TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 905 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
719
Mixed:
86
Negative:
100
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Clank182Apr 22, 2006
Played the games loved the movie if you have not played the games you might not like it but if you like the game you will like the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianApr 23, 2006
I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent Hill has one of the best cinematographies I can remember, and this movie is an example that critics are unable to say something good about a movie basep upon a videogame. Of course if the movie where based on a book the things will change, but... it's not that case. Critics should learn something about the game before write them reviews, because it's sad that a film like that, with a lot of good qualities, had a 29/100. UNFORGIVENESS!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyH.Apr 23, 2006
Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little better but only in a couple of scenes. It goes true with the game Pyramid Head, the air raid sirens, and other parts that looked exactly like the game (I must include the camera angles look the same as the game when she was running) Anyways this movie was really, really good. A confusing ending but I hope they make a sequel. If you haven't played the game you might not get it but worth a watch due to its confusing but good story. Some sick and gruesome parts, but thats what makes a awesome horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dave_darkoApr 23, 2006
The best horror film of the year, with "the hills have eyes". Indispensable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeApr 23, 2006
Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad acting'. Aside from that the movie stayed just like the game is, it stayed with the storyline from the game, it didn't wander off to random stupid parts. As most of the other people have said, you should be a fan of the game to enjoy it. And to also get some of the twists. And regarding the critics from what i've seen so far, they're all morons. Never again will I go with what they say with a movie, ever again. This movie was brilliant, go see it as soon as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffW.Apr 23, 2006
Best videogame adaptation yet by far, but may confuse people that haven't played the game. The story was a great version of the videogame version (with hints of a future sequel based on the second game starring Sean Bean I think). The Best videogame adaptation yet by far, but may confuse people that haven't played the game. The story was a great version of the videogame version (with hints of a future sequel based on the second game starring Sean Bean I think). The monsters were incredibly creepy as were the sound effects. The locations were mirror images of the videogame sets. Pyramid Head has an absolutely brutal kill and the finale is haunting. Some parts were too much like playing the game though, like her searching of random locked drawers and suddenly she has a flashlight! Or the oh I found something in a dead person's mouth so I guess that is where I need to go next. I really wish videogame adaptation could just focus on adapting the story rather than thinking they have to provide the audience with videogame like scenerios and action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanApr 24, 2006
Best horror movie in a long time. Or currently the best when compare to movies like: The Fog, The Game... What next "The Mud"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyO.Apr 24, 2006
Wow, these reviews are like black and white! I'm guessing those that hate it didn't much care for the whole "anti-god", death and rebirth themes that the Silent Hill series encompasses. (Christian Right?) - I love the games, so Wow, these reviews are like black and white! I'm guessing those that hate it didn't much care for the whole "anti-god", death and rebirth themes that the Silent Hill series encompasses. (Christian Right?) - I love the games, so it's only fair to say I loved the movie. I'm so happy it made top gross opening weekend. This should give it a little more draw this week so long as the positive reviews overweigh all the negative (looking good so far). It's too bad our voice doesn't count towards the overall Meta-Critic Score. - At the very least, catch a matinee of this movie, and don't go in expecting an awesome horrer movie, but this movie is above par and breathes a lot of atmosphere. If you have time this week, rent a copy of Silent Hill (Any version, PS1/2 and XBox) and play as much of it as you can before you go. Like everyone says, the game was taken straight out of the games and they did a wonderful job of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 24, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Apr 24, 2006
Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Not knowing the games let me be surprised at parts, and I really got into it. Visually outstanding, creepy and gory. Yes, some acting wasn't top notch, but this is a horror movie after all. However, Laurie Holden's "Cybil" was great, in a sexy baton-wielding lady-cop way. I highly recommend you see this if you are a fan of horror or just popcorn flicks in general. I'm writing this review in hope to balance out all the negative "professional" critics that slammed this movie. Let's face it, it wasn't made for them, it was made for us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanF.Apr 24, 2006
I always believed in this movie, I believed it would break the mold of crap game movies. It did, and it did it with a sick bone crunching bang. This movie captured the eerie town perfectly, and those freaky flesh creatures were awesome. I always believed in this movie, I believed it would break the mold of crap game movies. It did, and it did it with a sick bone crunching bang. This movie captured the eerie town perfectly, and those freaky flesh creatures were awesome. Every seen had me saying awesome. And the ending...oh, what an awesome ending. I can't wait to find out of a sequel. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MilesG.Apr 24, 2006
I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to say about silent hill because it's the best movie I've seen this year. Christophe Gans has done some of the best directing I've ever seen by adding such a thick schmearing of surrealism that it's hard to see how critics got so confused when everything is explained within the movie. From what I can tell most of the bad reviews from this movie seem to attack the poor writing, perhaps representing some enemies that Roger Avery has made over the years, but the writing itself is far better than I've seen with critically acclaimed movies like Cache which tend to ignore it's function as an entertainment medium and insted look to have their backs rubbed by art-house fans and critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisK.Apr 24, 2006
I don't understand how people cannot like this film... It is creepy as hell and the story is pretty well explained in the end scenes. I was very pleased with the movie and hope to see more horror movies with balls like this one in the I don't understand how people cannot like this film... It is creepy as hell and the story is pretty well explained in the end scenes. I was very pleased with the movie and hope to see more horror movies with balls like this one in the future - critic's be damned! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertK.Apr 25, 2006
I wouldn't go so far as to say that this was going to be the BEST movie out this year (I'm sure X-3, Superman, or MI-3 will claim that title this summer), but it was fairly good. More of a "wait for it on DVD" kinda movie. The one I wouldn't go so far as to say that this was going to be the BEST movie out this year (I'm sure X-3, Superman, or MI-3 will claim that title this summer), but it was fairly good. More of a "wait for it on DVD" kinda movie. The one thing I have noticed on here is that all those rating this a 0 to 3 keep saying "It's not like the game", or "that wasn't in the game", or "I've never played the game and didn't understand it". Big news: It's a MOVIE, not the game!! While it does pay a nice homage to the series (which I have had the privilage of playing on PS, PS2, and Xbox) it does try to make the attempt to stand alone as well. If every movie like this stuck to the strictest sence of it's source, why would you bother to go to the damn movie when you already know the whole story people? If that was the case Spider-man would have been really boring, X-men would just be another re-hash of a known tale, and Peter Jackson's King Kong would just be a colorized remake with a Fay Wray look-alike. The point is we go to be entertained with new ideas and images, not to see the same things over and over again. Overall, it was a good bit of escapeism and I did enjoy the visuals. Plot was a little contrived and thin at points but very forgivable. A good shot a popular game. I just wish the teenage rabid fanboys would back off and see it for what it really is: a really fun movie that helps you forget reality for a few minutes. 'Nuff said! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyM.Apr 25, 2006
Incredible. Anyone who's played the games oughta appreciate the level of detail that went into the world of Silent Hill. They took the best of the first and second games, and perfectly re-created the game's feel. I really Incredible. Anyone who's played the games oughta appreciate the level of detail that went into the world of Silent Hill. They took the best of the first and second games, and perfectly re-created the game's feel. I really don't udnerstand why some people found the plot to be "complex" when everything is explained perfectly except the final few moments of the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH>Apr 25, 2006
Best horror movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderP.Apr 25, 2006
I can't understand journalistes that gave so terrible marks. Film's story is difficult, but it is not the reason to critic the film so hard!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickApr 25, 2006
I loved this movie! If you've played the game you will understand why it can be so scary. This movie does a great job of making the transition from game to movie. Most of the elements from the game are captured well in this movie. My I loved this movie! If you've played the game you will understand why it can be so scary. This movie does a great job of making the transition from game to movie. Most of the elements from the game are captured well in this movie. My only gripe about it tho was the acting. It wasn't great but it wasnt terrible either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielR.Apr 26, 2006
Simply an incredible film. I really hope that Christophe Gans makes more video-game based movies. We need more films like Silent Hill to recover from the atrocious films by Uwe Boll.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XanderB.Apr 26, 2006
I don't know why some critics thought this movie was bad. There was a lot of work put into this film and it shows. I enjoyed the film a lot and think it is one of the only video game to movie transitions that actually makes it right. I don't know why some critics thought this movie was bad. There was a lot of work put into this film and it shows. I enjoyed the film a lot and think it is one of the only video game to movie transitions that actually makes it right. The movies that make you think about the story, aren't neccessarily bad ones. In the game, the story had to be put together as you played on. In the movie, the same thing happened, but in a much broader sense. It was a bit long, I admit and you could tell easily but this was to sort of explain why the town was the way it was. David Lynch would probably be proud of this film, see "Twin Peaks". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RexNaboursIIIApr 26, 2006
This was a great movie. Not as scary as I expected, but I have a feeling that most of the critics that are giving this movie bad reviews are just biased towards videogame movies, and, after Uwe Boll, who wouldn't be?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KazamM.Apr 27, 2006
Captured everything from the game. Music, atmosphere even the lousy plot w/c is their main mistake. They could've made it more viewer friendly for those who couldn't relate or understand it like these critics for example.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanL.Apr 28, 2006
If I ever had a chance to meet the director i would probably run up to him and give him a very big hug followed by at least four decent slaps across the face. I love the video games and believe that they are the best survival horror games If I ever had a chance to meet the director i would probably run up to him and give him a very big hug followed by at least four decent slaps across the face. I love the video games and believe that they are the best survival horror games out there. With an intense atmosphere and an artistic design that can only be described as grotesquely beautiful, silent hill is a video game franchise that separated itself from other horror games like resident evil and fatal frame by giving us deep characters and a mysterious/intense storyline combined with unimaginable monsters in a living nightmare that disturbes and frightens all players that experience it even today. The director did his job in bringing these aspects to the big screen which made this the best and most accurate video game to movie transition so far. The only thing that didn't appear in the theater was what made the game so wonderful, the very plot. This is when I violently slap the director silly while screaming, "Why o why did you not keep the storyline?" You were going so good, then it went downhill, and in the end I was slightly disappointed. There are many reasons why the plot was changed I believe: copyrights, length of the picture, Rose can't shoot a gun to defeat the final boss and Cybil was already extra crispy (another big mistake that angers me so). But I understand and forgive the director for the plot. The story was very close to the origional, and I have to be grateful for that considering that we could have ended up with another resident evil, that only resembled the game through a virus, an evil corporation, and a lot of shot zombies. In the end real fans of the video game should appreciate and like the movie because of the many details and moments found in the movie that brought silent hill to life, but also wish the main plot ( the birth of a god of a religious cult through the body of an innocent child) was kept intact so that people new to the series can see why we love silent hill so much. Overall, the critics raped this movie like a two dollar whore because they were expecting an oscar masterpiece. It's a movie based on a video game. Don't complain that it's like watching a video game when the movie, believe it or not, is actually based on a video game! In my opinion if it's like watching a video game than thank you mr. director sir you really did your job. In all, if your a fan you will like or even love the movie. If not you might be confused, disgusted and bored while watching the show. Either way I enjoyed it and so did others. Not to mention how funny it was that Silent Hill was number 1 at the box office, but only because, in regards to American Dreams and the Sentinel, American Idol is getting as repetative and old as Michael Douglas' career. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesS.Apr 28, 2006
I absolutly loved the movie, true it has some exceedingly slow and cheesy momments, [***SPOILERS***] and strays from the game's principal plot (main character is female, where as in the game it was male, also in the true story, silent I absolutly loved the movie, true it has some exceedingly slow and cheesy momments, [***SPOILERS***] and strays from the game's principal plot (main character is female, where as in the game it was male, also in the true story, silent hill has become a conduit for another plane of existance to merge with ours, the diabolical leader being sameal {sam-i-el}) but the whole point of silent hill has not been to try and survive the horror, like all other games and movies of the genere, but it has been a psycological trip that truly shows how emotion, ones perspective of reality and outside influence can REALLY disturb the mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Apr 29, 2006
Greatest video game adaption ever, if you understood the story. I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Slim_d0gMay 11, 2006
I really liked this film! Only one problem, plot differs from Silent Hill games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DarrenO.May 14, 2006
Being a big fan of the both the game and film, I'll give it seven because it kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through.. an alright script and average acting.. But this is made up by the great disturbing isuals.. and that for Being a big fan of the both the game and film, I'll give it seven because it kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through.. an alright script and average acting.. But this is made up by the great disturbing isuals.. and that for me is all a good horror movie needs Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomC.May 19, 2006
I'm a fan of this video game and this mivie was almost perfect. Not a no-brainer but an intelligent and with unusual characters and athmosfera. It was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
D.FranckMay 2, 2006
I really don't know why this movie got such negative reviews from the so called "expert critics". This proves again that their opinion is there to ignore. This is a very good movie and the best game related movie ever made. I'm a I really don't know why this movie got such negative reviews from the so called "expert critics". This proves again that their opinion is there to ignore. This is a very good movie and the best game related movie ever made. I'm a gamer and Silent Hill fan and I can tell that anyone played the game(s) will be very pleased with the results. It was a long time I came out of the theater having the feeling I watched a very good movie and didn't wasted my time. Don't believe all the negative reviews and just read the comments of the people who go to the movies as a form of entertainment and not because they have to for their job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.RebMay 21, 2006
The best VG to movie adaptation ever! The whole movie felt like a new Silent Hill game with amazing atmosphere, monsters, and deep plot to think about well after the movie is over. The problem is that the movie will leave many non fans very The best VG to movie adaptation ever! The whole movie felt like a new Silent Hill game with amazing atmosphere, monsters, and deep plot to think about well after the movie is over. The problem is that the movie will leave many non fans very confused due certain things learned only from the games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EonMay 2, 2006
As much underrated as "Capote" is overrated. No, we really cannot trust critics. Yes, the movie has its flaws, but overall efect is really nice. And yes, not everyone will understand this movie, in fact , I don't see how those who As much underrated as "Capote" is overrated. No, we really cannot trust critics. Yes, the movie has its flaws, but overall efect is really nice. And yes, not everyone will understand this movie, in fact , I don't see how those who havent played the games could. I just wish that there weren't so many characters in it, because Silent Hill's horror is based on the feeling of loneliness and saddnes within it. However, I really enjoyed it, and i will do so many times more. Sweet dreams. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelA.May 4, 2006
This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie is visualy incredible, and also the story, the only thing that has SH on the rocks (critics anyone?) is that the diologues are kind of so-so you don't care much what they're saying and at the end you get a quick explication of all the plot, but as I said before, this movie is for the fans and the plot will be easily decoded and enjoyoble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanD.May 6, 2006
First, there may be hints of spoilers. second, i'm going to start by saying the dialogue was barely functional, but it did what it needed. there were only three instances that were head-smackingly awful. but it doesnt matter much,First, there may be hints of spoilers. second, i'm going to start by saying the dialogue was barely functional, but it did what it needed. there were only three instances that were head-smackingly awful. but it doesnt matter much, really. onward. critics either inadvertenly say exactly what's so appealing about this movie, ("Structured around a series of blackouts and gross-outs, it is one long free fall through icky surrealism and underlighted nightmares." "souless and joyless") or bizaarely attempt to connect any element of this movie to reality. this is a horrible escapism of hate, of evil that isnt dignified enough to make sense to anyone. these are creatures of a child's hateful nightmare that dont need any motivation except to be not just viscerally frightening, but instinctively repulsive. it's horrifying not especially for the gore, but for the violence coming from creations so crude and senseless and... alien to our (or should i say my) sensibilities. "pyramid head" sounds like a completely ridiculous name, but the being itself is exhilaratingly demonic. i believed they were surprisingly sucessful in tapping that primal, reflexive fear of being left completely alone in a confusing and hellish place. also their ability for suspense went criminally undernoticed here. there was genuine dread when those sirens went of as a series of escalating horrors happened after each time it did. these people did not have weapons of any sort (except a knife, which was dropped, and a gun that soon proved useless). horror movies have their own aesthetic, and i suppose this one just went with how i think they should be done, because it's been a few YEARS since i was scared that badly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PazMay 6, 2006
Criticos estupidos... no entienden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClarkL.May 9, 2006
The EMPIRE reviewer has described the movie perfectly. People who have gotten used to video game "story" experiences while playing will appreciate this movie. Anyone who doesn't play games probably won't enjoy much beyond the cool The EMPIRE reviewer has described the movie perfectly. People who have gotten used to video game "story" experiences while playing will appreciate this movie. Anyone who doesn't play games probably won't enjoy much beyond the cool monsters and nice cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XerosA.Aug 24, 2006
Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film was (considering KONAMI wouldn't let Mr.Gans use the story from the games). Unlike most horror films the setting wasn't piled to the rafters with weapons for the characters to run around bashing monsters with (which is very refreshing). Also Silent Hill did not rely on "cheap" scares such as having scary faces pop up screeching like banshees. The intereaction between characters seemed natural and very true to life (or as close as it could be considering the situation) which made it easy, nay enjoyable to watch (unlike so many horror films today). It was good to hear and see the music and creatures from the games, they made the whole experience that much more. And finally it wasn't too long like a lot of movies these days (I'm talking to you Peter Jackson!) ending at two hours and five minutes, just as there was no more plot to be divulged and no more sinners to be clensed. Total viewings so far: 3 Total viewings in the future: endless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AjayJMay 28, 2007
The fact that all the critics and users here that have commented, are so baffled by this film, shows how much Christopher Gans and everyone involved in the film, succeeded in bringing this film to the big screen.. Its far from perfect, the The fact that all the critics and users here that have commented, are so baffled by this film, shows how much Christopher Gans and everyone involved in the film, succeeded in bringing this film to the big screen.. Its far from perfect, the plot does go dry toward the end, and some of the acting isnt all that, but it shows just how clear the vision was for this film. Every fan of the game knows that your left with the WTF factor after playing the games, and im so glad they kept that for the film.. I loved every second of the film just like i have loved the games for many years.. The atmosphere and visuals are brilliant, as well as the haunting soundtrack and the creepy monsters.. They still have a way to go to making this the best video game - film, but all in all i was very impressed.. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlakK.Sep 16, 2007
I wouldn't say this is a GREAT film, but it's definitely one of the better translations. I don't know why they messed around with the plot of the original game; it was fine the way it was. The special effects and visuals were I wouldn't say this is a GREAT film, but it's definitely one of the better translations. I don't know why they messed around with the plot of the original game; it was fine the way it was. The special effects and visuals were awesome; they really did a good job bringing the town of Silent Hill to life. Honestly, I wouldn't put much stock into the critics' reviews. The majority of them don't even understand what's going on in the movie. If you're a Silent Hill fan, though, it should all make perfect sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucasR.Jan 6, 2008
One of the best videogame adaptations ever. Silent Hill makes you feel like being in the town itself. If you play(and like) the game, you must see this movie.If you don´t, it´s a superb horror-thriller movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnD.Feb 27, 2008
All I wanna say is that Wesley Morris is one of the worst critics ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaM.Feb 27, 2008
I find this movie thrilling and breath taking. Two thumbs up all the way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Mar 23, 2008
Best thriller movie!!! a perfect blend of horror and drama. Emotional and yet scary. They should make more movies like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesJApr 30, 2008
It was the fewest video game-based movies that had the basic formula right. However, this was one of the movies that never received a chance to popular demand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AceTMar 11, 2009
Probably the best film adaption of a game to date. Its obvious the reviewers have never played the game otherwise they would know how much the film realtes to the game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewLMar 18, 2009
So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a good job of it. Good pacing, incredible special effects, good acting, a nice new take on the original story... I was solidly entertained. Fans of the games will notice and appreciate many things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
cecilepMar 29, 2009
The nightmarish aspect of silent hill puts up and above any other horror movie I've watched, and the ending though confusing was a nice touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xyzfaceMay 18, 2009
One the most intense enthralling films iv seen .. very surprised by the critics reviews, it shows that they haven't played or have any interest in the original subject matter that is the silent hill games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMMay 31, 2009
I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game particularly. Like many have said, the atmosphere is great. A lot of its shots are done quite well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SalvadorV.Oct 23, 2006
I don't know why people rate this movie very low. Silent Hill basically gave almost all its story away by the end, where there was an explanation going on. Either they didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Apr 21, 2006
Beautifully done. It captures the scary, glued to your seat, heart pounding desperation that the game is. Awesome job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WinterApr 21, 2006
For the fans, Silent Hill is better than anyone had any right to hope it would be. From the music, to the sets, to the characters, to the creatures - everything smacks of a distinct respect for the source material. If, however, you are For the fans, Silent Hill is better than anyone had any right to hope it would be. From the music, to the sets, to the characters, to the creatures - everything smacks of a distinct respect for the source material. If, however, you are coming to the film from the point of having no prior knowledge then things get a little more complex and not so satisfactory: acting is patchy, script can be very weak in places and the lengthy exposition at a certain point is completely insulting. However, having said that - and this next point can't be stressed enough - if you enjoy films where the visuals are the main star (think Suspiria) then this is a complete masterclass in set design, creature effects, atmosphere, cinematography, the whole lot. The confidence displayed within really does conjure up some completely iconic images. Overall, it's a bold, confident, patchy effort that will divide those who see it. The best video game adaptation yet? Easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AjayApr 21, 2006
FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, FINALLY a game to movie adaptation worthy to watch! Tomb raider was a mess, resident evil was a disater on all means nad lets not think about the rest! Anyway Silent Hill is one of those sick, twised, generally creepy films that grabs you, and refuses to let go. Its sick horrifying, grotesque images of Hell, do more than just scare, they kick the breaths clean out, its that scary. Some scenes ar taken straight out of the game and this just makes th whole thing more satisfying. I can agree that th story was very confusing, and left not much of an impression, but the whole film proves just how goos game adaptations could be. It has all the right elements in a horror pic, but instead of following the predictible elements that a BAD movie would do it creates all new rules. Never has a horror been so intense than this. Silent Hill is a joy to watch and think that only Fans will truly appeciate the direction of the film. It ends just like the games do, confusing and downright weird, but thats the beauty of this film, it doesnt stick to the coventional methods. Christopher Gans has succeeded, and the reviews form all critics are wrong, and if any of them had actually played any of the games they would know how to take to this movie. Its the best horror of this year and probably the best movie of 2006 too. Any Fans MUST see this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Apr 21, 2006
Not knowing what is going on and why is one of the most enjoyable things about the games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveApr 21, 2006
Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the Do not worry about the low scores by the professional critics, one does not need to be a Silent Hill fan or even a video game fan to appreciate this piece of work. The visuals in the movie are just too good to look at, not to mention the soundtrack that fits perfectly, complete with a thrilling but not "hollywood" thrilling storyline (unfortunately upsetting Mr Roger Ebert). However I do believe that in order to criticize this movie properly, one should at least have a brief glance at the story plots and history of the video game itself. Sadly all the professional film critics have failed to do so and blamed their own ignorance on the movie by saying "wah wah mommy i'm so confused, me not likey". Accept it folks, video games have been a culture a long time ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryM.Apr 21, 2006
Not a great movie, but it is the best videogame to movie adapation I have ever seen. Deserves to be seen, nonetheless. i know that Ebert does not play videogames, but I still understood what the movie is about. Ebert, if you want to know, e-mail me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StuartC.Apr 21, 2006
Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far Damn the critics and their lazy herd mentality. "It's a video game movie so everyone will expect it to suck so let's just say it sucks and no-one will know we've got no clue what we're talking about." Silent Hill is far and away the greatest big-screen videogame adaption ever seen. One day, maybe they'll all be this good. Christopher Gans shows he's one massive fan of the games (as opposed to some know-nothing who hasn't played a game in his life, as is apparent from most game movies), pays lip service where it's due, and even throws in his own twists and turns to surprise even the biggest Silent Hill fan. Just when you think you're watching the original game scene-for-scene, there's something to mix it up a little. If there's a criticism to be made, it's towards the rather hammy acting, even from the generally decent Sean Bean. Not as bad as the voice acting in any of the games, of course, but it's quite stiff and occasionally a little silly. The movie's atmosphere, visuals, and ESPECIALLY it's fantastic audio track, however, are way up there. Don't listen to the so-called 'experts', take it from someone a little less jaded - Silent Hill is a movie worth paying to see whether you're a game fan or even just a fan of the freakish. 9 thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.Apr 21, 2006
Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and here is why. They are scared that the movies are being out done by another form of entertainment VIDEOGAMES. I have one thing to say to the critics "We don't give a flying F**K what you think so deal with it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ddApr 21, 2006
The most bizarre movie I have ever seen. Fantastic visuals, stupid story (just like the games) And, just the games I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewB.Apr 22, 2006
I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a I'll begin by saying this: I've never played the games, so I'm not a Silent Hill fanboy. That being said, don't listen to the negative reviews, this movie is well done. The environments and music come together to create a truly eerie atmosphere. I thought that the direction was great, it was deliberate in leading your eyes to a certain point in the image. It is not without its flaws. There are some pacing issues within the first third of the movie (could've been about 10-15 minutes shorter). Some poorly written dialogue is evident along with some poor acting. Thankfully, the bad acting jobs are exclusive to minor characters. The story comes together in the end, and for me it was a bit difficult to fully grasp what was going on. But when it finally came to me I had a greater appreciation for the movie. Do yourself a favour; see this movie for yourself and let yourself by the judge. Otherwise, you may be missing a good one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NeilF.Apr 22, 2006
If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed If you are a fan of the videogame series, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It really is the best video game to screen adaptation thus far. Christophe Gans once again delvers with his over the top, but beautifully choreographed vision of Silent Hill. I really did love ths movie, there are SO many scenes ripped straight from the videogame, there were many times where I felt like I was playing the videogame but had no control where the story would lead, which made it that much more frightening. For the cinematography and set pieces alone, this is a must see but I would recommend to any horror fans that enjoy not only gore but meaningful story as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AJLoomanApr 22, 2006
The critics Trashed this movie. What they dont understand is it comes from a videogame subculture and i bet the reviewers that tore it apart didnt do there homework and at least attempt to power on a PlayStation to see what the game was The critics Trashed this movie. What they dont understand is it comes from a videogame subculture and i bet the reviewers that tore it apart didnt do there homework and at least attempt to power on a PlayStation to see what the game was about. As a fan of the game series i feel the movie did the game justice and was very good. However there where a few things that could have been better.The movie wasent perfect but few movies today are. Silent Hill deserved more credit than its givin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DOApr 22, 2006
Bottom line, if you believe in God and like to bitch at people who don't then you'll give this movie a low score. Go see the movie and you might get what I mean.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MalachiasJ.Apr 22, 2006
The best movie horror ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanP.Apr 22, 2006
NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the NOTE: This is a gamer's review who has ACTUALLY PLAYED THE GAME. This movie was absolutely the best. I don't understand how it got such horrible reviews. The only thing I can come up with is that the reviewers have not played the game to appriciate it enough. Anyways, the movie stays very true to the game. I honestly don't think they could have done this adaptation of the game any better. One thing I would like to point out though is that the movie quickly jumps into the storyline leaving many questions unanswered. Like, to why they need to go to Silent Hill. There are one or two bad acting scenes/bad line scenes but every movie has one of those. (Yes, i'm looking at you Star Wars Episode three) Conclution: If you have played and liked the game, you should have no reason to hate this movie and should love it. If you have not touched the game, there probably will be a chance you will not like it too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanM.Apr 22, 2006
This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( This movie was fantastic. The sets were amazing, the cinematgraphy phenomenal. Everything was in place to set the mood and really suck you in to the world of Silent Hill, including the musical score. There were brief moments of bad acting ( only a couple and they didn't last long ) and, like the game, you actually have to think to understand it. Too bad the critics like their movies done according to formula because this movie is so undeserving of the reviews it's been getting. I can only hope there is a director's cut dvd with about an hour more of Pyramid Head. He is the new horror icon of this generation. If you like a good, fun horror movie with tons of gore go and see Silent Hill. It does not disappoint! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElmocoApr 22, 2006
Great freaking movie. from the set design to the creepy found footage look, the atmosphere in the film is excellent. don't believe the stuffy critic's reviews. most have probably never even heard of the game, much less played it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanL.Apr 22, 2006
The movie was visually stunning, and enough so that it should receive its fair share of credit for that alone. Beyond that though, the dialogue was humorous at best and somehow a director that did everything right aesthetically managed to The movie was visually stunning, and enough so that it should receive its fair share of credit for that alone. Beyond that though, the dialogue was humorous at best and somehow a director that did everything right aesthetically managed to neglect every other detail. Shots of actresses that have been fair in the past looked like they were done in one rehearsal take (hasn't Alice Krige won awards?). The movie's worth a chance, but only one, even if you're a fan of the game series. At least it did that justice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinA.Apr 22, 2006
Almost completely free of cliche. Visually stunning. Some of the acting could be better, but the overall effect is definitely worthwhile. Overall, a powerful execution of a unique concept and some very interesting commentary of the nature of Almost completely free of cliche. Visually stunning. Some of the acting could be better, but the overall effect is definitely worthwhile. Overall, a powerful execution of a unique concept and some very interesting commentary of the nature of faith, religion and metaphysics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenB.Apr 22, 2006
I honestly thought this movie was great. I went into it already knowing what a majority of critics thought but I decided I would find out for myself. The thing is with these kinds of movies, the audience needs to relax and stretch out their I honestly thought this movie was great. I went into it already knowing what a majority of critics thought but I decided I would find out for myself. The thing is with these kinds of movies, the audience needs to relax and stretch out their levels of believability. At the very core of this movie, it is a ghost story and like any ghost story, the ideas of reality can be stretched. The things that happen in this movie border on the incredibly confusing and some of the events that occur will also make you stare bug-eyed wondering if you really saw what you thought you saw. Just keep the following things in mind when you see this movie and you will most likely enjoy it: 1) Two worlds exist in this movie, the real world and Silent Hill's world (the movie switches back and forth between them and once you figure this out, the rest falls into place), 2) like any scary/horror movie, the main character will do some pretty ridiculous things (just have yourself a chuckle and enjoy the results), 3) keep your mind open and let the ideas in the movie soak into your head...don't try to analyze everything you see....things will be explained later on. I really did like this movie and I feel its biggest problem is that not too many are understanding it. Watch it, enjoy it and watch out for the Pyramid Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricM.Apr 22, 2006
I played the video games, since the first one released on PS1. If they could've put the town of Silent Hill into reality...this would be it. I don't think that I could know how to rate this if I did not play the games because I can I played the video games, since the first one released on PS1. If they could've put the town of Silent Hill into reality...this would be it. I don't think that I could know how to rate this if I did not play the games because I can imagine some confusion coming from those people. For me, it was clear, it was excellent, and the atmosphere was astonishing. If all horror movies could capture the eerie atmosphere and horrific sounds of silent hill, it could make a whole lot of movies better. Like others have said, the dialogue and acting could've beena little better but all in all, a great movie. I have to say, I have yet to like a video game to movie adaptation but this is how they should make them. I wonder if the critics even saw the movie or just decided to rate it horribly because its based on a video game. This just goes to show you can't always judge a movie based on a critics review. This is great, go see it for yourselves, you won't be disappointed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricB.Apr 23, 2006
Phenomenally well-made film. Movie critics are resentful of video games in the same way literary critics were resentful of movies 80 years ago. Ignore them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonW.Apr 23, 2006
Clearly what the critics don't understand is that 50 year old fat guys who wrote a script for Russ Meyer aren't the movies target audience. It was written, shot and crafted for the under 25 crowd and for fans of the series. Sillent Clearly what the critics don't understand is that 50 year old fat guys who wrote a script for Russ Meyer aren't the movies target audience. It was written, shot and crafted for the under 25 crowd and for fans of the series. Sillent Hill captures every aspect of the game perfectly and aside from a weak ending and poor acting, is the most faithful Game-to-Movie translation to date. Everything down the the radio making a nose when enemies are near and the siren to warn when the town is changing is included in this delieghtful fan-oriented film. Acting is weak, but the atmoshpere is strong. If you're looking for some fun this is it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Apr 24, 2006
Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to say because the movie wasn't made for them. Fans will love this movie, and if you are not a fan of the series, become one first before watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrendenC.Apr 24, 2006
I think the problem with this movie for the writers/producers/director is that they needed to have that FIRST intro movie. Get everyone acquainted with what Silent Hill is all about. Get everyone up to speed with how things happen, and why I think the problem with this movie for the writers/producers/director is that they needed to have that FIRST intro movie. Get everyone acquainted with what Silent Hill is all about. Get everyone up to speed with how things happen, and why they happen. (ie. the transformation to the 'bad place') This in turn makes the critics think that this movie is bad, and that the script sucks. Truth be told, they complained about the script of the first X-men movie as well. I will guarantee that anyone that has played (not someone just now playing for the idea of) Silent hill, will love this movie. It was scary enough to have my girlfriend sheilding her eyes, and wishing they'd stop sounding the alarm. : ) If you've seen the movie you'll know what i mean. Anticipation is a killer. For that's that love scary movies, you just cannot stop looking, because you're more afraid that you'll miss the gory details. Literally. They deserve awards for the special effects in this movie. The best i've seen EVER. And an even bigger award for making the best video game to movie transition ever. Right on down to the monsters. Including your favorite paramid man. As far as being disappointed with this movie, the only faults i see are two. One being that the final scenes leading up to the big revelation seemed a bit too easy. And paramid man's role in the whole thing while looking cool, and definetely giving off the unstoppable force attitude, i wish he were used alot more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NateB.Apr 24, 2006
A flawed movie, to be sure. But one that captures the spirit of the games much more faithfully than any game adaptation to date. I rarely tell people that " they didn't get it", but I don't think the critics are really seeing the A flawed movie, to be sure. But one that captures the spirit of the games much more faithfully than any game adaptation to date. I rarely tell people that " they didn't get it", but I don't think the critics are really seeing the amount of depth to the story and the symbolic nature of all of the monsters and environments. They're not just scary looking for the sake of being freaky, they've got a purpose. And while the movie may not be a masterpiece (bad writing, uneven acting), people should be excited just because a game adaptation actually had the balls to tacke intelligent themes, even if it didn't do so perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnV.Apr 24, 2006
The best video game to film adaptation that, unfortunately, suffers from a distrust of its audience, an unnecessary exposition, and poor dialogue. Great special effects, disturbing imagery and an excellent sound track take this film miles The best video game to film adaptation that, unfortunately, suffers from a distrust of its audience, an unnecessary exposition, and poor dialogue. Great special effects, disturbing imagery and an excellent sound track take this film miles farther than its script could possibly go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseQ.Apr 24, 2006
Silent Hill is certainly going to be a better experience to fans of the game than to other casual movie goers. I am a huge fan of the games(esp #3), and so I certainly appreciated the movie and the people who made it for staying as close to Silent Hill is certainly going to be a better experience to fans of the game than to other casual movie goers. I am a huge fan of the games(esp #3), and so I certainly appreciated the movie and the people who made it for staying as close to the source material as possible, unlike the great majority of the video game to movie adaptations, which are manipulated to fit hollywood mentality and end up being bad movies. The movie obviously is not perfect, bad writing promotes some scenes that showcase less than stellar acting, and the pacing of the movie could have been better. I do forgive the movie for its length, since I blame it on having to explain the story to people who are not fans of the game, and who need more info. on the subject to understand it better. It is certainly a step on the right direction as far as adapting games to movies goes, since the atmosphere, the scenery, the main story, and many other of the characteristics that make the games so great were well portrayed. I also thank the powers that be in not toning the movie down to get the desired pg-13 rating, because it would have certainly been for the worst. It gives me hope for a good sequel and a good Halo adaption in summer 2007!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Apr 24, 2006
Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill was done total justice. The atmosphere was perfect, the visuals were perfect, the soundtrack (taken 90% from the game) was used to it's full potential, and i found myself really caring about the characters. Another worry i had before entering the Cinema, was the inclusion of Sean Bean's character. I wasn't sure how he'd fit, but i really liked the fact he was part of it. I liked his character, and felt sympathy for him in the end. All in all, the movie was brilliant. I can't believe it's gotten bad reviews. It's easily the best video-game adaption, by miles....and i could have sat there and watched it forever. I was sad to leave the Cinema by the end. I don't remember a time when i enjoy a film as much as i did Silent Hill. I can't wait for another one. Full Marks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Apr 24, 2006
Easily the best video game adaption I have yet seen, and probably destined to be the most misunderstood and blasted for the same reason. Unlike some other jaded souls, this movie actually freaked me out, much as the games did (played all Easily the best video game adaption I have yet seen, and probably destined to be the most misunderstood and blasted for the same reason. Unlike some other jaded souls, this movie actually freaked me out, much as the games did (played all four of them to completion), and as anyone who has played the games should be able to tell you, this movie's main fault was trying desperately to provide some coherence to the plot for the average plebian audience.....and not just running with the subject matter in surreal fashion ala David Lynch like it should have. That said, I saw nothing in this movie that especially violated the backstory and canon of Silent Hill's franchise...and it even helped to get some vague understanding of how such a town could exist in reality, overlapping in to the weird dreamworlds and limbos like it does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinH.Apr 24, 2006
Above average! Long, yes. Poorly acted, yes. But honestly. Critics. What's up? You don't 'get' the plot? Isn't that your job? It's simple, I'll spell it out for you. Good v. Evil, Heaven v. Hell, Order v. Above average! Long, yes. Poorly acted, yes. But honestly. Critics. What's up? You don't 'get' the plot? Isn't that your job? It's simple, I'll spell it out for you. Good v. Evil, Heaven v. Hell, Order v. Chaos, ad infinitum. Isn't this the most basic story in history? Satisfyiing, and chilling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobG.Apr 24, 2006
This movie was one of the best. even better than resident evil even if im a big fan of both movies i think silent hill was better than any other movies made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AaronF.Apr 24, 2006
Simply an amazing movie! I've never played the games and had no real prior knowledge of the story, but I got every bit of it. I really have know clue what the critics are talking about. The acting wasn't the absolute best by any Simply an amazing movie! I've never played the games and had no real prior knowledge of the story, but I got every bit of it. I really have know clue what the critics are talking about. The acting wasn't the absolute best by any means, but overall I didn't feel like it took away from the movie as how it was directed. I loved it! If I was a person who invested much time in videogames, I'd definitely pick this game up to see what this movie was based on! Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordonJ.Apr 25, 2006
Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with that. It seems that the imaginations of many people have been "linearized" by watching too many films. The West has a long history of spurning the unconscious mind, and then subjecting its entertainment to the rigid, "logical" constraints formulated by the conscious. Freud, or at least his compatriots in America during the '50s, helped America become the global gem of pathological consumption it is nowadays by touting a theory of a "uniform unconscious" and using it to create advertising as we know it. Not to mention (Freud was dead by this time) they justified its commercial use as a method of manipulating "the dangerously illogical masses" to become pacifists. Curiously, surrealism never took hold in the U.S. and is now considered "dead." If we look at the Supreme Court case involving "the satanic evil of comics" that was playing out at this time (the '50s), we may appreciate further the previous statement. It seems the public internalized the paranoia and symbolism (and imagery restrictions) of society's "therapists" as their dogma and motivator; postmodernism, with its glorification of mass consumption, crawled onto the art scene in the '50s and has dominated the thinking of academics ever since. This story, though set in America, is taken from the East. The East, where the majority of fiction is printed comics, and where comics are not, nor have ever been ('ukiyo-e' are the 4-centuries-old woodblock equivalent of those trashy Western romance novels), looked down upon as entertainment. Akira Yamaoka, a prominent member of the 'Silent Hill' video game series's production team, has said that Japanese horror focuses on "unseeable enemies, a sense of vengeance, and...a sad storyline" rather than "shocking visuals and evil spirits." The game has the last two things, and was inspired by such contemporary Western artists as Francis Bacon, but it eschews their origins. For example, the first game has bucket-loads of blood, but you may or may not see the victim's body and/or its attacker. And sometimes, like in the movie 'Phantoms', you'll see what could only be a planned spectacle, by what seems to be a malevolent spirit (i.e. a severed head underneath a basketball hoop)...But you find out later thst whatever violence there is, it's justified, and that the story is quite sad. And Yamaoka has something to say about the story -- "Silent Hill focuses very much on storyline" but it's "unclear" so that it can "provoke a sense of fear." So I was very much interested to see what Gans had cooked up. Having tried to make a comic in the same vein as 'Silent Hill', I wanted to see what Gans had changed. As it turns out, he changed quite a lot. The film is absolutely two-faced, and it's almost as difficult to reconcile its two halves as it was to eke the story out of the first game. The first half is deliciously surreal. Absolutely fantastic. The second half...Not quite the same beast. In the first half, like in the game, it's hard not to feel the floor fall out from under your feet when the world turns dark and swallows you up. It's hard not to feel like YOU'RE NEXT when the chum of human wets the ground. It's hard not to feel like you're in hell when the Lovecraftian, Boschian nasties turn up, threatening you. However, the second half reveals what's really going on -- revenge. No one dies by the appendages, instruments, or machinations of the monsters but those who deserve it. It becomes clear when the only human accompaniment worth speaking of dies at the cruel hands of those who would think they were "cleansing sin" and keeping evil at bay. These people, the film makes clear, are staving off the vengeance of another by not acknowledging what they have done; they deny their sins and prevent justice. They fall one by one to the Red Pyramid, but still their numbers run strong. Essentially, Rose joins the devil to bring about her revenge and justice, and she succeeds. The film during the climax reminded me of the anime 'Elfen Lied' in that it demands the viewer indulge, or at least recognize this indulgence. It also reminds me of a mishmash of Japanese porn. It's a slightly uncomfortable feeling. The ending is absolutely joyous. Rejoined Alessa (it's unimportant if Dark Alessa, Alessa, or the both of them fused with Sharon, they're alike in every aspect) cannot leave Purgatory, Rose has given up on the notion of Sharon belonging to her (she /was/ adopted, remember), Dark Alessa/Aless has no reason to condemn Rose to Hell, Sharon is no longer functioning as an entity in and of itself, people may leave Silent Hill but not Purgatory (remember SH3, the game was outside of the town; also, no characters have ever been shown actually leaving Purgatory in the games), and Dark Alessa wanted to join with Sharon all along. Either may have had their soul sold; however, this is actually unimportant. Like in real life, there's never any indication of a God. Also, it's unlikely they're dead (think of Officer Gucci saying that no bodies were found. Also, a number of scenes with Rose and Christopher call to mind a 'Poltergeist' movie where one of the main characters was stranded in an alternate reality.) This film is the best piece of postmodern cinema I have ever seen. It's even better than analyzing FLCL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HassanW.Apr 26, 2006
stop hating critics. you guys dont know what a good movie is. this movie was amazing. best scary movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OliverW.Apr 27, 2006
This is the best video game movie there has been. It's very good for fans of the game. It may not be quite as good for newcomers, but I'm sick of people saying this film is pants because they think video games are for kids. This is the best video game movie there has been. It's very good for fans of the game. It may not be quite as good for newcomers, but I'm sick of people saying this film is pants because they think video games are for kids. You're clueless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RayH.Apr 27, 2006
True to the game.this movie hit its target audience.good job to the writers and special effects guys.If you liked resident evil you should like this too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HostilioApr 27, 2006
Great movie, yeah is like see some one play the game but i love see play people some games a example is FEAR, seeing is expetacular. I like RE and i like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanG.Apr 29, 2006
I have an idea, Silent Hill: dialougue tracks taken out. Ambient Masterpeice?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlueFalconMay 18, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised with how true this movie was to the video game (contrary to what a few others might say). Other game based movies often fail at that. Silent Hill doesn't copy the story from the games, but has the same themes. I was pleasantly surprised with how true this movie was to the video game (contrary to what a few others might say). Other game based movies often fail at that. Silent Hill doesn't copy the story from the games, but has the same themes. The main character is helpless, and must bravely face fears in order to help a loved one. There are many mysterious characters whose motives are initially unclear. In the end the story is actually quite involved, if a little far fetched. The movie exceeded my expectations for sure. People familiar with the game will likely appreciate this movie the most. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChazG.May 22, 2006
(Positive) Great cinematography & outstanding special effects. (Negative) The storyline was basic and the lead character "Rose" was constantly making decisions in a foolish manner rather than intelligent. Overall the movie was entertaining (Positive) Great cinematography & outstanding special effects. (Negative) The storyline was basic and the lead character "Rose" was constantly making decisions in a foolish manner rather than intelligent. Overall the movie was entertaining and SCARY! Worth the movie ticket if EXTREME violence is not offensive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaymanB.Aug 31, 2006
First off, I can't beleive this movie has up to 432 votes(comments). Is this a record??? I was there first night in the theatres when Silent Hill was released. Big fan of the games, loved the trailer. I liked the movie up to the point First off, I can't beleive this movie has up to 432 votes(comments). Is this a record??? I was there first night in the theatres when Silent Hill was released. Big fan of the games, loved the trailer. I liked the movie up to the point of [***SPOILERS***] the cult scenes. Wasn't expecting that crap to end up in such a spooky movie. I'll buy a used copy of the DVD when avail....I just wish they could cut that crap out. Anyway...good spooky ending...and I hope they re-visit Silent Hill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyT.Feb 16, 2007
Great imagery, great atmosphere, and good acting. . . I think the critics thought "video game adaption=crappy movie" and skipped out on actually watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Special_bFeb 18, 2007
This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used several times, I can't recall it ever being handled the way it was in this film. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenR.Mar 23, 2007
I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David Lynch had directed this, all the critics would be falling over themselves at how brilliant and atmospheric it is. I totally enjoyed every single scene in this movie, even though I have no idea what most of it means. And usually I hate gory movies, but there was something so stunning and crazy about the violence that I couldn't even hide my eyes. The movie is a visual feast and a visual poem. I am going to buy the DVD tomorrow to see it widescreen and with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanK.Apr 25, 2008
Kafkaesque... There is nothing more you have to say!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MangoP.May 29, 2008
Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding me? Look, Enjoy this if you have a mind and an eye for aesthetics. Everyone else, leave this work of brilliance alone. The music, atmosphere, art direction, and acting are peerless, and the plot is excellent with an ending that is at once sad and cathartic. Silent Hill is A Film that is not to be missed by those who can understand how to appreciate it. Minus one point for not being QUITE as scary as it could have been, but still succeeding otherwise on all fronts. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, and just about everything else. Forget what the critics said about this film, it's practically perfect! This film was amazing and is a must-see for any horror fanatics, you'll be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelLDec 22, 2008
The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw was the very ending, but it didn't ruin it like the ending of the mist. I was embarrassed to be a king fan when i went to that movie. This definitely is better that the Resident Evil movies. Not disappointing in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ilovegames32Feb 24, 2013
Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series.Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series. First the good: if you love..wait let me re-write this so I'm clear....IF YOU LOVE SILENT HILL(game)YOU.WILL.LOVE.THIS.MOVIE.PERIOD!! Silent hill almost perfectly resembles the first game with the exception of the lead characters gender.While I don't have a problem with this change,some hardcore fans of the series will be disappointed but Rachel(aka rose)does great job as she ventures into purgatory(hell?)to save her daughter the adopted sherry.What this movie does correctly(& better)then silent hill revelation is really helping the audience understand the nature of silent hill,characters and what there willing to go through to save their daughter! Rose(rahda) is commanding as she searches relentlessly for sharin will being relentlessly tormented by the evil that lurks around every corner while her husband(played by sean bean) searches for rose.silent hill makes anyone who ventures there suffer until they are killed or worse..become trapped in the eternal nightmare that is silent hill..this is evident when rose reaches the school and when it changes she runs toward the camera pulling on a gate while screaming her lungs out while looking for an exit or when she see's pyramid head any his legion of killer bugs....an exhausted rose gives in waits for her impending fate only to be saved by cebil! This is silent hill in its entirety....to torment you to the point of submission which revelation had neither. Pyramid head in silent hill is much more menacing in the first movie because he's powerful meant to be feared as he rips the skin off a poor soul throws her still warm flesh into the church but is reduced to a mere body guard in revelation...oh god...silent hill also has good pacing. It took its time with each character even if they were expendable which keep the spirit of the games has a MUCH better version of the occult that lived in silent hill vs revelation as the occult seemed like an unimportant afterthought used as filler to extend the movie.The bad:since i played the first games almost everyday the movie was kinda predictable but thats as bad as it was for me. The ending of silent hill,unlike revelation,was a nightmare come true for the damned soul in silent hill as alessa her evil half gruesomely kills the occult zealots inside the church!!The story,pacing,camera angles,sound most importantly...THE ESSENCE OF THE SILENT HILL GAMES ARE DONE PERFECTLY IN THIS DEFINITIVE VERSION OF SILENT HILL FOR THE BIG SCREEN! Skip revelation not only because this one is better but for the fact that at the end of silent hill the good part of alessa was no longer needed was either returned to alessa or killed by the evil that gave alessa the power to create hell that kept the occult rose in silent hill. End of story 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Mar 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews