TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 21, 2006
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 912 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
724
Mixed:
87
Negative:
101
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StefanD.Apr 30, 2006
Awesome... PH is the best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankH.Apr 22, 2006
I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If i had a choice to re-see the movie with friends, i would say yes just because its a decent movie :-) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomyJ.Apr 22, 2006
This is the greatest Game Movie that I ever See! And it is complete like Silent Hill, the Monsters, the Story, and and and. The Actors are great, i dont know what the most critics dont like on the movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UlrichD.Apr 30, 2006
Slow-paces, non-scaring, but very disturbing and beautiful... the best video game movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MrS.Sep 5, 2006
just look at the user reviews, for every 15 positive reviews there is 1 negative. and it looks like in my opinion that the critics got this one wrong as they do from time to time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairD.Apr 21, 2006
Speaking as a massive fan of the games. Awsome. Some people might not like this as there isn't much in the way of definitive plot and it is uncomprimisingly loud.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Apr 22, 2006
I wish Pyramid Head had showed up again at the end. I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamM.Apr 23, 2006
This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas Boukhrief & Christophe Gans. on the slight chance you come on this website and read this review. well done. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Apr 24, 2006
This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then you'll love this movie! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
EvyApr 24, 2006
Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Video game to movie I have seen in a very long time. Dont miss it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CraigP.May 28, 2006
Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times Excellent film adaption of a fab game..far better than other game ports in tha past. The film is like watching someone play the game but isnt that the idea, it is a game port at the end of the day. Cant wait for part 2. Seen it seven times now. Top film Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.May 6, 2006
Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre Silent Hill is a film that relies on experiencing the video game before viewing the movie. Fans of the game will be taken through a visually stunning movie and see some of their favorite moments of the game play out. The acting is mediocre but despite the long dialogs the movie builds tension very well and provides a gripping and intriguing conclusion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LhorkanMay 9, 2006
This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment is a form of art! When they heard that it was a film adaptation of a "video-game", they immediately thought that the storyline was bad (which was not!) or that the film bases its strength on raw violence and gory effects (the film has its gory climaxes, but surely does not rely upon them to make fans!). Maybe people should play the game before seeing the film, to see that it's not about monsters and blood, but it's about a beautiful and intriguing nightmare drama, based upon emotions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DmitriyP.Jun 27, 2006
best one horror game movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexeyP.Jun 6, 2006
Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the Silent Hill was been my first game on PlayStation one. Seven years ago it become my personal portal from small town of Izhevsk (Ural region, Russia) to the alternative reality - world of computer and console games. And "Silent Hill the movie" is a best film adaptation of computer game I ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Jul 30, 2006
best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnshulJ.Aug 18, 2006
excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you excellent atmosphere / set design.. deserves a 10 for that alone.. some great imagery.. an ending which leaves the movie open to interpretations which is not a bad thing at all.. head over to imdb for some discussion on the ending.. if you like the game you will most likely end up liking this movie.. best videogame to movie adaptation to date.. no question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicoleV.Aug 23, 2006
I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a I played Silent Hill 2-4 and loved the game. The previews didn't look all that spectacular, so i nwaied until video. After watching it, the movie exceeded my expewctations and I was very pleased with the way they turned the game into a movie. I don't know how some who claim to have played the game didn't think it was true to the story; they must have skipped through the cut scenes. It wasn't *exactly* like the story-line, but then there were 4 different storylines- a different one for each game. However, the game is a game, with just a bit of story-line to keep the game interesting. In a movie, story-lines *should* become the forefront, and that is what the creators did, so they added a bit more background to make more of a story. If you actually listened to what was being said and took in the visuals, you would understand the story-line. I had no problem. Some people might have missed that janitor in the bathroom... Its kind of important. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GonzaloP.Sep 25, 2006
Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I imagined when I finished Silent Hill several years ago... ALL is just perfect; I read that some Critics and User reviews said that the movie has no reality that it's too fantastic... Those who said that didn't understand the idea of the movie, that it's just the same of the game. The story has to be twisted, unreal, and for those who said that "It's a bad horror movie"... you're wrong from the beginning... The best of silent hill is that is not a horror movie, it may appeared but it isn't, it's not a suspense film, it' may have some points but... it isn't, the best of silent hill it's that to "mark" this film in some genre, we need to install a new genre, because silent hill is unique... play the first video game then watch the movie again, This movie doesn't care critics of those who don't played the game, It's just a tribute for the game and those who enjoy it!!! Resident Evil film doesn Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MobiusSep 5, 2006
just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good just goes to show you how much critics know about movies. I have played the game and found this a very good adaptation of the game, considering that the movie is not following any of the previous game plots i feel that this story is a good addition to the Silent hill franchise. If you have played the game and enjoyed it then your gonna like the movie. I was expecting some tacky crap when i brought the DVD but ended up plesanlty surprised. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleAug 21, 2008
Chris, I don't care what you say; this movie is b-e-a-utiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NotTellingJun 21, 2009
The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that The only people detached from reality seem to be the professional film critics. If you liked the games, you'll like the movie. It appears film critics have become so complacent with slapping bad scores on game-to-movie adaptations that they didn't even care to look at what they were reviewing before choosing a score. After all, when the plot (while it was still a game) is critically acclaimed by a majority of game reviewers, it doesn't make sense for it to only achieve a 30 from movie reviewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinApr 21, 2006
Forget the critics on this one and see it for yourself. I love horror movies and this is one of the best, most original efforts in a long tme.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 21, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeS.Apr 21, 2006
Don't believe the bad reviews. These critics haven't a clue what they are on about. This film is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexG.Apr 22, 2006
I loved this film. The way music played into the onscreen plight was art. Im a gamer so the way the movie stuck to the true plot was perfect. I looked so good. They spent time on this piece. All of the CGI is phenominal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewG.Apr 22, 2006
Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, as well as the best atmosphere in any recent movie that I can remember. The story, by no means stupid or nonsensical, requires you to think about every character and pay attention to little details, and eventually it all falls into place. I found myself more than confused at some parts, but then it clicked and everything made sense. So, in conclusion, this is a movie that people who are actually normal will appreciate. It has breathtaking cinematography, a suspensful, deep, and frightening storyline that deal with religious fanatics, condemnation, judgement, retribution, and revenge. Oh, and to all the people who think the creatures are CGI and look fake, most of them are actors in latex suits and costumes, with little touches of CGI here and there. What, humans in latex don't look real? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TomR.Apr 22, 2006
GREAT! Finally a REAL videogame adaption. I'm a so big fan of the videogame. Thank you Christophe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradfordL.Apr 22, 2006
Fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Clank182Apr 22, 2006
Played the games loved the movie if you have not played the games you might not like it but if you like the game you will like the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianApr 23, 2006
I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent I can't understand the critics... what's up with those guys?? Maybe there are some points of the film that may disgust... but!! The music, the ambientation, the characters and mainly,,... the cinematography, are delicious!!! Silent Hill has one of the best cinematographies I can remember, and this movie is an example that critics are unable to say something good about a movie basep upon a videogame. Of course if the movie where based on a book the things will change, but... it's not that case. Critics should learn something about the game before write them reviews, because it's sad that a film like that, with a lot of good qualities, had a 29/100. UNFORGIVENESS!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyencokeApr 23, 2006
Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad Wow. I am still amazed at this movie. It completely breaks the "Game to Movie" curse. It was brilliant, everything about it was just superb. Acting at some parts were fairly bad, in fact it was just one character who did all the 'bad acting'. Aside from that the movie stayed just like the game is, it stayed with the storyline from the game, it didn't wander off to random stupid parts. As most of the other people have said, you should be a fan of the game to enjoy it. And to also get some of the twists. And regarding the critics from what i've seen so far, they're all morons. Never again will I go with what they say with a movie, ever again. This movie was brilliant, go see it as soon as you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanApr 24, 2006
Best horror movie in a long time. Or currently the best when compare to movies like: The Fog, The Game... What next "The Mud"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoséS.Apr 24, 2006
best movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MilesG.Apr 24, 2006
I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to I don't understand how this is getting such terrible reviews from professional critics, but it seems to me that many of their opinions boil down to critiquing this movie as a "videogame movie." Don't listen to a word they have to say about silent hill because it's the best movie I've seen this year. Christophe Gans has done some of the best directing I've ever seen by adding such a thick schmearing of surrealism that it's hard to see how critics got so confused when everything is explained within the movie. From what I can tell most of the bad reviews from this movie seem to attack the poor writing, perhaps representing some enemies that Roger Avery has made over the years, but the writing itself is far better than I've seen with critically acclaimed movies like Cache which tend to ignore it's function as an entertainment medium and insted look to have their backs rubbed by art-house fans and critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisK.Apr 24, 2006
I don't understand how people cannot like this film... It is creepy as hell and the story is pretty well explained in the end scenes. I was very pleased with the movie and hope to see more horror movies with balls like this one in the I don't understand how people cannot like this film... It is creepy as hell and the story is pretty well explained in the end scenes. I was very pleased with the movie and hope to see more horror movies with balls like this one in the future - critic's be damned! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesH>Apr 25, 2006
Best horror movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderP.Apr 25, 2006
I can't understand journalistes that gave so terrible marks. Film's story is difficult, but it is not the reason to critic the film so hard!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielR.Apr 26, 2006
Simply an incredible film. I really hope that Christophe Gans makes more video-game based movies. We need more films like Silent Hill to recover from the atrocious films by Uwe Boll.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertS.Apr 29, 2006
Greatest video game adaption ever, if you understood the story. I did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThomC.May 19, 2006
I'm a fan of this video game and this mivie was almost perfect. Not a no-brainer but an intelligent and with unusual characters and athmosfera. It was great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiguelA.May 4, 2006
This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie This is a movie for the fans, and fans will be glad to see the game come to life, the real town, the monsters, the fog, everything is amaizing, the leght is 2 hours long, as a Silent Hill fan, 2 hours is short to explore the town. This movie is visualy incredible, and also the story, the only thing that has SH on the rocks (critics anyone?) is that the diologues are kind of so-so you don't care much what they're saying and at the end you get a quick explication of all the plot, but as I said before, this movie is for the fans and the plot will be easily decoded and enjoyoble. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PazMay 6, 2006
Criticos estupidos... no entienden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
XerosA.Aug 24, 2006
Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film Well, all i can really say is Christophe Gans actually made a wonderful adaptation. The fact that almost no CGI effects were used is doubly impressive. Having played Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 I really appreciated how close to the games the film was (considering KONAMI wouldn't let Mr.Gans use the story from the games). Unlike most horror films the setting wasn't piled to the rafters with weapons for the characters to run around bashing monsters with (which is very refreshing). Also Silent Hill did not rely on "cheap" scares such as having scary faces pop up screeching like banshees. The intereaction between characters seemed natural and very true to life (or as close as it could be considering the situation) which made it easy, nay enjoyable to watch (unlike so many horror films today). It was good to hear and see the music and creatures from the games, they made the whole experience that much more. And finally it wasn't too long like a lot of movies these days (I'm talking to you Peter Jackson!) ending at two hours and five minutes, just as there was no more plot to be divulged and no more sinners to be clensed. Total viewings so far: 3 Total viewings in the future: endless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucasR.Jan 6, 2008
One of the best videogame adaptations ever. Silent Hill makes you feel like being in the town itself. If you play(and like) the game, you must see this movie.If you don´t, it´s a superb horror-thriller movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FeliciaM.Feb 27, 2008
I find this movie thrilling and breath taking. Two thumbs up all the way!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Mar 23, 2008
Best thriller movie!!! a perfect blend of horror and drama. Emotional and yet scary. They should make more movies like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AceTMar 11, 2009
Probably the best film adaption of a game to date. Its obvious the reviewers have never played the game otherwise they would know how much the film realtes to the game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DreHJun 25, 2009
One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, you can tell he does age. Coulda did a better job at that, otherwise, this movie hits the mark. Loved the resolution and Outcome Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Apr 21, 2006
Beautifully done. It captures the scary, glued to your seat, heart pounding desperation that the game is. Awesome job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesH.Apr 21, 2006
Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and Screw all the critics talking about how the movie is like videogames and that it is lifeless. Im sorry but all the reviews from normal people have loved this film. And I for one thought it was amazing. I think the critics are just scared and here is why. They are scared that the movies are being out done by another form of entertainment VIDEOGAMES. I have one thing to say to the critics "We don't give a flying F**K what you think so deal with it." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ddApr 21, 2006
The most bizarre movie I have ever seen. Fantastic visuals, stupid story (just like the games) And, just the games I loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DOApr 22, 2006
Bottom line, if you believe in God and like to bitch at people who don't then you'll give this movie a low score. Go see the movie and you might get what I mean.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MalachiasJ.Apr 22, 2006
The best movie horror ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElmocoApr 22, 2006
Great freaking movie. from the set design to the creepy found footage look, the atmosphere in the film is excellent. don't believe the stuffy critic's reviews. most have probably never even heard of the game, much less played it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricB.Apr 23, 2006
Phenomenally well-made film. Movie critics are resentful of video games in the same way literary critics were resentful of movies 80 years ago. Ignore them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattL.Apr 24, 2006
Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to Silent Hill is a perfect recreation of the videogame. It brings fans to the series what they finally have been waiting for: a good videogame movie. Critics obviously haven't played the games, and it doesn't matter what they have to say because the movie wasn't made for them. Fans will love this movie, and if you are not a fan of the series, become one first before watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkW.Apr 24, 2006
Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill Absolutly amazing. If you're a fan of the game, like i am, you should have no problem enjoying this. I was really worried they'd screw it up, just like Resident Evil was totally screwed up, but i was pleased to see that Silent Hill was done total justice. The atmosphere was perfect, the visuals were perfect, the soundtrack (taken 90% from the game) was used to it's full potential, and i found myself really caring about the characters. Another worry i had before entering the Cinema, was the inclusion of Sean Bean's character. I wasn't sure how he'd fit, but i really liked the fact he was part of it. I liked his character, and felt sympathy for him in the end. All in all, the movie was brilliant. I can't believe it's gotten bad reviews. It's easily the best video-game adaption, by miles....and i could have sat there and watched it forever. I was sad to leave the Cinema by the end. I don't remember a time when i enjoy a film as much as i did Silent Hill. I can't wait for another one. Full Marks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordonJ.Apr 25, 2006
Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with Critics can't decide what's wrong with the film. It's not gory enough, it's too gory. It's just like the game, it rips the game to pieces. Another critic described this film as "back-of-brain." I would agree with that. It seems that the imaginations of many people have been "linearized" by watching too many films. The West has a long history of spurning the unconscious mind, and then subjecting its entertainment to the rigid, "logical" constraints formulated by the conscious. Freud, or at least his compatriots in America during the '50s, helped America become the global gem of pathological consumption it is nowadays by touting a theory of a "uniform unconscious" and using it to create advertising as we know it. Not to mention (Freud was dead by this time) they justified its commercial use as a method of manipulating "the dangerously illogical masses" to become pacifists. Curiously, surrealism never took hold in the U.S. and is now considered "dead." If we look at the Supreme Court case involving "the satanic evil of comics" that was playing out at this time (the '50s), we may appreciate further the previous statement. It seems the public internalized the paranoia and symbolism (and imagery restrictions) of society's "therapists" as their dogma and motivator; postmodernism, with its glorification of mass consumption, crawled onto the art scene in the '50s and has dominated the thinking of academics ever since. This story, though set in America, is taken from the East. The East, where the majority of fiction is printed comics, and where comics are not, nor have ever been ('ukiyo-e' are the 4-centuries-old woodblock equivalent of those trashy Western romance novels), looked down upon as entertainment. Akira Yamaoka, a prominent member of the 'Silent Hill' video game series's production team, has said that Japanese horror focuses on "unseeable enemies, a sense of vengeance, and...a sad storyline" rather than "shocking visuals and evil spirits." The game has the last two things, and was inspired by such contemporary Western artists as Francis Bacon, but it eschews their origins. For example, the first game has bucket-loads of blood, but you may or may not see the victim's body and/or its attacker. And sometimes, like in the movie 'Phantoms', you'll see what could only be a planned spectacle, by what seems to be a malevolent spirit (i.e. a severed head underneath a basketball hoop)...But you find out later thst whatever violence there is, it's justified, and that the story is quite sad. And Yamaoka has something to say about the story -- "Silent Hill focuses very much on storyline" but it's "unclear" so that it can "provoke a sense of fear." So I was very much interested to see what Gans had cooked up. Having tried to make a comic in the same vein as 'Silent Hill', I wanted to see what Gans had changed. As it turns out, he changed quite a lot. The film is absolutely two-faced, and it's almost as difficult to reconcile its two halves as it was to eke the story out of the first game. The first half is deliciously surreal. Absolutely fantastic. The second half...Not quite the same beast. In the first half, like in the game, it's hard not to feel the floor fall out from under your feet when the world turns dark and swallows you up. It's hard not to feel like YOU'RE NEXT when the chum of human wets the ground. It's hard not to feel like you're in hell when the Lovecraftian, Boschian nasties turn up, threatening you. However, the second half reveals what's really going on -- revenge. No one dies by the appendages, instruments, or machinations of the monsters but those who deserve it. It becomes clear when the only human accompaniment worth speaking of dies at the cruel hands of those who would think they were "cleansing sin" and keeping evil at bay. These people, the film makes clear, are staving off the vengeance of another by not acknowledging what they have done; they deny their sins and prevent justice. They fall one by one to the Red Pyramid, but still their numbers run strong. Essentially, Rose joins the devil to bring about her revenge and justice, and she succeeds. The film during the climax reminded me of the anime 'Elfen Lied' in that it demands the viewer indulge, or at least recognize this indulgence. It also reminds me of a mishmash of Japanese porn. It's a slightly uncomfortable feeling. The ending is absolutely joyous. Rejoined Alessa (it's unimportant if Dark Alessa, Alessa, or the both of them fused with Sharon, they're alike in every aspect) cannot leave Purgatory, Rose has given up on the notion of Sharon belonging to her (she /was/ adopted, remember), Dark Alessa/Aless has no reason to condemn Rose to Hell, Sharon is no longer functioning as an entity in and of itself, people may leave Silent Hill but not Purgatory (remember SH3, the game was outside of the town; also, no characters have ever been shown actually leaving Purgatory in the games), and Dark Alessa wanted to join with Sharon all along. Either may have had their soul sold; however, this is actually unimportant. Like in real life, there's never any indication of a God. Also, it's unlikely they're dead (think of Officer Gucci saying that no bodies were found. Also, a number of scenes with Rose and Christopher call to mind a 'Poltergeist' movie where one of the main characters was stranded in an alternate reality.) This film is the best piece of postmodern cinema I have ever seen. It's even better than analyzing FLCL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HassanW.Apr 26, 2006
stop hating critics. you guys dont know what a good movie is. this movie was amazing. best scary movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HostilioApr 27, 2006
Great movie, yeah is like see some one play the game but i love see play people some games a example is FEAR, seeing is expetacular. I like RE and i like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyT.Feb 16, 2007
Great imagery, great atmosphere, and good acting. . . I think the critics thought "video game adaption=crappy movie" and skipped out on actually watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenR.Mar 23, 2007
I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David I just finished watching this movie, and I have just one question: WTF? I mean, what the heck was that? But I loved it and would recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind sitting with thier eyebrows raised for 2 hours. You know, if David Lynch had directed this, all the critics would be falling over themselves at how brilliant and atmospheric it is. I totally enjoyed every single scene in this movie, even though I have no idea what most of it means. And usually I hate gory movies, but there was something so stunning and crazy about the violence that I couldn't even hide my eyes. The movie is a visual feast and a visual poem. I am going to buy the DVD tomorrow to see it widescreen and with subtitles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StefanK.Apr 25, 2008
Kafkaesque... There is nothing more you have to say!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeenanSJun 15, 2009
This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, This is one of my favorite films of all time. When I was the film, I didn't even know it was based on a game franchise. This film was absolutely amazing with its frightening atmosphere, fantastic music, great actors, a good storyline, and just about everything else. Forget what the critics said about this film, it's practically perfect! This film was amazing and is a must-see for any horror fanatics, you'll be blown away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EpichorrorDec 4, 2010
The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don'tThe movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ALFApr 3, 2011
I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD andI am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
maestraretiradaApr 15, 2011
This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
pruneDec 19, 2012
this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up insteadthis has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Mar 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the best movie based on a video game. Silent Hill is a 2006 horror film directed by Christophe Gens. The plot is about Rose De Silve scared that the attacks of sleepwalking daughter decides to take her to the city that this city always in his dreams. While you are heading to the city, have a car accident and wake up Rose can no longer find his daughter in the car and goes to look for her in Silent Hill. The film shows the typical atmosphere of Silent Hill thanks to a very accurate picture, the scenery breathtaking and the famous monsters that I can put the viewer concern and represent Alessa's nightmares. Also good plot and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
7dogguyMay 31, 2012
This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie insteadThis is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TyrionMar 8, 2012
I saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The endingI saw this movie again recently. This is a great horror movie: the acting, direction and storyline are all very convincing, and the flawless blend of make-up effects and CGI helps drag you right into the hell that is Silent Hill. The ending is ambiguous; after watching this movie several times since it was released, I still am not sure whether the main characters are dead and in Hell, or alive, and trapped in an alternate dimension somewhere between here and the Devil's realm. I like that it is not explained, so it makes you think, and wonder.... A dark, beautiful, horrifying vision of what can happen when hatred and true Evil meet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Patrick67Aug 12, 2012
This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to youThis is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BernanHandeiroApr 20, 2014
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good - the CGI are not bad to 2006 - this
Seriously! the critics reviews are negative? camon, seriously?
- the movie has a good message (ignorance of the people and their blindness to the unknown and all that is different)
- the plot is good
- the CGI are not bad to 2006
- this movie is one of the few who has that touch of horror
- this movie is one of the few who make me cry!
- and camon! the crew are good too! Sean Bean doesn't die!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
walker14Apr 20, 2014
All right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that isAll right, I'm getting really surprised around here, and disappointed - very disappointed - how can the critics don't like the movie? I mean, are they blind? Or they just like to act stupid? Silent Hill is THE movie, one of the movies that is pure horror. And they show the reason everything started. The movie also criticizes the society, how people are so horrible. This movie is something more than awesome! The storyline makes sense, the cast is too good, the effects are really good. There are some really intense scenes that are totally worth it! And the creatures? It's just the best movie ever! And it is really emotional too, at least for me. It made me cry.. not only because of Cybil, but because the world we live in is too sad... Thank God the users see this movie with the potential that it really has. But the critics? sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JonNajemNov 3, 2017
An admittedly slow build, becomes some of the most intriguing movies I have ever seen. An Intense Psychological Horror - Thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat without insulting your intelligence by explaining everything to death inAn admittedly slow build, becomes some of the most intriguing movies I have ever seen. An Intense Psychological Horror - Thriller that keeps you on the edge of your seat without insulting your intelligence by explaining everything to death in the first half of the movie. It's simply one of, if not the best, video game adaptation to film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xAndrewxOct 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great,its not really based in the games but it still great,good dark and scary ambient,and awesome monsters look and the pyramid head appearances are really awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
My favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere theMy favorite horror movie of all time. Critics don't know **** from their own asses when it comes to good horror. With Silent hill, it's not about amazing acting, or a killer story. It's about the world - the chilling atmosphere the director is able to create. The critics need to stop judging the movies because of the origination of a video game. This is an amazing movie, definitely worth watching, buying, and keeping on your "favorites" shelf! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndyG.Apr 22, 2006
I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be getting much better reviews. Critics are nothing more than elitists with a pen who are too in love with themselves to be credible when reviewing a movie. Please don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing this movie, because it's a damn fine movie, whether it's a "game movie" or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WillW.Apr 22, 2006
Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with video games, so the low rating is not much of a surprise. Do yourself a favor and see it for yourself! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffC.Apr 25, 2006
A very well set horror movie. certainly one of the best video game to movie transitions done ever. an interesting story and really, how much character development or drama do you expect in a horror movie anyway?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeeganB.Apr 22, 2006
For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the very very end didn't make much sence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonP.Apr 30, 2006
A very pleasent surprise i was sure this would be no good im so used to being let down by these things (cash in on fans of games movie's) would recomend this fine film to one and all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LydiaMay 7, 2006
How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing How much do you want to bet NONE of these professional critics have played...or even seen the video game? You can't judge it till then, sorry. Just because you critics are too stupid to understand a plot that was not that confusing doesn't mean you have to give the movie a bad review. You just need to get smarter. Oh, and a note to the reviewer who complained that the mother didn't use her cell phone to call for help...she tried, it didn't work. The whole movie was worth it just to see that super Christian leader woman get ripped apart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HamiltonR.Oct 29, 2007
Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NutellaMar 10, 2008
I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
9
KamikunOct 1, 2009
What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JamesDFeb 16, 2010
Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EdwardW.Nov 10, 2006
Never even knew it was a game . . . blown away by the imagery, tone and numerous dark themes ringing true. The criticisms of the exposition in the storyline were understandable, but the rest of the movie more than makes up for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GSApr 21, 2006
This is the best Video game adaption to Cinema that I ever seen. AMAZING MOVIE that stupid critics don´t undestand....To the critics : LEARN about Silent hill before write a non sense article.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
9
DifferentTakeApr 21, 2006
Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with staying true to game plot, that what some of us want. Almost all book adaptation regurgitate the whole novel and receive good reviews but vdieo games' movies that does the same get stepped on. Maybe the critics that wrote these terrible review should actually play the game FIRST before writing up a review about the movie. If they say the acting is bad, than maybe they should rewatch Harry Potter and look at the "OVERACTING' and reconsider the high ratings that they gave the film. Silent Hill was enjoyable, it is a good piece of entertainment for the weekend and for those of us that played the game you will appreciate the efforts that were put into this movie. The Critic's are obviously narrow minded and only believe films "inspired" by true events are worthy of good reviews........making money on a tragedy that happen in 2001 on flight 93 sure make the families of the victims very happy. Oh, and maybe Hollywood writters and directors should come up with original ideas and stop making bad movies from adaptations. Before they do that, they should take back their bias opinions and reconsidered bashing a game adaptation movie that is saving their butts in the box office. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RyanC.Apr 21, 2006
Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. Pretty much all the other people said what needs to be said about this movie. The acting in the movie isn't great, but it is one of the best game to movie adapations made. It's worth the ticket cost if you are a fan of the games. It's even worth it if you aren't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunM.Apr 22, 2006
PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm PROS - The fact that critics gave Brokeback Mountain such high ratings and this not is reason enough to stop listening to them. This movie is ten times deeper than the afforementioned without even trying, and the only reason I'm comparing the two is to show how much money talks when talking about critics reviews. All the critics got pissed off when Sony wouldn't allow any pre-screenings, and that made them think that is was going to be bad from the get-go. Their preconceived notions ruined the movie for them. This is an atmospherically terrifying movie. CONS - Spotty acting (in some of the minor characters). Most people need to do further research in order to understand the plot fully, but I do not think it's incomprehensible by any means to anyone who hasn't played the game, because, I have not. Oh, and the end is very gory. That could be a pro or a con depending on who you're talking to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GabrielM.Apr 22, 2006
I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone I thought the movie was amazing. I am not too picky on storyline, so it that part of the film did not bother me. The acting or dialogue seemed forced in some parts, but in my case not enough to cause a dislike of the film. The visuals alone made it worth attending, and that is what I wanted to experience. The atmosphere was incredible. You can really just sit back and immerse yourself in the visuals. Even better, was that it looked very much like the games. The gore was nauseating in some parts which was very satisfying for this type of film. A horror movie that can gross me out or give me chills down my spine, I love it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephanP.Apr 22, 2006
This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. Confusing Storyline: The movie has a story...and it isn't nearly as confusing as a David Lynch film. But the thing about horror is that over-explainations often ruin things. Generally, I think Silent Hill is working a certain type of Horror...it is a type that we don't see a lot--but I also think the film brilliantly misdirects what sort of horror it is. This is not a slasher flick, it is not a ironic take on the horror genre. It also isn't exactly a gore-fest. Like Lovecraft, this is a film about isolation, about helplessness, about madness, about obsessions, about religion...it is about disorientation. The horrors are there, but sometimes they are grainy and hard to see...and then sometimes they are right up in your face. The film also has a European style horror pacing (which tends to be a bit slower than American), and works Twilight-Zone/David Lynch style ambiguity. And the film is scary. I think it should be seen in the theatre with a great sound system. I know that the film has gotten lots of negative reviews...but I dont' think the reviewers are watching it in the right spirit. Silent Hill is not about realism, but about surrealism. And that is pretty cool. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
VinceK.Apr 22, 2006
Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, 'bad' acting, and the overall corniness of the dialogue. I'm not making excuses or alibis here, but personally I loved the script of the movie simply because it stayed amazingly true to the games. The acting in the games were 'bad', the dialogue was 'bad', but thats the point. This movie is extremely stylized, and stayed true to its roots. Fans may complain about some plot changes but damn't, its a good thing cause it means theres gonna be sequal with the way it ended. I personally can't wait. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TroyH.Apr 23, 2006
Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little Well I can't rate it a 10 because no movie is perfect but it was really great. The acting for the little girl was not that great, she played a better Reapier not a sweet innocent girl. Some of the dialouge could have been a little better but only in a couple of scenes. It goes true with the game Pyramid Head, the air raid sirens, and other parts that looked exactly like the game (I must include the camera angles look the same as the game when she was running) Anyways this movie was really, really good. A confusing ending but I hope they make a sequel. If you haven't played the game you might not get it but worth a watch due to its confusing but good story. Some sick and gruesome parts, but thats what makes a awesome horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Dave_darkoApr 23, 2006
The best horror film of the year, with "the hills have eyes". Indispensable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Apr 24, 2006
Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Let me start with saying I've never played any of the games, and am unfamiliar with the silent hill world. But I am in my late 20's, a casual gamer, and understand where it comes from. That being said I really enjoyed the movie. Not knowing the games let me be surprised at parts, and I really got into it. Visually outstanding, creepy and gory. Yes, some acting wasn't top notch, but this is a horror movie after all. However, Laurie Holden's "Cybil" was great, in a sexy baton-wielding lady-cop way. I highly recommend you see this if you are a fan of horror or just popcorn flicks in general. I'm writing this review in hope to balance out all the negative "professional" critics that slammed this movie. Let's face it, it wasn't made for them, it was made for us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TroyM.Apr 25, 2006
Incredible. Anyone who's played the games oughta appreciate the level of detail that went into the world of Silent Hill. They took the best of the first and second games, and perfectly re-created the game's feel. I really Incredible. Anyone who's played the games oughta appreciate the level of detail that went into the world of Silent Hill. They took the best of the first and second games, and perfectly re-created the game's feel. I really don't udnerstand why some people found the plot to be "complex" when everything is explained perfectly except the final few moments of the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful