Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 25, 2003
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
16
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarisaR.Mar 9, 2006
Hey Im a nineteen Year old Jockey and i have Two three year old Thoroughbred colts There names are Stryder and Arwen, Stryder is a Pallamino, And Arwen is a Buckskin and they are 16.6 hands they are vary spirited horses and they are vary Hey Im a nineteen Year old Jockey and i have Two three year old Thoroughbred colts There names are Stryder and Arwen, Stryder is a Pallamino, And Arwen is a Buckskin and they are 16.6 hands they are vary spirited horses and they are vary competive anyways i love your Seabiscuit website anyways nice job. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
Dr.EdAug 4, 2003
If you ever want to prove the point that reading is better than watching movies, READ the book and THEN go see the movie. There is no comparison.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeK.Aug 7, 2003
This was a great movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Jul 30, 2003
Steven Spielberg once said that if he had helmed "Rainman", there wouldn't be a dry eye in the house. "Seabiscuit" will move some to tears but the number of people feigning allergies and contact lens problems will probably be far from a Steven Spielberg once said that if he had helmed "Rainman", there wouldn't be a dry eye in the house. "Seabiscuit" will move some to tears but the number of people feigning allergies and contact lens problems will probably be far from a consensus. And that's a shame. The story of "Seabiscuit" is amazing, but the job Gary Ross does is merely respectable and workmanlike. Something's missing. Too bad it's not the narrator and the black and white photos. "Seabiscuit" doesn't have the same emotional uplift that the equally cornball "Rudy" has in spades, which means Sean Astin is a better actor than a horse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SharonC.Aug 17, 2003
If only one word were permitted to describe this film, that word would undoubtedly be "epic". Though the inevitable outcome somewhat smashed the movie, this film is warm and sentimental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AppleAug 5, 2003
In racing terms, Seabiscuit the horse and the book were world class champions. However, the movie is nothing more than a cheap claimer that lacks class, competent but not outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnY.Jul 30, 2003
The script's a little heavy-handed at times, but the acting is superb and the film entertains throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
FantasyJul 30, 2003
The best way to describe Seabiscuit is that something is MISSING? The beginning is very tedious and misses out on many of the fine points contained in the fabulous book. It just plods along instead of demonstrating the explosiveness that The best way to describe Seabiscuit is that something is MISSING? The beginning is very tedious and misses out on many of the fine points contained in the fabulous book. It just plods along instead of demonstrating the explosiveness that belonged to the legendary Seabiscuit. As for the final race where they portray Seabiscuit trailing the field by 25 lengths, this is a pure Hollywood fabrication. The truth is that he was never worse than sitting second at any point. Seabiscuit the movie could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SpriggangirlAug 1, 2003
It wasn't bad. Not bad at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StarfoxAug 17, 2003
Excellent first assistant direction by Lisa Campbell. Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AbbaAug 22, 2003
Very good movie. Blows away all the other junk out now. Get passed the 45 minute history lesson at the beginning and its a wild ride. Tobey M. is in a zone right now and the other characters are spot on. Oh, one more thing...you book people Very good movie. Blows away all the other junk out now. Get passed the 45 minute history lesson at the beginning and its a wild ride. Tobey M. is in a zone right now and the other characters are spot on. Oh, one more thing...you book people need to get over it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AmberP.Aug 2, 2003
Middle of the road movie that trails the field by 30 lengths out of the starting gate as it is that slow in developing the characters. Finally, if you can stay awake after the first thirty minutes it picks up some steam, but is nothing more Middle of the road movie that trails the field by 30 lengths out of the starting gate as it is that slow in developing the characters. Finally, if you can stay awake after the first thirty minutes it picks up some steam, but is nothing more than a sappy Hollywood movie. It is forgotten as soon as you leave the theater. And that's the rub. The book is sensational and will stay with you forever. No comparison between the two, as Seabiscuit the movie is left at the starting gate. Could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaW.Aug 4, 2003
I thought this movie had only one real flaw, it held back too much. Other than that I thought it was a well made film and everyone in it did a wonderful job, especially Jeff Bridges. He's a great actor who doesn't get enough good I thought this movie had only one real flaw, it held back too much. Other than that I thought it was a well made film and everyone in it did a wonderful job, especially Jeff Bridges. He's a great actor who doesn't get enough good parts these days. As for the slow pacing in the beginning of the movie, well I like to think of it in race terms. This movie paced itself at the start of the race and charged hard to the finish line. I enjoyed it very much and was actually sad that it had to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LarryT.Aug 8, 2003
In a time when achievement and extra effort are denigrated, this is a welcome breath of fresh air. Wonderfully acted, beautifully photographed, and extremely well written.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DamianP.Sep 12, 2003
Not good. It was an insult to my bum that I had to sit through most of this movie. I want the producers to kiss it better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HaroldH.Jan 8, 2004
Wonderful story turned disappointing by the movie. Slow and not in interesting sequence. Could have been so much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobH.Feb 2, 2004
Beautiful photography, but the plot was predictable and emotionally rigged. It just didn't say anything interesting or unique.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobR.Feb 3, 2004
A good director knows not to tinker too much with a good story, while at the same time getting the story and it's message out to the audience. Ross has suceeded in this. A well-cast movie and perfectly executed scenes make you wonder if A good director knows not to tinker too much with a good story, while at the same time getting the story and it's message out to the audience. Ross has suceeded in this. A well-cast movie and perfectly executed scenes make you wonder if you've been living in a cave if you've never heard of "Seabiscuit." Exciting track scenes too!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimW.Mar 29, 2004
Not up to the book, almost like a film of clips!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackP.Jul 9, 2004
I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DevonP.Nov 27, 2003
The book was sensational and you just could not wait to turn the page. As for the movie, it was pure Hollywood glitz and little else. I wanted so much for this movie to be a blockbuster but it missed the mark. It's an okay flick but The book was sensational and you just could not wait to turn the page. As for the movie, it was pure Hollywood glitz and little else. I wanted so much for this movie to be a blockbuster but it missed the mark. It's an okay flick but nothing more. My suggestion is read the book and forget the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamE.Dec 2, 2003
A fascinating, thoughtful and moving film. It is definitely one of the best films of 2003 so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JerryH.Jul 24, 2003
It's difficult for me to rate this film because I loved the book so much. So this grade might be a bit inflated. The beginning takes it's time introducing the characters and setting, but the pace picks up once Seabiscuit is It's difficult for me to rate this film because I loved the book so much. So this grade might be a bit inflated. The beginning takes it's time introducing the characters and setting, but the pace picks up once Seabiscuit is introduced. All the actors are excellent, esp. Cooper and Bridges. It's a good film based on great book. That's the problem. The horse races are well done and get your heart going, but the final image/V.O. was a disappointment. Maybe my expectations were too high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobertHJul 27, 2003
Where to begin? As a thorougbred owner, I absolutely loved the book and was eagerly anticipating the movie. After the viewing, I came away somewhat disappointed. The acting was so-so as there is no outstanding performance by any one Where to begin? As a thorougbred owner, I absolutely loved the book and was eagerly anticipating the movie. After the viewing, I came away somewhat disappointed. The acting was so-so as there is no outstanding performance by any one individual. Charles Howard the bicycle repairman went to San Francisco with less than one buck in his pocket. He was starving until he took a job as an automobile dealer. It was the San Francisco Earthquake that gave birth to the modern day automobile when Howard used it as an ambulance. This fact is completely omitted in the movie. Seabiscuit was trained by the greatest trainer who ever lived, Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons. He was unable to do anything with the horse. The unknown horse whisperer Tom Smith retrains him into a champion. Sunny Jim later meets Tom at a race and with absolute class tells Tom it would be an honor if he could hold Seabiscuit while he is saddled. This too is omitted as it demonstrates the class of Sunny Jim. Red Pollard (Toby Maguire) is made out to be a drunk and a loner without a love interest. This too is not true as he marries his nurse after his accident. Again this is omitted in the movie. Finally, Seabiscuit had a look alike twin that Tom Smith used to deceive the reporters instead of Seabiscuit. The movie omitted this fact too. Of course to sell tickets, Hollywood had to put, what else, a Hollywood ending that drips with honey. No horse could ever come back from the magnitude of the injury they portray. But if you can get by the very slow first 30 minutes, it's an okay movie worth watching, but certainly not the blockbuster all had hoped for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnnyMovieJul 28, 2003
Good movie - entertaining - NOT great cinema though. Gary Ross could have knocked out the first 45 minutes of this film (which were slow and dull) in about 5 minutes. All in all, it's a nice film and I felt as though I got my Good movie - entertaining - NOT great cinema though. Gary Ross could have knocked out the first 45 minutes of this film (which were slow and dull) in about 5 minutes. All in all, it's a nice film and I felt as though I got my money's worth. If you're a horse person - you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanetS.Aug 13, 2003
The movie does not do justice to the book which is so superior; but having said that, Seabiscuit the movie is still good. The sad part is that they played it safe and made it into a sappy Hollywood story instead of having the faith to The movie does not do justice to the book which is so superior; but having said that, Seabiscuit the movie is still good. The sad part is that they played it safe and made it into a sappy Hollywood story instead of having the faith to present the life and times of the real Seabiscuit. If they had, they would have had a blockbuster on their hands... The truth is that if they had played it straight, the real story and especially the characters associated with him were far more than vanilla would have made a better story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MeatAug 17, 2003
Very enjoyable ride and it basically kills everything else out right now (its sad to look up at the marquee and see 11 clunkers sitting next too this pleasant story). Toby M. is in a zone now and Bridges is pleasantly solid. And the race Very enjoyable ride and it basically kills everything else out right now (its sad to look up at the marquee and see 11 clunkers sitting next too this pleasant story). Toby M. is in a zone now and Bridges is pleasantly solid. And the race scenes are riveting. The Biscuit definitely deserves a recommendation. The only negative is 45 minute history lesson at the beginnning that drags, however, you soon forget it when the dirt finally starts to fly... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenA.Jan 1, 2004
This movie was very good. I left the theater thinking "This movie was good, but not great" but then I remembered it was a movie about a horse. Then I thought. "I don't think they could have possibly made a better movie out of that This movie was very good. I left the theater thinking "This movie was good, but not great" but then I remembered it was a movie about a horse. Then I thought. "I don't think they could have possibly made a better movie out of that story. Plus, its about a horse." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KristinD.Jan 19, 2004
This movie is touching and wonderful. A pure horse-lover's movie. It is not my favorite movie in the whole entire world, but it is a quite satisfying movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CollieM.Jul 8, 2004
I can't believe this sentimental, patriotic and just plain ordinary film was nominted for Best Pic. It's not just Cold Mountain thats better than this, In America, The House Of Sand And Fog, Elephant are all way more daring, honest I can't believe this sentimental, patriotic and just plain ordinary film was nominted for Best Pic. It's not just Cold Mountain thats better than this, In America, The House Of Sand And Fog, Elephant are all way more daring, honest and satisfying then this...Tobey Maguire is the only good thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyOct 24, 2005
I never really wanted to see this because I thought it would be sappy. By accident I started watching it and was glued! I loved it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeL.Nov 25, 2003
This film kicks some serious ass. Forget the Matrix, The Hulk and Star Wars... In Seabiscuit, the actors actually act. Brilliant movie and is up there with the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyD.Dec 14, 2003
The Movie Seabiscuit is better then any other horse movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffL.Dec 17, 2003
I enjoyed the movie as much as I enjoyed the book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WAKOJAKODec 5, 2003
I avoided this film as long as I could mainly because I generally dislike predictable films, but the surprises here lie not in the plot but in the journey. All-time-classic? Naw. Best Picture material? Hardly! But some fine performances and I avoided this film as long as I could mainly because I generally dislike predictable films, but the surprises here lie not in the plot but in the journey. All-time-classic? Naw. Best Picture material? Hardly! But some fine performances and an enjoyable delight best saved for a boring, rainy day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CarolAnnJul 25, 2003
The book was brilliantly written. As much as I wanted to like the movie, it starts out very slow and takes poetic license to make it a sappy Hollywood story. Somewhat disappointing as it could have been so much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickV.Jul 26, 2003
Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarryR.Jul 26, 2003
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed Laura Hillenbrand's book, I eagerly looked forward to the movie. Gary Ross, the adapting writer and director of the film, was true to the spirit of the book and captured its feeling and era much as Ms. Having read and thoroughly enjoyed Laura Hillenbrand's book, I eagerly looked forward to the movie. Gary Ross, the adapting writer and director of the film, was true to the spirit of the book and captured its feeling and era much as Ms. Hillenbrand did in her best seller. A little "hokey" in some scenes, (i.e. too much scenic effort to make metaphors which were kind of obvious and didn't need such help), I found the film to be quite worthwhile. Perhaps trying too hard to stay close to the book, since so many potential viewers have read it, it sacrificed certain artistic licenses that might have made for a better picture. Nevertheless, this is a good movie and, as Frank Marshall, its producer said, it's an old fashioned kind of film. This is true. There are no stand outstanding acting performances although Jeff Bridges, Chris Cooper and Toby Maguire each does a good job. This is a picture that is better because of all the component parts rather than as a result of any one or two things or persons. Adequate but not great acting performances coupled with some of the best horse racing scenes you will ever see and marvelous photography all accompanied by a wonderful score by Randy Newman, rank this film as an enjoyable experience. No, the world won't come to an end if you miss it but you will have lost an interesting peek at the lives of the people who surrounded this great horse during a period in our nation's history when heroes were needed, even if they came on four legs. I give this movie an 8 because it does what a movie should do, it entertains and, for the most part, is true....true to the best selling book and true to the historic times in which all of the action takes place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcK.Sep 11, 2003
I applaud the release of an "adult" movie in the summer, and I'm glad for that reason that it did so well at the box office...maybe others will be brave and release "adult" films next summer. That being said, I was disappointed in the I applaud the release of an "adult" movie in the summer, and I'm glad for that reason that it did so well at the box office...maybe others will be brave and release "adult" films next summer. That being said, I was disappointed in the movie, especially after hearing how great it was. Incredibly sappy...uses almost every possible movie cliche there is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrianG.Sep 17, 2003
Good movie made from a great book. It totally captures the book's heart but somehow it doesn't fulfill the intentions I had for it. I am one who usually does not measure a movie's success against the source that inspires Good movie made from a great book. It totally captures the book's heart but somehow it doesn't fulfill the intentions I had for it. I am one who usually does not measure a movie's success against the source that inspires it's creation but this time I did. The great things about this movie are the cinematography... wow! I liked the Ken Burns' styled narration but why did it disappear? Chris Cooper and Toby Maguire are very good but Jeff Bridges commands the screen whenever he appears. I do think Randy Newman's score is ingratiating and there are just too many one minute scenes in this movie that prevents it from being a great movie. It's a good movie and is not a waste of time. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 19, 2004
A bland rendering. Seems genuine enough as reporting, and the few added theatrical flashes don't seem to hurt much. The horse racing scenes are very believable. The problem is that this film is about a horse. The only device for getting A bland rendering. Seems genuine enough as reporting, and the few added theatrical flashes don't seem to hurt much. The horse racing scenes are very believable. The problem is that this film is about a horse. The only device for getting into the horse's mind is what others say, and that's third person, and I wasn't convinced any of them understood the horse, thought like a horse, I don't know how a horse thinks, I don't think anybody really does. I think a movie about an animal will suffer for this reason unless it's a fictitious animal created to demonstrate human thought processes (like Babe). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennethW.Mar 18, 2004
Growing up arond horse racing I was not expecting a true tale . This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. The critics should try and live a real life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 15, 2005
Not perfect, but having a heart is surely a plus. Maguire and the horse almost perfectly mirror each other. Perhaps an underrated classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
raVenNov 23, 2003
(8.75) Most of the people who wouldn't have liked this movie probably didn't see it, because there was no false advertising involved. It is as promised: a film about a hard-luck horse and the people who found the champion in both (8.75) Most of the people who wouldn't have liked this movie probably didn't see it, because there was no false advertising involved. It is as promised: a film about a hard-luck horse and the people who found the champion in both the animal and themselves. Simple. But it's done very well, and I enjoyed watching the convergent storylines distill for the ultimate payoff--which is, of course, a happy ending. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RegOzJan 19, 2012
When I saw this at the video store I was uncertain about it....yet the theme looked good so I rented it. I was greatly surprised. It was engaging, refreshing, and smart! Not overly emotional, yet sentimental. This is a classic to me...a movieWhen I saw this at the video store I was uncertain about it....yet the theme looked good so I rented it. I was greatly surprised. It was engaging, refreshing, and smart! Not overly emotional, yet sentimental. This is a classic to me...a movie that won't age...and a movie that I think will please different types of public. I just love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Seabiscuit" is a 2003 biographical period drama about one of the greatest and most notable horses in American Horseracing History. The movie follows the story of a wealthy man (Bridges) who hires an unconventional trainer (Cooper) during The"Seabiscuit" is a 2003 biographical period drama about one of the greatest and most notable horses in American Horseracing History. The movie follows the story of a wealthy man (Bridges) who hires an unconventional trainer (Cooper) during The Great Depression to help him find an appropriate horse to enter into the races. They soon stumble upon a young man (Maguire) that they soon choose to be their jockey. I truly enjoyed this movie - there's just so much to really appreciate about it. First off, and most noticeably, is the wonderful cast of characters here. I know this movie's title makes you think this film is just about the horse, but it's also about the truly remarkable people behind him. Tobey Maguire plays Red Pollard, Seabiscuit's jockey, and his performance in this movie is really quite compelling to see. His character's stubbornness is something that you'd think you'd hate, but it's actually something I, and probably most people will, find to be his most enjoyable trait. Ross also does a really effective job of drawing parallels between Pollard and Seabiscuit. This, in a sense, helps solidify the relationship between the two characters. Chris Cooper does a really fine job of playing the unorthodox, yet effective trainer, Tom Smith. However, my most favorite character in this movie is Charles Howard, played by Jeff Bridges. There's just something about a guy, who's been dealt a bad hand of cards trying to make the best of his life do something good for society. I think It's through Howard's character and Bridges magnificent performance that we really get to see what Seabiscuit's presence throughout the Depression really meant for the American people - he was a beacon of hope. The screenplay is incredibly well done, as I find many lines of this movie to be memorable and quotable. After watching the special features, I was really impressed by the intense amount of preparation and work that went into this movie. Nearly every race was historically choreographed and rehearsed, and it really helps you gain a sense that these are the actual events as they transpired. One of the only problems I have with this movie is the length. Nearly an hour of this movie is exposition and I feel that a good amount of it could've been cut out. Did that hinder my ability to enjoy this movie? No not really, so I won't knock this movie much at all. In the end, I felt that "Seabiscuit" was a great underdog sports film with a truly inspiring tone that sticks with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
chwJul 20, 2014
Seabiscuit was an amazing movie! I thought it would be bad because family said it was boring, plus it was two hours and twenty minutes, but it turned out to be a very good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Jul 4, 2014
A great 5-star masterpiece full of comedy, heart, friendship,and inspiration. Good casting choices, good race scenes, and one of Gary Ross' best movies. A spectacular must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
missy64Oct 13, 2014
I read the book and this film didn't do any justice. The cinematography was beautifully done and that's it. The movie's story line was confusing. The screenwriter cut out so much of the book. There was no mention in the end as to whatI read the book and this film didn't do any justice. The cinematography was beautifully done and that's it. The movie's story line was confusing. The screenwriter cut out so much of the book. There was no mention in the end as to what happened to each person and Seabiscuit.

Too bad. I wish I could get my 2.2 hours back. Very long and boring for the most part.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Oct 27, 2015
It's a great movie and it is a unbelievably good and I think is a sports movie that should be watched more often to motivate everyone that any one can be great at anything, and that you should keep trying at something until you succeed
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews