Dimension Films | Release Date: December 20, 1996
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 527 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
491
Mixed:
21
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
GlynnHJul 8, 2005
This is by far the best movie ever in the slasher genre. In fact, it is pretty close to being the best movie of any genre. There is not one thing wrong with this movie. Even if you are jaded it will scare you more than anything has ever This is by far the best movie ever in the slasher genre. In fact, it is pretty close to being the best movie of any genre. There is not one thing wrong with this movie. Even if you are jaded it will scare you more than anything has ever scared you before. I was so scared in the opening that I almost got up and left the theater. I am glad I didn't, but it was that good at what it did. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndrewS.Apr 11, 2006
Quite simply one of the best horror films. Its funny, scary and awesome. Matthew Lilard is definitely the best character.
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
StaceyG.Oct 3, 2003
Scream is the best horror movie ever and it is also my all time fave. You get involved in characters because of the great acting. especially Matthew Lillard, he does a great job. Scream is creative, gripping horrifying and TONS OF FUN! i Scream is the best horror movie ever and it is also my all time fave. You get involved in characters because of the great acting. especially Matthew Lillard, he does a great job. Scream is creative, gripping horrifying and TONS OF FUN! i have seen this 49 times and i still love. it also has a few funny moments and gives the people watching about a hundred quptes to us later. SEE THIS FILM! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Feb 3, 2001
Scream is easily the best teen horror flick ever made and one of the best horror films of all time. It revived the teen-slice-'em-up genre and did it well. Scream is a classical thriller.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakesAndHisCatNov 1, 2003
Ooh, it's post-modern. That'll be a load of smug, pretentious bollocks, then. Like hell it will: the next person to have a go at what in 1996 was the best major scary-suspense film in years, just because it was - gasp - intelligent Ooh, it's post-modern. That'll be a load of smug, pretentious bollocks, then. Like hell it will: the next person to have a go at what in 1996 was the best major scary-suspense film in years, just because it was - gasp - intelligent and thoughtful and didn't patronise the audience, gets a slap round the earhole. Those people can just go and watch the infinite Halloween sequels, if they like dumb slasher movies so much. My old comrade Yoon Min Cho still needs that Daily Mail snatched from him as well. Oh, no, there's blood. For crying out loud, it's a horror movie, Yoon (or is it Cho? Which is the surname and which the first? Not to be rude, I really don't know). What is your problem? If you can give Reservoir Dogs 10, you can find a place in your heart for this. Anyway, Scream is a brilliantly effective slasher movie - it's not really a spoof because it doesn't make a joke of the genre's conventions, merely acknowledges them, then uses them to great effect - greater, perhaps, because they've just been pointed out. Wes Craven's not stupid, he knows scary. He just also knows that the audience knows scary. If you see what I mean. Point is, it's a good, scary thrillerhorror dealie shot through with black horror and a certain self-awareness, which could be dismissed as smug, if it weren't so scary. And if pointing out smugness weren't the smuggest thing anyone can do. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Lopez17Nov 14, 2010
If you are going to survive a horror film there are rules one must abide (1. You can never have sex, (2. You can never drink or do drugs (you will be too out of it to escape the killers rampage), (3. Never under any circumstances say, â
18 of 18 users found this helpful180
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewApr 25, 2011
Wes Craven is the master of the slasher genre. Scream is not only scary, it is also funny, smart, exciting, and suspenseful. Scream may be one of the best horror movies of the modern generation. Sure, some might say that others like HalloweenWes Craven is the master of the slasher genre. Scream is not only scary, it is also funny, smart, exciting, and suspenseful. Scream may be one of the best horror movies of the modern generation. Sure, some might say that others like Halloween and A Nightmare on Elm Street are better, but this one is smarter and more original. You should see this movie! Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
Nick5414Mar 15, 2011
This movie is simply epic!
18 of 18 users found this helpful180
All this user's reviews
10
driesy8888Sep 5, 2011
My favorite horror movie is also my favorite movie of all time. I absolutely love this film to pieces. Everything about it is amazing. The acting, the direction, the true horror, the scares, the suspense, the dialogue, the acting, theMy favorite horror movie is also my favorite movie of all time. I absolutely love this film to pieces. Everything about it is amazing. The acting, the direction, the true horror, the scares, the suspense, the dialogue, the acting, the music...and the list goes on. Any horror movie fan who dislikes this movie has a problem in my opinion. Neve Campbell, beautiful!!!! Thank you so much Wes and Kevin for giving us a truly amazing horror film that will stay with me forever Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
10
LissyBFeb 2, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite movies! I love all of the horror movies refrences that it makes! The cast is also amazing! It IS a horror movie, but I love the humor in the movie as well. I'm sure not everyone understands the refrences but if you really think about some of the lines that they say, they are hilarious. For example, when "Sydney" is talking about who would play her in a movie, she said, " Thanks Dewey, but with my luck they would cast Tori Spelling..." Which in Scream 2, the movie that they "made" of "her life" was called "Stab" and her character was played by none other than, Tori Spelling... Then when "Principle Himbrey" was looking around the office trying to figure out who was knocking on his door, he startled the janitor...who was in a red and green sweater and he called the janitor, "Fred" as in "Freddy Kruger". Wes Craven directed "A Nightmare on Elm Street.Then "Tatum" tells "Sydney" that everything that is going on is like a Wes Carpenter flick, which is a combination of Wes Craven, the director of "Scream" and John Carpenter the director of "Halloween". I also love the part when Jamie Kennedy who plays "Randy" is watching "Halloween" and telling Jamie Lee Curtis to look behind her because the killer was there, while the killer in "Scream" , "Ghostface", is actually sneaking up behind him, at the same time. Basically, I think everyone should watch this movie because I think it is fantastic!! :) Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 2, 2012
An excellent film. The story of Scream is really good, with much scare moments, because is not the tipic slasher film of an assassin that kill all, is a great story. Scream is incredible.
25 of 27 users found this helpful252
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliMay 31, 2012
My Favorite Horror Movie Of All Time!
Even Though The Cast Is Not A+ Neve Campbell, And Rose McGowan Gets The Job Done!
17 of 18 users found this helpful171
All this user's reviews
10
SCREAMFAN7Dec 13, 2012
Scream may very well be the GREATEST HORROR FILM OF ALL TIME! I wholeheartedly believe hat SCREAM is better than HORROR CLASSICS SUCH AS A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, THE SHINING, PSYCHO, and even it's biggest inspiration HALLOWEEN! The actingScream may very well be the GREATEST HORROR FILM OF ALL TIME! I wholeheartedly believe hat SCREAM is better than HORROR CLASSICS SUCH AS A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, THE SHINING, PSYCHO, and even it's biggest inspiration HALLOWEEN! The acting is phenomenal, and when you have actors/actresses such as, NEVE CAMPBELL, DREW BARRYMORE, SKEET ULRICH, MATHEW LILLARD, and ROSE MCGOWEN, you have a good movie there. The people who say that this film is just a generic teen slasher flick obviously haven't seen the movie. This movie is so much more and is very high on story, emotion, and once you see this movie, you just can't stop. Its like a vacuum that just keeps sucking you in, there is not one dragging, slow or boring moment in the film for it is truly a masterpiece. Even if there is a moment where the killer isn't there and no action is occurring you're just so entertained by the unbelievable dialogue! Many consider it overrated, but I view it as the complete opposite, this film is overlooked, and misunderstood by many. This is one of those films that you could watch twenty times in a row and still enjoy it, he'll about a year ago I spent about two weeks watching the whole franchise multiple times. This is not a movie that deserves any negative reviews and almost seventeen years after its release SCREAM IS TRULY A CLASSIC! IT IS A PERFECT MOVIE 10/10! You can't go wrong with this film (which by the way is my SECOND FAVORITE FILM OF ALL TIME behind no other than a certain Spielburg classic.) SCREAM IS ABSOLUTE PERFECTION AND THAT IS SOMETHING THAT SHALL NEVER CHANGE! Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
BlakePNov 1, 2012
Watching this, I realized: "Scream" is one of the smartest horror movies of all time. It may not be as scary as "Halloween", but it's witty dialogue, suspense, and entertaining characters keep the film engaging and fun. One of the mostWatching this, I realized: "Scream" is one of the smartest horror movies of all time. It may not be as scary as "Halloween", but it's witty dialogue, suspense, and entertaining characters keep the film engaging and fun. One of the most important movies of the '90's. Expand
12 of 12 users found this helpful120
All this user's reviews
10
ItsRaininMenJun 20, 2013
Scream is a really great movie! It's not really corny like some old horror movies can be, it's got a good plot, it's clever, and an enjoyable watch! If you don't mind a little blood, definitely check this movie out!
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
Scream is one of those horror movie genre films that is perfect for a movie to watch with your friends or at a party on Friday night. It's one of those "Don't go in there" kind of horror flicks that everyone loves.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
TimeOfTheChimpsJun 14, 2016
From the opening with Drew Barrymore, to the bloody ending where the heroes triumph and the killers' plan very visibly falls apart, Scream is a masterpiece and a true classic from the late Wes Craven. The film succeeds because the charactersFrom the opening with Drew Barrymore, to the bloody ending where the heroes triumph and the killers' plan very visibly falls apart, Scream is a masterpiece and a true classic from the late Wes Craven. The film succeeds because the characters are fleshed out and feel like real people due to the script and superb acting (everyone is amazing, but Matthew Lilliard's performance is pure gold), the goofy and witty humour ("LIVER alone!"), the nice locales used to bring Woodsboro to life, and Wes Craven's flawless direction. With lots of bloody action and numerous scares, Scream is a must-see for fans of the horror genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 5, 2014
A horror master Wes Craven gives us scream which takes you on a roller coaster full of horror and gives you a popcorn and soda . Amazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzinnnnggggggggggggggggggggggggggg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. grade A+
16 of 16 users found this helpful160
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisOct 22, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite horror movie is also my favorite movie of all time. I absolutely love this film to pieces. Everything about it is amazing. The acting, the direction, the true horror, the scares, the suspense, the dialogue, the acting, the music...and the list goes on. Any horror movie fan who dislikes this movie has a problem in my opinion. Neve Campbell, beautiful!!!! Thank you so much Wes and Kevin for giving us a truly amazing horror film that will stay with me forever Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
themickeymoseDec 15, 2015
I am one of the biggest fan of this movie. Wes Craven is truly a master of horror movies. This movie is way better than Halloween (I'm so sorry Jamie Lee Curtis, I still love you though). The plot is simple yet complicated. This movie is aI am one of the biggest fan of this movie. Wes Craven is truly a master of horror movies. This movie is way better than Halloween (I'm so sorry Jamie Lee Curtis, I still love you though). The plot is simple yet complicated. This movie is a combination of horror and comedy which I thought is impossible but not with this movie. The cast are awesome, they fit with their characters perfectly. The ghostface costume is brilliant and iconic. Best slasher film of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulDec 26, 2015
Para mí, una película fundamental del género del terror, marcó un antes y un después, marcó definitivamente la pauta de la mayoría de las películas del subgénero slasher.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DaniKFeb 6, 2009
Not bad for a horror flick. Good scares and good kills, along with it's moments of poking fun at the classics.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.May 28, 2001
A great horror picture for all fans of horror. With a good build up to the whodunnit twist.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ScottM.Jul 25, 2003
The best teen slasher film ever made.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Jul 10, 2006
This really is a great movie, and that surprised the heck out of me. The opening sequence is one of the greatest in movie history. This is one of if not the best slasher-horror movie ever. If you didn't like this movie, I think This really is a great movie, and that surprised the heck out of me. The opening sequence is one of the greatest in movie history. This is one of if not the best slasher-horror movie ever. If you didn't like this movie, I think you're just incapable of appreciating the genre, which is fine in and of itself. But in that context, all these one and 2 reviews are useless. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SaerA.Mar 25, 2004
Scream is a very scary movie. It was haunting me for days when I was little.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
GavinC.Jul 26, 2009
Funny, scary, and original, 'Scream' will not fail to impress.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GavGav96Dec 4, 2010
Funny, scary, and original, Scream can officially be considered one of the best horrors and thrillers. The opening scene is particularly scary, the character of Randy provides the film's intriguing self-awareness, and it is refreshing to seeFunny, scary, and original, Scream can officially be considered one of the best horrors and thrillers. The opening scene is particularly scary, the character of Randy provides the film's intriguing self-awareness, and it is refreshing to see a horror movie which has a killer that can actually be killed. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
RazvOct 12, 2010
One of the best horror movies ever. Interesting plot, good acting and, scary ! Plus, the conversations that make connections to existing horror movies are making the movie even better.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
One of the best horror movies of all time. Craven does it again with another horror master piece and he proves yet again why he is the best in the game.
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuOct 26, 2014
Scream is one of the greatest slasher flicks ever made. It re-energized horror cinema with it's fun referencing and unexpected twists. The movie's opening and finale also make for truly unforgettable celluloid moments. Awesome stuff!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
RogerSmith97Feb 23, 2011
This Is A Great Movie (One Of The Best Horror Movies Of The 90's) But It Was Scary, But I Think That Wes Craven Could Of Made It Even More Scary!! As A Fan Of Neve Campbell She Did An OK Job, I Expected More From Seeing Other Films & T.V.This Is A Great Movie (One Of The Best Horror Movies Of The 90's) But It Was Scary, But I Think That Wes Craven Could Of Made It Even More Scary!! As A Fan Of Neve Campbell She Did An OK Job, I Expected More From Seeing Other Films & T.V. Shows With Her... But Rose McGowan Was Very Good As Tatum Riley As Well As Matthew Lillird..
I Do Think The Plot Was So-So But It Is Very Fun To Watch.... :)
Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
9
LordNasebySep 27, 2011
I saw this film for the first time on Halloween night right after I finished watching Halloween(original) for the first time. Also I saw Nightmare on Elm Street before I watched this movie as well. This is how this movie is intended to beI saw this film for the first time on Halloween night right after I finished watching Halloween(original) for the first time. Also I saw Nightmare on Elm Street before I watched this movie as well. This is how this movie is intended to be viewed: after NOES and Halloween. THIS IS KEY PEOPLE!!! you MUST see A Nightmare on Elm Street, Psycho, AND Halloween to get the full effect for this one. Friday the 13th and The Silence of the Lambs don't hurt either. If you do not you can never appreciate this movie fully. There are so many little things in this one that you will pick up that make your enjoyment of this film more complete.

All that to say, this film is a very smart and witty comedy/horror film that is as funny as it is suspenseful. you never really know where it is going to go next. I'm not sure what I can say without giving away plot, but I'll do my best. This film is an addition, a parody, and an homage to the Slasher genre. it pulls it off beautifully. it perfects the genre if you will. It...it's very tongue-in-cheek. it is sort of difficult to explain the relationship this film has to the rest of the major slashers. you just have to see it for yourself (READ THE FIRST PARAGRAPH).

One of the major reasons I like this film, is that everyone in this film is HUMAN. In other slasher films, people aren't as human. As characters, you can't relate to them. take Halloween (the first one) for example, Laurie is just a character. you get no backstory from her at all (as far as I remember). she's just a random girl who some killer stalks (keep it in the perspective of the first one). and don't even get me started on her friends. all I can say is: knife fodder. with Scream, all characters are easy to relate to. what I mean is, they are clearly human characters, which brings me to my NEXT point: THE KILLER!!!

The Killer. aaah yes, the killer. Ghostface. let me start of by saying this, in any other slasher film, we'll pick on Friday the 13th this time, it goes like this: Jason could be sitting on the couch flipping channels for 90 minutes doing NOTHING and still make his kill quota for the movie. How? because the characters in his movie are so dumb this is how it would go: Jason would be sitting there and dumb chick #1 would come up to him screaming the "the killer is chasing me" scream. he wouldn't react and so she would take his machete and stab herself still screaming. it would continue like this until Final Girl would bonk him on ht head and he would get up, stretch, and go off to hibernate until the next sequel. It is just that easy for the average slasher film serial killer to kill his victims. you don't believe me? watch some of them. not Ghostface though. ohohoho no not Ghostface. no Ghostface EARNS his kills. I can't tell you what I mean though. you have to see it. this proves though, that under the awesome costume, Ghostface is just an ordinary person with ordinary strengths and skills. It makes the film a lot more believable. none of this "Arnie in his prime hit me over the head with a 100 megaton Hydrogen Bomb that went on to explode sending the sun crashing on me and I picked myself up brushed myself off and went on my way" crap. You get bored of an unkillable killer after a short time.

well, I've written out my confusing rant long enough. I hope you enjoy reading it. this film isn't perfect but I would highly suggest this one. it is certainly my favorite slasher film and it also comes with the bonus feature of a rare (I actually think one of a kind) good sequel. but, I must leave you with one final piece of advice: pay attention to the DIALOGUE. well, yeah. I've ranted long enough. (although if you want, for the people who have seen Scream, I can make a blog about all of the little...well, extra bits of this movie. trivia relations stuff like that. let me know if you want me to). but yeah. it was a great film.
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
TheMasterCriticAug 1, 2013
"Scream" is one of the most innovative slasher films of all time, if not the most. Kevin Williamson created a story so fresh that it literally gave life to an almost dead genre. "Scream" is filled with shocking moments and turned the horror"Scream" is one of the most innovative slasher films of all time, if not the most. Kevin Williamson created a story so fresh that it literally gave life to an almost dead genre. "Scream" is filled with shocking moments and turned the horror genre on it's head. This film also had a great hot young cast whom all till this day, are remembered for being a part of the most successful slasher film in history, currently. "Scream" spawned three sequels, two of which were also box-office blockbusters as well. This film is a must see. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJan 10, 2014
Probably one of the smartest horror films ever written. This film literally redefined horror in the 1990s and brought a whole new era of slasher films. The opening scene with Drew Barrymore is iconic and still one of the scariest to this day.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
Meth-dudeAug 2, 2015
First of all, the acting is pretty good and the characters are believable even though they are not all believable.The murders were pretty cool and the end was unpredictable.Wes Craven created one hell of a good movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Oct 30, 2015
Wes Craven creates the first "anti-slasher" film in Scream. I thought that watching the first Scary Movie first would ruin my enjoyment of Scream but that was not the case. I love the tone of this movie, it really doesn't give off a scaryWes Craven creates the first "anti-slasher" film in Scream. I thought that watching the first Scary Movie first would ruin my enjoyment of Scream but that was not the case. I love the tone of this movie, it really doesn't give off a scary movie vibe. The shots in the film are really fairly optimistic. I love how self aware the film is, constantly referencing the flaws in other slasher movies and also adding in a few Craven related Easter Egg. Scream is just the definition of a fun horror film that you can watch with your friends at a party. The cast in this movie are far better than most horror films. There were several actors who became Hollywood mainstays after the release of Scream. We care about our cast which seems to be hard to come by in horror and we are left guessing until the very end, with the last 30 minutes being one of the best final acts in horror. Scream gives A Nightmare on Elm Street a run for its money.

Thank you Wes Craven R.I.P
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
youlouzJan 3, 2015
This is an outstanding film, because it always twists and leaves you wit h something to think about at the end. You never know whats going to happen next in this outstanding horror movie, although it would be nice if the ending was't so cheesy.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 22, 2015
Horror maestro Wes Craven has always had more to say than his contemporaries and imitators (who have often been one and the same), a fact he proves once again with this homage to/subversion of the slasher films that thrived in the 1980s.Horror maestro Wes Craven has always had more to say than his contemporaries and imitators (who have often been one and the same), a fact he proves once again with this homage to/subversion of the slasher films that thrived in the 1980s. Scream concerns the attempts of a group of high-schoolers to avoid a serial killer in their midst. The catch: Both stalker and prey are fully aware of the conventions of the sort of film in which they appear. As in Wes Craven's New Nightmare, the director uses this awareness to comment cleverly on the genre, and unlike that film, which drastically shifted gears in its final act, Scream does not clumsily become the very thing it parodies. But don't be mistaken. Though Scream is a smart send-up, it also remains a finely crafted, tense, scary thriller from start to finish. And for a generation raised on the conventions it explores—titillation and violence are equated, and the fall from sexual purity inevitably means death—it could even be considered important. What was it that made the sight of half-naked women being sliced up so entertaining anyway? Scream would come off as an attempt at redemption for a decade of dark fantasies if it didn't find its source material so amusing. It's to the film's credit that its ironic ambivalence seems more mature than hypocritical. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
The godfather movie of teenage horror movies, directed by Wes Craven. Simply a enjoyable gore thriller accompanied with popcorn and cola.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
8
heyitsmegrif4Dec 23, 2011
Scream makes you scream, it makes you laugh, and it keeps your eyes on the screen. And it has an amazing beginning scene. I give this movie 80%. Yeah Wes Craven great job.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Horror legend, Wes Craven, wanted to mix a traditional slasher film, with a who done it mystery, while at the same time parading both. The result is Scream, which turned into a much bigger film and franchise than he expected. He wanted to doHorror legend, Wes Craven, wanted to mix a traditional slasher film, with a who done it mystery, while at the same time parading both. The result is Scream, which turned into a much bigger film and franchise than he expected. He wanted to do this sort of under the radar, with a cast of virtual unknowns, but due to its uniqueness, the movie quickly gained popularity and today is considered one of the best horror movies of all time. The cast are all household names now and the ending of this film is legendary. Twists, turns, paranoia, accusations, one liners, and good looking people is what Scream is all about. The story is a great one, the cast is solid, and when it comes to writer/directors, you can't get much better than Wes Craven. The original Scream is one that should be on your must see list! Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 8, 2012
One of the freshest horror movies ever made. A scary slasher flick, a satire of the genre, and a high school comedy all wrapped up into one with great young performances from some familiar faces.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Shawshank97Sep 18, 2012
Scream is definitely a good horror movie. But some parts are kinda stupid like the part when Billy comes back to life. But in general, is nice. And the killings are great.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeNov 14, 2012
A good horror movie, intriguing and will put you goosebumps.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
ghostface97Nov 10, 2012
Un thriller-horror adatto principalmente per i giovani che mischia sagaciamente i generi più amati dai ragazzi: horror-commedia in cui i personaggi hanno un discreto spessore. La suspense rimane alta per tutto il film, lo spettatoreUn thriller-horror adatto principalmente per i giovani che mischia sagaciamente i generi più amati dai ragazzi: horror-commedia in cui i personaggi hanno un discreto spessore. La suspense rimane alta per tutto il film, lo spettatore cerca di capire chi sia l'assassino grazie ai numerosi indizi, che durante il film vengono mostrati. Dose giusta di splatter e suspense riesce a stupire grazie a un apparato scenografico in cui si ricreano perfettamente i luoghi comuni dei giovani nei quali si rispecchieranno. Complimenti a Wes Craven che ha re-inventato il genere dei teen-horror, che era nato grazie a "Halloween" (1978) di Jonh carpenter. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
mds03Mar 3, 2013
It's a horror movie, comedy, drama, and thriller all rolled into one. Very smart and very original. It was really funny seeing the killer get beaten up by everyone he encountered.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
FranzHcriticFeb 1, 2015
It's not as scary as other horror masterpieces, but it brings back the slasher films with slick style, genuine thrills and spooks, and an astonishing wit unexpected from such a genre. The acting isn't Oscar worthy, but they carry the storyIt's not as scary as other horror masterpieces, but it brings back the slasher films with slick style, genuine thrills and spooks, and an astonishing wit unexpected from such a genre. The acting isn't Oscar worthy, but they carry the story along with the script. It's guilty fun for those who aren't slasher fans, but a joy for the slasher lovers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
FilmVirtueMar 12, 2014
An amazing horror film by veteran horror film director Wes Craven, I seriously could not get enough of it. It's full of original ideas and classic horror approaches that make this movie one of my top 10 picks.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Obby360Mar 11, 2015
Its original take of mixing old and new, gives this film modern classic status.
Surprisingly it takes itself serious enough, despite the joke on the bad horror films of the past- which is the main reason for its success. It doesn't copy past
Its original take of mixing old and new, gives this film modern classic status.
Surprisingly it takes itself serious enough, despite the joke on the bad horror films of the past- which is the main reason for its success. It doesn't copy past Wes Craven or John Carpenter classics, it stands alone.
With a good mix of tensions and scares, it gives the horror fans something to jump about, but it still has a smart story behind the killer and a good heroine.
Scream is by far one of the best horror films of the past century that has given us memorable scenes.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEddyApr 6, 2016
Go Ahead and 'Scream'

The best fright fest of the ’90s, Wes Craven’s "Scream" playfully tweaks many of the horror/ slasher conventions in place since the arrival of "Halloween" and "Friday the 13th" in the mid-’80s, but it does so with a
Go Ahead and 'Scream'

The best fright fest of the ’90s, Wes Craven’s "Scream" playfully tweaks many of the horror/ slasher conventions in place since the arrival of "Halloween" and "Friday the 13th" in the mid-’80s, but it does so with a fiendishly clever, complicated plot that makes it an instant classic, and not simply of the genre. Though it begins and ends with requisite bloody roughness, the film deftly mixes irony, self-reference and wry social commentary with chills and blood spills. And even to a veteran genre fan like myself, the ending was a genuine surprise.

Credit veteran director Craven and a newcomer, scriptwriter Kevin Williamson: Like the teen characters in "Scream," they are intimately familiar with genre conventions but are not slaves to them.

You get a sense of the wild ride ahead from the opening sequence in which a teenager (Drew Barrymore in the Jamie Lee Curtis "Halloween" mold) is tested over the phone -- at first chummily, then suddenly meanly -- by a phantom psycho caller who quizzes her about slasher movies. "If you answer correctly, you live," he warns. She doesn’t and Craven unleashes a living, knife-wielding nightmare who wears black robes and sports an Edvard Munch-"Scream"-like death mask that’s truly unsettling.

This little California town seems to be inhabited mostly by teenagers, including Sidney (Neve Campbell from "Party of Five"). Seems Sidney’s mom had been slashed to death a year ago, and her testimony had sent the killer to death row. Now Sidney’s on the killer’s kill waiting list. Soon after she survives an attack, who should come crawling in her bedroom window but boyfriend Billy Loomis (Skeet Ulrich). Arrested by the police, Billy is simply the first of many suspects, including tabloid TV journalist Gale Weathers (Courtney Cox), Deputy Dewey Reilly (David Arquette), belligerent teen rebel Stuart (Matthew Lillard) and video shop employee Randy (Jamie Kennedy). As always, the line between suspect and victim is membrane thin.

The irony of "Scream" is that all its characters seem conversant with slasher film conventions. "To successfully survive a horror movie, you have to abide by the rules," Randy reminds a group of teens gathered at an isolated farm house for a celluloid slasher fest. "You can never have sex: The minute you do, you’re as good as gone. Sex equals death. Never drink or do drugs: It’s an extension of the first. And never, ever say ‘I’ll be right back . . ..’ "
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AndrewM.Jul 12, 2004
Revolutionary in that it revived that good ol' cinematic bogie-man, the slasher film! It's not my favourite genre but, oddly enough, Halloween is one of my favourite films and it's been endlessly crowned the mother of all Revolutionary in that it revived that good ol' cinematic bogie-man, the slasher film! It's not my favourite genre but, oddly enough, Halloween is one of my favourite films and it's been endlessly crowned the mother of all 'slashers'. Oddly, again, I like Scream for completely different reasons. Whereas Halloween was discreet and stringent and visually creative, Scream is candid and accomodating for the audience, but this doesn't detract from its effect. Actually, it helps it because this time the audience knows what to expect. I'm not sure if it was intended but the humour in the film has a dual purpose: 1) it saves it from an otherwise inevitable cliched deterioration, and 2) it contributes heavily to the atmosphere by being both the antonym and antidote to the periodical slash-attacks unleashed on the viewer. In both ways, it takes Scream to a higher level than it might have otherwise reached. Craven uses these tools well, and there are definitely elements of his other well-known film, A Nightmare On Elm St. Finally, the use of popular, attractive actors makes it easy on the eyes and mind, when not reeling from the visual, tomato-sauce onslaught. It's a very effective recipe, with all the right ingredients, and one very clever chef in the kitchen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
Serial killer strikes in town, friends & family of girl targeted, reporter follows story, terror ensues.
Enjoyable comedy horror which re-invented the genre and spawned a million imitations. The Scream mask is surely now in the top horror
Serial killer strikes in town, friends & family of girl targeted, reporter follows story, terror ensues.
Enjoyable comedy horror which re-invented the genre and spawned a million imitations. The Scream mask is surely now in the top horror icons.
Great cast (Rose McGowan is stunning), the story isn't altogether new but mainly it's not scared to poke fun of itself whilst keeping the tension.
Does go a bit silly towards the end but a very watchable & like-able film.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
rotkuJun 18, 2011
It may have all been done before but this movie had some originality, the cast were believable and played the movie with just the right balance of comedy and horror. Kudos to Wes Craven for coming up with an original concept in a genre thatIt may have all been done before but this movie had some originality, the cast were believable and played the movie with just the right balance of comedy and horror. Kudos to Wes Craven for coming up with an original concept in a genre that has seen it all. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleSep 12, 2016
The classic horror satire from director Wes Craven lives up to the hype. Craven loved him some upset suburban high school girls and this on full display in Scream. A terrific satire and yet still great horror in its own right, Scream makesThe classic horror satire from director Wes Craven lives up to the hype. Craven loved him some upset suburban high school girls and this on full display in Scream. A terrific satire and yet still great horror in its own right, Scream makes you laugh and feel scared, sometimes simultaneously. However, who better to mock the horror genre than Craven? The Master of Horror knows the genre better than anyone, thus he knows the rules and knows how to poke fun at them, while using them at their most effective. In all honesty, Scream's greatest accomplishment is justifying the cliches. By having regular people mock the cliches and then fall victim to the same cliches, Craven essentially justifies them and showcases how we would all act the same way as the horror movie characters if it happened to us.

Putting modern day horror satire The Cabin in the Woods to shame, Scream manages to elicit pure terror from beginning to end, especially in the opening sequence. The least satirical scene, it shows off Craven's ability as a horror master. He creates tension, atmosphere, and fear with relative ease, which sets the tone for the rest of the film. The opening is so horrifying, it really makes the rest of the film seem that much scarier. Even better, the mystery surrounding this scene lasts until the end of the film as you are left to constantly wonder who the killer is, with conflicting clues and knowledge of cliches playing through your mind.

The story of Scream is a simple one and one that would be suitable in a typical horror film, but is incredibly effective. As is always the case, suburban horror movies are classic, due to their relatability and the way in which suburban life can be a horror for many (even if it is devoid of monsters). The story is bolstered by the constant references to other horror films that point out the cliches at every turn and almost prep you for them to come up. In many regards, Scream tips its hand so many times, yet you ignore it because you imagine it is simply mocking cliches. Instead, Scream is practically screaming at you to realize that this is a cliche horror film, just a self-aware one. Thus, the films sense of irony is incredibly rich and used very effectively.

That strength does become the main weakness at times, however. The way in which Scream pulls its punches by pointing out scary cliches just before they happen kind of ruins the atmosphere, especially towards the end. Constantly, the film points out scary moments before they happen, which lessens their impact and leaves you laughing more than anything. Given that the film sets out to be both scary and funny, this pulling of punches towards the end leaves you anything but scared. Entertained, sure, but it is clear that Craven lost sense of the balance beam he expertly toed between the two genres in the first and second acts. By the third, he goes "balls to walls" with comedy with little regard for the horror element.

Overall, Scream is a classic for good reason. Funny and entirely scary, the film features good performances across the board and will make you want to watch the referenced horror films all over again (or in my case, for the first time...). I guess have some homework to do.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
teddylukeApr 9, 2015
a nice horror with it like that at the begging of the movie the killer said didn't say who is there is a death wish and that about it. it is a good movie.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BerCJul 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

What I Personally Liked About "Scream":
Wes Craven has always been one of the better directors of modern horror films. He keeps the direction tight, he gets the shots he wants, and he knows how to pace the production to garner the maximum impact of his thrills and chills. While he might not have been at the top of his form here, he was still better than most terror-spinners from the mid-nineties. It doesn't hurt that he has a halfway decent script from Kevin Williamson to work from either. Playing off the unwritten rules of horror movies was an inventive trick that had been touched upon previously but had never been fully explored. This was a fairly witty, counter cultural screenplay that did its best to revitalize a stale genre. In addition, its twist ending was quite wild for 1996. Neve Campbell deserved the spotlight shone on her as well. You can tell she's dedicated to her craft and really believed in the material that was presented to her. I was very glad to see her in this role, particularly after not being given nearly enough to do in "The Craft" which was released earlier in the same year. I just wish she had better cast member surrounding her. The only notable exception to that statement is Jamie Kennedy. While his solo career featured a couple of hilariously bad pictures ("Malibu's Most Wanted" and "Son of the Mask" spring to mind immediately), his over-the-top style works well within the context of "Scream."

What I Personally Disliked About "Scream":
Pretty much every other cast member that is not Neve Campbell or Jamie Kennedy. Seriously. Some of them have had wonderful roles outside of this movie, but here it is a different story. David Arquette really stands out as the worst of the worst for me. He's far too cartoonish for this film. His character is far too distracting to be effective. It's like being repeatedly slammed against a brick wall every time he shows up. In a film which contains the queen b--ch lite antics of Courteney Cox, the unabashed Johnny Depp-edness of Skeet Ulrich, and the ham-and-cheese Henry Winkler provides, that's saying a lot. There's also an over reliance on teen drama to further the plot. While it nicely skewers the horror genre, it does accidentally fall prey to the soapish teen flicks of the decade with too many boyfriend/girlfriend problems and too many high school gossiping circles (the bathroom scene where Sidney hides while listening to her classmates ponder her role in the killings is cringe worthy to say the least).

My Overall Impression of "Scream":
Growing up, I held a very deep interest in horror movies. Sadly, the genre started to take a downward swing in the early nineties. Dimension bought the rights to both the "Halloween" and the "Hellraiser" series, New Line bought Jason Voorhees, and the terror we knew from the eighties started to collapse under its own weight. "Scream" was the new blood needed to pump through the veins of the terror industry and breathe life back into scary movies. It will never live up to the horror classics that came before, but it was good enough to bridge the gap until something better came along.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews