Saw

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 474
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Saw is for me the best modern horror movie! It's interesting from start to finish, you can feel for the characters and it has a dark atmosphere. These things get unfortunately lost in the last sequels.
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    I love the Saw movies, and this by far the best film in the series overall. Although I think Saw II is more entertaining, and and better and more deaths, Saw, the original is still a classic, and paved the way for the infamy of Jigsaw, and the deaths in the movies. 8/10
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Great Movie! Ignore the reviews that say it sucks because they probably just couldn't handle this film! Getting sick of people that probably watched this movie for 30 minutes and give it a 2 because they in their pants...
    9/10 because of the amazing story and scary/thrilling moments
    PS: Also the sequels have a good story aswell
  4. SinanE.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    Dark and creepy. When you're going to sleep tonight, imagine waking up in the position of one of the characters, having to perform some terrible deed just to have a chance at survival.
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    First in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completelyFirst in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completely wrong thing to call the film. The acting was not so great but the actor gave a fairly decent performance. If someone is afraid to see the movie because of the gore they think is in it. Go see this one. It lacks the gore and has a very well written story. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is one of the best franchise ever so much gore Spoiler Alert: when he cuts his foot off so he can escape Spoiler Alert: You find out how he escapes in Saw The Final Chapter I love the movies how Jigsaw grabs his victims and puts them in traps
    The Bit I hate is Spoiler Alert: The Detective Dies
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    SAW is a well-written, well-directed, well-acted, (GASP FOR MORE AIR), basically everything is good in this film. Saw is a great thriller film that has a fantastic ending. Loved it!
  8. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I'm not a big fan of the genre but this time I was really impressed ... in a good way. The film is not based on torture (what will happen in the sequels) but is based on the psychology of the characters and the suspense without ever going into the ridiculous. A final effect really at and unexpected.
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7 rating. What makes the critics in sooth?! Oh, yeah. Marlon Brando is not in it. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is the perfect movie for hardcore horror fans who want to see a good gory film, because Saw has more gore than a pig slaughterhouse. Seriously, I mean there's always someone bleeding profusely at some point of this film! Yet another reason fans of the genre will be enamored with Saw.

    Besides surpassing the average genre fare, Saw is intelligent. Unlike the usual slasher or gory pic, Saw's story is, for the most part, logically sound, although I put "logically" very lightly. Obviously, it's not every day you wake up in a dirty abandoned bathroom chained to a pipe! For what the film was, it made relative sense. At least, it made more sense than most of the other horror flicks I've seen. The story was engaging, and very compelling. There were a few gaps in logic and minor plot holes, but that's pretty standard for any horror movie. The real logical person in that situation would either find a way out in the first 5 minutes or give up and find a way to kill themselves. But a 5 minute movie where the main character dies in the first 5 minutes wouldn't sell at the box office, would it? So the filmmakers have to suspend logic in some places to move the story along, something most critics don't understand. That doesn't make the movie bad, because believe me, if the mentioned critic saw the "5-minute Saw" I talked about before, he/she wouldn't complain about the real film at all.

    Moreover, Saw actually had pretty decent acting. The characters were well-rounded, and this movie was a good kick-starter for the career of Leigh Whannell. Cary Elwes, who I've seen in Twister, Princess Bride, and Robin Hood: Men In Tights, turned his usual goofy character into a serious, dramatic role as Doctor Lawrence Gordon. Desperateness loomed in his eyes the whole film, as he had no idea what was to happen to his wife and child being held captive by an unknown man he thinks is "The Jigsaw Killer". Danny Glover, who almost always dies in a movie, (It seems he's almost surpassed Leonardo DiCaprio in movie deaths!) takes on a detective role as Detective Tapp, obsessed with finding the Jigsaw Killer after Jigsaw kills Tapp's partner, played by Ken Leung.

    This film was a good watch, especially if you like horror films, and will leave a bad taste in your mouth. But that was the point!
    Expand
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    As rough-edged and unforgiving as the traps in it, Saw will get under your skin and holds the suspense like no other. It sets up the series well, but unfortunately none of the others live up to it.
  12. Feb 15, 2014
    5
    A decent , effective, bloody explosion. This mystery horror film is strong in violence and brutal content that makes it two bloody thumbs up. Gruesome and twisted, "Saw" is scary as hell.
  13. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    In this film, there are something that is not present in 99% of horror films – sense. In what sense? The idea is that why live if you live in the shuffle. Do not bring any benefit not just live. Acting is above all praise. All steeped in some despair, hopelessness, it makes worry about heroes.
  14. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This just goes to show that critics don't know crap. This is a great movie that kicked off a whole new wave of horror. How could you not like it? Well, I for one, loved it, and highly recommend it.
  15. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just can't understand why the critics hated this movie. it is a mystery thriller. some people might not like this movie because of its gore but i was blown away in the climax. i do not wish to spoil the story. but this movie definitely deserves a lot more than this score. i give it a perfect 10. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making you shiver all over. I watched the last scene 5 times when I watched this movie. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE!!
  17. ToddS
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    If you are into psychological horrors, this might be the movie for you.
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I love the plot and Saw's unique concept of being an independent splatter film. It is no doubt the best torture porn film series of all. The acting is not magnificent, but still considerably acceptable. And some of scenes are quite memorable and worth watching if you are into gore and twist endings.
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest endings to a movie of all time. Rivals the sixth sense.
  20. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    "Saw", a low-budget horror movie, had well exceeded beyond my expectations. It's a different kind of horror film, one that you will have never imagine that it will be this way. However, to be honest, the plot is quite ridiculous.
  21. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    "Saw" is a gruesome film that lacks the depth and development within the movie. However, the frantic, thrilling ride with a refreshing twist in the end scores the points for "Saw".
  22. JoeyV.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This movie is phenomenal, and one of the best of all time. The label of "torture porn" is way off, and I don't see at all why it is labeled as such. To me, this really isn't much of a horror movie, than a crime drama.
  23. Nov 14, 2010
    7
    Saw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in the later episodes of the movie series, this does not quite apply to the first of the long series of psychiatric thrillers. Of course, it would be a lie toSaw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in the later episodes of the movie series, this does not quite apply to the first of the long series of psychiatric thrillers. Of course, it would be a lie to say there was no blood displayed in the film, some would say that there was a great deal of it, but it is the plot that would be remembered by any viewer. The low budget can be quite noticeable at times, however it is made up for with great directing and script, and a major twist that you won't forget. The only real problem with this is that you can watch a crime show on television anyday without having an hour and fourteen minutes, and chances are you will get better visual effects. Still, with that considered, it is a movie that is definitely worth watching. Expand
  24. RyanD.
    Mar 7, 2005
    6
    This movie has the worst direction I've probably ever seen in a movie. The acting was horrible, the camera angles during the "action" sequences were horrible, and just the way the movie was done in general, was awful. The only reason I give it a 6 is because the ending is so good & unexpected.
  25. Geoff
    Feb 15, 2005
    2
    It's just not a good movie. I figured out the ending in the first five minutes so I wasn't surprised at the ending at all. Maybe it's because every movie feels like it needs to have a twist ending these days. It had an interesting Se7en-like morality plot with the traps the victims need to get out of but ultimately the film could not deliever in the end. I would recommend It's just not a good movie. I figured out the ending in the first five minutes so I wasn't surprised at the ending at all. Maybe it's because every movie feels like it needs to have a twist ending these days. It had an interesting Se7en-like morality plot with the traps the victims need to get out of but ultimately the film could not deliever in the end. I would recommend Takashi Miike's "Audition" way before this. Expand
  26. MarkL.
    Feb 20, 2005
    2
    Give me a break! Bad acting, no scares - not even the cheap gratuitous kind, a ridiculous "denouement" - you could make a better movie during the weekend at home. Do not see Saw.
  27. GodzillaKK.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie to death..it was awsome and i would like to see it over and over again!!! It has even inspired me to write an story called PUNISHMENT my fave scene is the one with the big brace that was on that girls face.. it was actuall 10 x better that i expected the end is so twisted!!!!
  28. DanH.
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Best horror movie I've seen in a long time.
  29. TylerN.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable. The critics destroyed the image of such a great movie. It is, however, not for horror-buffs. You won't find very many scary scenes, but instead grisly riddles that are mindbinding. Definately suspensful. If you like Se7en, than this is definately your kind of movie.
  30. ZachG.
    Nov 20, 2004
    2
    It's like a high school production of Se7en, except you don't feel bad laughing at it!
  31. TomM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] I like this movie. No it's not perfect but it was, to my thinking, unique. As mentioned there were some scenes that didn't make a lot of sense to me. I'd probably give it a 7.5 if I could but settled on the 8 because of how many incredibly disapointing experiences I've had at the theater over the past several months. *********** minor spoiler [***SPOILERS***] I like this movie. No it's not perfect but it was, to my thinking, unique. As mentioned there were some scenes that didn't make a lot of sense to me. I'd probably give it a 7.5 if I could but settled on the 8 because of how many incredibly disapointing experiences I've had at the theater over the past several months. *********** minor spoiler *********** I was not disturbed by the torture scene with the young girl but after the conclusion of the movie I was left wondering how exactly that scene even fits into the storyline. Cops running around without backup is just silly. This is especially true when you are going after a "Hannibal Lecter" type dude. Expand
  32. MikeD.
    Nov 20, 2004
    7
    Ok. This is a low budget horror film. That in itself shifts my entire rationale for its scoring. Had it been, say, a Miramax comedy, it'd get a 4. That said, this movie had some really really strong points for its genre. The plot was wickedly creative. I will see it again for this reason. The cinematography is very new, and should be applauded. On the other hand, the plot also had Ok. This is a low budget horror film. That in itself shifts my entire rationale for its scoring. Had it been, say, a Miramax comedy, it'd get a 4. That said, this movie had some really really strong points for its genre. The plot was wickedly creative. I will see it again for this reason. The cinematography is very new, and should be applauded. On the other hand, the plot also had more holes than I can count. But like I said before, its a low budget horror flick. Also, there is some extremely weak and laughable acting - but some shining acting as well. In the end, if you want to be disgusted, scared, suprised, thrilled and otherwise brought to the edge of your seat, than this movie'll do it for ya. If you're looking for high cinema, forget about it. But then again, why would you be looking for a horror movie anyway??? Expand
  33. CraigW.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    This film is a geniouses idea! Shame about some of the flaws. I loved it from start till finished. Se7en came to mind though as i watched saw. Its clearly a wanna be movie. The directory had an amazing idea and the character seemed fine to me stop moaning critics!great films!
  34. ChadS.
    Nov 5, 2004
    6
    "Saw" grows increasingly annoying with each new plot twist, because this sometimes inspired thriller doesn't need it. Seeing people come to grisly ends isn't high on my list of must-sees, but the manner in which this serial killer operates, albeit disgusting, is admittedly creative, and genuinely unsettling to watch unfold. "Saw" is also marred by some uneven acting (Cary Elwes "Saw" grows increasingly annoying with each new plot twist, because this sometimes inspired thriller doesn't need it. Seeing people come to grisly ends isn't high on my list of must-sees, but the manner in which this serial killer operates, albeit disgusting, is admittedly creative, and genuinely unsettling to watch unfold. "Saw" is also marred by some uneven acting (Cary Elwes doesn't do primal terror very well), and the final twist is throw your hands up in the air time, because it's more absurd than exciting. Expand
  35. LewisC.
    Oct 27, 2004
    8
    I really enjoyed this, as a debut effort the director worked wonders with lighting. Performances aside this has a great twist i for one never SAW coming and made a trip to the cinema really worth it - beings i havent been in a very long time. Great stuff and definately the best suspence/horror ive seen this year, its going to be a cult classic.
  36. RichardG.
    Oct 31, 2004
    6
    [***SPOILER***] I saw the guy in front me in the movie theatre get up in anger and walk to the exit and come back after the scene where the woman was supposed to shoot the bad guy after he kidnapped them. This was really stupid, but I said to myself "Self do you think that you can take bad acting, a poor script, and comical behavior anymore?" to my astonishment myself said "yes" and I[***SPOILER***] I saw the guy in front me in the movie theatre get up in anger and walk to the exit and come back after the scene where the woman was supposed to shoot the bad guy after he kidnapped them. This was really stupid, but I said to myself "Self do you think that you can take bad acting, a poor script, and comical behavior anymore?" to my astonishment myself said "yes" and I stayed in my seat. Maybe the guy in front of me couldn't take it, maybe he needed to go to the exit to remind himself that he was not being tortured, and he returned when he noticed that he had this power of walking out of this movie. Expand
  37. AdamL
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    Hilarious! See this movie and you will be rolling on the floor , like most of the audience was when I saw it! Funnier than Scary Movie.
  38. jza
    Oct 31, 2004
    3
    I'm not sure how much the guy from Film Threat was paid to give this movie a good write-up, but it is utter and complete crap. Its only redeemable quality is that its so awful that it's unintentionally hilarious. At the showing I went to, the whole audience was cracking up during what I assume were supposed to be serious scenes. I'd like to give a shout-out to the guy I'm not sure how much the guy from Film Threat was paid to give this movie a good write-up, but it is utter and complete crap. Its only redeemable quality is that its so awful that it's unintentionally hilarious. At the showing I went to, the whole audience was cracking up during what I assume were supposed to be serious scenes. I'd like to give a shout-out to the guy behind me in the theater, though, who shouted a rather astute observation during a certain apartment scene: "You need to get some WD-40 for those doors, dawg!" Expand
  39. IceCold
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  40. XS
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    This movie is one of the best horrors since Alfred Hitchcock. The excellence is contained in the absolute insane genius of the "Jigsaw Killer."
  41. TomY
    Apr 29, 2005
    2
    Perhaps the worst acting perfomance (Elwes) I have seen in the past 10 years. Great premise, but quickly becomes completely implausible.
  42. KayDeW
    Jun 29, 2005
    3
    I gave this film a 3 for a creative concept, decent twist at the end, and the creepiness factor. With a better script, better performances and the closing of a few plot holes, this could have been another Seven. Sadly the acting was so bad the movie was actually laughable.
  43. IanS.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best horror's ever! It's just dark, scary and most of all tensive! People who not liked the movie don't like horror so why do you even vote?
  44. cordellbkr
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Can't wait for the sequel! (Octoboer 31st)
  45. Stan
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    If you liked the Fight Club, you will Love this movie.
  46. KevinB.
    Jul 21, 2006
    0
    uh...first of all...this isnt a horror film...its a snuff film...its not scarey, it just nasty...bad acting and stupid plot...as most snuff films have. However, if all you want to see is people getting killed, go to a search engine and type :"Snuff Films".
  47. TC
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    This movie is in no way perfect but its exciting and most importantly fun to watch. if you love movies were they have you think this is a movie to watch especially the sequels. I can almost garantee that you will enjoy this movie if you love getting excited, disturb, and just plain out scared of what might happen next. I can't wait for Saw IV!
  48. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    7
    Although it is not wonderfull..horror films rarely are and this is definately one of the best recently. This is probably due to the twists which are, suprisingly, unexpected and unpredictable. Full of gore and physically sickening..but you have to carry on watching. Appeals to the darker side of everyone.
  49. MichaelE.
    Feb 23, 2007
    2
    Hilariously bad, dull, and almost completely un-disturbing, un-thrilling, and un-scary. Very predictable and even the promised bloon n' gore is underwhelming. About the only thing to be said about it is that it's better than the sequels.
  50. Riren
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really chased in Saw. It's gruesome soul is quite shocking, and its ending is one of the best (if bleakest) in modern horror. It would just be nice if we liked some of the characters before they were subjected to Jigsaw's mindgames (and bodygames), or if Jigsaw didn't preach at us quite so much - two problems the sequels neglected to fix. But for a stand-alone first picture, Saw is a stand out. Expand
  51. RossW.
    Apr 13, 2007
    0
    This movie isn't entertaining in the slightest, it is over-hyped and sick. Any level headed person will find this film disgusting and very unenjoyable
  52. JacobH.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Saw is a good movie. But is pretty boring.
  53. JohnF
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    A depressingly predictable movie that will only appeal to those who like to see people being tortured. There really is nothing else to the movie.
  54. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  55. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  56. SayedN.
    Nov 22, 2004
    1
    This film is total nonsence....
  57. AnthonyF
    Oct 27, 2004
    7
    When I saw previews for this movie I was excited. It looked like it had everything that has been left out of horror movies in recent years. The movie had a lot going for it... and looked creepy as hell! I must sadly say that this movie falls short. Strangely enough the story to this horror movie is actually quite good, so it's got a one up on most scary movies. The acting seems a When I saw previews for this movie I was excited. It looked like it had everything that has been left out of horror movies in recent years. The movie had a lot going for it... and looked creepy as hell! I must sadly say that this movie falls short. Strangely enough the story to this horror movie is actually quite good, so it's got a one up on most scary movies. The acting seems a little flat. Cary Elwes seemed not interested in... well, anything. It's true he's suppose to be level headed but it comes off like he doesn't care (don't get me wrong, I like Cary. I mean have you seen Princess Bride?!). The editing... oh God the editing. How much, jerky fast motion can you use... and to rock music??? Are you kidding me? It's this a movie to mess with your mind or a crazy death metal music video? I do believe if they were to release a re-edited version that changed this then it would be MUCH higher but for as it is... It's a shame that this happened to a movie that had SOO much going for it. Expand
  58. ChairmanS.
    Nov 2, 2005
    0
    Horrible movie. Some of the worst acting and dialogue I've seen in any movie ever. I suppose you might enjoy it if you don't care about that stuff.
  59. BenushH.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    Definatly the best movie i watched all last year (2004) the script was good and the twist in the end was totally not expected a real WINNER in my books. i am really impressed by Wan's debut he will really have to come up with some thing above average to out do this movie as it will be a real challenge i will look forward to his next project :)
  60. MarshallM.
    Oct 30, 2005
    8
    It was reallllly good, kinda reminded me of seven, definately not as good as "seven", i brought it down two notches because of the baaaad acting. and i mean baaaad. but other then that, it was really original.
  61. PeteR.
    Mar 12, 2005
    7
    This movie has been a punching bag for many critics this year, and I for onedisagree. I think that it is along the same lines as Seven, and although not with the same characterization and skillful writing, it is a deliciously filthy film that delivers shocks throughout, as well as a Shalaman-style ending that will leave you reeling and replaying the film over in your mind. Believe me. This movie has been a punching bag for many critics this year, and I for onedisagree. I think that it is along the same lines as Seven, and although not with the same characterization and skillful writing, it is a deliciously filthy film that delivers shocks throughout, as well as a Shalaman-style ending that will leave you reeling and replaying the film over in your mind. Believe me. It's not even a quarter as bad as some seem to think it is. Expand
  62. Rachel
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Great film , im suprised it had such bad reviews, great twist at the end.
  63. Robert
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    This movie certainly wasn't perfect, but as a clever thriller with an excellent idea behind it, it wasn't half bad. First of all, anyone who says that this movie is "funny" is pretty sick: I don't recall seeing a funny moment in this movie, nor does anyone who I know that saw it. Second, while the plot points that were pointed out by those who criticized this movie were This movie certainly wasn't perfect, but as a clever thriller with an excellent idea behind it, it wasn't half bad. First of all, anyone who says that this movie is "funny" is pretty sick: I don't recall seeing a funny moment in this movie, nor does anyone who I know that saw it. Second, while the plot points that were pointed out by those who criticized this movie were valid (I too noticed the lack of sawing through the lock/pipes, the woman not shooting her captor, the police not shooting the machine), they didn't ruin the movie to the point where it is not worth watching. Overall, an extremely interesting and watchable, though quite disturbing, film. Expand
  64. Kevin
    Mar 25, 2005
    6
    It kept me in it despite elwes's horrible performance and relative predictability and a few classic cliches. what really annoyed me was the twist at the end that made absolutely no sense. yes it was unexpected, but it completely ruined the movie that some guy in a hospital bed you saw for 2 seconds did everything. i think it would have been much i better if it had turned out to be It kept me in it despite elwes's horrible performance and relative predictability and a few classic cliches. what really annoyed me was the twist at the end that made absolutely no sense. yes it was unexpected, but it completely ruined the movie that some guy in a hospital bed you saw for 2 seconds did everything. i think it would have been much i better if it had turned out to be one of the more central characters. it had a good premise, but i was left frustrated that they ruined an ok with the end. Expand
  65. Brian
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Very good Film!... thats all I have to say.
  66. KaceyG
    Mar 29, 2005
    6
    You'll never predict the ending to this one, which is about the only good thing in this film.
  67. Michael
    Aug 17, 2005
    3
    An absurd atrocity!!! The film has no logic whatsoever. This was one of the worst films of 2004. This stinker deserved worse reviews than it received.
  68. Gnarles
    Jan 10, 2006
    1
    The acting and writing in this movie aren't bad. They are hanging-your-mouth-open-in-wonder bad.
  69. JohnR.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Ridiculous movie. Keeps you in suspense throughout the entire film. This horror movie keeps you thinking and gets you connected to the actors. Eleven out of ten star for this great flick.
  70. JordanG
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    One of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Though it's not scary it's plot is outstanding and it's twists and sick gore is amazing. It's good because like if you've seen one Friday the 13th you've seen them all but Saw keeps you intersted in what will happen next.
  71. PabloR.
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Suffering? So dont leave the movie half-way and think you can review it badly....watch the whole thing Wooses! Expand
  72. Furbydude
    Dec 14, 2007
    0
    SAW was excruciatingly boring. you may go ahead and watch the whole film... if you want to waste 2 hours of your whole life that you may never get back.
  73. JasonS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    Great story and music. In the same vein as seven.
  74. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    Saw is being mistaken for a gross-out horror. It's not. It's a crime-thriller with some unusual qualities.
  75. May 30, 2013
    6
    Saw has some really clever ideas and it's a great torture film!
    It's definitely not the best but if you are into those movies this is a MUST WATCH!!!!!
  76. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    Saw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, that leaves a lot of mystery and some disappointment due to the lack of character actors . My final opinion is that it is a good horror movie, but it was notSaw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, that leaves a lot of mystery and some disappointment due to the lack of character actors . My final opinion is that it is a good horror movie, but it was not what I expected: talent. Expand
  77. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    This movie just proves that there are no decent horror movies out there. Like all the other horror movies, this movie isn't even scary. It's just a bloody, profane gorefest. Horror movies were meant to scare, but only The Exorcist has managed to give great scares.
  78. [Anonymous]
    Oct 20, 2006
    1
    Stupid. Pointless, Dull, Boring. Nothing to marvel here.
  79. Jan 28, 2013
    1
    I do not like these kind of movies. Sadictic... If you like torture scenes you might have serious mental problems.............................................................................
  80. DW
    Nov 17, 2009
    5
    A decent horror movie apart from... A plot that makes wicker baskets look water-tight, swiss cheese smooth, and rain during Monsoon unexpected. Shame, because it has some clever elements to it.
  81. Feb 19, 2014
    2
    These sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly it is the fact that watching people get killed in increasingly brutal and graphic ways isn't my idea of entertainment.

    I've often been told that Saw is
    These sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly it is the fact that watching people get killed in increasingly brutal and graphic ways isn't my idea of entertainment.

    I've often been told that Saw is one of the better examples in the genre but since I couldn't stomach any more than about twenty minutes I wouldn't know.
    Expand
  82. ChrisG
    Jan 8, 2009
    3
    After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the performances are special, and there isn't much in the way of thrills. The story is a mess. There is a market for this stuff I guess, and it's After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the performances are special, and there isn't much in the way of thrills. The story is a mess. There is a market for this stuff I guess, and it's definitely not me. Expand
  83. Nov 27, 2013
    5
    Now, before you read this, keep in mind I've seen all of the saw movies, and I'm a fan of the series. Now, onto the review: This movie was horrible. I know it's the first out of the seven movies, and it's explaining everything, but are you kidding me... no... just no.... boring, and useless. Some of the movie was okay, but no... like, maybe twenty percent was okay, but the other eightyNow, before you read this, keep in mind I've seen all of the saw movies, and I'm a fan of the series. Now, onto the review: This movie was horrible. I know it's the first out of the seven movies, and it's explaining everything, but are you kidding me... no... just no.... boring, and useless. Some of the movie was okay, but no... like, maybe twenty percent was okay, but the other eighty percent big no. Expand
  84. JeffM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    7
    Unexceptional, but worth seeing for the intensity it brings from the opening scene and never stops bringing.
  85. IlirC.
    Jul 31, 2006
    5
    great plot and twist but terrible acting and dialogue has held this movie back... still deserves credit due to the fact that its a indie.
  86. SlipNinja
    Nov 2, 2004
    2
    [***SPOILERS***] There is nothing I hate more than a movie that compels you to put yourself in the characters shoes, but only if you're willing to leave your brain behind. If I found myself chained to a cast iron pipe, and had a hacksaw at my disposal, I'd sure be trying to cut the soft cast iron before the hard steel chain (duh!) If I had all kinds of smaller exposed pipes [***SPOILERS***] There is nothing I hate more than a movie that compels you to put yourself in the characters shoes, but only if you're willing to leave your brain behind. If I found myself chained to a cast iron pipe, and had a hacksaw at my disposal, I'd sure be trying to cut the soft cast iron before the hard steel chain (duh!) If I had all kinds of smaller exposed pipes attached to the walls around me, I'd be trying to cut, bend, yank, pull, and fatigue them off the wall, so as to SMASH through the relatively brittle cast iron pipe. If I had a FREAKING GUN and BULLET in the room with me, I'd be using my clothes, pieces of electrical cable, and ANYTHING else at my disposal, to reach said items so I could SHOOT OFF THE LOCK!!! I'd even try using the ceramic toilet to smash the cast iron pipe. Cast iron is not that strong (recall Andy Dufrane breaking the large pipe in The Shawshank Redemption with a rock.) All these things are what normal, survival minded people would try to do before lying down and crying like babies. If you want to make a situation hopeless, then do so! Bury the chains in the concrete floor, stick the characters at the bottom of a well, or in the middle of the ocean. Do WHATEVER, but don't create obvious options any reasonably intelligent person could try, and then expect us to feel for characters who do NOTHING because the script calls for them to be stupid. Either I want to be in their shoes or I don't. There are types of movies where one suspends disbelief. Psychological thrillers aren't one of them. That said, there were a dozen more stupid scenes, like the cop trying to find the "off switch" on the drills, while holding a loaded pistol in his hand (duh again!) Elwes' wife NOT shooting an apparently psycho who had spent hours terrorizing and threatening to kill her and her daughter. What was that??? For that matter, if that guy was truly being coerced to do what he did, why did he seem to take such pleasure in terrorizing the wife? Danny Glover was the most physically inept cop since inspector Clouseau (I guess he's castrated without Mel Gibson.) I could go on and on. Bottom line, if a movie is going to have half a chance at scaring me, I have to feel some of the same helplessness as the characters. Maybe I'm just too tough of a guy, but I felt more "trapped" seeing Meg Ryan's head lying on Billy Crystal's chest in Harry Met Sally, then I ever did seeing people chained up in Saw. Expand
  87. LaraD.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    Great film! sicko of a killer but a great film.
  88. RobertD.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    The best horror/thriller ever. best ending in a film that i have seen.
  89. GerronK
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Horrifying. Original. Powerful. What more? The best horror film of the year!
  90. DanL.
    Oct 28, 2004
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] If you want to see a movie that has like 3 good parts (showing several victims attempt to escape their trap w/cool music playing the whole time) that span 5 min apiece, then this movie is for you. Otherwise, don't see this till video. I saw this in an advance screening and watching Cary Elwes try to act and cry (which was unintentionally funny) was ridiculous. Danny[***SPOILERS***] If you want to see a movie that has like 3 good parts (showing several victims attempt to escape their trap w/cool music playing the whole time) that span 5 min apiece, then this movie is for you. Otherwise, don't see this till video. I saw this in an advance screening and watching Cary Elwes try to act and cry (which was unintentionally funny) was ridiculous. Danny Glover's character was entirely extraneous and the end has such a Hollywood twist that it quite annoys. (SLIGHT SPOILER) Look for the part where Elwes goes to a hotel room to secretly meet his secretary, gets an anonymous phone call, and then, unfazed, calmly says "I have to go." This basically sums up the movie for me - not very smart at all. Expand
  91. Ishii
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    There was not a dull moment in the film. I loved it.
  92. C.B.
    Oct 24, 2005
    7
    A solid thriller. Unique twist.
  93. Jack
    Oct 30, 2005
    4
    Interesting premise, but could have been much better had it not been spoiled by horrible acting and numerous stupid plot twists.
  94. LaurenceH.
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    A gruesome mess of logic violence and terrific storyline. A must-see!
  95. MattO.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I don't know what Geoff was talking about. There is no possible way that you can figure out this ending, especially within the first five minutes. Good film that wasn't extremely scary but draws you in till the very end.
  96. RyanL.
    Feb 21, 2005
    1
    The premise for the movie was excellent. Fire the casting director for hiring Cary Elwes as one of the main characters. He is brutal!!
  97. BlueFalcon
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    This is one of the better horror movies that I've ever seen. And with no dumb cheesey moments - refreshing for the genera. It's exciting, scary, and got an original idea with plot twists. Really, it's everything you might hope for.
  98. Dreamsatl
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    One of the best psych films kept you guessing until the end you did it. The Doctor is lame but besides that great movie.
  99. Alex
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb, with a brilliant twist right at the end - gruesome horror done exactly how it should be.
  100. GregM.
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    If I thought this movie was trying to be funny, I would have given it a 10. Unfortunately I think it was trying to be shocking and clever, and instead it ended up being one of the worst acted, directed, and written movies I have ever seen in a theater. I'm not sure where all these good scores are coming from. A good premise does not make a good movie, and this movie proves that fact. If I thought this movie was trying to be funny, I would have given it a 10. Unfortunately I think it was trying to be shocking and clever, and instead it ended up being one of the worst acted, directed, and written movies I have ever seen in a theater. I'm not sure where all these good scores are coming from. A good premise does not make a good movie, and this movie proves that fact. You will have more fun at the dentist's during a root canal. PS. My girlfriend liked it and I almost had to dump her because of this. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Wan's tense, grisly cinematic morsel won't go down easy. But once it hits bottom, Saw is oddly satisfying, though the gag reflex never entirely goes away.
  2. Reviewed by: Heidi Martinuzzi
    90
    May be the best independent horror film to have come out since "The Blair Witch Project." It's certainly better than "Blair Witch", and more fun, more gruesome, and more macabre. In a very delightful way.
  3. 30
    Though dumber than a box of rocks, Saw forges ahead with the kind of conviction and energy that will keep bad-cinema junkies sitting bolt upright.