Scary Movie 5

Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A couple begin to experience paranormal activity after bringing their newborn son home from the hospital. With the help of surveillance cameras and various experts, they learn they're being stalked by a nefarious demon, but in a funny way. This is the Scary Movie franchise after all.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 12, 2013
    30
    Marlon Wayans’s satire “A Haunted House” got to “Paranormal” first, and for a much smaller budget delivered bigger laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Apr 12, 2013
    25
    Somehow, it actually looks cheaper than "Paranormal Activity." It's less funny, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 15, 2013
    25
    Not that there’s all manner of comedy craftsmanship demanding study here, but the movie does seem to be a funny jumble of contradictory impulses.
  4. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 13, 2013
    20
    Lacking a single honest laugh, this is shoddy by comparison with the other Scary Movie sequels… which throws it in a pit with Transylmania, Breaking Wind and Stan Helsing.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 14, 2013
    10
    If you think three months is an impossible amount of time to write and produce a feature film, well, it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Scary Movie 5 is so massively un-enjoyable, a hate crime against cinema, a ringing indictment of the depths commercialism will go to in search of the lowest common denominator.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 13, 2013
    0
    Lazy, boring, vile and tragically unfunny attempt at a horror-film spoof.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 104
  2. Negative: 70 out of 104
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Where's bear grylls?
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    7
    I thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughsI thought this was going to be really bad and i think if it was a longer movie i would have got tired of it but there were a few good laughs and with it being a short movie it did not have time to get on my nerves its worth a watch but don't expect to much and you will be ok. Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is okay, but not as funny as the previous installments I always liked the first, because of how it separated itself from traditional comedies, but this movie goes in the ranks of 'Vampires Suck' and 'Movie 43'...just clones of what was funny. In my opinion, go see 'A haunted house', they beat 'Scary Movie' to the punch with the 'Paranormal Activity' theme and it has that Marlon Waynes charm. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    1
    Why are there five of these stink bombs? I can't believe the same guy who made the very funny Airplane continues to make such horribleWhy are there five of these stink bombs? I can't believe the same guy who made the very funny Airplane continues to make such horrible decisions. The only positive is that the movie is only an hour. Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    Got stuck watching this movie because another theater was leaking.

    Walked out 30 minutes in. You wanna know what's funny? This series
    Got stuck watching this movie because another theater was leaking.

    Walked out 30 minutes in.

    You wanna know what's funny? This series has made over 800 MILLION DOLLARS worldwide and is on track to make 1 billion.

    We're the punchline.
    Expand
  6. May 17, 2013
    0
    The movie is the worst that I've seen .
    It can't be like that. The franchise "Scary Movie" should end. This is one of those films that you
    The movie is the worst that I've seen .
    It can't be like that. The franchise "Scary Movie" should end. This is one of those films that you have want to get out of the cinema during the session. It's HORRIBLE.
    Expand
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    0
    So many "comedy geniuses" have gotten to "Paranormal" way before this film. Scary Movie stopped being entertaining when they decided to make aSo many "comedy geniuses" have gotten to "Paranormal" way before this film. Scary Movie stopped being entertaining when they decided to make a 3rd one, then a 4th one. And now with this 5th one, I'm sitting here literally saying Eff this. I can't believe I wasted money on this. Anybody who thought this was even remotely entertaining, have terrible taste in movies. Only C-List and below were in this movie. And fan boys, sorry to break it to you, Lindsey Lohan and Charlie Sheen don't even approach the B-List. Sucks. That's all I have to say. It sucks terribly. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.