Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Engagingly off-centre, like Charlie Kaufman taking down Quentin Tarantino, this sunbaked shaggy-dog story is a place-holder film for McDonagh, and often closer to chaos than it is to genius.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Oct 19, 2012
    60
    Seven Psychopaths is the kind of movie that can lift someone who's had a crappy day out of a funk. It's an unstable mess filled with lunatic invention and bizarre nonsense, and some of it is so spontaneous that it's elating. [22 Oct. 2012, p.88]
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some of those detours are fun ideas - like Marty's O. Henry-esque tale of the Amish psychopath. Mostly, though, they feel out of place, like so much filler that distracts from the half-developed main story. Call me crazy, but I need more from my movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Compared with other movies, Seven Psychopaths is clever and inventive enough to be considered a weak success or a modest failure, the kind of effort that usually gets damned with the faint praise of "not bad."
  5. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    Unlike "In Bruges," the outlandish parts of Seven Psychopaths, though often bleakly entertaining in their own right, remain a collection of weird riffs that not even engaging acting by Colin Farrell, Sam Rockwell, Woody Harrelson, Christopher Walken and Tom Waits can bring together.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    The film also begins to feel like a case of a director getting to revel in the very thing he's reviling.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    The violence wears you down. Like one of its nutso characters, Seven Psychopaths has a death wish.
  8. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 11, 2012
    50
    For a good hour, Seven Psychopaths is lively, bloody fun. Then the yawning starts.
  9. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Each cast member helps push it along, with standouts including Rockwell, Harrelson and Gabourey Sidibe in a brief but memorable scene. They help make Seven Psychopaths an astute, bloody and bloodshot-eyed addition to a genre it knows it's part of.
  10. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Oct 10, 2012
    60
    A cleverly daft meta-romp that will be best remembered for its quotes, Seven Psychopaths is a game and garishly shot production that's elegant in its own seedy way.
  11. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 9, 2012
    60
    Walken is particularly alive in a way he's rarely been since "Catch Me if You Can," adding untold shades to Hans's mystery-shrouded past - wait until you see what's under his cravat - while still giving his singularly eccentric line readings.
  12. Reviewed by: Kevin Jagernauth
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    Somewhat spastic and overcooked, Seven Psychopaths might have a few too many.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Sep 9, 2012
    60
    Compared to McDonagh's best work for stage ("The Lieutenant of Inishmore") and screen ("In Bruges"), Seven Psychopaths feels like either an older script knocking around the bottom of a drawer or a new one hastily tossed off between more ambitious projects.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 271 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 69
  2. Negative: 9 out of 69
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    What an unexpected treat! Very unconventional, off-beat, hilarious. The performances are top notch and just fun to watch. (Christopher WalkenWhat an unexpected treat! Very unconventional, off-beat, hilarious. The performances are top notch and just fun to watch. (Christopher Walken is the man! And Sam Rockwell just kills it in this movie.) Actually, it's my favorite movie of the year so far. Full Review »
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I don't know what movie these other people giving it negative reviews are seeing, but i saw Seven Pschopaths and it was fregen great! AmazingI don't know what movie these other people giving it negative reviews are seeing, but i saw Seven Pschopaths and it was fregen great! Amazing cast, amazing dialogue, amazing plot, amazing exectution. Need i say more? This movie made me laugh harder than any film i've seen in a long time. Woody Harrelson is just the greatest, as well as Christopher Walken. I don't even have to say more, if you love violent comedies then you'll love Seven Psychopaths, enough said. This is a must see. 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    Seven Psychopaths had a clever premise, and then weaved a story within a story that was a lot of fun. Great cast, fun premise, and whileSeven Psychopaths had a clever premise, and then weaved a story within a story that was a lot of fun. Great cast, fun premise, and while gory, the gore is done in a comedic way, so it does not gross one out. Full Review »