TriStar Pictures | Release Date: April 8, 2011
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 78 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
14
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
heyitsmegrif4Jul 22, 2012
Great true story it is a totally inspiring story, oh this movie may just be wonderful. It isn't, this movie has uninspiring dialogue, bad acting surprising from AnnaSophia Robb and no chemistry between its stars. I give this movie 27%.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
MorriBeyJul 10, 2011
Its the kind of movie you might watch on a sunday afternoon with Faith based commercials spanning the whole movie. The movie is weak. The acting is weak. Couldnt finish it. Can be purchased in the discount bin at your local store in a fewIts the kind of movie you might watch on a sunday afternoon with Faith based commercials spanning the whole movie. The movie is weak. The acting is weak. Couldnt finish it. Can be purchased in the discount bin at your local store in a few months time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
NicholasBuckAug 5, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched Soul Surfer with the expectation of an inspiring story of a girl overcoming a great tragedy, and i received nothing more than what seemed like a cheap, ill thought-out film about a girl who overcomes losing an arm to surf. The acting was bad. The writing and dialogue was bad. The editing and cinematography was absolutely awful. While the overall message of the movie was inspiring, I was way to distracted by the movies downfalls to care. This movie is great for anyone who doesn't care about plot or acting, or anyone under the age of 12. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
T44WAug 5, 2011
Such a shame... the real-life story is truly inspiring, but the movie is one of the poorest attempts that Hollywood as ever made to bring a true story to the big screen. The actors were good (except for Carrie Underwood, who needs to stickSuch a shame... the real-life story is truly inspiring, but the movie is one of the poorest attempts that Hollywood as ever made to bring a true story to the big screen. The actors were good (except for Carrie Underwood, who needs to stick with singing), but that's the only positive thing I can say. The story was poorly told. It's obvious that the movie makers wanted to make a movie about surfing rather than tell Bethany's story. I'm severely disappointed in this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MrAppleKinsJul 3, 2012
This film is utter garbage. From the acting, to the editing, to the dialogue, to the crap load of cliches, pretty much everything in this movie is terribly executed. It doesn't help that this movie is filled with over-the-top ChristianThis film is utter garbage. From the acting, to the editing, to the dialogue, to the crap load of cliches, pretty much everything in this movie is terribly executed. It doesn't help that this movie is filled with over-the-top Christian preachiness. Ugh. Just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
lukechristianscMar 21, 2014
i saw this film to many times . i understand people who like it or the critics . Bethany Hamilton is the greatest surfer and survivor alive today . but still i saw this movie a billion times
Grade F+
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
PeterWazoskiNov 22, 2016
This film is the worst film that I've seen in a loong time...............................................................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews