DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 24, 1998
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 849 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
794
Mixed:
27
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
Iky009Dec 30, 2013
Raised with a strong performance from Tom Hanks and the entire cast. A Spielberg movie brings firmness to realism and redefines the war genre .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ThomasSmithsonJul 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Technically brilliant, a total misfire in characterization, hence, Matt Damon's brothers died, who cares! Tom Hanks dies, who cares!

Don't try and push my buttons with cardboard cutouts for characters, Spielberg, I'm not that easy.

And the Anne Frank lookalike implanted in the bombed out French house scene...? Really dude?
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
bilyboby1Aug 9, 2013
This is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is forThis is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is for you, but if you're looking for something more, you'd best look elsewhere. Try Platoon, Thin Red Line, the Dirty Dozen, or even Patton for a more worthwhile experience. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
NazguleroNov 18, 2010
I think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keepI think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I can think of only one movie that masterfully accomplishes that balance: Die Hard, the first one. Expand
1 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
0
FionaP.Aug 12, 2008
Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much reflective power, also, for Upham, how could he not've been in combat? The rescue mission was in vain, I'm sorry Spielberg, but you shouldn't have gotten an Oscar for Saving Private Ryan (bleh!). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JimS.Aug 3, 2008
This is the most dull movie ever. There's like no action and the story sucks.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
ChrisJ.May 16, 2008
Horrible movie that was not fun to watch at all. Complete waste of time.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
TimS.Oct 9, 2007
This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked and laughed just like the American soldiers. The movie is just more Hollywood propaganda to make all Germans look evil. If you REALLY want to know why and how Spielberg does this, search "Saving Private Ryan review by Michael A Hoffman II" in google, go to the first link and then to the bottom of the page where it will have a link to his review. This review points out everything that I'm talking about. This is simply a movie for entertainment and doesn't help history just like every other war movie coming out of Hollywood! Don't people get tired of this same kind of garbage? Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
0
DirtyPooAug 26, 2006
crap!!!!!!!!
0 of 18 users found this helpful
2
JamesMNov 19, 2005
What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked Steven Spielberg, and whenever I did, it was for his more brave efforts such as Close Encounters. The film takes real events and turns them into an excuse for a ridiculous and unrealistic piece of hollywood crap. Don't believe the hype, Saving Private Ryan represents everything that I don't like about the movie industry, and worst of all, it's just plain bad. Expand
3 of 34 users found this helpful
3
JoeG.Jul 18, 2005
Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The bombers began their bombardment of the beaches at midnight then shifted inland at 6:30am, dropping an estimated 5000 ton of bombs on the beach installations. (the Germans had in total 400 warplanes available in France, made 250 sorties on the day with only 2 of these actually directed against the beaches!). There is not even trace of the massive naval bombardment from 7 battleships (some with 16" guns!), 2 monitors, 23 crusiers, 104 destroyers and 71 large rocket-firing landing-barges. The gunfire started at 5:00 and only shifted inland as the troops hit the beaches; the destroyers (courage due, but no sign in film) kept up their support even as the troops rushed ashore, comming as close inland as they dared, loosing 6 of their numbers to mines, gunfire and E-boats). Through the film, you are given the impression that the American GIs were heavily outnumbered by the NAZI-German war-machine. At the conclusion of the first day, 132,250 Allied troops were landed. These were faced by 2 infantry divisions, (the crack 252nd and the near usless Polish-Russian 716th.) and ELEMENTS of 21st Panzer, who were only released at after 3:00pm. At the end of the film, now here is the bigger lie, as Mr. Hanks squad was confronted by Tigers. The American forces did not encounter Tigers in the Normandy campaign, that was left to the British, ask the 7th. Armoured at the Villers-Bocage). Oh yes, I nearly forgot...the American Air Force did show up in SPR, in the form of Tiger-Busting Mustangs, these must have been Spielberg Specials!!! I must conclude with this note. Spielberg dedicated his film only and specifically to ALLIED soldiers who gave their lives for democracy. MEMPHIS BELLE, a hell of a better war film, was dedicated to ALL airmen of BOTH sides who fought and died over Germany in WW2!!! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MarkoV.Oct 3, 2004
OVERRATED! This is just ordinary war movie showing american soldiers as heroes who defeated much stronger german army with their courage and sock bombs.Except for the first twenty minutes movie is unrealistic and really sucks.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
DaveS.Jul 11, 2002
The Omaha beach sequence is astounding alright, too bad Spielberg got to direct the rest of the picture. Yes, you guessed it: a script with twists that are far too convinient in the middle of the chaos that is war. You should cry goddammit! The Omaha beach sequence is astounding alright, too bad Spielberg got to direct the rest of the picture. Yes, you guessed it: a script with twists that are far too convinient in the middle of the chaos that is war. You should cry goddammit! Add to this what is probably the stupidest coda in the history of cinema and you've got yourself a movie. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
FrankR.Jul 11, 2002
I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no questions. You just can't call this an anti-war movie. Look at Apocalypse Now or Platoon for a much more realised look at the heart of darkness of war. And those cheesy American flag bookends to the film is an insult to all the other allied countries that participated in D-Day. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful