DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 24, 1998
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 868 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
811
Mixed:
29
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ConradR.Jul 9, 2001
The one film that puts you off joining the army - truly horrific - perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PIRANHAG.Dec 3, 2003
Best war movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as thrilling. Overall overwhelming. Fine performances and excellent script for what is essentially a conventional narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesJ.Jul 16, 2006
My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private Ryan", now I understand why he said I wouldn't understand. I also have a lot more admiration to the fighting men of our country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickG.Aug 1, 2006
The best effects and plot for a war movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobKApr 19, 2009
I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans for no reason and the sniper shows mercy by not taking off Carpazo's head. They were about to kill the German guy who had no weapons or anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnOct 6, 2002
I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing - definitely. And it's a hell of a lot better that Black Hawk Down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Mar 19, 2003
I love this movie. that is the only way to describe it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJ.Jun 28, 2003
This is the best film ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkhilK.Mar 8, 2004
As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate to all those lost in that war and others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jun 30, 2004
Shocking, true, violent - bloody awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.Sep 3, 2004
As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. For all of it's character development shortcomings, it still ranks as simply the most powerful cinematic depiction of war I have ever seen. And as a side note, the whole character development issue almost seems moot, considering the context in which most of these men knew each other. Ready to die for their brothers, many ironically knew very little of each other's personal lives, except for snippets learned during the calm interludes, when the soldier would share stories or letters from a world far away. That is why the betting on what Hank's character does as a civilian makes so much sense. To many, life at home was a carefully guarded treasure that served as a very personal and private link to sanity and hope. If you haven't seen this film, make it a point to do so. You will find a whole new appreciation for the ability of the common man who, faced with impossible odds and true terror, is somehow able to accomplish the extroardinary. It will renew your faith in mankind, while simultaneously horrifying you at man's folly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomL.Nov 8, 2005
It ROCKS!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PagzMar 9, 2005
Good- Realistic- Graphic, sets the mood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
millerc.May 10, 2005
Best moive ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HenryMay 2, 2005
Devastating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderC.Aug 27, 2005
I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceB.Nov 30, 2006
I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, believe it or not. If you dont like it then dont watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
Definitely in my top 5 all time favorite movies. Action, drama, comedy and everything in between.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndroidFeb 15, 2008
One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly recommend this movie to anyone that can handle some graphic, painful, bloody action. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
K.E.Jul 11, 2008
Anyone who gives this a 0 and is a fuckin hypocrite. Go fuck yourselves in the ass. No offense
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrySep 20, 2008
Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that seen in entirety was intense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomHMar 1, 2009
This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and has you gripped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Aug 26, 2001
This is my favorite war film! Heart-pounding and intense!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.Oct 25, 2002
The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where oneThe first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much, as a result of which the movie is not as moving or touching as it could have been. Still this is a powerful film, with a superb cast and Hanks is excellent as ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoH.R.Dec 16, 2003
Perfection. Heart-wrenching drama, stunning battle scenes and also a tear-jerker - in the best sense of the word. One of the greatest war films ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattMSep 15, 2003
This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it has. Plus the movie is more then enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexC.Mar 3, 2004
An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And as for you Frank R. in case you hadnt noticed this film is about and AMERICAN squad, and I think the flags at the start and end are great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillH.Jun 6, 2004
Sobering. Magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaphaelR.Sep 26, 2004
This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than they did in the story and yea.. but it still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful