User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 169

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2014
    5
    This is a very different movie from Mr.Stone, it differs a lot from his usual patriotic films like Born On The Fourth Of July. It's a darker film and it gives solid performances from a well casted film. But the ending wasn't really my taste
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    2
    This film is horrendous and I was very surprised when I read the director was Oliver Stone. The worst part of it is, of course, the plot: trite and dull, where the only new thing we haven't already seen a million times is the double ending, which is an utter mess, so much so that I don't even want to write about it.

    The acting is laughable, with the exception of Benicio del Toro who is,
    as usual, great in this simple-minded, one-way character he was given. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I kept waiting for it to get better. It doesn't... it gets worse. The final ending really sinks it. Could they make the female character more whiny? She is someone you can't identify with and yet they continue to have her narrate. This is an art film with mainstream violence thrown in to make it sell.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    This movie was lame. I'm disappointed in Oliver stone. The story is lame and very unbelievable. The acting was very stale. Will not recommend or watch again.
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Savages is, thankfully, a one off experience. I have never experienced such a poor film in my years as a movie goer. None of the characters are likable, the script is a mess and hugely disappointing and Oliver Stone seems to still think random transitions and filters are impressive. It is not the worst movie ever made, but it could potentially be the least enjoyable.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    The one most obvious flaw in the movie. These two guys would not even care if 'O' was executed in the drug world. There is no loyalty or love. These people are insane, period. No compassion. No morality code. I got it, it's a movie. Just not very good one. The ending was a complete cinematic disaster. If that was Stone's artistic 'See what a great screenplay writer I am' attempt, I am disappointed. Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was good,exciting,thrilling but i say the "first" ending should've been the actual ending like Romeo and Juliet style,the ending when the big boss gets arrested by DEA is so tame and lame seriously,But yeah overall its enjoyable at most. Expand
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the ones i wanted to die was the main characters they were totally ugly. Taylor's character is a sadist every torture scene he's smirking. Gosh i was hoping the shootout ending was what really happened. this is an unwatchable travesty Expand
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The most stylish, thrilling and sexy Stone movie in ages. Savages a drug fuelled thriller in which Director Oliver Stone lives up to his filmmaking and gives us a story about Chon and Ben played the aero five Aaron Taylor Johnson and Taylor Kitsch. When their girl- Ophelia played by Pretty Little Lire's sexy Blake Lively gets kidnapped for their pot growing business by a Baja Drug Cartel, they get the odds to the evens. It may sound stupid but this is effective acting by Lado played by the one and only Bencio Del Toro and Elena played by Salma Hayek. Both actors are what that makes up Savages. Also Johnson gives a fine performance as Ben. In the end you are hallucinated by this thriller and the deep score that adds up to a fine masterpiece by Oliver Stone. Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For some reason i really liked this film. It was catchy and it had great plot. The cast was fine and in general seemed to me like a great film I liked that thing in the end that it opposed two alternative endings. That was smart Expand
  11. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Oliver Stone has done a great job with this film. From the beginning to the end I was thoroughly entertained, particularly with Benico Del Toro.

    Ignore anyone who comments on the story being racist. They're seeing something which conflicts with their views and react negatively to protect themselves (Cognitive dissonance). It's just a film and shows both sides can be good and bad.

    It
    must be said the love triangle you'll witness is very believeable too. Whilst some may think this is odd or strange within their world and context it is plausible. Very progressive for a mainstream hollywood film!

    I highly recommend this to anyone. My friends went into it thinking it was going to be crap and left quite satisfied. Sit back and enjoy!
    Expand
  12. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    A fun stylish action film, Savages is a lot of fun. It's good to see Oliver Stone making a strong action movie again. The only thing that made this film an 8 was a weak ending.
  13. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Too much exaggeration and commercialism. All the love-making and inhumane treatment of human bodies did not support the main point of the movie or at least, make up for the lack of real action. The kind of action is like throwing grenades and shooting big guns..nothing that requires too much skill (the way a real action film is suppose to be). This movie tried too hard to be sexy, scary, and hardcore. Expand
  14. Jan 31, 2013
    6
    Brutal, bloody, and ruthless. Savages was worth the rent, however it lacked the realism that makes most movies in the crime drama genre great. Blake Lively's( "O") over the top stoner got annoying after about 15 minutes of the movie----which made it more aggravating that her character was the narrator. Still other performances, especially Del Toro, picked up the movie. That being said I came out with that feeling of not knowing whether or not I truly liked it. It was nothing compared to Ted Demme and Johnny Depp's "Blow". Expand
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    It is the typical movie you do not know if you liked it or not.
  16. Jan 19, 2013
    5
    A return to form for Stone's dark side,"Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps" and "World Trade Center" were almost insultingly faceless, a definite problem for a director whose best films exude righteous anger. "Savages" generates ruthless energy, a battle between good and evil, except that everyone in it is evil, and the momentum generated by the savagery doesn't compensate for a lack-luster storyline.
    California dudes Ben and Chon (Aaron Johnson and Taylor Kitsch) are dragged into a turf war with the expansion-minded Mexican cartel run by Salma Hayek's drug-war widow Elena, and her brutally amoral deputy, Lado (Benicio del Toro). The Mexicans regularly show their power by creating and disseminating videos documenting torture and lots and lots of beheadings. Eighty miles over the border, in Laguna Beach, Ben and Chon supply their ultra-potent, genetically engineered strains to legal medical dispensaries but make their real money illegally shipping out of state. The product and its profits fuel the boys' lifestyle of neo-hippie decadence, embodied by the business partners' enthusiastic bedroom sharing of poor little rich girl turned eco-friendly, hippie Ophelia (Blake Lively). Both sides consider the other to be "savages"-which we know because they say it aloud repeatedly just in case we didn't catch it already.
    Mexican Baja Cartel decides to move in and demands that the trio partners with them. When the merciless head of the BC, Elena, and her brutal enforcer, Lado, underestimate the unbreakable bond among these three friends, Ben and Chon--with the reluctant, slippery assistance of a dirty DEA agent (John Travolta), wage a seemingly unwinnable war against the cartel. And so begins a series of increasingly vicious ploys and maneuvers in a high stakes, savage battle of wills. Honestly, not that bad but not that good either, resulting in complete indifference on this one. A talented cast that doesn't feel fully utilized and a story that's not all that compelling. Soul is something "Savages" lacks and feels hollow, not least because Kitsch and Johnson, who take on lead roles, register as blanks on-screen. In contrast, Hayek and del Toro, both sporting apparently intentionally terrible wigs, give over-the-top performances who command our interest while committing heinous acts, and setting a record for number of beheadings in a single film.
    Expand
  17. Jan 1, 2013
    5
    when I saw the trailer for this film was one of the ones I get excited to see in 2012, and I saw the 2/3 of the movie seemed good but not magnificent or memorable, compared to masterpieces like Traffic. But the end ..... blessed end! I dare say that between the 3 worse end was I seen in my **** life, that way to **** a movie.
  18. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Another comic book extrusion by Ollie Stone. The "violence" was so contrived, and the characters so manufactured, that it seemed about as real as an elementary school play, with little kids and plastic swords. Blake Lively as the hot babe? She's way over the hill. John Travolta again? Won't he ever go away, and do us the favor of keeping his bloated, cross-eyed, ferret-like mincing persona out of our collective view? And Salma Hayek with the Uma Thurman wig straight out of Pulp Fiction (a similar failed exercise in Hollywood cool-ness). How derivative can you get? I will say though that the movie got better after the 4th glass of wine. Expand
  19. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    They remove Blake Lively's greatest asset by having her narrate. The villains make the movie while the ending nearly ruins it. A mixed bag if there ever was one, but it's entertaining.
  20. Dec 10, 2012
    8
    I don't know what to say. It was a captivating movie, with the most brutal scene I've ever seen on a commercial film. It kept my attention and focus from frame one till the end -- which folks should be debating, and about which I would love to hear from Stone. IF you can take a very dark movie, this is one of the best of that genre.
  21. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    Wargasms? Are you kidding me man? I had to turn this film off. It's trying far too hard to be cool. Not gritty at all. Over the top in the extreme with the music, editing, even to the point of glamorizing the violence. Not a good idea to have a woman shot in the head followed by some cool music with a bunch of gangsters strutting along looking all bad!ass. This film might be trying to say something good, who knows. I just couldn't hack the style. Ok so Scarface is over the top, but it had atmosphere, mood, and it was intense, The violence was necessary but not gratuitous for the sake of it. Expand
  22. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This was a good movie but it was nowhere near the type of movie the previews led on. The trailers made it seem like almost a Taken style of movie but with a love triangle and drugs. Instead, it was a much slower style film. The acting was great and the politics and plot development was solid but I just was expecting a different vibe.
  23. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    This is just what the doctor ordered. A movie with an easy to understans story that has the momentum of a 1,000,000 ton train moving at 1,000,000 mph. It's a combination of modern filmaking and 70's pretentiousness. And that's great. This destroyed my theater made blues. Awesome.
  24. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    Surprisingly good effort from director Oliver Stone, in a territory that his fellow peers Martin Scorcesse is famous for: the crime drama. The younger casts are quite good, while both Hayek and Del Toro again showed us their acting chops. Typical of this genre, there's the usual ultra violence and gore. Too bad the ending felt tacked on. Otherwise, a pretty good crime flick.
  25. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    "Savages" was a pretty entertaining violent drug cartel tale. I may be alone in stating that the all-star cast detracted from the tale because it lent a saccharin celebrity-fest tone to it. Again alone here, but I didn't like Salma Hayak in that role, she doesn't come across as ruthless, at all, she's too feminine and dainty, totally miscast. That role, along with most others, should've gone to up and coming unknowns to give them a breakout film. I supposed Oliver Stone wanted his A-list buddies in it, so it's tainted for his personal choices. Otherwise, the storyline and pacing are good and you get several perspectives on savages throughout with an ironic twist just before credits roll. Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    Savages, a film by Oliver Stone, tends to be so over the top, you begin to wonder how the actors all keep a straight face. This is a film that's cheese ball, but doesn't know it's cheese ball. Those are the worst kinds of movies.
  27. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    A nasty, gory piece of entertainment. It's a lot of fun seeing how low-lives and scum stab each other in the back, side and front. Fine acting and cinematography too, with just some close-ups being too long and unnecessary. I had a problem sympathising with the leads, which I found to be a bit boring. Salma Hayek has the more interesting role. Two problems are more serious: The movie does not find it's own tone between sexy hippie story and hardcore gangster drama (which makes it about 15 minutes to long too). And the ending sucks! Otherwise a darkly good time (B). Expand
  28. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    While Savages could have been a little more than what it was, it's still a fine piece of film-making. Some may find the violence distasteful, but the performances are what keeps the film going along.
  29. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    my roomate's step-mother brought in $15301 last month. she has been making cash on the computer and moved in a $482100 condo. All she did was get fortunate and put into work the information given on this web NuttyRich.com
  30. Aug 4, 2012
    8
    Every time Oliver Stone comes to the big screen, the nostalgic thought comes to mind, (Wall Street), which is a great made film, and (Platoon) which won stone his first oscar win for best director. With a fantastic resume, Can Savages live up to the expectations of previous stone films? Chon, played by (Taylor Kitsch) is part of a drug rising and selling business with his best friend Ben (Aaron Johnson). Together, they have an empire of marijuana. Also, in their empire, they are both in love with O (Blake Lively, who plays a true slut, Haha). Mexican Cartel leader Elena, played by the ever so beautiful, (Selma Hayek), who plays a very passionate cartel leader, who when seeing her on screen, you know she has complete power. Elena wants to work with Chon and Ben, and use their knowledge of the drug business to make one huge profit. Along the way we are introduced to Lado (Benicio Del Toro), who steals every single scene in the movie with such a charismatic style, and Dennis performed by (John Travolta), who personally I Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 21, 2012
    20
    Sadly, Savages plays up to Stone's worst tendencies: machismo, bombast and self-indulgence, and the factor that could conceivably have made this movie tolerable – humour – is off the menu.
  2. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Sep 17, 2012
    40
    What could have been an effective excoriation of US drug policy and a proper look at the violence inherent in the trade is wasted on a simplistic thriller that offers very little, especially given who is behind the camera. Sorry if that harshes anyone's buzz.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Savages is punishing in places, but there are enough colourful characters and careening twists to make it worth the effort.