Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 18, 2007
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 388 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
189
Mixed:
141
Negative:
58
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
AMovieCriticMay 20, 2007
Alright, unlike with Spider-Man 3, this time I actually agree with the critics. What a disappointment Shrek The Third was. The first movie was a brilliant and charming spoof of Disney cartoons and fairy tales and was really fun for anyone, Alright, unlike with Spider-Man 3, this time I actually agree with the critics. What a disappointment Shrek The Third was. The first movie was a brilliant and charming spoof of Disney cartoons and fairy tales and was really fun for anyone, even older audiences. Shrek 2 left a little bit of that behind but still delivered a great and charming movie for all audiences. Maybe it's the loss of series director Andrew Adamson (who is now working on the Narnia series) but Shrek The Third feels different from the first 2 almost immediately, and not in a good way. Almost immediately, the humor feels forced, and the movie almost seems to be aimed at a much younger audience than the first 2. This movie is so tame and sugary, in fact, that it often ended up feeling just like the Disney movies the series was originally spoofing. This becomes even more clear when a "message" is blatently delivered to the audience at the end of the movie. The plot is entirely mediocre, Donkey and Puss seem to have nothing to do, (and the filmmakers, as if realizing this, half-heartedly threw in a pointless character switch, I guess in a failed attempt to keep these characters interesting) and Shrek himself is really just a boring character this time around. Although this movie is definitely aiming only for the kiddies (whereas the first 2 Shrek movies were definitely for all audiences) some attempts at "adult jokes" and out-of-place licensed rock music was halfheartedly thrown into the movie and feels entirely out of place. Yes, there are a couple funny moments here, but they were almost all given away in the trailers and commercials. (I hate it when they do that.) Much of the humor felt very forced, and even the audience I saw this in (which contained plenty of little kids) let plenty of jokes fall flat. (Although they enjoyed all the fart jokes thrown in at the end of the movie.) Of course the animation is very nice, and as I said, a couple jokes hit and are pretty funny, but there's really no reason to see this. What a disappointment. The makers of these movies have completely forgotten why these movies were made to begin with and what we ended up here was a boring, mostly un-funny, and very forced mess. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
FredL.May 27, 2007
This movie is being unfairly panned. All I will say is this: I saw this yesterday with my wife and our four year old and all three of us laughed all the way through. Not sure what standard people are holding this up to. This is a very good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JugdishC.Jun 2, 2007
Clearly the series has lost it's momentum. There are a few moments that provide genuine laughs, but overall the movie didn't really seem to have any new ideas or bring anything new to the table. Basically just a rehash and Clearly the series has lost it's momentum. There are a few moments that provide genuine laughs, but overall the movie didn't really seem to have any new ideas or bring anything new to the table. Basically just a rehash and celebration of things that worked in the first two movies. At least it was relatively short. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
PaxsterOct 11, 2010
Not a great film and only mildly entertaining. Plot and characters begin to dry up and only the scene where the Ginger Breadman has a flashback remain in my mind. It will not be the Shrek film that will be remembered. That will be 1 and maybeNot a great film and only mildly entertaining. Plot and characters begin to dry up and only the scene where the Ginger Breadman has a flashback remain in my mind. It will not be the Shrek film that will be remembered. That will be 1 and maybe even 2 but it will still keep the children entertained even if the adults get a little bit bored. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
jeff_reviewsJul 16, 2013
"Shrek the Third" is a tiresome and unoriginal sequel, with its loss of heart, wit, and charms that made the first two films enjoyable. With its pop culture references trying so hard to bring humor in to the film, "Shrek the Third" feels very"Shrek the Third" is a tiresome and unoriginal sequel, with its loss of heart, wit, and charms that made the first two films enjoyable. With its pop culture references trying so hard to bring humor in to the film, "Shrek the Third" feels very hectic at times, with very tiring jokes that have trouble attaining much laughter. The plot feels like trying to bring new ideas and concept, but failing despite these efforts, and becoming a similar rehash of its previous films that doesn't work this time. Their formula to add humor to heart doesn't exceed this time, and leaves audiences wondering that if they should call it quits (but of course, there is a Shrek Forever After). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
YellowKirbyNov 27, 2015
I love Shrek. I think he's a great character, and his film series is excellent and witty. But Shrek the Turd – oops, I mean Third – is an unnecessary sequel that fails to reach the height of the first two. It lacks the wit and comedy thatI love Shrek. I think he's a great character, and his film series is excellent and witty. But Shrek the Turd – oops, I mean Third – is an unnecessary sequel that fails to reach the height of the first two. It lacks the wit and comedy that made the first entries comical, and the story feels lazy, and more like a direct to video cash-grab Disney sequel than a Shrek movie. It also had too many characters; too many to keep track of.

However, it DID have its redeeming qualities, such as the character of Merlin (excellently voiced by Eric Idle).

In short, this bland threequel should have been better developed, or, better yet, never made.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Shrek the Third" is a movie you would expect from a third sequel of a franchise. Yes, its decent.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
SarahT.May 21, 2007
I don't know what those critics are saying about the movie. There not kids, so how would they know how funny it is. Sometimes I wonder if I'm alone with that opinon, but it's true. How would those paid critics know about how I don't know what those critics are saying about the movie. There not kids, so how would they know how funny it is. Sometimes I wonder if I'm alone with that opinon, but it's true. How would those paid critics know about how good the movie was. Me, I'm twelve and trust me, it was a so-so movie, but still made my friend and my dad laugh. I really don't agree with the critics in red because they're not kids, we are, and you know what?! I loved that movie. Any Shrek movie do for me. I was expecting to laugh more, but I still laughed no matter what those paid people say about a movie. The movie was good and thats all what counts. You just have to trust me. Go watch the movie, then go to the reviews and you'll see how wrong they are about the movie. Go watch it and you won't be sorry. The critics are just embarrassed that it's like Hollywood. Go watch it. Trust me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
7
gm101Oct 6, 2010
The movie wasn't terrible, it just wasn't anywhere as good as the first two, especially the second movie, which is my favorite in the series. Most of the cons came from Justin Timberlake's character.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Dec 21, 2011
With its loss of heart and some of its charm it can't be good. Although it has just great animation and some moments that can be remembered. I give this movie 47%.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
JeriNov 7, 2014
This movie is the worst movie at all times and it's mo use for dumb old dreamworks to make this movie.dreamworks animation is the worst place on earth, because it keeps on losing to disney & pixar each year.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
DanCJul 6, 2007
Really, really good. Shrek 1 was a masterpiece. Shrek 2 was somewhat mediocre. This is brilliant. The plot is better than 2, the CGI is just beautiful, and it's really funny. Bring on Shrek 4!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.May 19, 2007
The worst of the Shrek series, but it was still entertaining. Like another reviewer said, the fairy tale magic really was missing here, but the comedy packed into each part really was great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
pedronotfoundMay 19, 2015
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love
shrek is life
shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love shrek is life shrek is love
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
MarkD.May 19, 2007
Annoying, repetitive in your face humor filled with montages that give you a break from its obnoxious plot and disaster of jumbled scenes Justin Timberlake is annoying and this movie blows. I loved the first two and now they are just Annoying, repetitive in your face humor filled with montages that give you a break from its obnoxious plot and disaster of jumbled scenes Justin Timberlake is annoying and this movie blows. I loved the first two and now they are just isolated masterpieces with no association to this piece of crap. Terrible. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KendylKlownfishApr 18, 2011
It's still undeniably charming -- and funny -- but Shrek the Third lacks the innovation the first two films were shrouded in. Pros: The animation and characters remain as charming and funny as they did before. Cons: Too pop cultureIt's still undeniably charming -- and funny -- but Shrek the Third lacks the innovation the first two films were shrouded in. Pros: The animation and characters remain as charming and funny as they did before. Cons: Too pop culture referential; too short; too cliched; lacks any kind of innovative spark. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
The third installment in the franchise. I enjoyed this one too. I think mainly because Puss N Boots was introduced to it, without Puss it would have probably just been Shrek 2 all over again. I do remember laughing a lot when I saw this inThe third installment in the franchise. I enjoyed this one too. I think mainly because Puss N Boots was introduced to it, without Puss it would have probably just been Shrek 2 all over again. I do remember laughing a lot when I saw this in the theater and the group of people I was with were all laughing too. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesAug 16, 2014
Although the voice actors know how to deliver a fresh comedic style, "Shrek the Third" lacks the heart, charm and the intelligence that made the other two Shrek movies a success.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
JasonE.Jun 6, 2007
This film was made for no other reason than commerce and a guaranteed payday for everyone involved. Considering the content emotional state of its protagonists there was little place to take both the story and its passe post-modern ironic This film was made for no other reason than commerce and a guaranteed payday for everyone involved. Considering the content emotional state of its protagonists there was little place to take both the story and its passe post-modern ironic jabs at pop and Disney culture. Murphy's voice is only an exploited extension of his hilarious work as the Klump family in 'The Nutty Professor.' Banderas's charm as 'Puss' is negated by monotonous character jokes as well as a poor second-act twist that makes the film increasingly grating. The plot hinges on 'Arthur' and Timberlake imbues him with a whiny, effete personality that is less than winning. He also appears incapable of reciting his dialogue with any double-entendres or meanings as everything sounds like he's reading from a kids book to a five year old audience. The film's saving grace continues to be the wonders that the film's limitless budget can provide to an expressive animated universe. There's no real urgent ambition here, just an opportunity for viewers to reconnect with old "friends." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LarryL.May 15, 2007
What is wrong with the MPAA? PG for "Swashbuckling action". What an immature and disgraceful organization. Anyway, this movie was good. The worst of the three, no doubt. But def. funny and entertaining and cute. Just a bit too short, and What is wrong with the MPAA? PG for "Swashbuckling action". What an immature and disgraceful organization. Anyway, this movie was good. The worst of the three, no doubt. But def. funny and entertaining and cute. Just a bit too short, and often tries to hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryMay 17, 2007
The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it was slightly funnier than the second but not as beautifal and classic as the untouchable first film that started for all. It is short, and this is not nessacarily a bad thing because it makes you want more from a possible fourth. It is hard to understand what the critics really think about Shrek 3. They seem to like it, only to a certian extent, however. Reel Views thinks that is is more of the same but that it is tiring out. Those two points clearly contradict eachother in the full review. To stop being so serious for a second, I would like to mention the fact that this movie is hilarious at times. Donkey is possibly funnier than ever and the new princess gang is brilliant to say the least. I loved the ending and loved Pinochio. Prince Charming is an annoying downside to the movie and Fiona is not really in the movie. Justin Timberlake takes a large portion of the movie and does a excellent job in his scenes with shrek. The movie has alot going on, and it really works. I loved it, and was just short of LOVING it. Hope theres a # 4 ! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HenryMay 17, 2007
The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it The purpose of writing a review for this movie is to tell you what I think of the movie. From an honest, critizing perspective, taking into account, how much I laughed and enjoyed myself, I give this movie a solid 8.0 out of 10. I think it was slightly funnier than the second but not as beautifal and classic as the untouchable first film that started for all. It is short, and this is not nessacarily a bad thing because it makes you want more from a possible fourth. It is hard to understand what the critics really think about Shrek 3. They seem to like it, only to a certian extent, however. Reel Views thinks that is is more of the same but that it is tiring out. Those two points clearly contradict eachother in the full review. To stop being so serious for a second, I would like to mention the fact that this movie is hilarious at times. Donkey is possibly funnier than ever and the new princess gang is brilliant to say the least. I loved the ending and loved Pinochio. Prince Charming is an annoying downside to the movie and Fiona is not really in the movie. Justin Timberlake takes a large portion of the movie and does a excellent job in his scenes with shrek. The movie has alot going on, and it really works. I loved it, and was just short of LOVING it. Hope theres a # 4 ! :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KylebMay 20, 2007
Not nearly as bad as people are making out. It's about on par with the second one. The audience I was with was really into it and laughed constantly. The first was the best, but this is still worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BMillerJun 10, 2007
Shrek 2 proved that a sequel can be just as much fun as the original if done right. This franchise isn't too tired or old. Shrek the Third could have been great, but it isn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaleM.Jun 2, 2007
Though it doesn't have the magic of the first Shrek, it is still good. My major complaint is that it is too short. I wish the jokes could have gone on for another hour. As it was, it seemed intent only in telling its main story, whereas Though it doesn't have the magic of the first Shrek, it is still good. My major complaint is that it is too short. I wish the jokes could have gone on for another hour. As it was, it seemed intent only in telling its main story, whereas it could have meandered more and had more fun with the characters like the Disney princesses. I also noticed the animation of this kind of movie has really improved. You can see the stubble growing on some of the character's faces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AaronN.Jul 8, 2008
This movie generally suffers from one of the most annoying problems ever to be included on a sequel, Overused elements, If I concure, this movie spoils three elements- -Environments that are dull -Quiet moments -In bed scenes (seriously) I This movie generally suffers from one of the most annoying problems ever to be included on a sequel, Overused elements, If I concure, this movie spoils three elements- -Environments that are dull -Quiet moments -In bed scenes (seriously) I think there will be a fourth, but who knows how bad that will be? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JustinK.May 19, 2007
This movie was really pretty and had great production values, but that fact was not enough to save its weak plot. This movie had terrible pacing and no depth - just, as Billy said, a bunch of fart jokes... it lacked the charm, originality, This movie was really pretty and had great production values, but that fact was not enough to save its weak plot. This movie had terrible pacing and no depth - just, as Billy said, a bunch of fart jokes... it lacked the charm, originality, and complexity of the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoshWMay 21, 2007
Its really a shame when a movie you've waited for since it was first announced turns out to be as uninspired as this one. I kept wondering why the animation on Arthur was so dead. I know the animators try to capture the voice actors Its really a shame when a movie you've waited for since it was first announced turns out to be as uninspired as this one. I kept wondering why the animation on Arthur was so dead. I know the animators try to capture the voice actors expressions, but didn't they know better than to do that with Justin Timberlake. During his big oration at the end I noticed more expression from individuals in 2 second cuts of the background. Really sad and a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ofarevolution441May 20, 2007
This movie definitely met my expectations of being the worst of the series. Casting Justin Timberlake as one of the lead roles was a poor mistake. But Eric Idle on the other hand... Good idea. The plot was thin. Period. The ending almost This movie definitely met my expectations of being the worst of the series. Casting Justin Timberlake as one of the lead roles was a poor mistake. But Eric Idle on the other hand... Good idea. The plot was thin. Period. The ending almost seemed to imitate the last one, with a funny action sequence and then a lot of dialogue with a happy ending. They could have at least given us a cliffhanger leading into the 4th one (which I pray is better than this.) But it just had to be a carbon copy of the last two. But I do admit that I laughed. However, it wasn't a laugh a minute and I wouldn't see this again or even bother with the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KD.May 22, 2007
They should have kept this movie on PBS and left it at that. This movie bears no relation to the other 2 save the characters. The plot is weak, the characters have run out of funny lines and there's nothing new to add to this movie. The They should have kept this movie on PBS and left it at that. This movie bears no relation to the other 2 save the characters. The plot is weak, the characters have run out of funny lines and there's nothing new to add to this movie. The continuing theme is the tired old "Believe in yourself"... feel-good mush. Doesn't make for a good humor movie. Disappointing. Go see it if you've got little kids, but don't go expecting the even half the laughs of the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ReelWorldMay 24, 2007
The summer crop of movies does not give me much hope for the future of Hollywood. Shrek 3 is the second sequel of the summer to bomb in my opinion. As many have pointed out - the magic feel of the first two is gone and in its place are jokes The summer crop of movies does not give me much hope for the future of Hollywood. Shrek 3 is the second sequel of the summer to bomb in my opinion. As many have pointed out - the magic feel of the first two is gone and in its place are jokes that seem entirely aimed at adults but just aren't that funny. Timberflake was a poor choice for Arthur and most likely was only cast since he was dating Diaz at the time of filming. The ending is an eye roller on the magnitude of a Saturday morning cartoon and the jokes mostly fell flat on their faces. Disappointing after a good first two films. Hopefully this will be the last we see of the jolly green giant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ArthurC.May 24, 2007
Though a few funny movies, it is hard to believe they spent three years on this. It looks great, but the story and acting and pace seems like something you would find in a direct to DVD sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NikMay 24, 2007
I couldn't help but get the feeling that the writers and voice-actors only goal for this film was to get it over with and get paid. But despite it's lack of effort, it still presents some of the "Shrekness" movie-goers have grown to love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamM.May 31, 2007
Dreamworks really jumped off the plane without a parachute with this one. Shrek the Third is a poor excuse to carry on the Shrek series. Personally I enjoyed the first two in the series, but this was horendus. Repeative jokes, jokes carrying Dreamworks really jumped off the plane without a parachute with this one. Shrek the Third is a poor excuse to carry on the Shrek series. Personally I enjoyed the first two in the series, but this was horendus. Repeative jokes, jokes carrying on, and when there was humor it was merrily a low "heh". This was a poor excuse for a film and should be avoided at ALL costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeatthebeatJun 22, 2007
What is wrong with you people ? The first Shrek was a masterpiece because it set off a new genre and it was different. The second one sucked and is the one that would deserve this kind of press. But the third Shrek was light and fun... the What is wrong with you people ? The first Shrek was a masterpiece because it set off a new genre and it was different. The second one sucked and is the one that would deserve this kind of press. But the third Shrek was light and fun... the way it should be. Not with a overly long story and a boring déja vu of all that the 2 movies could offer. They couldn't have reinvented the series and people's expectations becomes too high. Some of those jokes are hilarious as hell (is anyone getting those jokes or is it just me?) The -1 of the rating would be for the kid's appeal was a little bit less than the other two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Jun 23, 2007
I really don't understand why this is getting such bad reviews. In my opinion, this movie was better than the 2nd but not as good as the first. My only complaints are that I feel Donkey and Puss weren't as funny as Shrek 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobJun 26, 2007
They've gone one shrek too far just like the Santa clause filmsand they were just clutching at straws. Some parts were funny and hail eddie Murphy and Antonio banderes for keeping me awake
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
StevenF.Jul 1, 2007
Tepid and tired compared to the previous titles. Unfortunately most of the material has been done before and even younger children will find much to like in this third installment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardHJul 26, 2007
I thought this was a really by numbers badly done cash in sequel. To be fair, that's pretty much what I thought the 2nd one was too, but at least the 2nd one made me laugh. I don't think I heard more than five laughs out of the I thought this was a really by numbers badly done cash in sequel. To be fair, that's pretty much what I thought the 2nd one was too, but at least the 2nd one made me laugh. I don't think I heard more than five laughs out of the whole audience that was in the cinema to see this. It just wasn't funny at all. Really really poor quality stuff. But hey, I'm sure the kids will like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tjJul 27, 2007
The first Shrek was good, the second was lousy and this one is insufferable. Amazingly unclever pop culture references. My nephews (ages 6 and 11) liked it--strange that most of the humor is aimed at adults and falls totally flat, but the The first Shrek was good, the second was lousy and this one is insufferable. Amazingly unclever pop culture references. My nephews (ages 6 and 11) liked it--strange that most of the humor is aimed at adults and falls totally flat, but the kids just like anything animated. Well, I guess the producers will make their money. Unbelievable waste of time--like paying 10 bucks to watch a bad tv sit com. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DecepticonPomAug 12, 2007
Excrutiatingly boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MarkK.Jan 2, 2009
Runs out of good jokes after about half an hour, because the writers don't seem to know what to do with their ideas. Shrek has pretty much become a cliche these days so I wouldn't be too excited about a fourth one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveKDec 14, 2007
I really really wish they would stop making adult movies that are marketed as "kids" movies. This is NOT a kids movie. Not to mention, the Shrek "formula" is getting really old. This is the most formulaic and unfunny of all of them. I think I really really wish they would stop making adult movies that are marketed as "kids" movies. This is NOT a kids movie. Not to mention, the Shrek "formula" is getting really old. This is the most formulaic and unfunny of all of them. I think it is time for Shrek to retire. It is kinda amusing entertainment the way that a sorta clever commercial series may be. But after seeing two of these, did we really need a third? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillyS.May 18, 2007
Shrek the Third is missing one thing that was key to the first two- a sense of fairy tale magic, but since the makers knew whatever they put out there will make another billion dollars, what we get is alot of fart humor for the kids and Shrek the Third is missing one thing that was key to the first two- a sense of fairy tale magic, but since the makers knew whatever they put out there will make another billion dollars, what we get is alot of fart humor for the kids and nothing at all for the adults who take them! A MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RebeccaB.May 18, 2007
While the plot may have been simple for the younger members of the audience, the jokes sewed into each moment were hysterical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeanneJMay 19, 2007
Classic Movie! There was something in it for everybody. Fast paced movie with adult humor & the story line was easy for the kids to follow. It was the best Shrek yet!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnN.May 21, 2007
Loved the first 2 Shrek movies. This one was absolutely TERRIBLE. I swear I didn't laugh one time. Not once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristineHahnMay 23, 2007
I thought this Shrek was definitely the worst written out of all three, so essentially, it was the worst Shrek. Too bad, considering Shrek 2 was a good follow up. Shrek 3 is just bad news.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LouisH.May 23, 2007
Not as good as the 2nd or 1st ones, but good nonetheless. What I love about all the Shreks, including this one, is how they make the good fairy tale characters bad, like price charming. Definently the need to see ending of the Shrek sequel Not as good as the 2nd or 1st ones, but good nonetheless. What I love about all the Shreks, including this one, is how they make the good fairy tale characters bad, like price charming. Definently the need to see ending of the Shrek sequel (if this one is the ending). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Guy!May 23, 2007
The Jokes of this sequel are so much funnier than the first two, but there are two problems with the movie: the movie was too fast-paced (-1) and Arthurs' lecture at the end was SOOOOOOOO LAAAAAAAAAMEE!!!!! (-1)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Apr 12, 2008
I laughed only three times outta the a hundred jokes they made. Terrible acting and story. I give it a 1.5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDoeNov 11, 2008
people(alot) said that shrek3 was horrible. but it was the best of the series!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JacobJan 6, 2014
Growing up causes you to see things in a whole knew light. As a kid I really enjoyed this movie but now that I am older the problems with it are pretty apparent. I don’t hate but is just sort of eh. I’ve grow to appreciate the first two ShrekGrowing up causes you to see things in a whole knew light. As a kid I really enjoyed this movie but now that I am older the problems with it are pretty apparent. I don’t hate but is just sort of eh. I’ve grow to appreciate the first two Shrek films now that I am older. They had great heart, humor, and likeable characters. This movie kind of does. Some of the jokes are funny and the chararacters and story do have some charm but Shrek feels kind of stale here. The characters are not as interesting, the humor is not as good, and the adult appeal is gone. This may be an average kid’s movie but that is a shame considering how good the first two were. If you are a die-hard Shrek fan and/or a little kid (especially if you are both) you will probably really enjoy the movie. Otherwise, you can afford to sit this one out. While this is not a terrible movie the Shrek franchise has seen better days and it is sad to see Dreamwork’s most beloved franchise at this level of eh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Oct 28, 2010
wasn't as good as the first two movies, but this one is very entertaining for kids and adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJul 28, 2014
Shrek the Third is an enjoyable animated Dreamworks flick and a good addition to the Shrek franchise. A lot of the jokes are funny and it still has Puss-in-Boots in it. What more can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJan 4, 2011
It was pretty good. I watched it on Christmas and it's pretty good. Kids will definitely love this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
aaronpaul121May 27, 2012
The first two movies is way better than this one. Maybe because the plot in this movie is ridiculous. Though, the graphics is still good. But it is still an "average to bad" movie and this movie proves that third sequels in movie franchisesThe first two movies is way better than this one. Maybe because the plot in this movie is ridiculous. Though, the graphics is still good. But it is still an "average to bad" movie and this movie proves that third sequels in movie franchises are bad........... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
HalfwelshmanDec 29, 2011
In Shrek the Third, the saga of the "ogre with layers" and co. begins to run out of steam. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying Shrek the Third is a bad film, but it lacks the spark that made the first two installments so enchanting. The popIn Shrek the Third, the saga of the "ogre with layers" and co. begins to run out of steam. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying Shrek the Third is a bad film, but it lacks the spark that made the first two installments so enchanting. The pop culture references are still there, but seem a bit more heavy-handed, and the jokes are a bit cruder. Perhaps it comes from Andrew Adamson retiring to a role as producer rather than being at the helm, or maybe the writers are out of decent ideas, but Shrek the Third is certainly missing something. The voice talent are as good as ever, and the character of Shrek is forced to face the biggest challenge of his life - the prospect of being a father, a concept which Mike Myers, still voicing the ogre, imbues with an appropriate range of emotions. Concerning the rest of the cast, the highlights are still Eddie Murphy as Donkey and Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, and the pair still play off each other well. Cameron Diaz's Fiona has a slightly reduced role this time round, but this allows for Julie Andrews' Queen Lillian and the other fairytale princesses to do a little more, and become a pretty formidable force in their own right. This results in the most entertaining sequence in the film by a long way - let's just say that awful phrase "girl power" doesn't quite cut it. The main villain this time round is Rupert Everett's Prince Charming, who's still really whiny, but has a clear purpose this time - revenge. The problem here is that he simply isn't as genuinely threatening a villain as John Lithgow's Lord Farquaad in the first film or Jennifer Saunders' Fairy Godmother in the second - he's just a bit too wet. New additions to the cast are Justin Timberlake as Arthur Pendragon, who puts just about enough effort in to get by, and Eric Idle, who turns in the best vocal performance of the film as a senile and emotionally erratic Merlin. There's still a lot to like about Shrek the Third, and the animation is better than ever, but it's definitely missing something that the first two films had. I'm not quite sure what it is, but with this film I just wasn't taken far far away, I just felt like I was flicking through a book of fairy tales, and at the same time watching a repeat of a mildly amusing satirical sitcom on TV. It's not an unpleasant experience, but you'd probably get more out of it if you focused your attention on a truly great example of one or the other, because it's a rarity indeed when they happily marry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DukeJonAug 27, 2013
A boring film with a phoned in plot, insipid villain and awful Arthur character we are given no reason to care about. Easily the worst of the 4 Shrek films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
avatar16Sep 10, 2011
Je ne suis pas un grand fan de Shrek, mais je dois bien avouer que le second film m'avait plutôt emballé. Ce qui est loin d'être le cas de ce troisième... A trop vouloir refaire appelJe ne suis pas un grand fan de Shrek, mais je dois bien avouer que le second film m'avait plutôt emballé. Ce qui est loin d'être le cas de ce troisième... A trop vouloir refaire appel à la plupart des personnages de la saga, le scénario en a été oublié, au point que la surdose de caricatures et de blagues à deux balles font de Shrek le Troisième un film d'animation lourd, sans imagination et rarement drôle. Même les meilleurs personnages (l'à Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 9, 2011
I don't think it is as good as Shrek 1 or Shrek 2. It isn't as good because it recycles the same ideas. I do enjoy it overall though because there is more character development and a good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
With its loss of heart and some of its charm it can't be good. Although it has just great animation and some moments that can be remembered. I think that first and second Shrec is more interesting but i will give ten for the respect for twoWith its loss of heart and some of its charm it can't be good. Although it has just great animation and some moments that can be remembered. I think that first and second Shrec is more interesting but i will give ten for the respect for two first movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
Coming off of the last one this doesn't really compare. It just didn't have the same magical fairytale feel as the others. I still laughed a lot and love the characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
moonman1994Jul 28, 2013
Very mediocre. Shrek the Third does not live up to the first two films glory. It also lacks the every age appeal the first two have. If you really like Shrek then you'll like it. If you have kid that likes Shrek they'll like it but if you'reVery mediocre. Shrek the Third does not live up to the first two films glory. It also lacks the every age appeal the first two have. If you really like Shrek then you'll like it. If you have kid that likes Shrek they'll like it but if you're not a giant Shrek fan then you should just pretend that this film doesn't exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Dec 17, 2013
This is by far the weakest of the Shrek movies. While it does have some strengths, this movie feels more like a giant step back. Even the performances aren't to the same standard as before. Many of the jokes and themes are just rehashed fromThis is by far the weakest of the Shrek movies. While it does have some strengths, this movie feels more like a giant step back. Even the performances aren't to the same standard as before. Many of the jokes and themes are just rehashed from the first two movies.

What really kills this movie is the fact that it has so much potential. It introduces plenty of new ideas and element, and yet they are barely touched upon and used properly. It's seems the writing crew had far too many ideas on the table, tried to get them all into the movie, and put the focus on the familiar stuff, rather than the new stuff. A shame as this movie could have been better with a more competent writing team.

Overall:
While it is not terrible, Shrek the third is really just a big disappointment It could have been so much more and completely wastes the material it presents.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticNov 12, 2013
A typical third, one that is a complete downgrade from both the original and the sequel. Donkey and Shrek are the only real chemistry. Fiona and Shrek relationship are already a monotonous blend. The rest of the film are stale and devoid ofA typical third, one that is a complete downgrade from both the original and the sequel. Donkey and Shrek are the only real chemistry. Fiona and Shrek relationship are already a monotonous blend. The rest of the film are stale and devoid of any entertainment Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 3, 2014
The third Shrek movie isn't even marginally good-- its downright dull. The jokes fall flat, and all the humor and innocence of the first two turns into stupidity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FreedomFightersNov 8, 2016
Didn't I just review a threequel that couldn't live up to it's classic original film and even better sequel? Talk about deja vu! "Shrek The Third" is certainly not a bad film by any stretch of the word, it's just not up to snuff with theDidn't I just review a threequel that couldn't live up to it's classic original film and even better sequel? Talk about deja vu! "Shrek The Third" is certainly not a bad film by any stretch of the word, it's just not up to snuff with the others and, ultimately, it's just okay. It's well-animated, well-acted, and has the same fun pop culture references we expect from the series, but unfortunately, it throws away the charm, wit, and overall fun factor that the two other films had. All told, "Shrek the Third" is not a terrible time, and it should be fun for the kids, but ultimately, you'll want to keep your expectations tempered here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pickle-TicklerMar 16, 2014
Worst Shrek movie out of the four in MY opinion, although Shrek would punish me if I gave it a low score so 10/10 it is. Shrek is love, Shrek is life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kiljoy0May 6, 2014
Maybe not my favorite one of the series but I believe in Shrek and all his Shrexual adventures so one must have faith in him no matter what. Things will never be ogre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
f3l1p3Sep 14, 2014
Essa é a versão mais fraca da franquia Shrek. É divertida,mas não mais do que isso. É mediano,com algumas características legais,mas não chega a ser excelente.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
Just awful, the film is so boring that I just wanted to sleep most of the time, there's nothing interesting going on, it's just a dull, dull film. Aside from that the animation is nice. But that's all I can say, this is clearly done just forJust awful, the film is so boring that I just wanted to sleep most of the time, there's nothing interesting going on, it's just a dull, dull film. Aside from that the animation is nice. But that's all I can say, this is clearly done just for the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JohnMasterLJul 20, 2015
Una decepcionante (e innecesaria) continuación. Shrek the third pasa de ser una gran película animada para todo publico a un intento de "una comedia de doble sentido" la historia es pobre en comparación a la excelente Shrek o Shrek 2, laUna decepcionante (e innecesaria) continuación. Shrek the third pasa de ser una gran película animada para todo publico a un intento de "una comedia de doble sentido" la historia es pobre en comparación a la excelente Shrek o Shrek 2, la animación es mejor, pero la comedia tuvo un bajón tremendo de calidad. Es una pena que no respetaran el mismo estilo "comedia para todo publico". Ok lo admito, si el guion fuera excelente, no habría problema, pero es tan ridículo y se siente tan forzado que da pena. ¿Fue el cambio de director? no tengo idea, pero lamentablemente, Shrek 3 es horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pauldjeteMar 6, 2015
As fun as the last chapter.I don't really realise how much "hate" is this movie getting cause it is so fun and yet interesting to watch.I prefer this chapter over the last one,still can't top first shrek movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
I liked this movie, but it wasn't fully as good as the first two Shreks. It was still funny though it just lacked the previous charm and humor that made the previous Shrek's so good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoJul 21, 2015
Of the four films was poor third quarter like I do not like this incredible saga ends with the last two criticizing mezcladamente , whether it is good or bad , if all went well or have been worse , almost gives a resounding hurts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Expired_CologneJul 30, 2015
shrek loves to stick his ogre sized c o c k in anything he sees fit, but fiona is just f u c k i n g disgusting. donkey has the mental capacity of a wombat and prince charming has charmed every man in far far away (if you know what i mean)shrek loves to stick his ogre sized c o c k in anything he sees fit, but fiona is just f u c k i n g disgusting. donkey has the mental capacity of a wombat and prince charming has charmed every man in far far away (if you know what i mean) the only good character in this movie is shrek and the gingerbread man that can turn into a f u c k i n g giant whenever he pleases. I just want to love shrek and not worry about all of these other random characters that contribute nothing to shrek and his adventure into the depths of my a n u s. Please dreamworks make a shrek the last stand. I want him to rape every single character in the movie. Including donkey and his donk d i c k. thanks for the onions-yours truly-manny from ice age Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CGULLZJul 30, 2015
To be honest i dont know that to say about this movie i mean shrek is love shrek is life but this movie does have its faults. My first problem with the movie is when they reveal shrek to have gotten fiona pregers like how in the h e l l couldTo be honest i dont know that to say about this movie i mean shrek is love shrek is life but this movie does have its faults. My first problem with the movie is when they reveal shrek to have gotten fiona pregers like how in the h e l l could shrek have gotten his giant eshrekt c o c k up foinas p u s s y, and how did donkey bang a dragon. Well anyway the story is shrek has to go get another king for far far way and while he is gone prince charming atracks what an a s s h o l e. I thought it had a really good story and it is a love letter to shrek fans ever. The conedy is golden and it made my eshrekt w e i n e r stand tall and pround. Long live king shrek. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoSep 19, 2015
The first Shrek was a masterpiece. It was original, funny and charming. The second one was even better. But with the second one, Dreamworks set our expectations so high, it was difficult to meet them. As such, the resulting film is a goodThe first Shrek was a masterpiece. It was original, funny and charming. The second one was even better. But with the second one, Dreamworks set our expectations so high, it was difficult to meet them. As such, the resulting film is a good movie but nowhere near as good as it's predecessors. Eric Idle does a great Merlin and the main cast are as good as ever, but you still can't help feeling that there could have been more to it. I would recommend it but don't expect it to be as great as the first two. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CriticFerSep 23, 2016
Well, in my opinion, Shrek the Third it was okay. Before the comments attacks me, i explain why. I know that i it is supposed to hate this like everyone else, but i don't hate it. I mean, it had problems like some of the jokes are not funny,Well, in my opinion, Shrek the Third it was okay. Before the comments attacks me, i explain why. I know that i it is supposed to hate this like everyone else, but i don't hate it. I mean, it had problems like some of the jokes are not funny, the Shrek's Nightmare and Ginger-man Past doesn't make seances and the villain is really unnecessary, but the animation is good, the characters are okay (Except for the princess who are really funny and great characters), the story is okay and the jokes are funny. But if there is something I can agree with all the others, is that this film is the lowest of the others Shrek movies.
It's just that I didn't find out too bad in my case. Still, I recommend in if there's a necessary case.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 25, 2016
Ultimately the weakest of the franchise. Well, that's a bummer because we all thought it would've end after the second Shrek movie. It's just a rehash from the first two movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DavidTejadaAug 22, 2016
This is not Shrek, is a franchise who wants to get money. The third part of the successful Shrek results really bad in every way, fewer fun, jokes and adventures. The jokes were obscenely made, and so awkward. This is the worst movie ofThis is not Shrek, is a franchise who wants to get money. The third part of the successful Shrek results really bad in every way, fewer fun, jokes and adventures. The jokes were obscenely made, and so awkward. This is the worst movie of Dreamworks. And who would say that it might be of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FilmMasterEdJan 5, 2016
Shrek ain't dreck, it's just that the third chapter in the life of the bilious-green ogre is listing from taking on the heavy load of virtue, a poor substitute for mischief. I mean, really, isn't it way early in the sequel stage for our boyShrek ain't dreck, it's just that the third chapter in the life of the bilious-green ogre is listing from taking on the heavy load of virtue, a poor substitute for mischief. I mean, really, isn't it way early in the sequel stage for our boy Shrek (again voiced by Mike Myers) to be facing a midlife crisis? With the king dead, should Shrek wear the crown? With wife Fiona (Cameron Diaz) knocked up, should Shrek embrace the responsibilities of fatherhood? Decisions. Decisions. What the hell happened to the swamp where Shrek farted without fear during his mud showers? Who wrote this thing, Dr. Phil? Actually Chris Miller, who co-directed with Raman Hui, is one of the four screenwriters it took to spoil the fun with "to-thy-own-self-be-true" message mongering. I just flashed on another sequel with Shrek as Lear. Yikes!

Miller lacks the light touch of Andrew Adamson, who directed the first two Shrek hits, including the terrific Oscar-winning original. The kid in me perked up briefly when Shrek, in the sassy company of Donkey (Eddie Murphy) and Puss n Boots (Antonio Banderas), set out to find a king substiture. That would be once and future King Artie (Justin Timberlake), a high-school nerd who is way too square at this stage to invent a cool concept like the Round Table. Hopes for a romantic triangle are shattered when it is revealed that Artie and Fiona are cousins, a convenient plot ploy since Diaz and Timberlake have since ended their tabloid-fueled love thang. What lifts the movie from time to time is the fun on the sidelines. Rupert Everett wickedly voices Charming, a prince reduced to doing dinner theater. And Fiona bonds with a feminist cabal made up of kickass ladies-in-waiting, including Amy Poehler voicing Snow White, Maya Rudolph doing Rapunzel, Amy Sedaris as Cinderella, and Cheri Oteri nodding off as Sleeping Beauty. But there's no disguising the fact that Shrek the Third has come down with a bad case of sequelitis. You know the symptoms: Lots of razzle-dazzle to distract from the hole at the center of the story. You know, the place where fresh ideas should be.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FuturedirectorMar 20, 2016
Shrek the third is a thin sequel for a just twice great trilogy, with not enough color and fun as the other ones. This film fights 'till death with its self, trying to be for children, and then for adults, or vice verse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bmeyer8Dec 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People seem to think Shrek the Third is the worst movie in the franchise, but to me it was just good. There is a strong message about family and stunning animation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
superbatJul 9, 2016
This movie was a ripoff from Disney cartoons and fairytales. Until I watched Shrek 4, I thought that this was the worst movie in the series. I was disappointed with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Shrek the Third is where the series went downhill for me. The story in this one is just not nearly as interesting as the first two. It isn't nearly as iconic or memorable which is the main disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SimpsonFansAug 4, 2016
I love Shrek. I think he's a great character, and his film series is excellent and witty. But Shrek the Turd – oops, I mean Third – is an unnecessary sequel that is trying to reach the height of the first two. It lacks the wit and comedy thatI love Shrek. I think he's a great character, and his film series is excellent and witty. But Shrek the Turd – oops, I mean Third – is an unnecessary sequel that is trying to reach the height of the first two. It lacks the wit and comedy that made the first entries comical, and the story feels fine It also had so many characters; so many to keep track of.

However, it DID have its redeeming qualities, such as the character of Merlin (excellently voiced by Eric Idle).

In short, this bland threequel should have been better developed, or, better yet, made better. But the film is really good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
gNov 12, 2016
Third installments do get very challenging whenever you don't make a fool of yourself by the film becoming the worst, but Shrek The Third (2007) is just cheesy with so many voice-acting and no summary to follow on with a source of wierdness.Third installments do get very challenging whenever you don't make a fool of yourself by the film becoming the worst, but Shrek The Third (2007) is just cheesy with so many voice-acting and no summary to follow on with a source of wierdness. Worst film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
JPKApr 28, 2017
WHY DREAMWORKS?, WHY!?
Sums up Shrek The Third in 3 Words and this is coming from someone who actually thinks Shark Tale is decent, I really like the first two Shrek movies, but this was just awful! I really don't want to talk about this
WHY DREAMWORKS?, WHY!?
Sums up Shrek The Third in 3 Words and this is coming from someone who actually thinks Shark Tale is decent, I really like the first two Shrek movies, but this was just awful! I really don't want to talk about this awful movies so i'll stop here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews