Weinstein Company, The | Release Date: November 16, 2012
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1044 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
950
Mixed:
69
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
mariopingNov 27, 2012
Silver Linings Playbook: A charmer! Bradley Cooper proves to be an actor of skill. Jennifer Lawrence proves to be a future star. First half of the film was funny but also real. Second half: what a disappointment! I can't believe the movieSilver Linings Playbook: A charmer! Bradley Cooper proves to be an actor of skill. Jennifer Lawrence proves to be a future star. First half of the film was funny but also real. Second half: what a disappointment! I can't believe the movie chose to go for the cheese fest in the second half. It totally wasted the promising premise. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
MarkAngelJan 20, 2013
Just a little bit above the average. It's quite enjoyable, funny and likable and the performances are strong. I personally think that D.O'Russel's direction is what makes this lemonade so respectable. Still, even with the strong direction andJust a little bit above the average. It's quite enjoyable, funny and likable and the performances are strong. I personally think that D.O'Russel's direction is what makes this lemonade so respectable. Still, even with the strong direction and catchy soundtrack, the screenplay, the dialogue and the whole atmosphere felt plastic and exaggerated and non-believable. And personally, I don't like how this fairy-tale depicts bipolar and depressed people. Oh, and is the Solatano family really dysfunctional? I never noticed that. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
NavyBeanJan 23, 2013
Good performances. But very flawed and lots of lazy writing and direction. The scene were the "big bet" is so damn contrived and illogical that it's embarrassing and ruined everything they'd built in the first two acts. And it's freakingGood performances. But very flawed and lots of lazy writing and direction. The scene were the "big bet" is so damn contrived and illogical that it's embarrassing and ruined everything they'd built in the first two acts. And it's freaking illogical. Anyone, especially a bookie knows a double or nothing bet is not a big deal, you just have to make another bet at the same number. You don't need to parlay it or give more points. Lazy lazy lazy.

I also like when Jennifer is listing the scores of the games she was with Cooper ... she mentions the Eagles beating the Seahawks 14-7. Well, they'd said earlier in the film that the Eagles were BEATING the Seahawks 27-10. WTF. How freaking lazy. There's also a scene where Jennifer is taping Cooper's shoe's with duct tape. But in the shot RIGHT BEFORE that his shoes ARE ALREADY TAPED. Lazy.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
KissellianJan 15, 2013
Silver Linings Playbook has great acting, some wonderful scenes, and overall characters who you root for. The problem is that this doesn't all come together. It feels like by adding another few scenes might have brought everything together.Silver Linings Playbook has great acting, some wonderful scenes, and overall characters who you root for. The problem is that this doesn't all come together. It feels like by adding another few scenes might have brought everything together. But in the version I saw in the theater, something was simply missing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
crazyspacemanJan 19, 2013
Completely fell apart int he 3rd act. So many plot devices and contrivances to reach the underwhelming emotional finale. As over-hyped as the Eagles 2011 and 2012 seasons combined.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
whitewindNov 27, 2012
The acting of all the principles was well done and the dialog was mostly fine, however, this film did not really "grab" me as I expected, especially after hagving seen "The Fighter" by the same director. Individuals who are part of theThe acting of all the principles was well done and the dialog was mostly fine, however, this film did not really "grab" me as I expected, especially after hagving seen "The Fighter" by the same director. Individuals who are part of the mental health world presumably will get more out of this story. Watching the film, I kept veering between wanting to really like it, but then feelings of "who really cares" would intrude. I think Bradley Cooper is terrific but some of his acting verged on histrionics. I thought Jennifer Lawrence was better. And Robert Deniro's part just did not really add to making this a "ten" film movie. He is so much better than his role in this movie. Go to see it, but don't expect "great". Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
ultralight47Dec 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This could have been a good movie if it knew where it wanted to go. The relationship struggling to overcome mental disease might have been worthwhile but the incessant need to reunite with the former wife and the ridiculous Eagles euphoria with stupid bets, ju-ju, and parlays not to mention a silly dance competition distracted the course of the movie and made it silly. So many things simply don't ring true because it tried to be more. Stupid and moronic bets are made, Eagles fans attack their own, a dysfunctional family is made so only for laughs, Copper goes berserk when ever the plot needs some stimulus, several other characters are possibly more disturbed than Cooper, Lawrence is basically conniving and dishonest to an extent, and who becomes a full blown slut just because their husband dies? I could go on with other aspects that distracted me but you get the point. This could have been better but it went for cheap laughs. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
OroiaelNov 27, 2012
Any movie involving the Philadelphia Eagles or their mutant fans is terrible by definition. Oh yeah, Bradley Cooper is actually pretty good in this movie.
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryDec 7, 2012
As the movie begins, Bradley Cooper is released from a mental facility where he was sentenced after a violent incident. He returns home to his parents (De Niro's his dad) and tries to get his demons under control. It's not long til he meetsAs the movie begins, Bradley Cooper is released from a mental facility where he was sentenced after a violent incident. He returns home to his parents (De Niro's his dad) and tries to get his demons under control. It's not long til he meets his unstable soulmate (Jennifer Lawrence) and the knotty relationship develops. This is not a punchline script: The humor comes from the characters and their unwieldy interactions. Expect more quiet chuckles than outright laughter. Performances are uniformly strong (great to see Chris Tucker) with Lawrence adding to her short list of impressive characters. If you enjoy watching emotional outbursts and frantic family arguments, you may find this film entertaining. I was never bored, but never captivated either. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
lahaine2012Jan 19, 2013
Silver linings Playbook follows a certain formula and plays by the rule a bit, but it does so ten times better than your average rom com; thanks to its added layer of manic and genuinely dramatic elements. By directing and writing this film, David O
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
thealrajaaMar 30, 2013
actually to be honest i did not find and exiting thing in the movie there is no good (script ,bad actors except Bradly .bad music bad director )but the most exciting thing for me how Jennifer won the oscar.
i do not trust in Oscar nomination.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
jasherFeb 22, 2013
The first two-thirds of the film were pretty great. I was enjoying the acting and the storyline. But then someone decided it was a good idea to throw a ridiculous, moronic bet into the plot and the film kind of falls apart, devolving into aThe first two-thirds of the film were pretty great. I was enjoying the acting and the storyline. But then someone decided it was a good idea to throw a ridiculous, moronic bet into the plot and the film kind of falls apart, devolving into a generic (but admittedly sweet) rom-com ending. Worst of all, there was just no need for the goofy bet; the film was going to be fine without it. I give a lot of credit to the actors, then, for making the whole affair watchable anyway. Cooper and Lawrence do their best work ever here, and De Niro and Tucker get their best roles in years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonMay 29, 2014
An oddly uneven film full of lots of WTF moments. Billed as a romantic comedy that is neither romantic nor comedic, this film never seemed to figure out what it wanted to be. Starts off as "one flew over the cuckoos nest" and ends as "dirtyAn oddly uneven film full of lots of WTF moments. Billed as a romantic comedy that is neither romantic nor comedic, this film never seemed to figure out what it wanted to be. Starts off as "one flew over the cuckoos nest" and ends as "dirty dancing". The whole bet thing at the end is implausible, as is having a dancefloor built into your house, a cop always turning up within a second of you doing something wrong and trusting all your money on someone you hardly know on a competition you know nothing about. Great performances by Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, which is why I suspect all the reviewers like it, however the rest of the cast is weak (particularly Robert De Niro who, yet again, phones in his part). Expected so much more from this but overall it's one of those films that you forget as soon as you finish watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ExKingMay 22, 2013
the first 30 minutes of the movie start off fantastic great performances solid story the dialog is great and the screenplay is the best.
but then the movie does not make sense after that.
the scene after the restaurant is confusing she kept
the first 30 minutes of the movie start off fantastic great performances solid story the dialog is great and the screenplay is the best.
but then the movie does not make sense after that.
the scene after the restaurant is confusing she kept screaming at the street "he's harassing me" and then she said it was a joke and tried to calm him down ,
i kept scratching my head during the scene but you know whatever.
so the second bomb is Robert De Niro offering the bet and that was the worst 14 minutes in the movie.
and the deceivingly happy ending is awkward it was like watching a home made movie.
and that's just sad because the movie start off very well but i don't know what happened ,
it's like David O. Russell was trying to film the movie entirely in one week start off good but then decided to rush it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shrapnel77Jan 18, 2014
I almost expected Bradely Cooper to run in place and slap his face ala "curley" of the three stooges every time he was about to flip out. Overly contrived and as a person who worked with mentally ill people for nineteen years, this movie doesI almost expected Bradely Cooper to run in place and slap his face ala "curley" of the three stooges every time he was about to flip out. Overly contrived and as a person who worked with mentally ill people for nineteen years, this movie does not come close to real mental illness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
joao1198pedroMar 27, 2014
I dont know why people are over rating a romatic comedy film and i really dont know why it had eight oscars nominees, the movie have anything at all, i dont like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
poewilsonFeb 6, 2014
David O. Russell has said before that the plot does not matter and when watching this film you know he genuinely believes this to be true, because this film has so many plot holes in it that in five years it will slide into the last refuge ofDavid O. Russell has said before that the plot does not matter and when watching this film you know he genuinely believes this to be true, because this film has so many plot holes in it that in five years it will slide into the last refuge of forgotten films created solely as Oscar bait. This film is meant to do no more than showcase actors, its development, plotting and writing fall almost to the wayside as we are subjected to actors (save for Deniro) who do not understand the mental illness their characters possess and attached with an ending that would normally be featured in cheesy 80's Patrick Swayze film.
Frankly I would give the film roughly a 5 on the enjoyment scale, but the Poe scale gives it 6.5

Acting: 2/2
Cinematography: 1/2
Editing: 1.5/2
Effects and Design 1/2
Writing: 1/2
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ydnar4Nov 23, 2014
Silver Linings Playbook is a bit overrated. Robert De Niro is really the only actor that I enjoyed in the movie. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were both annoying stubborn characters, they did develop as time went on but It was too lateSilver Linings Playbook is a bit overrated. Robert De Niro is really the only actor that I enjoyed in the movie. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were both annoying stubborn characters, they did develop as time went on but It was too late for me to forgive them. It wasn't awful but I found it fairly boring at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews