Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 23, 2010
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 449 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
250
Mixed:
148
Negative:
51
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Oct 9, 2011
Like "Jerry Maguire", "Salt" could have been the usual blockbuster with a obvious script/formula if it wasn't for Angelina Jolie's surprisingly good performance.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
HollyJul 28, 2010
Salt is great. Really entertaining summer movie, not pretentious at all. Angelina is phenomenal.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
QwertyAug 1, 2010
Those complaining about the holes in the "plot" just don't get it. Hey, guys, it's a fast-moving, totally entertaining action spoof. Enjoy it on that level and/or for the awe-inspiring feats performed by Jolie and (especially) her Those complaining about the holes in the "plot" just don't get it. Hey, guys, it's a fast-moving, totally entertaining action spoof. Enjoy it on that level and/or for the awe-inspiring feats performed by Jolie and (especially) her stunt double. It's entertainment, not a documentary! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JonnyFendiJan 12, 2011
The more we run, the more they chase. It is what happenned to Evelyn Salt. Since Mat Damon BOURNE IDENTITY (2002) which is using more advance believability approach in runaway espionage tale, now everybody wants to be Bourne by running,The more we run, the more they chase. It is what happenned to Evelyn Salt. Since Mat Damon BOURNE IDENTITY (2002) which is using more advance believability approach in runaway espionage tale, now everybody wants to be Bourne by running, jumping, shooting, fighting, car-chase, motorcycle-chase, you-name-it and it all happenned in one action-packed. Couple examples which using the similar patterns are: John Travolta FROM PARIS WITH LOVE (2009), Tom Cruise KNIGHT AND DAY (2010), Ashton Kutcher KILLERS (2010) and now it is Jolie turn. The story follows Evelyn Salt (Jolie) who has been instant-accused as a Russian spy who may be able to jeopardizing the national security. The Director is Phillip Noyce, the man behind THE BONE COLLECTOR in 1999 (also with Jolie). The camera angle is dynamic, especially in action sequences. Yes, the movie is full of twists and turns, even sometimes the story just go by itself without proper explanations, leaving too many questions and missing links. That is the uniqueness of the plots! The story is intriguing. It is successful to make us stay put in our seat by expecting what is going to happen next. To let Jolie fuses into action adventure like thiz is like releasing the fish into water, it is what she does best. Jolie is still the focus, shines among her mysterious partner (Liev Schreiber) and plain-straight boss (Chiwetel Eijiofor). If someone complains about how absurd thiz narratives has become, it is simply arguable and it all happens to every modern action movies. One thing for sure, Jolie is back with some kiss-ass moves, to show us she is definitely one of the most comfortable action heroines in our time. Thiz SALT is happened to be sweet more than you think it is.

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE on : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sailoraideJan 8, 2011
It's true. I'm an Angelina Jolie fan for all the wrong reasons. For my taste, she is at her best playing an action heroine and oozing sexuality. Make it a spy thriller and you can pretty much bet that I'll be first in line. In my opinion,It's true. I'm an Angelina Jolie fan for all the wrong reasons. For my taste, she is at her best playing an action heroine and oozing sexuality. Make it a spy thriller and you can pretty much bet that I'll be first in line. In my opinion, there are two ways to evaluate any film. You can consider its technical elements and the precision of its actors, or you can just ask yourself if you enjoyed it. Well, I'm going with the latter this time, and I enjoyed the hell out of Salt.

Without giving away too much, I can tell you that the film is a spy thriller with lots of double crossing. In fact, the story is quite outlandish and barely even believable (okay, I lied, it's really not believable at all). But it's FUN. It keeps you guessing and rooting for the bad guy, or good girl, or whatever you want to classify Jolie's character as. She plays a spy who is suddenly outed as an undercover Russian agent when a very wanted Russian bad guy claims that she will soon kill the Russian President during his upcoming trip to America. That makes sense, right? Don't worry about it. Trust me. It will. And even if it doesn't, you won't care because it will be too loud and there will be too many explosions for you to remember what was supposed to happen anyway.

Salt is a thrill-ride. It's pure crazy fun and Jolie does a decent job of trying to keep it together. But with three versions offering three separate endings on the DVD, this is one you can watch over and over and still get a kick out of every time. You might need to suspend reality just a tad when viewing it, and have something to wipe away the drool, but it will be worth it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ChadS.Jul 27, 2010
With all due respect to James Bond, Evelyn Salt(Angelina Jolie) does it better, at least since, incidentally, Lewis Gilbert's "The Spy Who Loved Me", made in 1977, when the Cold War was still cold; when the Russians, by far, made the With all due respect to James Bond, Evelyn Salt(Angelina Jolie) does it better, at least since, incidentally, Lewis Gilbert's "The Spy Who Loved Me", made in 1977, when the Cold War was still cold; when the Russians, by far, made the best villains. For those who can remember, "Salt" makes you nostalgic for the days when the ABC telefilm "The Day After" scared you silly. The "evil empire"(Ronald Reagan's words) was good for the action-thriller genre. Islamic fundamentalism? Not so much. The Arabic language, and more importantly, the Arabic accent, have little or no entertainment value, no camp kick(i.e. Nazi Germany), at all. That's why Jonathan Demme's retooling of John Frankenheimer's "The Manchurian Candidate" will never work on the level of escapism, even if the United States someday makes peace with the Muslim world. Russians are more fun: that's the masterstroke of "Salt". The Russians still have active sleeper agents; the Russians still hate our guts(who knew?), a whopping nineteen years after the Soviet Union dissolved following the signing of the Belavezha Accords. For clarity's sake, the expository scenes that show the Russian children's training could have been more explicit in naming names. "Salt" never makes mention of that magic acronym(the U.S.S.R.), even though Orlov(Daniel Olbrychski) is a communist hardliner who still pledges allegiance to the hammer and sickle. The old school commie, a colleague of Brezhnev, is no doubt bitter about losing the Cold War, so "Salt" should have followed through with its bizarre retro choice in antagonists and made "Day X" less convoluted day of reckoning against the United States by being more pointed in their motivation. This splinter group, who as children resented Mikahl Gorbachev's employment of Glasnost to draw back the Iron Curtain, hates Americans every bit as much as the Muslims. That's the note that the filmmaker should have expounded on. Lest we forget, as an afterthought, "Salt" makes room for our current enemy when the final stage of "Day X" is revealed; that's when "Salt" becomes certifiably loony. But then, Jolie, in a scene reminiscent of Jack Ruby gunning down Lee Harvey Oswald in cold blood on live TV, reins in the overplotting with the sheer force of her presence, proving that it's she, and not Bond, or Bourne, who is the best. (Apologies to Carly Simon.) "Salt" is an inspired popcorn flick. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
ThomasD.Aug 1, 2010
A very solid summer action flick. Jolie is perfectly cast in this movie.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
9
MangogroveAug 12, 2010
Angelina is in her element and a tour de force. Thoroughly enjoyed this flick -- impossible plot and all. They tee'd it up and I can't wait for Salt 2.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
mikedAug 13, 2010
I don't understand the low ratings some movies get because for my money this was the best of it's kind this year. I'm not a Jolie fan, like anything with DiCaprio and a couple of others their name makes me think twice before going to see anyI don't understand the low ratings some movies get because for my money this was the best of it's kind this year. I'm not a Jolie fan, like anything with DiCaprio and a couple of others their name makes me think twice before going to see any movie they're in. But she did a great job here with a story that could have been far worse than any 24 script. The sleeper premise is far-fetched but if you can get past that it's a very entertaining film with more going for it than stunts and action. But since it's a summer movie there is plenty of both. I guess we need a break from reality and a trip back to the bad old Cold War days was almost a relief. I saw lots of happy faces leaving the theater after this one. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
cinnHAug 2, 2010
Non stop action from beginning to end. Never boring, go see it. Can't wait for the sequel, Angelina Jolie is a damn good actress.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
GadrienJul 23, 2010
it is like bourne on crack! was definitely worth the money.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JasonJul 23, 2010
Go see it. You won't regret it. Action from start to finish.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Jul 23, 2010
Angelina is a goddess. Undisputed queen of action. Salt is an absolute adrenaline rush.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 23, 2010
This is what a Summer Action movie is all about. Loved It !! Angelina ROCKS !!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SidC.Jul 23, 2010
Exciting, gripping and LOTS of fun.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
JoeC.Jul 24, 2010
Silly movie, but never boring. jolie is irresistible ... those lips, those eyes, that voice. this woman has serious skills. can't wait for the sequel!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
7
AlexC.Jul 26, 2010
Lots of holes....but a fun ride....Jolie is bad ass.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
PabloR.Jul 23, 2010
Non-stop action, good twists, and Angelina Jolie. What more could you want. The action was great, plot was average/above average, and their can be potential sequels. If the director just touches up on a few things, this could be the next Non-stop action, good twists, and Angelina Jolie. What more could you want. The action was great, plot was average/above average, and their can be potential sequels. If the director just touches up on a few things, this could be the next BOURNE series. Except this won't bore you to death, and you can see Angelina kicking bad guy ass. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AudreyB.Jul 23, 2010
Very entertaining ! Jolie is top notch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
WilliamB.Jul 23, 2010
Angelina Jolie is Salt.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardPS.Jul 23, 2010
I and my girlfriend we loved Salt.Angelina is best actress ,i will see again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeAJul 25, 2010
A great movie! Yep, it is very over the top with an outrageous story line, but with the plot twists and the action it was a outrageously great time. For my money Angelina is the best action star today, male or female.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
ThomasL.Jul 27, 2010
Very good action movie. Jolie is terrific. Sort of like Bourne except that it's a good film and Jolie makes Damon look like a ... girlie man.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KatA.Jul 24, 2010
LOVED IT!!! Silly script, great direction, pacing and score. Angelina was FANTASTIC!! Heart breathtakingly tender and killer cold.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceO.Jul 28, 2010
Salt allowed me to suspend my critical mind, an incredible feat since I grew up in Studio City and am a writer myself. Angelina is so damn GOOD that none of it matters, though. Her acting is great between actions scenes that she dives into Salt allowed me to suspend my critical mind, an incredible feat since I grew up in Studio City and am a writer myself. Angelina is so damn GOOD that none of it matters, though. Her acting is great between actions scenes that she dives into with aplomb and a vitality that makes your jaw drop knowing she did all the stunts and fights herself. It doesn't hurt one bit that she's also one of the most perfect genetic productions of human evolution (beautiful!) ever to walk the planet. Angie has a look on her face in fights that's both spooky and genuine, and her moves would make both a black belt and a mother mountain lion proud. Loved it! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
HarbingerAug 13, 2010
It was a high-octane action film that was throughly entertaining. The plot was absurd at times, but the cast makes it intruiging enough for you to invest on all the B.S. happenning, especially Angelina Jolie. She is great as always, and sheIt was a high-octane action film that was throughly entertaining. The plot was absurd at times, but the cast makes it intruiging enough for you to invest on all the B.S. happenning, especially Angelina Jolie. She is great as always, and she really owns the character of Evelyn Salt. A 7.5/10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
lkusaAug 15, 2010
Really enjoyable film. Paced well, flashbacks make sense, motivations are clear, action scenes are not fully believable, but fun none-the-less. Jolie is a splendid actress, Liev Schreiber is a fine actor and the rest of the cast was veryReally enjoyable film. Paced well, flashbacks make sense, motivations are clear, action scenes are not fully believable, but fun none-the-less. Jolie is a splendid actress, Liev Schreiber is a fine actor and the rest of the cast was very good. Many movies suffer from inattentive casting, but this one was spot on.
All-in-all, a fun, action-packed great summer diversion.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AaronMOct 11, 2010
If you simply miss seeing Angelina Jolie on the big screen, this movie is for you! She's like a breath of fresh air. The movie's a reminder of her strong presence, professionalism, and daring nature. But you may ask what about everything elseIf you simply miss seeing Angelina Jolie on the big screen, this movie is for you! She's like a breath of fresh air. The movie's a reminder of her strong presence, professionalism, and daring nature. But you may ask what about everything else in the movie? Umm, did I mention that Angelina Jolie is in it? She rocks, and that's really all that matters in this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
When somebody accuses her of being a KGB sleeper agent, Evelyn Salt goes on the run and attempts to clear her name. But it becomes somewhat clear that Salt is actually a sleeper agent and was trained by russians when she was very young. ButWhen somebody accuses her of being a KGB sleeper agent, Evelyn Salt goes on the run and attempts to clear her name. But it becomes somewhat clear that Salt is actually a sleeper agent and was trained by russians when she was very young. But as a trained operative, Evelyn Salt has some ideas. It quickly turns into a plot that has many twists and I was impressed by how Salt kind of became the new Bourne, just by being able to do something quickly and the sharpness of it. With Angelina Jolie, it also provides the film with slight seduction but doesn't actually make the film better. What maked this movie interesting to watch is what seems to be million dollar question is "Who is Salt?" By the end no one knows for sure, and ends on a perfect cliffhanger that sets the stage for a Salt 2. The movie is intense and action packed from the start and definitely one of the best of the summer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CreviewerFeb 23, 2011
First before I review this movie can someone tell me who's team she's on. I'm sure she switched sides at least ten times during the movie, which in case you were wondering made the movie a little confusing. The action I like and at least sheFirst before I review this movie can someone tell me who's team she's on. I'm sure she switched sides at least ten times during the movie, which in case you were wondering made the movie a little confusing. The action I like and at least she always switched sides with a bang or a assassinated leader. Although I'm afraid they made a mistake trying to make another movie. First of all what is the title going to be? Pepper? Rosemary? and second I'm not sure if I can stand any more quadruple agents. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LJJonesJul 29, 2010
One of the reasons movies are made is to twist reality into how we would like things to be. I'm tired of these critics who are so myopic in their own thinking that they forget why movies are made in the first place. I loved Salt. I gave One of the reasons movies are made is to twist reality into how we would like things to be. I'm tired of these critics who are so myopic in their own thinking that they forget why movies are made in the first place. I loved Salt. I gave it a nine. She represents an I don't give a damn attitude and most of the people she slams makes your day a little better. It was very entertaining and after all, isn't that really why we go to the movies in the first place? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LonnieJ.Jul 29, 2010
Anyone who doesn't like this movie should go on Google and look up entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LexaB.Jul 29, 2010
Move over boys, Jolie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonWJul 30, 2010
Overall a great ride. If you go into this expecting Angelina Jolie in the middle of lots of explosions, chases, and action in general with not much of a plot then you'll be happy. If you go into this expecting the likes of T2, or the Overall a great ride. If you go into this expecting Angelina Jolie in the middle of lots of explosions, chases, and action in general with not much of a plot then you'll be happy. If you go into this expecting the likes of T2, or the Bourne legacy (action movies that ask you to think or invest a bit more in the characters) then you will not find what you're looking for. Overall I liked it and recommend it to all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatS.Jul 24, 2010
To those critics who say this movie isn't believable, I have one thing to say: Duh! When was the last time that you saw an action movie that was actually believable, if you wanted to look at it that way, or if you really thought about To those critics who say this movie isn't believable, I have one thing to say: Duh! When was the last time that you saw an action movie that was actually believable, if you wanted to look at it that way, or if you really thought about it? Action movies are famous for people surviving things that in real life would have them splattered all over. /rant. So, what is this movie? It's a he-- of a good time is what it is! I was continually having fun watching and wondering, what on earth is she going to do NEXT? And whatever I imagined was invariably topped by what happened in the movie. Invariably. It was amazing to watch, all of the acting was good, what more do you want from a movie like this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alanhJul 24, 2010
If you don't like this film, I guess you don't like spy stories or action movies. This is a great one. As for all the supposed holes in the plot, there are no more than one would find in any film about a diabolical plot to conquer If you don't like this film, I guess you don't like spy stories or action movies. This is a great one. As for all the supposed holes in the plot, there are no more than one would find in any film about a diabolical plot to conquer the world. Despite how unlikely the scenario might be, it all makes sense on its own terms. Roger Ebert has it right. This is a a don't miss thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoaoJul 26, 2010
Awesome movie, must see. Angelina is just amazing to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
stevenAug 31, 2010
Plot was outdated but fast-paced action didn't allow you to dwell on that aspect. If you're looking for more depth there is none; just take it as face value as a spy/action movie and enjoy the ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Lopez17Sep 1, 2010
Phillip Noyce, Kurt Wimmer and Brian Hegeland's "SALT" was one of the year's most hotly anticipated films everywhere you looked you saw the promotions for this slick and over-the-top action thriller from director Phillip Noyce(RabbitPhillip Noyce, Kurt Wimmer and Brian Hegeland's "SALT" was one of the year's most hotly anticipated films everywhere you looked you saw the promotions for this slick and over-the-top action thriller from director Phillip Noyce(Rabbit Proof-Fence, The Quiet American), screen play writers Brian Hegeland(L.A. Confidential, Robin Hood) and Kurt Wimmer (Equilibrium, Law Abiding Citizen). "SALT" is a kind of ripped form the headlines type of action thriller seeing as it is taking its main plot and premise from a news story about a women who accused of being a Russian spy. "SALT" is a standard order thriller with amazing action sequences and death defying stunts the only thing that sets this film apart from other action movies is the fact that it has a seasoned and highly professional star in the lead role, a veteran action director who knows his way around action sequences and conspiracy thrillers. But the plot to this movie seems to be mired in an over abundance of action sequences and chase sequences and to add on top of all that the film clocks out at a measly 1hr. 39 min which leaves little for character development or story development but truth be told does a movie like this really need all that? I don't think so. This film is more reliant on its action, stunts, chases, and Angelina Jolie's excellent performance as Evelyn Salt. This film has so many plot holes that you could drive a semi truck through it is the epitome of over the top action with each and every sequence delivering one brilliant filmed yet outrageously implausible stunt after another. All the while, the audience is sitting there in awe at the stylish and gritty action that laid out for the audience. "SALTâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KundKAug 23, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A decent action spy movie with an ultra-capable female heroine somewhere between Bourne and (closer to) Nikita with an outrageous story involving the assassination of Russian AND American president and starting a WW III with nuclear strikes on Iran and Mecca. Leave your brain at the entrance and, if you like this kind of fare and you are willing to suspend your disbelief, you will have fun. Final assassination is really a sight to behold although with Kurt Wimmer 's script (Equilibrium, Ultraviolet) you must expect some serious close combat badassery verging on supernatural. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BeatsAug 17, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Their are parts that i loved. The movie is great but thats not the point. I felt it was very rushed. The movie..2 hours long..felt like it was a 30 minute show you usually see on tv. Not saying not to see it(see it) but this movie was very rushed and now their's going to be a second movie based on the ending of her running away from the cops. So waste your money on that exactly what these producers planned to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sido88Aug 14, 2010
Sit down and enjoy the ride, ask questions later. Absurd plot, average dialogue, but some really great action, especially when in cinema. Jolie is good, just like Liev Schreiber, who plays just as big as a role as his female counterpart.Sit down and enjoy the ride, ask questions later. Absurd plot, average dialogue, but some really great action, especially when in cinema. Jolie is good, just like Liev Schreiber, who plays just as big as a role as his female counterpart. Looking forward to Salt 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmTroutAug 29, 2010
Let me just start off by saying that the trailers for Salt do it absolutely no justice and make it look like the most generic of forgotten identity action movies. Salt is much more than that. Due to seeing that trailer around 50 times, myLet me just start off by saying that the trailers for Salt do it absolutely no justice and make it look like the most generic of forgotten identity action movies. Salt is much more than that. Due to seeing that trailer around 50 times, my expectations were deflated but truthfully those expectations were never very high. I sat and watched as every minute my negative thoughts for this movie before I saw it were washed away and I became immersed in the action. If you are like me and were close to writing it off as garbage, think again.


Salt stars Angelina Jolie as Evelyn Salt, a â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dubmcAug 16, 2010
In Salt, Angelina Jolie plays a character once written for Tom Cruise. If you've read anything about the movie over the course of its multi-month media blitz, you've probably read that. Primarily this tidbit is used for publicity. But toIn Salt, Angelina Jolie plays a character once written for Tom Cruise. If you've read anything about the movie over the course of its multi-month media blitz, you've probably read that. Primarily this tidbit is used for publicity. But to ignore the impact this sex-swap had on the film itself is to miss the importance of Salt as a potential launch pad for a new breed of action heroines. More: http://cinewise.blogspot.com/2010/07/salt-2010.html Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FlintJan 30, 2011
Bourne has a lot to answer for, this time its a good thing, as-long as you don't stop to think about what is happening (in which case you will quickly figure it all out) even the plot matches the "top shelf" action which only enters theBourne has a lot to answer for, this time its a good thing, as-long as you don't stop to think about what is happening (in which case you will quickly figure it all out) even the plot matches the "top shelf" action which only enters the ridiculous once or twice... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kk10Aug 24, 2010
The movie is to damn predictable, there are plot holes and always feels like you've seen it before but it is enjoyable. The plot is fast and angelina Jolie is stunning. This summer has had poor movies this is not one of them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
IgongeAug 25, 2010
This film was incredibly enjoyable. I wasn't expecting much after reading many average reviews. The film keeps you guessing right up until the very end "Who is Salt?". The ending leaves a path open for a sequel, which I very much hope happens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EnSabacAug 26, 2010
Fun roller coaster ride of action and suspense. Quite obviously not based in reality but quite believable if you were to picture it in the Bourne universe. I will be picking it up when it gets released on BluRay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
"Salt" may start off with some clunky storytelling, but once the action takes off (which it doesn't take too long to do), it's a senseless joyride, finding a niche between "Bourne"-style realism and "Mission Impossible" inanity (yes, a mask"Salt" may start off with some clunky storytelling, but once the action takes off (which it doesn't take too long to do), it's a senseless joyride, finding a niche between "Bourne"-style realism and "Mission Impossible" inanity (yes, a mask is used at one point in the movie). Of course, the driving force is Angelina Jolie as Evelyn Salt, a CIA agent who is accused of being a Russian spy. Salt is altogether a static character, but shifts in narrative constantly make our view of her dynamic, no knowing whether to pin her as hero or antihero, and Jolie plays this ambiguity to perfection. The movie itself isn't perfect, though - to me, occasional plot holes made it more confusing than "Inception," and the idea of a Cold War carry-over in this day and age is somewhat laughable. Still, the movie plays its thrills right, and character of Salt fulfills what she was written to be - a bona fide action star. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
shlugalugAug 27, 2010
Angelina Jolie in a tailor-made role that strays away from Lara Croft or Mrs. Smith. The film itself is a breath of fresh air and itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SonicphotoAug 29, 2010
Salt may not be the most original film in terms of its plot, but it is definitely done right for the most part. This is mainly due to Angeline Jolie being such a great strong actress for this kind of film and the movie itself keeps youSalt may not be the most original film in terms of its plot, but it is definitely done right for the most part. This is mainly due to Angeline Jolie being such a great strong actress for this kind of film and the movie itself keeps you interested all the way through and may give you a surprise or two in its plot depending on how many films you've seen of this kind, of course. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sr_81Aug 31, 2010
a lot of fun. keeps you guessing which side salt is on and what her real motivations are. some nice twists. its unpredictable and that's what sets it above most action films. Jolie plays the character well. although you have to suspenda lot of fun. keeps you guessing which side salt is on and what her real motivations are. some nice twists. its unpredictable and that's what sets it above most action films. Jolie plays the character well. although you have to suspend your disbelief that such a physically thin woman could beat up all those big guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
libnoSep 1, 2010
Salt is definitely a film worth watching. I don't know why anyone's saying it's bad because it's really good. Sure, somethings were strange and unheard of (to me) like a pipe-fire extinguisher-tissue-alcohol rocket launcher.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
grindhouse83Sep 1, 2010
With Wanted and now this on her resume Angelina Jolie is the undefeated female action star. She exudes movie-star charisma, physical prowess and has the acting chops to pull off the more emotionally charged scenes. Forget the risible LaraWith Wanted and now this on her resume Angelina Jolie is the undefeated female action star. She exudes movie-star charisma, physical prowess and has the acting chops to pull off the more emotionally charged scenes. Forget the risible Lara Croft, this movie is fast-paced and entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
peoplewhomatterSep 3, 2010
Great movie! a must see! definitely not predictable. a great experience its almost like an action and a mystery movie put together. great twist at the end!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kabloomSep 3, 2010
Just what a mindless summer movie should be. Lots of great stunts, a story that's just interesting enough to keep you going between the blowups and bullets. There's no depth, don't get me wrong, but it's a nice way to spend a few hours in theJust what a mindless summer movie should be. Lots of great stunts, a story that's just interesting enough to keep you going between the blowups and bullets. There's no depth, don't get me wrong, but it's a nice way to spend a few hours in the air conditioning while shoving down the popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
attikonsinefilSep 5, 2010
watched the film and loved the action! don't get me wrong, it is a film I would not hesitate to watch again...but... there are some gaps in the plot! what is really the use of the scene where Salt after her release in N.Korea is talking withwatched the film and loved the action! don't get me wrong, it is a film I would not hesitate to watch again...but... there are some gaps in the plot! what is really the use of the scene where Salt after her release in N.Korea is talking with her husband saying he should have petitioned for her as 'now they know who he is'...we learn that Liv Shreiver's character asked her to get close to the person that became her husband.OK! but if the script was clever enough, they would have used this sub-plot more effectively given what is revealed about Shreiver's character in the end...it does not make sense that Salt's husband is just killed...
it is a shame that more thought has not been put into the script. It could have outdone Inception in a compelling film. Still hope they get to make a sequel though. Hopefully there would be more 'meat' in the sequel...
having said that, this film provides great entertainment, has wonderful action scenes and a great cast!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
tghm1801Sep 6, 2010
A fun if slightly absurd movie, although the end sucked.
Bad.
But apart from that, it was a pretty good action movie and a good summer blockbuster. I went to see this with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it, even if you have to suspend belief
A fun if slightly absurd movie, although the end sucked.
Bad.
But apart from that, it was a pretty good action movie and a good summer blockbuster.
I went to see this with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it, even if you have to suspend belief when you walk into the cinema.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SecretAgentGalSep 19, 2010
In SALT, the best action thriller of Summer 2010, Angelina Jolie proves her talent in a leading role originally written for a man.

As secret agent Evelyn Salt, Jolie builds a character that is fresh, driven, interesting and not overly
In SALT, the best action thriller of Summer 2010, Angelina Jolie proves her talent in a leading role originally written for a man.

As secret agent Evelyn Salt, Jolie builds a character that is fresh, driven, interesting and not overly complex as she moves through steep emotional challenges. In SALT, she is accused of being a Russian double agent and must prove her loyalty to the U.S.A. while spies, government agents and criminal goons threaten at every turn. With abundant plot twists, SALT is just plain fun. Jolie asked for the part and got it, giving her the opportunity to become the quintessential secret agent woman. Not only does she play the genre well, she updates and redefines it in the following ways: - Brave with Heart: There's a dramatic moment in SALT where Jolie has the opportunity to blow away a Russian operative. She chooses not to do so. Moments like these help drive the plot, but also give welcome relief from the endless shootout scenes that fill espionage thrillers. Jolie develops human interest in scenes with her gawky but lovable German husband Mike (August Diehl). - Athletic and Sensuous: Jolie avoids the scantily clad look of James Bond's women. Her physique and stamina are on display, but not exploited. A satisfying array of stunts - most of which she performs herself - can inspire viewers who identify with a brave leading woman. SALT is like the spy film Julia on steroids. Agent Salt runs, leaps, changes her appearance, and gets where she needs to go. Facing life's daily challenges, arenâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mdm99Sep 18, 2010
A fantastic action movie as expected, but surprisingly the movie also had a great plot and unexpected plot twists. one of the most entertaining movies of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
T-PitySep 20, 2010
I'd really like to give this a 7 1/2 but the meter won't let me. What's not to like here? The Russians are back as the Free World's arch enemy, Angelina Jolie has found her niche as the action hero of the next decade (Take that Terminator!I'd really like to give this a 7 1/2 but the meter won't let me. What's not to like here? The Russians are back as the Free World's arch enemy, Angelina Jolie has found her niche as the action hero of the next decade (Take that Terminator! Move aside Jason Bourne! Ripley, meet Salt!), the momentum is non-stop and the plot is over the top--but not TOO far over the top. This is just a fun movie that no one should take at all seriously. And what a hoot--Jolie as a guy! Talk about suspending reality! Too, too much fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheCylonSep 23, 2010
It had a nice premise but lacked the execution that the any of the "Bourne" movies exhibited. Overall, it was a decent movie. It just fell short of creating a franchise, which it easily could have done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TonyMar 20, 2011
Great action sequences and sound work, but the story was nothing fascinating. It is worth seeing and is certainly an enjoyable two hours, but don't expect anything more than a fun thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviefreak12Jan 22, 2011
wow what a movie. great action, plot, acting just wow. The backflashes i though where corny and could have been made better though. This one movie i wish they will make into a franchise because i will definaly be in line to see the next onewow what a movie. great action, plot, acting just wow. The backflashes i though where corny and could have been made better though. This one movie i wish they will make into a franchise because i will definaly be in line to see the next one and the next one after that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SGRevanJul 29, 2011
Salt is a great movie. It's full of action sequences, interesting story and phenomenal acting by Angelina Jolie. The plot itself takes a turn once or twice and keeps you hooked until the end. If you have to compare this film to any other outSalt is a great movie. It's full of action sequences, interesting story and phenomenal acting by Angelina Jolie. The plot itself takes a turn once or twice and keeps you hooked until the end. If you have to compare this film to any other out there, I'd say 'The Bourne Identity' gets real close. Though if I have to name anything that's negative, well... it's a movie you watch once... after that the fun is gone since this movie is based on surprises and excitement only. Also it's nothing new, we've seen films like this before.... but don't get me wrong, 'SALT' is still very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LondonTrueloveNov 10, 2010
One of the better movies I've seen in a while. Anyone who gives this less than an 7 or 8 shouldn't watch movies anymore, just go and hide in a dark hole b/c you're worthless to society.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
consumerDec 31, 2010
It's not just another spy movie but another movie with a lot of story in it. Angelina Jolie's character has to run for her life when people find out she's a Russian spy, while she has to complete her missions as well. The stunts and actionIt's not just another spy movie but another movie with a lot of story in it. Angelina Jolie's character has to run for her life when people find out she's a Russian spy, while she has to complete her missions as well. The stunts and action may bores people for a while but Jolie manages to save the flaw by her acting. What is much to my relief is the movie has enough changes of outcome that are easy to understand and not only focused in the ending. Obvious snoozy talking scenes look shortened but brings a lot of meaning to leave more space for the action. Thank God! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
enigma13Jan 2, 2011
Good story line, lots of action, and excellent pace. A couple scenes were predictable but they're far outweighed by all the surprises and plot twists. Action was less than realistic but who cares - it's the story and the non-stop actionGood story line, lots of action, and excellent pace. A couple scenes were predictable but they're far outweighed by all the surprises and plot twists. Action was less than realistic but who cares - it's the story and the non-stop action that makes it a good ride. Just relax and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WaltzarooDec 27, 2010
Woeful. Just a bad version of Bourne, but with a chick in place of Jason Bourne. The only exception being that it's even more inaccurate and unbelievable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TriatsilaJan 9, 2011
A so, so action film. Enjoyable enough with an exciting twist at the end. The genre has been done so many times that it becomes hard to do something different with it. They've tried with this film and succeeded a little bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
The_orudJan 8, 2011
This is James Bond becomes Jane Bond. She can win 3 on 1 fights. She can save the world. And she can look great doing it. The world is safer with salt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrC3030Feb 2, 2011
Fast, edgy, tense, amazing!!! This film was an absolute knock out ! Angelina Jolie was the perfect choice for this film. I a lot people I know complain because they that this film was unrealistic, but I say boo to them because this filmFast, edgy, tense, amazing!!! This film was an absolute knock out ! Angelina Jolie was the perfect choice for this film. I a lot people I know complain because they that this film was unrealistic, but I say boo to them because this film lived up to the hype in my opinion and kept me on the the edge of my seat!!!

Acting: Good
Storyline: Great Characters: Excellent
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Peter_Labose_LAFeb 17, 2011
Salt was my favorite action movie in the past few years. Action packed from start to finish with some interesting twists. Angelina was suited perfectly for the role and excelled. It was great to see a female lead in a somewhat Bond styleSalt was my favorite action movie in the past few years. Action packed from start to finish with some interesting twists. Angelina was suited perfectly for the role and excelled. It was great to see a female lead in a somewhat Bond style thriller. Jolie showed her grit and knack for handling danger similar to her days as Lara Croft. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alleyt1989Feb 25, 2011
I really liked this, one of the better action movies I've seen in a very long time. Angelina Jolie is great in her role as Evelyn Salt, and the film leaves you wanting more! A sequel please!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RoscoAug 3, 2011
SALT: basically the female Jason Bourne? Quite possibly actually. Angelina Jolie delivers a very solid and action-packed performance as Evelyn Salt, a CIA Agent who goes on the run after she is accused by a Russian defector as being a RussianSALT: basically the female Jason Bourne? Quite possibly actually. Angelina Jolie delivers a very solid and action-packed performance as Evelyn Salt, a CIA Agent who goes on the run after she is accused by a Russian defector as being a Russian spy. It's nothing ground-breaking as we have seen this before but its very entertaining as there is some genuinely incredible action sequences. The story is somewhat confusing at times to say the least yet somehow intriguing as you try to work out just who Salt is. The area where Salt does deliver is in the entertainment. Whether its the action sequences or the element of surprise and excitement it is a throughly watchable film. As i've said before SALT is certainly nothing fresh its been done before, Bourne anyone? Ofcourse the intriguing element is the story and background and that makes it ever so slightly different but also given the fact its a female its a very good alternative from the macho, muscle assassin on the run. All in all Salt is a hugely enjoyable film with plenty on offer and while the story is far from straightforward its certainly worth a watch plus with the way the movie ends I think its natural to assume this isn't the last time we'll be seeing Angelina Jolie as Salt, this movie may well kickstart another franchise! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AlvaradoKTAJul 17, 2013
This is an enjoyable movie, it is thrilling throughout with good action scenes (thanks to a usual good performance by Angelina Jolie) The plot is also very interesting and has a satisfying ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Night_Hawk_2012May 17, 2012
Salt is one of my favorite action films Angelina Jolie of course, delivered a powerful performance and Liev Schreiber also did well in his role. Salt had me on the edge of my seat when I seen it in theaters. The rest of the audience alsoSalt is one of my favorite action films Angelina Jolie of course, delivered a powerful performance and Liev Schreiber also did well in his role. Salt had me on the edge of my seat when I seen it in theaters. The rest of the audience also loved it at the end there was even some applauds. Hope to see a sequel someday! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
axelkochSep 25, 2012
This movie has so unbelievably many turns of events and thats what makes it so great. It's illogical and makes many of the usual hollywood action movie mistakes, but the surprising thing is: no one is who you expect them to be here. And thatThis movie has so unbelievably many turns of events and thats what makes it so great. It's illogical and makes many of the usual hollywood action movie mistakes, but the surprising thing is: no one is who you expect them to be here. And that makes it worth watching! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Captain_KirkAug 27, 2012
'Salt' is a very fun movie as long as you ignore logic and the laws of physics and just settle down for a fun ride. Even though the film feels serious in tone and doesn't follow the over-the-top formula that films like 'Wanted' do, there is'Salt' is a very fun movie as long as you ignore logic and the laws of physics and just settle down for a fun ride. Even though the film feels serious in tone and doesn't follow the over-the-top formula that films like 'Wanted' do, there is still a lot of entertainment value to be had here as long as you know what you're expecting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMar 22, 2014
Salt is completely implausible, yet it must be said that Jolie plays her role almost perfect. The nature of the film and the way the story unfolds itself makes you want to watch this movie more than once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Denstar51Oct 28, 2013
Angelina Jolie is an interesting study and I believe she belongs to that class
of woman actress who wishes to act out their torture fantasies and she seeks out parts like these.
I can reference the flicks “Mr. Sardonicus” where Lorna
Angelina Jolie is an interesting study and I believe she belongs to that class
of woman actress who wishes to act out their torture fantasies and she seeks out parts like these.

I can reference the flicks “Mr. Sardonicus” where Lorna Hanson removes her shoes and stockings and bares her feet for leeches, both Doris Von Danwitz and Gaby Fuchs in “Mark of the devil”, where Gaby Fuchs is stretched out on a rack totally nude and has the soles of her bare feet scorched.

As Doris Von Danwitz also has the same fate of the rack stretching her albeit with a dress on but having her high arch soles roasted by a red hot branding iron, to the tune of her screaming. I’d like to know what motivates women to do this. To twist men out?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadOct 2, 2015
Even if the plot doesn't make quite as sense, it is still VERY entertaining. From the first few scenes, I knew this was gonna be good. Angelina Jolie really delivers, and this is a very fun thriller. Story wise, however, wasn't as good, andEven if the plot doesn't make quite as sense, it is still VERY entertaining. From the first few scenes, I knew this was gonna be good. Angelina Jolie really delivers, and this is a very fun thriller. Story wise, however, wasn't as good, and too many plot twists to make this confusing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31Feb 7, 2016
Kept me interested the whole way through, with lots of twists! And that handrail scene tho, omfg.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-351028-Salt-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews