Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: February 7, 2003
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 164 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
138
Mixed:
18
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LynxspiritDec 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rarely is a sequel as good as the original. This is the exception. Shanghai Knights is superbly done, from the plot and the dynamics between the two central characters to the music and fight/dance choreography, this excels at them all. Jackie Chan shines as usual with his comedic martial arts moves, and Owen Wilson does an excellent portrayal of a BS artist, but always loyal to his friend and vice versa. This movie is a delightful parody of era films, from silent movies to 40's dance musicals to 60's psychedelia, it has a little of everything. And that includes real life characters of the late 1800s woven throughout, many a surprise to the audience. A lot of fun to watch - 10 out of 10, easily. Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
9
Night_Hawk_2012May 17, 2012
An action packed comedy! I loved it Jackie Chan and Owen Wilson were hilarious and Fann Wong was good too. If you like action movies and comedy movies then Shanghai Knights is a movie for you.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
MitchellT.Feb 14, 2003
Jackie Chan kicks proverbial "arse" and Owen Wilson continues his god-like status as a comedic interlude in the realm of the buddy flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeyGFeb 6, 2003
This was a solid movie all the way around. I would say even better than the original. The action sequences are great, up to the usual Jackie Chan standards. Owen Wilson does a very good job as the comic relief and the hot asian actress that This was a solid movie all the way around. I would say even better than the original. The action sequences are great, up to the usual Jackie Chan standards. Owen Wilson does a very good job as the comic relief and the hot asian actress that plays Jackie's sister blends in well. Not the best film ever made, but all in all, a very fun popcorn flick for the whole family! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HadesFeb 15, 2003
I thought the movie was great entertainment. In the sense of action and comedy, it was a great buddy feel good movie. However it did take a moment to get started but once it did it was fantastic. I can't wait for the 3rd one, a couple I thought the movie was great entertainment. In the sense of action and comedy, it was a great buddy feel good movie. However it did take a moment to get started but once it did it was fantastic. I can't wait for the 3rd one, a couple of complaints though, are that yes, some of the jokes are pretty wretched, met by an awkward silence by the viewing audience, but what movie ISNT guilty of that?? Also my other complaint is that Donnie Yen's talents as a martial artist weren't exhibited nearly enough in this film considering how much an impressive fighter he is his scenes could have been 10x better had he had the camera time to exhibit his skills to the max. Overall good entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NathanF.Feb 9, 2003
More or less a rehash of the first one, and some jokes are real groaners. But hey, it's entertaining anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AcidJun 15, 2003
Owen wilson will always draw laughs and jackie always delivers eye candy action and in this sequel, so does his sister. Overall, its great buddy comedy or whatever its called.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Aug 18, 2005
Nice Jackie Chan movie. Good martial arts, and his character's sister is played well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArabellaF.Apr 23, 2003
Brilliant! Loved the Singing in the Rain dance/fight. Loved the way that Chon and Roy don't argue with each other all the way through - they genuinely like each other's company and so do we. There isn't a dull moment in it, Brilliant! Loved the Singing in the Rain dance/fight. Loved the way that Chon and Roy don't argue with each other all the way through - they genuinely like each other's company and so do we. There isn't a dull moment in it, it's fast paced, slickly edited and cleverly directed with enough looseness to allow Chan and Wilson to excel at their own thing. Jackie Chan is astounding as always and his acting in the final scenes shows that he should be given some serious dramatic roles. Owen Wilson makes comedy look easy. The villains are villainous and funny. The costumes are sumptious, music score is sweepingly perfect, Fann Wong is a good addition to the Shanghai family and - in the tradition of Bing and Bob we'd like seven sequels, please. Oh, and Jackie Chan is sex on a chopstick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MMM&GGGR&SOct 10, 2004
The movie was hilarious, and it succeeded a little more than the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful