Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 461 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
306
Mixed:
69
Negative:
86
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SpangleAug 19, 2016
A journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. PaulA journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. Paul Giammati and Thomas Haden Church are terrific in this wine-obsessed film that uses wine and literature as expertly hidden exposition as to who these two characters are. Truly brilliant writing on the part of Payne brings these men to life, along with all of their hidden motivations and baggage without a series of monologues to accomplish the same thing. As mentioned, however, the film does slack at times and can be slightly off-putting by focusing on some detestable main characters. Due to this, Sideways is held back a bit and not as good as Payne's other works. That said, nobody captures the true essence of his characters like Payne and Sideways is entirely character driven. Overall, it packs a lot of emotion and will really hit hard if you let it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
night4Apr 5, 2016
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal communication and subtext, you'll like this movie. Or vice versa.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 25, 2016
Some people don't know real comedy when they actually see one lying just right there on their faces. Don't get away with giving this a negative rating, users. I know this is actually the best comedy I've ever seen in 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way I see Miles and Jack is as Sideways in their own lives. At a point where it's kind of a midlife crisis, but they're both at completely different relationship places, with an impending wedding and a semi-recent divorce. Their story is told in such a way that they both seem pretty screwed up. This is Payne's way – telling the most screwed-up story possible with it still being funny and he definitely succeeds once again this time around.

One of the most striking relationships to me was that of Miles and his mother. He only went to visit her to steal her money and she was more interested in his washed-out actor friend than her own son. Mutual disinterest? Anyway, Miles seems to use wine as a crutch in his friendships, his relationships, and he's so obsessed that this is the way Payne shows the humor. Jack's humorous side is the constant desire to ruin the real relationship in his life by multiple different affairs right before his wedding. They're screwed up and we all know it. Miles's "relationship" with Maya is so odd because neither of them is straightforward to talk about anything other than wine, yet they both want it. This transpires throughout.
Miles is so into his wine, that we kind of see this parallel between life and wine (or Pinot) because there is a peak, a certain complexity to each bottle, and an eventual decline. It reminds me of Miles's life, but everyone else's as well. There's really only one thing that Miles wants other than Pinot. That's to get published. But it ends up that it doesn't work out and "The world doesn't give a **** what I have to say. I'm unnecessary." Same. And what else should we expect with Alexander Payne – everything that can go wrong will go wrong. Stephanie finds out about the wedding, Jack gets his face busted up, Miles has a mental breakdown. They're just trying to survive and get their consolation prizes. A wedding (built on lies) and a call from Maya, yet the ending is uncertain, just like the end of his book.

I think Sideways was impeccably executed, the cinematography was gaudy and accurate, and the characters were unique and intriguing. As always, intelligently funny & exactly my sense of humor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
baldarovApr 9, 2015
This was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People sayThis was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People say its an age thing. I'm almost 40. It was a dreadfully boring movie and many people I know agree on this. To me, it came off as one of those dreadfully boring movies that people say they like so they can say they're smart and they "totally get it". It felt like some made-for-cable-TV artsy flick that came out in the 90's or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
djniceyNov 13, 2014
I'm baffled as to why this has such high scores. I could have fallen asleep for the whole film and not missed anything apart from a bit of silly pretentious talking about wine.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
niaspeedMar 29, 2014
One of my all time favorite movies, and for some people on here to say it was the worst movie ever, watch Lost in space, or the Black Hole. People are so ridiculous. Sideways is a classic.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Halo_InsiderNov 16, 2013
The central quartet is fantastic to behold, and this remains one of Alexander Payne's best films. It's a fantastic piece of work aided by an engaging and bittersweet script.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
worleyjamersJun 8, 2013
A special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fullyA special film, the kind that stays with you days after watching it. The word that comes to mind when I think about this movie is, rich. Each scene is so perfectly constructed and full of so much heart and soul; the characters are fully realized, well developed, and perfectly portrayed by an amazing cast. Payne's direction is brilliant, this is easily his best film he's ever done. And the script is fun, charming, interesting, real, and resonant. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pHrfoFeb 17, 2013
A movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendshipA movie that does not underestimate the public, like most of the comedies nowadays. A lot of its drama is undisclosed, but perfectly understood, thanks to the flawless performances of Giamatti and Church. Payne's view of marriage, friendship and life is fascinating. The direction is outstanding: it allow us to enter the story in so many layers that we feel on a road trip, drinking wine. A real masterpiece. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
MackeyJan 5, 2013
"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more"Sideways" is a insightful movie about friendship, love, a lot drinking, bad habits and moral weaknesses of man. However it leaves delight after seeing, and chaotic adventure of main characters breathes in us hope that life is much more pleasent that it sounds. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 18, 2012
Payne directs the film so meticulously that you can't help but be intrigued by what he's showing you. He and Giamatti create and character with vast depth and sneakily subtle idiosyncrasies.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
john24Jun 25, 2012
I loved it .
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
pkgadersonsJun 10, 2012
I love the acting in this movie, i also like the drama and it has comedy too, that is great, i do not get why people doesnt like it much its of my favorite ones
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
anothercoolguyJun 10, 2012
I really like Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church, I think Thomas should won that oscar this movie is really entertaining, pretty good in my opinion, i specially liked it by the acting but still good
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
HorlanMay 8, 2012
Sideways makes you believe that the story written by Alexander Payne is true. It is fresh, smart and as sophisticated as a good, old wine. All four actors are full of emotions, especially Paul Giamatti gives an unforgettable performance.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
sfarcusFeb 12, 2012
This movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film andThis movie was horrible and the fact that it was billed as a comedy is disgusting. It was dark and disturbing. The only reason people like it because the backdrop was about wineries. How anyone can say that this was an honest film and real must be leading a very pathetic and sad life. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ScraperDec 28, 2011
Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it.Giamatti's character's dimensions are written with such care that it makes him tangible and engaging. He's both fragile and explosive. When set against Haden Church's aging jock it creates a great story with a Laurel & Hardy quality to it. What I liked though is that looks at love were highly imperfect but still had real consequences. Jennifer Aniston is not in this film. The actors are believable. I was able to want to believe them, right or wrong, for better or worse. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
J-ShapAug 29, 2011
Mastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just howMastering the tonal shifts of life with a look at the problems one can face, both serious and trivial, Sideways comes around as simply excellent. It can have scenes of high humor, scenes of sad despair, and scenes to marvel at just how something managed to end up the way it is, and the director and cast can handle the shifts between these in a way that feels so natural it's almost frightening. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jcarMay 10, 2011
This movie is phenomenal. It's humor is incredibly consistent and contains a performance from Paul Giamatti that won't be topped for ages. I loved this movie and would recommend it to anyone
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
SchmidtFeb 7, 2011
Absolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest characterAbsolute perfection - a film in which ever detail is tuned beautifully, but not overdone. The cinematography, the music, the story, the set pieces, the realism, the WINE, the humour, the dialogue... and above all else the finest character performance I've seen from a consistently great character actor, Paul Giamatti. He captures Miles with precision - reading the novel, which is narrated by Miles, you obviously gain great insight into his character, but with every twitch, half-smile, lame comment, heartbreaking expression, he truly becomes Pickett's character, and brings him to life like no other could. Haden Church as Jack is a fantastic antithesis to Miles, and gives the surprise performance of the century, and Madsen offers a strong but scarred woman, who ultimately breathes life into Miles' body. I'm only really talking about performances here, but really, you have to see this movie yourself. For some fantastic camera work look out for the scene in Los Olivos, with a drunken Miles on the phone to his ex-wife, for a beautiful piece of music from Rolfe Kent, listen out for the scene at Mrs Raymond's, where Miles is looked down upon by his family (metaphorically, of course - they are in photographs), and for the best example of just how strong Giamatti is here, watch his stomach turn as Victoria gives him the news after the wedding. He painfully holds onto a smile, and we can see in his hurt, tormented eyes that he just wants to let go. Movie magic until the last second, and after that. Mature filmmaking at its best - as 'Jimmy' says, "an instant classic... an honest film and as real as a movie can be." Couldn't have put it better myself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jan 16, 2011
This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny,This is in my top 20 movies of the last decade. It has an amazing script, and no less than three terrific performances by Paul Giamatti (one of the worst snubs in Oscar history) Thomas Hadden Church, and Virginia Madsen. It's very funny, entertaining, and made wine country a fascinating topic for someone like me who had no interest on the subject. It's purely about life and the choices we make. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
pedrostrikNov 28, 2010
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on
Best quotidian movie in the last 20 years, wonderful plot, nice acting Giamatti's performance its sublime.
This movie its not for a general crowd, as wine tour suggest, the movie target's people that loves wine, nature and stereotypes on actual society, for some people to hard to understand the movie's message.
i watch it 2 times already and there's always something new on the plot ...
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
awesomenessNov 2, 2010
Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring.Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Boring. Collapse
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although I enjoyed the movie, I'm not sure why the critics fawned over it as much as they did. It's solid, but not spectacular. The characters and plot were entertaining and unique.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
FilipeMOct 19, 2009
Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but funny storylines. If you want to watch because you're depressed, you'll just get bored to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilFOct 19, 2009
Life-affirming. Anyone who doesn't get it has a black hole where their heart should be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackOOct 10, 2009
Can't describe how real and awesome this movie is. absolute perfection in every sense of the word.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
DaveJSep 11, 2009
A good film especially due to the fact that there are not any really big name actors. I wouldn't say that its a comedy though nor should it be in the top 100 films of all time list! Still worth a seeing though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoaquinGSep 6, 2009
This movie is not funny at all. It's terribly slow and quite boring. Huge disappointment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
ShahpoorIApr 26, 2009
Expected a bit more out of the movie.. It was also a bit slow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianWApr 3, 2009
this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who this movie is neither a 10 nor a 0, but I'm giving it a 10 to offset all of you who don't have a clue. It is very entertaining and quite refreshing compared to all the formula crap coming out of Hollywood. All you folks who didn't get it ought to consider staying home to watch something really stimulating, like American Idol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SImonMJan 11, 2009
Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice Put it like this - if you are an intelligent, witty and astute person, you will LOVE this. If, however, you are not a very bright person, you will say it's boring and unfunny. Take a look at the negative reviews here and you will notice some terrible spelling, and inarticulate submissions. I think that says it all. For those who didn't enjoy the movie, perhapsMr Bean is more your style?? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MackJan 6, 2009
Don't critics give points for movies being enjoyable to watch? This one is not particularly funny or interesting. Seems like a real bandwagon movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
This movie is excellent! An amazing script with great acting. It touches on so many real life issues and does so in such a sutly humorous way. I feel that many people will not understand the greatness of this movie, but it is a masterpiece!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TimASep 14, 2008
Firstly for a comedy this is not funny. The acting is wooden and somehow makes you feel rather distant from the film. The whole wine tasting theme through the film is so pretentious and psuedo classy. Avoid
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
justicenowAug 16, 2008
This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. This is a perfect example of why Critic's reviews are irrelevant to the public. This movie was is pretty much a waste of time. I have found that user reviews and ratings are far more relevant and consistent than those of the Critics. Out of 450 votes this movie's rating is 6.1 out of 10. Though I thought the movie was horrible, a 6.1 gives the public a reasonable idea of what the over all value of the movie is. 94 out of 100 is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
jordanhJul 24, 2008
The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring.The only reason for the 1 is because of when the car fell in the ditch. that was the only funny part during the entire movie. other than that it was just annoying. it wasn't funny romantic, or entertaining. dry and excruciatingly boring. see it if you want to waste your time, but if you'd like to save two hours of your life from being completely wasted, try looking ANYWHERE else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PlanRJun 25, 2008
I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or Y Tu Mama Tambien (minus the subtitles). I've never understood the need to have likable characters in a movie like this, this isn't Spiderman. All the characters need to be is interesting, and these guys are nothing if not interesting. The humor here is mostly subtle but there are several laugh out loud moments. If you have any sort of attention span and can appereciate a well acted, smart, grown-up script, then this might become one of your favorite movies, it certainly is one of mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DamirApr 25, 2008
ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id ha ha the critics gave this a 94? tieing it with lord of the rings the return of the king? yeah right.. this is a good movie, well put together, kinda funny, but its not my style.. and i don't agree with giving it a perfect score. id say its more of a 3/4 film just missing a couple of strong marks to be accountable as a masterpiece. sideways is seriously not that great.. i wouldnt recommend it, but i'm glad i saw it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 28, 2008
One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great One of the greatest movies of all time. Alexander Payne is a master of his craft. I don't understand why so many people here didn't find it funny...I thought it was hilarious. Anyway, this film kicks ass. Great script, great shooting, great acting, great directing...everything is perfection. Only American Beauty and a select other few films rate above Sideways in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlecE.Mar 14, 2008
A clear case of hype elevating a movie to a status it doesnt deserve. Nothing special.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AidanWMar 14, 2008
The worst part is that merlot sales dropped because of this movie. way to go america!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrinsM.Mar 6, 2008
Awful. Completely unrealistic and not even remotely funny. Did I mention irritating?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RagnarJ.Mar 3, 2008
very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions very clever comedy. You see the hopeless lives of two men, succumbing slowly to their own extinction and aspiring to find a new way to lead their lives. May seem sardonic and obnoxious, at times, but they are portraying realistic emotions and case-studies. Fabulous wit and clever as f*ck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
Rated above "Apocalypse Now"? Come on!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JonSJan 8, 2008
Two repulsive men bagging two gorgeous women . . . no wonder so many movie critics loved it. Really - if you can stand the company of these guys, you need to get some new friends . . .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenCJan 8, 2008
It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even It was irritating to watch and I could not finish the movie. The characters are pathetic and the plot was trite. It was very woody allen (without his touch) - you find yourself not caring about the characters and wondering why you are even watching the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanJan 6, 2008
I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie I really have no idea why this is tauted so highly by critics. I went into this movie with extremely high expectations as I am a fan of both Paul Giamatti and Thomas Haden Church for their past work. There's something about this movie that just leaves a terrible taste in my mouth. Maybe it's that both Giamatti and Church's character weren't even likable in the least with both coming off as obnoxious and self-centered. It could be that this movie is just drag out boring with uninteresting situations and dialogue throughout. I know it's in that pseudo category DRAMEDY, but seriously you'll find more laughs in Schindler's' List than this steaming pile. Please don't waste your precious 2 hours on this film and instead go have your pet spade or neutered. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
FreddieL.Dec 1, 2007
To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that To begin, this was a delightfully written and acted film. How anyone could not connect and feel for Paul Giametti's character astounds me. It saddens me how egotistical twerps attack this film, rating it badly simply on the grounds that it was rated highly by critics, though a films quality must always be percieved without the presence of a review, in my opinion. Therefore, I am slightly surpirsed by those who didnt enjoy the film for what it was; an intimate, warming tale of a man, whose life it seems can only genuinely be related to and understood by those with a conscious, and those who don't take life for granted. In conclusion, Sideways is a truly uplifting film which i recommend highly, regardless of the critics' reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MasakiO.Oct 5, 2007
I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I thought it was a depressing. This movie gave sooo many people a wrong impression on everything to do with wine & wine tasting... As soon as you start treating FERMENTED GRAPE JUICE as if it were a person ~ Something is wrong with you. I'm from Napa... You come here and act like that then you shouldn't be on vacation. That guy - as a friend in this movie - sucks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.May 23, 2007
Its totally unfair to complain about this movie. I loved it!!!!! it was just so great all the way through. Im only 16 so i dont know if that has anything tgo do with it but its really fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SvenS.May 16, 2007
One of the best movies I have ever seen...it's so fucking good!!! I don't understand why people dislike this movie... It made me feel very good!! And the humor isn't big like Naked Gun, but it's funny!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigP.Apr 30, 2007
Extremely funny movie about wine tasting!! Actually it's about alot more than that....wonderful performances as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DrewP.Apr 14, 2007
Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and Unwatchable! Like a lot of others here, I can't understand why this was so critically acclaimed. It's not funny, and it's actually a pretty sad and obnoxious movie. I guess if you're a loser facing a midlife crisis and would like to identify with something, this is your movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngusS.Apr 11, 2007
Superb comedy. Excellent characters. So much more to offer than the average 21st Century comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobE.Apr 8, 2007
This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah This is my first rating, so it gets a 1. Really a pedestrian and trite little flick, but I did laugh a couple of times. Why did it get so many 100's by the critics? They must have been quite drunk at the time. I suggest a good Syrah buzz to make this go down a little easier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JesusCMar 30, 2007
Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with Such a disappointment! I was so looking forward to this after having worked in the wine business! & liking comedy. Found the charactors so hard to identify with and deserving of so little compassion & I the wine tasting elements handled with the subtlety of a sledgehammer, awkward and cliche'd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JeffH.Mar 19, 2007
Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers Honestly one of the worst movies i have ever seen, a complete sham that it has the same rating as pulp fiction, and is actually ahead of Schindler's List.....it is a movie that tries to come off as deep but its really about two losers whose lives are terrible and they have no one to blame but themselves. I would like the two hours of my life back that i sat watching this slow, boring, unfunny, atroscity of a movie....do not even waste your time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
Giamatti is awesome. The other acting is acceptable. The movie never seems to go anywhere. It does have some humor.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DanR.Mar 2, 2007
Are you kidding me? One of the top of all time? This website just dropped to 0 in my critic review. This movie was horrilbe. The only question is are you getting paid to hipe up a flop or what?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaveS.Mar 1, 2007
Boring! Smug, middle class nonsense, no laughs at all. you'd be hard pushed to stay awake during this. I can't for the life of me work out why the critics are fawning over it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeH.Feb 27, 2007
Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It Not to react to other reviewers but: just because you don't like the movie doesn't make you retarded. Thinking your opinion is somehow superior to others is quite retarded. This movie had some interesting humor and WAS clever. It also had interesting characters. The problem is: I disliked the characters. It was like watching a comedy about annoying people. They may be occasionally funny and deep, but they are STILL ANNOYING. Sorry, but this was a terrible movie to live through for me and the three others that watched it with me. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
6
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
I'm not too retarded that I didn't get the humor. It just wasn't a great movie. It was okay but not one to own. I'm sure people who are uptight and think they are upper class citizens found this movie delightful. Good for you.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
AlexM.Feb 11, 2007
One of the cleverest and funniest films that I have had a pleasure watching. A real delight, how all comedy should be - clever and edgy. All those who did not like this film are obviously lacking in intelligence and sense of humour!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ariBJan 24, 2007
Downright stupid and boring. This movie having a rating of 94 is an insult to all other brillaint films ever made in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LanceB.Dec 16, 2006
This movie reminded me of a really bad Seinfeld episode, and that's not a rip on Seinfeld but there were some bad Seinfeld episodes and this was like a 2 hr version of one of those.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ECNov 5, 2006
Possibly one of the smartest comedies thus far in this millenium. Anyone who doesn't like this movie is obviously too retarded to understand it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChuckB.Nov 3, 2006
In short - BORING. The only laugh (more of a titter) was the pathetic attempt to pronounce Cheval Blanc (shevull blonk?) I definitely recommend skipping this one
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShmittyS.Oct 31, 2006
Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too Yeah, are the critics High? This is the worst movie I have ever seen in the passed year. IT IS SO F.CKING STUPID! It has barely any humor, besides random cussing. All they do is drive around and drink. The critics for once actually gave too high a rating. This is ridiculous. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MollyMOct 18, 2006
I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) I heard all of the hype about this movie and thought, hey, even though the premise sounds really lame, all of these critics can't be wrong, right? Wrong. Sideways is the story about two losers (who you can never quite like or respect) who go driving around California getting drunk and trying to hook up with sluts they find along the way, all the while trying to deal with their pathetic and self-created issues. Hmm... sounds so interesting doesn't it? Nope, and it wasn't. At first it wasn't so bad, but the more I watched it, the more I felt like my sense of humanity was slowly and methodically being assaulted till, by the end, my friend and I looked at each other and apologized for suggesting we see the movie. Several times throughout the viewing people in the audience would laugh, while my friend and I would look at each other in confusion, wondering if perhaps there was some other reality that we lived in that made it so we didn't think the weasels on screen were funny. The shallowness of this movie seems to be epitomized by the scene when Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen's characters are out on the porch talking about their favorite wines and end up having a "deep" conversation. I kept thinking, is this supposed to be some deep, poignant point in the movie? It was nothing big, nothing deep or insightful to anybody who is deep and insightful. Which apparently most of the reviewers are not... I guess deep conversations and "meaningful issues" for a lot of movies are things that I think about and discuss with friends and family on regular basis, so maybe my life is just more complex and deep than I knew, because this movie wasn't impressive to me in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesE.Oct 12, 2006
Fantastic. Alexander Payne is one of the best filmmakers alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MorrisLeCatSep 9, 2006
It always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) thatIt always astonishes me that a movie like this can get high review marks. This reminded me of 'Wedding Crashers', in that, once again, we are supposed to find meaning or feeling or poignancy in characters (at least 2 of them) that have absolutely zero redeaming value? Take Jack (the one who's getting married), for instance. To watch someone spend the last week before marriage getting laid as often as possible simply doesn't push any comedy 'ha ha' buttons for me.Jack was unbearably tedious within the first 20 minutes of the start. Miles was more a charicature that a character -- his stealing from his mother and his daily drunkeness left no room in my heart to hope for a hapy ending for him. He didn't deserve Maya -- he didn't desrve anything. And his middle school student didn't deserve him.

This movie is basically one in which three out of the four main characters (Miles, Jack, and Maya) get to have a reasonably happy ending when none of them have earned it as human beings. I suppose that would be okay if the movie didn't deliver the story in a way tath seems to condone or celebrate it. Talk about a unredeeming amoral flick, this one's a poster child.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 27, 2006
This movie brings out the emotion of the everyman. The ups and the downs of life crashing and rising one day to the next.To understand this movie would take nothing more than knowing the compassion of mankind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanT.Aug 12, 2006
"Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed "Sideways" is inarguably the best film of our decade; a classic that can stand up to any great film from any era in cinema. [***SPOILERS***] This is film at its most intoxicating, its most poignant, and funniest. Paul Giamatti was screwed out of even being nominated for Best Actor, while Thomas Hayden Church and Virginia Madsen were justly nominated for their parts, even if they didn't win. The real genius of "Sideways" is that director Alexander Payne creates empathy for two guys that when you think about it, aren't really that sympathetic. Miles (Giamatti) is a grump, and usually drunk on wine from the night before. Jack is an aging sex addict. Not a lot of wiggle room to like these characters. But Payne makes us care and by the end of it they've both been through so many experiences that we can only hope they've learned. And the knock that ends the movie is pure bliss. Raise your glasses and treat yourself to a classic that is guaranteed to age better than "Memento" ever will. This is one that you savor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MWJul 31, 2006
I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that I really enjoyed this film. I found my sympathies switching between all the characters sometimes loathing, laughing at or even finding them slightly lovable. The whole film felt so realistic and it was nice to see relationships that aren't sugar coated between beautiful people in the normal hollywood style. I didn't know that films this good and subtle were made outside of the EU and when I watched it got a buzz to know that not all films from the US have to be big budget, plotless romps. I plan now to see other Payne films and hope that I see more like this coming to the cinema soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, It was alright. Brilliantly cast, with fleshed out characters and unique settings- but somehow lacking the final shove that would have made it great for me. I think this one, more than others, will come down greatly to taste. For me, although this is set apart from others in the genre, just doesn't grab the niche and own it. If a movie is going to go for the quirk, then it must do so all-in, no apologies and jump. This felt like someone, somewhere was holding back in the production of this film, be it writer, director, actor or producer. But over-all, better than many, if not most, in it's category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregC.Jul 18, 2006
Wore thin after a while. I stopped caring about Giamatti's character when he ripped off his Mom's money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielC.Jul 11, 2006
I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low I think a little life experience is needed to fully appreciate this film. Don't expect any explosions or epiphanies just a beautiful and thoughtful trip through life's ups and downs. Very funny too. People giving this film very low scores are Silly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KennethM.Jul 10, 2006
Pretensious drivel.. lol, misspelt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexF.Jun 1, 2006
Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in Worst Film Ever. I do believe this was made for critics to go "it shows balance and poise and drama in such a simple way" or some other simnilar rubbish that critics tend to spout to be percieved as different. Awful Awful Awful and Awful in case you didn't get the picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.May 30, 2006
i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this i loved this movie i didnt see one thing wrong with it. I dont understand why people cant except realizm in movies this has excellent dialouge it was had some very funny moments i am glad i didnt listen to anybody when they told me this movie was bad, i enjoyed it greatly, deffinatly recommend for a viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanM.May 15, 2006
Very good movie...but not great. Users giving this film low scores are probably only impressed by cutting edge special effects or a constant stream of pyrotechnics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
tonys.May 10, 2006
Sweet movie, but highly overrated. Virginia Madsen was awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChristosC.Apr 23, 2006
Possibly written and filmed exclusively for movie reviewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndreW.Apr 23, 2006
I laughed once during the entire movie. Poor story, ok actors but not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielF.Apr 21, 2006
Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me cry. This movie is not horrible just overrated. Sorta reminds me of fargo with out the charm and murder. Well anyway don't expect a spectacular movie and you won't be disapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GracePApr 17, 2006
Contrary to all the good reviews being written about this movie,it is utter crap...I had such high expectations,but watching the movie was sheer torture.There is nothing great about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RonaldH.Apr 14, 2006
The 94 score on here says it all. If you didn't like it then you didn't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewC.Apr 12, 2006
Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm giving it a generous 3 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BlaineH.Apr 1, 2006
I found both leading male characters to be sleezy and more over, not funny. Maybe it's the fact that I would never associate with anyone with the slightest similarities in character, EVER. It was a waste and a bore.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Mar 14, 2006
Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you Warning: You may believe you know everything there is to know about wine immediately after this movie. Wine. Why not beer? The main character is also a complete douchebag who steals money from his mom and cannot deal with himself. If you dislike your life so much as to feel better from looking at this guy, then you might like this movie. Like most beta-male oriented movies, it focuses on the "small victories" of the main character. It also did not impress me with its taste in wine. What's wrong with merlot? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DanielM.Feb 26, 2006
The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but The through and through cinemaphotography, the few moments of very humorous dialogue and facial expressions by the characters, and some intense subtlties and blatant follies make for a nice and amusing film. It may be over-rated indeed, but it attempts to speak to a person who cannot possibly appreciate it if he/she has not quite ammassed 30 years on this earth. P.S. don't read the "novel" that this film was based on...unless you live in S.B. County there will be nothing for you to recognize or appreciate. Bad stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnH.Feb 20, 2006
thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not thought this would be my kind of film, I was wrong. It seems to me to be an american attempt at a european style 'slower pace' film but 'slow' does not make it good! The friendship of the 2 main characters was just not believable, why the actor puts up with the teacher is beyond me, rather him than me! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankieA.Feb 9, 2006
Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but Easily one of my favorite movies. It's the only movie nominated for best picture (Oscars 2004) that I would watch again and again. For some, it may seem boring or uninteresting. I'll admit, it's not a movie for everyone, but for me, it was great. Acting, storyline, film techniques, all great. Whatever the movie is, it is not a waste of your time. See this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevinG.Jan 21, 2006
This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best This would have to be the WORST movie I have ever seen in my life. I would only recommend it to those who have trouble sleeping at night, beacuse this is a drug-free sleep enhancer! What a waste of time. I think the credits were the best part. What a boring ass movie! I kept waiting for it to spark up into something funny... and I'm still waiting for that! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FRANKJJan 19, 2006
YEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIEYEARS AGO IN THE 70S THERE MIGHT BE 45 GREAT MOVIES IN A YEAR WELL IN THE 200S THERES ONLY ABOUT 1 A YEAR AND THIS FIM SIDEWAYS WHICH I CAN SEE DAILY TILL I DIE ,HAS EVERYTHING FROM WEDDINGS TO WINE IN IT .......IF U DONT LIKE THIS MOVIE PLEASE DONT GO TO THE MOVIES YOUR NOT A FAN Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JohnAJan 6, 2006
This film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. SidewaysThis film reminded me of classic literature that critics claim is not to be missed. Sure, if you are looking to study character development and then talk about it in your film club later. I was simply looking to be entertained. Sideways provided some very funny moments but was far more work and not enough entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KarlB.Jan 6, 2006
Complete crap. what a waste of time. the film was dragging from beginning to end and actually felt tears of joy when it ended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
kultgirlJan 5, 2006
I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I I waited a long time to see this so I would not be judging it by the hype. I'm thankful I wasn't holding my breath. I am an independent movie fan, and I still detest this movie. The only thing worth value to me was the end. I suppose the scenery was nice too. I kept wondering, "What did I miss!??!?!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful