Seed of Chucky

Seed of Chucky Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. 70
    Rudely funny splatter comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Chad Bixby
    60
    Recommended for the toothsome Jennifer Tilly, the manic Billy Boyd, some inventive deaths, some inspired gore, and one frankly hilarious scene involving Tilly and a decapitated corpse.
  3. By far, the most shocking carnage is Tilly carving up her persona. What a doll.
  4. 50
    Actually two movies, one wretched, the other funny. The funny one involves the Jennifer Tilly scenes.
  5. 40
    In the end it's simply another Chucky movie -- whether that's a recommendation or a warning is entirely up to you.
  6. Chintzy-looking gore-bore.
  7. Were there an award for most bizarre and dispiriting comedy-horror hybrid featuring killer dolls, the latest installment in the "Child's Play" series would have it locked up.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 10 out of 27
  1. May 11, 2016
    8
    Extremely kooky horror comedy that's not as serious as the 'child's play' trilogy but a great comedic spin off for the title character noneExtremely kooky horror comedy that's not as serious as the 'child's play' trilogy but a great comedic spin off for the title character none the less.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-892-Seed-of-Chucky-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  2. TaylorG.
    Aug 29, 2006
    7
    The Chucky movies are probably my favorite horror/comedy movies of all time. This one wasn't the greatest out of all of them, but it was The Chucky movies are probably my favorite horror/comedy movies of all time. This one wasn't the greatest out of all of them, but it was still pretty good. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seed of Chucky is the 4th sequel to the popular horror movie, Child's Play (1988) revolving around a killer doll named Chucky, trying to possess a young boy named Andy Barclay. Now 16 years after the original, we have Seed of Chucky. Seed of Chucky is the 2nd Chucky film to have taken more of a comedic turn, in order to keep the series a bit fresh and more enjoyable to a general audience. In the film, it is much different from the original 3, in that Chucky is not after Andy. Now, after the events of Bride of Chucky, we are out behind the eyes of their son/daughter Glen/Glenada, the offspring of Chucky and his girlfriend Tiffany, and like them, he is also a doll with human characteristics. In the film, the story bounces around a lot, and their are few plot holes and inconsistencies. Sometimes characters get to certain places that would seem REALLY difficult to find or even get to, but they do anyway, without an explanation, it just kind of happens.. Basically this is what happens, Glen flies to LA after seeing his alive 'parents' on TV, when he arrives, he finds them in storage of a Hollywood set and reads the chant of the old Voodoo medallion that Chucky apparently gave him after he was killed? (This makes no f****** sense...) After that, they rise from the dead and Glen tells them that he is their offspring, and after some arguing, they accept him. Shortly after this, they kill and it shows how much of a p**** Glen is compared to his parents. On the other hand, Jennifer Tilly, the actress playing Tiffany on the TV show is trying to land a movie role by sleeping with some black guy. Eventually, Chucky and Tiffany get her pregnant and they orchestrate this big plan to put their souls (Chucky, Tiffany, and Glen/Glenada) into Jennifer Tilly, her random limo driver, and one of her two babies that some how come out clean? But, Chucky at the last second decides not to do it, and he kills Tiffany, shortly after, Glen kills Chucky for some reason. Then it skips to five years later at some birthday party, and apparently, Tiffany somehow managed to transfer her soul into Jennifer, Glen's soul into the baby boy, and as for the baby girl, she just acts like Chucky with her mischievous behavior, and has red hair. Then, Glen gets some random a** present and when he opens it, it has Chucky's severed arm, which attacks him. THE END. This movie is stupid and really inconsistent, but it is fun and adds a new character to laugh at, Glen, while reciprocating the newly found comedic roots from 1998's Bride of Chucky. In this movie you basically just watch Chucky be an a**hole, while seeing some killing and doll boobs. Nonetheless, not the worst movie I have ever seen, and some of the POV shots were pretty cool. 5/10 Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    A REALLY poor attempt. Chucky is pretty much my favorite Horror movie villain. Here, he's just a pathetic joke. But, it's not his fault. JustA REALLY poor attempt. Chucky is pretty much my favorite Horror movie villain. Here, he's just a pathetic joke. But, it's not his fault. Just absolutely poor writing from a script spewed out by a dyslexic Downs syndrome patient. You can hear that Brad Dourif was really trying his best with what he was given, but even that wasn't enough. Chucky is perhaps the ONLY saving grace in this movie. Everything and everyone else is just terrible. Okay, to be honest Tiffany did have a few moments and it was funny watching the two murderous dolls have "family" issues. But that wore off fast. Overall: A crap movie that has a few enjoyable moments, but nowhere near enough to save it or even make it average. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers. I haven't seen any of the first 3 Chucky films, but fell in love with Bride Of Chucky, because of the introduction of Tiffany, played by the very beautiful Jennifer Tilly. This film, I was expecting it to be a great follow up to that great film. Sadly, it wasn't. Glen's character is, well, I liked that he was simply on a quest to find his parents, and I liked how he tapped into his killer instinct at the end of the film to kill his father, and how he didn't want to kill like his parents, but, here come the bad points. His British accent. I know that he got it from travelling with that **** at the beginning, but it just doesn't seem right. The whole Glen also Glenda also just felt unneeded, like it was something just added at the last minute to give the plot another twist. Him knowing Japanese, and doing the kung fu against Chucky, where did that come from? Maybe he learnt it from TV while in his cage, but come on! The act at the start was just crap. And the pissing! For gods sake, WTF? and how did the opening scene in that house fit in to the story? The film itself, well let me break it down. Chucky was brilliant as usual, especially the Britney Spears scene "Oops, I did it again" and the Shining parody scene. It was great to see his killer instinct unchanged, and him trying to pass it on to his son, but the masturbation scene just felt wrong. I didn't dislike him instantly trying to kill Tiffany, but I loved their character dynamic. Shame it looks like the duo won't be together again. Tiffany, brilliant like in the last film, I especially liked how she was trying to quit killing, but she knew Glen looked like a boy, why bother trying to convince herself he was Glenda? I liked that she got to be human with her children, and that her killer instinct hadn't left. Jennifer Tilly, I felt her character was too sluttish for her own good. Her complete change of character after she'd given birth felt a little tacked on and I wasn't liking her sluttish ways to get ahead with Redman. Speaking of which, he was a pretty useless character. Why bother including him? And the chauffer, he needed to be included more to have felt sympathy for me from his death. Hannah Spearrit's character, I felt a little sympathy for her, having to put up with Jennifer Tilly's sluttyness, and she needed a little more screen time. For all of this, I felt a little dissapointed by this film. It was bad, but it wasn't horrible. Collapse
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    Liked the previous Chucky films, Thought this one was absolute garbage. Incredibly stupid and needlessly comedic. There is a reason why itLiked the previous Chucky films, Thought this one was absolute garbage. Incredibly stupid and needlessly comedic. There is a reason why it took nearly 10 years to put out another film. Seed of Chucky ruined the franchise. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.