Silent Hill: Revelation 3D

Silent Hill: Revelation 3D Image
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 349 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: In Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Heather Mason and her father have been on the run, always one step ahead of dangerous forces that she doesn't fully understand. On the eve of her 18th birthday, plagued by horrific nightmares and the disappearance of her father, Heather discovers she's not whoIn Silent Hill: Revelation 3D, Heather Mason and her father have been on the run, always one step ahead of dangerous forces that she doesn't fully understand. On the eve of her 18th birthday, plagued by horrific nightmares and the disappearance of her father, Heather discovers she's not who she thinks she is. The revelation leads her deeper into a demonic world that threatens to trap her forever. (Open Road Films) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Nov 4, 2012
    40
    The first film was imperfect but solid as game-adaps go and fans revelled in its clammy shocks. No such luck this time out. Director Bassett oversees a vaporous horror sequel that rarely raises the pulse.
  2. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Oct 26, 2012
    38
    Silent Hill: Revelation fundamentally misunderstands the appeal its source material.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Oct 26, 2012
    33
    Some horror movies want to scare you witless, but Silent Hill: Revelation 3D just wants to beat you senseless.
  4. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 26, 2012
    25
    Stiff, episodic, and disjointed, Silent Hill: Revelation 3D replicates its source material all too faithfully.
  5. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Nov 4, 2012
    20
    The nurse-monsters look cool - think HR Giger in Ann Summers kit - but the plot and burning fairgrounds are so OTT they dispel any chill factor.
  6. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 26, 2012
    20
    A cheaper, cheesier sequel that's worse than its predecessor on every level (save being a half-hour shorter) and takes no special advantage of the stereoscopic process.
  7. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 26, 2012
    0
    With horror altogether absent and a plot drowning in insipid convolutions, it's a film whose early warning to Heather should be heeded: "Don't go to Silent Hill."

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 109
  2. Negative: 40 out of 109
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actuallyI honestly enjoyed this film. Yes, call me "flavorless" in actual great films but in the end I bought Silent Hill: revelation 3D was actually pretty good. As a person who is oblivious to most of the actual Silent Hill game lore, understanding this film after watching the first wasn't really hard. Of course their are some plot holes that make you wonder if the writer was writing a script or a jumbled mess on paper but the major selling point for this film is obviously for the fan service and this film really delivers. The monster effects mixed in with the 3D effects will blow you away and certain scenes will leave you amazed and thirsting for more. Unfortunately, the real killing blow of the movie is it's length. After a few friends of mine left the theater for about 15 minutes, they missed almost 50% of the action. In the end, you will still be leaving satisfied and craving a sequel. Not really though. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    I made an account here just to review this movie. The reviews are the most absurd things I've ever seen. I left the theater with a smile on myI made an account here just to review this movie. The reviews are the most absurd things I've ever seen. I left the theater with a smile on my face, and kept saying how great the movie was. This was definitely the Best Video game Movie I've ever seen! If you played Silent Hill 3, you will absolutely love and adore this game! Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I guess if i never played the game's i would give it a bad rating myself. Cause i loved this movie. Perhaps the critics need to at least readI guess if i never played the game's i would give it a bad rating myself. Cause i loved this movie. Perhaps the critics need to at least read up on it before viewing to know what is really going on. Just an idea anyways. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    5
    I'm not saying that Silent Hill: Revelation is a bad movie, but it's a disappointment in the Silent Hill movie series. Matter of fact, it'sI'm not saying that Silent Hill: Revelation is a bad movie, but it's a disappointment in the Silent Hill movie series. Matter of fact, it's one of the worst video game movie sequels since 97's "Mortal Kombat: Annihilation." Sure, the first Silent Hill is kinda decent, but is 3-D really necessary in this sequel? Sometimes, unfortunately, it can't outmatch Resident Evil: Retribution's success in IMAX 3-D (Still the lowest grossing movie in the franchise, but manages to overcome the odds overseas). I'd prefer a cult classic horror video game turned into a movie soon like Dino Crisis or D or Haunting Ground and Clock Tower. Probably, I'll wait for a rental of SH: Revelation. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    4
    They had the chance to make a very good sequel. Instead we got this... Huge, huge disappointment, i expected a whole lot more from this film.They had the chance to make a very good sequel. Instead we got this... Huge, huge disappointment, i expected a whole lot more from this film. Even the exquisite atmosphere from the first film is missing. Collapse
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Silent Hill Revelation is a prime example of how to take a movie's potential, wrap it up in a little box, and punt it off a cliff. The first twenty minutes were somewhat suspenseful, slightly intense, and pretty much on par with the first film (for the record, I actually enjoyed the first SH flick). After that, it's as if Paul W.S. Anderson assumed filming duties and everything went to complete crap. Hilariously bad monster design, corny dialog, Malcom McDowell's apparent winging of his performance after coming to terms with reality and the film he signed for, and enough 3D IN YOUR FACE moments to induce 4D vomiting- those are reasons enough for me to stop there. So, after trudging through that mess, we arrive at the final scene in the movie, the excrement on the urine-flavored cake: ***SPOILERS AHEAD*** In just one of many forced plot twists in this film, Heather summons Pyramid Head, who, with all his might, rushes to Heather's aid. I'm aware this reflects upon a scene in the first movie, but in this film they may as well have given Pyramid Head a cape and cowl because they couldn't have made his heroic presence more obvious.

    **END SPOILER*** In closing, Silent Hill: Revelation is nothing more than a lackluster follow-up to the original film. Whereas the first movie was quite enjoyable, this mess could barely hold by attention beyond wondering how much worse it could get.
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2015
    0
    I haven't seen a movie with absolutely no redeeming qualities in a while. This movie was bad.... hilariously bad. This had enough talent toI haven't seen a movie with absolutely no redeeming qualities in a while. This movie was bad.... hilariously bad. This had enough talent to even make Malcolm McDowell look like a terrible actor. The plot of Silent Hill Revelation is completely incomprehensible because not a single scene had anything to do with the previous scene, and there would be new plot devices and characters introduced every 10 minutes, while our two dull protagonists just run around and scream out exposition. Not to mention the acting and writing, which in itself almost made me turn off the movie 20 minutes in.

    Last note: when a movie tries to scare you with poptarts within the first 5 minutes, just turn off the movie.
    Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.