Sanctum

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 92
  2. Negative: 27 out of 92

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 29, 2011
    3
    lack of depth in concept. lifeless characters. poorly narrated. outdated camera movements and screenplay makes sanctum a hell of a movie. only saving grace is slick visuals in the movie.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    2
    The swarm of negative reviews should warn potential viewers. Without the 3d effects we're left with something akin to the old Saturday morning kids adventure flicks. It is really hard to imagine that this came from the same creative mind as Avatar. It's so cheesy, such wooden acting and stilted dialogue. Best unintentionally funny line - "I'm not wearing the wet suit of a dead person!" SoThe swarm of negative reviews should warn potential viewers. Without the 3d effects we're left with something akin to the old Saturday morning kids adventure flicks. It is really hard to imagine that this came from the same creative mind as Avatar. It's so cheesy, such wooden acting and stilted dialogue. Best unintentionally funny line - "I'm not wearing the wet suit of a dead person!" So there. Maybe if you could actually care about the characters it could have generated some emotional involvement. Only saving grace, some native folks got paid for working on this abysmal production. Expand
  3. Feb 6, 2011
    0
    Sanctum, Rectum, apparently the same thing. For those of you that thought Titanic was the best movie ever, you will love this film. A film that makes me want to puke as it is so baddly done, and claims to have had a script, which I don't think it did.
  4. Jul 16, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the very beginning you ask yourself: what is at stake here ? Exploring a cave that really nobody gives a rat's ass about, where is the pressure ? If it takes them ten years to explore it, still nobody cares. The death of the first diver is announced twenty minutes before it is actually happening. Since the rest of the script is not much better, this small flaw fits right in. By the way, a storm or cyclone does not surprise anyone for the last I would say 25 years. Satellites can track these things pretty accurately - how believable is it that a well-equipped expedition does not seem to have access to local weather data, and is actually surprised by a major cyclone ? All the drama never seems real, because it isn't: it is caused by the utter stupidity of these so-called professionals. All the yelling and screaming makes things seem even more out of control, but do not add an ounce to the quality of this flick. The name James Cameron appears in the opening title credits...hard to believe ! Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    what a Terrible Movie. Waste of 11.00 dollars. James Cameron should be a shame of putting his good name on this awful movie. I voted it a 0. movie was east to predict the out come
  6. Orn
    Feb 8, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aside from assisted suicide, mercy killing, unwarranted profanity (including what must be considered excessive use of the F-word), heresy, atheism, blasphemy,a weak script, disconnected acting, and technical errors, Sanctum has little to recommend it to discerning moviegoers. George, all bloodied and suffering from an earlier bout with the bends, looks like he has minutes to live. But he must be killed "mercifully,' which act we are forced to watch as he dies most unwillingly. The tough, sometimes driven father bids his son, who earlier in the film would have gladly murdered the old man, now does so reluctantly. An experience diver panics uncharacteristically. And we are privileged to watch all these shenanigans in glorious underwater 3D. It doesn't help. Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although " Sanctum " ( 3-D / IMAX ) has lovely scenes of back light divers, and huge blue-light caves, the film's dialogue collapses in the very first sentences, with the audience laughing at all the wrong parts ;
    A -la " Catwoman ."

    Added to this sloppiness are a non-stop series of gruesome close up, drawn out, right-in-your-face deaths. The sheer volume and intensity of these moves this film from a simple "Divers Underwater" movie into the " Rebreather Snuff film " category. In addition, "Sanctum" was filmed it on the cheap. True, the cave set is good, but, I believe the base camp shots within the cave should have used stronger lighting, using a smaller "f-Stop" resulting in everything being in sharp focus for better 3-D effect.

    Finally, if your shooting in 3-D, you use it, redlining its capacities. As an example, In the film, there is a distant shot of someone base jumping off a cliff. In 3-D, Anything like this should be seen from "his" viewpoint; standing on the cliff edge, turning away from his smiling friends, then slowllly tilting down, giving a little jump and falling off into space.

    Alas, they messed this up too.

    Despite the dialogue, I was rooting for this film; maybe they could turn it around but, as the body count mounted I realized they'd just lost it. Leaving the theater, I pondered " why did they made the film" ? True, it's " Based On A Real Event" but so what? Who wants to see this & have it rubbed in their face; whatever possessed them ? A divers " Angela's Ashes?" - Then Why IMAX? Why 3-D ?

    Seeing " The Kings Speech next, that gets great reviews . .
    Expand
  8. Feb 24, 2011
    0
    Terrible. Horrible. Crappy. good- for nothing. waste of time. I didn't realize the height of my folly when i went for this god forsaken film . This is less than pathetic in fact
  9. Apr 24, 2011
    0
    Someone please tell me why people give other people money to make **** movies like this. I was unbelievably disappointed in this movie, and my expectations were already low. The acting is dreadful, the story is lacking and the 3D, what they advertised the crap out of the movie with was just painful. Don't ever consider seeing this movie, for the sake of your well being, just don't.
  10. May 11, 2011
    0
    This movie would have been great if presented for what it actually is: A B movie with fabulous cinematography.... It's claim is that it is based on a true story (two of the only true parts being the cave and a chunk of hair being ripped off from a diver ). God knows I love my horror films but I went into this movie assuming it was a good faith action flick genuinely based on a true story.This movie would have been great if presented for what it actually is: A B movie with fabulous cinematography.... It's claim is that it is based on a true story (two of the only true parts being the cave and a chunk of hair being ripped off from a diver ). God knows I love my horror films but I went into this movie assuming it was a good faith action flick genuinely based on a true story. At 1st, the assumption that this may be real made me feel sick, (regardless of the lack of plot) then after verifying the facts I got somewhat angry but most of all cheated.... Sanctum is nothing more than a beautiful B movie. And should it have been marketed as such would have got a 10 from this writer. Expand
  11. Jul 15, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a terrible story and could've been made into a great movie. Only problem, the relationships and realizations that were supposed to be positive enough to counteract all the grisly deaths as the movie goes on weren't believable. You're just left with a depressingly drawn out movie and a father and son who magically start reconciling their differences after they're forced into the bowels of the cave system. Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2011
    1
    Sanctum is a terrible film, It was so boring and barely kept me interested in the story at all. This is very disappointing film and I didnt feel for the characters, The father and son were so annoying always **** at eachother that it got on my nerves. Please dont waste your money on this garbage. I would recommend not seeing this film at all.
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    2
    The special effects were good but everything else was awful. For starters the acting was terrible and the characters were boring and uninteresting especially that girl who was extremely annoying and the whole movie I kept yelling "just die already!" SPOILER SKIP TO NEXT PARAGRAPH!!!! When she did die I was so satisfied and happy!! The dialogue was another problem, it was so stupid. Half ofThe special effects were good but everything else was awful. For starters the acting was terrible and the characters were boring and uninteresting especially that girl who was extremely annoying and the whole movie I kept yelling "just die already!" SPOILER SKIP TO NEXT PARAGRAPH!!!! When she did die I was so satisfied and happy!! The dialogue was another problem, it was so stupid. Half of the lines that came out of the characters made no sense and were completely unnecessary. Plus at some points in the beginning of the movie it tried to be funny but it wasn't because the jokes were so dumb. The story is based on a true story but it's so horribly told here. It was uninteresting and the pacing was terrible. I know I've been saying a lot of negative things about this movie but there are some positives. The effects are wonderful and it's nicely shot. There were some scenes that were laughably bad too like the end, SPOILER SKIP TO NEXT PARAGRAPH!!!!!!!! where the father is dying and the son has to drown him holy crap that scene was bad. The father kept saying "Help me" while the son was crying and holding his father in his arms. Instead of trying to make this an emotional scene it was laughable it took 5 minutes for him to do it and the acting was so bad during this scene I just kept yelling at the screen, "Just do it already!". This movie had potential given its source material but it squandered it, visually no but everything else yes. The story was horribly told, the acting was awful, the dialogue was stupid, and the characters were boring, annoying and uninteresting. Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2012
    3
    Films like these absolutely MUST present you with characters that you make an emotional investment in. Otherwise, as they start dying off one-by-one, you end up shrugging and checking your watch rather than feeling their terror. See The Abyss for an example of how this is done correctly. The entire cast of Sanctum is so brainless and unlikeable that the entire heart of the film is DOA.Films like these absolutely MUST present you with characters that you make an emotional investment in. Otherwise, as they start dying off one-by-one, you end up shrugging and checking your watch rather than feeling their terror. See The Abyss for an example of how this is done correctly. The entire cast of Sanctum is so brainless and unlikeable that the entire heart of the film is DOA. It's annoying when the amateurs are still questioning and rebelling against the one guy who knows what he's doing 3/4 of the way through the film when he's been completely right all along. Ugh. Expand
  15. Feb 20, 2016
    1
    Ulewa w tropikach powodująca rwącą rzekę w jaskiniach…

    Absolutnie nic mnie w tym "filmie" nie porwało (nie to co głównych bohaterów he he). Beznadziejna historia, aktorstwo no i te efekty… Crap jakich dużo w tych czasach.
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 33
  2. Negative: 8 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 5, 2011
    50
    The bigger problem with the film, which is genuinely unnerving at times, is what happens when the cavers are not in immediate peril, because they talk.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Feb 5, 2011
    60
    Workmanlike suspenser, with plenty of cold water but sparse chills. When it comes to James Cameron scuba thrillers, "The Abyss" still has the edge.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 5, 2011
    25
    The movie ultimately reveals itself as a pretender with no balls. Creatively, it's all wet.