Saw

Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 29, 2004
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 549 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
458
Mixed:
49
Negative:
42
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MichMartMar 3, 2014
Saw is for me the best modern horror movie! It's interesting from start to finish, you can feel for the characters and it has a dark atmosphere. These things get unfortunately lost in the last sequels.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
LelandskellDec 23, 2013
I love the Saw movies, and this by far the best film in the series overall. Although I think Saw II is more entertaining, and and better and more deaths, Saw, the original is still a classic, and paved the way for the infamy of Jigsaw, andI love the Saw movies, and this by far the best film in the series overall. Although I think Saw II is more entertaining, and and better and more deaths, Saw, the original is still a classic, and paved the way for the infamy of Jigsaw, and the deaths in the movies. 8/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RubienoNov 5, 2013
Great Movie! Ignore the reviews that say it sucks because they probably just couldn't handle this film! Getting sick of people that probably watched this movie for 30 minutes and give it a 2 because they in their pants...
9/10 because of
Great Movie! Ignore the reviews that say it sucks because they probably just couldn't handle this film! Getting sick of people that probably watched this movie for 30 minutes and give it a 2 because they in their pants...
9/10 because of the amazing story and scary/thrilling moments
PS: Also the sequels have a good story aswell
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
OriginalCreeperNov 2, 2010
First in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this filmFirst in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completely wrong thing to call the film. The acting was not so great but the actor gave a fairly decent performance. If someone is afraid to see the movie because of the gore they think is in it. Go see this one. It lacks the gore and has a very well written story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DawzyOct 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is one of the best franchise ever so much gore Spoiler Alert: when he cuts his foot off so he can escape Spoiler Alert: You find out how he escapes in Saw The Final Chapter I love the movies how Jigsaw grabs his victims and puts them in traps
The Bit I hate is Spoiler Alert: The Detective Dies
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Sep 5, 2012
I'm not a big fan of the genre but this time I was really impressed ... in a good way. The film is not based on torture (what will happen in the sequels) but is based on the psychology of the characters and the suspense without ever goingI'm not a big fan of the genre but this time I was really impressed ... in a good way. The film is not based on torture (what will happen in the sequels) but is based on the psychology of the characters and the suspense without ever going into the ridiculous. A final effect really at and unexpected. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bekoDec 4, 2012
I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 withI am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7 rating. What makes the critics in sooth?! Oh, yeah. Marlon Brando is not in it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysOct 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is the perfect movie for hardcore horror fans who want to see a good gory film, because Saw has more gore than a pig slaughterhouse. Seriously, I mean there's always someone bleeding profusely at some point of this film! Yet another reason fans of the genre will be enamored with Saw.

Besides surpassing the average genre fare, Saw is intelligent. Unlike the usual slasher or gory pic, Saw's story is, for the most part, logically sound, although I put "logically" very lightly. Obviously, it's not every day you wake up in a dirty abandoned bathroom chained to a pipe! For what the film was, it made relative sense. At least, it made more sense than most of the other horror flicks I've seen. The story was engaging, and very compelling. There were a few gaps in logic and minor plot holes, but that's pretty standard for any horror movie. The real logical person in that situation would either find a way out in the first 5 minutes or give up and find a way to kill themselves. But a 5 minute movie where the main character dies in the first 5 minutes wouldn't sell at the box office, would it? So the filmmakers have to suspend logic in some places to move the story along, something most critics don't understand. That doesn't make the movie bad, because believe me, if the mentioned critic saw the "5-minute Saw" I talked about before, he/she wouldn't complain about the real film at all.

Moreover, Saw actually had pretty decent acting. The characters were well-rounded, and this movie was a good kick-starter for the career of Leigh Whannell. Cary Elwes, who I've seen in Twister, Princess Bride, and Robin Hood: Men In Tights, turned his usual goofy character into a serious, dramatic role as Doctor Lawrence Gordon. Desperateness loomed in his eyes the whole film, as he had no idea what was to happen to his wife and child being held captive by an unknown man he thinks is "The Jigsaw Killer". Danny Glover, who almost always dies in a movie, (It seems he's almost surpassed Leonardo DiCaprio in movie deaths!) takes on a detective role as Detective Tapp, obsessed with finding the Jigsaw Killer after Jigsaw kills Tapp's partner, played by Ken Leung.

This film was a good watch, especially if you like horror films, and will leave a bad taste in your mouth. But that was the point!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
As rough-edged and unforgiving as the traps in it, Saw will get under your skin and holds the suspense like no other. It sets up the series well, but unfortunately none of the others live up to it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscOct 31, 2014
i do not understand why critics are hating saw , its fun a film its a classic with blood , crime and suspense. Its awesome saw is the top horror movie of the century thats why Saw needed a sequel the franchise needed to keep the franchisei do not understand why critics are hating saw , its fun a film its a classic with blood , crime and suspense. Its awesome saw is the top horror movie of the century thats why Saw needed a sequel the franchise needed to keep the franchise going without writer leigh whannell and director James Wan there would be No saw. Grade Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarlboroApr 30, 2014
In this film, there are something that is not present in 99% of horror films – sense. In what sense? The idea is that why live if you live in the shuffle. Do not bring any benefit not just live. Acting is above all praise. All steeped in someIn this film, there are something that is not present in 99% of horror films – sense. In what sense? The idea is that why live if you live in the shuffle. Do not bring any benefit not just live. Acting is above all praise. All steeped in some despair, hopelessness, it makes worry about heroes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
battyspidermanJun 13, 2014
This just goes to show that critics don't know crap. This is a great movie that kicked off a whole new wave of horror. How could you not like it? Well, I for one, loved it, and highly recommend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Isaac_adhdAug 8, 2012
This movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making you shiver all over. I watched the last scene 5 times when I watched this movie. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE!!
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
8
ToddSNov 2, 2008
If you are into psychological horrors, this might be the movie for you.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
VRossiNov 9, 2011
I love the plot and Saw's unique concept of being an independent splatter film. It is no doubt the best torture porn film series of all. The acting is not magnificent, but still considerably acceptable. And some of scenes are quite memorableI love the plot and Saw's unique concept of being an independent splatter film. It is no doubt the best torture porn film series of all. The acting is not magnificent, but still considerably acceptable. And some of scenes are quite memorable and worth watching if you are into gore and twist endings. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JimCorbettApr 9, 2012
One of the greatest endings to a movie of all time. Rivals the sixth sense.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JoeyV.Oct 24, 2009
This movie is phenomenal, and one of the best of all time. The label of "torture porn" is way off, and I don't see at all why it is labeled as such. To me, this really isn't much of a horror movie, than a crime drama.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
SeriouslyNov 14, 2010
Saw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in theSaw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in the later episodes of the movie series, this does not quite apply to the first of the long series of psychiatric thrillers. Of course, it would be a lie to say there was no blood displayed in the film, some would say that there was a great deal of it, but it is the plot that would be remembered by any viewer. The low budget can be quite noticeable at times, however it is made up for with great directing and script, and a major twist that you won't forget. The only real problem with this is that you can watch a crime show on television anyday without having an hour and fourteen minutes, and chances are you will get better visual effects. Still, with that considered, it is a movie that is definitely worth watching. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
StanSep 10, 2005
If you liked the Fight Club, you will Love this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TCOct 10, 2007
This movie is in no way perfect but its exciting and most importantly fun to watch. if you love movies were they have you think this is a movie to watch especially the sequels. I can almost garantee that you will enjoy this movie if you love This movie is in no way perfect but its exciting and most importantly fun to watch. if you love movies were they have you think this is a movie to watch especially the sequels. I can almost garantee that you will enjoy this movie if you love getting excited, disturb, and just plain out scared of what might happen next. I can't wait for Saw IV! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
CorinnaW.Jan 3, 2007
Although it is not wonderfull..horror films rarely are and this is definately one of the best recently. This is probably due to the twists which are, suprisingly, unexpected and unpredictable. Full of gore and physically sickening..but you Although it is not wonderfull..horror films rarely are and this is definately one of the best recently. This is probably due to the twists which are, suprisingly, unexpected and unpredictable. Full of gore and physically sickening..but you have to carry on watching. Appeals to the darker side of everyone. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RirenMar 6, 2007
Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really chased in Saw. It's gruesome soul is quite shocking, and its ending is one of the best (if bleakest) in modern horror. It would just be nice if we liked some of the characters before they were subjected to Jigsaw's mindgames (and bodygames), or if Jigsaw didn't preach at us quite so much - two problems the sequels neglected to fix. But for a stand-alone first picture, Saw is a stand out. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JacobH.Sep 28, 2007
Saw is a good movie. But is pretty boring.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Nov 1, 2004
I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
MarshallM.Oct 30, 2005
