User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 426
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Saw is for me the best modern horror movie! It's interesting from start to finish, you can feel for the characters and it has a dark atmosphere. These things get unfortunately lost in the last sequels.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Great Movie! Ignore the reviews that say it sucks because they probably just couldn't handle this film! Getting sick of people that probably watched this movie for 30 minutes and give it a 2 because they in their pants...
    9/10 because of the amazing story and scary/thrilling moments
    PS: Also the sequels have a good story aswell
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    First in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completelyFirst in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completely wrong thing to call the film. The acting was not so great but the actor gave a fairly decent performance. If someone is afraid to see the movie because of the gore they think is in it. Go see this one. It lacks the gore and has a very well written story. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is one of the best franchise ever so much gore Spoiler Alert: when he cuts his foot off so he can escape Spoiler Alert: You find out how he escapes in Saw The Final Chapter I love the movies how Jigsaw grabs his victims and puts them in traps
    The Bit I hate is Spoiler Alert: The Detective Dies
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    SAW is a well-written, well-directed, well-acted, (GASP FOR MORE AIR), basically everything is good in this film. Saw is a great thriller film that has a fantastic ending. Loved it!
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I'm not a big fan of the genre but this time I was really impressed ... in a good way. The film is not based on torture (what will happen in the sequels) but is based on the psychology of the characters and the suspense without ever going into the ridiculous. A final effect really at and unexpected.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7 rating. What makes the critics in sooth?! Oh, yeah. Marlon Brando is not in it. Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    In this film, there are something that is not present in 99% of horror films – sense. In what sense? The idea is that why live if you live in the shuffle. Do not bring any benefit not just live. Acting is above all praise. All steeped in some despair, hopelessness, it makes worry about heroes.
  9. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This just goes to show that critics don't know crap. This is a great movie that kicked off a whole new wave of horror. How could you not like it? Well, I for one, loved it, and highly recommend it.
  10. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just can't understand why the critics hated this movie. it is a mystery thriller. some people might not like this movie because of its gore but i was blown away in the climax. i do not wish to spoil the story. but this movie definitely deserves a lot more than this score. i give it a perfect 10. Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making you shiver all over. I watched the last scene 5 times when I watched this movie. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE!!
  12. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I love the plot and Saw's unique concept of being an independent splatter film. It is no doubt the best torture porn film series of all. The acting is not magnificent, but still considerably acceptable. And some of scenes are quite memorable and worth watching if you are into gore and twist endings.
  13. JoeyV.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This movie is phenomenal, and one of the best of all time. The label of "torture porn" is way off, and I don't see at all why it is labeled as such. To me, this really isn't much of a horror movie, than a crime drama.
  14. GodzillaKK.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie to death..it was awsome and i would like to see it over and over again!!! It has even inspired me to write an story called PUNISHMENT my fave scene is the one with the big brace that was on that girls face.. it was actuall 10 x better that i expected the end is so twisted!!!!
  15. DanH.
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Best horror movie I've seen in a long time.
  16. TylerN.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable. The critics destroyed the image of such a great movie. It is, however, not for horror-buffs. You won't find very many scary scenes, but instead grisly riddles that are mindbinding. Definately suspensful. If you like Se7en, than this is definately your kind of movie.
  17. CraigW.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    This film is a geniouses idea! Shame about some of the flaws. I loved it from start till finished. Se7en came to mind though as i watched saw. Its clearly a wanna be movie. The directory had an amazing idea and the character seemed fine to me stop moaning critics!great films!
  18. IceCold
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  19. XS
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    This movie is one of the best horrors since Alfred Hitchcock. The excellence is contained in the absolute insane genius of the "Jigsaw Killer."
  20. IanS.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best horror's ever! It's just dark, scary and most of all tensive! People who not liked the movie don't like horror so why do you even vote?
  21. cordellbkr
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Can't wait for the sequel! (Octoboer 31st)
  22. Stan
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    If you liked the Fight Club, you will Love this movie.
  23. TC
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    This movie is in no way perfect but its exciting and most importantly fun to watch. if you love movies were they have you think this is a movie to watch especially the sequels. I can almost garantee that you will enjoy this movie if you love getting excited, disturb, and just plain out scared of what might happen next. I can't wait for Saw IV!
  24. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  25. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  26. BenushH.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    Definatly the best movie i watched all last year (2004) the script was good and the twist in the end was totally not expected a real WINNER in my books. i am really impressed by Wan's debut he will really have to come up with some thing above average to out do this movie as it will be a real challenge i will look forward to his next project :)
  27. Rachel
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Great film , im suprised it had such bad reviews, great twist at the end.
  28. Brian
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Very good Film!... thats all I have to say.
  29. JohnR.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Ridiculous movie. Keeps you in suspense throughout the entire film. This horror movie keeps you thinking and gets you connected to the actors. Eleven out of ten star for this great flick.
  30. JordanG
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    One of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Though it's not scary it's plot is outstanding and it's twists and sick gore is amazing. It's good because like if you've seen one Friday the 13th you've seen them all but Saw keeps you intersted in what will happen next.
  31. PabloR.
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Suffering? So dont leave the movie half-way and think you can review it badly....watch the whole thing Wooses! Expand
  32. LaraD.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    Great film! sicko of a killer but a great film.
  33. RobertD.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    The best horror/thriller ever. best ending in a film that i have seen.
  34. GerronK
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Horrifying. Original. Powerful. What more? The best horror film of the year!
  35. Ishii
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    There was not a dull moment in the film. I loved it.
  36. LaurenceH.
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    A gruesome mess of logic violence and terrific storyline. A must-see!
  37. MattO.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I don't know what Geoff was talking about. There is no possible way that you can figure out this ending, especially within the first five minutes. Good film that wasn't extremely scary but draws you in till the very end.
  38. BlueFalcon
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    This is one of the better horror movies that I've ever seen. And with no dumb cheesey moments - refreshing for the genera. It's exciting, scary, and got an original idea with plot twists. Really, it's everything you might hope for.
  39. Dreamsatl
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    One of the best psych films kept you guessing until the end you did it. The Doctor is lame but besides that great movie.
  40. Alex
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb, with a brilliant twist right at the end - gruesome horror done exactly how it should be.
  41. maxj
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    I got so gripped and so excited and intrested and scared and spooked and grossed out and that's good. Amanda is easily the best character design ever. and it's so flippin scary
  42. RicardoP.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Best Thriller ever... This movie puts the Ring and Identity to sleep...
  43. kharagh
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    The best thriller for quite a long time, wonderful twist.
  44. Ryencoke
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    The best Horror/Thriller flick i've ever seen.
  45. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest endings to a movie of all time. Rivals the sixth sense.
  46. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments.Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments. It wants to put the audience in the position of that two people who are locked in the bathroom The result is successful. A quality thriller which deserves the attention. And for the bad reviews? Screw them! Expand
  47. BeverlyB.
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    I Loved It. One of the best i have seen in a long time.
  48. NicoleB.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Excellent!! that movie kicks some serious ass!!! Leigh whannel did an great job at the acting...cary did too but the castinf director could have had someone way better but the movie rocks! its soo f**ked up!! whoa im buying that movie! Leigh Whannel is HoTT
  49. ilianam.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This movie was the best movie of all time! nothing compares!
  50. Terry
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Would you like a slice of genius? Watch Saw.
  51. EricK
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    A film that wraps up so perfectly that you may feel a shiver run down your back as the ending unfolds.
  52. RickyM.
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    A modern horror classic a "cut" above the rest.
  53. MariusS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Whoa, this really impressed me. A bit rough, but just right for a horror movie. One of the best ever.
  54. NoahF.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    The best horror movie in YEARS.
  55. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and the horror is great. This is a must see horror film.
  56. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Saw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. ThroughoutSaw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. Throughout the film you learn about how the two men are connected more than they thought, about their home lives and about the person who put them in that room to begin with, the Jigsaw killer.
    The story and considering how well shot the film is are the only thing to save it as the acting is pretty bad at the best of times but considering this was a fairly low budget film I can forgive. Saw is a must see for thriller/horror fans.
    Expand
  57. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    i do not understand why critics are hating saw , its fun a film its a classic with blood , crime and suspense. Its awesome saw is the top horror movie of the century thats why Saw needed a sequel the franchise needed to keep the franchise going without writer leigh whannell and director James Wan there would be No saw. Grade
  58. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    Saw is a 2004 American independent horror film directed by James Wan. This film is very interesting in my opinion. It is a classic style that brings many rhetorical questions over you.
  59. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    The 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong. The film is about two men (Adam and Dr Lawrence Gordon)who are stuck in a old bathroom chained to a pipe by their foot, there only way to escape is toThe 2004 motion picture directed by James Wan and written by his friend Leigh Whannel. The films stars Cary Elwes, Danny glover, Monica Porter and Leigh Whannel. The music is by Charlie clouser and the cinematography is by David A Armstrong. The film is about two men (Adam and Dr Lawrence Gordon)who are stuck in a old bathroom chained to a pipe by their foot, there only way to escape is to cut their foot off. Detective Tapp (Danny Glover) is on the case of the jigsaw killer who has put people in grisly traps where they must shed blood to save their life. The film has great tension from the opening shot and to the shocking twist at the end which will leave you wanting more. The music by Charlie Clouser is amazing and the cinematography is brilliant with the many wide shots and close up shots. The dialogue is good but the actor of Adam (Leigh Whannel) can be bad in some parts and sometimes the story has its plot holes which some if the sequels clear up. The film had a budget of 1.2 million dollars and made 103 million dollars. The production design by Julie Berghoff is superb because the grisly traps look brilliant especially the reverse bear trap. The traps are good and the misconception of the first film is that it is gory but it isn't you will see a shot of something gory it will cut straight to the persons face and gives more tension. The film is one of my favourite films because even though it has plot holes, it has a special place in my heart. I give this film 9/10. Expand
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Wan's tense, grisly cinematic morsel won't go down easy. But once it hits bottom, Saw is oddly satisfying, though the gag reflex never entirely goes away.
  2. Reviewed by: Heidi Martinuzzi
    90
    May be the best independent horror film to have come out since "The Blair Witch Project." It's certainly better than "Blair Witch", and more fun, more gruesome, and more macabre. In a very delightful way.
  3. 30
    Though dumber than a box of rocks, Saw forges ahead with the kind of conviction and energy that will keep bad-cinema junkies sitting bolt upright.