Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Oct 12, 2012
    30
    Smiley, is unfortunately less scary than, say, the prospect of your significant other accidentally discovering your search engine history.
  2. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Oct 10, 2012
    30
    By-the-numbers slasher picture Smiley starts by borrowing the key concept of "Candyman," ends with a denouement heavily indebted to "Scream," and stuffs its middle with a dismayingly high quotient of lazy false scares.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Oct 9, 2012
    30
    Tell a die-hard horror-movie fan that the latest scary movie is the worst thing ever, and that fan will nod respectfully but still make plans to go see it. Horror fans must always see for themselves. All of which makes it a bit pointless to declare Smiley the year's dullest scare flick (thus far).
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Oct 10, 2012
    25
    Gallagher briefly threatens to turn Smiley into something closer to the hallucinatory psychological horror of "Repulsion," but he retreats to the more conventional twists and jump-scares expected of bottom-of-the-barrel slasher films like this one. This film will not do for the Internet what "Psycho" did for showers - no more computers have to be smashed because of it.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Oct 12, 2012
    20
    Failing to expand on the intriguing notion that evil can find physical form online, Smiley, like its sutured monster, is sadly more to be pitied than feared.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Oct 8, 2012
    12
    Michael J. Gallagher's half-cocked horror fiasco is filled with clich├ęs, pitiful dialogue, and clumsy aesthetics.
User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    0
    I´m a horror movies fan, but this is too much for me... Everything is so terrible.. history, characters, everything... Dont lose yourI´m a horror movies fan, but this is too much for me... Everything is so terrible.. history, characters, everything... Dont lose your time... or even worse, your money.... Full Review »
  2. Dec 29, 2012
    4
    I honestly should of looked at the reviews of this movie before watching it myself. If I knew it had a 20 metascore, I would of skipped thisI honestly should of looked at the reviews of this movie before watching it myself. If I knew it had a 20 metascore, I would of skipped this movie all together. Even though I thought the beginning was fine, the movie just went completely downhill from there. Skip this movie. Full Review »
  3. Oct 18, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Was tempted to watch this by the creepy looking seen mascot in all the previews...That was my first mistake. The second mistake was sitting through it and hoping it would actually rise to a C class movie. That's right this movie had horrible acting, a boring plot and I constantly want everyone of the actors to die and "Spoiler Alert" no one dies accept 2 people at the end. The movie constantly kept reminding us that the actors were supposed to be great computer geniuses and hackers by winging terminology out of the index of computers 101 textbook, but all they did was go a generic chat roulette. Makes me think my little cousin could be a hacker if randomly talking to strangers is all it takes. The classroom scenes were the best part of the film, but I feel the professor was wasted on this film. I would not recommend this film to anyone. Watch Scream, Hackers(if you want a che-ezy hacker movie) or you-tube if you want to see a bunch of weird ideas. Avoid this and do not even mention it to friends in case they get curious like I was if its as bad as it sounds.... Full Review »