Lionsgate | Release Date: October 26, 2007
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 231 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
104
Mixed:
73
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Saw 4" is battered with preposterous Cliches and silly characters with dumb, idiotic plot twist. They should have stopped their Jigsaw game at "Saw 3".
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
JessieD.Oct 29, 2007
The details on Jigsaw's background were excellent, but the plot itself was a disappointment. The twist ending was a case of shock for shocks sake as opposed to a plausible one like Saw II's big reveal at the end. Worth seeing if The details on Jigsaw's background were excellent, but the plot itself was a disappointment. The twist ending was a case of shock for shocks sake as opposed to a plausible one like Saw II's big reveal at the end. Worth seeing if you are a big Saw fan, just expect not to appreciate it as much as some of it's predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EstefanyB.Mar 8, 2008
it wasn't as good as the other 3...it concludes the stories and the reasons of the other movies. But this is utterly disgusting,which made me realize to not watch the 5th one! TERRIBLE MOVIE! Do not watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mkNov 1, 2007
The first SAW was great. It was original and made you guess who the killer was. This is a gore fest. It's mildly entertaining. It uses the hidden sadistic nature in all of us to entertain. Sadly, that's all it does. It's The first SAW was great. It was original and made you guess who the killer was. This is a gore fest. It's mildly entertaining. It uses the hidden sadistic nature in all of us to entertain. Sadly, that's all it does. It's becoming another victim of cash-in in the film industry. Just like endless slasher from the 80s... it will have a sequel.... or sequels... or even prequels.... hopefully the number doesn't reach X..... a decent film for the Halloween spirit... nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticOct 27, 2007
It should have ended after Saw 2. Saw 1 was a creative and interesting movie with a cool twist and Saw 2 upped the ante and the stakes and both movies were about a group of people put in desperate situations who then had to work together to It should have ended after Saw 2. Saw 1 was a creative and interesting movie with a cool twist and Saw 2 upped the ante and the stakes and both movies were about a group of people put in desperate situations who then had to work together to get out of them. Saw 3 was where they clearly began running out of ideas and sure enough, the writer left the series after this installment and Saw 4 brings on a new team of writers. There's a lot to like here; the death traps in this installment are top notch; easily the best in the series and in the genre as well, and a huge step back in the right direction after the comically over-the-top ones featured in Saw 3. Darren Lynn Bousman (director of this installment and Saw 2 and 3,) does a great job of filming this and creating a great atmosphere, and the editing's quick and stylish. We also get some great scenes showing Jigsaw's development and how he became what he was. This is also easily the creepiest installment in the series since the 1st one, bringing back some horror into the series with a few moments that sent chills up my spine. The series's trademark "plot twist" is here as well, although it's unfortunately more confusing than surprising. The problem is that the movie is extremely difficult to follow. I have a great memory for movies, so I can remember the events of the first 3 movies very well; that said, I was lost at times here and was downright confused near the end, where I completely lost track of the characters. I strongly recommend you re-watch the 2nd and 3rd movies before seeing this one or you're going to be entirely lost. (And you still will at times feel lost anyway.) When they're not confusing you by flashbacks, flashbacks-within-flashbacks, or a needlessly large cast of characters, the movie pretty much plays out exactly like Saw 3, with 1 character going from 1 victim to another and being put in a series of tests. It's not a bad movie, but it's one that feels at times too similar to the 3rd one in plot and structure. At other times it shows us some cool ideas with different characters and locations, as well as some great death traps...Unfortunately, it too often completely confuses us by cutting to other characters before the many issues and characters that are brought up are resolved. Saw 5's going to be starting production with these same writers and a new director very soon, and I don't know if I'll end up being excited for it; Saw 2 was great but since then they've had to strain to keep this series going by constantly manipulating a huge amount of backstory and cast of characters to the point where only die-hard fans who have watched the past movies hundreds of times will have any hope whatsoever of following these new releases. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
What'sGoodandWhat'sBadOct 29, 2007
Another completely uninteresting volume of entertainment. You know it's a problem when someone gives a review, saying you HAVE to see all the other Saws before this one, because thats absolutely right. You won't really know the Another completely uninteresting volume of entertainment. You know it's a problem when someone gives a review, saying you HAVE to see all the other Saws before this one, because thats absolutely right. You won't really know the purpose of anyone, or what they are all doing, or any intentions of the random characters they just toss into this movie like wildfire. This is no easy transition into the series, its not like Bourne Ultimatum, where it flows well enough to be its own movie, instead of completely depending on the movies before it. Because ultimately, thats what this movie is. It strings together the exact same formula that the third one was,and brings along the same problems. The contraptions the poor victims find themselves wrapped in are no longer intelligent, no longer plot-worthy, they are simply set for gore and they deliver. But thats the only thing that delivers. Gore, gore, gore. No wit, no intelligence, gore. The story is loosely tied as we go back and forth and back and forth to the past, present, interrogation rooms, an abandoned warehouse building, with some absolutely TERRIBLE video editing. And, well, for the acting, how reaching can a horror movie be when they have to hire Gilmore Girls' Patterson to take a main position? Saw was better when Jigsaw was alive, and when it centered itself around the characters. But in Saw IV, the characters are a just a vehicle to the gore, and the "twists" are just there to simply follow its formula. You won't be impressed, or at least, you shouldn't be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricFOct 31, 2007
I didnt see 2 or 3 and I understood this movie just fine. People who think you need to see all of them before you see this one are either stupid or think the rest of us are. With that said, it still wasnt a good movie. The Saw series as I I didnt see 2 or 3 and I understood this movie just fine. People who think you need to see all of them before you see this one are either stupid or think the rest of us are. With that said, it still wasnt a good movie. The Saw series as I see it is 1 part torture porn and 1 part mystery/psych thrilller. When you take the mystery part out you are left with a bunch of meaningless torture. The "lesson" taught and the "conclusion" are evident from the first 10 minutes. The gore was repeated and the frenetic editing is in my opinion just a tool to add artificial confusion to a plot line that is inherently simple. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisVOct 30, 2007
Hey, what happened? This wasn't what i expected... i am a big, i mean, huge saw fan, and it really disappointed me... what happened? oh my god, I'm gonna be in shock... Damn, didn't happened... damn, well... I'm gonna buy Hey, what happened? This wasn't what i expected... i am a big, i mean, huge saw fan, and it really disappointed me... what happened? oh my god, I'm gonna be in shock... Damn, didn't happened... damn, well... I'm gonna buy it when it comes out on dvd anyway,,, nothing impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ABJan 7, 2008
The first three "Saw" films were distinguishable from most other modern horror films in that each installment delivered a message on morality and the human condition. "Saw IV," however, uses the gratuitous gore that made the series popular The first three "Saw" films were distinguishable from most other modern horror films in that each installment delivered a message on morality and the human condition. "Saw IV," however, uses the gratuitous gore that made the series popular for the purpose of marketing a morbid display of the mutilated human body. Beginning with the first scene, "Saw IV" scrambles frantically for every possible situation that may justify the ruthless depiction of relentless suffering. A few interesting plot points and allusions to past "Saw" films keep "Saw IV" fairly entertaining, but neither the story nor the film itself is fully satisfying. Like Jigsaw, the "Saw" series is able to pull off a few tricks after death, but, in the end, it is still dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrendaM.Feb 2, 2008
Wasn't as good as i thought it should be. didn't explain that well on how that cop became the new jigsaw
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
It continues, even with the main man & side kick dead.
Bit lazy this one with lots of flashbacks although the history of John Kramer is good despite him looking like an old Chris Martin.
Not as gruesome as the third but the story is still a
It continues, even with the main man & side kick dead.
Bit lazy this one with lots of flashbacks although the history of John Kramer is good despite him looking like an old Chris Martin.
Not as gruesome as the third but the story is still a bit weak compared to the first two.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
Saw 4 featured scary traps and good acting from the cast as well. I did enjoy it and I think other fans of horror will as well. The only down fall is that the lead actor (who plays Riggs) isnt that good and brings the film down a bit. OtherSaw 4 featured scary traps and good acting from the cast as well. I did enjoy it and I think other fans of horror will as well. The only down fall is that the lead actor (who plays Riggs) isnt that good and brings the film down a bit. Other then that, Its a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hoops2448Feb 28, 2012
The Saw Franchise is problematic at best with the first instalment being incredibly tense and dynamic with an ending that will go down in movie history. It has a haunting villain in Tobin Bellâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 5, 2011
Wasnt that bad overall. I didnt really like the actor who played Riggs and I thought he did overact a few times or he just didnt act at all (showed no real emotion in times where there should be). The traps were good though and actuallyWasnt that bad overall. I didnt really like the actor who played Riggs and I thought he did overact a few times or he just didnt act at all (showed no real emotion in times where there should be). The traps were good though and actually rather scary. The ending was a tad bit predictable as well. Overall it was a decent addition that had its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
potatoes351Oct 30, 2012
Saw IV...in other words the one that didn't need to be made. Saw III pretty much cleared up everything but now they have dug themselves a bigger hole by making the first of another set of films. This finishes the story arc of DetectiveSaw IV...in other words the one that didn't need to be made. Saw III pretty much cleared up everything but now they have dug themselves a bigger hole by making the first of another set of films. This finishes the story arc of Detective Matthews first seen in Saw II and continues on its crime drama approach to storytelling rather than the edge of your seat thriller that I and III had. Good cinematography is perhaps the only saving grace but Saw IV is for fans who are just too clingy for their once beloved series to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialNov 2, 2013
I knew that at some point the Saw movies would begin to fall apart. "Saw IV" does not have the same intelligence like the previous three. Yes, there's plenty of gore, but it really isn't worth paying for a ticket to see bits of guts flying atI knew that at some point the Saw movies would begin to fall apart. "Saw IV" does not have the same intelligence like the previous three. Yes, there's plenty of gore, but it really isn't worth paying for a ticket to see bits of guts flying at your face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
Even though this film was meant to be at least average. This got very mild and yet features stuff like a spike trap that did NOT make sense. It is disappointing to see such a good movie go to waste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spollardMar 2, 2014
Worst of the series thus far. The movie is a history lesson of John Kramer a.k.a Jigsaw with a sick game every once in a while to keep the audience interested. The movie really was not needed and the story line was all over the place. I giveWorst of the series thus far. The movie is a history lesson of John Kramer a.k.a Jigsaw with a sick game every once in a while to keep the audience interested. The movie really was not needed and the story line was all over the place. I give it a 47.9 out of 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MichMartMar 4, 2014
Saw-movies with a dead John Kramer and many flashbacks aren't the same as the first three movies, but it's interesting to find out, who's his follower.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LelandskellOct 20, 2013
The original Saw came out in 2004 and reached much success and critical acclaim, reciting mixed reviews from major critics, but heavy praise from many horror fans from around the world. 3 years later, as usual, we get a new Saw film, beingThe original Saw came out in 2004 and reached much success and critical acclaim, reciting mixed reviews from major critics, but heavy praise from many horror fans from around the world. 3 years later, as usual, we get a new Saw film, being Saw IV. This broke the Saw trilogy, and began to show how little the studio cared about the quality of their story and overall production of the Saw movies. This marked the first time a Saw movie had received a rating below 6/10, and to have a Metacritic rating in the red. Saw IV brought no special tapas to the table, and didn't have that great of a twist. Also, you really didn't give a f*** about the people being tortured and the story was a bit farfetched, BUT, this film has a saving grace, Tobin Bell. Don't watch this movie for the traps or main story with the victims, watch it for the backstory of John Cramer, and how he transformed from a warm civil engineer, to the sadistic serial killer, Jigsaw. This film has a lot of good backstory on him and his annoying wife, Jill. It features his first trap, a prototype for the puppet, and even a motive. All in all, not the best entry, but worth checking out if you care about the story. 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickFeb 22, 2015
I think the series of Saw is going down. No one sequel is not like first Saw. I think is problem with me because i'm very excited about what happing next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw IV" is where the series started to go downhill, but, thankfully, not all at once. The story is very slow, but it's still reasonably entertaining for fans of the series. This entry probably had one of the better plot twists in the series."Saw IV" is where the series started to go downhill, but, thankfully, not all at once. The story is very slow, but it's still reasonably entertaining for fans of the series. This entry probably had one of the better plot twists in the series. It tied up some loose ends and plot holes that the first three had. I say give this one a shot if you liked the first three. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews