Silent Hill

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 872 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 872

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. UlrichD.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Slow-paces, non-scaring, but very disturbing and beautiful... the best video game movie ever.
  2. Evy
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Dont listen to the critics, if you are a fan of Silent Hill you will love this movie. It was extreamly well done! Specially when you have to tell in 2 hrs the extremely difficult story of Silent Hill. It goes deeper than most people realised, and fans of the game knows this. The people behind this movie are fans and they did the best they could to explain what happen. This is the best Video game to movie I have seen in a very long time. Dont miss it! Expand
  3. JoséS.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    best movie ever.
  4. HamiltonR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Amazing movie. All the critics on here with the low scores are clearly morons who can't comprehend a real plot. Great plot, best video game movie out there, definately a must see if you can comprehend plots that aren't laid out in front of you.
  5. DifferentTake
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with Silent Hill is a video game adaptation and it deserves plenty of praise for its efforts in staying true to its roots. All the critics' that bashed the movie have obviously forgotton some of the terrrible video game adaptations of the past (e.g. Street Fighter, Resident Evil) The writers from these took a decent storyline and turned it into garbage. There's nothing wrong with staying true to game plot, that what some of us want. Almost all book adaptation regurgitate the whole novel and receive good reviews but vdieo games' movies that does the same get stepped on. Maybe the critics that wrote these terrible review should actually play the game FIRST before writing up a review about the movie. If they say the acting is bad, than maybe they should rewatch Harry Potter and look at the "OVERACTING' and reconsider the high ratings that they gave the film. Silent Hill was enjoyable, it is a good piece of entertainment for the weekend and for those of us that played the game you will appreciate the efforts that were put into this movie. The Critic's are obviously narrow minded and only believe films "inspired" by true events are worthy of good reviews........making money on a tragedy that happen in 2001 on flight 93 sure make the families of the victims very happy. Oh, and maybe Hollywood writters and directors should come up with original ideas and stop making bad movies from adaptations. Before they do that, they should take back their bias opinions and reconsidered bashing a game adaptation movie that is saving their butts in the box office. Expand
  6. AndrewG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, Another example of the type of movie that critics don't like and the general public love. The problem with all the people with their comments being "nonsensical storyline" is that they either know it's a video game adaption, and don't think deep into it, or just can't make sense of it because you have to actually *gasp* think! Some of the best cinematography is here, as well as the best atmosphere in any recent movie that I can remember. The story, by no means stupid or nonsensical, requires you to think about every character and pay attention to little details, and eventually it all falls into place. I found myself more than confused at some parts, but then it clicked and everything made sense. So, in conclusion, this is a movie that people who are actually normal will appreciate. It has breathtaking cinematography, a suspensful, deep, and frightening storyline that deal with religious fanatics, condemnation, judgement, retribution, and revenge. Oh, and to all the people who think the creatures are CGI and look fake, most of them are actors in latex suits and costumes, with little touches of CGI here and there. What, humans in latex don't look real? Expand
  7. StephanP.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. This is an intriguing film. The visuals are stunning and disturbing. The sound design is phenomenal. All of this you've heard before. So, I figured I might address some of the other critiques.The mixing of live actors as well as CGI for the monsters was brilliant-- Acting: I actually think the Rhada Mitchell, Laurie Holden and Alice Krige were really good. The rest were okay. Confusing Storyline: The movie has a story...and it isn't nearly as confusing as a David Lynch film. But the thing about horror is that over-explainations often ruin things. Generally, I think Silent Hill is working a certain type of Horror...it is a type that we don't see a lot--but I also think the film brilliantly misdirects what sort of horror it is. This is not a slasher flick, it is not a ironic take on the horror genre. It also isn't exactly a gore-fest. Like Lovecraft, this is a film about isolation, about helplessness, about madness, about obsessions, about religion...it is about disorientation. The horrors are there, but sometimes they are grainy and hard to see...and then sometimes they are right up in your face. The film also has a European style horror pacing (which tends to be a bit slower than American), and works Twilight-Zone/David Lynch style ambiguity. And the film is scary. I think it should be seen in the theatre with a great sound system. I know that the film has gotten lots of negative reviews...but I dont' think the reviewers are watching it in the right spirit. Silent Hill is not about realism, but about surrealism. And that is pretty cool. Expand
  8. VinceK.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, Rating this movie a 27/100 is preposterous. This is by far the best videogame adaptation yet to the big screen, with some of the most detailed cinematography yet seen in any horror movie. Thats the problem with most of these reviews. Most of these critics have probably never even touched a videogame in their life. Most of the gripes about the movie has been about the confusing ending, 'bad' acting, and the overall corniness of the dialogue. I'm not making excuses or alibis here, but personally I loved the script of the movie simply because it stayed amazingly true to the games. The acting in the games were 'bad', the dialogue was 'bad', but thats the point. This movie is extremely stylized, and stayed true to its roots. Fans may complain about some plot changes but damn't, its a good thing cause it means theres gonna be sequal with the way it ended. I personally can't wait. Expand
  9. May 31, 2012
    10
    This is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill itThis is the best horror movie ever made the critics obviously have no idea what the words "deep storyline" means this is so true to the game its ridiculous its also one of the only movie based off of a video game that was a good movie instead of things popping out at you every 5 seconds this movie delves deeper then that the beginning starts kinda slow but once you get to silent hill it starts to get interesting the psychological horror is is amazing with flashbacks and hallucinations and with few but huge scares this movie will keep you guessing and want more Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is perhaps the best movie based on a video game ever. The way it resembles the game (ex. visuals, music, story) make it truly a great film based on a video game series. If you played a Silent Hill game than this is all familiar to you and you will appreciate the awesomeness of the film.
  11. Apr 12, 2014
    7
    It was overall a good film, it explained the story well and showed pretty good effects. As a video game adaptation, i would recommend especially since its based off of Silent Hill
  12. Feb 14, 2014
    7
    This film can be good and bad, depending on how It's viewed and who It's viewed by. Particularly serious fans of the series may be better of just playing the game instead. If that's not or IS you but still intend to watch it, Don't jump to any criticisms until you have seen and understand the film in full.
