Saw

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 528 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 528

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Saw is for me the best modern horror movie! It's interesting from start to finish, you can feel for the characters and it has a dark atmosphere. These things get unfortunately lost in the last sequels.
  2. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    I love the Saw movies, and this by far the best film in the series overall. Although I think Saw II is more entertaining, and and better and more deaths, Saw, the original is still a classic, and paved the way for the infamy of Jigsaw, and the deaths in the movies. 8/10
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Great Movie! Ignore the reviews that say it sucks because they probably just couldn't handle this film! Getting sick of people that probably watched this movie for 30 minutes and give it a 2 because they in their pants...
    9/10 because of the amazing story and scary/thrilling moments
    PS: Also the sequels have a good story aswell
  4. SinanE.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    Dark and creepy. When you're going to sleep tonight, imagine waking up in the position of one of the characters, having to perform some terrible deed just to have a chance at survival.
  5. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    First in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completelyFirst in a long line of movies; Saw had an original Premise with a great story backing it. Jigsaw would never kill anyone but somehow make his "victims" do it themselves. Not so much a horror than it is a thriller or crime drama is this film because there really is nothing to be horrified of, just interested in. You never see anything gory happen at all so "Torture Porn" is a completely wrong thing to call the film. The acting was not so great but the actor gave a fairly decent performance. If someone is afraid to see the movie because of the gore they think is in it. Go see this one. It lacks the gore and has a very well written story. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is one of the best franchise ever so much gore Spoiler Alert: when he cuts his foot off so he can escape Spoiler Alert: You find out how he escapes in Saw The Final Chapter I love the movies how Jigsaw grabs his victims and puts them in traps
    The Bit I hate is Spoiler Alert: The Detective Dies
    Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    SAW is a well-written, well-directed, well-acted, (GASP FOR MORE AIR), basically everything is good in this film. Saw is a great thriller film that has a fantastic ending. Loved it!
  8. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    I'm not a big fan of the genre but this time I was really impressed ... in a good way. The film is not based on torture (what will happen in the sequels) but is based on the psychology of the characters and the suspense without ever going into the ridiculous. A final effect really at and unexpected.
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7I am a fan of various movie genres and Saw is the best ever made with the strongest twist which leads to a sarcastic laugh considering a rating of 4.6/10 from the critics! This is absolutely not right. Current IMDB user rating is 7.7/10 with above 180.000 ratings which does not quite comply with the "experts" of 4.6. A big gap in here. 265 critics 4.6 rating against 180.000 users 7.7 rating. What makes the critics in sooth?! Oh, yeah. Marlon Brando is not in it. Expand
  10. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saw is the perfect movie for hardcore horror fans who want to see a good gory film, because Saw has more gore than a pig slaughterhouse. Seriously, I mean there's always someone bleeding profusely at some point of this film! Yet another reason fans of the genre will be enamored with Saw.

    Besides surpassing the average genre fare, Saw is intelligent. Unlike the usual slasher or gory pic, Saw's story is, for the most part, logically sound, although I put "logically" very lightly. Obviously, it's not every day you wake up in a dirty abandoned bathroom chained to a pipe! For what the film was, it made relative sense. At least, it made more sense than most of the other horror flicks I've seen. The story was engaging, and very compelling. There were a few gaps in logic and minor plot holes, but that's pretty standard for any horror movie. The real logical person in that situation would either find a way out in the first 5 minutes or give up and find a way to kill themselves. But a 5 minute movie where the main character dies in the first 5 minutes wouldn't sell at the box office, would it? So the filmmakers have to suspend logic in some places to move the story along, something most critics don't understand. That doesn't make the movie bad, because believe me, if the mentioned critic saw the "5-minute Saw" I talked about before, he/she wouldn't complain about the real film at all.

    Moreover, Saw actually had pretty decent acting. The characters were well-rounded, and this movie was a good kick-starter for the career of Leigh Whannell. Cary Elwes, who I've seen in Twister, Princess Bride, and Robin Hood: Men In Tights, turned his usual goofy character into a serious, dramatic role as Doctor Lawrence Gordon. Desperateness loomed in his eyes the whole film, as he had no idea what was to happen to his wife and child being held captive by an unknown man he thinks is "The Jigsaw Killer". Danny Glover, who almost always dies in a movie, (It seems he's almost surpassed Leonardo DiCaprio in movie deaths!) takes on a detective role as Detective Tapp, obsessed with finding the Jigsaw Killer after Jigsaw kills Tapp's partner, played by Ken Leung.

    This film was a good watch, especially if you like horror films, and will leave a bad taste in your mouth. But that was the point!
    Expand
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    As rough-edged and unforgiving as the traps in it, Saw will get under your skin and holds the suspense like no other. It sets up the series well, but unfortunately none of the others live up to it.
  12. Oct 31, 2014
    10
    i do not understand why critics are hating saw , its fun a film its a classic with blood , crime and suspense. Its awesome saw is the top horror movie of the century thats why Saw needed a sequel the franchise needed to keep the franchise going without writer leigh whannell and director James Wan there would be No saw. Grade
  13. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    In this film, there are something that is not present in 99% of horror films – sense. In what sense? The idea is that why live if you live in the shuffle. Do not bring any benefit not just live. Acting is above all praise. All steeped in some despair, hopelessness, it makes worry about heroes.
  14. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This just goes to show that critics don't know crap. This is a great movie that kicked off a whole new wave of horror. How could you not like it? Well, I for one, loved it, and highly recommend it.
  15. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i just can't understand why the critics hated this movie. it is a mystery thriller. some people might not like this movie because of its gore but i was blown away in the climax. i do not wish to spoil the story. but this movie definitely deserves a lot more than this score. i give it a perfect 10. Expand
  16. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making you shiver all over. I watched the last scene 5 times when I watched this movie. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE!!
  17. ToddS
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    If you are into psychological horrors, this might be the movie for you.
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I love the plot and Saw's unique concept of being an independent splatter film. It is no doubt the best torture porn film series of all. The acting is not magnificent, but still considerably acceptable. And some of scenes are quite memorable and worth watching if you are into gore and twist endings.
  19. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest endings to a movie of all time. Rivals the sixth sense.
  20. JoeyV.
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    This movie is phenomenal, and one of the best of all time. The label of "torture porn" is way off, and I don't see at all why it is labeled as such. To me, this really isn't much of a horror movie, than a crime drama.
  21. Nov 14, 2010
    7
    Saw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in the later episodes of the movie series, this does not quite apply to the first of the long series of psychiatric thrillers. Of course, it would be a lie toSaw certainly has one of the best plots ever in a film. A common mistake made when Saw is the topic of discussion (I can't say that is very often) is that the gore is the main feature of the movie. While that does become quite true in the later episodes of the movie series, this does not quite apply to the first of the long series of psychiatric thrillers. Of course, it would be a lie to say there was no blood displayed in the film, some would say that there was a great deal of it, but it is the plot that would be remembered by any viewer. The low budget can be quite noticeable at times, however it is made up for with great directing and script, and a major twist that you won't forget. The only real problem with this is that you can watch a crime show on television anyday without having an hour and fourteen minutes, and chances are you will get better visual effects. Still, with that considered, it is a movie that is definitely worth watching. Expand
  22. GodzillaKK.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    I loved the movie to death..it was awsome and i would like to see it over and over again!!! It has even inspired me to write an story called PUNISHMENT my fave scene is the one with the big brace that was on that girls face.. it was actuall 10 x better that i expected the end is so twisted!!!!
  23. DanH.
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Best horror movie I've seen in a long time.
  24. TylerN.
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable. The critics destroyed the image of such a great movie. It is, however, not for horror-buffs. You won't find very many scary scenes, but instead grisly riddles that are mindbinding. Definately suspensful. If you like Se7en, than this is definately your kind of movie.
