TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 891 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
709
Mixed:
84
Negative:
98
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
weskergamerApr 17, 2017
Es una buena pelicula. No es una pelicula de grandes sustos pero si de una atmosfera q asusta solo con verla. Uno de sus principales problemas es q es muy lenta y dura 2 horas q parecen una eternidad. Igual la pelicula esta vagamente basadoEs una buena pelicula. No es una pelicula de grandes sustos pero si de una atmosfera q asusta solo con verla. Uno de sus principales problemas es q es muy lenta y dura 2 horas q parecen una eternidad. Igual la pelicula esta vagamente basado en el videojuego original pero mantiene algunas cosas especiales q lo hacen buena Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ByYuxiSsMar 13, 2017
We users if we know appreciate a good movie of a great saga of video games as can be silent hill.
For my opinion is very well based on video games with many scares and an atmosphere more than gloomy and not to mention the music is great and
We users if we know appreciate a good movie of a great saga of video games as can be silent hill.
For my opinion is very well based on video games with many scares and an atmosphere more than gloomy and not to mention the music is great and excellent.

For my opinion is the best horror movies ever created 9/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YurchikFeb 21, 2017
I like this film. This is the first horror movie that really kept me in suspense the whole visual inspection! I'll watch it a few times. And the second part I did not like!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
My favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere theMy favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere the director is able to create. The critics need to stop judging the movies because of the origination of a video game. This is an amazing movie, definitely worth watching, buying, and keeping on your "favorites" shelf! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rehmedies97Oct 7, 2016
Out of all the films based on videogames, this film to me ranks as the absolute best so far. The film manages to fully emulate atmosphere and visuals of the games absolutely flawlessly. Not to mention the fact that it utilizes the majority ofOut of all the films based on videogames, this film to me ranks as the absolute best so far. The film manages to fully emulate atmosphere and visuals of the games absolutely flawlessly. Not to mention the fact that it utilizes the majority of the music from the first four games as well, which works extraordinarily well in film's favor. The story may be difficult to follow for some unfamiliar with plot of the first game (which it suprising follows very faithfully), but I was able to fully comprehend it. The runtime was perfectly reasonable. Not all horror films require a runtime of only ninety minutes so, nor do they require jumpscares. The acting was good, and the dialogue while slighly stilted, did not significantally impede on the film's quality for me. However this film is not for the faint of heart, for it's nightmarish imagery and brutal violence may be a bit too much for some viewers. But all things considered, this not only favorite videogame movie but also quite possibly my favorite horror movie of the 2000's. Overall 84/100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
voxottoAug 15, 2016
silent hill, It's the film where the plot is scarier than the movie itself. The cgi fell a little short and it all looked like a ps2/3 game. Especially when there is a lot of gore, that is really hard to fake with cgi and just made me laughsilent hill, It's the film where the plot is scarier than the movie itself. The cgi fell a little short and it all looked like a ps2/3 game. Especially when there is a lot of gore, that is really hard to fake with cgi and just made me laugh rather than be scared! Also there is no reason the movie had to be 2 hours long, it could have been wrapped up in 1 h 30 min,
In the end, if you liked the game then you are probably going to like the movie, if you haven't played the game or didn't like it, then the movie is meh, it really needs your imagination to help with the movie, it isn't naturally that terrifying.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SilentHillJamesJun 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm gonna be harsh on this because I love the first 3 games, and people are saying this movie follows the story of the game. Well I'm an expert on Silent Hil, and I'm telling you right now, this movie doesn't even come close to the story of the game. It's not even interesting. There's a few interesting visuals and like half of the movie is boring. The story of Silent Hill in the game is about a cult that lives in Silent Hill and they are trying to birth a demon god through one of the members psychic daughter, Alessa. The movie has nothing to do with this. Alessa is good and in the movie they made her the villain? What? They also made Alessa an evil girl who just wants to torture people and kill them. Trust me, if you want to see this movie because you like the games, you will be very disappointed. If you want to see this movie because you think it's good, it's not. Ignoring the source material for this movie, it's just boring and uninteresting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
perkjlJan 8, 2016
Fans of the games will notice some major plot differences, but out of all the video game-to movie adaptions I'd say Silent Hill is the only film that heavily borrows elements from the games. Primarily from Silent Hill1-3 on Sony's PlayStationFans of the games will notice some major plot differences, but out of all the video game-to movie adaptions I'd say Silent Hill is the only film that heavily borrows elements from the games. Primarily from Silent Hill1-3 on Sony's PlayStation & PS2. To be honest, this is probably better than the film adaptions of Resident Evil and Tomb Raider. Whereas the Resident Evil film felt a bit more sci-fi- Silent Hill really relies on horror. Also, the music was very well done. Sometimes the acting is pretty bad, but overall better than the Resident Evil film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
johnslegersJan 3, 2016
The problem with "Silent Hill" is that it lacks balance. Some parts of the film are over-explained while others leave you in a constant "What the f***". Some parts are just too creepy and shocking, while others get a little boring. Some partsThe problem with "Silent Hill" is that it lacks balance. Some parts of the film are over-explained while others leave you in a constant "What the f***". Some parts are just too creepy and shocking, while others get a little boring. Some parts are taken right out of the film, while others seemed added for no good reason. Some acting is very good, while other is very questionable.

This lack of balance is enough to make many people disinterested in the film. Either they think it's too confusing, too gory, too different from the game, too slow, etc.

Although IMO his "Brotherhood of the Wolf" was most definitely a better film, Gans definitely managed to provide something the Silver Screen hasn't seen in a long time : a dark and genuinely creepy Gothic environment with a Clive Barker sense of aesthetics. Too bad the "darkness" had only so little presence in this film, although I guess they had to make it fairly short to make it even remotely possible to survive in there.

In spite of its many flaws, however, I can say I really loved seeing "Silent Hill". It's definitely refreshing after seeing all those cliché American horror films or typical Japanese gore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 24, 2015
"Silent Hill " was a very scary movie , but almost unexciting , but do not say anything to others, projects at least in script and chilling soundtrack was almost in the attempt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DvdGOct 31, 2015
The atmosphere is what Silent Hill is about, which they nailed with this movie. I love this movie for what it is and seeing all of these ''Critic Reviews'' giving this movie **** for what it is not is very depressing. Silent Hill isn't aboutThe atmosphere is what Silent Hill is about, which they nailed with this movie. I love this movie for what it is and seeing all of these ''Critic Reviews'' giving this movie **** for what it is not is very depressing. Silent Hill isn't about jump scares or an incredibly fleshed out story, so why give it an awful score because it lacks those things? I.E. the ''Critic Reviews'' are useless in this particular case, if you are a fan of Silent Hill, you'll at the very least enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xAndrewxOct 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great,its not really based in the games but it still great,good dark and scary ambient,and awesome monsters look and the pyramid head appearances are really awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WeeverManJun 23, 2015
I don't understand all of the negative criticism. This movie was surprisingly well done and followed silent hill ALMOST TO THE MARK. There were some changes that may turn some people off but they were so minuscule that it's not entirelyI don't understand all of the negative criticism. This movie was surprisingly well done and followed silent hill ALMOST TO THE MARK. There were some changes that may turn some people off but they were so minuscule that it's not entirely understandable. The Special effects were good and the movie was a scary and impressive adaption. Id give this movie a look if you're either a fan of silent hill or horror movies in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Feb 17, 2015
I've never played the games, and I probably won't, but I was surprised by how much I liked the movie. It was kinda episodic because it's based on a video game, but I thought the movie was really scary and entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CPD98Nov 27, 2014
Aburrida y sin tensión, otra película floja sobre videojuegos que, no se como, logra gustar a algunos. Todo es una sucesión de chorradas que no asustan nunca, es una pérdida de tiempo, pese que la atmósfera se parezca a la del juego.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlejoSierraNov 25, 2014
This is a good horror movie, the tension of this movie is very impressive, i don't have any jump scare, but it have a scary and macabre parts that makes this a good horror movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 26, 2014
The movie is full of good special effects and he's pretty much like the .I can honestly say i enjoyed from the first minute to the last and that's probably because of the amazing actors performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HaithamBSep 8, 2014
Silent Hill is a very atmospheric movie that does not entirely live up to the epic video games. It is disturbing, it is frightening at times but it is dull and an overlong experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerAug 29, 2014
Takes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the gamesTakes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the games like familiar locations, enemies, and characters. By far the best thing that was taken from the video game and applied to this movie is the soundtrack. Just like in the games it adds to the atmosphere and definitely takes the movie one step further to make it feel like it is Silent Hill.

As you might expect of a video game adaption many liberties were taken with the plot, which is loosely based on the first game. Despite an overall feeling of vagueness, which does clear up as it nears it's end, the plot is much more comprehensible than that of the first game, even if I didn't quite get the ending. Still fans will appreciate the many nods to the source material.

What ultimately hurts the movie is that it's just not scary. Meaning that while fans like myself will be eating up every little thing related to the game series, those unfamiliar with the source material will be left unimpressed and possibly bored. It tries hard to pull outsiders in, but this is a video game movie for the video game fans. Others might want to look elsewhere.

As it stands it's not a good horror movie, but it's good video game movie. One that will delight fans of the series. It's a great display of fan service for anyone familiar with the games, and they're the audience that should check this out. At the end of the day that's what a video game movie should do. Too often games are translated into movies that make mockeries of the games they're based on. Yeah, it might not be scary enough for most horror-movie buffs, but this is the first video game movie I've seen that actually comes pretty darn close to capturing the magic of the game and putting it on a DVD. IT's just a shame the scares aren't there. Still, as a huge fan of the game series I really enjoyed it, and I give it a 7.9/10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonApr 23, 2014
Rose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of theRose travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search of answers to her daughter's mysterious sleepwalking and, following a traffic accident, the pair are separated resulting in a desperate search through the deserted streets of the town.

The special effects and CGI are suitably creepy and really evoke the mood of the video games and overall everything is well directed making for some fairly interesting scenes.. Unfortunately however, despite far too much exposition and explaining of back stories, the plot doesn't make much sense and isn't particularly interesting anyway (something which is even more frustrating since the second video game in the series has a pretty decent storyline) meaning parts of Silent Hill can be a bit of a chore to sit through.

Some horror fans may enjoy it but In the end this is yet another example of a video game license being mis-used.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Iluvatar21Apr 22, 2014
The director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves ofThe director doesn't know **** about horror, I am afraid. The movie was a disaster & shamed the SH franchise. True horror is not about scaring you but masterfully messing with you - something you can appreciate than being throw waves of monsters and expecting to have a good time. Said very simply: true horror deals with human nature, not the monsters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
All right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that isAll right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that is pure horror. And they show the reason everything started. The movie also criticizes the society, how people are so horrible. This movie is something more than awesome! The storyline makes sense, the cast is too good, the effects are really good. There are some really intense scenes that are totally worth it! And the creatures? It's just the best movie ever! And it is really emotional too, at least for me. It made me cry.. not only because of Cybil, but because the world we live in is too sad... Thank God the users see this movie with the potential that it really has. But the critics? sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good - the CGI are not bad to 2006 - this
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good
- the CGI are not bad to 2006
- this movie is one of the few who has that touch of horror
- this movie is one of the few who make me cry!
- and camon! the crew are good too! Sean Bean doesn't die!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BajanMasterApr 12, 2014
It was overall a good film, it explained the story well and showed pretty good effects. As a video game adaptation, i would recommend especially since its based off of Silent Hill
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
This film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump toThis film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump to any criticisms until you have seen and understand the film in full. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
renumathewFeb 12, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. Of course, its always a good idea to take your child to a place she
has nightmares about.
2. Of course, you should always make a beeline for it wen a cop stops
you from going to said nightmary place (she could've saved you a hell
of a lot of trouble than u cud imagine, but nooo, you have to save your
child by taking her to spooktown....which you have read about in detail
in websites!!)
3. Of course, its a marvelous idea to have a chat with one of the three
witches from Macbeth who looks beyond dead and rotting.
4. Of course, Macwitch has a penchant for quoting inane biblical
phrases.
5. Of course, bust out the chesty lady cop to appeal to the male
demographic.
6. Of course, you should put your hand inside an impossibly twisted
rotting corpse. Ooh, nothing can go wrong there. NOT! (Gosh, leave the
dead and their belongings alone. Its bad enough that they are dead)
7. Of course, the husband gets help from the most unhelpful cop in town
(from the way the cop talks, it looks like he loves puzzles and must
moonlight as a puzzle maker.. And a lousy one at that! Or maybe he's
constipated. Yep, that's it...that's why he talks like that.)
8. At this point, its safe to assume that the mother and daughter are
dead what with the father sniffing out mommy's dang perfume and not
seeing her.
Fun fact= Ideas that the producers thought would make this movie
screwy...er..scary- disabled zombies, paint peeling, mutated bugs
9. Of course, the grim reaper (or whoever that guy who has a short self
esteem and carries a ridiculously big sword to compensate)...yeah, of
course, he has a Toblerone for a head.
10. Of course, by all means let the basket case of a lady accompany
you. She won't be irritating at all, its especially endearing to be
preached at (Hey, newsflash ms.nutty, Moses called, he wanted his lingo
back!)
11. Of course, I fell asleep. (sigh...rewind)
12. Of course,
being holed up with a bunch of Bible thumping freaks who looks as if
they haven't bathed in over a 100 years is always a great idea (I'd go
with Mr.Tobleronehead. At least, that death will b quick)
13. Of course, undertake a quest as proposed by Lady Creeptastic. She must
mean well and care about you.
14. Whoa... McBusty cop dead? (Right at this point, the male
demographic must've left the theater)
15. Of course, more dreary and boring rusty decor (What is this style
called? Urban evil chic?)
16. They've busted out chesty nurse zombies. Of course, the male
demographic are back.
17. Of course, unoriginal flashback bla bla bla shown on old film reels
(You'd think that the dark forces, with all the power they've got
going, would have better quality film reels for flashbacks)
18. Of course, I fell asleep.....again. (Gee, i wonder why?)
19. Of course, the movie's going downhill, so why not add a bucket more of gruesome to
it. Burning a small girl sounds just about right. 20. Whoa! Busty cop's alive? Of course, she is. I mean who wouldn't be, after being whacked on the head with iron pipes. 21. Of course, she's alive only to be burned in the next shot. (Note to producer- stop yo-yoing, **** and make a decision) 22. God, this movie's laaaaame. Kill me now. 23. Dayyum... Mother got sucker punched. Niiice. Of course, she needed that, what with all the bloody useless running around and putting hands in dead ppl and **** 24. Of course, trying to talk sense into a group of fanatics is always a good idea. Sure, they'll listen to u and change their beliefs. 25. This evil entity likes to peel paint. 26. Of course, kill Lady Creeptastic with an unoriginal rectal cleaving and the others with fence wires. 27. Of course, the mother and daughter were dead. U gave that away in the first part itself, moron.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
petrolhead1991Jan 20, 2014
Loved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I canLoved this movie, You could tell that the director was a fan of the original game because it stays true to the story as much as possible. Was vague but that is a good thing, it doesn't treat you like you're retarded. The only bad remark I can give to the movie is the writing is comparable to modern pop music. Very unoriginal and grammatically wrong. Overall a very good movie that deserved better praise from the press. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DrewbeastNov 15, 2013
The only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor thingsThe only reason I do not give this film a perfect 10 is for things they changed which didn't make any sense to. (Why change the little girl's name from Cheryl to Sharon? Why not have Sean Bean just be Harry Mason? LoL just minor things though.)

Overall this is truly a great film. I watched it in the theater, bought it on DVD when it came out and now have it on bluray. As a long term fan of the games, I felt the film captured the atmosphere of the games perfectly, and truly had some terrifying moments. The cast is unbelievable, the sets are gorgeous, and, as always, Akira Yamaoka's music drives and supports the terror beautifully. MUST SEE.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AReviewsJun 19, 2013
Silent Hill is really shocking and disturbing, with lots of scary scenes and cool ideas, the visual effects are astonishing, and the acting is great. Where on earth can this go bad? The plot, the story is original and great but unexplained,Silent Hill is really shocking and disturbing, with lots of scary scenes and cool ideas, the visual effects are astonishing, and the acting is great. Where on earth can this go bad? The plot, the story is original and great but unexplained, it leaves you with a lot of questions that you can't find answers for them anywhere, but does this weak point destroys the movie? No, of coarse not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
oliver1hApr 26, 2013
This movie was a very generic horror picture. The acting, the plot, the set, the music was average at best. Lacked the tension, and true horror the video game Silent Hill had back in the days.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dumdogsApr 15, 2013
Completely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning soCompletely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning so using them in a different story contradicts that). This movie is untrue and an insult to the game and is just a unscary boring movie. If anyone's seen the Indiana Jones episode of South Park what happens in that episode is the best way to describe this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ghostface97Mar 10, 2013
Trasposizione cinematografica della celebre saga di survival horror inventata da Konami nel 1999, Silent Hill un film dai moltissimi lati positivi e pochi negativi. Iniziando da questi ultimi si può evidenziare la storia, lunga, articolata,Trasposizione cinematografica della celebre saga di survival horror inventata da Konami nel 1999, Silent Hill un film dai moltissimi lati positivi e pochi negativi. Iniziando da questi ultimi si può evidenziare la storia, lunga, articolata, ricca di false piste, e troppo ingarbugliata che verrà risolta da un lungo monologo finale. Per quanto riguarda gli aspetti positivi se ne possono elencare molti, prima di tutto la fotografia molto bella e adattissima a questo tipo di film, i personaggi: la mamma Rose che fa di tutto per salvare la figlia Sharon legata in modo sinistro alla cittadina della collina silente, Il padre interpretato da un bravo Sean Bean. intento a riportare a casa la moglie e la figlia dalla città maledetta nella quale però lui non riuscirà mai ad accedere dato che rimarrà bloccato nella Silent Hill reale quella dove il sole splende e dove i mostri non esistono. Infine un complimento alla poliziotta che finisce per aiutare pure lei Rose nel suo intento.
La fine poco risolutiva a portato naturalmente a un seguito "Silent hill revelation".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Mar 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ilovegames32Feb 24, 2013
Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series.Wow I'm seven years late for this review but after watching silent hill revelation I must defend this classic by showing(or more accurately)writing this review of the one that started the movies version of this once great video game series. First the good: if you love..wait let me re-write this so I'm clear....IF YOU LOVE SILENT HILL(game)YOU.WILL.LOVE.THIS.MOVIE.PERIOD!! Silent hill almost perfectly resembles the first game with the exception of the lead characters gender.While I don't have a problem with this change,some hardcore fans of the series will be disappointed but Rachel(aka rose)does great job as she ventures into purgatory(hell?)to save her daughter the adopted sherry.What this movie does correctly(& better)then silent hill revelation is really helping the audience understand the nature of silent hill,characters and what there willing to go through to save their daughter! Rose(rahda) is commanding as she searches relentlessly for sharin will being relentlessly tormented by the evil that lurks around every corner while her husband(played by sean bean) searches for rose.silent hill makes anyone who ventures there suffer until they are killed or worse..become trapped in the eternal nightmare that is silent hill..this is evident when rose reaches the school and when it changes she runs toward the camera pulling on a gate while screaming her lungs out while looking for an exit or when she see's pyramid head any his legion of killer bugs....an exhausted rose gives in waits for her impending fate only to be saved by cebil! This is silent hill in its entirety....to torment you to the point of submission which revelation had neither. Pyramid head in silent hill is much more menacing in the first movie because he's powerful meant to be feared as he rips the skin off a poor soul throws her still warm flesh into the church but is reduced to a mere body guard in revelation...oh god...silent hill also has good pacing. It took its time with each character even if they were expendable which keep the spirit of the games has a MUCH better version of the occult that lived in silent hill vs revelation as the occult seemed like an unimportant afterthought used as filler to extend the movie.The bad:since i played the first games almost everyday the movie was kinda predictable but thats as bad as it was for me. The ending of silent hill,unlike revelation,was a nightmare come true for the damned soul in silent hill as alessa her evil half gruesomely kills the occult zealots inside the church!!The story,pacing,camera angles,sound most importantly...THE ESSENCE OF THE SILENT HILL GAMES ARE DONE PERFECTLY IN THIS DEFINITIVE VERSION OF SILENT HILL FOR THE BIG SCREEN! Skip revelation not only because this one is better but for the fact that at the end of silent hill the good part of alessa was no longer needed was either returned to alessa or killed by the evil that gave alessa the power to create hell that kept the occult rose in silent hill. End of story 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
PaultergeistFeb 18, 2013
As both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about SilentAs both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about Silent Hill. The atmosphere in the games is amazing. And I think they managed to convert it into the movie pretty well. The acting isn't bad at all either. Jodelle Ferland who seems really talented to me (based on her roles in Kingdom Hospital Tideland) again is pretty steady in this movie although her role is quite small this time. Same as Radha Mitchell and Sean Bean act pretty decent. You can easily imagine the fear Mitchell (Playing the main character) is experiencing during her forced visit to lovely Silent Hill. Like most horror movies nowadays this one isn't outstanding either but it definitely will not waste your time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
diego9901Feb 10, 2013
silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Rox22Jan 22, 2013
Not a great movie by far, but to be fair a decent adaptation that stay surprisingly true to the source material. Plenty of better horrors out there, but as far as video game adaptations are concerned, this one isn't half bad. A decent attemptNot a great movie by far, but to be fair a decent adaptation that stay surprisingly true to the source material. Plenty of better horrors out there, but as far as video game adaptations are concerned, this one isn't half bad. A decent attempt and worthy as a budget purchase. Mandatory if you are a fan of the games. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
JovanPJan 13, 2013
I think that this movie is actually not that bad. I don't know why did it receive such low scores from critics. The theme and concept of the movie are great, its just overlong with too many unnecessary scenes.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
pruneDec 19, 2012
this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up insteadthis has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
SilentINUNov 29, 2012
I love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyedI love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyed more. For a Silent Hill lover it is a decent movie but for someone that don't know the games is a little blank. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
peomNov 23, 2012
Jill.K
I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes
Jill.K
I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for stupid. I susposed it was because she don't know how to **** From that days onwards, my family sex with one another. I had a family of 8. At my teen. I felt myself impotent. I was very frustrated. I went mad. While I was mad, I learned a Malay Martial Art. I hit a woman's nose. Her nose was broken and her blood spill violently. She lived for 2 years. She was someone who love to live but she lived painfully. She dug her nose ultil dead. Before she died, she put a curse on me. My family helped. They performed a ritual while I was not around. IT was very dirty. She was **** by my family and her nose was eaten alive. She died very painfully. I think it was a Malay Ritual. She was buried at rubbish bin near my house. they swore to take revenge. From that day onwards I saw ghosts. I suffered a lot of mental torture. I died and alive a lot of times. I did not know she was dead until one day. I saw her vision in my body crying very pitifully. She said she was dead. It was very strange. Nobody mentioned a words but my house had changed when I returned back one day. The Mayor must have allowed it. I saw the house is very dark, nobody live and the pathway changed. I think that was the place they performed the Ritual. My door sign was changed to the woman door sign. Until now I still under mental torture.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeNov 3, 2012
Great game to movie adaptation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KadeemluvmusicOct 2, 2012
Silent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters lookSilent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video game movie ever. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
potatoes351Aug 29, 2012
Silent Hill is the film adaptation of the hit Japanese psychological horror games that spawned the survival horror game phenomena back in the late 90's. Sharon Da Silva sleepwalks and dreams of a place named Silent Hill, her mother Rose isSilent Hill is the film adaptation of the hit Japanese psychological horror games that spawned the survival horror game phenomena back in the late 90's. Sharon Da Silva sleepwalks and dreams of a place named Silent Hill, her mother Rose is determined to find out why this is so decides to take her daughter to the abandoned mining town which was destroyed by a fire many years before. On arrival to the town Rose and a female police officer have a road collision and are now stranded in Silent Hill after the roads that lead to the towns exit are now mysteriously gone. With Sharon gone and the two women trapped in the remains of the most haunted town in America they must uncover the past to both the town and Sharon as well as expose an ancient evil that is slowly regaining power over the town. The film is by no means a great adaptation but it does live up to the Silent Hill name and worthy of a look if you enjoy the games. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Patrick67Aug 12, 2012
This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to youThis is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
DemmitriJun 26, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all the guys who played Silent Hill, this is a masterpiece. For all the guys who didn't It's still a masterpiece. The thing is, the guys who didn't will never get the plot. It's as deep as the game goes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyMay 31, 2012
This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie insteadThis is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Subject98May 30, 2012
It's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plotIt's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes the dialogue is good, other times it falls flat on it's face. I know SH1 wasn't exactly a shining example of good script writing and voiceovers but that was a game made in the 90s. I will say that it's miles above many of the other game-to-movie adaptations and doesn't just feel like a cheap cash in. It just could have used a lot of improvements and I really wanted to see the actual story of silent hill 1 play out in a movie... I mean how can you make a movie based on the first game and not include Harry Mason? Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
TyrionMar 8, 2012
I saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The endingI saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The ending is ambiguous; after watching this movie several times since it was released, I still am not sure whether the main characters are dead and in Hell, or alive, and trapped in an alternate dimension somewhere between here and the Devil's realm. I like that it is not explained, so it makes you think, and wonder.... A dark, beautiful, horrifying vision of what can happen when hatred and true Evil meet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AldrichJan 4, 2012
Though not as emotional or deep provoking as the game series, it packed some good scares, and music to my ears soundtrack but the things that made silent hill fans cry because of the game never appeared in the film but don't be disappointed.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Anotherday1787Aug 12, 2011
It's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with theIt's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives a crap about. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ALFApr 3, 2011
I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD andI am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
fedelmasonMar 25, 2011
And... waht can i say? That movie rocks and sucks at the same time. The plot is kinda confusing because they wanted to put the most significant things of SH in the movie (Alessa and Pyramid Head). Fails as a remake of the experience of HarryAnd... waht can i say? That movie rocks and sucks at the same time. The plot is kinda confusing because they wanted to put the most significant things of SH in the movie (Alessa and Pyramid Head). Fails as a remake of the experience of Harry Mason, but is kinda good. I guess. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
luffyyJan 13, 2011
This movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a highThis movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a high score. That's so sad.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
EpichorrorDec 4, 2010
The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don'tThe movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
Paul_YoonSep 19, 2010
A process of illustrating this movie is quite flawless, soulless, and joyless. Of course, the set design of scree translations is too much anomalous from that of the original game.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
JamesDFeb 16, 2010
Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BenjaminPJan 22, 2010
I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of disbelief with horror stories like this. Ultimately, I thought the movie made a pretty convincing statement about society on a metaphorical level. Don't take too much stock in what the critics say about this one. Sometimes bad movies can be totally awesome. (Easily one of the best renditions of hell I've ever seen.) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KenL.Nov 6, 2009
I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" into seeing it, and I was under the perception that this would be another of those mindless popcorn movie. I came out of the cinema feeling rather intrigued by it. And let me put this into perspective: I'd never played the game (and I don't plan to) before I saw it nor I was a fan of the horror genre. While I could see why the critics would give low scores to a movie like "Transformers 2", the low scores they gave for Silent Hill showed us that critics could be equally fanboys when it comes to something that they have perceived snobbery upon like video game entertainments. The bottom line is, while Silent Hill may not be any Oscar materials, it definitely is a solid above average horror/suspense/thriller movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MattB.Oct 28, 2009
Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, the scenes were amazing. They felt both real, AND terrifying. The plot is not dry at all, in fact, I've few times seen something done that Silent Hill did. While it can be somewhat confusing, that only adds to the mystery and suspense. Instead of having your movie spoon fed to you, it makes you think. I didn't even play the game and I liked it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KamikunOct 1, 2009
What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
D.S.Aug 22, 2009
At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most especially this movie. 2. It is much like watching someone play the video game. (watching someone actually play the video game is, in fact, quite entertaining in itself though, especially with commentary from an unexpecting gamer) Overall, the movie is great fun with truly sick scenery and atmosphere combined with a great soundtrack from Akira Yamaoka (who also created the soundtrack for the games). Its drawbacks are its somewhat incoherent story (suggest playing the game first for a much greater understanding of the movie),lackluster dialouge at times (though not as bad as critics say) and the aforementioned fact that the video game itself is more engaging than the movie. I must say that, though not that scary, it is superior to most of the recent horror titles out there at the moment due to atmosphere and a plot, though messy, will keep you entirely glued to the seat throughout the movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
GrantZAug 22, 2009
For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of the towns people. A good movie, so good in fact they're making a sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, you can tell he does age. Coulda did a better job at that, otherwise, this movie hits the mark. Loved the resolution and Outcome Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NotTellingJun 21, 2009
The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is critically acclaimed by a majority of game reviewers, it doesn't make sense for it to only achieve a 30 from movie reviewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, and just about everything else. Forget what the critics said about this film, it's practically perfect! This film was amazing and is a must-see for any horror fanatics, you'll be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMMay 31, 2009
I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game I think its fair to say that this movie wasn't made that well. it has plenty of directorial and acting flaws but you know what? its fun. its an enjoyable movie to watch for fans of both horror movies in general and fans of the game particularly. Like many have said, the atmosphere is great. A lot of its shots are done quite well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
xyzfaceMay 18, 2009
One the most intense enthralling films iv seen .. very surprised by the critics reviews, it shows that they haven't played or have any interest in the original subject matter that is the silent hill games.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JayHMay 13, 2009
A promising starts gives way to something completely unrelated to the series I love. To say it's a disappointing film would imply some kind of expectation from a video game to film cash in, so let's just say it sucked.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
8
cecilepMar 29, 2009
The nightmarish aspect of silent hill puts up and above any other horror movie I've watched, and the ending though confusing was a nice touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewLMar 18, 2009
So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a So I watched this movie for the 2nd time (after 3 years), and I was entertained again. I don't understand why professional critics are rating this movie so low. Movie versions of videogames are difficult to do, but Silent Hill did a good job of it. Good pacing, incredible special effects, good acting, a nice new take on the original story... I was solidly entertained. Fans of the games will notice and appreciate many things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AceTMar 11, 2009
Probably the best film adaption of a game to date. Its obvious the reviewers have never played the game otherwise they would know how much the film realtes to the game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelLDec 22, 2008
The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw The movie didn't stay too accurate to the game, but it did maintain the game's feel. When I first saw the movie I had not played any of the game and it got me to. Movie critics are all idiots. This was a good movie, the only flaw was the very ending, but it didn't ruin it like the ending of the mist. I was embarrassed to be a king fan when i went to that movie. This definitely is better that the Resident Evil movies. Not disappointing in the least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleAug 21, 2008
Chris, I don't care what you say; this movie is b-e-a-utiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
sydneyoAug 5, 2008
Nicely done on the special effects. the movie is well scripted to make it have a dark feeling to it. silent hill is a great horror/suspense film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmandaHAug 4, 2008
I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may think the plot of the movie was way too confusing and hard to follow. In actuality, this movie tied much of the series together and helped tie together any loose ends one may have had from playing the game. As an avid gamer, I was extremely pleased with story and atmosphere of the movie, and again how it remained so faithful to the original series (even the process of finding key items, such as a gun and flashlight, as one would in the video game). The critics apparently can't appreciate anything that's not the same action-packed crap as other horror movies (I hated the Resident Evil movies, by the way, BECAUSE of how much I loved the game series). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MangoP.May 29, 2008
Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding Yet another film that is so brilliant as to expose how utterly irrelevant it's critic's are. The plot is not "confusing", it simply forces you to THINK and not have it spoon fed to you. Bad acting? What bad acting? Are you kidding me? Look, Enjoy this if you have a mind and an eye for aesthetics. Everyone else, leave this work of brilliance alone. The music, atmosphere, art direction, and acting are peerless, and the plot is excellent with an ending that is at once sad and cathartic. Silent Hill is A Film that is not to be missed by those who can understand how to appreciate it. Minus one point for not being QUITE as scary as it could have been, but still succeeding otherwise on all fronts. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CharlesJApr 30, 2008
It was the fewest video game-based movies that had the basic formula right. However, this was one of the movies that never received a chance to popular demand.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanK.Apr 25, 2008
Kafkaesque... There is nothing more you have to say!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MetaApr 6, 2008
I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the honest praise must end, even for fans of the game. I hate to say it, but this was some of the worst acting I've seen in a long time, and again I'm really not that picky. Of course, the script didn't give the actors much to work with in the first place. Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of credibility of the characters. Sure, terribly stupid decisions are pretty much commonplace in horror flicks, but this one really stretched things. I really think a lot more could have been achieved with this cast, budget, and the basic premises of Silent Hill, the game. Too bad, really. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Mar 23, 2008
Best thriller movie!!! a perfect blend of horror and drama. Emotional and yet scary. They should make more movies like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NutellaMar 10, 2008
I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaM.Feb 27, 2008
I find this movie thrilling and breath taking. Two thumbs up all the way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnD.Feb 27, 2008
All I wanna say is that Wesley Morris is one of the worst critics ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucasR.Jan 6, 2008
One of the best videogame adaptations ever. Silent Hill makes you feel like being in the town itself. If you play(and like) the game, you must see this movie.If you don´t, it´s a superb horror-thriller movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DeanSDec 31, 2007
Long, boring, confusing, with bad acting and dialogue. Yet it was a least visually interesting, though I think I would have been better off playing the game.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
HamiltonR.Oct 29, 2007
Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BlakK.Sep 16, 2007
I wouldn't say this is a GREAT film, but it's definitely one of the better translations. I don't know why they messed around with the plot of the original game; it was fine the way it was. The special effects and visuals were I wouldn't say this is a GREAT film, but it's definitely one of the better translations. I don't know why they messed around with the plot of the original game; it was fine the way it was. The special effects and visuals were awesome; they really did a good job bringing the town of Silent Hill to life. Honestly, I wouldn't put much stock into the critics' reviews. The majority of them don't even understand what's going on in the movie. If you're a Silent Hill fan, though, it should all make perfect sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PW.Sep 16, 2007
Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a psychological/mythological/horror hybrid. This film is the only one so far to be true to the videogame it is based on for, like the game, it lets you wallow in the atmosphere rather than bomarding you with action every few seconds and it doesn't cheat the viewer by having a totally upbeat ending. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
AjayJMay 28, 2007
The fact that all the critics and users here that have commented, are so baffled by this film, shows how much Christopher Gans and everyone involved in the film, succeeded in bringing this film to the big screen.. Its far from perfect, the The fact that all the critics and users here that have commented, are so baffled by this film, shows how much Christopher Gans and everyone involved in the film, succeeded in bringing this film to the big screen.. Its far from perfect, the plot does go dry toward the end, and some of the acting isnt all that, but it shows just how clear the vision was for this film. Every fan of the game knows that your left with the WTF factor after playing the games, and im so glad they kept that for the film.. I loved every second of the film just like i have loved the games for many years.. The atmosphere and visuals are brilliant, as well as the haunting soundtrack and the creepy monsters.. They still have a way to go to making this the best video game - film, but all in all i was very impressed.. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ApocalypseBrownMay 26, 2007
The best game-movie adaptation yet to hit the big screen. The acting, mood and lighting were mostly good. However, Sean Bean was terrible! It's defiantly a film for Silent Hill fans, as the casual viewer may get bored with the slow pacing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
NDApr 1, 2007
Dull and never even remotely scary. Bored long before the end.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
AaronW.Mar 30, 2007
The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie Pros: Visuals - The Darkness is very "off"... in a good way (Filmed in HD) TERRIFIC ambiance and atmosphere - Silent Hill's one "true" strength. The Otherworld/Darkness setting is very well done. Silent Hill itself also gives you the feeling of isolation. The... "unique" soundtrack, taken from the games themselves, feels very well placed. Great monster costumes - Pyramid Head especially. Cons: Acting - Cheesy at times ("They used to say this town was haunted" LOL) Development - Character personalities seem underdeveloped, and the plot seems to run around like a headless chicken for the 1st half of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JenR.Mar 23, 2007
I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David Lynch had directed this, all the critics would be falling over themselves at how brilliant and atmospheric it is. I totally enjoyed every single scene in this movie, even though I have no idea what most of it means. And usually I hate gory movies, but there was something so stunning and crazy about the violence that I couldn't even hide my eyes. The movie is a visual feast and a visual poem. I am going to buy the DVD tomorrow to see it widescreen and with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RandyM.Mar 19, 2007
While the atmosphere provides chills, nothing else does. However, this is the best video game to movie transition yet.....but we've still got a long way to go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
Special_bFeb 18, 2007
This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used This movie was different and that's why I liked it so much. It had some extremely odd and corny dialogue ("They used to say this town was haunted"), but I didn't feel bored once and even if the basis for the story has been used several times, I can't recall it ever being handled the way it was in this film. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyT.Feb 16, 2007
Great imagery, great atmosphere, and good acting. . . I think the critics thought "video game adaption=crappy movie" and skipped out on actually watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HansB.Jan 16, 2007
I don't like video games. This was a film with a good story that was elaborated on lousily. The characters did not develop, nor was there any insight in there motives. And the end was just misty, made for part 2, I guess.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
8
RirenJan 10, 2007
Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. Very possibly the best videogame movie of all time, not that this is much of an accolade. A truly great soundtrack and use of sound design is coupled with stellar art direction to create an amazingly tense, curious and dangerous atmosphere. The creature designs are horrifying and elaborate. Unfortunately the plot is so confusing that only fans of the game series will truly understand this film. It's great for its own fans, but is sure to leave newcomers with questions they will be unable to answer. The deeply symbolic nature of the film, embedded in setting and creature designs, always relevant to the plot progression, will likely be overlooked by those who can't get over a few vague details. If you give into it, though, you are in for a darkly entertaining journey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful