Sightseers

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    May 9, 2013
    50
    Scrub away the gore and the nastier bits of provocation, and Ben Wheatley's Sightseers belongs squarely in the tradition of British classics like "Kind Hearts and Coronets" and "The Ruling Class" — satires that transformed simmering class resentment into brittle, nasty dark comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    May 9, 2013
    40
    Working from a script by Ms. Lowe and Mr. Oram, Mr. Wheatley continues in the same bludgeoning, amusingly if dubiously deadpan fashion for what soon feels like an overextended joke.
  3. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    May 8, 2013
    42
    The relentless contrast of banality with horror seems to be Wheatley’s signature move, and like his "Kill List" (2011), Sightseers can claim a sizable fan base, especially in its native U.K. But the humor here, ironically, doesn’t travel well.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 9, 2013
    60
    Sightseers is funny and well made, but Wheatley could be suffering from difficult third album syndrome: this is not as mysterious and interesting as Kill List.
  5. Reviewed by: Marc Mohan
    Apr 9, 2013
    58
    It's neither grounded enough to be genuinely horrifying nor over the top enough to be nastily fun.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    This is a bad film.. the best I can say about it is;" lovely tour of the English countryside despite the disturbing sexual content and graphicThis is a bad film.. the best I can say about it is;" lovely tour of the English countryside despite the disturbing sexual content and graphic psychotic violence." Full Review »
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    A newly involved couple take a caravan trip and ….. well, to say any more would spoil the film. Directed by Ben Wheatley, Sightseers, is aA newly involved couple take a caravan trip and ….. well, to say any more would spoil the film. Directed by Ben Wheatley, Sightseers, is a (very) dark horror-comedy with a similar tone to that of Hot Fuzz, not least thanks to the rather graphic violence. Thanks in large part to the lead pair of Alice Lowe and Steve Oram, who give superbly understated performances, the movie certainly works for the most part and is well worth a watch. Full Review »
  3. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    Sightseers has possibly the biggest change in tone of any movie ever. In the first 20 minutes it goes from being bizarre and reasonably upbeatSightseers has possibly the biggest change in tone of any movie ever. In the first 20 minutes it goes from being bizarre and reasonably upbeat to being bizarre and very very dark. But quite funny.

    By way of laughs I wasn't exactly satisfied, out of the moments which I did laugh at, the jokes were usually witty and clever. However in some places it got unpredictably juvenile and lost it's intelligence, this did not happen a lot only in the more mature scenes but I felt the movie could have done without it. Apart from being entertaining as a simple comedy, Sightseers is also very arty and was even shown at Cannes. This is probably because of the brilliant cinematography in the worryingly funny murder scenes. It was at the same level as the masterful camera angles Stanley Kubrick used in such as A Clockwork Orange and The Shining.

    Sightseers is a chilling and very funny black (not bleak) comedy which succeeds at being serious and realistic but enjoyable at the same time. The phrase strangely enjoyable has never been so fitting. Much like the close to perfect 2013 movie Don Jon, I was almost ashamed to laugh in Sightseers. That doesn't stop me recommending it.
    Full Review »