User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 308

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I definitely have to say..speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films that 11 yrs later in Scream 4...i was definitely thoroughly entertained. It was an amazing opening and ending that still has me thinking WOW! I highly recommend this to any horror fan and any fan of the first 3 films...way to go Kevin Williamson and Wes Craven...cant wait for Scream 5 and 6!
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    To start, I am a massive "Scream" trilogy fan, but my thought in going in was that "the franchise has had it's time and this is completely new, a new trilogy". The film rewrites the rules of the first trilogy, and one of the most evident changes comes in the opening scene, in which 2 characters, 1 male, 1 female are killed. This scene will be seen as either boring and long-winded, or completely genius; my belief being the latter. It excited me and shocked me, without ever leaving the viewer lost, and in it's last moments (while giving a violent nod to a famous death from the 1st film) becomes the most violent and aggressive pre-title scene from all 4 films. Following a couple of misleading "jumps" and a little exposition, with the original 3 survivors positions all being developed quickly and efficiently, it isn't long before the film delves into the "who's next?" pace. With the standard "CiCi/Candy" kill being presented, in this movie as a more intelligent, brutal killing (and a particularly active Sidney Prescott facing off with 'Ghostface'), the movie already feels very different to it's predecessors. The kills are creative, quick and in heavy supply, and the list of suspects is soon whittled down, leading to the most shocking, well-acted, and at times hilarious conclusion that leads the viewer asking "When is Scream 5 coming out?".
    The overall game is still same, but the rules are so different that this movie is the most dramatic of the lot. Roll on 5.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    From the giddily familiar image of â
  4. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This is how it has gone in the series: Scream; this set the standard & was brilliantly devised with the plot, & characters. 10/10 Scream 2; not as good as the original, but still extremely fun & ejoyable. 9/10 Scream 3; it has creative kills & an interesting twist, but is full of plot holes. 8/10 Then there's Scream 4, which easily beats out the the other sequels & is back to the standard of the original. A great new cast & a very interesting ending (won't give anything away, but WOW!) Easily one of the best movies of the year. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    I Loved the first Scream and the second one, not sure about the Third one but this is a Perfect Sequel! it wraps up everything in the Past and brings new Elements to the formula. Im not so Happy about this being a new Set of Sequels because this one Ended really Good!
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was excellent! It was clever, scary, and the acting was great especially Emma Roberts and Hayden P. What was unusual was how it definitely beat out the 3rd movie right off the bat. Worth to watch.
  7. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A great sequel-remake, Scre4m or Scream 4 is really awesome, the intro, jaja is very funny, Emma Roberts, David Arquette, Courteney Cow and Neve Campbell are awesome. This is a great example of sequel.
  8. May 8, 2011
    9
    Wes Craven proves his genius once again, with this excellent "reboot" of the Scream series. This is an excellent slasher movie. It doesn't try to innovate, it incorporates clichés found in over three decades of horror movies and updates them for 2011. Not a 10 obviously, but it will give you a couple of good scares while also making you laugh.
  9. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    Very Entertaining. I was shocked when i saw a fourth was coming out after 11 years. But i couldn't resist to watch it. This movie was awesome. It wasn't trying to scare you, it was trying to entertain you. Which it did greatly with a hilarious opening, and a great ending. A shocking twist at the end which definitely catches everyone off guard. I lost faith in Wes Craven with 'My Soul To Take', which was garbage. But Scream 4 won't get anywhere near the garbage can. Expand
  10. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    WOW! Scream 4 was just another masterpiece of Craven. Wes Craven, and Kevin Williamson prove once again that they are a strong team, and that the horror/comedy genre isn't dead, yet. Scream 4 is full of laughs, scares, and suspense!!!! I loved it!
  11. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    I first went in the theater expecting to see a half @ss remake , oh boy how wrong i was.. The first hour of the movie was setting all for the ending.. the killing , the story with sidney and her family, and then everything when crazy. The last 30 min where like mind blowing.. even though i love scary movies not in a million years was i expecting what happen at the end. Overall a really entertaining movie, and it is worth the ticket .. i would go to see it again!!!.. Expand
  12. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 was definitely forth the wait. It had that old twist from Scream 1 for the old generation and the new twist for the new generation. So this was well thought out. It is a well rounded movie for the family to go and see. i think the parent and kids will be talking about this movie for months. I would recommend to anyone who just wants to sit down and watch a good movie not just horror fans.
  13. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    speaking as a HUGE fan of the first 3 films Scream 4 was just as good as the first i thought it was amazing with a ending that surpassed all the other movies
  14. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 is a very good movie, both as part of the franchise, and as a standalone. It also stands as a good slasher flick. In my opinion nothing was overdone in the film. The script and plot where very inventive, and will keep you guessing until the end. I will admit, I feared that SCREAM 4 was just another cheap cash-in. What Williamson and Craven did here was impressive and ingenious. Some rare moments in the film were even mind-blowing! The cast is great and the film is hugely entertaining. Needless to say. Definetly 10 out of 10!!!! Expand
  15. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Plain and simple, if you want to have fun at the movies, you should see this movie! It is both, funny and scary. It may not be perfect, but it is the best movie theaters have at the moment.
  16. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 is the horror movie i have ever seen.
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    SCREAM 4 is a funny, violent, twisted and bloody sequel to the SCREAM film series. It's the best since the first and it's the funniest and the bloodiest of the sequels. Bring on SCREAM 5!!!
  18. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Scream 4 is a welcome return to the franchise, reuniting old favorites with Ghostface, who is targeting unsuspecting victims in a mad ploy to get to survivor Sydney Prescott. The plot is pretty solid with a few blatant winks to the first film. The acting is mostly stellar (some hamming-it-up moments detract from the impact of the film in some instances) and the gore does not disapoint. Where does the film go wrong? Well, the opening sequence, in trying to be spectacular, kind of falls flat and turns out to be the weakest opening yet. It tries to take a stab at the ridiculous franchises out there that seem to fall apart as a new installment hits but doesn't take itself seriously enough in the moment, thus rendering it more of a Scary Movie type spoof than an actual slasher flick shocker. Still, the film delivers in thrills. And the pop culture references serve as a fun interlude to all the killing. Expand
  19. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    I have to say, I was impressed with this little reboot. I was eager to see it, but was not expecting much, boy did it surprise me. I don't think they could have done better at trying to bring the franchise back, I would almost say I like this better than the first movie, maybe not as good but I still really liked it. It was entertaining and had some good twists and the ending was very pleasing. I couldn't have ask for more from this movie. If your a fan of the franchise i would suggest giving this one a shot, just remember its not the original! its still a sequel and will never have the cult following of the original, but it is still a great installment and it will be added to my movie collection the day it is released on dvd. Expand
  20. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Scream 4 flies past Scream 3 as a better film. Seeing Neve on the big screen again was an absolute pleasure. It is by far the funnest Horror Movie I've seen in a long time. Was great to see a horror movie use its brain and not rely on blood spurts, hacked body limbs and torture porn. While it's not a solid 10, it's way up there. But Scream 1 and 2 still reign supreme
  21. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the opening of the movie was great, creative, and kind of funny. and i really like the whole story, it's pretty predictable, but still shocking. i love the idea of "usually, in a movie, what will happen next is..." or something like that. it's creative and it makes the viewer to think and guess, who was the killer. the characters were pretty much classic, Neve Campbell was predictable, Hayden Panettiere as well, but Emma Roberts was awesome. it's a joy to see her acting as a psycho, not just a sweet good girl like i always see on tv. she has proven the viewers that she is a great actress. the whole movie was entertaining to me and i enjoyed watching it. Expand
  22. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    SCREAM 4 is the best of the sequels! It's the best since the original! It's definitely the bloodiest, the funniest and the most entertaining out of all of them. LOVE IT!!!
  23. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best horror movies, comedies and horror mixed in a way unsurpassed. A great script, great performances. No more words, a great movie without taking nor by.
  24. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    A wonderful exciting movie that took me by surprise. It was so creative and adaptive to this time period and the best Scream yet. I really hope there is another one. It was scary and funny which makes it stand out.
  25. May 27, 2012
    10
    This movie was amassing it was the best scream installment yet and I really hope they make more because they get better and better. But the one thing i didn't like is you never find out what happend to her dad
  26. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    You do feel like you have seen all of this before, but Scream 4 ultimately proves that the franchise still delivers quality material something unusual for a sequel nowadays. First of all, the movie starts in a really clever and funny way and it immediately gives you a glimpse of what you're going to get. The dialogue was clever and smart and the satire of parody is back thankflully due to Kevin Williamson's return as writer. Wes Craven delivers well handed direction and the new cast seemed to have a lot of fun playing with movie clichés and ending up falling for them. The surviving cast was alright, they didn't stood out that much but you can see this movie was made entirely focused on the new cast. The death and chase scenes are also well elaborate and do entertain it's target audience. There are also a lot of twists throughout the movie, including the killer's idendtity, a perfect revelation but that doesn't end up being that surprising if you have noticed Sidney's relationship with the previous killers. Everything you've come to love in the original trilogy comes in greater quantity: the body count, the humor and the twists. A satisfactory chapter that works as a strong series ender and overshadows it's predecessor easily even if it doesnt quite meet the standard set by the original movie. Think of it more as a Scream 2 type of movie. Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The best movie of the saga.
  28. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    As it turns out the only Scream movie I have seen until about a month ago was the first one when it came out on DVD or TV one of the two. I just watched the 3rd one yesterday and the 4th today. I really liked the 2nd one when I watched it a month or so ago and as of yesterday thought it was the best one out of the three. This one however, takes the cake. It may not try to achieve any ground breaking concepts for the franchise or the horror genre but, it delivers where it counts. The writing and filming are even better in my opinion then for the other three films. People say it's not scary but the scenes are just different enough from film to film that I think anyone afraid of jumpy scenes will get plenty of shock value. I don't think that it's just more of the same. A "Who Did It" plot is always exciting no matter how many times it has been done, as long as it's done so well like in this movie. All that being said, I think if done correctly there could be two more successful movies for the franchise. That being good actors playing the right characters. A good story driven plot and some new twists and turns we all want and expect. Expand
  29. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    I was surprised that "Scream 4" didn't suck, it was very good, actually great! I loved it! Good effects, great music, nice twist and some horror with a lot of fun!
  30. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    'Scre4m' is totally hot, showing us more than smart dialogues, scenes of great persecution, great deception, followed by great revelations, and a big, BIG, final act.
  31. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I was a bit nervous when I first heard that they were making a Scream movie in recent times, since times have changed, plus, with all the technology like phones and internet, people try way too hard to put it into movies, but, the use of technology in this movie was good and not very distracting at all, plus, the characters besides the Main Three were probably the most memorable out of every Scream movie. This one is definitely my favorite. Expand
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I remember seeing this opening night, which I'm happy to say was actually my best theatrical experience I've ever had. Within the first seven minutes the film brings meta-humor and self-deprecation to a new level, pointing out all of the supposed flaws that anyone could complain about and opening addresses itself with, "It's been done to death... Stick a fork in 1996 already." The dialogue is witty and acerbic the entire time and all feels fresh and modern, which in itself is a huge accomplishment. Characters are completely believable as teens and the acting is actually great, specifically Hayden Panettiere who plays my favorite character: a dry, sardonic and sexy closeted film geek. The brilliantly orchestrated final act discusses modern society's obsession with technology and easy-found fame and the identity of the killer surprised me to no end; even being a die hard fan of the franchise and a cinephile, I didn't guess anything correctly. There are SO many red herrings that make you contemplate if something is too obvious, who was doing what when, and makes you double check yourself in regards to reverse psychology of believing who the killer is. The best part is that all but one of the cliches and tropes that are utilized for satire are subverted and/or openly acknowledged. The script justifies a character's seemingly stupid actions or flips it outright. Everything is shot well with good use of lighting as well as a good orchestral score and the directing is good (pay attention to the increasing corniness of the opening scene). It's actually the best of the series, better than the first with very clever kills and witty satire regarding torture porn, found footage genre films, modern horror, remakes and reboots. And yes, it scared the crap out of me. 9.5/10, incredible, two thumbs up, etc. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Apr 21, 2011
    60
    The generational mix of actors works well enough, although Campbell too often seems stranded with little to do until the climax.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Apr 21, 2011
    40
    Too self-referential for its own good by half.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 19, 2011
    50
    Scream 4 is so obsessed with the self-referential element that made the original Scream unique that it loses the capacity to be genuinely scary or funny.