Saw

Saw Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Obsessed with teaching his victims the value of life, a deranged, sadistic serial killer is abducting morally wayward people and forcing them to play horrific games for their own survival. Faced with impossible choices, each victim must struggle to win back his/her life, or else die trying.Obsessed with teaching his victims the value of life, a deranged, sadistic serial killer is abducting morally wayward people and forcing them to play horrific games for their own survival. Faced with impossible choices, each victim must struggle to win back his/her life, or else die trying. (Lions Gate Films) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 10 out of 32
  1. 90
    May be the best independent horror film to have come out since "The Blair Witch Project." It's certainly better than "Blair Witch", and more fun, more gruesome, and more macabre. In a very delightful way.
  2. 75
    Saw is for hard-gore horror aficionados only.
  3. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    70
    Less a classical narrative than an ingenious machine for inducing terror, rage, and paralyzing unease.
  4. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    50
    Spoiled by its own insatiable desire for envelope-pushing flair; it’s wider-scoped when it should be intimate, splashy instead of subtle, icky but not scary.
  5. Wan's debut feature is a twisted, squirm-inducingly nasty bit of work, which isn't a criticism because that's exactly what he and cowriter Leigh Whannell had in mind.
  6. 30
    Though dumber than a box of rocks, Saw forges ahead with the kind of conviction and energy that will keep bad-cinema junkies sitting bolt upright.
  7. 20
    Sicko horror film from Australia, whose sadism is topped only by its absurdity.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 174
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    This movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making youThis movie mentally abuses you and un till it makes you scream like a little child because of it's never suspected plot..it's making you shiver all over. I watched the last scene 5 times when I watched this movie. ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES EVER MADE!! Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and theI think its easily one of the greatest and original horror films of all time. It features a very interesting plot, the acting is good, and the horror is great. This is a must see horror film. Expand
  3. TonyB.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I I'm not sure what to think of all these reviews. Perhaps I'm too willing to suspend my disbelief and enjoy a good movie. I personally really liked Saw. It's a dark movie, dense in it's mood much like Seven. I liked it because it made you experience what was happening rather than telling you so much. You wake up in a dark room with the characters. You know about as much as the characters do. personally I thought the acting was well done. All the character flaws were there for a purpose. If you're looking for a good thriller, go see this movie. Let go of your uber-analytical mind and have some fun. Expand
  4. NickB.
    Nov 13, 2005
    7
    I saw Saw 2 before i saw this one...still understood the story without seeing the first one...but even with Saw 1's crappy acting and I saw Saw 2 before i saw this one...still understood the story without seeing the first one...but even with Saw 1's crappy acting and bad dialouge it still has its scary moments and really sets the movie up for the much better sequel. Expand
  5. Riren
    Mar 6, 2007
    7
    Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an Saw figures most horror-goers don't care about characters, and so it leaps straight to doing inhumane things to them. It's an interesting inversion of the slasher movie; where Jason or Myers have teens running in terror, pursuing with some deadly weapon, here almost every character is trapped and subjected to some awful game. In fact, the killer is the only one who is really chased in Saw. It's gruesome soul is quite shocking, and its ending is one of the best (if bleakest) in modern horror. It would just be nice if we liked some of the characters before they were subjected to Jigsaw's mindgames (and bodygames), or if Jigsaw didn't preach at us quite so much - two problems the sequels neglected to fix. But for a stand-alone first picture, Saw is a stand out. Expand
  6. EddieD
    Sep 21, 2008
    5
    No Saw movie can be a Saw movie unless you include the rest of the series. Very clever movie, but many weak spots and bad acting. But I will No Saw movie can be a Saw movie unless you include the rest of the series. Very clever movie, but many weak spots and bad acting. But I will admit that I was into this series for a while. But one day I opened my eyes, and said "What the fcuk am I doing??" Expand
  7. zach
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    Stupid pointless and sickening eben though all th Saw movies have awesome endings.

See all 174 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 10, 2012
    This week, watch the first trailers for "The Amazing Spider-Man," "Bourne Legacy," and more, view extended versions of the trailers you saw during the Super Bowl, and get a concise recap of the week's movie news.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.