  13. JamesT.
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then This was the best movie that has come out since Resident Evil 2 ! It stuck so well with the games(even though iv beaten all but SH 1) the sounds,music,camera,monsters,and alot of the characters and plot are straight from the game.The people who say it not a good movie are complete morons, same goes for the critics, idiots! If your a fan of Silent Hill (best game saga ever made )then you'll love this movie! Expand
  14. GS
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    This is the best Video game adaption to Cinema that I ever seen. AMAZING MOVIE that stupid critics don´t undestand....To the critics : LEARN about Silent hill before write a non sense article.
  15. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    Not a great movie by far, but to be fair a decent adaptation that stay surprisingly true to the source material. Plenty of better horrors out there, but as far as video game adaptations are concerned, this one isn't half bad. A decent attempt and worthy as a budget purchase. Mandatory if you are a fan of the games.
  16. Nutella
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any I feel bonded with the movie since it successfully employs lots of elements from morality problems of human nature, demonstrating them in a charismatically quasi-symbolical way. The most critic-vulnerable element was the deus ex machina thing, explaining the rationale of the whole thing in a few sentences. nonetheless, if not for anything, should be appreciated for stating faith of any kind has no de facto morality guarantee, and closer to deviation and perversion even from faithlessness itself. Perfect for watching, but not consuming. Ignore critic rating. Expand
  17. GonzaloP.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I Rate this movie is easy. The movie was made for ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE WORLD that played Silent Hill in the glorious Playstation. The first Silent Hill is just a master piece. If you played Silent hill 2, 3 or The Room, it's not the same... if you never played any game of silent hill, even worst... I saw this movie with a smile and tears in my eyes because it was everything that I imagined when I finished Silent Hill several years ago... ALL is just perfect; I read that some Critics and User reviews said that the movie has no reality that it's too fantastic... Those who said that didn't understand the idea of the movie, that it's just the same of the game. The story has to be twisted, unreal, and for those who said that "It's a bad horror movie"... you're wrong from the beginning... The best of silent hill is that is not a horror movie, it may appeared but it isn't, it's not a suspense film, it' may have some points but... it isn't, the best of silent hill it's that to "mark" this film in some genre, we need to install a new genre, because silent hill is unique... play the first video game then watch the movie again, This movie doesn't care critics of those who don't played the game, It's just a tribute for the game and those who enjoy it!!! Resident Evil film doesn Expand
  18. May 30, 2012
    5
    It's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes theIt's just okay. I'm a huge fan of the silent hill series, and there are a lot of things this movie does right such as the art direction and the settings always look great through the whole movie. However there were many changes to the plot that I found unnecessary and caused it to lose the unique touch that the older games had. Also the script writing is very hit and miss, sometimes the dialogue is good, other times it falls flat on it's face. I know SH1 wasn't exactly a shining example of good script writing and voiceovers but that was a game made in the 90s. I will say that it's miles above many of the other game-to-movie adaptations and doesn't just feel like a cheap cash in. It just could have used a lot of improvements and I really wanted to see the actual story of silent hill 1 play out in a movie... I mean how can you make a movie based on the first game and not include Harry Mason? Expand
  19. CharmaineH.
    Oct 5, 2006
    3
    I was led to believe this was one of the best movies of the year when; when I watched it I was very let down.
  20. OzyY.
    Apr 23, 2006
    0
    Wow, everyone in my theater thought it was horrible, and I did too. My friends and I were laughing at the "scary scenes". Only cool part was when it turned dark...but that happened like only 3 times in the whole movie. Then you add in the ending of the movie and it made worst movie of the year for me, including Benchwarmers.
  21. AnthonyA.
    Apr 22, 2006
    8
    Never, ever, ever listen to critics when it comes to film. I can't say that enough. This especially applies to a film based on a videogame such as Silent HIll. Film critics are notorious for hating video games as a form of art/entertainment. Sorry Roger Ebert, but you're old and this is a whole new world. Yours and other critic's opinions on this film is irelevant in my Never, ever, ever listen to critics when it comes to film. I can't say that enough. This especially applies to a film based on a videogame such as Silent HIll. Film critics are notorious for hating video games as a form of art/entertainment. Sorry Roger Ebert, but you're old and this is a whole new world. Yours and other critic's opinions on this film is irelevant in my opinion. Now for the movie: If you played the games religiously, as I have, then you will definatly appreciate what has been done in the transition to the big screen. It looks great, it sounds great and 99% of the time it just feels right. People who saw this movie with me who had never played the game left the movie really confused. Aside from the lame dialogue, and liberties taken with the story from the first SIlent Hill, this was my only gripe with the film. It is definatly for the fans of the franchise and everyone else is really left in the dark. That aside, everyone can agree that this movie does magicaly transport you into its foggy, gloomy world. And to be honest with you, I am glad that people who never played the games left the theater a bit confused because figuring out the truth about Silent Hill is what has made the games so great. I'm still trying to figure them all out, as I'm sure some of the hard core fans of the series are as well. As a Silent Hill fan: 9 As a film geek: 8 Expand
  22. PW.
    Sep 16, 2007
    7
    Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a psychological/mythological/horror hybrid. This film is the only one so far to be true to the videogame it is based on for, like the game, it lets you wallow in the Critics give it 30/100 and user comments give it 81/100. I know which I trust more. Most of those critics probably aren't videogame fans, let alone have ever played and understood the ideas behind Silent Hills. It's a psychological/mythological/horror hybrid. This film is the only one so far to be true to the videogame it is based on for, like the game, it lets you wallow in the atmosphere rather than bomarding you with action every few seconds and it doesn't cheat the viewer by having a totally upbeat ending. Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2012
    6
    Though not as emotional or deep provoking as the game series, it packed some good scares, and music to my ears soundtrack but the things that made silent hill fans cry because of the game never appeared in the film but don't be disappointed.
  24. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    I love the games and i was curious about this movie, it was enjoyable some part were good designed and the story was also nice. It's was a movie that i enjoyed and the ending was one of the best parts but there is horror movies that i enjoyed more. For a Silent Hill lover it is a decent movie but for someone that don't know the games is a little blank.
  25. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    I think that this movie is actually not that bad. I don't know why did it receive such low scores from critics. The theme and concept of the movie are great, its just overlong with too many unnecessary scenes.
  26. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    As both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about Silent Hill. The atmosphere in the games is amazing. And I think they managed to convert it into the movie pretty well. The acting isn't bad at all either.As both a horror and video game fan I was at first quite sceptical about this title. But unlike the, to me, quite close to disastrous, Resident Evil remakes (although I haven't seen RE: Afterlife yet) I was pretty much surprised about Silent Hill. The atmosphere in the games is amazing. And I think they managed to convert it into the movie pretty well. The acting isn't bad at all either. Jodelle Ferland who seems really talented to me (based on her roles in Kingdom Hospital Tideland) again is pretty steady in this movie although her role is quite small this time. Same as Radha Mitchell and Sean Bean act pretty decent. You can easily imagine the fear Mitchell (Playing the main character) is experiencing during her forced visit to lovely Silent Hill. Like most horror movies nowadays this one isn't outstanding either but it definitely will not waste your time. Expand
  27. Sep 19, 2010
    2
    A process of illustrating this movie is quite flawless, soulless, and joyless. Of course, the set design of scree translations is too much anomalous from that of the original game.
  28. DreH
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    One of the best horror movies ever produced and definitely one of the better games-> movie. I was confused that one character was in both the past and present and looked exactly the same, but then researched the issue and saw, if you look, you can tell he does age. Coulda did a better job at that, otherwise, this movie hits the mark. Loved the resolution and Outcome
  29. D.S.
    Aug 22, 2009
    7
    At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most especially this movie. 2. It is much like watching someone play the video game. (watching someone actually play the video game is, in fact, quite At first I was going to give this movie an 8 or maybe even a 9, but then I actually played the games (all 1-4 of them!) and realized that: 1.The games are far more engaging in story and character than most movies ive ever seen and most especially this movie. 2. It is much like watching someone play the video game. (watching someone actually play the video game is, in fact, quite entertaining in itself though, especially with commentary from an unexpecting gamer) Overall, the movie is great fun with truly sick scenery and atmosphere combined with a great soundtrack from Akira Yamaoka (who also created the soundtrack for the games). Its drawbacks are its somewhat incoherent story (suggest playing the game first for a much greater understanding of the movie),lackluster dialouge at times (though not as bad as critics say) and the aforementioned fact that the video game itself is more engaging than the movie. I must say that, though not that scary, it is superior to most of the recent horror titles out there at the moment due to atmosphere and a plot, though messy, will keep you entirely glued to the seat throughout the movie. Expand
  30. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    The movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you anThe movie was interesting and even though it had a slow start it picks up like most movies. This by far was the best horror movie I have seen created in this century. The acting wasn't too bad but there were moments where the characters don't give you the feel of the movie. The monsters were probably the most realistic then any other movie I have ever seen. The atmosphere gives you an eerie feeling. The music was excellent and was played at the right moments. There were parts in the movie that made me think what the hell am I watching. In my personal opinion I thought the movie was perfect. Expand
  31. Oct 2, 2012
    6
    Silent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video gameSilent Hill is a decent but average video game-adapted movie. I'm not a fan of the Silent Hill game series, feels too much the same as Resident Evil did. But the movie was good although the story seems a bit awkward and the monsters look creepy to me. I wonder if there are more zombies in the sequel which is coming out on Oct. 26, 2012. I think it's near halfway through the best video game movie ever. Expand
  32. Aug 12, 2011
    6
    It's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives aIt's funny that I don't know how to place this movie. I've now watched it a handful of times, which should lead me to say that I liked this movie, but I don't know if that's the case. The bad guys, like the nurses and the huge man with the long metal pieces are fantastic and the setting is creepy as hell. However, the ending gets bogged down in religion and back stories that no one gives a crap about. Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    this has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradictedthis has to be the best video game to film adaptation that i have ever seen. the soundtrack was brilliant, the lighting and shading used to portray silent hill was spot on, most of the monsters were made using real people and make-up instead of crap overused CGI, the acting was actually okay for this genre. it's only setback would be that the ending was slightly flawed as it contradicted itself and it didn't have enough pyramid head in it! but overall, this film is a small step forward in the ongoing war to actually make good video to game movies. Expand
  34. Rishi
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely the single worst film I have seen in 2006, and probably one of the worst films I have ever seen. It is Uwe Boll bad. It is poisonously bad. It was I play video games. Hell, I love video games. I even played Silent Hill for two hours before going to this movie, just to ensure that I was in the proper frame of mind in which to enjoy the film. This was an abysmal movie. It was definitely the single worst film I have seen in 2006, and probably one of the worst films I have ever seen. It is Uwe Boll bad. It is poisonously bad. It was worse than Batman and Robin. Expand
  35. MarilynZ.
    May 30, 2006
    0
    We walked out on this one. So incredibly stupid and such a disappointment since I was looking forward to a good thriller. That's what happens when you don't consult Metacritic first. I was also mad that I wasted about an hour of my life on this one. Let's not encourage the making of movies like this.
  36. VolkerM.
    Jul 2, 2006
    1
    I don't know the game - I didn't even know that there was one. Hence, I just wanted to see a good movie nothing else. And what a disappointment it was. A lousy story in which nothing made any sense whatsoever. The acting wasn't that bad after all but didn't help the fact that the whole thing was a total waste of time.
  37. kwyjiboj
    Sep 9, 2006
    2
    No, the critics haven't got it wrong. The Japan fetishist fan boys have got it wrong by ignoring the fact that the film is so bloody tedious just because it sticks to the videogame. Wow, woop ti do, Uwe Boll could have done better, and if he couldn't, he'd kick your ass in the ring.
  38. Meta
    Apr 6, 2008
    2
    I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the honest praise must end, even for fans of the game. I hate to say it, but this was some of the worst acting I've seen in a long time, and again I am usually pretty forgiving when it comes to movies, but it's hard to go easy on this one. Granted, the special effects weren't bad at all, and some of the scenes were very nicely put together. But that's really where the honest praise must end, even for fans of the game. I hate to say it, but this was some of the worst acting I've seen in a long time, and again I'm really not that picky. Of course, the script didn't give the actors much to work with in the first place. Perhaps most disappointing was the lack of credibility of the characters. Sure, terribly stupid decisions are pretty much commonplace in horror flicks, but this one really stretched things. I really think a lot more could have been achieved with this cast, budget, and the basic premises of Silent Hill, the game. Too bad, really. Expand
  39. MartmanT.
    May 2, 2006
    4
    OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story that was so over the place that i could barely understand what was happening. After later pondering and thought, i could decipher it more, but the entire OK. this is coming from a non fanboy. This movie had me wanting to see it so bad. The previews made it seem scary, and the gave it a suspense that was awesome. After the first 20 minutes all of that went away. I was revealed to a story that was so over the place that i could barely understand what was happening. After later pondering and thought, i could decipher it more, but the entire movie experience was cut short because of the confusion of the story. Now, i know some people will be like OMFG wtf is this person talking about he should have played the game....but the movie director and makers should have filled in this hole for the people that didn't play the 1st games. Also in many parts, it had the potential to be much scarier than it is, but it doesn't seem to take the chance. For example towards the end, it had random things with sharp barb things. THEY WEREN"T SCARY. they were retarded looking. This movie would be decent if it weren't for the non scariness and the confusing story. Expand
  40. Lhorkan
    May 9, 2006
    10
    This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment This movie was great. It totally lived up to the game's name and most likely let the game's fans happy and satisfied. Those laughable critics are biased against video-game oriented movies - i can't blame them, since Uwe Boll had put his own "touch" on the genre - and do not realize that video-games, or, as people who are not shortsighted call it: interactive entertainment is a form of art! When they heard that it was a film adaptation of a "video-game", they immediately thought that the storyline was bad (which was not!) or that the film bases its strength on raw violence and gory effects (the film has its gory climaxes, but surely does not rely upon them to make fans!). Maybe people should play the game before seeing the film, to see that it's not about monsters and blood, but it's about a beautiful and intriguing nightmare drama, based upon emotions. Expand
  41. RandellP.
    Jun 21, 2006
    7
    A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue in this movie is bad. They really should have put some more work into that. For me, it was the visuals and the story that made Silent Hill a rather A case of bias amongst critics, it seems. It once again becomes rather painfully obvious that critics are sheep. This movie certainly isn't perfect, but it worth more then a 3.0. Let me start by stating that the acting and the dialogue in this movie is bad. They really should have put some more work into that. For me, it was the visuals and the story that made Silent Hill a rather interesting movie. I haven't played the first Silent Hill game but I had no problem understanding the story, so either a lot of the critics are mentally challenged or I posses some supernatural story-understanding ability. I don't understand why some people would call the story 'dumb'. Sure, it's not really Oscar material but the story has a more depth then most horrormovies that I've seen in the pas few years. The movie itself looks great. I've seem some flashes of the SIlent Hill games and the movie really reminded me of them. It certainly has its moments of macabre and surrealistic beauty, although they were a bit few and far inbetween for my tastes. Overall an entertaining and interesting movie, that tries to be different from your average teenage slasher flick. Give it a chance. Expand
  42. PaulO.
    Jun 23, 2006
    7
    I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts of the movie was when darkness came over the town and all the demons appeared. Great visuals and CG. One woman's death was great to watch (i know I liked this movie. Maybe not one you should shell out $9.00 for at the theater, but maybe you have a discount theater? or go rent it when it comes out. The story was interesting enough. I tried not to think too much though. The best parts of the movie was when darkness came over the town and all the demons appeared. Great visuals and CG. One woman's death was great to watch (i know it sounds sick but you'll know what i mean if you've seen it). I didn't like the ending but I can't really discuss that here. Oh yeah, also, I haven't played any of the games so I can't compare them. My review is unbiased. So go watch it if you like semi-horror dramas. There's nothing that scary, just really creepy and suspenseful. Expand
  43. GarodW.
    Sep 3, 2006
    1
    Horrible mess of a movie. It might have been a great video game, but it was one of the worst movies I've seen this year.
  44. HansB.
    Jan 16, 2007
    2
    I don't like video games. This was a film with a good story that was elaborated on lousily. The characters did not develop, nor was there any insight in there motives. And the end was just misty, made for part 2, I guess.
  45. DeanS
    Dec 31, 2007
    3
    Long, boring, confusing, with bad acting and dialogue. Yet it was a least visually interesting, though I think I would have been better off playing the game.
  46. RandyM.
    Mar 19, 2007
    7
    While the atmosphere provides chills, nothing else does. However, this is the best video game to movie transition yet.....but we've still got a long way to go.
  47. ND
    Apr 1, 2007
    4
    Dull and never even remotely scary. Bored long before the end.
  48. ApocalypseBrown
    May 26, 2007
    7
    The best game-movie adaptation yet to hit the big screen. The acting, mood and lighting were mostly good. However, Sean Bean was terrible! It's defiantly a film for Silent Hill fans, as the casual viewer may get bored with the slow pacing.
  49. Kamikun
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    What it lacks in greater-than-mediocre acting and coherence of story it makes up for in an atmosphere as thick as the fog in the Silent Hill games, monster design that raises the bar even by today's standards and an amazing soundtrack consisting entirely of tracks composed by Akira Yamaoka for the original game series. A must see for any fan of the games!
  50. JayH
    May 13, 2009
    2
    A promising starts gives way to something completely unrelated to the series I love. To say it's a disappointing film would imply some kind of expectation from a video game to film cash in, so let's just say it sucked.
  51. BenjaminP
    Jan 22, 2010
    7
    I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of disbelief with horror stories like this. Ultimately, I thought the movie made a pretty convincing statement about society on a metaphorical level. I dunno. Maybe it's because I used the play the original Playstation game back in the day, but I thought this movie was surprisingly good. It was maybe a little predictable, but whatever. You have to apply a willful suspension of disbelief with horror stories like this. Ultimately, I thought the movie made a pretty convincing statement about society on a metaphorical level. Don't take too much stock in what the critics say about this one. Sometimes bad movies can be totally awesome. (Easily one of the best renditions of hell I've ever seen.) Expand
  52. JamesD
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    Amazing movie, it gets confusing at the end, but in every other way its amazing!
  53. SilentOne
    Oct 11, 2006
    7
    Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films like Jacob's Ladder and Twelve Monkeys are more "Silent hillish" than Gans's flick. The main problem is, instead on focusing on a solid story Silent Hill can certainly defy Mortal Kombat as the best VG adaptation but it is far from being the great cinematographic masterpiece it could have been. A lot of horror and psychological movies are superior and it is sad to see that films like Jacob's Ladder and Twelve Monkeys are more "Silent hillish" than Gans's flick. The main problem is, instead on focusing on a solid story and putting references here and there, Gans does the opposite. He tries to put as many references as possible and links the whole in a more or less ambiguous manner. I cannot say however that he does not know what Silent Hill is. However, I liked (not loved) this movie even if it is not going to mark a lot of minds and it will eventually be forgotten with time. [***SPOILERS***] For me the main positive thing is the absence of a Mary Sue, something that pissed me off a lot in Resident Evil and Tomb Raider. Of course there is Cybil but at least she got beaten up and expressed negative emotions (ie she does not go fighting like if she was doing her shopping and she does show stressful behavior) Gans said he got older since Le pacte des loups (which I found to be more mature). IMO, he is still a kid. He seems to have focused more on the sentence " I'm putting this because fans will love it" than on the making of a movie. Running 3/4 of the movie and resolving clues might be interesting in a VG. In a movie, we need a story and character development. Most of the critics agree on a point. Silent Hill has beautiful images and camera angles. I wouldn't be surprised if Dan Laustsen or Carol Spier got nominated for an award. However, if most of the critics say they don't understand the story, it is because the dialogue and the editing do not offer that much to allow the moviegoer to care enough for the characters. And a Silent Hill with an average story hurts. And it hurts a lot. Despite it all, 7/10. I can discuss this movie negatively for hours but there is that je ne sais quoi that made this movie entertaining to my eyes. If there is a 2-disc DVD coming up in 2007, I'd probably buy it. Expand
  54. Mike
    Oct 1, 2006
    4
    The first 15 minutes of the movie is great! But then it goes down hill.
  55. Justin
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Forget the critics on this one and see it for yourself. I love horror movies and this is one of the best, most original efforts in a long tme.
  56. ModestusQ.
    Apr 22, 2006
    1
    This film was a terrible waste of money. It made little sense, was boring, and seemed to last forever. The performances certainly didn't help. The audience in attendance kept laughing despite themselves because of the ineptitude and Z-grade quality of 'Silent Hill.' Do NOT waste your money...please!
  57. AlexD.D.
    Apr 22, 2006
    1
    STAY CLEAR FROM THIS S***! This has to be the worst horror moie i've ever seen! visually stunning, it is just plain bad! Bad story, bad acting, bad overwhelming music! If you are looking for real horror fun, go see Slither! Or replay SH2 or 3... This movie really does not deserve any more box office grossing!
  58. JohnL
    Apr 22, 2006
    2
    First, do not see this movie. Unless you like video games and don't care how bad a film is that is based upon one. The cinematography is decent but thats all. All other aspects of this film are reprehensible. Also, it is not scary at all.
  59. JessG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    2
    Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers really need to realise that little girls with long black hair hanging in their faces do not make a film scary. The only reason I've given it a 2 Nonsensical storyline, lack of atmosphere, terrible acting, un-scary and unsubtle CGI monsters, and it really felt like sitting there and watching somebody else playing a video game for 2 hours (although it felt much longer). And filmmakers really need to realise that little girls with long black hair hanging in their faces do not make a film scary. The only reason I've given it a 2 is because I did like some of the production design. Expand
  60. TonyB.
    Apr 23, 2006
    8
    Wow! i went in seeing this movie with low expectations seeing the majority of game to film movies havent been good, nor have movies in general as of late. i surprisingly enjoyed this movie greatly much better then the resident evil series this is deffinatly worth a viewing go see it the critics were definitely wrong about this one.
  61. HengF.
    Sep 10, 2006
    5
    The ending makes NO sense at all.
  62. JohnB.
    Sep 19, 2006
    7
    The visual FXs were very good to great. There was always a sense of dread and rot. It felt more like a 'Marilyn Manson' video meets a 'Hellraiser' movie. There wasn't so much of the gore and slasher stuff as it was always more of a great sense of danger. I felt parts of the movie were weak and a little hard to follow at times, but overall the movie wasn't The visual FXs were very good to great. There was always a sense of dread and rot. It felt more like a 'Marilyn Manson' video meets a 'Hellraiser' movie. There wasn't so much of the gore and slasher stuff as it was always more of a great sense of danger. I felt parts of the movie were weak and a little hard to follow at times, but overall the movie wasn't bad. I think they could have spend a little more time explaining the beginning and the ending. Expand
  63. MattC
    Sep 30, 2006
    2
    Great game. Bad movie
  64. AaronW.
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie Pros: Visuals - The Darkness is very "off"... in a good way (Filmed in HD) TERRIFIC ambiance and atmosphere - Silent Hill's one "true" strength. The film adaptation of Silent Hill shouldn't receive awards in all categories equally - far from it. However, it does enough with what it has to warrant a look if you like "creepy", though perhaps not if you want to see a 4 star movie Pros: Visuals - The Darkness is very "off"... in a good way (Filmed in HD) TERRIFIC ambiance and atmosphere - Silent Hill's one "true" strength. The Otherworld/Darkness setting is very well done. Silent Hill itself also gives you the feeling of isolation. The... "unique" soundtrack, taken from the games themselves, feels very well placed. Great monster costumes - Pyramid Head especially. Cons: Acting - Cheesy at times ("They used to say this town was haunted" LOL) Development - Character personalities seem underdeveloped, and the plot seems to run around like a headless chicken for the 1st half of the movie. Expand
  65. GrantZ
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of For the critics, i'm guessing they haven't played the games. To truly understand the plot, you need to have played the games. The film relies on them. It captures the atmosphere well.... but does miss out on the physchological horror in favour for gore. Still.... it's very good. And Pyramid Head's appearance was justified too. He was there as an object of the guilt of the towns people. A good movie, so good in fact they're making a sequel. Expand
  66. RoyR.
    Apr 23, 2006
    0
    Some good visuals/sound brought this piece of crap up from negative to a zero rating!
  67. KurtS.
    Jun 26, 2006
    0
    I've played and highly enjoyed the Silent Hill games (2 to 4). I've read de negative reviews beforehand. So I was prepared for another bad film adaption of a great game franchise. But this film is so incredible bad i can't come up with suitable metaphors to describe how bad it is. First of all this movie lacks atmosphere and horror - despite being a horror film. There were I've played and highly enjoyed the Silent Hill games (2 to 4). I've read de negative reviews beforehand. So I was prepared for another bad film adaption of a great game franchise. But this film is so incredible bad i can't come up with suitable metaphors to describe how bad it is. First of all this movie lacks atmosphere and horror - despite being a horror film. There were just two real awesome horror scenes (one in the middle and one near the end). [***SPOILERS***] Secondly where were the disturbing and eeri monsters that are part of Silent Hill ? We just get to see Pyramid Head 3 times some Bobble Head Nurses and some guy with wires thru his scrotum. There were no Double Heads, no Patient Demons, no etc. Then the protagonist didn't even bother to fight some of the monsters. Instead it was the typical american teen horror flic of a chick screaming and running. Even if we leave out the Silent Hill context and just see this as a generic horror movie it still sucks. I mean letting the characters literally explain the plot to the audience... wow this sure shows how good your storyboard is. And no film that goes 2 hours should feel like 4 hours. I could go on and on.... but just let me say this: This movie is just "Silent Crap" with the Soundtrack of the Silent Hill 2/3 games. This is not a Silent Hill film nor a horror fil at all. Expand
  68. KenL.
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" into seeing it, and I was under the perception that this would be another of those mindless popcorn movie. I came out of the cinema feeling rather I found that the critics' low score in Silent Hill to totally unjustified. I seriously suspect their low scores were more to do with the fact that Silent Hill was adapted from a video game than anything else. I was intially "dragged" into seeing it, and I was under the perception that this would be another of those mindless popcorn movie. I came out of the cinema feeling rather intrigued by it. And let me put this into perspective: I'd never played the game (and I don't plan to) before I saw it nor I was a fan of the horror genre. While I could see why the critics would give low scores to a movie like "Transformers 2", the low scores they gave for Silent Hill showed us that critics could be equally fanboys when it comes to something that they have perceived snobbery upon like video game entertainments. The bottom line is, while Silent Hill may not be any Oscar materials, it definitely is a solid above average horror/suspense/thriller movie. Expand
  69. MattB.
    Oct 28, 2009
    8
    Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, the scenes were amazing. They felt both real, AND terrifying. The plot is not dry at all, in fact, I've few times seen something done that Silent Silent Hill was an extraordinary horror film. That. *shock* actually focused on horror, rather then scaring you senseless or portraying as many grotesque maulings as it could. The movie was dramatic, though the acting wasn't perfect, the scenes were amazing. They felt both real, AND terrifying. The plot is not dry at all, in fact, I've few times seen something done that Silent Hill did. While it can be somewhat confusing, that only adds to the mystery and suspense. Instead of having your movie spoon fed to you, it makes you think. I didn't even play the game and I liked it. Expand
  70. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    And... waht can i say? That movie rocks and sucks at the same time. The plot is kinda confusing because they wanted to put the most significant things of SH in the movie (Alessa and Pyramid Head). Fails as a remake of the experience of Harry Mason, but is kinda good. I guess.
  71. Aug 29, 2014
    7
    Takes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the games like familiar locations, enemies, and characters. By far the best thing that was taken from the video game and applied to this movie is theTakes many aspects of the video game series, but sadly fails to capture the fear. That being said it's not bad and is definitely worth a look for any fan of the video games. They'll be the ones who will grin at all the references to the games like familiar locations, enemies, and characters. By far the best thing that was taken from the video game and applied to this movie is the soundtrack. Just like in the games it adds to the atmosphere and definitely takes the movie one step further to make it feel like it is Silent Hill.

    As you might expect of a video game adaption many liberties were taken with the plot, which is loosely based on the first game. Despite an overall feeling of vagueness, which does clear up as it nears it's end, the plot is much more comprehensible than that of the first game, even if I didn't quite get the ending. Still fans will appreciate the many nods to the source material.

    What ultimately hurts the movie is that it's just not scary. Meaning that while fans like myself will be eating up every little thing related to the game series, those unfamiliar with the source material will be left unimpressed and possibly bored. It tries hard to pull outsiders in, but this is a video game movie for the video game fans. Others might want to look elsewhere.

    As it stands it's not a good horror movie, but it's good video game movie. One that will delight fans of the series. It's a great display of fan service for anyone familiar with the games, and they're the audience that should check this out. At the end of the day that's what a video game movie should do. Too often games are translated into movies that make mockeries of the games they're based on. Yeah, it might not be scary enough for most horror-movie buffs, but this is the first video game movie I've seen that actually comes pretty darn close to capturing the magic of the game and putting it on a DVD. IT's just a shame the scares aren't there. Still, as a huge fan of the game series I really enjoyed it, and I give it a 7.9/10.
    Expand
  72. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    This movie is really, really good. That's a best movie based on game that I've ever seen. The director is succeed in bringing the horror atmosphere from game to film. But looks like he just do that movie for fans so it can't take a high score. That's so sad....
  73. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from PatrickI am not surprised Roger Ebert did not understand the story, it required he actually saw it and Roger do you actually have any functioning synapses? I know complexity to story is rather beyond some film goers these days, so buy it on DVD and watch it several times, it may sink in then. This film is an adapted video game and shows great creativity with more creature creations from Patrick Tatapoulos who with Stan Winston have probably created some of the best creatures seen in film. In essence it is a film about revenge on religious zealots who "kill" a child. The young actress who plays three parts I last saw playing a ghost in Kingdom Hospital and clearly has no problem playing highly variable roles from a sweet child to the manifestation of evil.. This film is hauntingl beautiful with great incidentatl music and the ending, well try it. Expand
  74. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This movie is downright scary, it made me crawl within my seat, i played some games and there also really scary thought the games are better than the movie but it was a cool movie
  75. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all the guys who played Silent Hill, this is a masterpiece. For all the guys who didn't It's still a masterpiece. The thing is, the guys who didn't will never get the plot. It's as deep as the game goes. Expand
  76. Apr 26, 2013
    2
    This movie was a very generic horror picture. The acting, the plot, the set, the music was average at best. Lacked the tension, and true horror the video game Silent Hill had back in the days.
  77. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    Jill.K
    I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for
    Jill.K
    I have a story to tell. It is identical to silent hill. I was born in a town somewhere east. My family watched Porn at my present. I applied it on my pillow. From that day onwards, I was masterbating. I hid under the bed. Sometimes doing it while reading books. I did it for a hour or so. I did it to my mother. And my mother was **** by my grandfather. He scolded my mother often for stupid. I susposed it was because she don't know how to **** From that days onwards, my family sex with one another. I had a family of 8. At my teen. I felt myself impotent. I was very frustrated. I went mad. While I was mad, I learned a Malay Martial Art. I hit a woman's nose. Her nose was broken and her blood spill violently. She lived for 2 years. She was someone who love to live but she lived painfully. She dug her nose ultil dead. Before she died, she put a curse on me. My family helped. They performed a ritual while I was not around. IT was very dirty. She was **** by my family and her nose was eaten alive. She died very painfully. I think it was a Malay Ritual. She was buried at rubbish bin near my house. they swore to take revenge. From that day onwards I saw ghosts. I suffered a lot of mental torture. I died and alive a lot of times. I did not know she was dead until one day. I saw her vision in my body crying very pitifully. She said she was dead. It was very strange. Nobody mentioned a words but my house had changed when I returned back one day. The Mayor must have allowed it. I saw the house is very dark, nobody live and the pathway changed. I think that was the place they performed the Ritual. My door sign was changed to the woman door sign. Until now I still under mental torture.
    Expand
  78. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    silent hill es un deleite visual pero el guion no es tan fuerte como esperábamos sin embargo tiene actuaciones fuertes y una dirección increíble silent hill va a hacer el éxito del verano
  79. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    Completely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning so using them in a different story contradicts that). This movie is untrue and an insult to the game and is just a unscary boring movie. If anyone's seen theCompletely contradicts the game. Takes Silent Hill a game about ghost and demons and turns it into a generic witch movie. Based off the first game but uses monsters from the second(all the monsters in Silent Hill have symbolic meaning so using them in a different story contradicts that). This movie is untrue and an insult to the game and is just a unscary boring movie. If anyone's seen the Indiana Jones episode of South Park what happens in that episode is the best way to describe this movie. Expand
  80. StefanD.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Awesome... PH is the best.
  81. A
    Apr 30, 2006
    7
    I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and atmosphere were spot on. Eventually the film descended into heavy-handed gore fest though, which was unfortunate. The end scenes were disgusting. Not I went into the movie with low expectations after having been told of its stupidity, but I am also a fan of the games quite a bit. The movie started out great, with psychological unease permeating throughout much of it. The visuals and atmosphere were spot on. Eventually the film descended into heavy-handed gore fest though, which was unfortunate. The end scenes were disgusting. Not subtle and disturbing but just blatantly disgusting. Not even the games were this vile. Expand
  82. AfdzalA.
    May 20, 2006
    8
    it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and this movie far outshines most(if not all) crap video game movie games out there today. most complain that non silent hill gamers wont understand the it isnt the best movie ever made,but in terms of video game adaptations go,i love this the best of all. im not a big fan of the series,and neither have i finished any of the games,but i still have deep respect for Konami,and their team,and this movie far outshines most(if not all) crap video game movie games out there today. most complain that non silent hill gamers wont understand the story,but i thought it was clear enough. Expand
  83. CodyK.
    Sep 4, 2006
    8
    I really liked this movie. However, I felt like I was playing a videogame
  84. AmandaH
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may think the plot of the movie was way too confusing and hard to follow. In actuality, this movie tied much of the series together and helped tie I believe the main reason that this movie got bad reviews from the critics is because it remains very faithful to the story line of the video game series. Because of how intricate the series is, many people who have never played the game may think the plot of the movie was way too confusing and hard to follow. In actuality, this movie tied much of the series together and helped tie together any loose ends one may have had from playing the game. As an avid gamer, I was extremely pleased with story and atmosphere of the movie, and again how it remained so faithful to the original series (even the process of finding key items, such as a gun and flashlight, as one would in the video game). The critics apparently can't appreciate anything that's not the same action-packed crap as other horror movies (I hated the Resident Evil movies, by the way, BECAUSE of how much I loved the game series). Expand
  85. AndyG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be I really don't understand all the negative reviews, Silent Hill is a very impressive movie. It's definately not perfect, but it's definitely worthwhile to fans of the games and those who aren't familiar with them, although it certainly helps if you are familiar with the story of the games. I can GUARANTEE that if Silent Hill was a book and not a game, it would be getting much better reviews. Critics are nothing more than elitists with a pen who are too in love with themselves to be credible when reviewing a movie. Please don't let the negative reviews sway you from seeing this movie, because it's a damn fine movie, whether it's a "game movie" or not. Expand
  86. WillW.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    Not quite perfect in select dialogue-heavy scenes, but it was a very effective horror film that respected it's source material. It's truly the best of its kind. Film critics are unfairly biased towards anything remotely to do with video games, so the low rating is not much of a surprise. Do yourself a favor and see it for yourself!
  87. FrankH.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If I rated this a 9, my having no idea about the game itself, and first time seeing the movie. It was a very good job. Acting could of been a bit better? little confusing at somepoints, and at the end it just throws you off like no other. I think i just got really confused at the end, if someone can please email me how it was supposed to be represented/explain the end to me again maybe?. If i had a choice to re-see the movie with friends, i would say yes just because its a decent movie :-) Expand
  88. TomyJ.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    This is the greatest Game Movie that I ever See! And it is complete like Silent Hill, the Monsters, the Story, and and and. The Actors are great, i dont know what the most critics dont like on the movie...
  89. DrewF.
    Apr 24, 2006
    8
    I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter them. I do agree with the comments that the final quarter leaves a bit to be desired (More Pyramid Head in climax, please!) but the WTF? ending and I'm surprised by how much i enjoyed this movie. Yes, i'm a fan of the videogame series upon which the flick is based, but still i must admit that i went in with very low expectations. The first 3/4 of the movie more then shatter them. I do agree with the comments that the final quarter leaves a bit to be desired (More Pyramid Head in climax, please!) but the WTF? ending and setup for potential sequel more then make up for it. Solid horror entry. Expand
  90. JeffC.
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    A very well set horror movie. certainly one of the best video game to movie transitions done ever. an interesting story and really, how much character development or drama do you expect in a horror movie anyway?
  91. The_Elusive_Possom
    Apr 27, 2006
    4
    Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped apart, and climactically, muffs being mutilated). The creatures are pretty imaginative too: mangled contortions of the human form, and pretty unnerving Tonydannie seems to have, if a little incoherently, nailed the good points about this survival horror game adaptation. The main music theme (while overused) is very pleasant, and the gore levels are pretty fantastic (people getting ripped apart, and climactically, muffs being mutilated). The creatures are pretty imaginative too: mangled contortions of the human form, and pretty unnerving to view (especially the gang of "hospital patients"). The special effects, particularly the walls melthing and transforming, are also top-notch. Unfortunately, these attributes culminate the 4 points I have awarded to this movie, which is otherwise severly lacking. For starters, Silent Hill is not particularly scary. And for a horror film, this can be considered a big deal. It's frustrating though, because all the components are there: the horrific abominations that patrol the streets as well as the desolate atmosphere show so much potential, but this is never exploited. The story is pretty weak and pretty ridiculous, culminating in an ambiguous (are they dead or just trapped in Silent Hill dimension?) and deeply unsatisfying ending. Also, the lesbian sex cop sideline didn't seem to lead anywhere, which made for an unnecessary loose end. The acting is pretty offensive too: Sean Bean's laboured American accent is difficult to listen to given my previous respect for the established thesbian, and it baffles me why they would give Sharon (the little girl) would be given so many lines when other films of a similar setup have proven time and time again that children CAN'T act and are unbearable to watch. So ultimately, we're left with a dull, fruitless shell of a film, with so many non-sensical aspects to the plot: why are there creatures roaming about in the first place? Why would you try and escape from a police officer when you've done nothing wrong? These are just some of the questions pulling the sloppy mix of dialogue and action apart. But it was this or Scary Movie 4. I made my choice.....make yours. Expand
  92. JamesH.
    May 7, 2006
    6
    Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though its just 2), just like a bad dream. Some really creepy stuff is done at the beginning of the movie but it gets tiring and someone boring after a while Having never played the game I can successfully say I didn't find any "plot-holes" that some of the critics have mentioned. In general, an interesting movie that truely is a nightmare. Overall it feels longer than 3 hours (even though its just 2), just like a bad dream. Some really creepy stuff is done at the beginning of the movie but it gets tiring and someone boring after a while once you get the feel that the main character cant be harmed (maybe she can?) The plot is pretty thick and flows like syrup, and the ending is going to piss some people off. Like I said I never played the game, but I could definately spot "boss scenes" that are probably in it, being re-enacted in the movie. Overall: great beginning, middle gets boring after you get used to the scares, ending will be liked by some, probably disliked by most. Expand
  93. ChristopherA.
    Jun 8, 2006
    7
    The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much remniscant of how all games look - eerie. The movie would probably have been better in its original state - without any male leads - focusing on the The big advantage the games have over this movie is their interactivity - which is exactly the element heightening the suspense. The movie feels like a very extended cut scene but a pretty one at it. The photography is awesome and very much remniscant of how all games look - eerie. The movie would probably have been better in its original state - without any male leads - focusing on the mindstate that is Silent Hill instead of switching back and forth between "real" and "unreal". Very decent videogame adaption though that doesn't deserve as much negative criticism as it has been receiving. Expand
  94. MrS.
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    just look at the user reviews, for every 15 positive reviews there is 1 negative. and it looks like in my opinion that the critics got this one wrong as they do from time to time.
  95. sydneyo
    Aug 5, 2008
    8
    Nicely done on the special effects. the movie is well scripted to make it have a dark feeling to it. silent hill is a great horror/suspense film.
  96. AlistairD.
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Speaking as a massive fan of the games. Awsome. Some people might not like this as there isn't much in the way of definitive plot and it is uncomprimisingly loud.
  97. JamesB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    I wish Pyramid Head had showed up again at the end. I loved this movie.
  98. KeeganB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the For a movie based of a game I though that this was very well done. The presentation of the movie was damn awesome. The acting kinda sucked but what can you expect it was about more then that, I think this movie lived up to the game in almost every way and also is an entertaining movie to people that know nothing about the game love horror genre. The only downside of this movie is that the very very end didn't make much sence. Collapse
  99. JasperP.
    Apr 23, 2006
    7
    Although the movie started out great, the film began to worsen towards the end of the movie. The first few sequences with the monsters were amazing, but there were too many points in the movie where people had to explain backstory. I think they should have left the plot more ambiguous.
  100. SamM.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    This movie is the best movie i have ever seen in a loooong time. If the critics knew anything about the game, the director & the fact it originated in japan, i beleive they might turn their toffee-noses towards it. Roger Avary, Nicolas Boukhrief & Christophe Gans. on the slight chance you come on this website and read this review. well done.
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 10 out of 20
  1. Witless, soulless and joyless, it displays its video game origins throughout.
  2. Reviewed by: James Dyer
    60
    A step in the right direction for console-to-screen transitions and a twisted masterpiece of set design. Ultimately, though, it's a little too much like watching someone else play the game.
  3. 38
    Although I did not understand the story, I would have appreciated a great deal less explanation. All through the movie, characters are pausing in order to offer arcane back-stories and historical perspectives and metaphysical insights and occult orientations. They talk and talk and somehow their words do not light up any synapses in my brain.