User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 636 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 636
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    One of the most realistic WW2 movies, "Saving Private Ryan" has everything; a powerhouse cast, smart action, deep character depth, and a poignant sacrifice.
  2. AMovieCritic
    Jul 8, 2005
    6
    This was a very cool movie. I really enjoyed parts of it, and it really is something that should be seen by many people. This shows how war (I assume,)is really like. It's really an interesting movie, and (I'm sure,) very realistic. Spielberg's direction is flawless, and you really feel like you are in the action. Great movie. ...for a while. Unfortunately, as is often the This was a very cool movie. I really enjoyed parts of it, and it really is something that should be seen by many people. This shows how war (I assume,)is really like. It's really an interesting movie, and (I'm sure,) very realistic. Spielberg's direction is flawless, and you really feel like you are in the action. Great movie. ...for a while. Unfortunately, as is often the problem with Spielberg's movies, this goes on for way too long. At 2 hours and 30 minutes, this is a very long movie, and near the end of it, I just kind of lost interest. It just becomes too much. The movie says all it needs to say, and shows all it needs to show, but it keeps going. When they got to the last town, I just lost all interest. A very good movie, but way too long-winded. Expand
  3. ConradR.
    Jul 9, 2001
    10
    The one film that puts you off joining the army - truly horrific - perfect.
  4. PIRANHAG.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    Best war movie ever.
  5. millerc.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Best moive ever.
  6. Android
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly recommend this movie to anyone that can handle some graphic, painful, bloody action.
  7. GustavoH.R.
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    Perfection. Heart-wrenching drama, stunning battle scenes and also a tear-jerker - in the best sense of the word. One of the greatest war films ever made.
  8. DanielD
    Apr 22, 2009
    9
    A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a perfect rating is because I feel the graphic detail of violence, however realistic and brutal A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a perfect rating is because I feel the graphic detail of violence, however realistic and brutal reminder of how horrific war can be, leaves no room for imagination. But other than that this is an exceptional film. Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together with superb casting.
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Greatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains someGreatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains some incredibly gory scenes reminiscent on Saw. Awesome film and should stay on every shelf in every house. Expand
  11. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Saving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. MustSaving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. Must See Movie. Expand
  12. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Although I'm a history buff and love good war movies, there have been very few decent ones during the last 15 years. Saving Private Ryan is not only a masterpiece in every regard, it's arguably the best war film of all time.
  13. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Watching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could beWatching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could be viewed as disrespectful to the veterans. All in all, a cinematic experience that isn't afraid to shock. Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults inSaving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults in this movie maybe except for very obscure missteps but so obscure that you must pay attention to see them. Overall Saving Private Ryan is a great movie that I recommend everyone watch, even if you are not into war movies you will still love this movie for it's characterization for it will also change your expectations for war movies forever. Breakdown for Saving Private Ryan: Presentation: 9.5, Plot: 9.7, Acting: 10, Script: 10, Lasting Appeal: 9.6. Overall Score: 9.6 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    The film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion thatThe film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion that Spielberg captures perfectly and makes Saving Private Ryan one of my top ten all-time favorites. A truly unforgettable experience. Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly.In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly. This was the first film to make me feel something so powerful that it caused me to shed tears. Expand
  17. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Probably one of my favourite movies of all time. As you can see by my username, I'm a huge Tom Hanks fan, and this is probably one of his best performances, besides Forrest Gump. He plays an amazing role as a Captain John H. Miller, who gathers seven men to look for Private James Francis Ryan and to bring him home. Great story, nice effects, way ahead of its time, great acting too. On top of that, Tom Hanks is the greatest actor known to man. All of his movies are good, Forrest Gump, Saving Private Ryan, The Green Mile, Cast Away, The Terminal, The Polar Express, Toy Story, Apollo 13, the list just goes on Expand
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan has to be an all time favourite for everyone who likes war films. I personally enjoyed the movie because of its gripping action scenes and the very moving storyline which shows the bond between soldiers who have been tasked with a near-suicidal mission. Just simply amazing.
  19. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    I thought it was a really good movie. It was realistic and it was really cool. The action sequences were cool like in the first twenty minutes and it got better from there. It was really cool to see a group of American soldiers overcome a stronger German army in a cool way. Way to go Steven Spielberg, you've done it again.
  20. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    A great movie both in entertainment and in argument.
  21. Aug 9, 2013
    3
    This is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is for you, but if you're looking for something more, you'd best look elsewhere. Try Platoon, Thin Red Line, the Dirty Dozen, or even Patton for a moreThis is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is for you, but if you're looking for something more, you'd best look elsewhere. Try Platoon, Thin Red Line, the Dirty Dozen, or even Patton for a more worthwhile experience. Expand
  22. Jun 8, 2011
    5
    Some interesting direction in the opening and climactic battle scenes, but the film is let down by the plot, which is too simple and implausible to engage the viewer. It's a long and cliched Hollywood blockbuster war film and not much more, I'd give it a miss unless you're a blindly patriotic American.
  23. JoeG.
    Jul 18, 2005
    3
    Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The bombers began their bombardment of the beaches at midnight then shifted inland at 6:30am, dropping an estimated 5000 ton of bombs on the beach Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The bombers began their bombardment of the beaches at midnight then shifted inland at 6:30am, dropping an estimated 5000 ton of bombs on the beach installations. (the Germans had in total 400 warplanes available in France, made 250 sorties on the day with only 2 of these actually directed against the beaches!). There is not even trace of the massive naval bombardment from 7 battleships (some with 16" guns!), 2 monitors, 23 crusiers, 104 destroyers and 71 large rocket-firing landing-barges. The gunfire started at 5:00 and only shifted inland as the troops hit the beaches; the destroyers (courage due, but no sign in film) kept up their support even as the troops rushed ashore, comming as close inland as they dared, loosing 6 of their numbers to mines, gunfire and E-boats). Through the film, you are given the impression that the American GIs were heavily outnumbered by the NAZI-German war-machine. At the conclusion of the first day, 132,250 Allied troops were landed. These were faced by 2 infantry divisions, (the crack 252nd and the near usless Polish-Russian 716th.) and ELEMENTS of 21st Panzer, who were only released at after 3:00pm. At the end of the film, now here is the bigger lie, as Mr. Hanks squad was confronted by Tigers. The American forces did not encounter Tigers in the Normandy campaign, that was left to the British, ask the 7th. Armoured at the Villers-Bocage). Oh yes, I nearly forgot...the American Air Force did show up in SPR, in the form of Tiger-Busting Mustangs, these must have been Spielberg Specials!!! I must conclude with this note. Spielberg dedicated his film only and specifically to ALLIED soldiers who gave their lives for democracy. MEMPHIS BELLE, a hell of a better war film, was dedicated to ALL airmen of BOTH sides who fought and died over Germany in WW2!!! Expand
  24. JamesM
    Nov 19, 2005
    2
    What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked Steven Spielberg, and whenever I did, it was for his more brave efforts such as Close Encounters. The film takes real events and turns them into an What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked Steven Spielberg, and whenever I did, it was for his more brave efforts such as Close Encounters. The film takes real events and turns them into an excuse for a ridiculous and unrealistic piece of hollywood crap. Don't believe the hype, Saving Private Ryan represents everything that I don't like about the movie industry, and worst of all, it's just plain bad. Expand
  25. Nov 18, 2010
    3
    I think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I canI think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I can think of only one movie that masterfully accomplishes that balance: Die Hard, the first one. Expand
  26. FrankR.
    Jul 11, 2002
    3
    I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no questions. You just can't call this an anti-war movie. Look at Apocalypse Now or Platoon for a much more realised look at the heart of darkness of I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no questions. You just can't call this an anti-war movie. Look at Apocalypse Now or Platoon for a much more realised look at the heart of darkness of war. And those cheesy American flag bookends to the film is an insult to all the other allied countries that participated in D-Day. Expand
  27. TimS.
    Oct 9, 2007
    0
    This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked and laughed just like the American soldiers. The movie is just more Hollywood propaganda to make all Germans look evil. If you REALLY want to know why and how Spielberg does this, search "Saving Private Ryan review by Michael A Hoffman II" in google, go to the first link and then to the bottom of the page where it will have a link to his review. This review points out everything that I'm talking about. This is simply a movie for entertainment and doesn't help history just like every other war movie coming out of Hollywood! Don't people get tired of this same kind of garbage? Expand
  28. FionaP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    0
    Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much reflective power, also, for Upham, how could he not've been in combat? The rescue mission was in vain, I'm sorry Spielberg, but you Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much reflective power, also, for Upham, how could he not've been in combat? The rescue mission was in vain, I'm sorry Spielberg, but you shouldn't have gotten an Oscar for Saving Private Ryan (bleh!). Expand
  29. JimS.
    Aug 3, 2008
    1
    This is the most dull movie ever. There's like no action and the story sucks.
  30. MarkoV.
    Oct 3, 2004
    0
    OVERRATED! This is just ordinary war movie showing american soldiers as heroes who defeated much stronger german army with their courage and sock bombs.Except for the first twenty minutes movie is unrealistic and really sucks.
  31. DaveS.
    Jul 11, 2002
    1
    The Omaha beach sequence is astounding alright, too bad Spielberg got to direct the rest of the picture. Yes, you guessed it: a script with twists that are far too convinient in the middle of the chaos that is war. You should cry goddammit! Add to this what is probably the stupidest coda in the history of cinema and you've got yourself a movie.
  32. DirtyPoo
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    crap!!!!!!!!
  33. ChrisJ.
    May 16, 2008
    1
    Horrible movie that was not fun to watch at all. Complete waste of time.
  34. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    a great war movie set in WWII . although not based on a true story outside the fact of its WWII and the showing of D Day which was brilliantly shot. a very intresting plot of a group of soldiers trying to find private ryan to inform him all his brothers died in the war. the acting is great and the visauls are fantastic . my hats off to speilberg for making this great war film .
  35. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    I kinda have mixed feelings on this movie. On one hand, it had the most awesome looking war scenes ever on film, and Tom Hanks is just as good as he is in all of his movies. On the other hand, many of the characters were annoying, and the plot was kinda weak. I wouldn't highly recommend it, yet it shouldn't be completely overlooked.
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed it but I think its a bit too overrated. Yes it does well to capture the realism of WW2 and its interesting through out but I just didnt enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Solid cast, Good acting as well.
  37. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overly obsessive teen". I focused my teenage life on this movie, and at my grad I quoted it when I was chosen for Valedictorian. This movie was amazing.This movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overly obsessive teen". I focused my teenage life on this movie, and at my grad I quoted it when I was chosen for Valedictorian. This movie was amazing. That's all I have to say. Expand
  38. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything a war-flick fan needs. Guns, tanks, blood, lots of history, excellent battle scenes and some drama. There is hardly any movie that can resemble Saving Private Ryan in its character. The Omaha Beach scene at the beginning is going to be ever famous in movie history. The story here is said with no playing with reality. People die in the most gruesome ways, sometimes because of their stupidity or just plainly because they are unlucky. Both American and German soldiers aren`t portraid as black and white. None is all good or all bad. We know that they are men struggling to survive a time when there are no rules other than to kill or be killed. Some are blind with hatred, others psyche goes to ashes, just a few are able to sustain their sanity. The story is fine and very touching, mostly because Tom Hanks gave his character a complicated and likeable personality. Other actors play their roles well, so the movie can`t be said as a one man show. The second best actor I`d say was the American medic. The ending of the movie might be seen as positive or negative - everyone can see it differently. I sticked to the characters so it was very sad for me. Other than that this movie is a wonderful showing of cinematography`s evolution and the hardware that was used in WWII. The armored vehicles are exceptionally well made. Fake, but still only an advanced history buff can see the difference (the wrong wheels on the Tiger I for example). I watched this film many times until I could memorise it 100%. Took me like 30 viewings but it`s worth it. Ofcourse I come back to it from time to time. Expand
  39. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows whatAmazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows what war was like back in the 1940's. Expand
  40. May 20, 2011
    10
    High quality in every aspect. I don not see where complaints could possibly arise from, unless the ones voicing them accidentally saw the wrong film.
  41. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The charactersSaving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The characters Spielberg and writer Robert Rodat have developed don't feel like works of fiction, they are believably ordinary Americans who have chosen to fight for their country. Whilst the uncompromisingly brutal, horrifically intense and realistic battle scenes are what tend to get the film the most attention (particularly the now infamous, nearly half-hour long Omaha Beach battle) it is the quieter, more reserved moments of the film that truly stand out. Of particular note are the scene taking place in an abandoned church, where, taking shelter for the night, each of the soldiers debate the inhumanity of war, and the light-hearted chat that Miller and Ryan have prior to the final battle. The former is an exceedingly dark and psychoanalytical study, the latter a welcome moment of light-heartedness in an exceedingly depressing film, both are exceptional moments for character. Technically, the film is nigh-on flawless. The entire cast's performances, again are hard to fault. With a quite-rightly Oscar-nominated script and a heart-wrenchingly emotional score by John Williams, Saving Private Ryan approaches cinematic perfection. But even considering all these factors, the film's real achievement is the way in which it handles war, not as a spectacle or an excuse for a string of set-pieces as would be the case in a lesser movie, but as the horrific and pointless act it really is. The characters may be fictional, but they represent real men who really lost their lives during World War II, and the film acknowledges that fact. Saving Private Ryan is not only Spielberg's masterpiece, but quite possibly the greatest war film of all time. Expand
  42. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I believe that Saving Private Ryan is one of the more accurate portrayal of WWII in film history. It has a stellar cast, incredibly deep character depth (you know, characters that you'll actually care about), and a surprisingly poignant story.
  43. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Would you risk 8 soldiers for 1? Or vice versa? It's a sad question, but one we can't avoid. This movie show that a death is a death. Unfortunately, it shows that we must pick one or the other, but someone still dies. This is my second time watching the movie and it was worth it.
  44. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    What a great move the acting was amazing the action couldn't be better the drama and suspence was just the best ive seen in a while i loved this movie no problems at all just great.
  45. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of war there is still a sense of humanity. Such moments not only provide some much needed levity (Miller and Horvath's discussion in the church being one of the best) as well as allowing the viewer to understand why these characters are worth caring for (Miller and Ryan discuss their families just before the war began). There isn't a moment of Saving Private Ryan where you aren't completely immersed. Both the direction (by Steven Spielberg) and the writing (by Robert Rodat) are brilliant with the latter allowing for a shift between pure darkness and shock to levity and joy in mere moments. In conclusion its Spielberg at the top of his game as he engages with the real emotion behind warfare, both the loss of humanity and the strive to regain it. It engages the viewer by letting him/her decide how to feel about shocking events while sometimes surprising you at the way you might react. Its a masterpiece that will never fail to get to me or as I imagine, almost anyone who watches it.
    Expand
  46. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan,This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan, who has to come back home. Amazing action scenes, great music and an absolute masterpiece. Expand
  47. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Saving Private Ryan is an awesome action and realistic movie with heart-pacing plot. It had captured the realism of the WWII and turn it into a movie with exciting plot. It catches your attention and have a ending that will make you remember forever.
  48. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the bestOne of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the best movie battle scenes of all time. Expand
  49. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    First of all, its a perfect example of the Sole Survivor Policy in the US Military, there are strong performances and actors to behold, and its a spectacularly watchable depiction of World War II battlegrounds. Steven Spielberg's work on Saving Private Ryan is one of his most impressive works I've seen in a long time.
  50. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the camera angles were good, the acting, the story and best of all the action. This movie is my top ten movies of all time.
  51. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made. The performances are oustanding right from the lead all the way down to the supporting cast. never has a war movie been made so realistly. It was breathtaking from the war scenes to the cinematography. Saving Private Ryan is a true accomplishment like no other.
  52. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10 movie. It's so great. War scenes are stunning. Acting is real performed. Especially by Tom hanks. Score is also pretty good, and the story is pretty remarkable. Probably the best war movie ever. You really should watch this movie. This should've got best picture.
  53. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    The best war movie ever made. Spielberg captures the brutality of war but also the bond of friendship between characters fighting together for their lives. Tom Hanks turns in a brilliant performance as usual, and the film benefits from strong supporting work from Matt Damon and Barry Pepper.
  54. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    I can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelousI can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelous story. Not many movies have left me more engaged than this one. It's intense, it's compelling, it's slow and it punches a hole in your chest and grips your heart for three hours while a group of soldiers walk on eggshells. And the first scene may be the most horrifically enchanting moment in cinema history. Expand
  55. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    "Saving Private Ryan" is a stunning and emotional powerhouse of a war film. Featuring a cast of great actors and performances, and helmed by the masterful Spielberg, this movie is a gritty, harsh and shocking look at WWII through the eyes of a group of soldiers sent behind enemy lines to save a stranded private. The opening D-Day sequence is visceral and brutally intense, full of gruesome"Saving Private Ryan" is a stunning and emotional powerhouse of a war film. Featuring a cast of great actors and performances, and helmed by the masterful Spielberg, this movie is a gritty, harsh and shocking look at WWII through the eyes of a group of soldiers sent behind enemy lines to save a stranded private. The opening D-Day sequence is visceral and brutally intense, full of gruesome and disturbing imagery, and communicates the true horror and scale of the invasion. The time shared between these soldiers, through both stories they tell and arguments they have, is genuinely authentic and you become attached to every character. And of course, the final conflict is where it all comes to a head, in probably the most intense, dramatic and realistic battle scene ever made. It may be pretty dark and depressing, but ultimately you are left with an incredible cinematic achievement - a solid 5-star war film that communicates with frightening efficiency the true brutality that must have been one of the world's darkest chapters in history. Expand
  56. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    All ho love war movies gonna love this movie. One of the best movies ever made. Amazing movie
  57. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three brothers were killed in action.

    The interaction between the squad members is great and the journey they go on is exciting. The battle that culminates near the end of the movie is one of the greatest war scenes in history. The fighting is intense and it defines amazing effects and incredible acting.

    I highly recommend that you see this above-stellar movie, as it has incredible acting and effects.
    Expand
  58. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Steven Spielberg's masterpiece is not only the greatest war film ever created but possibly the greatest film ever made. The stellar directing brings you into the film and does not let you go until the very last scene. This is truly a great film that will be remembered.
  59. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so realI've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so real before. I mean, the scenes are just so graphic and brutally intense. Spielberg really takes you into World War II. Even though it's almost 15 years old, it still amazes me in every way. This is my #1 of all time! Expand
  60. May 19, 2013
    9
    His synopsis may sound stupid and pointless, but its execution makes the movie almost the best of Spielberg, bringing the realistic side of war and hard, and with the performance of Tom Hanks and his platoon the movie becomes an epic of stories drama action and sacrifice.
  61. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is just such a great movie. It deserves every single award. Tom Hanks gives his most brilliant performance ever. All of his supporting cast is outstanding. I was just blown away by this film. Arguably, the greatest war film of all time.
  62. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good movie, Set in WW2. Tom Hanks and Matt Damon gave good performances. There is a good cast as well. Its worth watching if youre a history and war buff.
  63. Jul 21, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Technically brilliant, a total misfire in characterization, hence, Matt Damon's brothers died, who cares! Tom Hanks dies, who cares!

    Don't try and push my buttons with cardboard cutouts for characters, Spielberg, I'm not that easy.

    And the Anne Frank lookalike implanted in the bombed out French house scene...? Really dude?
    Expand
  64. May 18, 2015
    5
    There is exactly one good scene in Saving Private Ryan and that is the Normandy invasion battle. It was beautifully done in fact. Apart from that, most of the film is average, often even below that. It is very, very predictable. Steven Spielberg somehow managed to create soldiers you don't care about, a plot you don't care about and most of all, a Private named Ryan who's fate you don'tThere is exactly one good scene in Saving Private Ryan and that is the Normandy invasion battle. It was beautifully done in fact. Apart from that, most of the film is average, often even below that. It is very, very predictable. Steven Spielberg somehow managed to create soldiers you don't care about, a plot you don't care about and most of all, a Private named Ryan who's fate you don't about. Overrated. Expand
  65. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as thrilling. Overall overwhelming. Fine performances and excellent script for what is essentially a conventional narrative.
  66. JamesJ.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private Ryan", now I understand why he said I wouldn't understand. I also have a lot more admiration to the fighting men of our country.
  67. MickG.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    The best effects and plot for a war movie.
  68. BobK
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans for no reason and the sniper shows mercy by not taking off Carpazo's head. They were about to kill the German guy who had no weapons or anything.
  69. John
    Oct 6, 2002
    8
    I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing - definitely. And it's a hell of a lot better that Black Hawk Down.
  70. MattS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I love this movie. that is the only way to describe it.
  71. MattJ.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    This is the best film ever.
  72. AkhilK.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate to all those lost in that war and others.
  73. JohnD.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shocking, true, violent - bloody awesome.
  74. ChrisR.
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. For all of it's character development shortcomings, it still ranks as simply the most powerful cinematic depiction of war I have ever seen. And as a side note, the whole character development issue almost seems moot, considering the context in which most of these men knew each other. Ready to die for their brothers, many ironically knew very little of each other's personal lives, except for snippets learned during the calm interludes, when the soldier would share stories or letters from a world far away. That is why the betting on what Hank's character does as a civilian makes so much sense. To many, life at home was a carefully guarded treasure that served as a very personal and private link to sanity and hope. If you haven't seen this film, make it a point to do so. You will find a whole new appreciation for the ability of the common man who, faced with impossible odds and true terror, is somehow able to accomplish the extroardinary. It will renew your faith in mankind, while simultaneously horrifying you at man's folly. Expand
  75. TomL.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It ROCKS!!!!!!!
  76. Pagz
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Good- Realistic- Graphic, sets the mood.
  77. Henry
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Devastating.
  78. AlexanderC.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
  79. LanceB.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, believe it or not. If you dont like it then dont watch the movie.
  80. RodG.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Definitely in my top 5 all time favorite movies. Action, drama, comedy and everything in between.
  81. K.E.
    Jul 11, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this a 0 and is a fuckin hypocrite. Go fuck yourselves in the ass. No offense
  82. Harry
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that seen in entirety was intense. Expand
  83. TomH
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and has you gripped.
  84. MichaelF.
    Aug 26, 2001
    10
    This is my favorite war film! Heart-pounding and intense!
  85. SantinoS.
    Oct 25, 2002
    9
    The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much,The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much, as a result of which the movie is not as moving or touching as it could have been. Still this is a powerful film, with a superb cast and Hanks is excellent as ever. Expand
  86. MattM
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it has. Plus the movie is more then enough.
  87. AlexC.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And as for you Frank R. in case you hadnt noticed this film is about and AMERICAN squad, and I think the flags at the start and end are great.
  88. BillH.
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    Sobering. Magnificent.
  89. RaphaelR.
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than they did in the story and yea.. but it still good.
  90. JackB
    Oct 4, 2005
    8
    A teriffic movie which saw another vintage Hanks performance, yet somehow i did not consider it an "epic." Although it had all the elements i felt it possibly a little too gritty for this status.
  91. LucyL.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I loved it, and my great uncle (who was in wwII) says that it is one of The Best films about wwII. He says that what is shown on film is probably as close to the truth you can get.
  92. DJChoon
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece in every which way possible. The film is action pact, drama, pact and thriller pact. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster and left me gasping for breath in between vicious battle scenes.
  93. viktorh.
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    This so great, and i'm GERMAN!!! for cryling out lowd, cant thos idiats who say this is a bad move are so stupid!!! my grandpa was killed in the Dday inasssino, and he wasa a Nazi.
  94. J.RyanG.
    May 27, 2005
    6
    In his masterpiece "The Things They Carried," Vietnam veteran Tim O'Brien writes that a true war story is not moral and is often too hard to believe. "Saving Private Ryan" is essentially a morality tale, and the only inconceivable thing about it is how all those soldiers can get their speeches in between attacks. The opening sequence is rather effective, and the final battle is In his masterpiece "The Things They Carried," Vietnam veteran Tim O'Brien writes that a true war story is not moral and is often too hard to believe. "Saving Private Ryan" is essentially a morality tale, and the only inconceivable thing about it is how all those soldiers can get their speeches in between attacks. The opening sequence is rather effective, and the final battle is superb. They're honest, they're hard to stomach, and in their brutality, they provide no moral lessons. Spielberg does an amazing job sharing with us the essence of war, but then he dumbs it down and softens it up for those of use who don't expect (or don't want) war to be so horrifying. I imagine Mr. O'Brien adoring about forty five minutes of the movie, and hating the rest. Expand
  95. KJohnson
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    I couldn't imagine a better war movie that reaches this many people.
  96. [Anonymous]
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw that other war blockbusters. Better paced than the dramatically accurate but lethargic "The Thin Red Line", and more realistic than "Windtalkers". If it A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw that other war blockbusters. Better paced than the dramatically accurate but lethargic "The Thin Red Line", and more realistic than "Windtalkers". If it were up to me, I'd add some tank to tank battles, aerial dogfights and battleship artillery, but there's already enough action. Spielburg's got it all under control. Expand
  97. JeremyE.
    Apr 18, 2006
    8
    you know what, i am Sick and Tired of seeing war films that are so realistic. It's really disgusting and unessecary to see someone's face getting blown out. rest of the film's great though.
  98. BlakeP.
    May 29, 2006
    10
    One of spielbergs best works. An amazing re-inactment of WWII. D-Day is portrayed magnificently. Don't be disgusted that the blood and gore is so realistic. That's war. It happened get over it. Over all this is an amazing movie. And I reccomend it to any World War II fanatics.
  99. AndrewH.
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    Spielberg's best film in my opinion. One of my top ten favorite movies of all time.
  100. fg
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    It is good sad and horrible.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nothing that suggests an independent vision, unless you count seeing more limbs blown off than usual.
  2. 89
    A bitter, bloody masterpiece with adrenalized emotions and hyper-realized images, this is perhaps as close to battle as any sane human being should ever hope to tread.
  3. 80
    The movie's greatest strength lies in phenomenal performances that reach from the leads right down to the smallest supporting roles.