Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Sep 28, 2012
    50
    There are no laughs in Solomon Kane; the sole attempt at a joke doesn't score, but it's a bracing reminder that humor exists. Instead, Bassett and Purefoy, his charisma-impaired star, get down to the grim, colorless business of vanquishing evil in a world where it settles like a black fog.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 28, 2012
    38
    Michael J. Bassett's Solomon Kane is been there, done that.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Sep 27, 2012
    70
    Solomon Kane succeeds by embracing its identity as a straightforward genre exercise, complete with bone-crunching and blood-spurting action. By not aiming for more, it hits its target.
  4. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Sep 27, 2012
    60
    Mr. Basset is too enamored of the usual action film clichés, down to some Hollywood-gangsta gun play. But he has a graphic visual style that suits the simplistic material and he keeps you watching even as the wet, sucking sounds of skewered flesh grow tedious.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 27, 2012
    60
    Clearly set up to be the first film in a franchise. It's not a bad movie, but I wouldn't hold my breath for that.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    Sep 27, 2012
    25
    It's always raining or snowing or misting. This makes for a nice visual, but it also makes the scenes look interchangeable. This is even more of a problem because the writer-director, Michael J. Bassett, imparts no shape to the story. Many movies suffer from worse problems, but not many waste the talents of Max von Sydow, as Solomon's father, or Pete Postlethwaite.
  7. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Sep 27, 2012
    38
    The fight choreography has a gracefulness bordering on elegance, and so it's a shame that these standalone thrills aren't better integrated into the film as a fully formed narrative whole.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark Zhuravsy
    Sep 27, 2012
    75
    It's not everyone cup of bloody tea, but an unapologetic genre treat for those willing to dive in.
  9. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Sep 26, 2012
    50
    It's taken a while for Kane to make it to the big screen, maybe because fantasy barbarians and long-ago kings have more immediate appeal than pious, slouch-hat-wearing men with poor senses of humor, but Solomon Kane gives it a go anyway. The results suggest a compelling movie could be made from the material, even if it isn't this one.
  10. Reviewed by: Michael Atkinson
    Sep 25, 2012
    60
    It is, for a contemporary CGI-fraught fantasy-slash-living-video-game, not at all bad, dotted with moments of Bosch and steady on its storytelling feet.
  11. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Sep 25, 2012
    40
    In our chatty "Game of Thrones" moment, you'll thirst for a sidekick: a sly dwarf, a wisecracking female warrior, a huggable wolf, anything. Solomon Kane has none of these, and even heavyweight speechifiers like Max von Sydow and the late Pete Postlethwaite (that's how old the film is) have little to gnaw on.
  12. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Sep 24, 2012
    60
    If weapons and wizardry get your blood up, and you prefer your movies dark and brooding and minus the sandals, Solomon Kane fits the bill. It may lack The Lord Of The Rings' majesty, but Robert E. Howard fans will lap it up.
  13. Reviewed by: Phelim O\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
    Sep 24, 2012
    60
    There's plenty that's good here: a serious tone, steady ­pacing, muddy and bloody scenery and a convincing turn by Purefoy in his own west country accent. But Kane is an ill fit into the ­origins tale template; it's a story with few ­surprises.
  14. Reviewed by: Jonathan Crocker
    Sep 24, 2012
    60
    A brutal fusion of angst and action, this mini-epic gives the sword-and-sorcery genre a bleak, brusque new life. Watch it for some terrific limbchopping and a mighty turn by James Purefoy.
  15. Reviewed by: Dennis Harvey
    Sep 24, 2012
    40
    This muscular yet monotonous "Kane" just isn't much fun.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I liked it but not as much as I expected. To be honest its about as good as their previous effort, Conan. Well made with lots of action but no real soul. This movie trys to be better in that department but ultimately fails. Sure the story has potential an is somewhat interesting, A warrior who sold his soul to the devil for ultimate power flees when the devil comes to collect. He then basically becomes a pilgrim and struggles to keep himself from falling back into the life of evil. I was interested and kept waiting to see where they went with it but it goes exactly where you expect without any real suprises along the way. Along the way we are also treated to boatloads of action and limb chopping gore but its not enough to make it a really over the top awesome movie. All in all I enjoyed it but wasn't amazed. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    I am a big fan of the comics, like my dad, and this is the best, most faithful, accurate adaption we could have asked for, who would haveI am a big fan of the comics, like my dad, and this is the best, most faithful, accurate adaption we could have asked for, who would have known james purefoy could play the legendary anti-hero so well, especially after his APPALLING work on resident evil, all of the cast works well, the action is epic and old-fashioned in a great way, of course, whoever made this is a wonderful person and i hope they maintain this level of devotion in their other films :) Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    As a longtime Robert E. Howard fan, I had to see this movie. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. It was wellAs a longtime Robert E. Howard fan, I had to see this movie. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. It was well cast, well acted, convincingly set. The special effects are sparingly used to set the tone, and very well designed, the fight scenes work, the costumes are plausible.
    This movie was clearly a labor of love, and deserving of better reviews than it has sometimes gotten. But you have to judge a story based on its type. Claiming the characters lack depth is like blaming Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow for being unrealistic. I can only hope that this movie did well enough to inspire more of the same. King Kull anyone? How about Cormac MacArt?
    Full Review »