Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Sep 9, 2012
    91
    A less controlled and slapdash character piece than "In Bruge," McDonagh's new movie benefits greatly from a plethora of one-liners that toy with crime movie clichés in the unlikely context of writerly obsessions.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Oct 3, 2012
    83
    An energetically demented psycho-killer comedy set in faux-noir L.A., Seven Psychopaths rollicks along to the unique narrative beat and language stylings of Anglo-Irish writer-director Martin McDonagh (In Bruges), channeling Quentin Tarantino.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Sep 12, 2012
    80
    While it's way behind the "Pulp Fiction" curve, Seven Psychopaths can be terrifically entertaining.
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Oct 11, 2012
    70
    Small in stature but consistently entertaining, Seven Psychopaths is a vacation from consequence for the Tony- and Oscar-winning author, and an unsupervised play date for his cast of screw-loose stars.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Oct 11, 2012
    63
    In the end (which continues into the credits), I was left thinking McDonagh can do better than this, and yet I was slightly more agog with admiration than peevish with frustration. Most of all, I wanted to see the film again.
  6. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Each cast member helps push it along, with standouts including Rockwell, Harrelson and Gabourey Sidibe in a brief but memorable scene. They help make Seven Psychopaths an astute, bloody and bloodshot-eyed addition to a genre it knows it's part of.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 9, 2012
    0
    The result is a twitching convulsion of vicious drivel passing itself off as a movie, which can be best appreciated by the kind of people who dig "Showgirls," the "Saw" franchise and Spike Jonze-Charlie Kaufman flicks.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    What an unexpected treat! Very unconventional, off-beat, hilarious. The performances are top notch and just fun to watch. (Christopher Walken is the man! And Sam Rockwell just kills it in this movie.) Actually, it's my favorite movie of the year so far. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    An unexpected delight! Loved the writing and the performances are top notch! Christopher Walken and Sam Rockwell are standouts, Ends up being one of my favorite films of 2012! Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    Seven Psychopaths had a clever premise, and then weaved a story within a story that was a lot of fun. Great cast, fun premise, and while gory, the gore is done in a comedic way, so it does not gross one out. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    7
    Seven Psychopaths delivers weird but fun experience. It was remind me bit experience when was watching Cabin In The Woods. Movie writing at its best? You can name it but it wasn't really work to me. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    7
    Surprisingly interesting. Though it droned on for some time. I liked the people, though. Sam Rockwell being the breakout in that movie. His unpredictable character sets the main story for it's start. If I were to see it again it would be because of him. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2012
    5
    The film is not devoid of VERY funny moments and terrific acting performances (Rockwell & Walken in particular are solid), but it's just overlong, bloated, and meandering. Several of the sequences are flat-out hilarious and creative, but they're strung together far too loosely. I can't figure out if it was re-written too often or not nearly enough. And yes, for the squeamish, it's very violent and gory - things I normally go for, especially the "Scanners" / "Wild at Heart" shot. There's a right way to see this film, but I don't think the theater is it. I can imagine the Brad Pitt character in True Romance getting baked watching this on his Betamax in his cramped little West LA apartment. [Disclosure: the website I work for is owned by the same parent company as CBS Films.] Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2013
    0
    there were 7 psycopaths but garfield was not one of them
    0/10000000000000 DONT BOTHER WATCHING

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice

    2012 Fall Film Festival Roundup: The Verdict on Films Screening at TIFF, Telluride, and Venice Image
    Published: September 17, 2012
    Find out what critics are saying about over two dozen key movies that debuted at fall's three major film festivals, including "Silver Linings Playbook," "Argo," "To the Wonder," "Cloud Atlas," "Frances Ha," and more.
  2. Fall 2012 Movie Preview: The Master, Looper, Skyfall, and Other Key Films

    Fall 2012 Movie Preview: The Master, Looper, Skyfall, and Other Key Films Image
    Published: September 6, 2012
    Learn more about two dozen notable fall releases--a group that includes potential Oscar contenders, a new Bond film, a promising time-travel story, and more--and get a full release calendar for movies arriving between now and mid-November.