TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 912 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
724
Mixed:
87
Negative:
101
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
CharmaineH.Oct 5, 2006
I was led to believe this was one of the best movies of the year when; when I watched it I was very let down.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
OzyY.Apr 23, 2006
Wow, everyone in my theater thought it was horrible, and I did too. My friends and I were laughing at the "scary scenes". Only cool part was when it turned dark...but that happened like only 3 times in the whole movie. Then you add in the Wow, everyone in my theater thought it was horrible, and I did too. My friends and I were laughing at the "scary scenes". Only cool part was when it turned dark...but that happened like only 3 times in the whole movie. Then you add in the ending of the movie and it made worst movie of the year for me, including Benchwarmers. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
Paul_YoonSep 19, 2010
A process of illustrating this movie is quite flawless, soulless, and joyless. Of course, the set design of scree translations is too much anomalous from that of the original game.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
RishiApr 24, 2006
I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely the single worst film I have seen in 2006, and probably one of the worst films I have ever seen. It is Uwe Boll bad. It is poisonously bad. It was worse than Batman and Robin. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MarilynZ.May 30, 2006
We walked out on this one. So incredibly stupid and such a disappointment since I was looking forward to a good thriller. That's what happens when you don't consult Metacritic first. I was also mad that I wasted about an hour of my We walked out on this one. So incredibly stupid and such a disappointment since I was looking forward to a good thriller. That's what happens when you don't consult Metacritic first. I was also mad that I wasted about an hour of my life on this one. Let's not encourage the making of movies like this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
VolkerM.Jul 2, 2006
I don't know the game - I didn't even know that there was one. Hence, I just wanted to see a good movie nothing else. And what a disappointment it was. A lousy story in which nothing made any sense whatsoever. The acting I don't know the game - I didn't even know that there was one. Hence, I just wanted to see a good movie nothing else. And what a disappointment it was. A lousy story in which nothing made any sense whatsoever. The acting wasn't that bad after all but didn't help the fact that the whole thing was a total waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
kwyjibojSep 9, 2006
No, the critics haven't got it wrong. The Japan fetishist fan boys have got it wrong by ignoring the fact that the film is so bloody tedious just because it sticks to the videogame. Wow, woop ti do, Uwe Boll could have done better, and No, the critics haven't got it wrong. The Japan fetishist fan boys have got it wrong by ignoring the fact that the film is so bloody tedious just because it sticks to the videogame. Wow, woop ti do, Uwe Boll could have done better, and if he couldn't, he'd kick your ass in the ring. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MetaApr 6, 2008
I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the honest praise must end, even for fans of the game. I hate to say it, but this was some of the worst acting I've seen in a long time, and again I'm really not that picky. Of course, the script didn't give the actors much to work with in the first place. Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of credibility of the characters. Sure, terribly stupid decisions are pretty much commonplace in horror flicks, but this one really stretched things. I really think a lot more could have been achieved with this cast, budget, and the basic premises of Silent Hill, the game. Too bad, really. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
GarodW.Sep 3, 2006
Horrible mess of a movie. It might have been a great video game, but it was one of the worst movies I've seen this year.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
HansB.Jan 16, 2007
I don't like video games. This was a film with a good story that was elaborated on lousily. The characters did not develop, nor was there any insight in there motives. And the end was just misty, made for part 2, I guess.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
DeanSDec 31, 2007
Long, boring, confusing, with bad acting and dialogue. Yet it was a least visually interesting, though I think I would have been better off playing the game.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
JayHMay 13, 2009
A promising starts gives way to something completely unrelated to the series I love. To say it's a disappointing film would imply some kind of expectation from a video game to film cash in, so let's just say it sucked.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
ModestusQ.Apr 22, 2006
This film was a terrible waste of money. It made little sense, was boring, and seemed to last forever. The performances certainly didn't help. The audience in attendance kept laughing despite themselves because of the ineptitude and This film was a terrible waste of money. It made little sense, was boring, and seemed to last forever. The performances certainly didn't help. The audience in attendance kept laughing despite themselves because of the ineptitude and Z-grade quality of 'Silent Hill.' Do NOT waste your money...please! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AlexD.D.Apr 22, 2006
STAY CLEAR FROM THIS S***! This has to be the worst horror moie i've ever seen! visually stunning, it is just plain bad! Bad story, bad acting, bad overwhelming music! If you are looking for real horror fun, go see Slither! Or replay STAY CLEAR FROM THIS S***! This has to be the worst horror moie i've ever seen! visually stunning, it is just plain bad! Bad story, bad acting, bad overwhelming music! If you are looking for real horror fun, go see Slither! Or replay SH2 or 3... This movie really does not deserve any more box office grossing! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
JohnLApr 22, 2006
First, do not see this movie. Unless you like video games and don't care how bad a film is that is based upon one. The cinematography is decent but thats all. All other aspects of this film are reprehensible. Also, it is not scary at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JessG.Apr 22, 2006
Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers really need to realise that little girls with long black hair hanging in their faces do not make a film scary. The only reason I've given it a 2 is because I did like some of the production design. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattCSep 30, 2006
Great game. Bad movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RoyR.Apr 23, 2006
Some good visuals/sound brought this piece of crap up from negative to a zero rating!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KurtS.Jun 26, 2006
I've played and highly enjoyed the Silent Hill games (2 to 4). I've read de negative reviews beforehand. So I was prepared for another bad film adaption of a great game franchise. But this film is so incredible bad i can't I've played and highly enjoyed the Silent Hill games (2 to 4). I've read de negative reviews beforehand. So I was prepared for another bad film adaption of a great game franchise. But this film is so incredible bad i can't come up with suitable metaphors to describe how bad it is. First of all this movie lacks atmosphere and horror - despite being a horror film. There were just two real awesome horror scenes (one in the middle and one near the end). [***SPOILERS***] Secondly where were the disturbing and eeri monsters that are part of Silent Hill ? We just get to see Pyramid Head 3 times some Bobble Head Nurses and some guy with wires thru his scrotum. There were no Double Heads, no Patient Demons, no etc. Then the protagonist didn't even bother to fight some of the monsters. Instead it was the typical american teen horror flic of a chick screaming and running. Even if we leave out the Silent Hill context and just see this as a generic horror movie it still sucks. I mean letting the characters literally explain the plot to the audience... wow this sure shows how good your storyboard is. And no film that goes 2 hours should feel like 4 hours. I could go on and on.... but just let me say this: This movie is just "Silent Crap" with the Soundtrack of the Silent Hill 2/3 games. This is not a Silent Hill film nor a horror fil at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DemmitriJun 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all the guys who played Silent Hill, this is a masterpiece. For all the guys who didn't It's still a masterpiece. The thing is, the guys who didn't will never get the plot. It's as deep as the game goes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
oliver1hApr 26, 2013
This movie was a very generic horror picture. The acting, the plot, the set, the music was average at best. Lacked the tension, and true horror the video game Silent Hill had back in the days.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dumdogsApr 15, 2013
Completely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning soCompletely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning so using them in a different story contradicts that). This movie is untrue and an insult to the game and is just a unscary boring movie. If anyone's seen the Indiana Jones episode of South Park what happens in that episode is the best way to describe this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
MoshM.Apr 23, 2006
First hour or so was right on with the original game, other then the main character gender swap. After that the hole thing take off in a totally new direction not even close to the game......
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TimD.Apr 24, 2006
I'm sorry but I had high hopes for this one. The marketing seemed to make it look like a good movie but in the end it wasn't. I have played most of the Silent hill games and they were really freaky, which is not what you get here. I'm sorry but I had high hopes for this one. The marketing seemed to make it look like a good movie but in the end it wasn't. I have played most of the Silent hill games and they were really freaky, which is not what you get here. I will make it simple by pointing out the problems and what it did good. [***SPOILERS***] THE GOOD: -Creatures looked great -World looked and felt like silent hill. -Some faithful setups to the game. THE BAD: -The acting was abismal even from good actors such as Sean Bean. -Dialogue wasn't that good either. -Not Scary. -Not that gory except at the end. -Not enough Pyramid head (He was the coolest thing about the movie) -Not enough use of the static in the phone. (It played such a large role in the game it would have been nice to see it used more). -All this fade to the nightmare and fade back to reality left the movie feeling disjointed. -Editing could have been better especially for the sequences where the characters are in the same place but a different dimension or whatever. -5 minute explanation of what I spent two hours watching.(Should have been done in a way to make me feel like hey cool that is why this happened, not just throwing this scene in to fill all the gaps). -Not Scary especially the girl who was suppossed to be. I could go on and one but I will stop there. Like I said I am pretty forgiving of movies but this one really disappointed me. It had so much potential and it got thrown out the window. I even like previous video game adaptations better than this, with the exception of Alone in the Dark, I didn't bother seeing other Uwe movies so I can't comment. The main problem is I never felt pulled into the movie so that I would care what was happening. I was just watching the way I watch reruns on TV instead of being engaged in a scary experience. Even for a die hard fan I would sadly not recommend this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonS.Apr 24, 2006
This movie was just horrible. The CGI was ok, but I am a gamer and I have to say that it just was not the same feeling as playing the game. Watching it on a big screen TV is just not cool. The whole time I just wanted to go outside and play This movie was just horrible. The CGI was ok, but I am a gamer and I have to say that it just was not the same feeling as playing the game. Watching it on a big screen TV is just not cool. The whole time I just wanted to go outside and play my DS because the movie was just boring me. I mean they totally just ruined the story by swapping. The only good thing about the movie was that it ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DerekG.Apr 25, 2006
The visuals, audio and atmosphere were top-notch, and almost like playing the game. Alas, ambience does not save a movie from banal dialogue and an inconsistent mess of a story. I haven't seen a film with this many plot contradictions The visuals, audio and atmosphere were top-notch, and almost like playing the game. Alas, ambience does not save a movie from banal dialogue and an inconsistent mess of a story. I haven't seen a film with this many plot contradictions since The Stepford Wives. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PeteS.Apr 27, 2006
I can't believe people liked this movie! It has no plot, it has completely unbelievable characters, and it wastes the talent they brought in. Silent Hill has two redeeming factors: neither of which makes this great. Whatch five seconds I can't believe people liked this movie! It has no plot, it has completely unbelievable characters, and it wastes the talent they brought in. Silent Hill has two redeeming factors: neither of which makes this great. Whatch five seconds of this for the sets, which are incredible, and the cinematography, which is good. Too many wierd crane shots though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DevilS.Apr 28, 2006
so bad. I can't believe people liked this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonathanP.Apr 29, 2006
This movie was just outright horrible. I was expecting a scare. Granted I've never played the games, but what little I had seen the games played, they came off as eerie and creepy and had some "deep breath" moments in them, even as This movie was just outright horrible. I was expecting a scare. Granted I've never played the games, but what little I had seen the games played, they came off as eerie and creepy and had some "deep breath" moments in them, even as video games. This movie was severely lacking in that, as I didn't get a single deep breath the whole film. I found the beginning, middle, AND end horrendous in just about every way. I wish I could've gotten my money back after seeing this stinker. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamJ.May 1, 2006
Very bloody and gory but completely disjointed adn impossible to follow. If you did figure out the story line ... it was too weak to get you involved. A total wate of time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MaseMay 1, 2006
Mind staggerling bad!! This is one of those movies you should listen to the critics that are bashing this movie. I actually felt angry leaving the theatre thinking of the budget that was spent on basically nothing. It's like watching Mind staggerling bad!! This is one of those movies you should listen to the critics that are bashing this movie. I actually felt angry leaving the theatre thinking of the budget that was spent on basically nothing. It's like watching someone else play a incomphrensible video game. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
mickMay 15, 2006
Every bit of this film was bad, and I mean really bad! It was like Cell which at best is only Ok, with out the cool visuals. The acting was bad the story was awful, i could go on but can't be bothered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RickBMay 9, 2006
WAKE UP PEOPLE. Nicolas Boukhrief and Christophe Gans took art and turned it into hollywood bull. I have played the first 3 of Silent Hill games (passed every one), and it is by far the greatest, most ahead of it's time games i have WAKE UP PEOPLE. Nicolas Boukhrief and Christophe Gans took art and turned it into hollywood bull. I have played the first 3 of Silent Hill games (passed every one), and it is by far the greatest, most ahead of it's time games i have ever played. They have not stayed true to the story, it felt like Gans and Boukhrief got bored with the game while filming and said "lets take some stuff from THE RING". Please if you have not played the game, do so and forget about this film ever being made, and shame on you Christophe Gans, you could have taken any other horror videogame. Why didn't you let the Japanese video game writter, write the film. They basically said, lets take some stuff from the first game, but the second game was more scary soooo.... You can't blame anyone else for this horrid movie other than Gans. I don't blame the actors, they were given a chance to be in a chilling movie, but had jerks write and direct the film. I can't believe we had to be given an explanation at the coming end of the movie.If i had one question for Christophe Gans i would ask him, DID YOU EVER SPEAK TO THE JAPANESE CREATORS OF THE GAME?. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Apr 22, 2006
I was looking foward to seeing this movie. I love horror movies, but this was terrible. Terrible plot, random dialogue. They bring up random information and don't develop it into the plot. The actors were bad, really bad. Why did the I was looking foward to seeing this movie. I love horror movies, but this was terrible. Terrible plot, random dialogue. They bring up random information and don't develop it into the plot. The actors were bad, really bad. Why did the cop wear such a tight uniform? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SpookyOtakuApr 22, 2006
1st movie that I've walked out of in a great while. The original PSX game was a masterpiece...this was just a piece. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SyzygyApr 23, 2006
Plot was confusing. There is a lot in the story that is not explained and you, the viewer, need to act as a crutch for the anemic dialogue and plot vagaries. They, the direcor and writer, expect such help because thefilm itself is extremely Plot was confusing. There is a lot in the story that is not explained and you, the viewer, need to act as a crutch for the anemic dialogue and plot vagaries. They, the direcor and writer, expect such help because thefilm itself is extremely faithful to the source material (video game). If you have no familiarity with the game, then you will not understand some of the turns and decisions and aspects of its internal logic. the writing, acting, and directing are all uninspired. set design is excellent but you don't pay admission to a movie for a slide show of CGI scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ScottB.Apr 24, 2006
For over a year probably I waited for this movie; I read the filmaker's diary as Avarey and Gans struggled to complete a script seemingly against the wishes of the production company. I checked out the trailer and the images before the For over a year probably I waited for this movie; I read the filmaker's diary as Avarey and Gans struggled to complete a script seemingly against the wishes of the production company. I checked out the trailer and the images before the release, so its safe to say that I was looking forward to this and had rather high expectations. In the case of this movie having high expectations would be a non factor as nothing could validate the movie's quality as a horror movie. The art direction and soundtrack (taken straight from the game) where excellent and that's two thirds to achieving atmosphere and ultimately horror. Mediocre directing and awful editing sucked the life out of those chances. The movie had no atmosphere and wasn't scary at all. There seemed to be no tension when the monsters appeared. How could Gans screw that up? As far as the story is concerned a lot of it wasn't in the games, which I have played, enjoyed and consider to be master pieces of art. This is; however, one of the best efforts to adapt a video game, but that's not a lot considering the field. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Mike4Apr 24, 2006
"This is the best movie since Resident Evil 2!!" ...^That person has been revoked of all voting priviledges... This film was a mess rooted in the fact that it had a terrible script where nothing is resolved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkB.Apr 28, 2006
I will give this film a whole point more than it deserves because of some very inventive special effects. Other than that-- despite the protestations of other reviewers-- this is, in fact, "mindless teen fodder." And I'd really like to I will give this film a whole point more than it deserves because of some very inventive special effects. Other than that-- despite the protestations of other reviewers-- this is, in fact, "mindless teen fodder." And I'd really like to know what the hell Sean Bean was thinking before he decided to go slumming it in this incomprehensible dreck. But, I suppose we all have to pay the bills sometime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
renumathewFeb 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. Of course, its always a good idea to take your child to a place she
has nightmares about.
2. Of course, you should always make a beeline for it wen a cop stops
you from going to said nightmary place (she could've saved you a hell
of a lot of trouble than u cud imagine, but nooo, you have to save your
child by taking her to spooktown....which you have read about in detail
in websites!!)
3. Of course, its a marvelous idea to have a chat with one of the three
witches from Macbeth who looks beyond dead and rotting.
4. Of course, Macwitch has a penchant for quoting inane biblical
phrases.
5. Of course, bust out the chesty lady cop to appeal to the male
demographic.
6. Of course, you should put your hand inside an impossibly twisted
rotting corpse. Ooh, nothing can go wrong there. NOT! (Gosh, leave the
dead and their belongings alone. Its bad enough that they are dead)
7. Of course, the husband gets help from the most unhelpful cop in town
(from the way the cop talks, it looks like he loves puzzles and must
moonlight as a puzzle maker.. And a lousy one at that! Or maybe he's
constipated. Yep, that's it...that's why he talks like that.)
8. At this point, its safe to assume that the mother and daughter are
dead what with the father sniffing out mommy's dang perfume and not
seeing her.
Fun fact= Ideas that the producers thought would make this movie
screwy...er..scary- disabled zombies, paint peeling, mutated bugs
9. Of course, the grim reaper (or whoever that guy who has a short self
esteem and carries a ridiculously big sword to compensate)...yeah, of
course, he has a Toblerone for a head.
10. Of course, by all means let the basket case of a lady accompany
you. She won't be irritating at all, its especially endearing to be
preached at (Hey, newsflash ms.nutty, Moses called, he wanted his lingo
back!)
11. Of course, I fell asleep. (sigh...rewind)
12. Of course,
being holed up with a bunch of Bible thumping freaks who looks as if
they haven't bathed in over a 100 years is always a great idea (I'd go
with Mr.Tobleronehead. At least, that death will b quick)
13. Of course, undertake a quest as proposed by Lady Creeptastic. She must
mean well and care about you.
14. Whoa... McBusty cop dead? (Right at this point, the male
demographic must've left the theater)
15. Of course, more dreary and boring rusty decor (What is this style
called? Urban evil chic?)
16. They've busted out chesty nurse zombies. Of course, the male
demographic are back.
17. Of course, unoriginal flashback bla bla bla shown on old film reels
(You'd think that the dark forces, with all the power they've got
going, would have better quality film reels for flashbacks)
18. Of course, I fell asleep.....again. (Gee, i wonder why?)
19. Of course, the movie's going downhill, so why not add a bucket more of gruesome to
it. Burning a small girl sounds just about right. 20. Whoa! Busty cop's alive? Of course, she is. I mean who wouldn't be, after being whacked on the head with iron pipes. 21. Of course, she's alive only to be burned in the next shot. (Note to producer- stop yo-yoing, **** and make a decision) 22. God, this movie's laaaaame. Kill me now. 23. Dayyum... Mother got sucker punched. Niiice. Of course, she needed that, what with all the bloody useless running around and putting hands in dead ppl and **** 24. Of course, trying to talk sense into a group of fanatics is always a good idea. Sure, they'll listen to u and change their beliefs. 25. This evil entity likes to peel paint. 26. Of course, kill Lady Creeptastic with an unoriginal rectal cleaving and the others with fence wires. 27. Of course, the mother and daughter were dead. U gave that away in the first part itself, moron.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Iluvatar21Apr 22, 2014
The director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves ofThe director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves of monsters and expecting to have a good time. Said very simply: true horror deals with human nature, not the monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CPD98Nov 27, 2014
Aburrida y sin tensión, otra película floja sobre videojuegos que, no se como, logra gustar a algunos. Todo es una sucesión de chorradas que no asustan nunca, es una pérdida de tiempo, pese que la atmósfera se parezca a la del juego.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SilentHillJamesJun 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm gonna be harsh on this because I love the first 3 games, and people are saying this movie follows the story of the game. Well I'm an expert on Silent Hil, and I'm telling you right now, this movie doesn't even come close to the story of the game. It's not even interesting. There's a few interesting visuals and like half of the movie is boring. The story of Silent Hill in the game is about a cult that lives in Silent Hill and they are trying to birth a demon god through one of the members psychic daughter, Alessa. The movie has nothing to do with this. Alessa is good and in the movie they made her the villain? What? They also made Alessa an evil girl who just wants to torture people and kill them. Trust me, if you want to see this movie because you like the games, you will be very disappointed. If you want to see this movie because you think it's good, it's not. Ignoring the source material for this movie, it's just boring and uninteresting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews