Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 221 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
132
Mixed:
28
Negative:
61
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JasonN.Oct 1, 2008
I thought I'd check the hype around this movie. I was sorely disappointed. Having not watched a single episode of the wildly popular tv show, I do not understand what was the big deal about the lives of four self-absorbed women living I thought I'd check the hype around this movie. I was sorely disappointed. Having not watched a single episode of the wildly popular tv show, I do not understand what was the big deal about the lives of four self-absorbed women living in New York City. I caught myself saying out loud several time...what the hell is all this nonsense?? At least I can understand why this show/movie is popular among women - the lives that the characters lead are purely self-indulgent, fictional and silly....but people will always have their dreams. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmandaG.Oct 29, 2008
It was nice to see them on the big screen but everything that happens was revealed in the trailer so there were no surprises and a lot of things that happened were uncharacteristic of their characters on the show. a disappointment in my eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DT.Nov 2, 2008
Since seeing the video last night I've been trying to think of a worse, more boring, shallow movie. I'm still coming up dry. This was a bad kids' movie with sex and vulgarity. I guess if you're interested in seeing Since seeing the video last night I've been trying to think of a worse, more boring, shallow movie. I'm still coming up dry. This was a bad kids' movie with sex and vulgarity. I guess if you're interested in seeing endless tedious "fashion" and airheads who swoon over it, this was worth the (seemingly eternal) time. For the rest of us it was a bad Halloween prank, complete with pretentious-crap costumes. I say this as a guy who watches "womens' stuff like Housewives and Betty with some degree of interest. Maybe because they actually manage to be funny once in a while. This trash movie, on the other hand, may have cured me of ever wanting to even go to NYC again. I don't need to get on a plane if I want to see the kind of self-obsessed ugliness this waste of film offers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndreaKJan 6, 2009
I loved that it was neither predictable nor schmaltzy. I felt that it was raw and deep and dark and real. I cried throughout, and I am not yet menopausal. I'm not even peri-menopausal. The fashion and the glitz worked to levitate me I loved that it was neither predictable nor schmaltzy. I felt that it was raw and deep and dark and real. I cried throughout, and I am not yet menopausal. I'm not even peri-menopausal. The fashion and the glitz worked to levitate me above a lagoon of tears. I have really grown to appreciate the work of Michael Patrick King. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidL.Aug 11, 2009
Throughout the years never saw the actual show, then i saw the movie, and fell completely in love with it, and its so weird to see all this bad reviews on here, when every single person i know that has seen this movie has loved it as well. Throughout the years never saw the actual show, then i saw the movie, and fell completely in love with it, and its so weird to see all this bad reviews on here, when every single person i know that has seen this movie has loved it as well. well guess you cant please everybody.. my point is one of the greatest movies of 2008 cant wait for the second one!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LillyanneS1Feb 26, 2011
This film was brillient & the show deserves to be revived on HBO or ABC NBC or whatever network that would like to pick it up for a brillient seventh season. SATC Forever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kowalskiAug 27, 2011
For any SATC fan, and/or for any gay boy who grew up watching it and made it his religion, this movie is of cult status. It's probably not the best movie that could've been made especially given the amount of time the producers have had afterFor any SATC fan, and/or for any gay boy who grew up watching it and made it his religion, this movie is of cult status. It's probably not the best movie that could've been made especially given the amount of time the producers have had after the show ended. Still, I believe it to be a very decent production. It has it's moments - Carrie in the powder room in Mexico, or Charlotte's "NO! NO!" reaction. With those moments, the movie gets to you when you feel bored, and you have every right to given the movie's length. Still, I have to give it a ten - I have too much sentiment to the original series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
The only good thing about the movie is the image quality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonMay 19, 2013
Never having subscribed to Home Box Office (HBO) let alone watched the HBO show about what looked like a bunch of my expectations for Sex and the City, a movie based on the cable program, were low. Starring squinty Sarah Jessica Parker, whoNever having subscribed to Home Box Office (HBO) let alone watched the HBO show about what looked like a bunch of my expectations for Sex and the City, a movie based on the cable program, were low. Starring squinty Sarah Jessica Parker, who will never be leading lady material, as a writer named Carrie Bradshaw, and featuring her three gal pals, Sex and the City is better than expected. Parker could be decked in diamonds and still look to me like the best friend in Footloose, and the silly soap opera bobs up and down never gaining traction. The nicely packaged Sex and the City piles on the outfits—bony Parker looks ridiculous in everything but the wedding gowns—the arched eyebrow lines and the alcohol (and, at this rate, all four of them ought to head for rehab). Though it sputters and stalls, there is usually something good to look at or listen to and it is often something relatable. Awkward, silent moments in the back of a taxi—an emotional rescue on New Year's Eve—the wonder of a properly lighted walk-in closet, there's a refreshing honesty about what people, especially women, really feel about having it all in the big, lonely city. True, Parker's character is irrevocably petty and Cattrall's aging blonde horndog is as nutritious as a Hostess Ho-Ho, but sometimes you gotta give in to the laughs and there's plenty of that in this feminine fairy tale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaAug 25, 2014
A natural return to the life of the four not-so-single-anymore-women from New York.

This movie made me laugh and cry - and glare angrily at certain characters for how they behaved (very much in character, but that doesn't mean one doesn't
A natural return to the life of the four not-so-single-anymore-women from New York.

This movie made me laugh and cry - and glare angrily at certain characters for how they behaved (very much in character, but that doesn't mean one doesn't want to hit them upside the head for being who they are - again, after they were doing so well).

There's a bit of familiar narration from Carrie, yet the fabulous scene has changed somewhat as our four ladies have gotten older and most of them have found their Mr. Right - and in Carrie's case, are about to take the big leap into something bigger.

Complications arise on all fronts, despite what looks like a very positive beginning. Every problem seems very natural, yet a few I wished hadn't happened because I was cheering on those characters during the TV series and wished they didn't have to go through the events here...

Either way, if you're a fan of the TV show, you'll treat this like a string of really long episodes. Nothing new is added to the mix - but nothing new was really needed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews