User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlanW.
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    Beautifully shot and brilliantly acted.
  2. yumint
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    The true story of Seraphine, her desperate poverty as a maid, her love of trees and water, creating swirling energies of color in her secret painting, paints mixed from blood and flowers and stolen wax, all beautifully acted, gives the movie a premier place among films about artists.
  3. josephc
    Sep 5, 2009
    1
    This movie couldn't have been slower or more boring. that final endless shot was neither "balm": nor "benediction" ... it was deadly, and symptomatic of every painfully prolonged moment that preceded it. this film was dark, dreary, and tedious from its first shots to its final slo-mo slog through the proverbial molasses. did i really see the same film that the critics raved about???
  4. WillT
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    The producer never learned to edit apparently. Would have been great if condensed to 1 hour.
  5. JoelB
    Aug 6, 2009
    3
    This was a slow, boring movie - and I love art, the process of creating art, and good movies. It tried to present accurately who Seraphine was but by not going beyond what it knew, it portrayed a woman's outside with no sense of what was inside. It would have been a better movie, if had been moring daring and given us some significant inner thoughts and feelings even if they were This was a slow, boring movie - and I love art, the process of creating art, and good movies. It tried to present accurately who Seraphine was but by not going beyond what it knew, it portrayed a woman's outside with no sense of what was inside. It would have been a better movie, if had been moring daring and given us some significant inner thoughts and feelings even if they were technically fictional. By the way, the expert who spoke after the showing I saw, admitted that as far as she knew the only real thing about the whole movie were the paintings. I've been amazed that no critic has given this movie a poor review - what were they thinking? Expand
  6. sunflower
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    This was a brilliant movie regardless of its so called "slow pace". It had perfect atmosphere, perfect timing, perfect everything. I particularly liked the main actress and the way she brought life and a tacit mystery to the character. Seraphine was fascinating from start to finish.
  7. laurenh
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Brilliant use of lighting and cropped shots.
  8. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    Not only was I pleased to learn more about an artist whose work I have seen and admired, but this film made a careful effort to be convincing. I believed in the portrait it made of her. The actress deserved an award. Also the
    cinematography and the script and the casting were all exemplary. It was hard to finish because I read in Wikipedia about her, but the film managed to show every
    Not only was I pleased to learn more about an artist whose work I have seen and admired, but this film made a careful effort to be convincing. I believed in the portrait it made of her. The actress deserved an award. Also the
    cinematography and the script and the casting were all exemplary. It was hard to finish because I read in Wikipedia about her, but the film managed to show every part of her life with grace .
    Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Séraphine is one of the most evocative films about an artist I've ever seen--and in its treatment of madness one of the least condescending.
  2. Reviewed by: Eddie Cockrell
    80
    An extraordinary performance by vet thesp Yolande Moreau in the title role.
  3. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    80
    Séraphine's dependence on her patron--a cultivated but emotionally detached homosexual, who knew a fellow outsider when he saw one but came and went in her life without warning--is almost as unbearably moving as her inevitable unraveling--when money and fame cut the artist off from her creative wellsprings and drove her over the edge.