It was reallllly good, kinda reminded me of seven, definately not as good as "seven", i brought it down two notches because of the baaaad acting. and i mean baaaad. but other then that, it was really original.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnR.Oct 11, 2006
Ridiculous movie. Keeps you in suspense throughout the entire film. This horror movie keeps you thinking and gets you connected to the actors. Eleven out of ten star for this great flick.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JordanGNov 4, 2006
One of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Though it's not scary it's plot is outstanding and it's twists and sick gore is amazing. It's good because like if you've seen one Friday the 13th you've seen One of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Though it's not scary it's plot is outstanding and it's twists and sick gore is amazing. It's good because like if you've seen one Friday the 13th you've seen them all but Saw keeps you intersted in what will happen next. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PabloR.Oct 28, 2006
Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Suffering? So dont leave the movie half-way and think you can review it badly....watch the whole thing Wooses! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JasonS.Oct 23, 2007
Great story and music. In the same vein as seven.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
Mordovan89Mar 1, 2014
Saw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, thatSaw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, that leaves a lot of mystery and some disappointment due to the lack of character actors . My final opinion is that it is a good horror movie, but it was not what I expected: talent. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
abi_abhiabiSep 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just can't understand why the critics hated this movie. it is a mystery thriller. some people might not like this movie because of its gore but i was blown away in the climax. i do not wish to spoil the story. but this movie definitely deserves a lot more than this score. i give it a perfect 10. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
JeffM.Aug 7, 2006
Unexceptional, but worth seeing for the intensity it brings from the opening scene and never stops bringing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
C.B.Oct 24, 2005
A solid thriller. Unique twist.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SpiderA.Jan 21, 2008
A well made thriller, good for horror fans. A bit overacted at times, but a good waste of an hour and a half. People should check out the superior sequels as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
maxjFeb 28, 2009
I got so gripped and so excited and intrested and scared and spooked and grossed out and that's good. Amanda is easily the best character design ever. and it's so flippin scary
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NickB.Nov 13, 2005
I saw Saw 2 before i saw this one...still understood the story without seeing the first one...but even with Saw 1's crappy acting and bad dialouge it still has its scary moments and really sets the movie up for the much better sequel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kharaghOct 26, 2005
The best thriller for quite a long time, wonderful twist.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
One of the most original horror films to come out in a long time and its actually good. Saw gives us something no horror film has ever given us before and I loved it. While the acting is solid and far from perfect, It is still an enjoyable film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanJun 24, 2012
Criticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in SawCriticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in Saw you actually see relatively little, and it rarely feels like the two protagonists (Leigh Whannell and Cary Elwes) are being put through extreme torment for the sake of it - everything that happens to them is necessary for moving the plot along. Unlike the sequels, Saw really isn't a gruesome horror film, but is actually closer to an incredibly dark crime thriller. The Jigsaw Killer (Tobin Bell) rightly deserves his place in the movie villain hall of fame - he has a terrifying screen presence despite being only a disembodied voice for the majority of the film, and his character, a psychotic vigilante driven by a twisted moral code is far more layered and entertaining than the average film murderer. James Wan and Leigh Whannell's story is deceptively simple, but through several clever and unexpected plot twist and some fairly explicit political subtext, the narrative becomes memorable. Saw also offers you one of the most brilliant and shocking final scenes in film history, something none of the inferior sequels even came close to replicating. The set pieces are also far more effective and terrifying than any we see in subsequent instalments, chiefly due to the fact that they are kept strikingly simple, and the schizophrenic editing hides the goriest visuals, allowing your own imagination to fill in the blanks, which is always a reliable tool to fall back on in horror. The first act of the film is a little slow, and I will concede that the film's underlying message, if there really is one, about the failures of the American justice system and worldwide moral decline, is approached in a rather heavy-handed manner by the filmmakers. The biggest crime the film commits, though, is that it spawned so many underwhelming sequels. Still, in this first chapter of an increasingly tired and formulaic franchise packs a real punch thanks to some good writing, taught and tense plotting and an abundance of energy. Many compare the film unfavourably to Seven, but despite the undeniable similarities in plot, I'd take the stripped-back, far less pretentious Saw over David Fincher's over-compensatory effort any day. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 4, 2011
Solid cast, Very interesting, and it ends in a way that you never see coming. Saw is easily the best horror film in the 2000s so far and is one of the greatest of all time. Only problem is it didnt look as good as it could have (yes I know itSolid cast, Very interesting, and it ends in a way that you never see coming. Saw is easily the best horror film in the 2000s so far and is one of the greatest of all time. Only problem is it didnt look as good as it could have (yes I know it was made on a small budget) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 8, 2012
