User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 663 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    0
    I'm baffled as to why this has such high scores. I could have fallen asleep for the whole film and not missed anything apart from a bit of silly pretentious talking about wine.
  2. AnthonyS
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  3. LaneB.
    Mar 2, 2005
    1
    Shane got it dead right; it's particularly depressing that so many others seem to think it's good.
  4. JeffM
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but A very realistic movie. In a time of Hollywood acting and Hollywood endings, this movie is a breath of fresh air. It is not a feel good movie, but at times extremely funny and entertaining. Too many people see this movie expecting a laugh riot...It's not!!! What it is is a look at real people doing real things and it is very fun to watch. At times it is very depressing, but that's real life. I feel sorry for everybody who doesn't like this movie...I say watch it again, now that you know what to expect, and maybe you'll see how truely great it is. Expand
  5. JackO
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
  6. TroyP.
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
  7. RodG.
    Feb 21, 2007
    6
    I'm not too retarded that I didn't get the humor. It just wasn't a great movie. It was okay but not one to own. I'm sure people who are uptight and think they are upper class citizens found this movie delightful. Good for you.
  8. Jimmy
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Outstanding film, an instant classic. How you could give this movie a negative review is beyond me. The acting is superb. This is an honest film and real as a movie can be-- it wasn't made just to make you laugh. If you missed the point, I guess that's your loss. Go watch American Pie or something.
  9. Feb 12, 2012
    0
    This movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film and real must be leading a very pathetic and sad life.
  10. Nov 2, 2010
    2
    Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring.Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narratedAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
  12. DanB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    3
    This movie is not piercing, it does not explroe the dark side of life, it is not touching or moving or startlingly honest. It is not, in short, anything all the reviewers are saying it is. Do these people have their heads up their bums? Honestly now, do they? It's not funny. It's not sad. It's annoyingly melodramatic and touched up with goofy slapstick that totally This movie is not piercing, it does not explroe the dark side of life, it is not touching or moving or startlingly honest. It is not, in short, anything all the reviewers are saying it is. Do these people have their heads up their bums? Honestly now, do they? It's not funny. It's not sad. It's annoyingly melodramatic and touched up with goofy slapstick that totally undermine any attmept at reality. Ack. Tphoo! Don't watch this movie. I saw it in a screening a few weeks ago and am very happy I did not spend money on it. Expand
  13. EricL.
    Jan 10, 2005
    7
    A little better than average, but it can be slow at times. I don't understand why the critics loved it so much.
  14. Cecile
    Feb 8, 2005
    2
    I want more from a movie than a glossy travel brochure. What an example of drink driving! and was the director taking the mickey on the wine stuff - talk about over the top! I certainly would not recommend it.
  15. JeremyR.
    Apr 13, 2005
    0
    It is the wrst movie ever. How can u have such bad taste.
  16. A.Post
    Jun 20, 2005
    2
    Great if you enjoy the common antics of self-absorbed adults; a waste of time, otherwise.
  17. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening.
  18. MikeH.
    Feb 27, 2007
    3
    Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be occasionally funny and deep, but they are STILL ANNOYING. Sorry, but this was a terrible movie to live through for me and the three others that watched it with me. Expand
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actorsGiamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
  20. Richards
    Oct 8, 2005
    3
    Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and some obvious insights into middle-aged men. Overlong, under-written, too little drama and amazingly over-rated. The emotion also veers all over the Wow, were those outstanding reviews all written by family members or what? Not a bad film, but not a great one, or an "instant classic" either. Just an ordinary slice-of-life pic with a few scenes that raise a smile, but no great laughs, and some obvious insights into middle-aged men. Overlong, under-written, too little drama and amazingly over-rated. The emotion also veers all over the place, from maudlin pathos, to pornographic, to sappy sentiment. Along with The Station Agent, one of the most over-rated films for years - perhaps they are only suited to an American audience and American "humour"? Expand
  21. JeffH.
    Mar 19, 2007
    0
    Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers whose lives are terrible and they have no one to blame but themselves. I would like the two hours of my life back that i sat watching this slow, Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers whose lives are terrible and they have no one to blame but themselves. I would like the two hours of my life back that i sat watching this slow, boring, unfunny, atroscity of a movie....do not even waste your time. Expand
  22. Dan
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie that just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. Maybe it's that both Giamatti and Church's character weren't even likable in the least I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie that just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. Maybe it's that both Giamatti and Church's character weren't even likable in the least with both coming off as obnoxious and self-centered. It could be that this movie is just drag out boring with uninteresting situations and dialogue throughout. I know it's in that pseudo category DRAMEDY, but seriously you'll find more laughs in Schindler's' List than this steaming pile. Please don't waste your precious 2 hours on this film and instead go have your pet spade or neutered. Expand
  23. May 8, 2012
    9
    Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
  24. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    "Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds.
  25. Truman
    Oct 8, 2005
    2
    A simple review - how did this beat The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind in so many award ceremonies? Daylight robbery, pure and simple. If you want to see a brilliantly written, directed and acted film about mid-life crisis watch The Wonderboys. This is a poor second cousin in comparison.
  26. May 10, 2011
    10
    This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
  27. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    Rated above "Apocalypse Now"? Come on!
  28. Mack
    Jan 6, 2009
    4
    Don't critics give points for movies being enjoyable to watch? This one is not particularly funny or interesting. Seems like a real bandwagon movie.
  29. AlecE.
    Mar 14, 2008
    5
    A clear case of hype elevating a movie to a status it doesnt deserve. Nothing special.
  30. Damir
    Apr 25, 2008
    6
    ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt recommend it, but i'm glad i saw it. Expand
  31. SImonM
    Jan 11, 2009
    8
    Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Expand
  32. JoaquinG
    Sep 6, 2009
    4
    This movie is not funny at all. It's terribly slow and quite boring. Huge disappointment.
  33. MichaelL.
    Mar 14, 2006
    5
    Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you dislike your life so much as to feel better from looking at this guy, then you might like this movie. Like most beta-male oriented movies, it focuses on Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you dislike your life so much as to feel better from looking at this guy, then you might like this movie. Like most beta-male oriented movies, it focuses on the "small victories" of the main character. It also did not impress me with its taste in wine. What's wrong with merlot? Expand
  34. tonys.
    May 10, 2006
    5
    Sweet movie, but highly overrated. Virginia Madsen was awesome.
  35. TimA
    Sep 14, 2008
    2
    Firstly for a comedy this is not funny. The acting is wooden and somehow makes you feel rather distant from the film. The whole wine tasting theme through the film is so pretentious and psuedo classy. Avoid
  36. ChristopherJ.
    Mar 17, 2007
    3
    Giamatti is awesome. The other acting is acceptable. The movie never seems to go anywhere. It does have some humor.
  37. justicenow
    Aug 16, 2008
    1
    This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. Out of 450 votes this movie's rating is 6.1 out of 10. Though I thought the movie was horrible, a 6.1 gives the public a reasonable idea of what This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. Out of 450 votes this movie's rating is 6.1 out of 10. Though I thought the movie was horrible, a 6.1 gives the public a reasonable idea of what the over all value of the movie is. 94 out of 100 is ridiculous. Expand
  38. Aug 14, 2010
    7
    Although I enjoyed the movie, I'm not sure why the critics fawned over it as much as they did. It's solid, but not spectacular. The characters and plot were entertaining and unique.
  39. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make.
  40. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
    This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
    i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
  41. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
  42. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
  43. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
  44. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And theA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
  45. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. AA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
  46. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
  47. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
  48. LauraM
    Feb 3, 2005
    8
    The characters were both stereotypes, which is ok for a comedy, less so for a serious movie. The former soap opera star was more over the top, and I have to say that I liked his character better than the writer's, whose story was far too formulaic. Still, a solid comedy.
  49. JohnL.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Great movie! I did not know what to expect, so the entire movie was a surprise. Very funny, I laughed out so many times. Story is orignal, not your typical movie. I think this is the movie of the year.
  50. brianB
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Brilliant script. Excellent acting. Simply stated, the best movie I have seen in several years. Don't miss it!
  51. Derkins
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Brilliant, and the best film I have seen all year. Excellent characters, beautiful visuals, and in the screening I saw I have never heard a theater erupt in laughter so loudly and sit in sadness so quietly before.
  52. liz
    Jan 1, 2005
    10
    A perfect 10--a great movie.
  53. BrianG.
    Jan 30, 2005
    5
    With the exception of Giamatti's performance, I was disappointed. I felt no empathy towards any of the characters and definitely no sympathy.
  54. ZsoltG.
    Jan 31, 2005
    8
    A simple, moderate, beautiful movie. Paul Giamatti is wonderful, because he succeeds in being always natural and authentic.
  55. DavidR.
    Jan 30, 2005
    6
    Not to say that this is a bad movie by any means, but it's basically a middle-aged, more down n out version of "Swingers". The plot is very formulaic. There were some good moments but all and all it's definitely over-hyped. Maybe all the critcs are divorced 40-somethings who can relate.
  56. JonathanS.
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    Fresh, honest. An inspired and funny look at men's searches for sex and love.
  57. LanieJ.
    Feb 14, 2005
    5
    Unevenly spiteful then compassionate, which often makes a moving film. However, the 3 of the 4 main characters are unredeemable which, for me, made the movie the same.
  58. AlanD
    Feb 5, 2005
    4
    A slightly amusing movie at the time that has grown less substantial each time I think of it. I just love the breathless accusations here and elsewhere that if you don't think this was a brilliant movie, you must be a phillistine. "Look, it's about wine--it must be the antidote to Shark Tale!" Fact is, there aren't enough bad "wine is like life" cliches in the world to keep A slightly amusing movie at the time that has grown less substantial each time I think of it. I just love the breathless accusations here and elsewhere that if you don't think this was a brilliant movie, you must be a phillistine. "Look, it's about wine--it must be the antidote to Shark Tale!" Fact is, there aren't enough bad "wine is like life" cliches in the world to keep this movie afloat. And how about the "unpublished yet brilliant first novel" cliche? Anyway, if you're in the "NPR wine tasting benefit for the homeless" set, or aspire to it, this is the movie for you! Expand
  59. RayM.
    Feb 9, 2005
    8
    Those disliking the film have perfect lives or perceive themselves as flawless. The movie is about screwing up. You either relate, because you're human, or you don't because you're George Bush.
  60. GraemeH.
    Mar 19, 2005
    6
    I'm surprised that the critics rated it so highly. I did enjoy the movie but it's certainly not worth the ratings it has been given.
  61. kevind.
    Apr 2, 2005
    3
    Incredibly slow...nice acting - but the hype and reviews have been unbelievable! first film i have ever walked out on halfway through...a couple of mildly, and only mildly, amusing moments. 96%???!!!
  62. AndyG.
    Apr 9, 2005
    7
    Skllful acting, clever script, polished direction, yet for some reason it remains flat and uninvolving;- to me, at least. It's Holywood, all the way.
  63. Devyman
    May 18, 2005
    4
    I truley didnt see what all the hype was about. I was a kind of dull storyline.
  64. FelixS.
    May 8, 2005
    1
    This movie was a total... well, wank. I can clearly see why it appealed to critics, but they've got to realise they're not always the desired audience! The movie was dull, un-ending, and romanticised the character's flaws, without any justification.
  65. NickM
    May 9, 2005
    5
    Not bad, but largely overrated.
  66. OrlandoC.
    Jun 1, 2005
    7
    While this pleasant, sometimes sweet movie is well engineered, it stretches a thin story. Only after 45min does Miles add substance. It goes by like novels written by the new wave of French authors: you can find magic and tragedy in every day, but looking back, there really isn't much material to the plot.
  67. OrlandoCuculiza
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Ok, the movie is highly enjoyable and entertaining but it ain't as great as all the critics picture it!. Of course you enjoy the plot and all, but there aren't many hilarious movies and the humor is not even ironic or such to laugh out loud of the circumstances.
    It's just an over-the-average dromedy, which you could watch just to watch when you're bored.
  68. christianb.
    Jun 30, 2005
    4
    What a let down. The characters were so totally lacking in appeal I didn't care what happened to them. The "wine as metephor for life" was laid on so thick that not a single laugh escaped.
  69. KevinG.
    Jan 21, 2006
    0
    This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best part. What a boring ass movie! I kept waiting for it to spark up into something funny... and I'm still waiting for that!
  70. BlaineH.
    Apr 1, 2006
    0
    I found both leading male characters to be sleezy and more over, not funny. Maybe it's the fact that I would never associate with anyone with the slightest similarities in character, EVER. It was a waste and a bore.
  71. JesusC
    Mar 30, 2007
    0
    Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with the subtlety of a sledgehammer, awkward and cliche'd.
  72. AidanW
    Mar 14, 2008
    0
    The worst part is that merlot sales dropped because of this movie. way to go america!
  73. ChristopherC.
    Nov 17, 2004
    5
    This movie is the kind of sophmoric humor found in harold and kumar go to white castle, except substitue wine and drunkeness instead of weed and burgers. the only saving grace is that we are spared the happily ever after moment, leaving at least one thing to the imagination.
  74. DouglasA.
    Nov 7, 2004
    3
    A true case of the Emporer's clothes--I really don't know where to start. He is an example of a big laugh: Paul Giamatti has just received some bad news as his friend stands by to console him. In a fit of passion Giamatti grabs a bottle of wine and runs down a hill drinking it as his friend pursues trying to get him to stop. Har-dee-har-har
  75. KatieM
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    This movie was moving and beautiful, but I actually preferred the book, where Miles's character is just as real but a little bit less of a downer.
  76. AS
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    So far, this is the best film of 2004. It's just simply one perfect film. Sad, wise and VERY funny. Very highly recommended.
  77. [Anonymous]
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    The smartest funny movie I have seen in years.
  78. Aaron
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Sideways deserves all of the positive reviews it is receiving. It is such a breath of fresh air in a movie world where beautiful, perfect looking actors with no talent take in $20 million a movie. I loved Sideways for its brutally honest depiction of how life really is if you make bad decisions in life, but I also admire the writer
  79. NealA.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Pure cinematic magic!
  80. ZekeF.
    Jan 17, 2005
    1
    I usually enjoy the art house flicks and agree with most critics, but this film was absolutely terrible. Here is why: 1- Most scenes were predictable and redundant. 2-The interpretation of every metaphor was painfully obvious and shoved down my throat until I wanted to vomit. 3- A more interesting dialogue could have been found in an assisted living center for geriatric mutes. If this I usually enjoy the art house flicks and agree with most critics, but this film was absolutely terrible. Here is why: 1- Most scenes were predictable and redundant. 2-The interpretation of every metaphor was painfully obvious and shoved down my throat until I wanted to vomit. 3- A more interesting dialogue could have been found in an assisted living center for geriatric mutes. If this film were a wine, it would have been a 1961 box of welche's grape juice with a dog turd floating in it. I am still trying to figure out how it got such high reviews. My only suggestion is that alot of critics were able to readily identify with a neurotic, self-consumed, socially deranged drunk. Expand
  81. Rod
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    A refreshingly good film!
  82. AndreasC
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    Fantastic film. Paul Giamatti is amazing and so is everything from story to soundtrack.
  83. VictoriaS.
    Jan 24, 2005
    4
    The rating is virtually purely for the acting, particularly by Paul Giamatti, who can basically do no wrong. Aside from that, I have absolutely no idea what all the fuss is about. This is a very "little" movie about fairly unpleasant people making the unsurprising -- and pat -- midlife discovery that they are the authors of their own misery. Gee! Gosh!
  84. GlendaS.
    Dec 6, 2005
    3
    There is no likeable characters in this movie, I don't understand why professional reviewers like it so much.
  85. RP
    Jan 27, 2005
    5
    Crirics overrate this movie. 2 main characters are louts. Story line didn't engage me.
  86. PatriciaB.
    Jan 28, 2005
    3
    Maybe the screenings of this film that critics attended were accompanied by heavy-duty wine-tasting. That is to say, I think the folks who gave this film such high praise MUST have been drunk or perhaps they have a special part of their brains that responds really well to mediocrity. There's a reason audiences aren't embracing this film as well as critics... because viewers know Maybe the screenings of this film that critics attended were accompanied by heavy-duty wine-tasting. That is to say, I think the folks who gave this film such high praise MUST have been drunk or perhaps they have a special part of their brains that responds really well to mediocrity. There's a reason audiences aren't embracing this film as well as critics... because viewers know what they like and critics seem to hate them for it. Low-budget, trivial films with a small scope and mostly unknown actors are to critics what drugs are to addicts. Audiences should JUST SAY NO to this film. Expand
  87. AdamS.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this The user comments on this website match the sentiments I get from friends and family. Sideways is hit or miss - you love it or hate it. Simply put, the script and the acting are excellent (seriously... top notch), but the movie is never exciting or wildly dramatic. If you're the kind of person who gets excited about convincing characters and plots then you shouldn't pass this one up. Otherwise, you've been warned. Expand
  88. ZachL
    Jan 30, 2005
    8
    The beginning dragged on for me (i'm 16 by the way), the middle was freaking hiliarious, adn the ending depressed me a little bit, but i have to say i enjoyed it... let male nudity would have been better, but at least it was funny when they showed it.
  89. KevinE.
    Jan 4, 2005
    1
    If you're a filmaker who insists on portraying unlikeable characters as your protagonists, then you're going to alienate a lot of your audience. Why, then, this movie has attracted so much praise is really worthy of a serious sociological study of what is going on in our world these days. So many flaws, so little time... I didn't believe for a moment that Giamatti and If you're a filmaker who insists on portraying unlikeable characters as your protagonists, then you're going to alienate a lot of your audience. Why, then, this movie has attracted so much praise is really worthy of a serious sociological study of what is going on in our world these days. So many flaws, so little time... I didn't believe for a moment that Giamatti and Church were ever friends, let alone such intimate buddies as to support the premise of this entire film. Virginia Madsen and Sandra Oh deserved such a better film - this one was really undeserving of their charm, warmth and humanity. This film lost me for good when Giamatti robs his mom. Yes, it is okay to have a low-life as the lead, even two of them (maybe) but my take on the human condition is apparently not sufficiently nuanced to allow for the utter dislikability of these guys. And no one can convince me that the whole thing wasn't underwritten by the Santa Barbara County Travel Bureau and Winemakers Consortium. This film was a sham about friendship and mid-life struggles. How ludicruous to accept the farce of the wallet-retrieval from the naked tow-truck driver in the same film that would elevate wine slurping to the equivalent of the rapture! Expand
  90. AnonymousMC
    Jan 5, 2005
    3
    Loved Paul Giamatti. The rest of it is terrible and the guy who played Jack was awful.
  91. QBeing
    Jan 6, 2005
    2
    I agree with Jonathan F. The beggining was Slow thie middle was slower, the end showed some promise and then stopped completely. My wife could not stay awake, and I almost left halfway through. Why these two losers are recieven such universal praise. The one has no respect for women and the other has no respect for himself. Just abismal.
  92. TimF.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    The best non-action American movie of this pre-pubescent 21st century.
  93. WinnieS.
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each other's destructive habits. The movie also contrasts the slow dance of a new, real -- yet tentative -- love (between Giamatti and Madsen) with the I don't think any other movie has portrayed male friendship as boldly or touching a manner. We see the good, the bad, and the ugly -- from their unfailing support and affection for each other, to their codependent enabling of each other's destructive habits. The movie also contrasts the slow dance of a new, real -- yet tentative -- love (between Giamatti and Madsen) with the intoxication of overwhelming physical attraction (between Hayden Church and Oh) in an unusually clear -- and very entertaining -- manner. Each of the actors brings incredible truth to the characters. You see yourself in them and many others you have known. This movie belongs in every collection. Each viewing will reveal more layers of the uniquely human experience -- our complicated, messy lives, our desire for that perfect moment (or wine), and the pure bliss we experience when we achieve them, however fleetingly. Collapse
  94. JBradley
    Feb 1, 2005
    4
    Overrated. Overrated. Overrated. When M-critic gives a score greater than 90, I think that this must be a film that must not be missed. It was interesting and funny at times, but I would put it at the bottom of the Netflix quene. The critics should put down the wine and switch to coffee.
  95. lilyl.
    Feb 10, 2005
    0
    I am so happy to read a few other like minded reviews. I thought this was quite possibly the WORST movie I have ever sat through. I am dumbfounded over all the hype. It was slow, mean spirited and NOT at all funny. I want my money back!
  96. Shane
    Feb 22, 2005
    1
    Depressing, morally bankrupt and unfunny. The only reason this movie doesn't get a zero is because of the conversation between Giamatti and Madsen on the porch about wine. And I don't drink wine.
  97. NikB.
    Feb 25, 2005
    9
    Fantastic movie - some of the deepest, and most real, characters of a film in recent times.
  98. Chang
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Very very very great movie!!!!
  99. EJ
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    The movie was very poignant in its representation of the day to day agonies and painful joys present in contemporary life. By using wine as a conceit, the writers were able to express the complexities of modern day friendships, separation, depression and love. Subtle, devoid of hollywood gimik and rich with the flavor of human experience, Sideways could very well be the best film of the year.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    A beautifully observed, small-scale study of personal foibles, romantic uncertainty and two sides of the sadly predictable male animal.
  2. Hysterically funny yet melancholy comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    In Sideways, Payne has created four of the most lived-in, indelible characters in recent American movies. This deliciously bittersweet movie makes magic out of the quotidian.