User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 508 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 508
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    It took a while for me to decide if I actually enjoyed Rush or not and eventually I concluded that any film that left me with such a mixed impression should be critiqued as such. While Daniel Brühl gives an outstanding performance, the direction is inconsistent and a lot of the beginning is very bland and cliche. Overall, the film had some very strong highliights, but there were someIt took a while for me to decide if I actually enjoyed Rush or not and eventually I concluded that any film that left me with such a mixed impression should be critiqued as such. While Daniel Brühl gives an outstanding performance, the direction is inconsistent and a lot of the beginning is very bland and cliche. Overall, the film had some very strong highliights, but there were some weaker moments that felt out of place. The main problem, oddly enough, can be solved with one small storytelling choice: Don't hide Lauda as the main character. Let him emerge as the star, and the rest would've fallen into place. Expand
  2. BKM
    Oct 14, 2013
    5
    Ron Howard's glossy, commercial approach doesn't serve the subject matter well in Rush. At its core the film is a character study about the rivalry and contrasting personalities of two drivers who fueled each others desire to dominate their sport. The two men are fascinating and deeply flawed individuals consumed by the adrenaline rush provided by their chosen professions, but HowardRon Howard's glossy, commercial approach doesn't serve the subject matter well in Rush. At its core the film is a character study about the rivalry and contrasting personalities of two drivers who fueled each others desire to dominate their sport. The two men are fascinating and deeply flawed individuals consumed by the adrenaline rush provided by their chosen professions, but Howard shoehorns everything into a conventional sports flick with a tidy ending. It could have been so much more. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    Ron Howard has a tradition for tackling stories without much attention for nuance. His films are unabashedly focused on making the audience create a sense of empathy with his core hero, without contemplating any darker side the character(s) may have. "Rush", written by Peter Morgan, suffers from this problem the rivalry between James Hunt and Niki Lauda could easily be the one that TomRon Howard has a tradition for tackling stories without much attention for nuance. His films are unabashedly focused on making the audience create a sense of empathy with his core hero, without contemplating any darker side the character(s) may have. "Rush", written by Peter Morgan, suffers from this problem the rivalry between James Hunt and Niki Lauda could easily be the one that Tom Cruise and Val Kilmer personified onscreen in Tony Scott's "Top Gun" in 1986, with the difference that this time around, the so called hero, actually is presented as an egotistical man, without much depth or sense of empathy (or dignity for that matter). The film fails in creating these characters as something palpable or even relatable they are nothing more than archetypes, namely the playboy vs. the conservative man, whereas the women in their lives, are given nothing more to do, other than stay in the background, look preoccupied, and have brief scenes of walking into frame (and quickly exiting). The film is successful in presenting the dynamic of the sport and the sense of excitement that always prevailed in it the fantastic cinematographer Anthony Dod Mantle gives the film a look and treatment that are superb. Daniel Bruhl also manages to create an engaging performance, though it soon becomes a performance that runs always on a single view of the character. Though shot and impeccably recreated for the time it depicts, the film ultimately feels hollow and devoid of the emotion and excitement that always propelled these men and the fans to the circuits. Not recommended. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    In 1976, two Formula One drivers became prominent rivals. Charismatic English playboy James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) and dull, disciplined Austrian Niki Lauda (Daniel Bruhl). This is basically a surface biopic about one year in their lives with lots of unoriginal or thrilling racing footage. Director Ron Howard went with arty camerawork and edgy editing, but it only serves to disguise theIn 1976, two Formula One drivers became prominent rivals. Charismatic English playboy James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) and dull, disciplined Austrian Niki Lauda (Daniel Bruhl). This is basically a surface biopic about one year in their lives with lots of unoriginal or thrilling racing footage. Director Ron Howard went with arty camerawork and edgy editing, but it only serves to disguise the flat filmmaking. The performers are fine and their story does gain momentum in the last third, but that's a lot of mileage (literally) before it becomes involving. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    I really wanted to like this film but ultimately found it a bit disappointing. The characterisations were simplistic, the race action scenes were boring close focus quick cut blurs certainly not 'one of the greatest movies about motor racing'. Watchable, but a documentary is more interesting than this superficial biopic.
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    I don't understand why this movie has gotten high reviews. No Oscar winners here. Sure some of the action scenes were ok but nothing to write home about. Don't waste your money on this one. Wait till it comes out on TV. Half decent story line but like I said, nothing to write home about in any way shape or form. Sorry for the buzz kill for the people who are going to flock to the moviesI don't understand why this movie has gotten high reviews. No Oscar winners here. Sure some of the action scenes were ok but nothing to write home about. Don't waste your money on this one. Wait till it comes out on TV. Half decent story line but like I said, nothing to write home about in any way shape or form. Sorry for the buzz kill for the people who are going to flock to the movies this weekend to see it. Definitely at the most, this movie doesn't deserve anything above a 6/10....AT BEST. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    The thing that kind of sucks is that you are not rooting for either person because both are and selfish... like even in the end... the racing scenes were NOT that great and the scenes throughout were honestly pretty forgettable... maybe its just one of those "intelligent" movies you have to deeply analyze or something, but to me, the best movies are the ones where you leave the theaterThe thing that kind of sucks is that you are not rooting for either person because both are and selfish... like even in the end... the racing scenes were NOT that great and the scenes throughout were honestly pretty forgettable... maybe its just one of those "intelligent" movies you have to deeply analyze or something, but to me, the best movies are the ones where you leave the theater thinking about it, wanting more of it, 50 years down the road they will be making references to it because it is just a classic. Where are those movies anymore? Expand
  8. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Owen McKenna Rio Rancho, NM. The film was not at all what I expected. I guess I was expecting something along the lines of Days of Thunder, but in the Formula one form. Being based on a true story, the storyline seemed over the top. Best scene was when they were driving in the countryside, very amusing. Ron Howard told the story in a different way than I had expected it to be told.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    Rush, though it will win no trophies, is fine filmmaking, a smart, visually engorged, frequently thrilling tale of boyish competition — inspired by a true story. At heart it’s “Amadeus” on wheels, only this time Salieri is the Austrian.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Sep 30, 2013
    75
    The result is a solid film, but one that remains more interesting than intense.
  3. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Sep 27, 2013
    80
    Still, it is a writer's privilege to trim and tailor at will, and everybody loves a duel. It would take the dullest of curmudgeons not to enjoy the surge of this saga, accurate or not, and the excesses of what already feels like a distant age. [30 Sept. 2013, p.84]