I truly don't care that the metacritic score is 46, this movie will go down as a classic in the horror genre. It was a breath of fresh air in a genre that relies on remakes of it's heyday. The twists and turns at the end make for a trulyI truly don't care that the metacritic score is 46, this movie will go down as a classic in the horror genre. It was a breath of fresh air in a genre that relies on remakes of it's heyday. The twists and turns at the end make for a truly amazing thriller/horror/torture flick. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJul 29, 2013
Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It hasSaw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments. It wants to put the audience in the position of that two people who are locked in the bathroom The result is successful. A quality thriller which deserves the attention. And for the bad reviews? Screw them! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
talisencrwAug 22, 2016
Though I tend to go for both older films (those made before 1970) and especially so when it comes to the horror/thriller genre, I saw parts 3 and 5 upon theatrical release (yes, I know it's really not right to see film series out of sequenceThough I tend to go for both older films (those made before 1970) and especially so when it comes to the horror/thriller genre, I saw parts 3 and 5 upon theatrical release (yes, I know it's really not right to see film series out of sequence but I simply don't care) and they were intriguing and decent, don't ask me why. Now that I both date a horror film aficionado and my 13-year-old son himself is one as well, I have decided to check out the contemporarily well-received original (I may decide now to see the entire series, and in order, but really who's to say?). Instantly, such trusted, bankable actors as Cary Elwes and Danny Glover give it credibility, just as Bette Davis and Joan Crawford gave such films as 'What Ever Happened to Baby Jane?' way back in days gone by. This was much better than I felt parts 3 and 5 were, by the way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like"Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like "High Tension" or "Martyrs", but "Saw" is still a very morbid and gritty little movie. The acting isn't the best, but the cinematography is great. "Saw" is a lot more like a crime-thriller than a horror film, so if you like crime-style movies, I definitely recommend this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TerryOct 15, 2006
Would you like a slice of genius? Watch Saw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ABAug 26, 2007
"Saw" is not one of the greatest achievements in the history of film, but it is one of the most intriguing horror movies produced in years. Its interesting story and surprising twists produce an engaging, though not scary, experience that is "Saw" is not one of the greatest achievements in the history of film, but it is one of the most intriguing horror movies produced in years. Its interesting story and surprising twists produce an engaging, though not scary, experience that is found all to rarely in modern film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricKNov 22, 2008
A film that wraps up so perfectly that you may feel a shiver run down your back as the ending unfolds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DM.Feb 25, 2008
Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. The best actor doesn't really "act" for the whole movie, and the gore jumps the limit between scary and funny/annoying. But horror is a dying genre, and it's been a while since there has a film with such a neat thriller ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyM.Oct 22, 2009
A modern horror classic a "cut" above the rest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NoahF.Dec 31, 2005
The best horror movie in YEARS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
Two men wake up to find they're chained to pipes either side of a room without really knowing why. Clues are slowly revealed as they are part of some sadistic "game".
Second time I've seen it & it's still a decent horror film. Clever in parts
Two men wake up to find they're chained to pipes either side of a room without really knowing why. Clues are slowly revealed as they are part of some sadistic "game".
Second time I've seen it & it's still a decent horror film. Clever in parts but some of the acting is pretty bad.
And Cary Elwes will always be Wesley in the Princess Bride for me.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
its a good they didn't use the word *torture porn*. as a matter of fact, this movie may not be excellent, but its just so perfect. a killer that doesn't kill people so he just create some traps and watches people die when they go into them.its a good they didn't use the word *torture porn*. as a matter of fact, this movie may not be excellent, but its just so perfect. a killer that doesn't kill people so he just create some traps and watches people die when they go into them. thats pretty clever. thats why this movie is a phenomenal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrandonBonaseraJun 7, 2016
Saw is a grisly, stylistic and intense thriller directed by the fantastic James Wan, who uses the films setting to instil a sense of claustrophobia and dread into its audience. In addition to that, the film features plenty of ghoulish twistsSaw is a grisly, stylistic and intense thriller directed by the fantastic James Wan, who uses the films setting to instil a sense of claustrophobia and dread into its audience. In addition to that, the film features plenty of ghoulish twists and turns that make Saw incredibly engaging. However, as fun and thrilling as the film is, Saw falters with some mediocre performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobFeb 9, 2012
I think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and the horror is great. This is a must see horror film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Oct 30, 2012
Saw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidatedSaw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. Throughout the film you learn about how the two men are connected more than they thought, about their home lives and about the person who put them in that room to begin with, the Jigsaw killer.
The story and considering how well shot the film is are the only thing to save it as the acting is pretty bad at the best of times but considering this was a fairly low budget film I can forgive. Saw is a must see for thriller/horror fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geedupJul 8, 2012
Not sure how this one gets such a low rating. It was the best out of the Saw movies and a thriller-especially in this genre. I liked the fact I didn't know what was going to happen next and the original content of the horror (sort of speak).Not sure how this one gets such a low rating. It was the best out of the Saw movies and a thriller-especially in this genre. I liked the fact I didn't know what was going to happen next and the original content of the horror (sort of speak). Kinda corny though at times, I can admit. But I can still watch this flick to this day and be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homicidalfuryDec 23, 2012
This movie is **** gross!, it is **** bloody and all that **** I mean it is a great movie with a good plot and if you hate on it then your a **** I LOVE THIS **** MOVIE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
This film is definite to beat any upcoming torture films. This film has the depth of most movies and is really compelling making you want to watch it even if their is about 1 hr 32 minutes of brutal gore. But this movie still beats the BlairThis film is definite to beat any upcoming torture films. This film has the depth of most movies and is really compelling making you want to watch it even if their is about 1 hr 32 minutes of brutal gore. But this movie still beats the Blair Witch Project without a question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ag10Feb 3, 2013
A very good horror/psychological thriller. There were a few bits and pieces which didn't make a lot of sense. What happened to Lawrence?? As a whole an enjoyable film, with some really intense scenes. Don't watch before you go to sleep!`
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJun 13, 2015
For the start of a franchise built on torture porn, this one isn't so bad. I mean, of course there is a lot of blood and gore but it isn't so much as to make you look away in disappointment and shame, but enough to make you cringe withFor the start of a franchise built on torture porn, this one isn't so bad. I mean, of course there is a lot of blood and gore but it isn't so much as to make you look away in disappointment and shame, but enough to make you cringe with tension thanks to the build up to it. In fact, the only major downside to this film was that the acting was not on point. It was just a little too cheesy to make it seem like a really tense horror movie, nevertheless, a really good horror flick . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DusksparkJul 30, 2013
Let me start off by saying that I am not at all a fan of horror movies. But, "Saw" however, manaGed to convince me thAt it's different in a good way. FroM start to finish, the movie is about two people being locked up in an abandonEdLet me start off by saying that I am not at all a fan of horror movies. But, "Saw" however, manaGed to convince me thAt it's different in a good way. FroM start to finish, the movie is about two people being locked up in an abandonEd bathroom together, no clue where they are Or how they got there. Ofcourse, in decent moVie fashion, that is explained, and the closer you get to the end, the morE it'll surprise you. It pleasantly suRprised me, and as someone who is terrified by disgusting horror, I must say, this one felt quite unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarickFeb 11, 2015
Saw is a 2004 American independent horror film directed by James Wan. This film is very interesting in my opinion. It is a classic style that brings many rhetorical questions over you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dot_dot_space_Oct 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film seems kind of underrated. If you're sceptical about watching it because you think it'll be a slasher movie, think again. Admittedly, it's a little violent, but not unnecessarily so like the rest of the instalments. It's a very well-acted production, with clever twists - one of which was completely unforeseen. The story is kind of all over the place sometimes - we start off in Jigsaw's bathroom challenge, then constantly go back and forth between flashbacks. But it works most of the time.
I have no such hope for the rest of the series - and I hope it's not continued. Maybe one, two, or three Saw films is OK, but no more than that.
7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SonnyhudsOct 31, 2014
The 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong.The 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong. The film is about two men (Adam and Dr Lawrence Gordon)who are stuck in a old bathroom chained to a pipe by their foot, there only way to escape is to cut their foot off. Detective Tapp (Danny Glover) is on the case of the jigsaw killer who has put people in grisly traps where they must shed blood to save their life. The film has great tension from the opening shot and to the shocking twist at the end which will leave you wanting more. The music by Charlie Clouser is amazing and the cinematography is brilliant with the many wide shots and close up shots. The dialogue is good but the actor of Adam (Leigh Whannel) can be bad in some parts and sometimes the story has its plot holes which some if the sequels clear up. The film had a budget of 1.2 million dollars and made 103 million dollars. The production design by Julie Berghoff is superb because the grisly traps look brilliant especially the reverse bear trap. The traps are good and the misconception of the first film is that it is gory but it isn't you will see a shot of something gory it will cut straight to the persons face and gives more tension. The film is one of my favourite films because even though it has plot holes, it has a special place in my heart. I give this film 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieManiac83Apr 25, 2015
Saw is for hard-gore horror aficionados only. To appreciate Saw in its full gory, you have to have a penchant for productions that bask in the traditions of the Grand Guignol. While most of the film relies more on psychological tension andSaw is for hard-gore horror aficionados only. To appreciate Saw in its full gory, you have to have a penchant for productions that bask in the traditions of the Grand Guignol. While most of the film relies more on psychological tension and terror, there's plenty of gut-churning, visceral violence, especially during the final 15 minutes. That's the time period when James Wan's otherwise compelling feature goes a little too far over the top, veering out of its David Fincher-inspired darkness into the realm of self-parody. There's lots of blood, plenty of hysteria, and perhaps one twist too many. On the strength of a grippingly original concept and 90 strong minutes of building action, Saw gets a recommendation, but only if you like this kind of thing.

Although Wan's primary aim is to build suspense through uncertainty, he doesn't skimp when it comes to showing gruesome images. Although Wan would probably relish the comparison, this isn't a Psycho or Halloween - films that rely upon the imagination of the viewer to conjure up unthinkable images. The original cut of Saw received an NC-17 rating from the MPAA for its unrelenting gore. Some of the most graphic moments were eliminated, but what remains is still about as hard an R as can be found. Sensitive viewers may find themselves momentarily turning away from the screen during one especially harrowing sequence.

The horror genre has become a minefield of clichés and recycled plots, making it difficult to generate enthusiasm about any new release. New hooks are a premium commodity, so when someone like Wan finds one, it's easy to overlook freshman mistakes. With its freshness and energy, Saw bucks the horror trend towards formula story-telling and proves that enough qualities in the "plus column" can overcome a weak ending. Those who see this movie during its North American opening weekend of October 29-31 will be in for an unsettling Halloween.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Duke_NukemOct 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "He doesn't want us to cut through our chains.... He wants us to cut through our feet."

Oh my God, the horror! Although I mostly dislike blood and gore in movies, I really like the Saw movies. They are well thought out and always have a nice plot twist at the ending.

The sequels in the Saw series are more about the booby traps but this one is really a psychological thriller which will stick to you for days after you watched it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDarkTyrantApr 7, 2016
The film- Saw is outstanding in terms of movie production and how the traps were set up. With the mystery and suspense in almost every scene, we could say Saw took the world by storm and gave us a little something that was different comparedThe film- Saw is outstanding in terms of movie production and how the traps were set up. With the mystery and suspense in almost every scene, we could say Saw took the world by storm and gave us a little something that was different compared to the other films. Tobin Bell is truly a wonderful actor, in fact, he was like my favorite actor in the Saw franchise. With his creepy-looking perspective in the film, we don't really know what he does or where he came from, yet we know one thing- He is a genius when it comes to setting up traps in a particular way, creating them in a certain fashion. That is what I love about his character! He speaks the truth in pretty much everything, teaches people the value and understanding of life, and he is just inspiring to an audience who wants to appreciate life in a specific way. His voice over Billy the Puppet truly is a masterpiece. Furthermore, I shall say this, Saw is much better of a franchise than the Jaws film production. Each and every Saw film I've seen not only grabbed my attention, but it made me anticipate what is going to happen next!!! Great film! I applaud James Wan and Leigh Whannell for their hard work and dedication to make an interesting horror film! I just love this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avamiller21May 12, 2016
This was intense. Watching it 8 years ago I didn't really appreciate how twisted this was.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-88b-Saw-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GamecubeLoverSep 3, 2016
Totally not the best but scary and a thrill from start to finish but the series will soon be milked for a while until it will finally end but the first is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UNARMED_JORDSep 13, 2016
a unique and extremely terrifying premise adds up to a thrill ride and a gore infested movie that will not be forgotten, a great villain and unlike most normal horror nowadays an edge of your seat thrill
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews