Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 450 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
295
Mixed:
69
Negative:
86
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
I'm not too retarded that I didn't get the humor. It just wasn't a great movie. It was okay but not one to own. I'm sure people who are uptight and think they are upper class citizens found this movie delightful. Good for you.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
5
DanJan 6, 2008
I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie that just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. Maybe it's that both Giamatti and Church's character weren't even likable in the least with both coming off as obnoxious and self-centered. It could be that this movie is just drag out boring with uninteresting situations and dialogue throughout. I know it's in that pseudo category DRAMEDY, but seriously you'll find more laughs in Schindler's' List than this steaming pile. Please don't waste your precious 2 hours on this film and instead go have your pet spade or neutered. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
6
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Rated above "Apocalypse Now"? Come on!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MackJan 6, 2009
Don't critics give points for movies being enjoyable to watch? This one is not particularly funny or interesting. Seems like a real bandwagon movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AlecE.Mar 14, 2008
A clear case of hype elevating a movie to a status it doesnt deserve. Nothing special.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
DamirApr 25, 2008
ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt recommend it, but i'm glad i saw it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoaquinGSep 6, 2009
This movie is not funny at all. It's terribly slow and quite boring. Huge disappointment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Mar 14, 2006
Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you dislike your life so much as to feel better from looking at this guy, then you might like this movie. Like most beta-male oriented movies, it focuses on the "small victories" of the main character. It also did not impress me with its taste in wine. What's wrong with merlot? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
tonys.May 10, 2006
Sweet movie, but highly overrated. Virginia Madsen was awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JohnAJan 6, 2006
This film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. SidewaysThis film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. Sideways provided some very funny moments but was far more work and not enough entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregC.Jul 18, 2006
Wore thin after a while. I stopped caring about Giamatti's character when he ripped off his Mom's money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
FilipeMOct 19, 2009
Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but funny storylines. If you want to watch because you're depressed, you'll just get bored to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GeorgeSNov 17, 2005
The only question I have for the esteemed critics is this... Where is the list for the most overhyped movies of all time? cause I think this would be somewhere around the top 20 or so. It has everything in it to appeal to VERY particular The only question I have for the esteemed critics is this... Where is the list for the most overhyped movies of all time? cause I think this would be somewhere around the top 20 or so. It has everything in it to appeal to VERY particular people the whole movie seems like it is designed with the movie critic in mind NOT the consumer. So of course you find the movie legendary they deliberately placed anything and everything that appeals to critics in it. Meanwhile I never fall asleep during movies and fell asleep around the last twenty minutes it just couldnt hold my interest It does have some very funny events but its not a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
katieh.Dec 12, 2005
This is not a movie that I could sit through in one shot. I had to stop, and come back to it. To be fair, though, there are several quotable moments and humourous scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielF.Apr 21, 2006
Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me cry. This movie is not horrible just overrated. Sorta reminds me of fargo with out the charm and murder. Well anyway don't expect a spectacular movie and you won't be disapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShahpoorIApr 26, 2009
Expected a bit more out of the movie.. It was also a bit slow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KristenR.Nov 14, 2005
I wouldn't say this is a bad movie, per say....just OVER-rated. To see it as number six on the all-time best movies is just ridiculous. "Sideways" has an interesting take on life for middle-aged men, yes, and it introduced thousands of I wouldn't say this is a bad movie, per say....just OVER-rated. To see it as number six on the all-time best movies is just ridiculous. "Sideways" has an interesting take on life for middle-aged men, yes, and it introduced thousands of people to Pinot Noir.....but is it a fabulous movie? No. I feel like this is one of those movies where it is just hip to like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
robuglyDec 28, 2005
I also don't understand why this movie rates so high. It is just a movie about a couple of guys going around drinking wine. The whole time I kept wondering what this movie was going to be about, then it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful