Scoop

Scoop Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring:
  • Summary: In Woody Allen's new contemporary comedy, an American journalism student (Johansson) visiting friends in London happens upon the scoop of a lifetime. Along the investigative trail, she finds magic, murder, mystery - and perhaps love, with a British aristocrat (Jackman). (Focus Features)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. 83
    The film is a pleasure that doesn't rank with Allen's best but satisfies far more than most American comedies.
  2. 75
    No more than a beguiling trifle. But in the dog days of summer, it's a perk to wallow in inspired silliness.
  3. 70
    It's the kind of small pleasure that can make you feel intensely grateful.
  4. 50
    Rather than providing flashes of one-of-a-kind humor, Allen has reached the point where his critical and movie-going fans are humoring him.
  5. To see Allen, now 70, trying to reclaim the persona he's been handing off is like watching Willie Mays fall down trying to hit a slow curve during his last season. Woody may go on to direct many great films, but it's time for him to retire Alvy Singer.
  6. 40
    So flat, dull, and off form that it seems to have been conceived in a fog. It not only lacks the verve and energy of Allen's best New York–based work, it feels culturally adrift, like some bewildered tourist trying to read a city map held upside down.
  7. Allen is wretched. It is no kind of pleasure to say so, especially with the memory of the good things he has done; but here he simply plunks front and center the fact that he cannot act and never could.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Fantasy
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    The Woody Allen bashers will continue ad nauseum forever so you must discount their opinion as it lacks any and all merit. As for Scoop it The Woody Allen bashers will continue ad nauseum forever so you must discount their opinion as it lacks any and all merit. As for Scoop it was quite enjoyable despite some of the negative reviews. Woody Allen played well Woody Allen as his old neurotic self to the max. The movie was adeptly written and acted without any one actor receiving more attention than the others. To tell the truth it was quite good. As for the naysayers get over the Woody bashing already as he is one of the most talented men on the planet. Kudo's to all. Expand
  2. SashaT.
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    A delightful comedy, in the style of Allen's "Manhatten Murder Mystery". Johansson shines, giving this film an added boost!
  3. JonathanA.
    Nov 7, 2006
    8
    This one was hilarious. Then again, you won't enjoy it if you don't "GET" Woody Allen (which a lot of people do not). I "get" him This one was hilarious. Then again, you won't enjoy it if you don't "GET" Woody Allen (which a lot of people do not). I "get" him (and it's not just about being obsessed with his films) and I found this one to be really funny and yet kind of dumb in a few spots. I think Scarlett Johansson is really talented (not to mention HOT) but she didn't work in this film. Her lines were delivered awkward and it really seemed like she was straining. Woody, on the other hand, was absolutely hilarious. I honestly believe he has not been this laugh-out-loud funny with one-liners and slapstick since 'Love and Death'. He was a complete breath of fresh air from the other actors he has cast in his films where they essentially try to play Woody. It had great cinematography and incredible music (but that's to be expected). So to summarize: one of his funniest films in years, though it loses points for Scarlett's weak performance. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    Widely considered to be one of Woody Allen's worst films to date. I completely disagree. Scoop is a fresh addition to the murder mysteryWidely considered to be one of Woody Allen's worst films to date. I completely disagree. Scoop is a fresh addition to the murder mystery genre. It's suspenseful and comedic when necessary. Expand
  5. MickH.
    Aug 5, 2006
    7
    This is as pleasant as a milk shake or an egg cream from the old neighborhood. If you don't like Woodly's shtick, you won't This is as pleasant as a milk shake or an egg cream from the old neighborhood. If you don't like Woodly's shtick, you won't have much patience for it. It does not have much to SAY and it is not bold or adventurous, but it is aimiable and sympathetic. A light summer film in which some of the older Allen's themes about death are presented in a nonthreatening way. It does not have to be believable it is fun. Expand
  6. MegW.
    Aug 2, 2006
    6
    A light frothy Allen confection, much like his early features. Not too deep, but a decent way to spend a hot summer afternoon. Fine for A light frothy Allen confection, much like his early features. Not too deep, but a decent way to spend a hot summer afternoon. Fine for slightly younger viewers-took my fifteen year old daughter and didn't have to avert the eyes once- a good introduction to his niche. Lots of expected one liners, easy to get without pushing oneself on the references. Expand
  7. DannyR.
    Nov 27, 2006
    0
    I used to be a HUGE Woody fan. And I get Woody. But it saddens me to say that this is by far Woody's worst movie of all time. There were I used to be a HUGE Woody fan. And I get Woody. But it saddens me to say that this is by far Woody's worst movie of all time. There were massive plot holes in the script. The acting was terrible and worst of all so was the writing which is Woody's hallmark. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.