New Line Home Video | Release Date: August 23, 2002
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 181 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
19
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
TimW.Aug 24, 2002
This movie is by far the worst film I've seen in 2002, and that includes "Gosford Park" - the murder-mystery where there's no murder for AN HOUR AND A HALF. Yes, I understood that it was a parody. Yes, I "got the message", and no, This movie is by far the worst film I've seen in 2002, and that includes "Gosford Park" - the murder-mystery where there's no murder for AN HOUR AND A HALF. Yes, I understood that it was a parody. Yes, I "got the message", and no, it wasn't frickin' amusing in the slightest. I'm telling you : SAVE YOUR MONEY. This piece of tripe isn't even worth a rental. People are comparing this thing to "The Truman Show" and "Wag The Dog"? Truman wasn't all THAT good, and it can kick this movie's head in... and this film isn't fit to wipe the poop up from "Wag The Dog"'s butt... which is sad, because neither of those films were astounding. It gets half a star simply because Pacino's in it, and half a star because someone actually was able to get it made in the first place. The dialogue is awful, the acting is second-rate, and I'm sorry to say that Simone just ain't THAT good looking. There's also holes in this thing you could back the Death Star through. In short : this film is bad-bad, and not even so bad it's good, like, say, "Army of Darkness". Anyone who tells you differently is either lying, or a sadist who wishes to see you in great pain and suffering. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnY.Aug 25, 2002
Not a masterpiece by any means, but an entertaining comedy. It's beautifully visualized, has some great moments, skilled acting, and an intriguing premise. But not as good as Niccol's "Gattaca" or "Truman Show."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Aug 27, 2002
Though fairly flat towards the middle this film is anything but witless. It has a great idea and Pacino sets it on fire in his role as burnt out Hollywood director Viktor Taransky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertH.Aug 27, 2002
For those of you who forgot how to do Algebra, permit me to reiterate an old formula: Movies Released in Aug. + Simone = 0 Simply awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobG.Aug 28, 2002
I don't see how you can't like this movie. It IS a funny, dark comedy and smart. These critics who say it is light didn't see the same movie that I did. Pacino is great, as always, and it is a successful satire. Makes the I don't see how you can't like this movie. It IS a funny, dark comedy and smart. These critics who say it is light didn't see the same movie that I did. Pacino is great, as always, and it is a successful satire. Makes the viewer think (how novel!), which might be why it's getting such mixed reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Good comic performance by Pacino and nice cameo by Ryder but the movie is predicated on the notion that all of humanity--from studio execs to mass audience--are really dumb and gullible. Would have worked better as nonsense comedy but Good comic performance by Pacino and nice cameo by Ryder but the movie is predicated on the notion that all of humanity--from studio execs to mass audience--are really dumb and gullible. Would have worked better as nonsense comedy but strains toward satire and doesn't quite make it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexxaF.Jun 21, 2004
This film was hilarious. Not to mention that most of the people were beautiful. In these ridiculous times of Britney Spears etc, this film fit right in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Aug 31, 2002
Wonderful, quirky film that actually has a brain! Yes, it is funny in many parts, but the metafiction angle is where this work really shines. Truly a "postmodern" marvel in that it is conscious of its own artificiality, Simone is much better Wonderful, quirky film that actually has a brain! Yes, it is funny in many parts, but the metafiction angle is where this work really shines. Truly a "postmodern" marvel in that it is conscious of its own artificiality, Simone is much better than heavy-handed, saccharine drivel like "Signs". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidSep 12, 2002
This movie is awesome. Pacino's great in this movie and I'm falling for Rachel Roberts... Definitely worth your time & money. I'm waiting for the DVD :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeD.Sep 14, 2002
This was a bad movie...predicatable and unfunny at that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BunnyCrillJul 21, 2003
Give it a point for an original idea. Stop there. If you find yourself tied to a la-Z-boy with it playing at least beg to fast-forward through the dull and entirely predictable Pachino-Simone scenes. Ugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveS.Aug 27, 2002
sucked ass! Each time the plot turned it became more unbelievable and worse. Making matters worse, the movie is long, and every tedious moment of it is like there is a giant needle being stuck in your neck. To see it is a waste of life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryAug 27, 2002
I wonder if some of the people commenting here even saw the movie, which was humorous and clever. It was released in August not because it was bad, but because New Line felt the general public was too stupid for intelligent cinema anymore. I wonder if some of the people commenting here even saw the movie, which was humorous and clever. It was released in August not because it was bad, but because New Line felt the general public was too stupid for intelligent cinema anymore. They were right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Aug 28, 2002
A studio film, being what it is in 2002, makes laughing a little difficult since the product Hollywood throws at us is no laughing matter. "Simone" finally comes to life when Victor(Al Pacino) tries to destroy his Frankenstein and is A studio film, being what it is in 2002, makes laughing a little difficult since the product Hollywood throws at us is no laughing matter. "Simone" finally comes to life when Victor(Al Pacino) tries to destroy his Frankenstein and is unsuccessful. Victor's waking nightmare mirrors how we often feel at the movies. "Simone" is a missed opportunity to really pin the tail on Hollywood. Instead Mr. Niccol casts intelligent actors like Catherine Keener & Evan Rachel Wood, then creates characters who can't figure out they're being played. The highwire act Victor performs to protect his secret is hard to swallow but fooling Elaine(Keener), the studio head, is the worst offense to this film's credibility. Niccol seems to be thumbing his nose at women in power. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Jan 18, 2004
I don't know why nobody seemed to really like this film. I know that the Simone voice was fakey but honestly I can see where the media can take something and make a big deal out of it. Take Michael Jackson and Lisa Marie. Their marriage I don't know why nobody seemed to really like this film. I know that the Simone voice was fakey but honestly I can see where the media can take something and make a big deal out of it. Take Michael Jackson and Lisa Marie. Their marriage was just as artificial as Simone and people still talk about it. Pacino is great in everything he does. I was just very entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Moby1682May 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simone is a hilarious, inventive satire on the inner workings of Hollywood. Al Pacino gives one of his most refined roles as an aging director who's movies have lost their popularity.

One day he meets a fan who is about to pass away in a week due to inoperable brain cancer. Al Pacino receives a package a week later. The package is a computer disc. The disc gives him the ability to create a

digital actress ! Once he creates Simone which means simulation one in the movie hinting that she is imaginary not a real person, he is set. His movies regain their momentum, he reconnects with his

daughter and wife and everything seems perfect.However when something feels too good to be true or everlasting it usually is. His creation backfires and he is almost arrested for the murder of Simone. He

attempts to dispose of the disc by dumping a trunk into an ocean. The disc is the only evidence Simone exists and that he isn't a murderer. When the police retrieve the trunk it is empty. In the end Victor Taransky is let off

of the charges because Victor's daughter is computer savvy. She discovers that the Simone program isn't erased on his computer and she restores the program. Then she has Simone release a public video

statement that she is alive and that Victor is innocent. There are also a few cameos in the movie by Jay Mohr, Winona Ryder and Rebecca Stamos from X-Men (Mystique character). A very satisfying movie with a

classic, brilliant performance from Al Pacino.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews