Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 30, 2005
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 762 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
651
Mixed:
27
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ScottOct 11, 2005
Finally, a film which treats viewers as intellegent people... Serenity is what I want to see more of in the cinema. Fast paced, witty, and moving, it shows Sci Fi can have interesting characters and Action movies can make you think.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
5
TracyROct 16, 2005
Entertaining enough, but a bit of a rip-off of the 80's British sci-fi series Blakes 7. Enough things changed to avoid direct plagiarism, but very, very, very close. Too close.
2 of 11 users found this helpful
10
CharlotteG.Oct 2, 2005
Fun ride, fast pacing, great villan and best of all...great lines. I love this movie and love the TV series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcB.Oct 5, 2005
Simply one of the best Sci-Fi movies I've ever seen. I am trying desperately to get the word out, and so far have taken several people to see the film. All of them have loved it. Whether you saw the original series or not, go see this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RonV.Oct 5, 2005
If you didn't like the TV show - the movie won't be any more enjoyable. Just as painfully trite and witty as you remembered it, with bad effects, weak cinematographjy, weak soundtrack and TV-quality acting. "Buffy's A-Team in If you didn't like the TV show - the movie won't be any more enjoyable. Just as painfully trite and witty as you remembered it, with bad effects, weak cinematographjy, weak soundtrack and TV-quality acting. "Buffy's A-Team in Space" - Could barely make it an hour through until I walked out. I may see the end when it comes on the SciFi channel. Really don't care if I do or not. Comparing this to any real film, sci-fi or not, does terrible injustice to the art of movies. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Oct 6, 2005
While it misses the Sino-Western atmosphere of the TV series to some extent, Serenity creates a compelling world and compelling characters to inhabit it. Edge-of-the-seats action, and a wonderful cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottG.Oct 9, 2005
Rocked from start to finish. Best action movie I've seen this year (better than Batman, which I liked a lot). Great characters, funny dialogue, loads of suspense and did I mention the action?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeK.Sep 30, 2005
I was worried that my friends that have never seen the show wouldn't like this movie. To my surprise, they both enjoyed it. Awsome movie, lets hope for a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomOct 26, 2006
Great sequel to the greatest TV-series. Finally meet the Reavers and get to know how they became what they are now...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanB.Oct 1, 2005
Staggering. I had high expectations but they were well on their way to being exceeded by the time the opening credits started. That guy knows how to craft a story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinD.Oct 1, 2005
Best Sci Fi film in recent memory. Beats Star Wars, beats the Matrix, etc. I'd say its probably the 2nd best film of the year after Batman Begins, but they aren't far apart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
minusplusOct 14, 2005
The best sci-fi i've seen in ages!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RostokovAOct 10, 2005
Relative to almost any classic western or sci-fi (eg: High Noon, Alien) this film was a failure. Why is the teen market (at which this is obviously aimed) calculated to be so undiscerning? The story was derivative and muddled, and crucially Relative to almost any classic western or sci-fi (eg: High Noon, Alien) this film was a failure. Why is the teen market (at which this is obviously aimed) calculated to be so undiscerning? The story was derivative and muddled, and crucially lacked tension or suspense. The characters traded constantly in witless banter allegedly funny due to its sarcastic intonation (a peculiar mainstay of much modern American comedy). The direction was sloppy and generic; I often had little idea of what action was taking place due to shaky close-up camerawork and poor choreography. Chiwetel Ejiofor had at least some gravitas to his delivery, but could not rescue a script in desperate need of the bold clarity and dynamism of the old westerns from which its influences are obviously taken. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
BenjitheGreatDec 24, 2005
This is a great little sci-fi flick that should have received more cred in the box office. By having likable characters, wit, and an engaging story we are reminded why the new Star Wars movies sucked so badly. I was also impressed with the This is a great little sci-fi flick that should have received more cred in the box office. By having likable characters, wit, and an engaging story we are reminded why the new Star Wars movies sucked so badly. I was also impressed with the special effects in this film wich werent overdone or corny at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkMOct 2, 2005
Thank you Joss, mission accomplished.
9 of 10 users found this helpful
10
PeggyC.Oct 2, 2005
Would love to see this as a new series on the SciFi channel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrSevensOct 2, 2005
Wow! 'Serenity' is a superb movie. Other scifi writers need to take a lesson from Joss Whedon and 'Serenity'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Oct 3, 2005
I can't believe that this was the best film I've seen all year.. but it was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherR.Oct 3, 2005
Wow! Just Wow, this is Joss' work at its finest!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanZ.Oct 3, 2005
I am a huge fan of the series and currently own it. Serenity is an amazing movie. It knows how to jerk the heartstrings in one moment and cause a laugh in the next. The characters are so easy to relate to and a person really become attached I am a huge fan of the series and currently own it. Serenity is an amazing movie. It knows how to jerk the heartstrings in one moment and cause a laugh in the next. The characters are so easy to relate to and a person really become attached to them. They're REAL people instead of characters from a story. Joss Whedon is an genius when it comes to things like that and I am anticipating the next 2 in the trilogy. I can't wait to see them though I'm not sure I can make it through them since the Serenity itself made me cry. I would and am recommending to everyone to go see this movie and watch the 14 episodes of the tv series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 4, 2005
Best sci-fi film I've seen for a long while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Oct 5, 2005
Won't win an Oscar but it certainly was entertaining. If you enjoy Sci-Fi and action movies don't miss this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeB.Oct 6, 2005
With one tenth of one percent of the budget of Star Wars Ep. 1 (and it shows), Whedon creates a movie thats 100 times more enjoyable. Nothing that came out this summer was nearly as fun... Do yourself a favor and check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaveningB.Oct 6, 2005
I think this movie's gonna be another sleeper hit, like it's sister show Firefly. I don't think enough people are going to go see this film and enjoy it. I went because I enjoy anything Wedon touches...but some folks just I think this movie's gonna be another sleeper hit, like it's sister show Firefly. I don't think enough people are going to go see this film and enjoy it. I went because I enjoy anything Wedon touches...but some folks just plain HATE him. If you hated Buffy, Angel, or Firefly then you'll hate it! If you're a sci-fi nut, or a Wedon-Worshiper you'll dig it. I thought it was the best film I've seen this year. Miles better than anything I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
n.j.Oct 8, 2005
Good plot + good chemistry between actors + unexpected humor + good action = great movie. I thought it was the best show that I have seen this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KallyG.Sep 30, 2005
To me, this wasn't as much Firefly as a standalone involving my favourite characters and universe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Sep 30, 2005
Now if you see my comment you will wonder what does this guy have to say well i wont tell what serinity is like but i will say these 3 words GO SEE SERENITY!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StefanSep 30, 2005
While the opening jumped about perhaps a bit quickly for someone who hasn't seen the television show, if you're willing to stick with it for about 5-10 minutes, the technically amazing single shot that introduces all the main While the opening jumped about perhaps a bit quickly for someone who hasn't seen the television show, if you're willing to stick with it for about 5-10 minutes, the technically amazing single shot that introduces all the main characters does a very good job of catching you up. From that point on, there are solid special effects, and interesting storyline on a fairly grand scale, and some of the best fight choreography I've ever had the pleasure to watch, but the true highlights of the movie are the comparatively scenes allowing the relationships between the characters to truly play out. Watching adversaries who resepect each other come to realize that their conversation will end in violence, or a brother and sister who really truly care for each other, you realize that basic human interaction is what drives this film. And in the final act, that is where the film takes it's boldest steps...not as sci-fi, but as a solid, character driven drama. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertF.Jan 1, 2006
The movie rocked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkR.Jan 2, 2006
This movie is awesome! A must-see sci-fi film of true imagination and energy. The characters, dialogue and effects rock!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jan 7, 2006
Suprisingly good, but by no means fantastic. However, i see a lot of potential if the series continues.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JasonS.Apr 3, 2006
I was a huge Firefly fan and really looked forward to this movie. However it suffers from several problems, the 9 central characters from the series are just too many for a movie and for people not familiar with the TV series must have I was a huge Firefly fan and really looked forward to this movie. However it suffers from several problems, the 9 central characters from the series are just too many for a movie and for people not familiar with the TV series must have seemed very 2 dimensional. The other main issue is that it doesn't really work as Sci-Fi,some minor points are the solar system with numerous habitable planets/moons all with the same gravity (just doesn't make sense), the brightest planet (Miranda) is supposedly the furthest out, the location of Mr Universe's transmitter etc. but the single biggest issue is the Reavers, we're told there are only 30,000 of these essentially mindless zombies yet they are able to run starships and in the 6 or 7 years since their creation the Alliance military have been totally unable to deal with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanL.May 24, 2006
If you are one of those people who appreciate a good story, plenty of action, and some genuine fun, Serenity is a good fit for you. This is the silver screen portrayal of the beloved (but short-lived) Firefly TV show. The characters in the If you are one of those people who appreciate a good story, plenty of action, and some genuine fun, Serenity is a good fit for you. This is the silver screen portrayal of the beloved (but short-lived) Firefly TV show. The characters in the movie all live up to their past acclaim and also do a good job of welcoming new visitors to Joss Whedon's amazing western/sci-fi universe. Please, if you have any love for the science fiction genre, give this a try. Then, if you love the movie, for godsakes, buy the Firefly Box Set! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PlacidDMay 6, 2009
One of the best, if not the best sci-fi movies i have seen. A viewer would do himself a huge favor to watch the Firefly series first though, in order to get backstories sorted, etc, as the movie moves very quickly, and can become confusing One of the best, if not the best sci-fi movies i have seen. A viewer would do himself a huge favor to watch the Firefly series first though, in order to get backstories sorted, etc, as the movie moves very quickly, and can become confusing on its own. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
LightDeathMay 31, 2010
A great movie that exemplifies Josh Whedon's enigmatic writing with the best of all scifi genres, cowbuys in space!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AletheaA.Oct 10, 2005
Stellar. A few fans will have major disappointments (which I cannot disclose for fear of spoiling someone's viewing of it) but overall it's thrilling and well made. Must-see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveL.Oct 1, 2005
Pretty damn great. can't believe how much was packed into two hours. the only real gripe i have is that parts were a bit too stereotypically hollywood, especially the climactic fight scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AliCOct 10, 2005
Entertaining Nonsense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChiwetelEOct 10, 2005
Is this a film for intelligent adults looking for a decent night of escapism and/or entertainment? No. Its a bland, monotonous, stupid, derivative bore. And, to add insult to injury, it is laced with some of the most painfully unfunny Is this a film for intelligent adults looking for a decent night of escapism and/or entertainment? No. Its a bland, monotonous, stupid, derivative bore. And, to add insult to injury, it is laced with some of the most painfully unfunny dialogue yet heard in a cinema. AVOID. (If you're an intelligent adult.) Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
GregS.Oct 1, 2005
A GREAT movie! Must see for any sci-fi fan, especially if you've seen even a single episode of Firefly. Let's make this movie #1 at the box office so we can push them into making another 2 movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ValA.Oct 11, 2005
If you like scifi, this movie doesn't disappoint. If you like humor, this movie doesn't disappoint, if you like action, this movie doesn't disappoint. But if you were a fan of the series, prepare for all of that, plus the If you like scifi, this movie doesn't disappoint. If you like humor, this movie doesn't disappoint, if you like action, this movie doesn't disappoint. But if you were a fan of the series, prepare for all of that, plus the bittersweet emotion of closure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JjudyT.Oct 1, 2005
Good effort but the TV show was better. Hated taht he got rid of an impprtant character. Ending was weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaF.Oct 1, 2005
Serenity is not a perfect movie. The score is sometimes clunky, the camera work sometimes amateurish, and the plot devices sometimes a bit TOO convenient. But I give it a perfect score because it is so unique, original and captivating, that Serenity is not a perfect movie. The score is sometimes clunky, the camera work sometimes amateurish, and the plot devices sometimes a bit TOO convenient. But I give it a perfect score because it is so unique, original and captivating, that it is unlike any other movie in theatres. Serenity is a definite must-see movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PratikP.Oct 1, 2005
Simply brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CraiganU.Oct 14, 2005
Fantastic: Serenity is the best of all possible worlds (sci fi, western, comedy, zombie).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenOct 17, 2005
Great Movie! I never saw the TV series and had no problem following it. I thinking about buying the series on DVD now to see the long term character build up an then see the movie again on Video. Much better than Star Wars prequels. This Great Movie! I never saw the TV series and had no problem following it. I thinking about buying the series on DVD now to see the long term character build up an then see the movie again on Video. Much better than Star Wars prequels. This won't let you down unless your humorless and witless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCOct 19, 2005
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillS.Oct 2, 2005
I am a Joss Whedon fan (from Buffy to Firefly) and this movie had all the heart and soul that I have come to expect. It was true to the series and a pleasure from start to finish. Even my wife--who has spent limited time in Whedon I am a Joss Whedon fan (from Buffy to Firefly) and this movie had all the heart and soul that I have come to expect. It was true to the series and a pleasure from start to finish. Even my wife--who has spent limited time in Whedon land--thought it could not have been any better. Twenty minutes (or less) into the movie and I already wanted to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennyOct 2, 2005
Excellent in every sense of the word. Joss didn't miss a step from the show to the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Oct 2, 2005
It surpasses the expectations of even the most die-hard Firefly fan. Quite simply, the best sci-fi thrill ride since Empire Strikes Back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TigranH.Dec 13, 2005
Outstanding Sci-Fi Epic Drama...Perfect Story, great acting and effects that come close to Star Wars...Much smarter and better movie then Star Wars post Episodes...Let's hope it gets 2 sequels!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StorminOct 2, 2005
Outstanding movie! It kept all the charm and humor of the Firefly series and yet was credible and engaging on the big screen. Bring on the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AyonJ.R.Oct 2, 2005
George Lucas should take notes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackR.Oct 2, 2005
I'm hooked. I want a gorram sequel !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnROct 22, 2005
I didn't walk out (though I though about it). The little house on the prairie dialogue and costuming didn't work for me. It was like they were trying to hard to be different by being cliche. Much of the movie felt like a half-life I didn't walk out (though I though about it). The little house on the prairie dialogue and costuming didn't work for me. It was like they were trying to hard to be different by being cliche. Much of the movie felt like a half-life like video game, it made me want to leave the movie and play my x-box. I don't understand what people saw in this movie. Do we have such low standards nowdays? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
bbeeOct 20, 2005
Never saw the series and had no problem following the plot so i dont know what the others are talking about. they must be hicks. this movie well deserves a second viewing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.D.Oct 24, 2005
You did not have to see the series Firefly to understand Serenity. This was a well written movie much better than the latest Star Wars Trilogy. This is a diffinate must see for Sci-fi fans and non Sci-fi fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ImmesysOct 26, 2005
Us Browncoats have been waiting a while for this movie, we were not dissapointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiMajorOct 2, 2005
I was on the edge of my seat the whole movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveH.Oct 29, 2005
So much better than the last 3 Star Wars. Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffS.Oct 3, 2005
For the first time, in a long time, you will be subjected to material that will not be able to predict. No more Hollywood cookie cutter plots and drama. Whedon is a master. Give us back the series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DonH.Oct 3, 2005
I didn't see the TV series and I thought Serenity was great. Not overly long on plot but the action sequences were engrossing and special effects very convincing, especially considering its rather low budget. The movie was well-paced I didn't see the TV series and I thought Serenity was great. Not overly long on plot but the action sequences were engrossing and special effects very convincing, especially considering its rather low budget. The movie was well-paced with an off-beat sense of humor and a satisfying ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArbyOct 3, 2005
Loved it. As a fan of the series, I expected to be blown away, but Serenity exceeded my expectations in all aspects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkM.Oct 3, 2005
Very entertaining movie, even more so if you've already seen "Firefly." If you were a fan of Star Wars as a kid and now consider yourself an adult with a soft spot for sci-fi, this is the movie for you. I can't give it a 10 because Very entertaining movie, even more so if you've already seen "Firefly." If you were a fan of Star Wars as a kid and now consider yourself an adult with a soft spot for sci-fi, this is the movie for you. I can't give it a 10 because one of the characters from the TV series gets short shrift, and the editing is a bit rough in places. Other than that, worth multiple viewings, here's hoping there are sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanD.Oct 3, 2005
I'm a big fan of Firefly, so it's a little hard for me to see Serenity as a movie by itself. I do think that Serenity does a masterful job of both continuing the series and standing on its own as an accessible sci-fi feature. I'm a big fan of Firefly, so it's a little hard for me to see Serenity as a movie by itself. I do think that Serenity does a masterful job of both continuing the series and standing on its own as an accessible sci-fi feature. Whedon's writing is, as always, witty on banter and remarkably graceful on plot. It's amazing how much of Firefly's backstory he manages to squeeze into the dialogue without sounding redundant to the show's fans. Thsi makes for an entertaining, character driven story spiced up with some heated action sequences. On a scale of 1 to 10, it's a Yay. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnT.Oct 4, 2005
This is a well-written movie, with action, humor, and characters you will care about. It happens to take place in a sci-fi setting, but the movie is about the people. Don't miss this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
IlanOct 4, 2005
okay movie. LOL, it got robbed at the box office, only made it to second place with better reviews then the first place movie, FlightPlan! To quote IGN " serenity got robbed" HA, how does it feel Joss Whedon? like you robbed millions of dark okay movie. LOL, it got robbed at the box office, only made it to second place with better reviews then the first place movie, FlightPlan! To quote IGN " serenity got robbed" HA, how does it feel Joss Whedon? like you robbed millions of dark angel fans, with a show that got cancels mid season. still, okay move. so i kinda forgive ya! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisL.Oct 5, 2005
The most enjoyment I've had in a theater since long, long ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VeronicaB.Oct 5, 2005
Not only a rollercoaster ride during the viewing, it left me thinking about all the ideas and morality tales for days afterward. I enjoyed this movie tremendously, as did everyone I've spoken with who has seen it, and I can't Not only a rollercoaster ride during the viewing, it left me thinking about all the ideas and morality tales for days afterward. I enjoyed this movie tremendously, as did everyone I've spoken with who has seen it, and I can't decide if I want Joss to make more like it or take it back to the small screen. A wonderful dilemma to be sure! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregLOct 6, 2005
If you loved the show, you will love this film. If you didn't see the show, you'll probably still love this film. Very well done. Best sci-fi film I've seen in a long time, with great story, writing, acting, and special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CDOct 6, 2005
Only a few months ago, a friend let me borrow his Firefly DVDs. Since the show only had 11 episodes, it didn't take long to get caught up on the series. I loved the series, and most importantly, I was ready for Serenity... and I LOVED Only a few months ago, a friend let me borrow his Firefly DVDs. Since the show only had 11 episodes, it didn't take long to get caught up on the series. I loved the series, and most importantly, I was ready for Serenity... and I LOVED it! I wanted more and more and more! ... I saw it with a guy who never saw the show. He really enjoyed it and now he's ought the DVDs and will probably see the movie again. Yeah, there might be some character development problems if you've not seen the show... but there's no excuse! The series isn't that many episodes, so go rent or buy the DVD set and get caught up on the show, and prepare to don your brown coat... because you will be hooked!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckB.Oct 6, 2005
Do you remember the first time you saw "Star Wars?" How'd you feel afterwards? Like George Lucas had been following you around, making notes about what you read, what you watched, what you loved? Like he'd interviewed your friends, Do you remember the first time you saw "Star Wars?" How'd you feel afterwards? Like George Lucas had been following you around, making notes about what you read, what you watched, what you loved? Like he'd interviewed your friends, your relatives, checked with Santa about your Christmas wish lists? Do you remember how many people you dragged back to the theatre, over and over, converting all your friends like some demented Jedi missionary? Do you remember how you waited for "Return of the Jedi", how you wrote letters about how it shouldn't be named "Revenge of the Jedi" and you stood in line for tickets for 3 days? How long's it been since you felt that way? Yeah, you're in your 40's now, you've got a 40-hour-a-week job that you spend 70 hours a week doin', your wife wants you to wallpaper the bathroom, your kids are away at college buying I-Pods with their book money, it just cost you $70 to have your dog's teeth cleaned and all you wanna do is feel like you did back then. Well, this is your lucky day, my friend; you have a chance to relive that experience. Joss Whedon has brought you an early Christmas present called "Serenity." You've heard of Joss; "Buffy, the Vampire Slayer," "Angel" and a little series on Fox called "Firefly." That last was a special kind of show; great writing, a tight cast, a haunting score and a story line that made all the other sc-fi you'd seen lately seem like episodes of "Meet the Press." Fox did their best to kill it; they refused to show the pilot, they showed episodes out of order, they pre-empted it and then abandoned it with 3 episodes left unaired. Like 40 or 50 other Fox shows in recent years, it was dead. But it wasn't dead. The fans, Browncoats, as they call themselves, immediately started writing letters, making phone calls, posting messages on sc-fi web sites and blogs, all in an effort to save the show. That, and Joss wouldn't quit. He told the cast they were cancelled and, almost in the same breath, told them not not to give up, that he'd find them a home. Together they made enough noise that Fox decided to release the series on DVD, figuring that'd shut the fans up and they could go back to putting quality shows on the air like "The Simple Life." And DVD sales took off. Word spread, mostly fan to fan. People began having DVD viewing parties, buying DVD for friends, setting up booths an sci-fi conventions to promote the show and the DVD's with no help from Fox. You see, they loved the show and it's charachters and the folks who gave them life. And, they made enough noise (and bought enough DVDs) that they got the attention of Universal Studios who, perhaps remembering Star Trek the above mentioned Star Wars , decided to spring $40,000,000 for a movie. It was money well spent. "Serenity" is everything the series and the above mentioned franchises were, and more. Mr Whedon, being simply the most eloquent script writer on the planet, has given the film a story line that not only satisfies (at least, temporarily) the Fireflyistas, it's a knock down, kick butt film in it's own right. I won't go into plot details here; the web abounds with plenty of reviews that'll explain the story. I'm here to explain the heart. See it now. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll cheer, you'll tell your friends and drag 'em to the theatre and wait in line three days for the sequel. You'll regain your youth. And the next coat you buy just might be a bit brown. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarlandW.Oct 6, 2005
I'm a Firefly fan, but I came to the film with what I thought were overly high expectations. What I saw thrilled me--it was funny, the action was alive, and the film had momentum. I do wonder if those unfamiliar with Firefly would be I'm a Firefly fan, but I came to the film with what I thought were overly high expectations. What I saw thrilled me--it was funny, the action was alive, and the film had momentum. I do wonder if those unfamiliar with Firefly would be able to fully appreciate the warm, familial feeling among the crew members, especially since the film hits such a dark stride. But for me, 10 out of 10!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lanieh.Oct 7, 2005
Movie totally rocked. While I was disappointed in the loss of a major character, I was absorbed in the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MariaOct 7, 2005
Saw it last night - I'm a massive Joss fan anyway and having watched Firefly with great enthusiasm nothing was lost on the movie. The characters still kept all the wit and humour and humanity and the plot was superb. Well done Joss, Saw it last night - I'm a massive Joss fan anyway and having watched Firefly with great enthusiasm nothing was lost on the movie. The characters still kept all the wit and humour and humanity and the plot was superb. Well done Joss, can't wait for the next one, you've really gone and done it now! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFOct 8, 2005
The little touches set Serenity apart. For one, it understands the value of silence. Silence is the secret to effective horror and suspense, which the movie packs plenty of. That's why the cacophonous Star Wars prequels were so The little touches set Serenity apart. For one, it understands the value of silence. Silence is the secret to effective horror and suspense, which the movie packs plenty of. That's why the cacophonous Star Wars prequels were so depressingly sterile. Outer-space flights and battles in Serenity are appropriately quiet, not just for effect but because apparently somebody was paying attention in physics class--sound requires a medium. The only audible ship battles take place in atmosphere. Why should I praise realism in a space western? I don't know...it was so refreshing to see! Also, taking a hint maybe from Spielberg's War of the Worlds, the Reaver heat rays look and sound menacing. These aren't the cute little blasts of Star Wars, but jagged beams of death that hum ominously. The Reavers' quick viciousness is shocking, and their predatory ships invite frightened fascination. (No spoilers here, just know that Reavers make Klingons look like Care Bears.) For all its balletic violence and clever lines, Serenity respects the golden rule: make your film character-driven and the action will have weight, the quips will hold interest, and even cowboy space opera is possible. The acting isn't perfect, and hackneyed cuteness occasionally surfaces. But by the ending Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AileenO.Oct 8, 2005
What sci-fi should be. Original, thought-provoking, character & story driven -- Joss is the king of this genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrissyB.Sep 27, 2005
Possibly the most unique film I've seen all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RandyRotenSep 27, 2005
Joss Whedon has accomplished a tremendous feat in birthing a cult-driven feature film production from an aborted television series. A seamless integration of what-has-come-before with where-we-are-now enables both fans and neophytes to have Joss Whedon has accomplished a tremendous feat in birthing a cult-driven feature film production from an aborted television series. A seamless integration of what-has-come-before with where-we-are-now enables both fans and neophytes to have great fun in this terrific living-on-the-edge-will-we-survive-the-next-challenge thrill ride. Serenity reunites the television cast as the crew and passengers of an old parts-falling-off Firefly-class transport ship. Mr. Elley Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinSep 28, 2005
Even if you're not a fan of Whedon, the sharp dialogue, crisp pacing, characterization and genuine heartfelt emotion makes Serenity one of the best films out there this year, and lifts it miles above the sci-fi/action drivel that has Even if you're not a fan of Whedon, the sharp dialogue, crisp pacing, characterization and genuine heartfelt emotion makes Serenity one of the best films out there this year, and lifts it miles above the sci-fi/action drivel that has been released by the studios in the past decade. Sharp, smart, clever and engaging, Serenity is a must see! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveF.Sep 29, 2005
Serenity is definitely a movie for the Firefly fans. If you have not seen the 13 episodes of the original series that FOX so lamely tried to kill in the fall of 2002 then you've truly missed out on one of the best things to come along Serenity is definitely a movie for the Firefly fans. If you have not seen the 13 episodes of the original series that FOX so lamely tried to kill in the fall of 2002 then you've truly missed out on one of the best things to come along in the history of Television. Even if you don't believe the millions of converts who made the movie possible, Serenity is an excellent movie on it's own, with entertainment value for everyone, even if you aren't a fan of Sci Fi. In a summer full of bad movies that I should have missed, this is one all should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelicaASep 29, 2005
I'm a huge fan of the T.V series and Joss Whedon has certainly exceeded my expectations with Serenity. It's fabulous combination of comedy, thrilling, action and heartwrenching scenes, I'm definitely going to be seeing it I'm a huge fan of the T.V series and Joss Whedon has certainly exceeded my expectations with Serenity. It's fabulous combination of comedy, thrilling, action and heartwrenching scenes, I'm definitely going to be seeing it again and I encourage fans, and even those who have NEVER seen it before, to go see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Sep 29, 2005
Painfully good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyS.Sep 30, 2005
Just fabulous. You don't need to have watched the series to thoroughly enjoy Serenity. Three words: Go see it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.R.Sep 30, 2005
The movie is great for the fans- and will definitely be entertaining for anyone looking to have 2 hours of fun action. Definitely this movie if you are on the fence about seeing it. The movie, like the show, has the action and humor, but itThe movie is great for the fans- and will definitely be entertaining for anyone looking to have 2 hours of fun action. Definitely this movie if you are on the fence about seeing it. The movie, like the show, has the action and humor, but it also has answers. This made it feel like they covered what would have been revealed in another 2 years of Firefly tv show episodes if they had kept going. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheoB.Jan 10, 2006
If you missed it on the big screen, catch this ingenious, thought-provoking gem on DVD. Its pseudo-B movie-ish cover art notwithstanding, the film inside is an compactly-built and exhilerating SF romp replete with fresh (and very talented) If you missed it on the big screen, catch this ingenious, thought-provoking gem on DVD. Its pseudo-B movie-ish cover art notwithstanding, the film inside is an compactly-built and exhilerating SF romp replete with fresh (and very talented) young stars, clever dialogue that gives viewers credit for intelligence, head-snapping action sequences, shocks, laughs, suspense and a twisting plot that, despite its occasional whiff of over-familiarity, satisfies emotionally while whetting the appetite for future adventures with these engaging characters. One of the best, most underrated genre films of 2005. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RanG.Jan 2, 2006
Best sci-fi movie in the last 25 years, all Star Wars prequels, and "Return of the Jedi" included. But also a fun, well-made movie that grabs your interest and never lets it go. Lucas should have seen this before making "Revenge".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.Jan 22, 2006
Serenity, although overlooked by audiences, was one of the strongest movies of 2005. The ensemble cast is terrific, the writing is tight and witty, and despite its rather modest budget (for this type of movie in this day and age) the Serenity, although overlooked by audiences, was one of the strongest movies of 2005. The ensemble cast is terrific, the writing is tight and witty, and despite its rather modest budget (for this type of movie in this day and age) the cinematography and special effects are seamless. Although the series has grown on me since its original airing, I felt the movie was much stronger and more cohesive than the TV series. In short, this film exceeded my expectations by a great deal--I was genuinely moved by what Whedon and Co. were able to accomplish. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulG.Oct 30, 2006
I had never even heard of the T.V. series, Firefly, when a friend turned me on to SERENITY. I loved the movie the first time I saw it. Original, funny and daring with wonderful acting. After my 5th viewing, I went out and purchased the I had never even heard of the T.V. series, Firefly, when a friend turned me on to SERENITY. I loved the movie the first time I saw it. Original, funny and daring with wonderful acting. After my 5th viewing, I went out and purchased the Serenity DVD. I think I've seen it 9 times now and it is just as good as the first time. This is a well written movie, with great characters, including: a brilliantly devilish bad-guy, and an imperfect hero who you can't help but like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillKJan 7, 2006
ShInEy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelH.Jan 9, 2006
Fantastic Movie from an amazing story line, bring back the stories!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielM.Mar 29, 2006
May they make many more. 'Cause we'll see'em.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Apr 3, 2006
Not as deep as it appears, but easy to follow. The bantering dialogue is the best part.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrisA.Jun 16, 2006
Serenity is the best film the best film since fight club. It covers the genres of action, comedy, sci-fi and martial arts to perfection. It is a must see for all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewD.Jan 6, 2007
Serenity is the perfect blend of sci-fi, action, comedy, western and drama. As a fan of Firefly, I am happy to see that Joss Wheadon was able to stay true to the original show, without alienating newcomers. Nearly everyone that I introduced Serenity is the perfect blend of sci-fi, action, comedy, western and drama. As a fan of Firefly, I am happy to see that Joss Wheadon was able to stay true to the original show, without alienating newcomers. Nearly everyone that I introduced to the movie has now become fans of the original series. We are all looking forward to more Firefly based productions, in whatever form they may arrive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Jun 29, 2007
It makes you wonder why Star Wars gets so much attention even today, when there are absolutely amazing space-set sci-fi films such as this one around. Then again, Serenity truly is on a plateau of quality all its own. Sensational film.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JoshS.Sep 18, 2008
this was an amazing movie that captured the essentials of the television show (also great), but also gave new viewers the chance to see why the characters are so memorable and heart warming.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
karym6Jul 21, 2009
Good effects and a good effort all round by the crew. Ultimately this film is let down by two things, the story and the acting. Fillion is pretty poor as the lead, all of the supporting characters are much more interesting than him and can Good effects and a good effort all round by the crew. Ultimately this film is let down by two things, the story and the acting. Fillion is pretty poor as the lead, all of the supporting characters are much more interesting than him and can act better really. I noted a comment about Blakes 7 by another user. I think this is what really, really gets me annoyed with Wheedon and this film. So many people say its totally original and has a great story - yes it does, it has the story from Blakes 7. Which is pretty much superior in every way. I am also a little disgruntled to see the "fans" giving out scores of 10 and then talking about the series - this is not the series, the series is completely different to this. This is not a great scifi film, it isnt a cult film it is merely average. Watch it and make your own mind up. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
10
JossW.Aug 9, 2009
Simply amazing. I do suggest watching Firefly first for the full impact, however.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
pedrocJun 25, 2010
I do not know who was really the main character, if it was River, I did not like. And if the main character was the captain, I would not upset. Anyway the bad guy was the best of the movie. I also thought that river would have more I do not know who was really the main character, if it was River, I did not like. And if the main character was the captain, I would not upset. Anyway the bad guy was the best of the movie. I also thought that river would have more prominence throughout the movie, and perhaps some resemblance to/with Resident Evil's Valentine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful