Paramount Pictures | Release Date: April 8, 2005
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
91
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
tethysdustOct 10, 2016
Sahara is an adventure comedy film, one with a ridiculous premise and an enthusiastic cast. Not exactly intellectual, but fun and undemanding entertainment for a pleasant evening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
Sahara is a rare film that manages to win you over despite its complete ridiculousness. The plot is insanely over-the-top, but I guarantee that you'll enjoy the hell out of it. There's so much fun to be had with this film!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuDec 23, 2012
Sahara is one of the best adventure movies of the 2000's. The plot is utter popcorn nonsense but the film is fun and the action is exciting. Sahara is a good modern-day competitor to Indiana Jones and Romancing the Stone.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Action. Boo, whatever. I need depth. Sahara has NONE.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
AragondApr 29, 2011
I *will not* see this film trashed! This was a ripper of an adventure that should have been much more successful than it was. Indiana Jones with a wry smile. James Bond with tongue very firmly-in-cheek. Dashing and goofy rolled into one.I *will not* see this film trashed! This was a ripper of an adventure that should have been much more successful than it was. Indiana Jones with a wry smile. James Bond with tongue very firmly-in-cheek. Dashing and goofy rolled into one. Perhaps audiences didn't quite know what to do with this film?? It just hit the balance perfectly, imho, between being a couple of adventurers who happen upon a dastardly plot and a pinch of a slightly daffy comedy. This was undeniably a cut-above most films of its ilk -- and how few there are. I consider it a real tragedy that it wasn't more successful and that Sahara 2 will never be made. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
GrothosFeb 4, 2011
This movie is AWESOME! Here are 3 reasons why.
1-A fun, creative, entertaining storyline that while not believable gave off an Indiana Jones aura that complimented it.
2- Its FUNNY! This movie will have you laughing all the way through. All
This movie is AWESOME! Here are 3 reasons why.
1-A fun, creative, entertaining storyline that while not believable gave off an Indiana Jones aura that complimented it.
2- Its FUNNY! This movie will have you laughing all the way through. All the main characters are quit lovable in their own individual way.
3- Originality, I don't think I had ever seen a movie quite like this one. The story is quite its own thing. My only issue was the lack of theme, I do not remember any sort of theme underlying the story, and thus a lack of reason to watch this movie for more than pure entertainment.

Overall this movie is AMAZING. Its no work of Shakespeare, but if you like a quality adventure you will love it.
Collapse
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
DavidHMay 4, 2009
This movie is based on a Clive Cussler novel, who is not exactly Herman Melville, but his adventure novels are great fun and very easy reading for a quick escape. Sadly, if you're a big Cussler fan, you won't like what Hollywood This movie is based on a Clive Cussler novel, who is not exactly Herman Melville, but his adventure novels are great fun and very easy reading for a quick escape. Sadly, if you're a big Cussler fan, you won't like what Hollywood has done to this "Dirk Pitt" adventure. Their most obvious and atrocious error was casting McConoughey in the lead role. Not so much that his talent is in question, but that casting him as Pitt is like casting Steve Buschemi in the life story of John Wayne. i.e.: they could not have picked a more opposite person from the character developed in Cussler's books. Likewise for casting of Dirk's sidekick character. If you loved the books, you won't be able to get past the horrible casting choices. If not, it comes across as a fairly high energy but lightweight adventure movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.A.Jan 31, 2009
When "It's a Wonderful Life" came out, it was considered a grand flop, as well! It took 30+ years - by sheer fluke of luck - for that beautiful film to be recognized as the incredible gem we all now know and love... and I do LOVE this When "It's a Wonderful Life" came out, it was considered a grand flop, as well! It took 30+ years - by sheer fluke of luck - for that beautiful film to be recognized as the incredible gem we all now know and love... and I do LOVE this movie!! Sahara has great humor and chemistry and it just works. Still, timing is everything, and it simply wasn't this movie's time, unfortunately, because I would have loved to have seen McConaughey, Zahn, Macy, and Rainn Wilson work together again on this fantastic franchise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JesseS.Jun 24, 2008
This movie was awesome! and I don't a crap about what you other scumsuckers say about this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.May 9, 2007
Just because you probably will not believe a minute of it does not mean you will not have a pretty good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JuniorB.Mar 7, 2007
