User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 51
  2. Negative: 10 out of 51

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    0
    This movie... YUCK! I have never seen such a bad movie in my life. The camera throughout the entire movie is obviously in full attempt to hide the guy rolling the tire. On top of that, what tire (I don't care what the movie is about) blows things heads off. I mean I've seen the movie like "The Car" where the car is possessed, but this, this is just complete and utter crap! Never watch this movie! The story line is pointless, the tire being possessed was pointless, the acting was absolutely horrible. Bad, bad, and guess what more bad! Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    Absolutely hilarious for the first 15 minutes or so simply because you cannot believe this was made into a movie. After that it becomes a chore to watch and is just plain boring. On the plus side, definitely the most unique film I have ever witnessed, But hopefully it's the last time I have to witness it.
  3. BKM
    May 29, 2012
    2
    Rubber, aside from being almost migraine inducing-ly pretentious and devoid of humor, is dripping with contempt for its audience. The story of a tire rolling around the desert and killing anything in its path only pretends not to have a point. The real target is the viewer. Critics and intellectuals will attempt to uncover deeper meanings while casual viewers will scratch their heads and wonder what the point is. The sad truth is that the filmmakers have convinced us to watch 90 minutes of nothing. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    I developed a theory while watching Rubber. I honestly believe the filmmakers set out to make the most unwatchably pretentious, utterly repetetive, vile nonsense they could possibly come up with and then laugh hysterically at all of the morons who pull some kind of "unique hidden meaning" out of it. The film opens with a pointless opening monologue, followed by a three minute sequence of a tire "waking up", both of which had me scrambling for the fast forward button. Then things went sharply downhill from there. There's only about 30 minutes of actual content here, the rest is just one long shot of a tire rolling around after another after another until you want to cry. I love unique and quirky films with a passion but this film is neither, no matter how hard it tries to be. It's grating, irritating, stretched-out, inane, fatuous, embarrassing boredom on a piece of celluloid. Avoid at all costs!!! Expand
  5. May 10, 2011
    2
    Okay - so there is 'no reason', there is 'no reason' for you or anyone to enjoy a feature length movie filled with long, drawn out shots of tires rolling around, the same lame ass deaths ('psychokinetic' tire explodes peoples brains) and the main character, on screen for about 50% of the film, is an ugly used car part devoid of any personality. Maybe I'm not smart enough to sit through this **** and enjoy it, but holy **** it was boring. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    2
    It has pretty good death scenes & an interesting plot, but laughable dialogue & questionable storytelling makes this horror-comedy an easily forgettable movie.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    0
    This movie absolutely made me pull my hair out. This movie's aspect on the "no reason" symbolism made me hate the movie even more. Granted that the movie was trying to make a film based on the reason that there is none but, in that respect, made me irritated through beginning to end. The parts that were supposed to be funny were not even wroth a chuckle and the times that the movie tried to horrific just made me want to fall asleep. I am a man who has watched many movies and I liked most of them even when people don't but this movie made me hate every second watching it. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 13, 2011
    63
    It's a fun one to talk about -- if only for the opportunity to shake your head in amused disbelief at what you just saw.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    May 5, 2011
    70
    Maybe Rubber is an homage, maybe it's a statement on horror films and their audiences, maybe it's a total goof.
  3. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Apr 28, 2011
    50
    The carnage is cartoonishly graphic, but the onlookers watching through binoculars from a nearby sandy bluff are impressed.