Seeking a Friend for the End of the World Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 20, 2012
    100
    It's more amusing than you might expect, and ultimately more touching than an eroding society around them deserves.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    83
    In our summertime-movie world of aliens and superheroes who look all too familiar, Dodge and Penny look all the rarer in their precious humanity.
  3. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Jun 19, 2012
    80
    A charmingly lo-fi love story.
  4. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 19, 2012
    67
    It pitches a tone between comedy and tragedy that holds unique appeal.
  5. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jun 20, 2012
    60
    Combines a deviously tragicomic take on the approaching annihilation of mankind with a irritatingly unconvincing and unnecessary love story.
  6. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jun 21, 2012
    50
    Carell's performance is enjoyable but safe, and while he and Knightley play well enough together, there's no genuine chemistry - no zap to convince us these two deserve to be the last lovers on Earth.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 18, 2012
    38
    A predictable, drawn-out romantic comedy that happens to be set in the shadow of impending apocalypse.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    This is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is thatThis is going to be one of the true 'love-it-or-hate-it' movies of recent years. I loved it, so give it a ten. What may frustrate some is that the film (though consistent throughout) does not reveal its intentions until the last third. It isn't a rom-com. It's a flat out romance. Although there are a lot of really funny comic flourishes, it isn't a comedy. What the screenplay portrays in superbly natural but affecting dialog is the growing intimacy of Dodge (hero) and Penny (heroine) in this horrific situation. Most of this is done in subtext, as the picture depicts the various reactions ordinary human beings have to the impending apocalypse. When the picture finally opens up and reveals that its subject all along has been the relationship of these two, the effect is tremendously moving. The final moments are emotionally satisfying to a degree that few love stories never achieve. I am totally at odds with the critics who found this cliched or trite - what the hell do you expect people to say to each other as the world ends?

    Knightly is excellent. Carrell is Oscarworthy. Her character is late 20's, early 30's. His is 40ish. The age discrepancy is not crazy, and in fact works fairly well in the movie. (She has energy, he has a little more wisdom, and is mildly protective.) The picture in my view is a masterpiece. Others will disagree, but you at least have reasons why those in the 'love' camp find the picture so endearing.
    Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    It's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for aIt's not a perfect movie, it's clunky and drags too long at times, but in the end this is the kind of movies that will stick with me for a long time after seeing it. The funny thing is that the movie is trying to illustrate that all the little things that bother you in life don't matter in the end, that it's all about the people and things you love, that those are the things you'll remember at the end of it all. And the movie embodies that very idea oh so well by being itself a mixed bag, but just like life it's not the pesky problems that you remember at the end, it's the good times. For this reason "Seeking a Friend for the End of the World" gets exponentially better as time goes by after seeing it, such a beautiful movie. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    The first point to be made here is that I certainly wouldn't choose Betsy Sharkey or A. O. Scott or the previous "users" as my critics ofThe first point to be made here is that I certainly wouldn't choose Betsy Sharkey or A. O. Scott or the previous "users" as my critics of choice for the end of the world (though some would certainly qualify for the role of buzz-kill if I needed one.). This is a surprisingly sweet movie (an observation from someone who usually doesn't like "sweet" movies), and it is precisely the setting of this rather corny but affecting relationship element against the "dark" but never-taken-too-seriously background of the "end of the world" that makes it so effective. (Apparently some people were expecting "Dinner with Schmucks" while others wanted either "On the Beach" or John Paul Sartre.) I don't usually like Steve Carell (too glib) and think that Keira Knightley is somewhat overrated. But here Carell's basic "sweetness" (that word again) and decency shine through his deadpan performance, and Knightley proves to be a surprisingly charming comedienne. (Sorry, I didn't see the Pirates of the Carribbean movies.) The script is admittedly uneven, but there are nevertheless some great moments (esp., the lame boyfriend, but also the cop who insists on giving the tickets despite the impending apocalypse and the employer asking the few remaining employees who wants to be CFO). More importantly, it is the evolving (albeit not entirely believable--though Scott's "copping a cuddle" seems misanthropic in the extreme) relationship between the two opposite "losers in love" and the fact that, once again, the writer never takes herself too seriously (unlike, for example, Lans von Trier) that makes the movie both likable and fairly touching. Collapse
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    The occasional humor works really well in what is mostly an incredibly bleak and touching story of romance. The ending is similar toThe occasional humor works really well in what is mostly an incredibly bleak and touching story of romance. The ending is similar to Melancholia, but not nearly as striking. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    1. just wanted to mention that I don't understand why this website is not working with mozilla firefox... 2. ok so the movie was pretty1. just wanted to mention that I don't understand why this website is not working with mozilla firefox... 2. ok so the movie was pretty decent. I feel like it was sold as a comedy but it defintely isn't. I'm not sure exactly how to describe the genre; perhaps a loveish story. The plot and acting were good. Only thing is that I somehow doubt people would act the way portrayed in the movie if the world was ending in 3 weeks (parties, radio still playing, all power still on, etc), so that takes away a little from the plot. Otherwise the movie is touching and sad at the same time which is an interesing combination of feelings. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    Seeking a Friend for the End of the World certainly has it's moments. It is a solid movie and knows both how to be serious and amusing.Seeking a Friend for the End of the World certainly has it's moments. It is a solid movie and knows both how to be serious and amusing. However between the fact that the romance was only somewhat believable and the fact that the film seemed to rely on musical interludes as scene transitions there were many flaws. There was certainly a potential that this film did not reach. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    1
    Great idea, cast, story and Steve Carell is an amazing actor! Yet, the whole movie did NOT work. It was slow, boring and not funny. The movieGreat idea, cast, story and Steve Carell is an amazing actor! Yet, the whole movie did NOT work. It was slow, boring and not funny. The movie had alot of potential, yet it didnt go anywhere. a very big disappointment for me. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.