User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 205
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alistair
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with the berthing of the Hindenberg in the snow are beautiful. The scatter-gun plot captures the feel of classic 30s/40s movie serials (the same ground that Star Wars mined so successfully) well. Sure its a bit silly but it's a great achievement. This I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with the berthing of the Hindenberg in the snow are beautiful. The scatter-gun plot captures the feel of classic 30s/40s movie serials (the same ground that Star Wars mined so successfully) well. Sure its a bit silly but it's a great achievement. This is the way of the futrure: marries the capabilities of CGI with human actors. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    I had not read about the movie before watching it and was fascinated within the first several minutes and continued to enjoy it through to the end. This movie's unique look and feel is its primary vehicle.

    If you are looking for a sophisticated plot, this movie was not made for you. The plot and acting were adequate enough to avoid ruining the visual picture. The makers applied a comic
    I had not read about the movie before watching it and was fascinated within the first several minutes and continued to enjoy it through to the end. This movie's unique look and feel is its primary vehicle.

    If you are looking for a sophisticated plot, this movie was not made for you. The plot and acting were adequate enough to avoid ruining the visual picture. The makers applied a comic book feel to the movie that allowed for softer edges and sepia tones, both with the animated sets and the human characters. If a set does not look completely realistic, the viewer is not troubled because the set is consistent with everything you see in the movie.
    Expand
  3. JosephF.
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    I had no expectations concerning this movie and therefore did not experience any disappointment. In fact, I found myself intrigued with the plot and character development. The only way to approach this movie is to put it in the historical perspective it successfully attains. Older viewers will be inexorably reminded of the serials of the '30s and '40s, middle agers will see the I had no expectations concerning this movie and therefore did not experience any disappointment. In fact, I found myself intrigued with the plot and character development. The only way to approach this movie is to put it in the historical perspective it successfully attains. Older viewers will be inexorably reminded of the serials of the '30s and '40s, middle agers will see the thread of DC comics and other icons of the 50s. Paltrow's character exudes the subdued sensuality of Veronica Lake. One almost expects a voice over narration ("meanwhile, in their hidden fortress....") but the film does quite well without stooping to such a retro trick, assuming that the audience is smart enough to supply their own narration. With theater tickets being as high as they are, I doubt if I will see this film on the big screen again (but then, I might) but I am eagerly awaiting it's release on DVD. A quality film experience which depends on story and character rather than sex, smut, and violence. I was thoroughly entertained. Expand
  4. RickD.
    Oct 2, 2004
    8
    As a visual artist, I respond to the dream- like images created in Sky Captain. As a writer I agree that the snappy dialogue is sparse and the plotline thin - however, I believe that certain projects begin to surpass their end result and compromises must ensue. There is nothing 'crass' about paying homage to what has come before. The point of this film lies somewhere over the As a visual artist, I respond to the dream- like images created in Sky Captain. As a writer I agree that the snappy dialogue is sparse and the plotline thin - however, I believe that certain projects begin to surpass their end result and compromises must ensue. There is nothing 'crass' about paying homage to what has come before. The point of this film lies somewhere over the rainbow between nostalgia and innovation. Remember, even Lucas found it necessary to go back and tweak the original Star Wars! Expand
  5. AndrewK.
    Sep 21, 2004
    7
    Obviously this is another one of those love it or hate it films. I'm not a fan of action movies, but this really isn't an action movie. Its an homage to old cinema. I loved it. Sure a few things might not've made sense, but its just supposed to be a fun film. And if you'd just sit back and stop picking at every little detail, you'd realize how much fun it is. This Obviously this is another one of those love it or hate it films. I'm not a fan of action movies, but this really isn't an action movie. Its an homage to old cinema. I loved it. Sure a few things might not've made sense, but its just supposed to be a fun film. And if you'd just sit back and stop picking at every little detail, you'd realize how much fun it is. This movie is meant to be simple in the way the films that inspired it were. Its silly. Its awesome. Its like nothing you've ever seen before. The visuals are fantastic. I loved every minute of it. The score was great. The actors were great, ESPECIALLY Gwyneth Paltrow, who got the "take-no-s..t" female reporter role dead on. One of the best actresses in Hollywood. Most people seem to have too high expectations for this movie to be "deep" or something. Why? That's not what its supposed to be. How could one even get that impression from the previews? And that Adam L. guy on here! What's his problem? He dares critique a movie he admits to falling asleep during? How dare he! For shame, sir! I bet you're the type that thinks "O Brother, Whereart Thou" was a great film. "O Brother" indeed! Expand
  6. RickyG.
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    Please people, stop trying to cut up every single facet of the movie and killing it. The movie was fun, from the opening titles to the end, it was fun. Sure the story line was simple, but that was the point of it. It was just a beautiful work of fun. Just because it doesn't meet certain snobby standards of film-making doesn't make it a horrible film. Jesus, you guys are Please people, stop trying to cut up every single facet of the movie and killing it. The movie was fun, from the opening titles to the end, it was fun. Sure the story line was simple, but that was the point of it. It was just a beautiful work of fun. Just because it doesn't meet certain snobby standards of film-making doesn't make it a horrible film. Jesus, you guys are reviewing this worse than Garfield! Expand
  7. jamiecanttellyou
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Some say its awsom some say it sucks i think it was good but what do i know imm just some one that went to see the movie and its done in a 1930's-50's style all befor my time of course but what did you expect of course its gonna be a little blury and some minor stuff but if you quit complaining and start watching the movie for what it is and is about you will enjoy it but if you Some say its awsom some say it sucks i think it was good but what do i know imm just some one that went to see the movie and its done in a 1930's-50's style all befor my time of course but what did you expect of course its gonna be a little blury and some minor stuff but if you quit complaining and start watching the movie for what it is and is about you will enjoy it but if you complain and think it is going to be bad from the start the your going to hate it so try to keep an open mind. Expand
  8. NeilP.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Sky Captain was a visual treat with its nostalgic look and stunning action sequences. The interplay between Polly Perkins & Sky Captain remained consistently unsentimental.
  9. ErikN
    Sep 20, 2004
    8
    I don't know what the others who gave this movie a bad rating saw or didn't see when they watched this movie. I just know that I had fun watching this movie and that all I ask of a movie like this one.
  10. DaveW.
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    If you love the old pulp serials, you will love this film. If you don't you will most likely be unimpressed. If you don't know what they were, give Sky Captain a try.
  11. burtonm
    Jan 12, 2005
    8
    Original, retro, and cool. A little slow in places, but overall, really produces the homage to old scifi movies that it intends to.
  12. PaulT.
    Jan 19, 2005
    8
    Sky Captain did a suberb job of creating its own, believable, but fantasy world. The plot and acting are both good and I recommend it as a good escape film.
  13. XERO
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Suspend reality and return to a time when movies were fun...the serials were the inspiration for the Raider's series ans Star Wars, here to we have a throwback to the golden age of cliffhangers....sit back, and enjoy the ride!!!!!
  14. Weepstah
    Feb 1, 2005
    8
    Extremely imaginative, and nice interplay between Law and Paltrow.
  15. AustinA.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    With perfect acting, a gorgeous orginal style, witty banter, and great directing, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow is dip into what films once were.
  16. PeterJames
    Feb 7, 2005
    7
    I am a little surprised at some of the User Reviews for this movie. I was so refreshed watching a movie like this. It was a much needed break from reality, and I am not even a sci-fi fan at all. Granted, the story was a little flawed, but the visual experience alone should give this film a 5.
  17. ClintM
    Feb 7, 2005
    8
    LOVED the movie! It was adventurous, fun, but most of all FRESH. No other movie recently has done anything quite like it. Gwyneth was great as Polly Perkins and the rest of the cast was great too. I had a blast watching it!
  18. aboozarm
    Jul 3, 2005
    8
    The best movie that i have ever seen.
  19. PaulI.
    May 23, 2007
    7
    Although the movie is visually stunning and the plot is constucted well, the conflict between the main chacter and the damsel in distress is somewhat annoying.
  20. ScottD.
    Oct 30, 2004
    8
    Lots of fun! It was a tad forgettable, but the CGI style was gorgeous, the dialogue funny, and the actors enjoyably unironic! I loved how it had a genuine, unobscured affection for the old Hollywood serials that it reinvents here. "Sky Captain" was a very movie-ish movie that had me grinning from ear to ear with its old-meets-new style.
  21. VinceH.
    Oct 6, 2004
    7
    This movie should be seen mainly for the fantastic visuals. People who complain about all the CGI-effects and how it doesn't involve you and this-and-that but I am sure those are the same geeks who salivate over the LOTR films, Harry Potter and other CGI extravaganzas. Anyway, since Kerry Conran is so dedicated and his vision so peerless (albeit very simple) that it is his This movie should be seen mainly for the fantastic visuals. People who complain about all the CGI-effects and how it doesn't involve you and this-and-that but I am sure those are the same geeks who salivate over the LOTR films, Harry Potter and other CGI extravaganzas. Anyway, since Kerry Conran is so dedicated and his vision so peerless (albeit very simple) that it is his directorial hand that guides the film. The actors read their silly lines with conviction and so should be commended for at least going through the motions effectively. Despite what advocates of the film are saying, this is not a timeless adventure classic in the vein of Indiana Jones or Star Wars. Mainly because we really don't care about anyone in the movie, and the set-pieces are not as original or inventive as they should be considering what this movie is trying to achieve. I think if Conran had spent more time working out the script and ideas instead of just visuals alone this could've been magnificent. As it is, it's an entertaining and welcome trip through the past. Expand
  22. JasonS.
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    Visually stunning and breathtaking. The story is a bit fluffy but the overall experience is well worth the ride.
  23. RadioLady
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    This movie is a digital delight! Hard to believe that all the backgrounds were done with computer graphics. I predict many more interesting movies from new director Kerry Conran. Sepia is the new technicolor and smooth-skinned actors Gwyneth Paltrow and Jude Law looked and acted great in it. The preview audience applauded -- not something that happens very often. Go see this one -- This movie is a digital delight! Hard to believe that all the backgrounds were done with computer graphics. I predict many more interesting movies from new director Kerry Conran. Sepia is the new technicolor and smooth-skinned actors Gwyneth Paltrow and Jude Law looked and acted great in it. The preview audience applauded -- not something that happens very often. Go see this one -- it's a retro romp! Expand
  24. OwenJ.
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    A brilliant, revential tongue in cheek take on the films of the 1940's. It's power is in not taking itself too seriously; director Kerry Conran has wrought his own version of that slightly paranoid time. He will be bewildered at stuffy critics who have called it 'shallow'; that's to not get the point of why this film was made. Kudos, too, to Kevin Conran, A brilliant, revential tongue in cheek take on the films of the 1940's. It's power is in not taking itself too seriously; director Kerry Conran has wrought his own version of that slightly paranoid time. He will be bewildered at stuffy critics who have called it 'shallow'; that's to not get the point of why this film was made. Kudos, too, to Kevin Conran, Kerry's brother, for this visionary use of CGI. Expand
  25. AutumnL.
    Sep 21, 2004
    8
    I really liked this movie, and I will be buying it when it comes out on DVD. Great visual effects (it looks like no other movie ever made), a fun retro plot, and not bad acting. Not an outstanding big budget movie like say Spiderman 2 or even Shrek 2 put damn good none the less. I think that those that go check it out with an open mind will really enjoy it. A great popcorn flick. I'm I really liked this movie, and I will be buying it when it comes out on DVD. Great visual effects (it looks like no other movie ever made), a fun retro plot, and not bad acting. Not an outstanding big budget movie like say Spiderman 2 or even Shrek 2 put damn good none the less. I think that those that go check it out with an open mind will really enjoy it. A great popcorn flick. I'm not sure I understand why a lot of regular reviewers dislike it. It seems like its kind of in vogue to hate big budget hollywood movies these days. Expand
  26. JackW.
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    I haven't enjoyed a movie this much in quite a while. Perhaps only we old enough to remember watching old sci-fi serials will enjoy it quite as much as I did. But it allowed me to put reality aside for a moment and take a really nice ride through someone's vivid imagination.
  27. BaHen
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Pretty entertaining for what it is. Gwyneth Paltrow's acting wasn't as good as in some of her other movies though. Overall, a comedic sci-fi, that is best taken at face value.
  28. erins.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    I thought this movie was the most visually interesting movie I have ever seen. I LOVED this movie. And Jude Law in it, didnt hurt! I love old movies and this film noir is my cup of tea! Thanks Kevin, what a ride!
  29. DemetriS.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Original, captivating, and fun. What movies were meant to be. An escape to another world. Loved it.
  30. CharlieW.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Good lord, what is wrong with you people? This was one of the best movies I've ever seen! The special effects were truly amazing, I actually cared about the characters on the screen, and it had an interesting and completely strange (in a good kind of way) story. Although the whole shadow thing did get tiresome every so often it really was pretty cool. I don't see how anyone Good lord, what is wrong with you people? This was one of the best movies I've ever seen! The special effects were truly amazing, I actually cared about the characters on the screen, and it had an interesting and completely strange (in a good kind of way) story. Although the whole shadow thing did get tiresome every so often it really was pretty cool. I don't see how anyone could give this movie a review below a nine. Although I guess it is as Lynne said; you love it or you hate it. Expand
  31. MichaelM.
    Oct 21, 2004
    7
    Dazzling visuals, and a cool comic book feel throughout make Sky Captain a highly watchable and enjoyable film. The acting isn't half-bad. Jude Law provides us with a cool action hero, and Angelina Jolie creates an awesome eye-patch wearing bad ass. Gwyneth Paltrow is a little annoying, and probably turns in the least impressive performance of all. My only complaint is that Angelina Dazzling visuals, and a cool comic book feel throughout make Sky Captain a highly watchable and enjoyable film. The acting isn't half-bad. Jude Law provides us with a cool action hero, and Angelina Jolie creates an awesome eye-patch wearing bad ass. Gwyneth Paltrow is a little annoying, and probably turns in the least impressive performance of all. My only complaint is that Angelina Jolie should have had a bigger part, and that Gwyneth Paltrow should have had a smaller part. Expand
  32. TroyP.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    One word: Whoa!
  33. ChuckM.
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    This movie was FUN. I love the retro style; this had Jules Verne and his contemporaries as its obvious inspiration. This was entertaining to watch and a great way to spend an afternoon. Was this Citizen Kane? No. But, I got jst as big of a kick watching this movie as I did reading H.G. Wells.
  34. MarleneO.
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    This is a fabulous, fun movie. I don't know what people are complaining about Gwenth Paltrow. I thought she was fine and Jude Law was a real hoot. The visualness of the movie was outstanding and I loved the kitchiness of the story and characters. That whole feeling of "here comes our hero to save the day". After all summer of the same old, same old movies this was refreshingly different.
  35. DonH.
    Nov 21, 2005
    8
    A wonderful tribute to the early sci-fi serials and movies. It
  36. AnonymousBill
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    It was fantastic!!! It was so entertaining!!! LOVED this movie!!! Jude Law is Dead Sexy!!!
  37. MarcJ
    Dec 28, 2004
    8
    I thought this movie was a great deal of fun, and a brilliant send-up of the old 1930s and 1940s action hero serials. I also had great admiration for the chemistry between Law and Paltrow, which brought me back to the days of Tracy and Hepburn.
  38. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow: 8/10: It was King Kong that made me fall in love with the movie. He doesn't appear himself (unlike ring mate Godzilla who cameos in silhouette in a Japanese newspaper.) but his ship and friends are there and his tree is there. You know the moss covered tree that covers the impossibly deep chasm. To one he uses to fling helpless sailors to there deathSky Captain and the World of Tomorrow: 8/10: It was King Kong that made me fall in love with the movie. He doesn't appear himself (unlike ring mate Godzilla who cameos in silhouette in a Japanese newspaper.) but his ship and friends are there and his tree is there. You know the moss covered tree that covers the impossibly deep chasm. To one he uses to fling helpless sailors to there death like some kind of lumberjack games blood sport. There the tree is in glorious color just as I left it in the imagination of my seven-year old self.

    I was enjoying myself up to that point mind you I had for one thing decided that this was an Anime rather than a regular film. (The giant robots make this illusion much more palatable as did an annoying performance by Miss Paltrow. In anime the female characters are almost always whining up a storm.) This allowed all the plot holes creative use of color and scientific flubs to fall by the wayside. I just sat back and enjoyed the ride.

    Of note much has been made of the use of CGI but lets face it. It is simply easier to put CGI effects on an artificial background rather than place them in photo-realistic settings like the snakes of Anaconda: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid or the wolves in Day after Tomorrow have proved most recently.

    Sure Sky Captain is far from perfect (an actual villain would have helped and been more in line with the serials it was emulating), but try telling that to the seven year old in me that kept saying "cool what's next".
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Other than the actors, their costumes, and a few props, everything in Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow is digital illusion, and the effects are often exhilarating.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Arresting at first but gradually trails off under the weight of its hyper-derivativeness and anxiety to please.
  3. 90
    As an imaginative visual experience, there's nothing like it. Today, at least.