Snatch.

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Guy Ritchie's highly anticipated comedy features a colorful ensemble cast in a rollicking ride through London's gangster world, its bustling diamond district and a rowdy gypsy camp. (Columbia Tristar)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 5 out of 31
  1. 89
    Snatch is nothing if not watchable: It has the insane, popcorn rhythms of a Road Runner cartoon, and for that reason alone it's a minor masterpiece.
  2. Another whirling crime caper that leaves you shocked and chuckling at the same time.
  3. 75
    Snatch is admittedly superficial, if not downright disposable. More importantly, though, the movie is also fantastic, cheeky fun.
  4. Since the main reason I go to movies is to engage with characters, I prefer "The Pledge," the film opening today by Madonna's first husband, Sean Penn, rather than this stylish fluff by her second spouse.
  5. Mr. Ritchie is back with more of the same in his second feature, a comedy called "Snatch" that's a sort of lethal pinball machine in which even more picturesque characters bounce from pillage to post.
  6. Guy Ritchie's second feature, is a faux tough caper modeled lock, stock, kit, and caboodle on his earlier film ''Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels.''
  7. 20
    For those who care, Madonna has found her match in Guy Ritchie, whose absence of talent when it comes to the film medium is equal to her own.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 78
  2. Negative: 3 out of 78
  1. MitchA.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Humorous, witty, clever, and action-packed...what more can one ask for?
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    i love this movie...Jason Statham and Brad Pitt are great, excellent movie...just like Lock, Stock...and even a bit better.I like ,,dawgs"i love this movie...Jason Statham and Brad Pitt are great, excellent movie...just like Lock, Stock...and even a bit better.I like ,,dawgs" ,,caravans" all of it. Expand
  3. NickR.
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    My all-time favorite film. Amazing in every area.
  4. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    Not for kids or squeamish stomachs but we'll done. Ferris Beuller mixed with fight club and a twist or ten. Hard to call such violenceNot for kids or squeamish stomachs but we'll done. Ferris Beuller mixed with fight club and a twist or ten. Hard to call such violence entertaining but I was hooked till the end and was not disappointed. NOT FOR KIDS. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    It's a solid 8 or 9 depending on how you feel about the contrast between the very funny humor and the very violent crime that takes place.It's a solid 8 or 9 depending on how you feel about the contrast between the very funny humor and the very violent crime that takes place. Definitely feels like the spiritual successor to lock stock, with a little more polish and star power. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    Loved it! Alan Ford's performance should be all the reason you need to see this. I'm not usually a fan of Ritche's work, with SherlockLoved it! Alan Ford's performance should be all the reason you need to see this. I'm not usually a fan of Ritche's work, with Sherlock Holmes being an exception, but this movie hooked me from the very beginning and never let go. Brad Pitt is terrific, even if you can't understand 95% of what he says. Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2013
    2
    An atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard timeAn atrocious comedic drama which glamorizes criminal activity, violence, and almost mind-numbingly pervasive profanity...I had a hard time finishing it. Rest assured that your potential for gaining new insight or finding life-enriching meaning of any kind is slim to none; you definitely will not be uplifted. Even just measuring it in terms of simple entertainment value, its wit humor don't come close to compensating for its violence. The kinds of flashy bloodshed and theatrical cruelty which are found in films like Snatch desensitize fragile minds and corrode morals in a way that, yes, does in fact facilitate real-world violence. Brief example: the film's analysis of the efficiencies of pig farms for human corpse disposal some people inevitably walked away reflecting on the strengths weaknesses of different corpse disposal methods...a topic in which they would not have otherwise invested mental energy. I just wish we could have more honest conversations with ourselves and each other about the impact the media to which we expose ourselves has on us individually, and on those among us who are most malleable. Not to be preachy, but that there is any real market for this movie ought to be unsettling to those of us who value human life; this film almost entirely implies that it is worthless. Watch something else...there is plenty of better out there to be seen. Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Guy Ritchie

    All Films Considered: Guy Ritchie Image
    Published: December 21, 2009
    With Sherlock Holmes opening on Friday, we take the opportunity to get swept away by the previous films directed by Guy Ritchie. The results are not pretty.