Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 315 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: A couple begin to experience paranormal activity after bringing their newborn son home from the hospital. With the help of surveillance cameras and various experts, they learn they're being stalked by a nefarious demon, but in a funny way. This is the Scary Movie franchise after all.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Apr 12, 2013
    30
    Marlon Wayans’s satire “A Haunted House” got to “Paranormal” first, and for a much smaller budget delivered bigger laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Apr 12, 2013
    25
    Somehow, it actually looks cheaper than "Paranormal Activity." It's less funny, too.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 15, 2013
    25
    Not that there’s all manner of comedy craftsmanship demanding study here, but the movie does seem to be a funny jumble of contradictory impulses.
  4. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 13, 2013
    20
    Lacking a single honest laugh, this is shoddy by comparison with the other Scary Movie sequels… which throws it in a pit with Transylmania, Breaking Wind and Stan Helsing.
  5. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Apr 14, 2013
    10
    If you think three months is an impossible amount of time to write and produce a feature film, well, it is.
  6. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Apr 13, 2013
    5
    Scary Movie 5 is so massively un-enjoyable, a hate crime against cinema, a ringing indictment of the depths commercialism will go to in search of the lowest common denominator.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Apr 13, 2013
    0
    Lazy, boring, vile and tragically unfunny attempt at a horror-film spoof.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 101
  2. Negative: 68 out of 101
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Where's bear grylls?
  2. May 5, 2013
    7
    Once you accept this is mostly slapstick comedy, it turns out to be really funny. I found myself laughing hard many times, cause the jokesOnce you accept this is mostly slapstick comedy, it turns out to be really funny. I found myself laughing hard many times, cause the jokes where ridiculously funny and beyond the usual border of taste. I liked "haunted house" too, but there were too few jokes. Scary Movie is trying to be funny every 10 seconds and i think it delivers every second or third joke... and many of them are really badass. It´s not the best out of the franchise, but i´ll rate it a 7.
    i understand why most people don´t like it. your humor must be far advanced to get this one.
    Collapse
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    5
    First off, let me just say that it's almost like re-watching "A Haunted House." Which is kind of weird, but I'm not going to say that it'sFirst off, let me just say that it's almost like re-watching "A Haunted House." Which is kind of weird, but I'm not going to say that it's terrible, but it wasn't one of the best in the series either. This one didn't really impress me like Scary Movies 1 and 3. But it wasn't as bad as the second one. I say it's kind of at a tie with the 4th Scary Movie. The movie struggles to keep us entertained with it's cheesy humorous spoofs on movies like "Paranormal Activity" and even "Inception". It has its humorous moments, but still, the humor lacks the cheesiness from Scary Movie 1 and 3. Plus, there was some bad acting from Ashley Tisdale, Ben Cornish and surprisingly, Simon Rex. Puls, the Charlie Sheen and Lindsey Lohan scene wasn't as funny as I thought it would be. Overall, it has its moments, but still lacks the good quality humor that I was looking for. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    2
    A sad excuse for a movie. As far as I am concerned, the series is dead. Except for a couple of ridiculous scenes that actually managed to makeA sad excuse for a movie. As far as I am concerned, the series is dead. Except for a couple of ridiculous scenes that actually managed to make me laugh, this is an embarrassment to cinema. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    1
    Why are there five of these stink bombs? I can't believe the same guy who made the very funny Airplane continues to make such horribleWhy are there five of these stink bombs? I can't believe the same guy who made the very funny Airplane continues to make such horrible decisions. The only positive is that the movie is only an hour. Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    0
    This is the last time I will ever see a parody in theaters. I really like the Scary Movie films, but after 2 it kinda gets a few stepThis is the last time I will ever see a parody in theaters. I really like the Scary Movie films, but after 2 it kinda gets a few step backwards. But this one KILLED everything. Both Scary Movie and parodies in theaters all together. Anyway you look at it, it is horrendously awful. The jokes were more painful than funny, I wish I left the theater before it ended. If you like these type of films, trust me, you don't want to watch this. Also, for those who defend this film and say "You people are too stupid to be entertained by good humor." So if we're stupid for hating this movie, then you are RETARDED for loving it. I've seen parodies that are so much better like Spaceballs, Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Young Frankenstein, Airplane, Naked Gun, even the first Scary Movie is better than this piece of sh*t. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    Absolutely awful, I went with some friends and 2 fell asleep, that's how bad this movie was. I can't think of a single good thing to say aboutAbsolutely awful, I went with some friends and 2 fell asleep, that's how bad this movie was. I can't think of a single good thing to say about it. It's about time that the Scary Movie franchise was brought to an end as it will only get worse.

    Once again, the film has no plot, like most spoof films of this kind. Terrible acting and cameos from Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan, amongst others make the film more unbearable.

    I'm warning you, don't watch this film, you can't have the time back you wasted watching it.
    Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.