User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ShawnR.
    May 30, 2004
    10
    This movie is suprisingly funny and smart. And i give mandy moore props, because she was actually very funny and fun to watch...great movie that makes u think!!!
  2. AlfonsoM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    This movie by far has been the funniest movie i seen this year. Thought some people found it offensive is funny how they poke fun at Christian school life. I was funny as hell (no pun intended) people just need to relax and not take everything so serious especially movies.
  3. SteveH.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Yeah, Its amazing!!!!
  4. JC
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    (If there was a choice of 11 out of 10, I'd vote 11. )This movie was my favorite of all...and I'm crazy for movies. Before this I couldn't choose my absolute favorite...but this is by far the best. i don't feel that this movie puts Christians down or brings them up...it just has over all good morals and shows just what kind of thoughts go through teens' heads. (If there was a choice of 11 out of 10, I'd vote 11. )This movie was my favorite of all...and I'm crazy for movies. Before this I couldn't choose my absolute favorite...but this is by far the best. i don't feel that this movie puts Christians down or brings them up...it just has over all good morals and shows just what kind of thoughts go through teens' heads. I'm Christian and I wasn't offended by it at all. You just have to forget about how offending religion can be...and just love the characters (Patrick ... :) ) and the humor. If you haven't seen it...make sure you do! Expand
  5. JasonS.
    May 31, 2004
    10
    This was a fun, funny film. It struck the perfect balance between satire and sincerity, expressing the difficulty of actually living religion in an ambiguous world.
  6. Michaela
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    This movie rocks mi world!! Im not a christian like the movie suggest but i rekon its got a really good message to all teens! Patrick Fugit was such a HOTTIE in the movie too! Damn Jena Malone who got to kiss him!! But REALLy good movie!!
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Saved! is a must see for anyone who has survived the sterile Christian culture bubble and come out on the other side with a better understanding of faith. The satire is humorous and spot on as it tackles the many quirks of a young Christian. The audience for this film is likely limited, but I still laugh out loud every time I watch it. My only criticism of the film lies with some of theSaved! is a must see for anyone who has survived the sterile Christian culture bubble and come out on the other side with a better understanding of faith. The satire is humorous and spot on as it tackles the many quirks of a young Christian. The audience for this film is likely limited, but I still laugh out loud every time I watch it. My only criticism of the film lies with some of the subpar acting. Parker and Donovan are stellar and Fugit and Moore hold their own, but the wooden performances of Malone, Culkin, and Martino leave something to be desired. Still, I must recomend this film as one of my favorite comedies. Expand
  8. AlbertR.
    May 31, 2004
    9
    Why is it that Jenna Malone seems to make every movie she's in like TONS better. And the actress playing Cassandra (Even Amurri, I think), is incredibly good in her role. Mandy Moore walks through her part, and Culkin is fine, but the aformentioned two actresses really make this film, and I recommend it.
  9. JoeK.
    Jun 1, 2004
    9
    A smart, captivating and engaging movie, with hilarious dialouge and stunning performances, in particular from the always-underrated Jena Malone. Those who attack it are missing the point - it's not about Christianity, it's about extremism.
  10. KellyS.
    Jun 12, 2004
    9
    A very enjoyable movie, though not as funny as I expected with a somewhat sappy ending. My only big complaint is that everyone in town was drinking Diet Coke or Sprite every time they sat down, and even while picking things up off the floor. I hate product placement.
  11. JeffL.
    Jul 15, 2004
    9
    This smart, sweet-spirited, and very funny satire is not, in the least, a broadside against Christianity, as its detractors (who mostly have not and will not see the film) might have you believe. Its targets - intolerance, fanatacism, hypocrisy, bigotry - all deserve a good roasting, and I'm not quite sure why Christians would, in essence, want to come out in favor of any of those This smart, sweet-spirited, and very funny satire is not, in the least, a broadside against Christianity, as its detractors (who mostly have not and will not see the film) might have you believe. Its targets - intolerance, fanatacism, hypocrisy, bigotry - all deserve a good roasting, and I'm not quite sure why Christians would, in essence, want to come out in favor of any of those things. This is actually one of the summer's top movie pleasures, with wonderful performances by knocked-up good-girl Jena Malone, sexy bad-girl Eva Amurri, bitchy Mandy Moore (relishing a break from all her nice-girl roles), preacher's son Patrick Fugit (the Almost Famous kid in a likeable turn), and even an amazingly good Macaulay Culkin as a rebellious, wheelchair-bound student. As to the accusation that the film wants only to affront or offend Christian beliefs: be aware that the lead character is a single young pregnant girl but that abortion is never seriously considered by her, or any other character, as an option. Expand
  12. GraceT.
    Apr 15, 2005
    9
    I thought that this movie was so great for all teenages!! you can total fall in love with all the characters.
  13. RobertA
    Oct 18, 2004
    8
    I haven't seen passion of the christ, and i probably will not see it for a long time. This movie i did see. and it was very funny. So if you like funny movies, and don't care about this movies jokes, you will like it too.
  14. Metagirl
    Jun 11, 2004
    8
    Laugh out loud funny. Unfortunately, half the people in the theater where I saw Saved! seemed not to realize it was a satire!
  15. TerraD.
    Jun 1, 2004
    8
    I thought this movie was funny, but I also thought that it touched on the difference between religion & spirituality. It was draggy in a couple of spots, but I think the message was really important. I enjoyed it!
  16. LewisM
    Jul 21, 2004
    8
    This is a brilliantly written satire that highlights the ironic and often hypocrtic behavior of many Evangelical Christians. While many have cried that this movie demonizes Christians and it glorifies athests, it's simply not true. Patrick Fugit's character (the PK) is a fine Christian character who exemplifies many modern liberal Christians. Cassandra is a secular Jew who is This is a brilliantly written satire that highlights the ironic and often hypocrtic behavior of many Evangelical Christians. While many have cried that this movie demonizes Christians and it glorifies athests, it's simply not true. Patrick Fugit's character (the PK) is a fine Christian character who exemplifies many modern liberal Christians. Cassandra is a secular Jew who is just the misunderstoof bad girl, and while Roland (Macaulay Culkin) does claim to not be a devout Christian by any means, he is not a religion hating athiest either. Great acting across the board. Yes some issues could have been hit a little harder, and I wanted a little more from the child parent relationships, and I did want to see the preacher grow a little more. All in all a must see. Expand
  17. AnnTaylor
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    Great movie.
  18. curefreak
    Jan 14, 2005
    7
    While i did like the film , it felt a little too safe for a satire i also didnt think macaulys role was'nt angry enough at his situation (wich he was supposed to be) and im sure that the fact it didnt stir up enough controversy within the christian community meant that the movie obviously didnt do its job.
  19. Hunter
    Jul 4, 2004
    6
    I see two reasons to dislike this movie: one, a reprehensible belief in the eternal truth of Christianity (read: the Bible); and two, a realization that the film preaches more than it teaches. This screenplay has an irreversible belief in its own verisimilitude, and I found that quality to be terribly exploitative. Inasmuch as I agreed with many of its ideals, I found that the film gave I see two reasons to dislike this movie: one, a reprehensible belief in the eternal truth of Christianity (read: the Bible); and two, a realization that the film preaches more than it teaches. This screenplay has an irreversible belief in its own verisimilitude, and I found that quality to be terribly exploitative. Inasmuch as I agreed with many of its ideals, I found that the film gave no leverage to its detractors. As any attentive student knows, a decent debator allows for (and rebuts) those who disagree. The lack herein makes this film more caricature than commentary. With that said, I would like any readers to know that Saved! makes certain essential points about homosexuality and Christianity. Christian sexual mores are inhumane and have been stagnating for hundreds of years before this film was made. Saved! makes the dichotomy between "sexual morality" and reality blatantly clear. While often mean-spirited and thus dispensable, the film reeks of truth. I'm grateful that this film points out the disgusting hypocrisy of Bible thumpers (and, indeed, the Bible itself); however, it's unfortunate that it was not more effectual in its presentation. As I said earlier, this film conjures a lucid caricature of dogmatic Christians, but it fails in its attempt to disprove them. Saved! wants to tell its audience that homophobia is repulsive (and, believe me, it is) but instead it merely pokes fun at homophobic Christians. This is truly unfortunate. Expand
  20. PatrickM.
    Jun 19, 2004
    6
    Hey, it was good, I won't deny that. But the reason I am not giving this movie an 8 or 9 is because of the ending. All movie long, it pokes fun at the radical Christians of the world. It points out the absurd world they are so captivated by. It is brilliant for the first 2/3. But then, they decide to lay off the issue. They tread lightly where they stomped before. They take the high, Hey, it was good, I won't deny that. But the reason I am not giving this movie an 8 or 9 is because of the ending. All movie long, it pokes fun at the radical Christians of the world. It points out the absurd world they are so captivated by. It is brilliant for the first 2/3. But then, they decide to lay off the issue. They tread lightly where they stomped before. They take the high, easy road. This movie had so much potential, they just needed to nail it to the cross. Collapse
  21. DaveC.
    Apr 10, 2006
    5
    Granted, it's not quite the malignant pile of crud that A Walk to Remember was, but this film could have been so much better. Characters aren't particularly interesting, some of the satire is enjoyable at first but the film doesn't really know where to go and the second half is barely distinguishable from any other bland, syrupy teen drama. It does raise some interesting Granted, it's not quite the malignant pile of crud that A Walk to Remember was, but this film could have been so much better. Characters aren't particularly interesting, some of the satire is enjoyable at first but the film doesn't really know where to go and the second half is barely distinguishable from any other bland, syrupy teen drama. It does raise some interesting questions though:- Why does the voice-over narrative in a film that is supposed to be lampooning Christian orthodoxy, address only Christian audience members with frequent casual references to Jesus? Why is atheism such a taboo even for the film-makers? Expand
  22. RobM.
    Jun 19, 2004
    4
    Although it was satiric of modern-day Christianity in several hilarious ways (Mandy Moore's excessiveness and the minister-principal's attempts to be cool come to mind), what I really hated was that the filmmakers ended the satire there. Why not additionally spoof, or at least mention, the teen movie clichés that this movie so painfully falls into? If you take out 5 or 6 Although it was satiric of modern-day Christianity in several hilarious ways (Mandy Moore's excessiveness and the minister-principal's attempts to be cool come to mind), what I really hated was that the filmmakers ended the satire there. Why not additionally spoof, or at least mention, the teen movie clichés that this movie so painfully falls into? If you take out 5 or 6 funny gags (all of which occur in the superior first half of the film), all you're left with is a "She's All That" or "Never Been Kissed"-style teen comedy. All the excess lies in the overexaggeration in the characters; the series of events was plain and unoriginal. And don't try to tell me that the prom-night ending was used to spoof teen films, because nothing extraordinary happens there. Nothing unpredictable, in fact, happens in the entire second half. One sub-plot I especially hated was a love story between the main character's mother and the preacher, neither of whom the audience has any reason to care about. This movie is getting way too much praise, it's an OK date movie if nothing else is playing, but no one will remember this movie in a year, not even it's exhalters. Expand
  23. ChadS.
    Jun 22, 2004
    4
    "Saved" is for the converted, the people who want to laugh at Christians for being Christians. The point of making a film like this is to unmask the Christian Right as hypocrites, in which they use their religion as a front for their politics. When Hilary (Mandy Moore) throws a bible at Mary (Jena Malone), the latter girl says, "That's not a weapon." Okay. That's a good line, so "Saved" is for the converted, the people who want to laugh at Christians for being Christians. The point of making a film like this is to unmask the Christian Right as hypocrites, in which they use their religion as a front for their politics. When Hilary (Mandy Moore) throws a bible at Mary (Jena Malone), the latter girl says, "That's not a weapon." Okay. That's a good line, so build on it. Moore's character is too nice, therefore mishandled, because if you're going to have Christians and gays in the same movie, you should have the two groups at each others throats. "Saved" is tame and inconsequential, rarely funny, and rips off "The Opposite of Sex" and "But I'm a Cheerleader" to lesser effect. Expand
  24. MarcK.
    Jun 23, 2004
    3
    What were Mandy Moore, Jena Malone, etc. thinking when they made a movie like this? Offensive and mean-spirited from the get-go. Why do I think that the vast majority of people who liked this movie were the ones complaining loudest about "The Passion of the Christ"?
  25. AlfredL.
    Jun 20, 2004
    0
    Sounds as if some people want to get even for Jude Süss. They're doing that, if that makes them feel good. This writer saw an advance AP story on "The Passion of the Christ" and spotted obvious stupidity or fanaticism. Ditto with most reviews of "Saved!" This is frightening to this Catholic. The makers of the film took cheap shots and most reviewers applauded. The chief notion, Sounds as if some people want to get even for Jude Süss. They're doing that, if that makes them feel good. This writer saw an advance AP story on "The Passion of the Christ" and spotted obvious stupidity or fanaticism. Ditto with most reviews of "Saved!" This is frightening to this Catholic. The makers of the film took cheap shots and most reviewers applauded. The chief notion, that some evangelical would have sex with a guy to cure him of homosexuality, begs the question: would she go to bed with a guy for any reason before marriage? And for that reason? Don't think so. Ugly stuff, the movie and the reviews. I can't emphasize too much just how seriously troubling all of this is. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. 50
    If director Brian Dannelly were interested in taking his film into the realm of camp, the gag might have worked, but as is, it simply gives the impression that he doesn't quite know what he's talking about.
  2. Reviewed by: Don R. Lewis
    60
    Saved! is just a sweet and funny movie that starts off with bite but settles into an honest feeling of happiness and acceptance for all types of people and their choices.
  3. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    60
    This comedic jape delivers some sharp jabs at obvious targets, namely the boosterish excesses of American religiosity.