Scream 4

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 386 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 386

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    To start, I am a massive "Scream" trilogy fan, but my thought in going in was that "the franchise has had it's time and this is completely new, a new trilogy". The film rewrites the rules of the first trilogy, and one of the most evident changes comes in the opening scene, in which 2 characters, 1 male, 1 female are killed. This scene will be seen as either boring and long-winded, orTo start, I am a massive "Scream" trilogy fan, but my thought in going in was that "the franchise has had it's time and this is completely new, a new trilogy". The film rewrites the rules of the first trilogy, and one of the most evident changes comes in the opening scene, in which 2 characters, 1 male, 1 female are killed. This scene will be seen as either boring and long-winded, or completely genius; my belief being the latter. It excited me and shocked me, without ever leaving the viewer lost, and in it's last moments (while giving a violent nod to a famous death from the 1st film) becomes the most violent and aggressive pre-title scene from all 4 films. Following a couple of misleading "jumps" and a little exposition, with the original 3 survivors positions all being developed quickly and efficiently, it isn't long before the film delves into the "who's next?" pace. With the standard "CiCi/Candy" kill being presented, in this movie as a more intelligent, brutal killing (and a particularly active Sidney Prescott facing off with 'Ghostface'), the movie already feels very different to it's predecessors. The kills are creative, quick and in heavy supply, and the list of suspects is soon whittled down, leading to the most shocking, well-acted, and at times hilarious conclusion that leads the viewer asking "When is Scream 5 coming out?".
    The overall game is still same, but the rules are so different that this movie is the most dramatic of the lot. Roll on 5.
    Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    Hey Wes Craven I give you an applause for bringing the franchise back to form and earning its good reputation back again with solid scares, skilled kills, and laughs. Too bad it did bad at the box-office you could start another trilogy. I give this movie 71%.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This is how it has gone in the series:

    Scream; this set the standard & was brilliantly devised with the plot, & characters. 10/10 Scream 2; not as good as the original, but still extremely fun & ejoyable. 9/10 Scream 3; it has creative kills & an interesting twist, but is full of plot holes. 8/10 Then there's Scream 4, which easily beats out the the other sequels & is back to
    This is how it has gone in the series:

    Scream; this set the standard & was brilliantly devised with the plot, & characters. 10/10
    Scream 2; not as good as the original, but still extremely fun & ejoyable. 9/10
    Scream 3; it has creative kills & an interesting twist, but is full of plot holes. 8/10

    Then there's Scream 4, which easily beats out the the other sequels & is back to the standard of the original. A great new cast & a very interesting ending (won't give anything away, but WOW!) Easily one of the best movies of the year.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    I was really quite surprised at how much I liked Scream 4 - I was honestly expecting another Scream 3, or worse. The franchise is probably never going to equal the heights of the first installment again, but miraculously, it still remains a hugely enjoyable series. Wes Craven thankfully got the three main players back again (four if you count Roger L. Jackson). Neve Campbell's SidneyI was really quite surprised at how much I liked Scream 4 - I was honestly expecting another Scream 3, or worse. The franchise is probably never going to equal the heights of the first installment again, but miraculously, it still remains a hugely enjoyable series. Wes Craven thankfully got the three main players back again (four if you count Roger L. Jackson). Neve Campbell's Sidney Prescott still makes a likeable protagonist (even if you wonder why, after all she's been through, she doesn't arm herself at all times) and David Arquette's Sherriff Dewey and Courtney Cox's Gale Weathers are still entertaining. The cast of young newcomers including Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere and Rory Culkin all serve their purpose, either by dying horribly or as potential Ghostface suspects. So it's business as usual in Wes Craven's Scream world, and while the plot's a little too predictable, some of the self-referential winks to the audience a little smug and annoying, and the run-time a bit lengthy, the film's energy and Kevin Willaimson's sharp script keeps you entertained throughout (bucket-loads of blood and some good jokes don't hurt either). So it's not as good as the original (something the film itself even amusingly points out at one point), but I struggle to think of many (if any) other fourth films in a franchise that are this decent, and that still have something to say. Horror films, after all, have evolved (or devolved, depending on your perspective) over the last decade, with handheld horror mockumentaries, torture-porn and the seemingly endless procession of remakes giving Craven an Williamson ample ammunition for affectionate parody. Scream 4 is a much more satisfying conclusion to the series than its underwhelming predecessor, but unfortunately, Hollywood being what it is, I doubt Ghostface is gone for good... Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    When it was first released in 1996, the original 'Scream' was an intelligent, and fun horror film that gave the slasher genre a big boost of much needed energy. 'Scream 2' was an entertaining sequel that cleverly built upon what the original film started. 'Scream 3', although not as bad as some people say, was admittedly a bit of a let down. So after more than 10 years of horror filmsWhen it was first released in 1996, the original 'Scream' was an intelligent, and fun horror film that gave the slasher genre a big boost of much needed energy. 'Scream 2' was an entertaining sequel that cleverly built upon what the original film started. 'Scream 3', although not as bad as some people say, was admittedly a bit of a let down. So after more than 10 years of horror films in between, we have 'Scream 4', ready to dissect and poke fun at recent horror films (and the state of the horror genre in general) once again, and it turns out, it's pretty good! If you thought this series couldn't get any more self-aware, you were very, very wrong. 'Scream 4' is a hall of mirrors to the horror genre. It is arguable that this film is self-aware to a fault (with constant references not just to other horror movies, but to past 'Scream' films as well). And this time around the comedy is turned up a few notches, which does take away a bit from some of the bloodshed. But, if taken with a small grain of salt, this can still be a fun movie. So enough about the cons, and onto the pros. Although not as good as 'Scream', 'Scream 4' is about on par with 'Scream 2', and is admittedly an improvement over 'Scream 3'. For starters, it has a decent amount of fresh faces to liven things up (Hayden Penattiere and Rory Culkin are two standouts). Like before, the characters in the film all speak with clever, self-aware dialogue. There are also a few reasonably suspenseful set pieces, and the who will get it next/whodunit angle still works well enough to keep you guessing throughout the film. If these movies are not your thing, I would be surprised if this one changed your mind. But if you do enjoy the 'Scream' films for what they are (entertaining and suspenseful horror-comedies), then give 'Scream 4' a try. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Scream 4 recaptures the tone and intent of the first film in this franchise perfectly. All the major players are back and boy, are they in for the ride of their lives! Go see this if you love a good scary movie, but check out the original three films first, if you can. A real fanboy (and fangirl) treat here! Careful, the theater is dark. Better take a friend to keep you company. PlopScream 4 recaptures the tone and intent of the first film in this franchise perfectly. All the major players are back and boy, are they in for the ride of their lives! Go see this if you love a good scary movie, but check out the original three films first, if you can. A real fanboy (and fangirl) treat here! Careful, the theater is dark. Better take a friend to keep you company. Plop down full price on this one, and be proud. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    Its true, its not particularly scary. Once you've made enough sequels, it kind of loses its effect. However, this is definitely an entertaining movie. I laughed out loud a number of times, and unlike a lot of horror films, it wasn't unintentional. Was also great from a nostalgia point of view. Would definitely recommend to fans of the series. For those disappointed with Scream 3, youIts true, its not particularly scary. Once you've made enough sequels, it kind of loses its effect. However, this is definitely an entertaining movie. I laughed out loud a number of times, and unlike a lot of horror films, it wasn't unintentional. Was also great from a nostalgia point of view. Would definitely recommend to fans of the series. For those disappointed with Scream 3, you could quite easily ignore that movie and pretend this was the real Scream 3. Expand
  8. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    I'm a HUGE Scream fan. Scream 2 has always been my favorite for some reason. I think at this point it's purely nostalgic. For some reason as a kid I was obsessed with these movies, which is strange, I know. Any way, long story short, if you like the original trilogy, you'll like this one. Better than Scream 3 by far! Probably the most gory Scream movie yet and in my opinion, although noneI'm a HUGE Scream fan. Scream 2 has always been my favorite for some reason. I think at this point it's purely nostalgic. For some reason as a kid I was obsessed with these movies, which is strange, I know. Any way, long story short, if you like the original trilogy, you'll like this one. Better than Scream 3 by far! Probably the most gory Scream movie yet and in my opinion, although none of them are all that scary, this is probably the scariest. Check it out! Expand
  9. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was excellent! It was clever, scary, and the acting was great especially Emma Roberts and Hayden P. What was unusual was how it definitely beat out the 3rd movie right off the bat. Worth to watch.
  10. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    I have to say, I was impressed with this little reboot. I was eager to see it, but was not expecting much, boy did it surprise me. I don't think they could have done better at trying to bring the franchise back, I would almost say I like this better than the first movie, maybe not as good but I still really liked it. It was entertaining and had some good twists and the ending was veryI have to say, I was impressed with this little reboot. I was eager to see it, but was not expecting much, boy did it surprise me. I don't think they could have done better at trying to bring the franchise back, I would almost say I like this better than the first movie, maybe not as good but I still really liked it. It was entertaining and had some good twists and the ending was very pleasing. I couldn't have ask for more from this movie. If your a fan of the franchise i would suggest giving this one a shot, just remember its not the original! its still a sequel and will never have the cult following of the original, but it is still a great installment and it will be added to my movie collection the day it is released on dvd. Expand
  11. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    is the best film in the Scream series, because the deaths are more real, the picture quality is better than the other three and also has more positive than anything else. Emma Roberts and to complete ta fantastic in this movie
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Who could forget the first time Drew Barrymore met her end after being hunted down by ghost face in the original scream film some 15 years ago. Its been a decade since scream underwhelmed everybody with its lacklustre third instalment and with a fourth on the way I was sceptical about how the fourth would go and how it would affect the introduction to the review I would to write about it.Who could forget the first time Drew Barrymore met her end after being hunted down by ghost face in the original scream film some 15 years ago. Its been a decade since scream underwhelmed everybody with its lacklustre third instalment and with a fourth on the way I was sceptical about how the fourth would go and how it would affect the introduction to the review I would to write about it.

    In my second paragraph, I can now write about how much I enjoyed the film and how I can now use my summary in that Scream 4 (or Scre4m)was "great fun and I was pleasantly surprised". I can't begin to tell you how true this statement is, the plot manages to weave a tidy little knot of a mystery that comes to a surprising and comical climax. The body count is large, making killings in this instalment come thick and fast. Though with a reduced age rating, scream 4 is far more gruesome than the previous threesome and a lot more in keeping with the current horror movie gore fest. To finish off the second paragraph of my review I will conclude that Scream manages to stick to its guns, but modernise itself not unlike the remakes it satirises.

    Paragraph 3 contains scenes of critical nature. Now the film is paced very well, however there are a lot of characters to get through. And despite its self aware nature the two-dimensional characters are so underplayed that its hard to feel much for them as they quickly get stabbed to death. The only characters you feel much dread for is Gale, Dewey and Sidney as familiar faces that you don't want to meet there bloody doom,however the new cast have so little characterisation that you really couldn't care less if their stabbed to death and left to dry on their parents lawns. The film also wasn't as scary as the original and despite the "kids" knowing the rules of the horror movie they were starring in they all seem to go outside to investigate a strange noise when they know they're all being hunted by a killer. Whether this is done on purpose, as to mock other horror films is a possibility, but to be honest it would make the film a lot less predictable if they didn't make there predecessors mistakes.

    So my conclusion is gonna be as sharp and concise as a horror movie should be. Scream 4 is entertaining, funny and thrilling. And one of the last lines of one of the survivors is bloody great.
    Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    Highly anticipated new slasher by Master Wes Craven. Lots of gore and an intriguing case of the murders. As always we seem not to know who the murderer is up to the end of the movie. Obviously, there's nothing in the movie we can't expect, nevertheless this is just a two-hour-long thrilling journey with Neve Campbell in the leading role. Looking forward to the next episode. Good 8 from me!
  14. Jan 15, 2012
    8
    I was a bit hesitant in seeing this movie, because of the typical downfall of horror films that just keeping making more movies when it should have stopped way sooner, such as Saw, or Final Destination. But this movie surprised me. As always, and I won't spoil anything, the killer or killers at the end were totally unexpected. Courtney Cox and David Arquette were great in their parts, butI was a bit hesitant in seeing this movie, because of the typical downfall of horror films that just keeping making more movies when it should have stopped way sooner, such as Saw, or Final Destination. But this movie surprised me. As always, and I won't spoil anything, the killer or killers at the end were totally unexpected. Courtney Cox and David Arquette were great in their parts, but then again, they always are. Emma Roberts blindsided me. I had no idea her acting abilities were to that standard, as I always remembered her from 'Unfabulous' or 'Hotel for Dogs'. She really played her part magnificently. The movie was every bit as good as the first three, or maybe even better. Expand
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A great sequel-remake, Scre4m or Scream 4 is really awesome, the intro, jaja is very funny, Emma Roberts, David Arquette, Courteney Cow and Neve Campbell are awesome. This is a great example of sequel.
  16. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The best movie of the saga.
  17. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    From the giddily familiar image of â
  18. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I definitely have to say..speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films that 11 yrs later in Scream 4...i was definitely thoroughly entertained. It was an amazing opening and ending that still has me thinking WOW! I highly recommend this to any horror fan and any fan of the first 3 films...way to go Kevin Williamson and Wes Craven...cant wait for Scream 5 and 6!
  19. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I Loved the first Scream and the second one, not sure about the Third one but this is a Perfect Sequel! it wraps up everything in the Past and brings new Elements to the formula. Im not so Happy about this being a new Set of Sequels because this one Ended really Good!
  20. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    It's a damned fun movie. Had a little something for everyone - jump-out-of-your-skin moments, fresh commentary on other horror movies and social media obsession, classic characters from the series, and not one, not two, but three opening "phone" sequences. In my immediate vicinity, there were no less than 4 people hiding their eyes throughout the film, which is always a good sign.It's a damned fun movie. Had a little something for everyone - jump-out-of-your-skin moments, fresh commentary on other horror movies and social media obsession, classic characters from the series, and not one, not two, but three opening "phone" sequences. In my immediate vicinity, there were no less than 4 people hiding their eyes throughout the film, which is always a good sign. Probably the best cast of any Scream film - no offense to Jamie Kennedy. Expand
  21. May 8, 2011
    9
    Wes Craven proves his genius once again, with this excellent "reboot" of the Scream series. This is an excellent slasher movie. It doesn't try to innovate, it incorporates clichés found in over three decades of horror movies and updates them for 2011. Not a 10 obviously, but it will give you a couple of good scares while also making you laugh.
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Scream 4 is a welcome return to the franchise, reuniting old favorites with Ghostface, who is targeting unsuspecting victims in a mad ploy to get to survivor Sydney Prescott. The plot is pretty solid with a few blatant winks to the first film. The acting is mostly stellar (some hamming-it-up moments detract from the impact of the film in some instances) and the gore does not disapoint.Scream 4 is a welcome return to the franchise, reuniting old favorites with Ghostface, who is targeting unsuspecting victims in a mad ploy to get to survivor Sydney Prescott. The plot is pretty solid with a few blatant winks to the first film. The acting is mostly stellar (some hamming-it-up moments detract from the impact of the film in some instances) and the gore does not disapoint. Where does the film go wrong? Well, the opening sequence, in trying to be spectacular, kind of falls flat and turns out to be the weakest opening yet. It tries to take a stab at the ridiculous franchises out there that seem to fall apart as a new installment hits but doesn't take itself seriously enough in the moment, thus rendering it more of a Scary Movie type spoof than an actual slasher flick shocker. Still, the film delivers in thrills. And the pop culture references serve as a fun interlude to all the killing. Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best horror movies, comedies and horror mixed in a way unsurpassed. A great script, great performances. No more words, a great movie without taking nor by.
  24. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    A wonderful exciting movie that took me by surprise. It was so creative and adaptive to this time period and the best Scream yet. I really hope there is another one. It was scary and funny which makes it stand out.
  25. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    WOW! Scream 4 was just another masterpiece of Craven. Wes Craven, and Kevin Williamson prove once again that they are a strong team, and that the horror/comedy genre isn't dead, yet. Scream 4 is full of laughs, scares, and suspense!!!! I loved it!
  26. May 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was amassing it was the best scream installment yet and I really hope they make more because they get better and better. But the one thing i didn't like is you never find out what happend to her dad
  27. Dec 1, 2013
    7
    Funny, meta, and for once actually unpredictable, Scream 4, in my opinion, actually outdoes the original. However, it's still hindered greatly by the fact that it's the fourth in the series, and the fact that horror movies have been satirized and spoofed for well over a decade now doesn't help it out much either. There were parts of it that I actually laughed out loud at, and other partsFunny, meta, and for once actually unpredictable, Scream 4, in my opinion, actually outdoes the original. However, it's still hindered greatly by the fact that it's the fourth in the series, and the fact that horror movies have been satirized and spoofed for well over a decade now doesn't help it out much either. There were parts of it that I actually laughed out loud at, and other parts where it actually got me nervous. It wasn't terrifying, but I can live with that. My main complaint is that it takes itself too seriously. It too often just feels like another horror film. Craven directs it confidently, but couldn't he give it a little more style, or make it a little bit more of a spoof? 4 movies in I wish the series would stop trying to mix actual horror with the laughs. I'm not saying to make it like the Scary Movie series, but I feel that a lighter tone would have helped it out. Still, I'm hard pressed to try and recommend any other slasher film over it. I had a decent time with it, but not a great one. Expand
  28. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I remember seeing this opening night, which I'm happy to say was actually my best theatrical experience I've ever had. Within the first seven minutes the film brings meta-humor and self-deprecation to a new level, pointing out all of the supposed flaws that anyone could complain about and opening addresses itself with, "It's been done to death... Stick a fork in 1996 already." The dialogueI remember seeing this opening night, which I'm happy to say was actually my best theatrical experience I've ever had. Within the first seven minutes the film brings meta-humor and self-deprecation to a new level, pointing out all of the supposed flaws that anyone could complain about and opening addresses itself with, "It's been done to death... Stick a fork in 1996 already." The dialogue is witty and acerbic the entire time and all feels fresh and modern, which in itself is a huge accomplishment. Characters are completely believable as teens and the acting is actually great, specifically Hayden Panettiere who plays my favorite character: a dry, sardonic and sexy closeted film geek. The brilliantly orchestrated final act discusses modern society's obsession with technology and easy-found fame and the identity of the killer surprised me to no end; even being a die hard fan of the franchise and a cinephile, I didn't guess anything correctly. There are SO many red herrings that make you contemplate if something is too obvious, who was doing what when, and makes you double check yourself in regards to reverse psychology of believing who the killer is. The best part is that all but one of the cliches and tropes that are utilized for satire are subverted and/or openly acknowledged. The script justifies a character's seemingly stupid actions or flips it outright. Everything is shot well with good use of lighting as well as a good orchestral score and the directing is good (pay attention to the increasing corniness of the opening scene). It's actually the best of the series, better than the first with very clever kills and witty satire regarding torture porn, found footage genre films, modern horror, remakes and reboots. And yes, it scared the crap out of me. 9.5/10, incredible, two thumbs up, etc. Expand
  29. Apr 16, 2011
    7
    Although scary in a less haunting way than the first 'Scream' (which actually had you scared to fall asleep in case GhostFace came for you), 'Scream 4' manages to keep fans on the edge of their seat by using meta humour, shocking twists, and even a couple of genuine scares, both of which make up for the lack of emotion present and over-the-top body count.
  30. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    Before I watch the movie, I thought it was going to be so bad, because the 3rd movie wasn't so good as the 1st too, and by this time, it gave me the sensation this would be even worse. There are so many movies like this today, that I simply thought they couldn't innovate.
    I was definitely wrong. The movie doesn't try to scare, it kind of jokes of itself and other movies in this genre, so
    Before I watch the movie, I thought it was going to be so bad, because the 3rd movie wasn't so good as the 1st too, and by this time, it gave me the sensation this would be even worse. There are so many movies like this today, that I simply thought they couldn't innovate.
    I was definitely wrong. The movie doesn't try to scare, it kind of jokes of itself and other movies in this genre, so it gets interesting. I laughed so much with Kirby and Gale, and there are epic one-liners.
    And even better, ghostface identity was unpredictable, unlike the first 3 movies (except 2, I wasn't expecting one of the killers in it).
    Expand
  31. Apr 16, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. The first half, I had mixed opinions since it was all the new characters and no actual action, but once things started to bounce in, I loved it. I also didn't expect the killer(s) to be who they were. Overall great movie and it definitely has revived the series!
  32. Apr 23, 2011
    8
    Scream 4's awkward pacing in the middle and some sometimes bad dialogue are very small prices to pay for a good movie. A clever script, a consistent cast, and the ways that Wes Craven refreshens the franchise are satisfying. Whether you think that this is better than the original Scream or not, it is the best since the original and is definitely worth checking out.
  33. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    Never watched the trilogy before (it's new trilogy by the way).Clever kills although the suspense reduce along with duration, but let's forget that and another minus, I love the dialogues, satire, so funny, entertaining overall.
  34. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    I went to see the film yesterday, expecting to see a Scream movie. And do you know what I saw? A Scream movie. A damn good one at that. This movie does what a slasher horror film is supposed to do, make you scared, make you laugh, shock you, and give you a great plot. If your debating seeing this film, do not for a second longer. GO NOW!
  35. May 3, 2011
    8
    FINALLY!! A horror movie that does not blow. If you want to see a movie that will scare you to death, then this is not the movie you want. But this movie does provide the scares, the laughs, and makes you think also. It is the smartest horror movie i've ever seen. It catches all the modern cliches of horror movies. It brings the same genius writing that was in the first and secondFINALLY!! A horror movie that does not blow. If you want to see a movie that will scare you to death, then this is not the movie you want. But this movie does provide the scares, the laughs, and makes you think also. It is the smartest horror movie i've ever seen. It catches all the modern cliches of horror movies. It brings the same genius writing that was in the first and second installment. The acting was god, and believable. With a great ensemble cast, Legendary director, and a horror savy writer, this movie tops the list of must sees. Expand
  36. May 9, 2011
    7
    So 11 years on after the 'SCREAM' franchise was seemingly brought to a close Wes Craven is back with a fourth instalment of the horror series with the return of the original protagonists as well as a new generation of characters. This time around its a "new generation" so "new rules." As always theres a few cameos in the opening sequences and Scre4m is no different, and this one isSo 11 years on after the 'SCREAM' franchise was seemingly brought to a close Wes Craven is back with a fourth instalment of the horror series with the return of the original protagonists as well as a new generation of characters. This time around its a "new generation" so "new rules." As always theres a few cameos in the opening sequences and Scre4m is no different, and this one is actually a pleasant surprise. And this makes a returning Sidney Prescott a murder suspect as she is returning to Woodsboro on the anniversary of the orginal murders to promote her new book. Before long the Ghostface killer goes on the murder path and the bodycount rises. As a fan of the original trilogy I was concerned that Scream 4 was nother more than a cash stunt but im glad to say its not the case. It's true it's not the scariest film, far from it but it does have some great, typical Scream moments and surprising certain parts are genuinely funny. Without spoiling the ending all I can say is I was really satisfied with the finale to Scream 4 and completely bought the motives of the killer which I suppose was a bit of a surprise given the circumstances. If it is to be the start of a new series of films then the signs look pretty good because it is a promising start to a new trilogy. As always the performances of the original cast are ever reliable with Neve Campbell is good as always as the victimised Sydney, David Arquette is funny as Sheriff Duey and Courtney Cox is fantastic as the minipulative Gail Winters who is suffering from writers black and not to be forgotten Hayden Panettiere who is awesome as the sexy-horror geek Kirby! In conclusion Scream 4 is a promising start if it is to kickstart a new set of movies and it bodes well for future outings but it's nothing to to fans of the horror genre and newcomers might struggle to understand all the fuss as it does nothing to raise the bar but nonetheless is immensly enjoyable and a worthwile watch. Expand
  37. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    Scream 4 had many suspenseful scenes and had some really funny moments and remarks. This film was not scary but I don't think it was trying to be. In my opinion it was the best scream film yet, the 1st one would be 2nd of the series. I really enjoyed this film and the bonus is that Hayden Panetierre blessed us with her appearance in this film.
  38. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    Very Entertaining. I was shocked when i saw a fourth was coming out after 11 years. But i couldn't resist to watch it. This movie was awesome. It wasn't trying to scare you, it was trying to entertain you. Which it did greatly with a hilarious opening, and a great ending. A shocking twist at the end which definitely catches everyone off guard. I lost faith in Wes Craven with 'My Soul ToVery Entertaining. I was shocked when i saw a fourth was coming out after 11 years. But i couldn't resist to watch it. This movie was awesome. It wasn't trying to scare you, it was trying to entertain you. Which it did greatly with a hilarious opening, and a great ending. A shocking twist at the end which definitely catches everyone off guard. I lost faith in Wes Craven with 'My Soul To Take', which was garbage. But Scream 4 won't get anywhere near the garbage can. Expand
  39. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    I first went in the theater expecting to see a half @ss remake , oh boy how wrong i was.. The first hour of the movie was setting all for the ending.. the killing , the story with sidney and her family, and then everything when crazy. The last 30 min where like mind blowing.. even though i love scary movies not in a million years was i expecting what happen at the end. Overall a reallyI first went in the theater expecting to see a half @ss remake , oh boy how wrong i was.. The first hour of the movie was setting all for the ending.. the killing , the story with sidney and her family, and then everything when crazy. The last 30 min where like mind blowing.. even though i love scary movies not in a million years was i expecting what happen at the end. Overall a really entertaining movie, and it is worth the ticket .. i would go to see it again!!!.. Expand
  40. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 was definitely forth the wait. It had that old twist from Scream 1 for the old generation and the new twist for the new generation. So this was well thought out. It is a well rounded movie for the family to go and see. i think the parent and kids will be talking about this movie for months. I would recommend to anyone who just wants to sit down and watch a good movie not just horror fans.
  41. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    This movie was decent although I did not think it would ever end with the plot twists. It was entertaining but it pretty much sticks to the Scream formula and there isn't any new ideas here but the writer and director knows what works and the film is above average because of that. Wes Craven is very good at these kind of movies and I look foward to seeing the upcoming Scream sequels (ifThis movie was decent although I did not think it would ever end with the plot twists. It was entertaining but it pretty much sticks to the Scream formula and there isn't any new ideas here but the writer and director knows what works and the film is above average because of that. Wes Craven is very good at these kind of movies and I look foward to seeing the upcoming Scream sequels (if there are any) Expand
  42. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films Scream 4 was just as good as the first i thought it was amazing with a ending that surpassed all the other movies
  43. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 is a very good movie, both as part of the franchise, and as a standalone. It also stands as a good slasher flick. In my opinion nothing was overdone in the film. The script and plot where very inventive, and will keep you guessing until the end. I will admit, I feared that SCREAM 4 was just another cheap cash-in. What Williamson and Craven did here was impressive and ingenious.Scream 4 is a very good movie, both as part of the franchise, and as a standalone. It also stands as a good slasher flick. In my opinion nothing was overdone in the film. The script and plot where very inventive, and will keep you guessing until the end. I will admit, I feared that SCREAM 4 was just another cheap cash-in. What Williamson and Craven did here was impressive and ingenious. Some rare moments in the film were even mind-blowing! The cast is great and the film is hugely entertaining. Needless to say. Definetly 10 out of 10!!!! Expand
  44. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, if you want to have fun at the movies, you should see this movie! It is both, funny and scary. It may not be perfect, but it is the best movie theaters have at the moment.
  45. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 is the horror movie i have ever seen.
  46. Mar 5, 2016
    8
    Scream 4 is a return to form for the Scream franchise that provides more of the humour and the thrills that made the original 1996 film as memorable as it is
  47. May 14, 2011
    7
    I was completely blown away by the ending. Wes Craven has redeemed his name after the garbage that he put out in October, My Soul To Take. Easily that was his worst film in his long career. But Scream 4 redeems his name and its addition to the Scream franchise. The film paints many people as suspects and i was able to call who one of the killers was but the 2nd killer was what blew me away
  48. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    Kevin Williamson's crazy arguments and Wes Craven's auto-parody make the highest fun from 2011 until now: The perfect remix of 1996's Scream and the perfect satire around the teenager horror genre. There is a lot of narrative problems too, as some exaggerations in the bloody joke and self-references, but it really takes the saga from the almost below ground. Just don't get so serious, andKevin Williamson's crazy arguments and Wes Craven's auto-parody make the highest fun from 2011 until now: The perfect remix of 1996's Scream and the perfect satire around the teenager horror genre. There is a lot of narrative problems too, as some exaggerations in the bloody joke and self-references, but it really takes the saga from the almost below ground. Just don't get so serious, and you will be surprised. Expand
  49. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    SCRE4M is a step up from its predecessor but it isn't as grand as the 1st and 2nd entry in this series. Theres blood and gore but like its passed on-traditional style, its also self-referential and has a comical outlook on horror cliches.and one liner puns. Still, I had a bloody good time! Its really nice to see the three back in action even though they don't have enough screen time.
  50. Sep 3, 2011
    7
    Scream 4 is a fun, modern horror movie that seems much more comfortable with the tone of the franchise than its two predecessors.
    Read my full review at: http://themuddoctor.blogspot.com
  51. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 flies past Scream 3 as a better film. Seeing Neve on the big screen again was an absolute pleasure. It is by far the funnest Horror Movie I've seen in a long time. Was great to see a horror movie use its brain and not rely on blood spurts, hacked body limbs and torture porn. While it's not a solid 10, it's way up there. But Scream 1 and 2 still reign supreme
  52. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    I have been praying for a year that this film would be good. Or should I say, whenever my love of the scream trilogy and my knowledge of #4 coincided. Well, I loved it.

    Acting/characters: Well, it had the cast that we all know and love. Plus some additional members like Rory Culkin. The acting was almost as good as it was in the original two for me. Well, at least it was once it all got
    I have been praying for a year that this film would be good. Or should I say, whenever my love of the scream trilogy and my knowledge of #4 coincided. Well, I loved it.



    Acting/characters: Well, it had the cast that we all know and love. Plus some additional members like Rory Culkin. The acting was almost as good as it was in the original two for me. Well, at least it was once it all got going. The start of the film went a little too slow and wasn't as well done as the rest of the film but once it got going I highly enjoyed it. The big three lacked a little of the original charm that they all had in the first one, but I still enjoyed their characters. The rest of them were okay. You could kind of tell who was going to get it and when but that's an unavoidable part of the slasher genre. Nothing you can do about that. Unfortunately, they still kind of went for Ken and Barbie with a lot of the characters. But, I wasn't incredibly distracted by that once it all got going. 8/10


    Plot: It had what the third one didn't and what the first two nailed: satire. I really loved the satirical elements of the film overall. Like I said earlier, the whole thing had a slow, not very well done start, (past the first 10 minutes or so) but it's kind of the ending that counts because that's what you remember. It had some good jumps in there but it didn't completely rely on them like so many other slashers of the Third Age. But it did very well in satirizing the giant remake and reboot craze that is going on. Well done there. But it was kind of predictable at moments. But like I said, it's nearly impossible to make the whole thing a surprise with a genre like this. But it did well for me overall. 8/10


    Screenplay: Like most slashers, this was the weakest part. I did not like some of the lines that Wes Craven put in there. But it wasn't all completely horrible. It just started out that way. I suppose that once the action got going I didn't really care what they were saying because I was engrossed in who Ghostface would butcher next and how. It was overall good and fit with the story nicely. Not perfect though. It needed some tuning. 7.5/10


    Likableness: If I had the money, I would go out and see this one again. And again. I loved it. I had a grand time watching this one and while it wasn't quite what the first one was, I would put it roughly on the same level that the second one achieved for me. I had a blast. Good thing I went through that modern slasher phase of my slasher marathon or I wouldn't have gotten a lot of the jokes and references that they made. Of course, there are still a lot of references to the good old original ones. I will buy this film as soon as I can. I really loved it. 9/10


    Final Score: 32.5/40 81% (N)



    TRIVIA TIME: 1. Scout Taylor-Compton and Shane Dawson auditioned for roles in the movie.

    2. At a table read on June 25, 2010, the actors were told to stop reading at page 75 to prevent those already cast in the film from knowing the climax.

    3. With four installments, this landmarks the Scream franchise as being one of the only horror franchises to have its main characters return for all its sequels.
    Expand
  53. Oct 29, 2011
    8
    i loved this film. all i will say if your a scream fan i highly recommend this addition to the series. Oh and wes craven is back to prime form as is kevin williamson
  54. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    Scream 4 was a huge surprise. Sure, there was all the hype, but I never thought it would pay off. It definitely did, 100%. Well, that's what I thought when I saw it in theatres. Upon the second viewing, Scream 4's flaws are more noticeable, such as a bit of predictability and a few disappointing moments. However, the pros are all there: The characters are all distinct and interesting, theScream 4 was a huge surprise. Sure, there was all the hype, but I never thought it would pay off. It definitely did, 100%. Well, that's what I thought when I saw it in theatres. Upon the second viewing, Scream 4's flaws are more noticeable, such as a bit of predictability and a few disappointing moments. However, the pros are all there: The characters are all distinct and interesting, the film actually has suspense and tension, and it was just a bloody good time. It's the perfect film for the Halloween season. Expand
  55. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the opening of the movie was great, creative, and kind of funny. and i really like the whole story, it's pretty predictable, but still shocking. i love the idea of "usually, in a movie, what will happen next is..." or something like that. it's creative and it makes the viewer to think and guess, who was the killer. the characters were pretty much classic, Neve Campbell was predictable, Hayden Panettiere as well, but Emma Roberts was awesome. it's a joy to see her acting as a psycho, not just a sweet good girl like i always see on tv. she has proven the viewers that she is a great actress. the whole movie was entertaining to me and i enjoyed watching it. Expand
  56. Mar 5, 2016
    8
    Scream 4 is a return to form for the Scream franchise that provides more of the humour and the thrills that made the original 1996 film as memorable as it is.
  57. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    I wanted to like Scream 4 more than I ultimately did, however, a few issues with the outlandish nature of some scenes, such as Alison Brie's parking garage bit and several other moments had me rolling my eyes a few too many times. It was really great having the main characters back and to delve back into the world of Sidney Prescott who is as stubborn as a mule, why won't she just die?!I wanted to like Scream 4 more than I ultimately did, however, a few issues with the outlandish nature of some scenes, such as Alison Brie's parking garage bit and several other moments had me rolling my eyes a few too many times. It was really great having the main characters back and to delve back into the world of Sidney Prescott who is as stubborn as a mule, why won't she just die?! Nah, I jest, the tongue in cheek nature of these films alone is alone to set them above, say, Friday the 13th sequels which ultimately serve no purpose other than to kill off big titted women. Scream 4 has always featured familiar names getting killed off in simpler ways than, say, Freddy Kruger. The real-world, grounded nature of the human serial killer is a scarier notion than any ghost story so when these films go OTT like in Scream 3 and now 4, it ruins the film series. The original Scream still remains one of the scariest films because of the "this could actually happen" feeling which comes with a non-supernatural villain. Not that the villain in Scream 4 has any powers (Scream 3 certainly seemed to have whacky **** going on, dunno what but it's methods didn't make sense like in 2 or 1). Scream 4 was an attempt to fill the void left by Scream 3, bring the saga back into line whilst going off into a new, modern day horror comment. Unfortunately the lingering nature of Scream 3 stuck around therefore loses it a few points. As I said before, some familiar names here to get hacked off, and in true Scream tradition they're all from popular TV shows, which only makes the hacking more fun. Unfortunately the end twist was a little too predictable, however the very end, the last few lines were a clever nod to how we as society praise the good and the bad, even if we don't have all the facts. 7/10, I was hoping for a 9 at least. Expand
  58. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    The entire plot in this movie reminded me of Scary Movie, which made the movie seem like a big joke to me. But there is a huge plot twist towards the end, so the movie isn't completely futile. I'm not a big fan of horror movies but this was actually a good one. It wasn't great, but it was good.
  59. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    Let's face it, when a film franchise makes it to a fourth film or higher, it usually sucks. What else can they really do with it and what's left of the story to tell us that we don't already know? That was my thinking going into Scream 4, but when it comes to Wes Craven, you really never know what you're going to get. After pumping out three movies in four years, Craven took eleven yearsLet's face it, when a film franchise makes it to a fourth film or higher, it usually sucks. What else can they really do with it and what's left of the story to tell us that we don't already know? That was my thinking going into Scream 4, but when it comes to Wes Craven, you really never know what you're going to get. After pumping out three movies in four years, Craven took eleven years off before taking another crack at Scream, thinking why not make what's old new again, and it works! Scream 4 continues the legacy of the series by combining a classic slasher film with the technology and youth of today, who are still making a mockery of the whole situation. The screenwriting is absolutely genius, as is evident by the opening scene, which actually rivals the scene in the first film. In Scream 4, we see a grown up Sidney Prescott return home to Woodsboro a changed woman. She's there to promote her new book and catch up with her old friends, Sheriff Dewey and his wife Gail. They're all having a nice reunion, on what turns out to be the anniversary of the first killings, when all of a sudden things turn ugly again. You know the characters and you know the actors playing them. They're a little bit older, they're a little bit wiser, and they're every bit as energetic and interesting as they were in the first three films. The old school Woodsboro family meets the current Woodsboro family and what you get is something that's very similar, but oddly different. Scream 4 is witty, clever, and updated. Wes Craven was right, what was old is new again and it reminded me of just how much I loved the original films. Expand
  60. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    The ever-growing popularity of the Horror remake has not escaped the tragic town of Woodsboro, and Sidney Prescott's return home sparks a new series of murders that have been fashioned after her first encounter with the Ghostface killer! SCREAM makes a surprising comeback after a decade away from the screen, teaming series creator Kevin Williamson with Wes Craven once more in what isThe ever-growing popularity of the Horror remake has not escaped the tragic town of Woodsboro, and Sidney Prescott's return home sparks a new series of murders that have been fashioned after her first encounter with the Ghostface killer! SCREAM makes a surprising comeback after a decade away from the screen, teaming series creator Kevin Williamson with Wes Craven once more in what is easily the best sequel in the franchise. The new script is just as sharp as Ghostface's knife, never missing an opportunity to poke fun at modern Horror trends or the series, itself. Some of the greatest moments are achieved by exacerbating the concept of the metafilm to the point of lunacy, essentially creating a film about making a film about a film about films. The tagline promises a "New Decade. New Rules." As we have come to find out from the previous films, the only New Rule is that SCREAM breaks all the rules. Plot contrivances aside, the film legitimately keeps the audience guessing until the very end, never knowing which cliche will be the next to suffer. Williamson has taken a clever approach to the remake as only the SCREAM films can, using the remake as an integral plot device towards something wholly original. While it is still as sappy and pretentious as each of the earlier entries, SCREAM 4 is equally entertaining for fans of the series. Neve Campbell, Courtney Cox, and David Arquette are each at home in their returning roles, and even the newcomers earn passing grades. One can only hope that the inevitable sequels continue to uphold the same level of intelligence and humor shown in this fourth film.

    -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  61. May 31, 2012
    8
    This Is The Biggest Step Up From Scream 3..
    Still Not Scream And Scream 2 Good.. But Its Good...
  62. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    I know most critics don't love "Scream 4", but I believe it saved the franchise. "3" showed the series was dead, but with a great use of humor and very clever kills, "4" is great entertainment. Assuming you can find the horror in bloody slashings. The usage of new characters along with returning favorites works well, and the twist at the end is satisfying. This isn't classy, or evenI know most critics don't love "Scream 4", but I believe it saved the franchise. "3" showed the series was dead, but with a great use of humor and very clever kills, "4" is great entertainment. Assuming you can find the horror in bloody slashings. The usage of new characters along with returning favorites works well, and the twist at the end is satisfying. This isn't classy, or even that memorable entertainment, but it should inspire several viewings. Expand
  63. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    As it turns out the only Scream movie I have seen until about a month ago was the first one when it came out on DVD or TV one of the two. I just watched the 3rd one yesterday and the 4th today. I really liked the 2nd one when I watched it a month or so ago and as of yesterday thought it was the best one out of the three. This one however, takes the cake. It may not try to achieve anyAs it turns out the only Scream movie I have seen until about a month ago was the first one when it came out on DVD or TV one of the two. I just watched the 3rd one yesterday and the 4th today. I really liked the 2nd one when I watched it a month or so ago and as of yesterday thought it was the best one out of the three. This one however, takes the cake. It may not try to achieve any ground breaking concepts for the franchise or the horror genre but, it delivers where it counts. The writing and filming are even better in my opinion then for the other three films. People say it's not scary but the scenes are just different enough from film to film that I think anyone afraid of jumpy scenes will get plenty of shock value. I don't think that it's just more of the same. A "Who Did It" plot is always exciting no matter how many times it has been done, as long as it's done so well like in this movie. All that being said, I think if done correctly there could be two more successful movies for the franchise. That being good actors playing the right characters. A good story driven plot and some new twists and turns we all want and expect. Expand
  64. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    I was surprised that "Scream 4" didn't suck, it was very good, actually great! I loved it! Good effects, great music, nice twist and some horror with a lot of fun!
  65. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    'Scre4m' is totally hot, showing us more than smart dialogues, scenes of great persecution, great deception, followed by great revelations, and a big, BIG, final act.
  66. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    Scream 4,É estupidamente divertido,Não assusta tanto mas é inteligente.
    Neve Campbell,Hayden Panettiere,David Arquette,Emma Roberts E Courtney Cox estão incríveis.
  67. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    Scream 4 is a good movie. The masked man was unpredictable who he was, the killings are good and i think it's better than scream 2 and 3. I would happily watch a fifth movie as the fourth was a funny thriller, which was not bad at all actually
  68. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I was a bit nervous when I first heard that they were making a Scream movie in recent times, since times have changed, plus, with all the technology like phones and internet, people try way too hard to put it into movies, but, the use of technology in this movie was good and not very distracting at all, plus, the characters besides the Main Three were probably the most memorable out ofI was a bit nervous when I first heard that they were making a Scream movie in recent times, since times have changed, plus, with all the technology like phones and internet, people try way too hard to put it into movies, but, the use of technology in this movie was good and not very distracting at all, plus, the characters besides the Main Three were probably the most memorable out of every Scream movie. This one is definitely my favorite. Expand
  69. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Ahh, a refreshing installment to the Scream series, like drinking an ice cold Coke on a warm day. After a little over a decade of no Scream 4, viewers wanted something more than Scream 3, and that made the appeal a little better. When the third Scream as on its last legs, the fourth one found a crutch! Bravo to Wes Craven and the writers for finding their magic touch again.
  70. Jun 15, 2016
    8
    Scream 4 gets back to the biting humour, the intelligent characters, and the fantastic story, while adding more gore (a close-up of a gutting, a police officer stabbed in the forehead, etc.) and modernising the series without turning away from what made the first two so great.
  71. Mar 12, 2014
    7
    The 4th scream movie is a definite improvement from the 3rd and this time with several plot twists that force you to watch to the end. I'ts a non-stop cycle of twists that continue all the way up to the end.
  72. Sep 15, 2015
    7
    I can't decide which is the weakest, the second or the fourth. While this one has one of the worst acting of the franchise, the kills were entertaining and kind of gory.As a fan of the Scream franchise, I was kind of let down by this final instalment. But, overall, a good film. Nothing more, nothing less.
  73. Oct 3, 2015
    7
    Scre4m is a solid entry in the scream film franchise with some nifty moments of suspense and great humour this time around scream 4 does not really take itself to seriously which is good at times and bad at others for example when thy have a truly effective scary moment it will all be undone by a silly one liner. but all in all its a good movie that I would check out if you are a fan ofScre4m is a solid entry in the scream film franchise with some nifty moments of suspense and great humour this time around scream 4 does not really take itself to seriously which is good at times and bad at others for example when thy have a truly effective scary moment it will all be undone by a silly one liner. but all in all its a good movie that I would check out if you are a fan of the previous films. Expand
  74. May 23, 2015
    7
    The thing that make this film work is the false sense you get that you know what is going to happen because you have seen it all before. The fact that this is actually addressed by the characters themselves lets you know you are only along for the ride. Not that there isn’t some element of surprise because there are a few. Each kill is quick and brutal in classic Ghostface style. SadlyThe thing that make this film work is the false sense you get that you know what is going to happen because you have seen it all before. The fact that this is actually addressed by the characters themselves lets you know you are only along for the ride. Not that there isn’t some element of surprise because there are a few. Each kill is quick and brutal in classic Ghostface style. Sadly though the big reveal is not really a reveal. You can pretty much tell who the killers are two thirds of the way through the film. The obvious sign that lets you know –1. the way the direction focuses on trying to make you question everyone, except for two characters, who seem to be portrayed as innocent and hapless. Barely glanced at as merely harmless players. 2. a bit more hidden and subtle, every scenario of a “Scream” plot has been played out and discussed on screen, off screen, so where else could the story go but to venture deep within the family in order to validate the signature rage or misguided angst always directed toward Sidney Prescott.

    “Scream 4” is a genius plot. One that you want to see happen, with the outcome it has. This film was a bit more toned down on the tongue-in-cheek humor that the first three movies boasted. Instead this script stays more dark and mature in it’s approach, focusing on the seriousness of the story. This lets the kill scenes and plot build to the big twist at the finale. “Scream 4” doesn’t blow your mind as many fans had hoped, yet it does make you say “yes” enthusiastically. This is a solid movie for the series, not that one was needed, but you are thankful that one has been made. Whether or not this is the period at the end of the sentence or merely a pause in the story remains to be seen. Thankfully I now have four films to satisfy my screams!
    Expand
  75. Mar 7, 2016
    8
    Easily rises up its peers in the genre and is a suspenseful sequel worth screaming about.

    Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-1e6ce1-Scream-4-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  76. Jan 24, 2016
    7
    From the meta opening to its brutal ending, ''SCREAM 4'' proves to be the most entertaining of the franchise. One of the killer's motives is brilliant and so relevant even more today than it was five years ago. Emma Roberts is amazing as Jill. The trio is lovely, but the most interesting character by far is this generation's Randy, Kirby. The film does feel like it needs a lot moreFrom the meta opening to its brutal ending, ''SCREAM 4'' proves to be the most entertaining of the franchise. One of the killer's motives is brilliant and so relevant even more today than it was five years ago. Emma Roberts is amazing as Jill. The trio is lovely, but the most interesting character by far is this generation's Randy, Kirby. The film does feel like it needs a lot more character development, but it is saved by the gory and sad deaths, memorable moments, opening kill, the killers' identity, their motive, and one particular line in the climax. Here's hoping that soon, a final sequel will be made to end the series properly. But if it won't happen, then this fourth installment in what is clearly horror's most consistent slasher franchise is a nice epilogue to the trilogy that shook the whole genre back in the 90s. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 21, 2011
    60
    The generational mix of actors works well enough, although Campbell too often seems stranded with little to do until the climax.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    Too self-referential for its own good by half.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 19, 2011
    50
    Scream 4 is so obsessed with the self-referential element that made the original Scream unique that it loses the capacity to be genuinely scary or funny.