This movie is ok if there is nothing else on tv i guess. McConaughey once again shows that he can only play one character - good ol southern boy, cocky, too cool for school(i'm guessing that's must be his real personality).The This movie is ok if there is nothing else on tv i guess. McConaughey once again shows that he can only play one character - good ol southern boy, cocky, too cool for school(i'm guessing that's must be his real personality).The HD-DVD version has amazing picture quality which is the main reason i gave it a 6. Also Penelope Cruz was very nice to look at. BTW who picked the songs for this movie? Matthew McConaughey himself using his dazed and confused leftovers tracks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FredBobOct 18, 2006
It's pretty good, but has a couple of dragging spots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CJFeb 26, 2006
The worst trash I have ever seen. I would have paid to get out of the cinema while watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveP.Feb 10, 2006
every once in a wile, we need to get away from all the political rederick, deep meaning, and hidden mediphors of the film industry. some times movie viewers just want a ride, a action packed, joke filled, little adventure. Films like indana every once in a wile, we need to get away from all the political rederick, deep meaning, and hidden mediphors of the film industry. some times movie viewers just want a ride, a action packed, joke filled, little adventure. Films like indana jones, leathle wepons, and Sahara. it's not award winner, but it is fun to watch. i'm gald that not EVERYONE in hollywood a critic pleasing, award winning MOVIE SNOBBS. and still have the capibility to make a good holsome adventure film for the family. see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkB.Jan 21, 2006
Dashing but devil-may-care Matthew McConaughey (A Time to Kill, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days) and goofy but lovable Steve Zahn (Joy Ride, Riding in Cars with Boys) are normally two actors I really like, but they couldn't convince me Dashing but devil-may-care Matthew McConaughey (A Time to Kill, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days) and goofy but lovable Steve Zahn (Joy Ride, Riding in Cars with Boys) are normally two actors I really like, but they couldn't convince me here that they once stood in the same supermarket line, much less have been buddies-in-adventure all their lives, and that's not the least of this astonishingly dull action-comedy's problems. Breck Eisner paces it the way I hope his dad, famed studio exec Michael E., DIDN'T use to run board meetings--literally forty-five minutes pass in which absolutely nothing happens! Obviously this movie wants desperately to reinvent the Indiana Jones wheel, a difficult task but not an impossible one, as both the original Romancing the Stone and 2004's surprisingly refreshing and enjoyable National Treasure certainly prove. [***SPOILERS***]The plot deals with McConaughey's and Zahn's search through the eponymous, scoundrel-filled desert for an extremely rare coin; it takes a seriously wrong turn midway through when it uses the plight of diseased Africans heartlessly used as corporate cannon fodder. The Constant Gardener earns the right to employ this storyline because that's the heart of the film and because it takes that wrenching situation seriously; Sahara uses it as a spiffy little McGuffin, which is nothing short of obscene. (Perhaps this is one reason why Gardener's source author, John LeCarre, is regarded as a real writer while Sahara's, Clive Cussler, is considered a hack.) Almost as offensive is Sahara's total waste of the great William H. Macy in the all-but-invisible role of McConaughey's and Zahn's superior; one of the movie's more curious aspects is its uninspired, supposedly jocular use of several 1974 Top 40 hits ("Sweet Home Alabama", "Right Place Wrong Time"), but in Macy's case it should've added one more: "Billy, Don't Be A Hero (Or Anything Else)". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Nov 12, 2005
A fun adventure that's worth a ride, but it OD's on improbability every now and then.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PatC.Nov 10, 2005
An action movie that flaunts its refusal to do reality checks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LuisV.Oct 16, 2005
This movie is not bad The Movie and Penelope as an actrees are what follows, both are absolutly terrible dont waste your money on this garbage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisK.Oct 11, 2005
Action, humor, great locations and wonderful visuals. Just a good movie for a weekend inside. Anyone who says that it is bad, is an independent film snob who didn't like Raiders of the Lost Ark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimB.Sep 7, 2005
Fluffy but fun, it was great to finally see a Cussler/Dirk Pittnovel on the Silver Screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SpankaccountAug 31, 2005
Hollyweird schlock at it's worst, but held together with decent visuals. Not worth a rent. That said, my 13 year old loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful