User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ArielG
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    At first I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy this. I'm a big fan of their music, but I was never a fan of the music documentary genre as a whole, so I proceeded very carefully. I must say this documentary proved me wrong, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We get to spend a lot of time with the Dixie Chicks, almost like a day-in-the-life, watching them perform on stage, working in the At first I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy this. I'm a big fan of their music, but I was never a fan of the music documentary genre as a whole, so I proceeded very carefully. I must say this documentary proved me wrong, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. We get to spend a lot of time with the Dixie Chicks, almost like a day-in-the-life, watching them perform on stage, working in the studio, spending time with their spouses and children (Marty's twins during Halloween were especially cute!), seeing their reaction to being despised by so-called 'patriots' - coincidentally the real patriots, from when that term originated from, always defended free speech, and never tried to quash it. It's one of the hallmarks of being a true patriot. Through this documentary, we get to experience what they're experiencing, warts and all. I also liked just watching them in the studio, crafting their songs. It was such a joy to watch. And Natalie was hilarious in all her scenes, a natural extrovert. The movie was very satisfying, and it left me feeling as if I had gotten to know to know the Chicks so well, as well as gaining a greater appreciation for their music. This documentary will likely turn you into a fan. The five Grammy awards the girls received this year is not only a vindication for them, but also a great triumph and acknowledgment of their talent. Highly recommended! Expand
  2. ChrisW.
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I think it's beautiful that we have a country that allows for freedom of speech. It's unfortunate that some people lack civility and need to make death threats to express their disagreement. I saw this movie and think it was wonderfully produced and directed.
  3. AprilR.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I watched this film with a friend of mine who lacked much of an opinion on the Chicks one way or the other-once it was over she was talking about buying all their albums and wanting to see them in concert! This film is a testament to the ignorance and mob mentality that rules so much of our society. Ask most people who are "Anti-chicks" and they probably couldn't even tell you I watched this film with a friend of mine who lacked much of an opinion on the Chicks one way or the other-once it was over she was talking about buying all their albums and wanting to see them in concert! This film is a testament to the ignorance and mob mentality that rules so much of our society. Ask most people who are "Anti-chicks" and they probably couldn't even tell you exactly why. I often hear "they don't support the troops", "they are unpatriotic"-none of which, of course, is true. I found this film to be very educational and emotional-making me laugh and even cry towards the end at the bond between these gals. In a world that lacks individual thought and thrives on conformity, I am reminded of why the founding father created the electoral college-they didn't believe in the ability of the general American public to make informed and intelligent voting decisions-this film shows many fine examples why. It tells a sad truth about our society while simultaneously giving us hope that not everyone will strive to conform at the cost of personal liberties; one of the most important of which is the freedom of speech; for which NO ONE deserves death threats and so much ignorantly inspired hate. All in all a brilliant piece of work! Expand
  4. rob
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Perfectly enjoyable documentary in th manner of fact Kopple way.
  5. MaryW.
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Mothers take your daughters to see this movie -- bodacious and loving, it's the best of the best. These are real women and I love their outrage and their courage.
  6. JohnA.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    The movie, while made in a matter of fact style, evokes such powerful, visceral feelings - political and otherwise - that viewers can't even seem to agree on what's in the movie. For example, many who liked the movie cited, as one reason, the fact that there's so much Dixie Chicks music in it; others who disliked the movie complained that there wasn't even much music The movie, while made in a matter of fact style, evokes such powerful, visceral feelings - political and otherwise - that viewers can't even seem to agree on what's in the movie. For example, many who liked the movie cited, as one reason, the fact that there's so much Dixie Chicks music in it; others who disliked the movie complained that there wasn't even much music in it. Go figure. I'm completely on the side of those who loved it. Expand
  7. AnthonyP
    Feb 25, 2007
    10
    This is documentary film making at its best. Prior to the 2003
  8. michellec.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    This was awesome!!! Love the Chicks and Love the timing of the political aspects surrounding this release.
  9. Caladonia
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Brutally honest and inspiring.
  10. DaveN.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Good for you! You girls are American heroes! These girls have done something more important than even music. They stood up for what they believe in, and I think they should be very proud of that. It's this kind of message that shows the world that there are some truly great people in the US, and that some Americans actually do exercise their freedom to have their own opinion! Good for you! You girls are American heroes! These girls have done something more important than even music. They stood up for what they believe in, and I think they should be very proud of that. It's this kind of message that shows the world that there are some truly great people in the US, and that some Americans actually do exercise their freedom to have their own opinion! It's kind of funny that when Natalie made her statement, it was sort of off the cuff, and didn't really bear that much weight. She probably didn't like the idea of her country invading another, but it didn't appear that she was really making a political statement, and even laughed it off after saying it. It really did appear that it was to get the crowd cheering. I'm certain that nothing later entrenched her opinion so deep as much as fellow Americans advocating the stagnation of freedom of expression. If I were her, I'd be pissed too! I'm not a country or western music fan, but I support these girls, and I'll definitely consider going to one of their shows! The Dixie Chicks should be very proud of themselves, and the rest of America should be proud of them too! Expand
  11. AnthonyP
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    This is documentary film making at its best. Prior to the 2003
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Gallo
    60
    It's the rare thorough documentary on a musical act whose dilemmas are faced in the here and now, one that should win over fans of the Chicks on the fence and of music docus and perhaps create a little cultural stir as well.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    50
    The movie's not quite the Bush bashfest its publicity might lead you to believe; it's closer to the Metallica doc "Some Kind of Monster" than to "Fahrenheit 9/11."
  3. Through it all, Natalie Maines' decision to shirk humility, to stick by her guns, to the point that the group returns to that London concert venue in 2006 and she utters the same joke again, becomes a feisty and inspiring act of something there is only one word for: patriotism.