  25. TomM.
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] I like this movie. No it's not perfect but it was, to my thinking, unique. As mentioned there were some scenes that didn't make a lot of sense to me. I'd probably give it a 7.5 if I could but settled on the 8 because of how many incredibly disapointing experiences I've had at the theater over the past several months. *********** minor spoiler [***SPOILERS***] I like this movie. No it's not perfect but it was, to my thinking, unique. As mentioned there were some scenes that didn't make a lot of sense to me. I'd probably give it a 7.5 if I could but settled on the 8 because of how many incredibly disapointing experiences I've had at the theater over the past several months. *********** minor spoiler *********** I was not disturbed by the torture scene with the young girl but after the conclusion of the movie I was left wondering how exactly that scene even fits into the storyline. Cops running around without backup is just silly. This is especially true when you are going after a "Hannibal Lecter" type dude. Expand
  26. MikeD.
    Nov 20, 2004
    7
    Ok. This is a low budget horror film. That in itself shifts my entire rationale for its scoring. Had it been, say, a Miramax comedy, it'd get a 4. That said, this movie had some really really strong points for its genre. The plot was wickedly creative. I will see it again for this reason. The cinematography is very new, and should be applauded. On the other hand, the plot also had Ok. This is a low budget horror film. That in itself shifts my entire rationale for its scoring. Had it been, say, a Miramax comedy, it'd get a 4. That said, this movie had some really really strong points for its genre. The plot was wickedly creative. I will see it again for this reason. The cinematography is very new, and should be applauded. On the other hand, the plot also had more holes than I can count. But like I said before, its a low budget horror flick. Also, there is some extremely weak and laughable acting - but some shining acting as well. In the end, if you want to be disgusted, scared, suprised, thrilled and otherwise brought to the edge of your seat, than this movie'll do it for ya. If you're looking for high cinema, forget about it. But then again, why would you be looking for a horror movie anyway??? Expand
  27. CraigW.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    This film is a geniouses idea! Shame about some of the flaws. I loved it from start till finished. Se7en came to mind though as i watched saw. Its clearly a wanna be movie. The directory had an amazing idea and the character seemed fine to me stop moaning critics!great films!
  28. LewisC.
    Oct 27, 2004
    8
    I really enjoyed this, as a debut effort the director worked wonders with lighting. Performances aside this has a great twist i for one never SAW coming and made a trip to the cinema really worth it - beings i havent been in a very long time. Great stuff and definately the best suspence/horror ive seen this year, its going to be a cult classic.
  29. AdamL
    Oct 30, 2004
    7
    Hilarious! See this movie and you will be rolling on the floor , like most of the audience was when I saw it! Funnier than Scary Movie.
  30. IceCold
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  31. XS
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    This movie is one of the best horrors since Alfred Hitchcock. The excellence is contained in the absolute insane genius of the "Jigsaw Killer."
  32. IanS.
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best horror's ever! It's just dark, scary and most of all tensive! People who not liked the movie don't like horror so why do you even vote?
  33. cordellbkr
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Can't wait for the sequel! (Octoboer 31st)
  34. Stan
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    If you liked the Fight Club, you will Love this movie.
  35. TC
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    This movie is in no way perfect but its exciting and most importantly fun to watch. if you love movies were they have you think this is a movie to watch especially the sequels. I can almost garantee that you will enjoy this movie if you love getting excited, disturb, and just plain out scared of what might happen next. I can't wait for Saw IV!
  36. CorinnaW.
    Jan 3, 2007
    7
    Although it is not wonderfull..horror films rarely are and this is definately one of the best recently. This is probably due to the twists which are, suprisingly, unexpected and unpredictable. Full of gore and physically sickening..but you have to carry on watching. Appeals to the darker side of everyone.
  37. Riren
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really chased in Saw. It's gruesome soul is quite shocking, and its ending is one of the best (if bleakest) in modern horror. It would just be nice if we liked some of the characters before they were subjected to Jigsaw's mindgames (and bodygames), or if Jigsaw didn't preach at us quite so much - two problems the sequels neglected to fix. But for a stand-alone first picture, Saw is a stand out. Expand
  38. JacobH.
    Sep 28, 2007
    7
    Saw is a good movie. But is pretty boring.
  39. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  40. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  41. AnthonyF
    Oct 27, 2004
    7
    When I saw previews for this movie I was excited. It looked like it had everything that has been left out of horror movies in recent years. The movie had a lot going for it... and looked creepy as hell! I must sadly say that this movie falls short. Strangely enough the story to this horror movie is actually quite good, so it's got a one up on most scary movies. The acting seems a When I saw previews for this movie I was excited. It looked like it had everything that has been left out of horror movies in recent years. The movie had a lot going for it... and looked creepy as hell! I must sadly say that this movie falls short. Strangely enough the story to this horror movie is actually quite good, so it's got a one up on most scary movies. The acting seems a little flat. Cary Elwes seemed not interested in... well, anything. It's true he's suppose to be level headed but it comes off like he doesn't care (don't get me wrong, I like Cary. I mean have you seen Princess Bride?!). The editing... oh God the editing. How much, jerky fast motion can you use... and to rock music??? Are you kidding me? It's this a movie to mess with your mind or a crazy death metal music video? I do believe if they were to release a re-edited version that changed this then it would be MUCH higher but for as it is... It's a shame that this happened to a movie that had SOO much going for it. Expand
  42. BenushH.
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    Definatly the best movie i watched all last year (2004) the script was good and the twist in the end was totally not expected a real WINNER in my books. i am really impressed by Wan's debut he will really have to come up with some thing above average to out do this movie as it will be a real challenge i will look forward to his next project :)
  43. MarshallM.
    Oct 30, 2005
    8
    It was reallllly good, kinda reminded me of seven, definately not as good as "seven", i brought it down two notches because of the baaaad acting. and i mean baaaad. but other then that, it was really original.
  44. PeteR.
    Mar 12, 2005
    7
    This movie has been a punching bag for many critics this year, and I for onedisagree. I think that it is along the same lines as Seven, and although not with the same characterization and skillful writing, it is a deliciously filthy film that delivers shocks throughout, as well as a Shalaman-style ending that will leave you reeling and replaying the film over in your mind. Believe me. This movie has been a punching bag for many critics this year, and I for onedisagree. I think that it is along the same lines as Seven, and although not with the same characterization and skillful writing, it is a deliciously filthy film that delivers shocks throughout, as well as a Shalaman-style ending that will leave you reeling and replaying the film over in your mind. Believe me. It's not even a quarter as bad as some seem to think it is. Expand
  45. Rachel
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    Great film , im suprised it had such bad reviews, great twist at the end.
  46. Robert
    Mar 14, 2005
    7
    This movie certainly wasn't perfect, but as a clever thriller with an excellent idea behind it, it wasn't half bad. First of all, anyone who says that this movie is "funny" is pretty sick: I don't recall seeing a funny moment in this movie, nor does anyone who I know that saw it. Second, while the plot points that were pointed out by those who criticized this movie were This movie certainly wasn't perfect, but as a clever thriller with an excellent idea behind it, it wasn't half bad. First of all, anyone who says that this movie is "funny" is pretty sick: I don't recall seeing a funny moment in this movie, nor does anyone who I know that saw it. Second, while the plot points that were pointed out by those who criticized this movie were valid (I too noticed the lack of sawing through the lock/pipes, the woman not shooting her captor, the police not shooting the machine), they didn't ruin the movie to the point where it is not worth watching. Overall, an extremely interesting and watchable, though quite disturbing, film. Expand
  47. Brian
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    Very good Film!... thats all I have to say.
  48. JohnR.
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Ridiculous movie. Keeps you in suspense throughout the entire film. This horror movie keeps you thinking and gets you connected to the actors. Eleven out of ten star for this great flick.
  49. JordanG
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    One of the best horror movies i've ever seen. Though it's not scary it's plot is outstanding and it's twists and sick gore is amazing. It's good because like if you've seen one Friday the 13th you've seen them all but Saw keeps you intersted in what will happen next.
  50. PabloR.
    Oct 28, 2006
    9
    Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Better then the others (not saying the others were bad). But who ever thinks this movie is not good, then they need to get hit with a bat 3 times in the head... cause they obviously dont see the genius plot and i must admit it was kinda queezy, and later on in the movie you get to like watching ppl die in awesome ways. C'mon who doesnt like Mortal Kombat? Grand Theft Auto? The Suffering? So dont leave the movie half-way and think you can review it badly....watch the whole thing Wooses! Expand
  51. JasonS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    Great story and music. In the same vein as seven.
  52. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    Saw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, that leaves a lot of mystery and some disappointment due to the lack of character actors . My final opinion is that it is a good horror movie, but it was notSaw has earned a place in the best horror movies, but I do not think the movie had a way is beyond. Traps are good and I hit a lot of psycho intelligence John Kramer, but does not give you 10 for one reason: the end was not very well, that leaves a lot of mystery and some disappointment due to the lack of character actors . My final opinion is that it is a good horror movie, but it was not what I expected: talent. Expand
  53. JeffM.
    Aug 7, 2006
    7
    Unexceptional, but worth seeing for the intensity it brings from the opening scene and never stops bringing.
  54. LaraD.
    Nov 2, 2004
    9
    Great film! sicko of a killer but a great film.
  55. RobertD.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    The best horror/thriller ever. best ending in a film that i have seen.
  56. GerronK
    Oct 25, 2004
    9
    Horrifying. Original. Powerful. What more? The best horror film of the year!
  57. Ishii
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    There was not a dull moment in the film. I loved it.
  58. C.B.
    Oct 24, 2005
    7
    A solid thriller. Unique twist.
  59. LaurenceH.
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    A gruesome mess of logic violence and terrific storyline. A must-see!
  60. MattO.
    Feb 17, 2005
    10
    I don't know what Geoff was talking about. There is no possible way that you can figure out this ending, especially within the first five minutes. Good film that wasn't extremely scary but draws you in till the very end.
  61. BlueFalcon
    Feb 20, 2005
    9
    This is one of the better horror movies that I've ever seen. And with no dumb cheesey moments - refreshing for the genera. It's exciting, scary, and got an original idea with plot twists. Really, it's everything you might hope for.
  62. Dreamsatl
    Feb 23, 2005
    10
    One of the best psych films kept you guessing until the end you did it. The Doctor is lame but besides that great movie.
  63. Alex
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb, with a brilliant twist right at the end - gruesome horror done exactly how it should be.
  64. SpiderA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    A well made thriller, good for horror fans. A bit overacted at times, but a good waste of an hour and a half. People should check out the superior sequels as well.
  65. maxj
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    I got so gripped and so excited and intrested and scared and spooked and grossed out and that's good. Amanda is easily the best character design ever. and it's so flippin scary
  66. RicardoP.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Best Thriller ever... This movie puts the Ring and Identity to sleep...
  67. MarcD.
    Nov 11, 2004
    8
    A strong horror movie with a fascinating killer. The best slasher movie to come along in a while. My fave new serial killer since Dr Lecter.
  68. ZacharyT.
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    Much much better than seven, just because of the fact that it is much much more creative, the affects are amazing, and for such a low low budget it was made extremaly well i loved it it was a great movie im sure alot wont agree but i frankly dont give a s... about what they think, i liked it.
  69. MichaelC.
    Nov 6, 2004
    7
    I thought this one was pretty good, but could've been a lot better. The main problem was continuity; the events unravel in an odd manor...
  70. NickB.
    Nov 13, 2005
    7
    I saw Saw 2 before i saw this one...still understood the story without seeing the first one...but even with Saw 1's crappy acting and bad dialouge it still has its scary moments and really sets the movie up for the much better sequel.
  71. kharagh
    Oct 26, 2005
    10
    The best thriller for quite a long time, wonderful twist.
  72. Ryencoke
    Feb 14, 2005
    10
    The best Horror/Thriller flick i've ever seen.
  73. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    One of the most original horror films to come out in a long time and its actually good. Saw gives us something no horror film has ever given us before and I loved it. While the acting is solid and far from perfect, It is still an enjoyable film.
  74. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    Criticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in Saw you actually see relatively little, and it rarely feels like the two protagonists (Leigh Whannell and Cary Elwes) are being put through extreme tormentCriticised for being morally bereft and for starting the "torture porn" horror movie craze though the Saw series is, this first instalment has far more to it than you might immediately realise. While it's notorious for extreme gore, in Saw you actually see relatively little, and it rarely feels like the two protagonists (Leigh Whannell and Cary Elwes) are being put through extreme torment for the sake of it - everything that happens to them is necessary for moving the plot along. Unlike the sequels, Saw really isn't a gruesome horror film, but is actually closer to an incredibly dark crime thriller. The Jigsaw Killer (Tobin Bell) rightly deserves his place in the movie villain hall of fame - he has a terrifying screen presence despite being only a disembodied voice for the majority of the film, and his character, a psychotic vigilante driven by a twisted moral code is far more layered and entertaining than the average film murderer. James Wan and Leigh Whannell's story is deceptively simple, but through several clever and unexpected plot twist and some fairly explicit political subtext, the narrative becomes memorable. Saw also offers you one of the most brilliant and shocking final scenes in film history, something none of the inferior sequels even came close to replicating. The set pieces are also far more effective and terrifying than any we see in subsequent instalments, chiefly due to the fact that they are kept strikingly simple, and the schizophrenic editing hides the goriest visuals, allowing your own imagination to fill in the blanks, which is always a reliable tool to fall back on in horror. The first act of the film is a little slow, and I will concede that the film's underlying message, if there really is one, about the failures of the American justice system and worldwide moral decline, is approached in a rather heavy-handed manner by the filmmakers. The biggest crime the film commits, though, is that it spawned so many underwhelming sequels. Still, in this first chapter of an increasingly tired and formulaic franchise packs a real punch thanks to some good writing, taught and tense plotting and an abundance of energy. Many compare the film unfavourably to Seven, but despite the undeniable similarities in plot, I'd take the stripped-back, far less pretentious Saw over David Fincher's over-compensatory effort any day. Expand
  75. Dec 4, 2011
    8
    Solid cast, Very interesting, and it ends in a way that you never see coming. Saw is easily the best horror film in the 2000s so far and is one of the greatest of all time. Only problem is it didnt look as good as it could have (yes I know it was made on a small budget)
  76. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    I truly don't care that the metacritic score is 46, this movie will go down as a classic in the horror genre. It was a breath of fresh air in a genre that relies on remakes of it's heyday. The twists and turns at the end make for a truly amazing thriller/horror/torture flick.
  77. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments.Saw is a great thriller about Jigsaw who is a person who puts some missions to some people to show them the meaning of life. The first saw is a disturbing thriller about two people who are locked in a bathroom and they try to get out. It has mystery and suspense and an ending that thrills the audience. It has some scary moments but saw doesn't want to scare the audience with Boo moments. It wants to put the audience in the position of that two people who are locked in the bathroom The result is successful. A quality thriller which deserves the attention. And for the bad reviews? Screw them! Expand
  78. Sep 4, 2014
    8
    "Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like "High Tension" or "Martyrs", but "Saw" is still a very morbid and gritty little movie. The acting isn't the best, but the cinematography is great."Saw" is a very grisly, brutal, intense, and unpredictable film. It's a lot more psychologically terrifying than physical. This film is said to be insanely gory, but it's really not. There's very little gore in comparison to other films like "High Tension" or "Martyrs", but "Saw" is still a very morbid and gritty little movie. The acting isn't the best, but the cinematography is great. "Saw" is a lot more like a crime-thriller than a horror film, so if you like crime-style movies, I definitely recommend this. Expand
  79. CleatusT
    Mar 13, 2005
    8
    I'm gonna tell all you haters why i think this is one of the best horror movies to come out since the ring. and first of all i'll give you a disclaimer at why horror moives should get a pass on plot loopholes. first of all the only movie of the genre that i can ever remember not having any rediculous plot loopholes is the exorcist. which i admit to this day is still the crowningI'm gonna tell all you haters why i think this is one of the best horror movies to come out since the ring. and first of all i'll give you a disclaimer at why horror moives should get a pass on plot loopholes. first of all the only movie of the genre that i can ever remember not having any rediculous plot loopholes is the exorcist. which i admit to this day is still the crowning jewel of the horror genre. but besides that movie and maybe a handful of others that i have admittedly most likely not seen. there are NOT very many horror movies that have points in the plot that can be logically explained. however, this movie i believe has 3 outstanding aspects that make it a very good horror movie. 1. The atmosphere in this movie rival anything i've seen since probably panic room, which wasnt technically a horror movie. 2. Discarding the last 20-30 minutes of the movie where i admit there are some of the worst acted moments of 2004 the scenes with cary elwes and that other dude in the bathroom are among the most captavating that i've seen this year. 3. The ending. i havent seen a movie this year that has left me wondering how the situation would be resolved more than in this movie. while some may consider this to be a ploy just to wet peoples appetites for the sequel , i see it as a break from the convential mold of horror movies ending on a clear note. theres no reason for a horror movie to end on a resolving note, why should a movie of an atypical event that nearly everyone believes could never happen to them end on a note that allows everyone to live happily ever after. like life it isnt perfect but in a time of nearly nausating horror movies i believe this is a fantastic breath of fresh air. Expand
  80. ichithekiller
    Feb 18, 2005
    8
    This film is seriously f...ed up. thats why i like ti. the film is pretty basic but the plot succeds in making direct links to jigsaw and his abductees. the movie stirs your mind but at points can lose it at times. the ending was brilliant an not at all expected. the best horror movie of last year along with dawn of the dead and switchblade romance. the only thing that let it down was the This film is seriously f...ed up. thats why i like ti. the film is pretty basic but the plot succeds in making direct links to jigsaw and his abductees. the movie stirs your mind but at points can lose it at times. the ending was brilliant an not at all expected. the best horror movie of last year along with dawn of the dead and switchblade romance. the only thing that let it down was the acting. it makes keanu reeves performance in matrix reloaded/revolutions oscar-worthy. but all i nall, a solid horror movie that will not fail to please. Expand
  81. BeverlyB.
    Feb 22, 2005
    9
    I Loved It. One of the best i have seen in a long time.
  82. NicoleB.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Excellent!! that movie kicks some serious ass!!! Leigh whannel did an great job at the acting...cary did too but the castinf director could have had someone way better but the movie rocks! its soo f**ked up!! whoa im buying that movie! Leigh Whannel is HoTT
  83. ilianam.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This movie was the best movie of all time! nothing compares!
  84. Terry
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Would you like a slice of genius? Watch Saw.
  85. AB
    Aug 26, 2007
    8
    "Saw" is not one of the greatest achievements in the history of film, but it is one of the most intriguing horror movies produced in years. Its interesting story and surprising twists produce an engaging, though not scary, experience that is found all to rarely in modern film.
  86. EricK
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    A film that wraps up so perfectly that you may feel a shiver run down your back as the ending unfolds.
  87. DM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. The best actor doesn't really "act" for the whole movie, and the gore jumps the limit between scary and funny/annoying. But horror is a dying Considering the limited resources for this film (and the fact that it was supposed to be a low-budget straight-to-DVD movie), they really showed that a decent story can pull any bad film out of the water. Of course, there are the bad sides. The best actor doesn't really "act" for the whole movie, and the gore jumps the limit between scary and funny/annoying. But horror is a dying genre, and it's been a while since there has a film with such a neat thriller ending. Expand
  88. RickyM.
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    A modern horror classic a "cut" above the rest.
  89. BobbyJ.
    Nov 16, 2004
    7
    This movie was one of the better movies I've seen in awhile, it does have a few dissapointing parts, but the the ending is excellent. Unfortunatly its not really a movie your gonna wanna watch over and over again, but if you enjoy psycho games and blood, than this movie is one you will certainly enjoy.
  90. MariusS.
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    Whoa, this really impressed me. A bit rough, but just right for a horror movie. One of the best ever.
  91. GeorgeN.
    Nov 22, 2004
    7
    I thought everything had already been done in this genre until I saw this one. This is one of those rare movies that attempts (and largely succeeds) in putting it's viewers though a similar experience as it's charactors. Somewhat like Memento in this way. Yes it's derivative (7even) and implausable (The Game) but also offers a fairly unique experience if you can handle the gore.
  92. NoahF.
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    The best horror movie in YEARS.
  93. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    Two men wake up to find they're chained to pipes either side of a room without really knowing why. Clues are slowly revealed as they are part of some sadistic "game".
    Second time I've seen it & it's still a decent horror film. Clever in parts but some of the acting is pretty bad.
    And Cary Elwes will always be Wesley in the Princess Bride for me.
  94. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    its a good they didn't use the word *torture porn*. as a matter of fact, this movie may not be excellent, but its just so perfect. a killer that doesn't kill people so he just create some traps and watches people die when they go into them. thats pretty clever. thats why this movie is a phenomenal.
  95. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and the horror is great. This is a must see horror film.
  96. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Saw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. ThroughoutSaw is a thriller at its finest...sort of. Though the film is essentially a horror film it has nothing to scare you with unless you have a fear of blood and manky bathrooms. The story of saw is simple, 2 men wake in a small dilapidated bathroom chained to the wall with a dead man in between them. One must kill the other before time runs out or both them and their families die. Throughout the film you learn about how the two men are connected more than they thought, about their home lives and about the person who put them in that room to begin with, the Jigsaw killer.
    The story and considering how well shot the film is are the only thing to save it as the acting is pretty bad at the best of times but considering this was a fairly low budget film I can forgive. Saw is a must see for thriller/horror fans.
    Expand
  97. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Not sure how this one gets such a low rating. It was the best out of the Saw movies and a thriller-especially in this genre. I liked the fact I didn't know what was going to happen next and the original content of the horror (sort of speak). Kinda corny though at times, I can admit. But I can still watch this flick to this day and be entertained.
  98. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    This movie is **** gross!, it is **** bloody and all that **** I mean it is a great movie with a good plot and if you hate on it then your a **** I LOVE THIS **** MOVIE!
  99. May 3, 2013
    8
    This film is definite to beat any upcoming torture films. This film has the depth of most movies and is really compelling making you want to watch it even if their is about 1 hr 32 minutes of brutal gore. But this movie still beats the Blair Witch Project without a question.
  100. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    A very good horror/psychological thriller. There were a few bits and pieces which didn't make a lot of sense. What happened to Lawrence?? As a whole an enjoyable film, with some really intense scenes. Don't watch before you go to sleep!`
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. Wan's tense, grisly cinematic morsel won't go down easy. But once it hits bottom, Saw is oddly satisfying, though the gag reflex never entirely goes away.
  2. 90
    May be the best independent horror film to have come out since "The Blair Witch Project." It's certainly better than "Blair Witch", and more fun, more gruesome, and more macabre. In a very delightful way.
  3. 30
    Though dumber than a box of rocks, Saw forges ahead with the kind of conviction and energy that will keep bad-cinema junkies sitting bolt upright.