!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryB.Mar 21, 2007
In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his best and most nuanced performance of the series, going back to some of the more interesting aspects of his character from the first movie. When I first heard the movie was being made, I thought it was a horrible idea but figured I'd see it for laughs. However, it was a legitimately good and inspiring movie that is much lower on cheesiness and implausibility than I had expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful