User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 185
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alistair
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with the berthing of the Hindenberg in the snow are beautiful. The scatter-gun plot captures the feel of classic 30s/40s movie serials (the same ground that Star Wars mined so successfully) well. Sure its a bit silly but it's a great achievement. This I love this movie. I have to admit it's main appeal is visual with the wonderful sci-fi deco retro design. The opening sequences with the berthing of the Hindenberg in the snow are beautiful. The scatter-gun plot captures the feel of classic 30s/40s movie serials (the same ground that Star Wars mined so successfully) well. Sure its a bit silly but it's a great achievement. This is the way of the futrure: marries the capabilities of CGI with human actors. Expand
  2. JosephF.
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    I had no expectations concerning this movie and therefore did not experience any disappointment. In fact, I found myself intrigued with the plot and character development. The only way to approach this movie is to put it in the historical perspective it successfully attains. Older viewers will be inexorably reminded of the serials of the '30s and '40s, middle agers will see the I had no expectations concerning this movie and therefore did not experience any disappointment. In fact, I found myself intrigued with the plot and character development. The only way to approach this movie is to put it in the historical perspective it successfully attains. Older viewers will be inexorably reminded of the serials of the '30s and '40s, middle agers will see the thread of DC comics and other icons of the 50s. Paltrow's character exudes the subdued sensuality of Veronica Lake. One almost expects a voice over narration ("meanwhile, in their hidden fortress....") but the film does quite well without stooping to such a retro trick, assuming that the audience is smart enough to supply their own narration. With theater tickets being as high as they are, I doubt if I will see this film on the big screen again (but then, I might) but I am eagerly awaiting it's release on DVD. A quality film experience which depends on story and character rather than sex, smut, and violence. I was thoroughly entertained. Expand
  3. RickyG.
    Oct 20, 2004
    9
    Please people, stop trying to cut up every single facet of the movie and killing it. The movie was fun, from the opening titles to the end, it was fun. Sure the story line was simple, but that was the point of it. It was just a beautiful work of fun. Just because it doesn't meet certain snobby standards of film-making doesn't make it a horrible film. Jesus, you guys are Please people, stop trying to cut up every single facet of the movie and killing it. The movie was fun, from the opening titles to the end, it was fun. Sure the story line was simple, but that was the point of it. It was just a beautiful work of fun. Just because it doesn't meet certain snobby standards of film-making doesn't make it a horrible film. Jesus, you guys are reviewing this worse than Garfield! Expand
  4. jamiecanttellyou
    Oct 2, 2004
    10
    Some say its awsom some say it sucks i think it was good but what do i know imm just some one that went to see the movie and its done in a 1930's-50's style all befor my time of course but what did you expect of course its gonna be a little blury and some minor stuff but if you quit complaining and start watching the movie for what it is and is about you will enjoy it but if you Some say its awsom some say it sucks i think it was good but what do i know imm just some one that went to see the movie and its done in a 1930's-50's style all befor my time of course but what did you expect of course its gonna be a little blury and some minor stuff but if you quit complaining and start watching the movie for what it is and is about you will enjoy it but if you complain and think it is going to be bad from the start the your going to hate it so try to keep an open mind. Expand
  5. NeilP.
    Oct 8, 2004
    10
    Sky Captain was a visual treat with its nostalgic look and stunning action sequences. The interplay between Polly Perkins & Sky Captain remained consistently unsentimental.
  6. DaveW.
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    If you love the old pulp serials, you will love this film. If you don't you will most likely be unimpressed. If you don't know what they were, give Sky Captain a try.
  7. XERO
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Suspend reality and return to a time when movies were fun...the serials were the inspiration for the Raider's series ans Star Wars, here to we have a throwback to the golden age of cliffhangers....sit back, and enjoy the ride!!!!!
  8. AustinA.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    With perfect acting, a gorgeous orginal style, witty banter, and great directing, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow is dip into what films once were.
  9. JasonS.
    Sep 14, 2004
    9
    Visually stunning and breathtaking. The story is a bit fluffy but the overall experience is well worth the ride.
  10. RadioLady
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    This movie is a digital delight! Hard to believe that all the backgrounds were done with computer graphics. I predict many more interesting movies from new director Kerry Conran. Sepia is the new technicolor and smooth-skinned actors Gwyneth Paltrow and Jude Law looked and acted great in it. The preview audience applauded -- not something that happens very often. Go see this one -- This movie is a digital delight! Hard to believe that all the backgrounds were done with computer graphics. I predict many more interesting movies from new director Kerry Conran. Sepia is the new technicolor and smooth-skinned actors Gwyneth Paltrow and Jude Law looked and acted great in it. The preview audience applauded -- not something that happens very often. Go see this one -- it's a retro romp! Expand
  11. OwenJ.
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    A brilliant, revential tongue in cheek take on the films of the 1940's. It's power is in not taking itself too seriously; director Kerry Conran has wrought his own version of that slightly paranoid time. He will be bewildered at stuffy critics who have called it 'shallow'; that's to not get the point of why this film was made. Kudos, too, to Kevin Conran, A brilliant, revential tongue in cheek take on the films of the 1940's. It's power is in not taking itself too seriously; director Kerry Conran has wrought his own version of that slightly paranoid time. He will be bewildered at stuffy critics who have called it 'shallow'; that's to not get the point of why this film was made. Kudos, too, to Kevin Conran, Kerry's brother, for this visionary use of CGI. Expand
  12. JackW.
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    I haven't enjoyed a movie this much in quite a while. Perhaps only we old enough to remember watching old sci-fi serials will enjoy it quite as much as I did. But it allowed me to put reality aside for a moment and take a really nice ride through someone's vivid imagination.
  13. BaHen
    Sep 28, 2004
    10
    Pretty entertaining for what it is. Gwyneth Paltrow's acting wasn't as good as in some of her other movies though. Overall, a comedic sci-fi, that is best taken at face value.
  14. erins.
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    I thought this movie was the most visually interesting movie I have ever seen. I LOVED this movie. And Jude Law in it, didnt hurt! I love old movies and this film noir is my cup of tea! Thanks Kevin, what a ride!
  15. DemetriS.
    Apr 19, 2005
    10
    Original, captivating, and fun. What movies were meant to be. An escape to another world. Loved it.
  16. CharlieW.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Good lord, what is wrong with you people? This was one of the best movies I've ever seen! The special effects were truly amazing, I actually cared about the characters on the screen, and it had an interesting and completely strange (in a good kind of way) story. Although the whole shadow thing did get tiresome every so often it really was pretty cool. I don't see how anyone Good lord, what is wrong with you people? This was one of the best movies I've ever seen! The special effects were truly amazing, I actually cared about the characters on the screen, and it had an interesting and completely strange (in a good kind of way) story. Although the whole shadow thing did get tiresome every so often it really was pretty cool. I don't see how anyone could give this movie a review below a nine. Although I guess it is as Lynne said; you love it or you hate it. Expand
  17. TroyP.
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    One word: Whoa!
  18. ChuckM.
    Sep 26, 2004
    9
    This movie was FUN. I love the retro style; this had Jules Verne and his contemporaries as its obvious inspiration. This was entertaining to watch and a great way to spend an afternoon. Was this Citizen Kane? No. But, I got jst as big of a kick watching this movie as I did reading H.G. Wells.
  19. MarleneO.
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    This is a fabulous, fun movie. I don't know what people are complaining about Gwenth Paltrow. I thought she was fine and Jude Law was a real hoot. The visualness of the movie was outstanding and I loved the kitchiness of the story and characters. That whole feeling of "here comes our hero to save the day". After all summer of the same old, same old movies this was refreshingly different.
  20. AnonymousBill
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    It was fantastic!!! It was so entertaining!!! LOVED this movie!!! Jude Law is Dead Sexy!!!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Other than the actors, their costumes, and a few props, everything in Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow is digital illusion, and the effects are often exhilarating.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Arresting at first but gradually trails off under the weight of its hyper-derivativeness and anxiety to please.
  3. 90
    As an imaginative visual experience, there's nothing like it. Today, at least.