User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 473

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    My wife had eagerly awaited this movie for months, being a huge fan of the Twilight and Thor movies, and so, on opening day, I was drug to see it on the big screen. After the viewing, I'm going to go with a "not bad". It was an interesting twist on an old classic set within an alluring world of magic. Some of the movie lasted a little too long for my taste and the queen's past motivations were not truly needed, but, that said, one could do a lot worst with a summer blockbuster. Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    1
    I had zero expectation going into Snow White and the Huntsman and yet it failed to even meet basic expectations like making any sense or being just entertaining. The script is just incredibly clumsy with characters teleporting from one place to another instantaneously for the convenience of the plot, the dialog is very basic, the characters are also very bland, and the pacing is particularly atrocious (what's up with movies nowadays lasting 2 hours and there's nothing going on for half an hour often time?). And what about the acting, oh my... Theron starts off great, her character seems vicious and menacing, but she quickly falls apart as she starts yelling in every scene she's in; yelling isn't scary it shows the character is powerless, the most scary villains are the ones that don't need to say a word to inspire fear (like Vader in ep IV during the duel with Luke). Stewart is equally terrible but unlike Theron it's because she's so amazingly stiff, she has absolutely no range in this movie, when her character is happy, or scared, or sad, she always has the same freaking face; it's so ridiculous that they had to put fake tears in her eyes in some scenes to show that yes she is indeed sad or you wouldn't know based on her face, just ridiculous. Hemsworth isn't any better either, his character is very shallow, the best I can think of to describe him would be a failed Han Solo, a kind of scoundrel that gets better as the movie progresses, only done much more clumsily. All I can say is congratulation to the people who worked on the costumes and the CGI, because that's the only good thing you can say about this movie, yes it looks absolutely gorgeous, but it's not enough to carry a bad movie anymore and I'm not sure it ever was to begin with. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. to tell you the truth, i actually really liked the movie it had great acting and visual presentation , but idiotic logic like a horse appearing out of no where for her to ride, but kristen stewart impressed me and so did charlize theron they really should get nominated for a best actress award in THIS movie because kristen impressed me as she showed some emotion which gave me a smile, but the dwarfs could have been a little more entertaining and kristen lost her emotion at the end of the movie as she looked like she was having an orgasm as the crown lay on her head. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    5
    In all honesty this movie was a let down, though the strange plot may keep you watching and Kristen Stewart's well done change of roles leaving you stunned. You will without doubt notice the huge plot holes which ruin the whole movie experience. Most adults will notice these flaws, kids will without doubt miss them. Which means only kids can truly enjoy this movie, which is a shame seeing how dark it can be. All together I'd recommend it to the small minded. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The problem of Snow White for me it was Snow White. I mean, if you get an average actress and put it her with over-the-top actors, all her flaws will come to be evident. That's what happen with Kirsten.
  6. Jun 10, 2012
    6
    I have to give this film a pass. Charlize Theron and Chris Hemsworth were very good. Kristen Stewart was passable, but she does tend to have a pouty, mean look on her face most of the movie. I'm trying to remember if I ever saw her smile. I liked that the film kept a very dark, violent tone throughout. There weren't any slow moments for me, but the movie is very predictable from scene to scene. The CGI throughout was very good. The Troll, Dwarfs, and Pixies in particular looked great. The mirror had the voice of Darth Vader which was pretty jarring. The dwarfs were apparently played by average sized people as I recognized Ian McShane and Bob Hoskins, but they did a great job of making them look the part. I would have rated the film higher, but it did have two of my biggest pet peeves. 1. Many characters have a heavy accent making them hard to understand. 2. Every battle scene had the dreaded moving camera so you couldn't see what was happening. I have gotten to the point where I don't even watch when they apply this technique. This film was much better than the dreadful "Mirror Mirror" from earlier this year. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    Despite the uneven pacing, which was quite significant, this film is actually very good. It is dark and menacing - but that's what it's supposed to be. Considering the feature length animation around the 30's or 40's was not supposed to be a blissful fairytale, the recreation of this famous tale is exquisitely well acted and accurately portrayed. Some elements of the film were quite disturbing, but the light-heartedness of the dwarves helped to provide a few laughs and the sweetness of the music and especially the scenery of the Sanctuary added a bit more spirit to the mixture. Also, Kristen Stewart has a very notable role in this film despite her criticism for her role in the Twilight films. Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    Just not very good, really do not understand all the hype. It appears to me that the reason that you have all the advertising etc is to attempt to make up the money speant on the development of this film.
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great gothic scenes in the mysterious, dark forest mix up with some dull moments in a cartoonish, Narnia-style Sanctuary and literally epitomize the movie's positive and negative aspects. A great idea of bringing to the cinema an adult representation of the classic fairy tale is marred by indecisions about whether this film should appeal more to the adults or to the younger audience. It has some very good elements, above all a stunning Charlize Theron as bad queen Ravenna, some music and atmospheric special effects (the forest, the mirror). At the same time, the acting of other characters (except for the dwarves) is unconvincing, marred by the same undecision, while many scenes are literally copied from other movies: the final charge on the beach (Ridley Scott's Robin Hood), the Sanctuary (Narnia), gothic villages (Solomon Kane), the representation of the dwarves (Lord of the Rings) or even the troll (Pan's Labyrinth). Finally, the plot lacks some deeper insights, offering only some generic explanation of the motivations of the protagonists (why is the huntsman drinking so much? why is Snow White not surprised at all by the charm she has suffered? why everyone wants to go to a war after her speech, if no one wanted to do that for the past 20 years? why is Ravenna's motivation to kill and destroy so badly explained and neglected?), as well as mixing very nice action scenes with lengthy, dull and unconvincing moments that force you to put matches into your eyes to keep them open.. Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    Overall, Chris Hemsworth and Charlize Theron do an excellent job with their roles, and the CGI is exceptional. Sadly, Kristen Stewart's acting (contrary to a lot of the claims here), is nothign short of disinteresting. A good test of fantasy works is suspension of disbelief: during all of Ms. Stewarts scenes, I found myself exposed to the flaws in both the plot and the structure of the scenes. Wooden and unconvincing is only the gateway to describing her: however, the scenes are gorgeous and both Hemsworth and Theron are exceptional in their roles, and really do nail each moment of them. I look at this as a scene that is several well respected actors trying to lend some credibility to a younger cast and see if they can ascend to a higher pantheon of acting. For Kristen Stewart and the actor who plays the son of a duke, I found myself utterly disappointed. For Chris Hemsworth, I hope he continues to get more roles from his performance Expand
  11. Jun 9, 2012
    4
    A hokey, boring, unnecessary film. The story is nothing new but told for a vis-effects generation, which sacrifices any clever plot devices. In a summer where board games are getting big screen adaptations, it's no surprise to see not 1, but 2 Snow White adaptations - both taken any polar directions - but neither adding anything worthy of a 2-hour time investment. To know that a sequel is in the works is almost as no surprise as the its ending. Don't eat the apple. Expand
  12. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    I enjoyed this movie. It was a little bit dark, a bit fantasy and had good actors in it. The story line was nice and it kept my attention the whole movie. Not boring at all. A lot of action and some weird interesting effects. My husband thought it looked boring from the previews and dumb but when we saw it he admitted he was wrong and he liked it as well. I definitely recommend this movie to everyone. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    i think this movie is just running a typical hollywood formula, and they twisted everything to fit into it. the pace of this movie is very odd. and i dont know if it is the director trying to give some room for the viewers to think or feel for charactors, but it really gets boring. all actors in this movie did deliver their work. buut if u do not care about the raising stars, dont buy tickets. and there is one thing i typically doesnt like about this movie is they use 3/4 of time to emphasize how snow white has a pure heart, but ends up with a sword start killing people with a lots of hate. Expand
  14. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    I started out thinking I could get into it if it kept getting better, but by the third act this movie becomes so boring that I didn't even care what would happen anymore.
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Just back from "Snow White And The Huntsmen". It was fine and I did enjoy it as it surprised me how dark it was for a 12a. Great special effects and a really beautiful movie and I mean "Middle Earth" beautiful, even without 3D. Charlize Theron, Chris Hemsworth and the brilliantly cast dwarves are all great. However the one downside (and its a big one) is Kristen Stewart. She just has one expression and isn't believable in the action scenes. Worth a watch but not for young kids. Expand
  16. Jun 8, 2012
    5
    Great cinematography, great scenes, set, casting, battle scenes, special effects.... all spoilt by one thing: Kirsten Stewart!
    OK, there are a few flaw in the plot, like how someone who has been imprisoned between the age of about 10 to 18 can ride and fight, but I suppose it does explain some of her complete lack of ability to act and speak like a normal person. What a shame from an
    otherwise excellent movie. Expand
  17. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I just saw this movie and I loved it!!!!! I was not a fan of Kristen Stewarts before but I have to admit I was completely wrong!!! She has a lot of acting talent and I was very impressed with her here.
  18. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Overall a very good adaptation. I was surprised at how much they did with a limited story. They could perhaps have pushed it a little further but I was happy with the result.
  19. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Chris Hemsworth, Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were all fantastic in this movie! They played their roles perfectly. I love that they had slight twists and tweeks to the story without completely changing it.
  20. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Snow White was recommended to me by a friend as I was not going to see it. I am so glad she talked some sense in to me as I was completely entertained and enjoyed it very much!
  21. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Very good movie with solid performance from the main cast. They did a lot more with the limited story than I thought they could actually. I've got to give credit where it is due and it certainly is here.
  22. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Surprisingly I loved this movie and I was not expecting to! I loved the action and visuals and I was very impressed with the cast! Kristen Stewart and Chris Hemsworth especially impressed me. They are far more than Bella and Thor!
  23. Jun 7, 2012
    0
    First time I've ever walked out if a movie. Snuck into MIB3 and watched the last half of it without 3D glasses. Gave me a headache. No regrets. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  24. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    i loved the twist they've made, i loved the characters and ...and.... to be honest i loved everything in the movie , i watched it twice and i would do it again if i have the time :D
  25. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was an alright action-ish movie. The visuals were good in a lot of places and the Queen was a great character, but the movie seemed a bit lost with what is was trying to do. Characters and their motivations were never really developed well and I ended up not really caring what happens. There some moments that just made me wonder if there were really important. For example, when Snow White meets that huge antlered deer, it was apparently a big deal. The problem is that we are told it's a big deal with out actually seeing why. Snow White apparently has some sort of healing powers or is "life itself" which is great because that's the complete opposite of what the Queen represents, but Snow White never demonstrates her ability. It would be better thematically to have had Snow White lead an army of nature oriented creatures and men to fight against the Queen with her dark and sharp monsters. It would have made more sense and made Snow White look more important.The acting was alright in most places, especially the Queen, but there were a few pretty corny speeches. Overall the movie had a pretty good concept and executed it's visuals well, but failed to develop the story properly for me to be invested in the characters and the outcome. Expand
  26. Jun 6, 2012
    5
    After experiencing the light hearted family take on the fairy tale Snow White with â
  27. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    The movie itself is beautiful. But everything else itself is a fail. Wooden acting, lazy storytelling and predictable plot twists all mar what could have been a much better film. The talented cast (mostly) deserve better.
  28. Jun 5, 2012
    6
    At least 15 minutes too long, with a poor star performance (Theron) and merely adequate turns from Stewart and Hemsworth, this film took itself rather too seriously. Certainly, it looked great, and the dwarfs were fun, but it did not offer much that was memorable or interesting.
  29. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Snow White in the Huntsman is probably my favorite movie so far this year. It has a good deal of action without being an action movie. The dialogue between characters is great. Kristen Stewart was actually tolerable and turned in a great performance. Chris Hemsworth did a fantastic job, channeling his inner Thor a little bit. Charlize Theron stole the show as the Evil Queen Ravanna. This is a very interesting take on the child's story of Snow White. Never could I have imagined a take on it like this. The only problem with the movie is it doesn't quite know what kind of movie it wants to be Fantasy fits it best, but it is surprisingly realistic. Action doesn't fit because the film isn't teeming with action scenes, but the ones in it are excellent. Comedy doesn't apply at all, but the scenes with the 7 dwarves are hilarious. My favorite thing about the film is that it has all the classic Snow White lore (7 dwarves, Poison Apple, a kiss from her true love will wake her), but it doesn't shove it down your throat. It happens very naturally. Very good movie. I'd see it multiple more times, and perhaps buy it on blu-ray. Expand
  30. Jun 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There were a few problems in this movie, but I generally liked it. It was definitely a dark story, much closer to the original fairy tale than the Disney version. I'm not really a fan of Kristen Stewart, but I thought she did a fantastic job. All of the actors did, really, but her performance was the one that shocked me. The effects were amazing, and the world was very well put together. I have to admit, there were a few scenes (fairies showing up, and magical animals) that made me groan and say "Ah man, here we go" but they were short-lived and relatively sparse. Overall, if you are able to turn off your realism filter and don't vehemently hate fantasy movies, then you should enjoy this. There are plenty of battles, adult subject-matter, and interesting actors. The movie does feel a little long, though, and they didn't do much to cover why the queen didn't just kill Snow White in the first place. If you pay attention, you'll understand why, but some people might miss it. Expand
  31. Jun 5, 2012
    5
    Snow White and The Huntsman is creative with it's visuals and in the recreation of the original storyline but is also very empty and lacks depth. The entire movie has a very "flat-line" feeling to it with no real spikes or surprises. It's not bad but it never really gets very exciting either. The only character who stands out is The Evil Queen (Charlize Theron) while most the other characters stroll through their roles. I was really hoping for more from The Huntsman but again the characters and the storyline lacked depth. If you want to see creativity then watch this movie but don't be surprised when you walk out with a hollow feeling. Expand
  32. Jun 5, 2012
    4
    Maybe Snow White and the Huntsman looks promising for dark fairy tale entry, but it's undone by uneven acting, problematic pacing, and a confused script.
  33. Jun 5, 2012
    5
    Man was this movie average. Kristen Stewart is not right for this part, Hemsworth didn't pull it off. I like Hemsworth too so I am going to chalk that up to bad writing. I liked the world and how it was shot but you need some acting and a consistent story. Maybe a little comedy, just a little. The queen was the best part of the movie.
  34. Jun 5, 2012
    7
    This dark version of the classic tale stars Charlize Theron as the powerful and creepy queen. She gets her enduring power from the blood of beautiful women and Kristen Stewart is the most beautiful. A coarse hunter (Chris Hemsworth) is enlisted to do the dirty work. This is a visually sumptuous film that starts with ominous, potent storytelling. By the middle, the pacing bogs down with too much drama and romance, but it manages to work it's way back by the end. Theron is formidable, but Stewart is pretty flat. Despite the flaws, this film is full of rich and inventive imagery. Expand
  35. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    What a movie!!! Most elements in this movie came together very nicely! The visuals, the acting, the director, the story. The only slight problem I had was that it was a little bit too long.
  36. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I was actually very impressed with this movie. I think it deserves higher scores form critics as far worse movies have been reviewed more kindly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  37. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I agree with a lot of the comments here! The movie was so much better than one would think and Kristen Stewart is a far better actress than one gives her credit for!
  38. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I loved it! Though Charlize and Kristen were fantastic! Chalrize was wonderfully wicked and Kristen was innocently inspiring! Fantastic movie! Well done all!
  39. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    A wonderful movie with so many positives to point out. The actors did a great job and have great chemistry together. The director created a wonderful and unique World. The visuals are sharp and innovative. The story is nicely fleshed out.
  40. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I was dragged to this movie by my girlfriend and I thought I would hate it!! But I was wrong. It is actually a very nice piece of work and a very enjoyable movie. I would recommend it.
  41. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I am very surprised at how well Kristen Stewart and Chris Hemsworth did in this movie! Fair play to them...they have earned a new fan! They were badass in this movie!
  42. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Great movie! So much better than any other Grimm adaptation attempt! This one actually works!!! Rupert Sanders did a wonderful job with this old tale. The story has been reinvented but still holds true to the fundamental lesson of skin deep beauty.
  43. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    I thought all the actors did a great job! Kristen, Charlize, Sam and Chris were all on top form! It was nice to see Kristen not be Bella and it was nice to see Chris not be Thor! They can do so much more!
  44. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Fantastic movie!!! I was not expecting it to be so good but I have to admit I was wrong!! Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were beautiful and very strong acting from both!
  45. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    This movie is very good and worth every penny. It was very well adapted and liked the fact that some things change. It has good effects, a story very accessible and very interesting, we holds the principle to an end. The cast is perfect, the longevity of the film very good, and the question is: Is it deserved note 57 of the film have? Obviously not. So it seems like a bad joke. It is an excellent movie in all aspects and highly recommended. Expand
  46. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    If you're looking for a dark and realistic retelling of a fairy tale, this isn't it. This movie is a real snoozer and most definitely isn't a serious movie for serious people.

    I've really developed a strong dislike for Charlize Theron after watching her on The Colbert Report and in seeing some preview scenes from Prometheus, and now this travesty of a movie. She's one dimensional and
    boring and has none of the gravitas of say Cate Blanchett as Galadriel. Kristen Stewart looks great but hardly has any lines. She gives one spirited pre-battle speech that seemed entirely out of character and had my eyes glazing over. Other than that, her "acting" consists of looking good.

    So, overall, just terrible. Avoid.
    Expand
  47. Jun 4, 2012
    0
    I don't usually fall asleep during movies, actually I don't think I ever have, but I have fell asleep while watching this movie "Snow White and the Huntsman". It's that boring. Snow White Kristen Stewart continues her emotionless "acting" that puts me to sleep. The dwarfs mumbles so much I can't make out what they are saying. The huntsman was OK, but I can't help but see him as ... Thor with an axe, this is probably my fault as I have just recently seen Thor and Avenger.

    The only thing worth seeing in this movie, was Charlize Theron, she is perfect. Her face, her look and her acting, is so perfect, that I end up rooting for the Queen from the start.
    Expand
  48. Jun 4, 2012
    4
    Better than it has a right to be, this movie's watchability hinges entirely on your opinion of Kristen Stewart. She walks through this movie just like Twilight, which is to say she can not act. She alternates between taking deep breathes (which is her happy look, maybe?) and a confused/constipated look. Most laughably when she is supposed to be giving an inspirational speech, but either whispers or yells, and the whole thing seems like chunks of it were cut out, presumably because she was somehow worse in her delivery. Everyone else is fine, I guess, with only Charlize Theron really going for it (and doing pretty well, I guess). Expand
  49. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This wasn't a perfect film, but most every movie isn't. Snow white and the Huntsman was definitely worth the admission. It had a few cheesy lines and cliche moments, just a couple flaws in the writing, but overally this was a very entertaining film. In my opinion Kristin Stewart wasn't the star of this film although shes the title character. Charlize Theron made this movie what it was. At times this film was bone-chilling due to Theron's perfect job at portraying the evil Queen. She did an amazing job and she made the film. Kristin Stewart was ok. I'm not a Stewart fan by any means, she just seems like a wooden actress, shes good when her job involves doing nothing, but when it comes to big acting moments she just doesn't shine like she should. Chris Hemsworth was funny, tough, and bada$$. The biggest thing i loved about this film was the perfect balance between action, story, and chracter development. It was veryyy well done, and the story was great overall. Speaking of the action, it was pulse-pounding and very entertaining, obviously centered around Hemsworth. The special effects were beautiful. Gorgeous visuals throughout the film. Overall Snow White and the Huntsmen was fun, action packed, beautiful, and it delivers exactly what you are looking for when you go to the theater, entertainment. 7.5/10 Worth the admission. Expand
  50. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    Going into this without many expectations (except of Charlize Theron), I was kind of validated at the end. The storyline is decent for what the original story is and it is not as predictable as I thought it'd be. The ending, however, is rather silly, especially the romance part of it. For one, there is ZERO chemistry between the lead actors, which makes the whole romance bit rather weak. To give the film due credit, it never really rests on the romance until the very end, and that's where it heavily fails. Also, the way the witch-queen is defeated is EXTREMELY disappointing. Theron was rather good as the evil witch-queen, but her character was slightly over-reactive and over-the top at the very beginning. She is still, however, by far the best thing in the film. The music and production design are also very good, but that's where the good stuff ends. Hemsworth and Stewart were mediocre at best, and it was quite nice to see Stewart actually smiling a few times. Didn't think she had it in her, but she managed. That being said, she was sorely miscast for the film. She just is not that beautiful, and the whole time I kept on asking myself "Really, would Charlize be jealous/threatened by Kristen" and the answer was always a defying NO. So, that made no sense to me with the casting. Overall, though, the film was entertaining. I didn't really lose interest in it at any point, but there was nothing new or refreshing that the film brought, except another good performance by Theron. She was definitely the best thing about the film, and after a few months, probably the only thing I will retain from it. Expand
  51. Jun 3, 2012
    2
    the digital effects are indeed beautiful and the landscape is incredible, however, Stewart's horrible acting and he "beauty" consists of keeping a poker face the entire movie and when she tries to sound inspiring she randomly yells. Terrible, slow-paced then randomly fast paced script. It was just bad
  52. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    Just to get this out of the way, Charlize Theron carried this entire movie. Kirsten Stewart does what she does best, as the background wallflower. The movie suffers a lot from a really weak script and the directing shows that rather too clearly. What could be a nice wrapped package becomes rather confusing with the introduction of characters that made not a lot of sense and didn't add to the storyline. If you removed said characters it would affect absolutely zero to the drama. Namely, Snow White's childhood/maybeloveinterest William whose being in the show makes zero impact to the storyline. Then the squandered opportunities like the Troll, which again added zero value to the story. Why introduce the Troll if you're not going to use it as an ally in the ending? Just to show that Snow White is connected to Mother Nature? In fact that whole 'Green' Snow White is literally pounded into you throughout half the movie, which incidentally is where the movie actually starts. For the first 30 minutes you're treated to a rather interesting background story which one wold say was the better half. In fact, the first part of the story made for a better script than the actual Movie itself.

    Finally we have Chris Hemsworth, he was great in that tiny role in Star Trek, fantastic in Cabin in the Woods great in Thor. But even the best actors can't do much with a weak script and an even weaker character. At least he's there for a reason. In fact he has almost nothing to say and do once he brings Snow White to the Duke's Castle. Seriously? For a Movie call Snow White and the huntsman, he appears only in half the movie and has nothing to do in the last quarter of the movie.

    This movie is a terrible miscarriage of what could have been and what we eventually got. It'll have been a more interesting movie if Snow White stayed in the background (Kirsten Stewart doing what Kirsten Stewart does best) and the focus on the Evil Queen instead.
    Expand
  53. Jun 3, 2012
    7
    Is there anyone out there who doesn't know this story? No. The enchanted forest of fairies and the evil dark woods are easily my favorite parts of this film ... that and (sniff) wait... (snifffff!) wait.... TROLL! Kristen Stewart is forever the Twilight girl, and Charlize is really wicked. Ending a bit lame, movie a bit long in spots, but otherwise a fun interpretation of Snow White and the Seven... uh, wait a minute, let me recount... Expand
  54. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Great movie for all ages. Well put together, costumes acting and scenes where fanatic. It was better than I expected it to be. It was better than the original snow white. A must see.
  55. Jun 3, 2012
    4
    Seriously not as bad as some people are making it out to be. True Kristen Stewart basically sucks out all the life (much like the far superior character Ravenna) from the movie, whenever sheâ
  56. AKH
    Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Due to mediocre reviews, I was not expecting much, so what a surprise when what I saw turned out to be one of the best movies I have seen this year. A visual spectacle, with some brilliant performances, this really should be experienced on the big screen.
  57. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    Even that I'm not a fan of fairytale but this adoption is simply great. It has exciting moment that keep the thrill. The main drawback of the movie is that the acting has its weak points which is probably do to the choose of actors and actresses. Also the movie wasn't written as well. Overall I would say it can be a good movie for a weekend cinema time.
  58. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Visually stunning but emotionally vacant, "Snow White and the Huntsman" is a feast for the eyes but a famine for the soul. There is very little here to care about. Those familiar with the Disney cartoon will have an idea of what's going to happen and the script offers very few surprises to liven the story. It takes quite a while to rev up after a fairly interesting beginning. The chase through the Dark Forest and an encounter with a village of scarred women and children seems to drag on for quite a long time. The two hour running time could easily have been trimmed by at least 15 minutes and increased the film's energy level. That might have made the well-worn story more interesting. As it is, the audience marvels at the costumes, landscapes and mythical creatures but wonders whether their might be something more interesting happening on the next screen of the multiplex. Theron, Hemsworth and yes, even Stewart do an excellent to adequate job in the acting department and the team of dwarfs steal every scene they're in; but the script is in dire need of one of Ravenna's rejuvenation spells. Expand
  59. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Kristen Stewart proves here that she can do so much more than just Bella Swan! Charlize Theron was wonderfully wicked also! I loved the movie. It was enjoyable and intense without ever being uncomfortable!
  60. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Very impressive debut from Rupert Sanders. Beautiful scenery and beautiful cast. The best Grimm adaptation I have seen. Think it deserved a bit more love from certain critics actually.
  61. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    The only problem I had with this movie was that it was slightly too long! I was blown away by Ms Stewart and Ms Theron and Chris Hemsworth was surprisingly impressive too.
  62. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I went to see this movie after all the positive word of mouth and I have to say I really enjoyed it !! Very glad I gave it a chance and would recommend others do too!
  63. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Pretty awesome movie! Deserves a lot more credit than it is getting!! Rupert Sanders did a fantastic job of making a pretty simple story feel big! The actors were really very good too.
  64. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Wayyyyy better than I was expecting!!!!!!!!! I did not think Kristen Stewart especially could pull this off but I will admit I was completely wrong!! She played this part admirably and really made me believe in her as an actress!
  65. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Charlize Theron and Kristen Stewart were amazing in this movie!! They were the perfect two sides of the one coin! Very enjoyable movie overall! Go see it!!!!
  66. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Wonderful movie! So much better than I was expecting!!!!! The camera work, the scenery, the music, the story, the characters and the acting all came together to make a fantastic action movie that is family friendly!
  67. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I loved Kristen, Charlize, Chris and Sam as well as the supporting characters! Very well done. The visuals are also stunning and the sets are wonderful.
  68. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Beautifully shot and very convincingly acted! Really enjoyed this take on the tale......so much better than previous attempts at adapting fairytales! I highly commend and recommend!
  69. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    I loved the movie! Kristen Stewart and Charlize Theron were amazing! BTW, all the cast is! A very beautiful and well craft movie! It has its flaws on the script (a better constructed antagonists than the protagonists characters. If you didn't see any Kristen's interviews you can not almost understand Snow White character, her magic and why something happen after her scape.) and in the editing (some well craft scenes lost some impact and intensity because it), but over all it gave me a heel of good time! Exceeded my expectations! Expand
  70. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Kristen Stewart is unconvincing in her role as Snow White, in terms of both acting and appearance (fairer than the Charlize Theron? Yeah right.) This film is nowhere near as epic as it pretends to be.
  71. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Overall, I was more impressed than I thought I would be. The battle scenes were convincing, Charlize Theron was terrifying, and Kristen Stewart may have a career outside of the Twilight franchise after all.
  72. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    This was an uneven film. It generated wonder and boredom. The story telling was clunky. The CGI and imagination of many of the scenes were incredible. A movie has lost me as a viewer when I no longer can suspend my disbelief and begin to question the logic and rationale of the storytelling; that's what happened here. There were some great parts and I loved the re-imagining of the old story. Brilliant what they did with the 7 dwarfs. The scenery was great. By the last 10 minutes I was so disinterested in the story itself that I walked out, which about 5 people had done before me throughout the movie. Expand
  73. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I loved this movie!!! It had a good pace and plot. And I find it odd that people are giving this move negative reviews because plot is predictable or "flat". It should be predictable this story has been around for centuries. If you don't know that snow white gets poisoned by an apple then you have been living on mars. The user reviews on here thus far is not accurate at all. There is a guy saying that Viggo Mortensen is good in the role of the huntsmen. But last Time i checked the huntsmen is played by Chris Hemsworth the guy from thor, Not the guy from the lord of the rings. But all of that aside it was a great movie and has a very dark and twisted nature in it. And people said that the characters had no depth well in the old grimm stories the characters where a little vague. They where not deep and dynamic characters that you find in books today. If you like dark stories then you will love this movie!!!!! Go watch NOW!!!! Expand
  74. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Snow White and the Huntsman had such potential. Potential that was so very wasted. Going into this movie from the beginning there are a handful of things that just leave you dumbfounded. The idea that Snow White(Stewart) is more beautiful than the Queen(Theron) is absolutely ridiculous. In comparison to the Queen, Snow had not one redeeming feature. Which may seem odd since the ENTIRE film is based on the premise that Snow is the fairest of them all. As a whole Stewart did a better job this time around; however, not by much. Her greatest feat the entire movie was to look absolutely confused. Which considering how they attempted to portray White(an innocent child) feels rather natural. The Huntsman played by Helmsworth was at times humorous; however his lasting feature was his ability to play a drunken brute with not much depth. It was hard for me to feel sorry for a great big oaf that just enjoyed smashing things with his axe and act as a quiet guardian. As for Charlize Theron, absolutely terrific. She is the one actor that absolutely shined through the absolute, gray, monotonous acting you can find throughout this film. I found myself wanting to see more of the madness that was The Queen and less about a dull Snow White with no character. By the end of the movie you began to feel more emotional attachment to Ravenna, the misunderstood heroine. Which seems really out of place and yet there is no one to blame except for maybe the writers. Unless this was their main focus the entire movie. Throughout the entire movie there were little things that would really make you turn your head with confusion. Things that distracted you from the movie and onto the little things that honestly just didn't make any sense. All the plot devices are just plot conveniences, it's just lazy writing.

    ***Spoiler Alert***: Firstly, You really want me to believe that being locked in a cell for the better part of 10 years from the age of 8 to 18 is going to create a fully functioning young lady with no social difficulties, mental stability, psychosis. Nothing? She hops on out of the cell perfectly fine, with nothing affecting her. No malnourishment, weakness NOTHING.Secondly Living in a cell I would find that I had a long time to myself. Why then did she only just discover the nail outside her window moments before it became convenient for her. That is only creating a convenient conflict to progress the story, which in my opinion is just terrible writing. Immediately following her escape she just happens to stumble onto a beautiful and majestic horse just lying out in the sun. Again incredibly convenient for her, in her escape from an entire castle filled with muscular, athletic men. This is all in just a few minutes of the start of the movie and there are plenty of other examples of bad writing or bad directing.***Spoiler Alert Over*** Sadly Charlize Theron and the great animation, cgi, and a visually appealing movie doesn't make a good film. All the plot devices are just plot conveniences, it's just lazy writing. It really takes away from an average film.
    Expand
  75. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    The visual effects are stunning, and Charlize Theron is her usual brilliant self, but the rest of the film seemed a bit stale to me. Kristen Stewie is not worthy of the mantle of "Fairest in the Land." She's not ugly by any means, but seriously falls short of Charlize. Stewie might do well in a ninth grade theater production, but she struggles terribly on the big screen. Watch this one dvd, illegally download it, or skip it all together. Don't pay too much to watch this mediocre fairytale that has been speckled with a few brief shining moments. Expand
  76. Jun 1, 2012
    4
    I really wanted this movie to be good since I am a fan of fantasy movies (when done right) and I love the old Disney movies. But this one, like Alice in Wonderland, had great visuals but lacked a good story and good characters. Charlize Theron was very good as the Evil Queen, so much so that I was kind of rooting for her to defeat Snow White. But the rest of the cast just couldn't pull it off. Granted they didn't have much to work with seeing as the story was so rushed and fragmented. I might have liked Kristen Stewart's performance if she could just learn to close her mouth once in a while, instead of looking like she's perpetually on the verge of puking. And then the climax of the movie just comes out of no where and features a hilariously over the top pep talk that K Stew gives to the soldiers. Not to mention the fact that the last scene following the battle leaves so much unanswered. Overall, it was pretty bad. But if you want to see some impressive visuals, or if you're in love with Charlize Theron, you might just like this. Expand
  77. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    I will start with the main course: Charlize Theron, Oscar nomination please! his performance was incredible, masterful, his eyes struck, passed all the witch felt, that was the best! as clear that his good soundtrack, spectacular special effects, the picture was very good, so the movie was in all its flavor. Kirstin Stewart Nothing more! the role he was too big, not I bring nothing, Charlize ate!
  78. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    I didn't think the movie was the greatest, but I wanted to give it a 7.5 and a 7 would have been just plain mean. The stuff that will bother the audience the most is the wierd Luke Leia stuff that happens a couple times. The acting isn't entirely Kristen's fault. You can tell there are parts where the director is too stubborn to allow the actors to change the lines when they don't fit. Kristen had some horrible parts, but seeing that Charlize, being one of the best female actress there are these days, still had difficulty pulling off some lines you can tell that the dialogue wasn't really all the actors/actresses faults. It feels like they put a ton of quality into every scene, then last five minutes they decided they didn't care anymore and wrapped things up rather poorly even hanging on what happens next. Raises questions, what happens to Thor and Bella, do they get together, do they not? One thing that I believe most would agree, Kristen Stewart and Chris Hemsworth need to do a romantic comedy together. Unfortunately for Kristen, she always seems to get stuck with skinny nerds, or really insecure boys(men I guess? just no balls). Hemsworth's confidence is hysterical and more of a good match for an attractive girl like Kristen who would want a man with skill and confidence that's fun. I still think this is worth watching in the theaters if you want to get out of the house because it's a little better than a rental. Expand
  79. Jun 1, 2012
    5
    Snow White and the Huntsman turned out to be an unfortunate disappointment. It had its moments---the troll was absolutely fantastic, but its appearance in the movie struck me as being remarkably short---but this film was uneven throughout on every level. It only measured up to the high expectations created by the trailer a handful of times. Certainly not enough times to engage the restless audience attending the feature I saw. Throughout the movie noticeable numbers of individuals were leaving their seats for one reason or another. That just doesn't happen at a good film. Expand
  80. Jun 1, 2012
    2
    This is a horrible movie that is visually stunning but that's it. If the director put more into the acting and the writing was better it would have a better chance but still fall short. Kristen Stewart has no business being in this movie because she's so far from being as pretty as snow white and she's just plain overrated for anything but Twilight. This is one of those movies that will leave you thinking when you leave but trying to make sense of what you just sat through. Skip it unless you like dull and boring movies with terrible writing and a poorly cast Snow White. If you loved the Once Upon a Time series on tv just stick with that because you will be disappointed. Expand
  81. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie Charlize Theron was fantastic Ian McShane , Bob Hoskins , Ray Winstone and Nick Frost were brilliant and the visual effects were amazing the story line was good all in all a really enjoyable film well worth a watch.
  82. Jun 1, 2012
    1
    Wow, a film with no expression or emotion expressed by the main character. It makes the performers in Piranha 3DD look like fine actors. Badly paced, poor performances and a bad script, but cool visual effects.
  83. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Snow White and the Huntsman, ok we meet the Snow White story, and this year we have other Snow White (in Mirror Mirror with Collins like Snow White), but this version is better than Mirror Mirror. The story have some interesting changes, that do a good version. The performances are good, but the problem is that Charlize Theron do a better job than Kristen Stewart, and if Kristen have the principal character, she need be better; Chris Hemsworth good performance. The effects are amazing, the battles are really interesting and awesome. Other problem is the next, who person think that Kristen Stewart is most beutiful than Charlize Theron? (really). Great movie, funny, interesting, can't be a classic, but is a good movie of this year, and yeas, is better than Mirror Mirror. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Tal Rosenberg
    Jun 2, 2012
    60
    The CGI effects are so slick that they undercut the movie's shock value, and the action moves too quickly to instill a real sense of fear, but this is still visually impressive, with spectacular make-up, costumes, and cinematography.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Attempts to inject a little humor via the antics of the dwarves don't work, especially since one of the little people is killed early in the proceedings. No one's going to be singing "Hi ho! Hi ho! It's off to work we go!" after that happens.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 1, 2012
    60
    It's Theron who owns this film, imbuing her deliciously depraved Queen with furious pain and deep-seated fear.