User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 582

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    AAtrekker
    I loved this movie. It had so many positive qualities. The Story was most interesting, the leads were charming and very ingratiating. The story was a combination of "Groundhog Day" and the TV series "Seven Days." I found it very engrossing and was on the edge of my seat during the entire film. If I have one criticism, it is the title but it's too late for that. This film
    shows very clearly that you don't need profanity, excessive violence or gratuitous sex to be enjoyed. The prime ingredient is a good story. But please pay very close attention to the early dialogue; it will help you to stay focused. Please more, more, and more of this type of fun, entertaining, and satisfying film. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    The trailer makes this film look very ordinary, but very early into the actual movie, you realize something interesting is going on. Don't want to spoil anything by comparing it to other films or TV show, but the writing is terrific. The way layers of the onion are peeled back is artful and entertaining. One of the best "major" releases of the young year in my book.
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    5
    Quite good for most of the movie, its fun watching the investigation unfolding but unfortunately the plot kind of falls apart in the last 15 minutes and I'm not sure the ending actually makes sense.
  4. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    This is a very well-done film. On par with, if not better than, Moon. This director has a bright future ahead of him, and I look forward to following his work.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    4
    Flat and rushed is the best way to describe this film. No character development, unanswered and half answered questions, unsatisfying "Hollywood" ending. It felt like if they didn't know the answer to some questions, they left it out. There was no real explanation on how they were able to do what they did. They could've made it longer and added anything to make it better. Although rushed only describes the writing. The production, acting, and anything that's not the story is good. It's what makes this movie watchable. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dr. Sam Beckett(Scott Bakula) never overstayed his welcome. In "Quantum Leap", the great science fiction series that enjoyed an inspired four-year run on NBC in the early-nineties, the time-traveling physicist would supplant body after body like a benevolent demon, solving their dilemmas with the utmost expediency before dispossessing his hosts in a self-induced exorcism that worked like a trigger mechanism predicated on situational closure. This would prove to be beneficial for our nowhere man because sooner or later, hypothetically(Al, played by Dean Stockwell, a hologram, always kept track of Sam's departure time) the loved ones and acquaintances of the newly-consumed person would eventually discern that they were dealing with an impostor. If Sam took up full residence in one of the host bodies, this new lease on life couldn't possibly pan out due to his lack of shared histories with the people he'd be expected to be intimately familiar with. Travel-weary, from all that bouncing along his own chronological timeline, the quantum leaper yearned for a sedentary existence, but the only possible happy ending for Sam would have been for him to return as himself. To settle down as somebody else, learning the supplanted person's persona like a new language, strikes me as being a little insidious, not to mention, parasitic, and that's the nagging flaw of "Source Code", an otherwise ingenious sci-fi thriller which unfortunately, doesn't know when its time is up. Once Cpt. Colter Stevens(Jake Gyllenhaal) averts the intended expression of the secondary crisis(the bomb poised to level Chicago that never detonates), thanks to the Afghanistan veteran's time-sensitive(Sam had forty-two minutes, Colter has eight) on-the-fly detective work, his superior, Colleen Goodwin, in gratitude for the captain's hand in apprehending the perpetrator, allows the military's guinea pig to die gracefully, by giving him a chance to save the doomed train commuters with one final rewind of the source code. (In a sense, "Source Code" is like Woody Allen's "The Purple Rose of Cairo". The real Colter is in a life-support chamber, while the digital Colter, is essentially, playing a part in a movie(the source code can be read as an eight-minute action-short. In the end, like the Mia Farrow character in the Allen film, the heroine falls for the simulation.) As in Harold Ramis' "Groundhog Day", through repeated stints in the time loop, the self-actualized person accumulates information to affect a different outcome. By trial and error, Colter learns that the bomb up in the ventilation shaft comes equipped with a backup trigger, a secondary cellphone, which he defuses, therefore changing the predetermined outcome of the program's allotted eight minutes. Instead of a violent explosion, engulfing the train with an all-consuming fire, the last tick of the program's timecode corresponds to a freeze-frame where the once-victimized passengers' laughter is captured in mid-regale during the last moment of their filmic existence. Meanwhile, Colter is engaged in an petrified kiss with the woman he grows to love, Christina Warren(Michelle Monaghan), the passenger who happens to be seated across from his train compartment when the soldier leaps into the body of Sean, her teaching colleague from work. This is how "Source Code" should end: a film-within-the-film happy ending. It's "Groundhog Day" in miniature. Colter learns to live life to its fullest in eight minutes. Reality-wise, these people are all dead, but in the altered source code, the victims of the terrorist attack now get to live, not die, after their running time is up. The filmmaker ruins the poetry of the moment. But Hollywood, not known for its poetic gestures, especially within the context of a would-be blockbuster, is not going to make allowances for any art-house pretensions, so instead of going out like Anthony Doniel, last seen on the shoreline in Francois Truffaut's "Les quatre cents coupe", "Source Code" tells us that there's life beyond a pre-recording, and sadly, the freeze-frame unfreezes. That's where the film loses me. Since the soldier sends a text message to Coleen(from within the source code), it must mean that he has his own memories, not Sean's, the man he usurped. As aforementioned, Sam Beckett never overstayed his welcome. How long will it take before Christina realizes that the man she's with is not actually Sean? How will she react? Colter can't blame his unfamiliarity with the schoolteacher's life on amnesia, or else he wouldn't be cognizant of Christina. The digitalized woman seems to be in love with an amalgamation(her old feelings for Sean mixed in with Colter's heartfelt pursuance of her). How confusing for her. It's a paradox that "Source Code" may not be aware of. The filmmaker, perhaps under pressure from the studio, simply rams a happy ending down everybody's throats. Logic, be damned! Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2011
    1
    Ground Hog Day without the laughs on a train. Totally unoriginal, totally silly, totally couldn't wait for it to end.
    Jake is taking anything on that seems to come along. I guess good for him but I'm out 6 bucks for the rental. Watch Groung Hog day.
  8. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    "Source Code" smells like a Hollywood movie with a extreme Hollywood ending. But overall, the movie is nothing like it. It mesmerizes the audience with its powerful cinematography and innovative plot. Truly a movie that is worthy of a Oscar nomination.
  9. Apr 3, 2011
    4
    What a convoluted mess. If I had to go back on that damn train again, I would have had a seizure. The film's premise is only partially clear and that is big failure. It simply makes no sense. In addition, the film steals from Avatar and Memento and others. I tried to understand the concept but it is useless. A major headache is all I got.
  10. Apr 5, 2011
    5
    The movie feels like a bad attempt to make a very good short story into a full length movie. It doesn't work and it while one remains curious, one soon loses interest. It also has that awful Hollywood ending which makes a great arty movie into a rubbish weekly rental at the local video store.
  11. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Very good movie, was entertaining and kept me in anticipation throughout the entire film. Saw it at a drive-in movie theater and was super fun! I would recommend this movie to just about anyone with half a brain; it will hold your interest.
  12. Apr 2, 2011
    6
    Overall, I thought this movie was an enjoyable experience in what has been (in my opinion) an otherwise dreary year. I enjoyed the premise and the acting very much. Jake Gyllenhaal does a great job and the rest of the cast provides solid performances. The premise was interesting and reasonably well-presented, although the details are (understandably) never made clear. However, I found the ending a disappointment that soured the experience somewhat. I did not feel like it flowed well with what we had seen and experienced to that point. Going into the end, I would have likely ranked it a 7 or 8, but I was just left scratching my head at the end (and not in a good way). Expand
  13. May 31, 2011
    5
    Decent movie, expected more after all the great reviews that it received. From viewing the previews, Iknew this movie was going to be mediocre...I should have went with my first instincts and waited for the DVD.
  14. Oct 15, 2011
    5
    I initially placed Source Code into the same category of Inception, a film which I did not enjoy to say the least. Surprisingly, this film had me feeling more satisfied albeit there are a list of things I could still complain about. The cast was decent and the film's linear progression was appropriately matching of the storyline. While this film did not catch me in any sort of awe, it was simply entertaining enough to allow for a full sit-through without major regrets. I recommend it to a general audience. Expand
  15. Apr 30, 2011
    5
    "To Confusing for its own Good , Source Code may come as a turn off to action fans , its not your average no holds bar action flick , it feels watered down and just mere sloppy. Everyone can do much better then this movie a huge disappointment" .. C
  16. May 2, 2011
    5
    I was looking forward to this film, with a good cast, interesting story line, a director whose debut film "Moon" was one of my favourites of 2009. However, unfortunately with all the ingredients right, the film never quite grasps the audience and remains a collection of moments.
  17. Aug 1, 2011
    4
    Science-fiction creates another far-fetched and effective aid to crime-solving only to have it's life-saving potential dashed by absolute moral values and shallow romanticism. The ending reminds me of the shoddy smile-fest tacked onto Minority Report, but less plausible.
  18. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    If you've seen the trailer don't expect that level of excitement from the real thing. Jake Gyllenhaal plays a soldier who's placed on a train that's headed for a disastrous explosion. He has 8 minutes to find the bomber and must repeat this sequence until he accomplishes his mission. Watching the story unfold is interesting, but lacking in surprises or suspense. There's also time wasted trying to build an emotional connection. While it's never boring, it will quickly be forgotten as an average sci-fi tale. Expand
  19. ZUL
    May 5, 2011
    5
    I can not see what all the fuss is about. This movie lacks everything that makes a movie good. Donâ
  20. Jun 13, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is strange to me this film got such great reviews. I found it mostly predictable and boring. Why show us his severed body at the end of the film? Why reveal so quickly that he is dead? It was hard to relate to a dead, military soul who wanted to save hypothetical, already dead people. I kind of didn't see the point. Expand
  21. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    The movie was entertaining throughout the movie. This movie was a awesome sci-fi action movie that left you with an ending that had you questioning. At the end the "source code" was more then you first thought. It was interesting, and entertaining. I highly recommend to people who aren't going to a movie to tear the plot limb from limb.
  22. Apr 13, 2011
    3
    Moon was special, and the only reason I finished Source Crap. From the opening this movie was tired: cliche music, overdone flyovers, poorly acted, crammed full of everything they think a blockbuster needs, and all in all far too glossy.


    The beginning is fun, trying to figure out what's going on and all, they reveal some mysteries you didn't expect and I was hope full for a great film. Once Jake's character decides to take the reigns, however, his actions are erratic at best along with the plot. All in all the movie tried to do to much and started unravelling by the third act. Also, could have done without both a love story and the father redemption story. Expand

  23. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    Very complex and deep yet easy for the general public to follow and appreciate. Well worth watching at least once. Most movies of this style (inception, shutter island) are usually very difficult to watch as if you don't hear and see everything the movie tends to become very confusing very fast. But the way that Source Code plays out makes the movie very accessible and fun to watch even if it isn't your type of movie. Expand
  24. May 16, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just don't understand all the positives for this movie at all.

    There are some plus points, as a story about the mental makeup of the main chafachter it works, as a kind of suspense movie it sort of works, unfortunately that is all the positive I could come up with.

    That is vastly outweighed by the negative. Whenever you set about telling a story in the science fiction genre you have two options, either to go all out on the fiction or to root it in reality, this movie has everthing rooted in reality from the present day(ish) setting to present day computers and issues. For a movie based like that the science simply has to be plausable. Not only is the science of Source Code implausable but it is actually impossible.

    The premise is that a scene can be reconstructed by using the last 8 minutes of peoples memories, mayeb that is possible, maybe not, I don't know, that isn't my issue. My issue is that 8 minutes is a tiny amount of time, with sufficient memories and thoughts I'm sure a computer model could forcast what a person would do if a specific in the timeline changed, 8 minutes isn't enough so there is no possible way to determine how each charachter would respond, making the intelligence gained useless. Even worse than this is that despite only having memories from those who died on the train they are trying to find a bomb that none of those memories would contain. The only brain that had those memories is driving around in van somewhere so realistically even if Stevens found the right location, thee would be no memory of the bomb being there.

    To top everything off we get an idiotic parrallel world style ending just so the cripple and the idiotic bint who has only known him for 8 minutes can walk off happily into the sunset.

    I'm sorry but anyone who actually understands anythign about logic or science is going to hate this film by about 20 minutes in. The worst part is that it looks like there was a decent premise fo a film in thre somewhere but it appears to have been battered around by hollywood screenwriteras need to dumb down science, raise action and needlessly include romance like they try to do in every film. Normally it's an annoyance but nothing more, this time it has created stupidly large plot holes that simply ruin the film.
    Expand
  25. dz9
    Jul 30, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Going into this movie, and hearing how the mechanics of the Source Code was suppose to work. I turned off my brain and went along with the lore, which I know you must do in most science fiction movies. I could go on and gripe about the idiotic science that the directors has spat into the faces of the American people. I realize that through this science, Jake Gylenhaal's character should not have been able to do the things he did.... but honestly, i just grinded my teeth together and took the movie for what it was and nothing more and tried to have fun. Actually...I did, this movie was VERY entertaining, it kept you on the edge of your seat with the suspense that the movie had built, great character development, and great characters in general, and acting was excellent. Don't get me wrong, in the back of my mind, I knew that the science they had presented was contradicting and was nonsense, but I was actually having an VERY good time with this movie. So why such a low score??? The movie done something extremely unforgivable, the ending had ruined it. The movie had drilled into the viewers mind a simple rule, and it was that the Source Code was just an 8 minute relay that Gyllenhaal's character was going through, and guess what happens at the end??...HE GOES BEYOND THE 8 MINUTES. Don't get me wrong, if the movie had set this plot hole up to be plausible, it would have been alright. For example: imagine if you are watching a movie and it had simply said "the sky can not be red," and then for no reason whatsoever, the sky turns red at the end of the movie. Source Code gave the excuse that "well no one really understood the source code," there was another problem with that, Gyllenhaal's character died, so he should not have been able to live in the Source Code because he was not alive in reality. And that's not the only thing that was wrong with the ending, it also seemed forced, it seemed like the writers just wanted to have a "feel good" ending which was completely unnecessary. The scene where the time in the source code had paused, Gyllenhaal's character is kissing Monaghan's character, and everyone is happy...the screen should have just turned off then and it would have been a perfect ending. It's too bad too, i saw the movie in theatres and I was absolutely "in" on these characters, but the ending shattered the whole movie. The Good: Great cast and characters, great action. The Bad: Contradicting story, strong unnecessary undertones, and an absolutely awful ending. To give an example of how much the ending shattered the movie, if it would have ended more sensible, i would give this movie a 9, but how it stands.... this movie is good for the brainless but awful for anybody with standards for what they call art. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2011
    8
    This is a little movie that in some ways (A list actor, big budget) acts like a big movie. But this is is not a movie focused on great effects but is instead focused on storytelling. Duncan Jones (Moon) is getting closer to his masterpiece certainly.
  27. Apr 16, 2011
    7
    Initially, the audience will be left thinking of this film as okay but wondering how it could possibly do anything to make itself stick in your mind. Rest assured, it does develop and proves itself to be an emotional piece of work and cleverly written.
  28. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    I think Source Code is Inception-lite. It is an intelligent movie but doesnt test the viewer like Inception does. I also think Source Code has become the most underappreciated movie of 2011. I was blown away by the movie and it rewards repeat viewings as well. If you were intrigued by the premise of Vantage Point and wish it was done with skill, Source Code is the perfect movie for you.
  29. Apr 6, 2011
    8
    Source Code was a great movie, and for me it was the best one of the year so far. The best part of this movie is how it pays tribute to Alfred **** with the sound track and style. Acting was great, and there were a couple twists throughout that were nice. This movie is very similiar to a movie like Inception, so if you liked Inception, you will probably like this one.
  30. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Background and insight:

    Pure Science Fiction is often regarded as too complex for film audiences, which is why so often we see it mixed with other genres. Fine examples are the likes of Star Wars and The Matrix (etc), where you get action/westerns mixed with Science Fiction. I have always been a fan of science fiction films. They present a higher (usually) level of imagination than most
    genres. The rules are not always confined to real world, realistic events or physics. The only real limitation is the imagination of the writer. Science Fiction relies on its audience to suspend belief, which can be a step too far for some viewers, but for me this is one of the reasons I have always loved film, the chance to escape and experience things that only the silver screen can allow you to experience (in the visual sense). I really enjoy writing science fiction, but like the examples above I also tend to mix the genres and stay clear of pure science fiction. Duncan Jones on the other hand has been looked upon as being a modern day saviour of science fiction with his first film Moon. A master class of indie film making that was so well made, it was (and still is) almost impossible to figure out how it was made for a tiny budget of $5 million. But Iâ Expand
  31. Jun 16, 2011
    5
    I heard so many good things that I went in expecting something deeper, that was my mistake. This is a movie you could easily watch slightly drunk, cuddling up to your S.O. on the couch, occasionally talking about something completely different from what you're watching. It's not horrible, it's just very mediocre. there's no tension because there's no one to save. The ending is suppose to prove that there was someone to save but after sitting for 120 minutes believing no one is in danger, then I spent 120 minutes not being invested and a cheesy, illogical, fairy tale twist at the end doesn't change that.
    The best thing i can say about this film is that is a decent balance between action and chick flick which makes it a solid compromise to the "what should we see" conversation.
    Expand
  32. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    Source Code is a good sci-fi movie featuring one of the biggest stars in todays "Young Hollywood". The story is well written, the acting is on par, and the movie wraps up into a neat little package... but this may be it's biggest weakness. This hour and a half movie finishes with it's main story so quickly, it has time to take on a more philosophical plot before it ends. It is just too bad that these concepts were portrayed in such a clean, unimaginative fashion, forcing the audience approved happy ending (spoiler alert... it has a happy ending). The main concept of life after death is written in a way that anybody could get it, but leaves me wanted more to chew on, perhaps in a more ambiguous fashion (ie. Moon). Instead, I am afraid to say that the Source Code is a good movie that I probably won't care to see again. Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    One of my favorite action movies this YEAR! with a great storyline, and great special effects. I can't think of a reason not to see it. Unfortunately the repetitive going back to the train so it can explode thing gets old eventually.
  34. Apr 2, 2011
    7
    Intriguing, suspenseful story, really wonderful except for certain parts which felt like classic studio meddling - a sappy father moment, a contrived love connection, and an ending that didn't connect with the tone of the rest of the movie. I really felt a disconnect between these aspects and what seemed to be the original intent of the film, as if a committee of writers were brought in to "hollywood-ize" the script or something. Otherwise an enjoyable film. Expand
  35. Apr 3, 2011
    6
    A summer popcorn flick released in the wrong season that doesn't give the audience any intellectual credit and tries too hard to be "smart". You'll go in thinking this is a movie that will leave you talking, and leave with nothing to say. Nothing in this movie is bad, and for the most part it is enjoyable. It's as crazy as Eagle Eye, but with much better direction, slightly better performances, and a little bit more sensibility. Expand
  36. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    There are some movies that I see, and on my way out I will consider complaining to the staff and asking for a refund. Then I can't be bothered and end up moaning along with who ever I'm with about the time we just wasted. This isn't one of those films. I enjoyed it, and whilst it isn't perfect I would definitely watch Source Code again, and I recommend you see it when you can.

    8/10
    gameandmoviereviews.com Expand
  37. Apr 15, 2011
    6
    Source Code is a more convoluted, faster paced Ground Hogs Day [1993] with guns and a ticking time bomb. Although not that well made Source Code is a reminder that audiences prefer complex story lines, even if they aren't completely coherent. 6/10

    Source Code stars Jake Gyllenhaal as a Colter Stevens, a helicopter pilot who is trapped in some sort of machine simulator. The beginning of
    the film starts with Stevens waking up on a train in a body that is not his own. He's sitting across from Christina Warren played by Michelle Monaghan, a female companion who he will learn latter on has a small crush on him, or at least who she thinks Sean Fentress. Stevens lives 8 minutes of Fentress's life trying to gather himself when a bomb suddenly explodes killing everyone on the train. Stevens awakens in a metal dome disoriented and locked into a harness. Without knowing who or where he is an image and voice appear when he is contacted by Luit Goodwin played by Vera Farmiga. Goodwin tells Stevens that he must identify the bomber of the train so that they can prevent another terrorist attack. Steven's doesn't quite understand what's going on with his last memories being aboard a helicopter in Afghanistan. Before too many of Stevens' questions are answered he is to told to try again and abruptly plugged back into the source code. This process continues over and over until bit by bit is revealed what the source code is. Apparently source code allows a certain someone to be plugged into the consciousness of another certain someone and live out an alternate reality, something involving string theory and such. The rules are that he only he can only live out the last 8 minutes of that someone's life because that's how long the "flash" lasts when someone dies. Also, whatever he does in that reality will not affect any other reality. So Gyllenhaal is plugged into the source code relentlessly by his military commanders over and over until he finds the bomber. Over the course of his multiple reenactments Stevens narrows down the bomber and develops a relationship with Ms. Warren and Luit. Goodwin. Gyllenhall and Monaghan are good but nothing spectacular. Jeffrey Wright plays the nerdy mastermind quite well. He's cruel, discordant and tunnel minded; just what you'd expect from a scientist who's spent his whole life dedicated to his pet project. But it is Vera Farmiga who really shines in her role as the intermediate officer between the enslaved Steven's and the heartless scientist. In every scene Framiga battles with the two conflicting personas of her character. The female empathic side trying to soothe and care for Stevens as he's used as a cog in the high tech military defense machine; and also the military stratagician (stratagician is not a word???) who must convince Stevens to finish the mission while withholding the painful truth of Stevens' condition. The music in Source Code is a little pretentious and is abnormally noticeable. Its special effects are not the greatest with explosions and slow motion looking like they had been done by a sub par video game company. However it's not just the special effects, nor its mediocre cinematography but also Source Code's erratic pacing and editing for my undistinguished rating. The scenes don't flow well together and you feel just as pushed around as Gyllenhaal's character as you bolt back and forth between scenes. This feeling may have been deliberate on director Duncan Jone's part but watching the movie you feel like you've been riding the old bumpy wooden roller coaster you'd find at the boardwalk. At the end of the film you're constantly teased with false endings. As soon as you think it's going to end, they tag on and extra scene which tangles the plot even further. During the last 20 minutes they start abandoning the rules of source code and begin cramming in new content. It's like they shot multiple endings of the film and instead of choosing one, they decided to put them all in. Source Code is an intriguing film with a lot of complexities and philosophical metaphysics involved which I think is the reason for its success at the box office and among critics. As we know from Inception and The Matrix audiences today are really drawn to these alternate reality movies. However Source Code is not particularly well constructed and i'll be re-watching Ground Hog's Day numerous times before I even think about re-watching Source Code. Expand
  38. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    Good, well written film - but it didn't reach its full potential. The concept is a good one, but it doesn't materialise as good as it sounded on paper but does work well and it's high points are definitely high, but I found the sub-story a little confusing and a little hard to follow. It it wraps up well - if a little cheesily and the mystery story is good, and I felt satisfied walking out of the theatre. Not exactly jumping for joy screaming 'It was the best film ever' but something I can and do recommend for a fun engaging story. Expand
  39. Apr 23, 2011
    2
    Being from Chicago I love Chicago based movies from Blues Brothers to Ferris Bueller's Day off. But, this did not do it for me. Okay I'm not a Jake fan, but I am a Duncan Jones fan. I guess ending did it in for me.
  40. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Source Code, a fast past and sometimes bewildering movie, it is one that everyone is familiar with, at least in part, as it seems a concoction of several other movies. However, we do not realize this until almost the end of the movie, which is where the beauty of this movie lies. The movie stars Jake Gyllenhaal, as Captain Colter Stevens, who for reasons unknown to him, and to us the viewers, is repeatedly sent into a train that seems destined to blow up, killing everyone on board. As soon as the train blows up, he is sent back into the train by a mysterious team of military scientists to do it all over again. Before going back into the train, he is given a little more information about what his mission is. He eventually determines his mission is to find the person who is blowing up the train in order to help prevent a future bombing that will devastate the city. Meanwhile, he is unaware of how he came to be in his present situation or when it will end.
    Overall, I give this movie a 5-star rating. The computer graphics generated in this movie are of an amazingly high quality and really make the viewer feel part of the movie. I also believe the acting was extremely believable, even if the overall plot is a little flawed. Despite its flaws, the plot does keep viewers on the edge of their seat and surprised at how quickly the movie seems to go by. This is a must see movie for those who love both action and adventure.
    Expand
  41. Jul 14, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me, the movie was disappointing. Trailers looked wonderful. But they twisted a romance into this weird story about a guy who was in Afghanistan and got his body blown off so they use him as a lab-rat to find a bomb on a train - and be a Hero one more time in the eyes of the American hopefull. SO, they decide to go through these little weird scenes to try and make the movie tricky and witty. Not really working. It disturbing that Hollywood is more and more becoming a huge advertizement for the "American Way". I mean ... did he REALLY have to be part of the Afghanistan "War" to make this movie work, did he REALLY have to be a "Veteran" who saved lives? A veteran who could potentially be a "Hero" after saving more and more people. Geez, that glam stuff gets so repetitive and pathetic it makes me want to hurl.

    Most viewers shrug it off as nonsense, but the Studios are really sending messages to the people watching these kind of movies. Maybe your right, maybe I am "looking to deep" into it, but if you look under all the BS plot on top - at the heart of these things is a message, and the message has nothing to do with the quality of the movie or the continuity and excitement. Unfortunate. It really could have been a great modern Sci-Fi flick. Surprised Coca-Cola or Nike hadn't hung like a banner on the outside of the train from tip to tip. Oh, and the ending. Geez! Did a 13 year old girl write that? WOW.
    Expand
  42. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    From Moon to Source Code, i can honestly say that Duncan Jones future has a filmmaker is very bright, let's just hope that he can keep this up. I am very much looking towards his work in the future.
  43. Oct 5, 2011
    4
    "Source Code" is definitely the stinkiest steaming pile of Hollywood CRAP I've seen in a long time!!!

    A gross and tactless use of every philosophical one-liner cliché in the book while plagiarizing bits and pieces of nearly every parallel-reality movie out there. For a movie like this to be acceptable, the action needs to be relentless and breathtaking ... it's not!


    EVERYTHING in this movie is just sloooooow and predicatable while the script is just down right embarrassing (could you pah-lease have used the line "It's gonna be OK" just one more time for me? I don't think there were enough of those).

    How on earth Duncan Jones could go from making a masterpiece like "Moon" and sink into this total waste of time and money is beyond me.

    As for Jake Gyllenhaal ... I get it man, you're making lots of money playing these parts and who can blame you, I'd probably do the same, but can't you give us a good ol' indie drama part like you used to every now and then to remind me why I love you so much?? Could ya mix it up for me a bit there ol' buddy, ol' pal? How about a "Bubble Boy" for each "Prince of Persia"? A "Donnie Darko" for every "Source Code"? 'Cause to tell you the truth man, I'm starting to forget how good you REALLY are!!!

    To conclude: If you like crap that "thinks" its deep and intelligent, this is the movie for you!!!
    Expand
  44. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    Interesting twist of reality using technology to relive the past. This type of movie always presents idealogical meanings of life and death that will never be answered. I would recommend this movie to anyone that likes movies that present outside of the box concepts.
  45. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Duncan Jones directs a fast-paced and surprisingly thrilling film with Source Code, and could just be a hit with everyone.
    Jake Gyllenhaal stars as who we believe to be Sean Fentress, who has awoken aboard a train going towards downtown Chicago, but he is does not remember how he got here in the first place.
    We soon learn that he is not this train commuter at all, but he is actually a
    man locked up in a time-traveling mechanism that is inside the thoughts of another man...got that?
    Basically we see him as Gyllenhaal, and he has all the memories of his actual self, Colter Stevens, but he actually appears to be this other guy to everyone else, and this is brilliantly done,through going back to the same position he was put in at the start of the film by the shady company who are using him to try and prevent a terrorist attack.
    Michelle Monaghan also stars as the woman in the seat across from Colonel Stevens, someone he doesn't know but she of course is seeing Sean Fentress which makes for very interesting chemistry and at times quite humorous dialogue.
    Gyllenhaal exceeds in his role as the double man form different realities, combining pulsating action with charm and sophistication, and carries the film exceptionally well for its attention-demanding plot.
    My one very small complaint is perhaps the too-good-to-be-true ending, which was nice to see, but could easily have been flipped on its side and demanded more, while only a small complaint, I think it is still relevant considering the excellent story.
    The ridiculousness of the plot can be overlooked in so many ways by simply enjoying the story going on in front of you, as Stevens begins to get the hang of his time jumping each time he fails and is put back in the same place, remembering occurrences that are about to happen.
    But with a gripping turn in the story, its simply brilliant to sit back and watch the drama unfold in front of you, with plenty of interesting characters who all serve a purpose to Colonel Stevens mission.
    The thrill ride of Source Code never stops and continuously takes many twists and turns that add up to one of the best films of the year, surprising, enjoyable and heaps of fun and that does put a unique rhythm on the idea of time travelling and consequences.
    Expand
  46. Jul 21, 2012
    7
    Source Code has secured Duncan Jones' funding for a few more films as he continues to show what an excellent talent he is in the sci-fi genre. The film started to become slightly repetitive towards the latter stages but all in all this film was very good. I believe that the talents of Jake Gyllenhaal helped to steer the audience throughout this picture.
  47. Feb 20, 2013
    6
    Source code is one of the smarter and more original science fiction movies (It was directed by Duncan Jones who made Moon also worth checking out). I gave it 6 point because, while it is somewhat original, unfortunately can not avoid the usual Hollywood clichés, and becomes predictable. Worth checking out, but will not be remembered much...
  48. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    While it can't even spit in the proverbial direction of Jones' first classic "Moon," "Source Code" is still an interesting action film, making some hard-to-swallow subject matter actually comprehensible.
  49. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    A really smart film. Unfortunately, it was also forgotten by many people, partly due its release date in Spring 2011; it came out in the weird months prior to blockbuster season. The repeating 8 minute scene never gets old as director Duncan Jones (Moon) proves he is a solid director in his second directorial effort.
  50. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    It's nice to see the Inception still has an effect on hollywood - not necessarily inspiring people (Duncan Jones was already showing his worth with Moon a few years back), but making it known that films can have fairly complicated plots and still be successful. It isn't nearly as good as Moon, but it's just great to come out of a blockbuster and have something to talk about
  51. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    Source Code is a time traveling adventure movie with great atmosphere to see where captain must save the day that the train will explode and he comes back in 8 minutes to live. That movie is so cool and it's a lot of fun to see!
  52. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Sorry, Italian / English mechanical. Colter Stevens: a strong consciousness noetic.

    Space is said Duncan Duncan Jones - Director / limited physical space and cyber-psychology. Inside lives the man Duncan, bimodal, and sapiens. How much humanity in man Duncan? Lots and engaging, full-bodied enough to lead to reflections on the affinity homo sapiens and earth monomorphic; studies on the
    consequences of its applications and hyper, the state of his mental health. Sdooong!

    The mirror Duncan.

    The mirror reflects a self aberrated body with which we must deal in any case and is not serious business. But, attention, mental aberration is not only physical. Faced with this obvious fact, many would run like hell. Colter Stevens Jake Gyllenhaal / "he" in fact, a new body. The veteran Colter has only a moment of loss, is able to deal with new events because he is strong noetic consciousness, the mind influences matter /. This essential feature, was selected for the government program "Source Code". Deals with "the moment" not only in an objective and deterministic real-time /, but it is also fast nell'intuire who is living and crossing a boundary where the senses are those known as being restrictive.
    Listening to him, I understand that our individual history, as well as his, is full of questions, and sometimes the most trivial or insignificant, the simpler and less open-minded, become dynamite to the mind.

    Two efficient micro-environments.

    A train, six cars. In one of these, a man, his name is Sean Fentress, a teacher. Awakened from a deep slumber, accustomed as he is to observe, analyze and store names, faces, objects and everything else would be useful for survival, senses immediately that you are in a state of inertia that does not belong. Irascible, is on the defensive when his partner, Christina Michelle Monaghan / try to get him a ticket out of his pocket to show it to the controller.
    -Look, I see that you think you know me, but I do not know who he is. I am the captain Colter Stevens. I am a U.S. Army helicopter pilot in Afghanistan.
    It feels wrong, get off the train, you look around, observe, ask a young man with red hair where it is. - Chicago. And 'the answer. He returned to meet Christina, the train resumes its journey. He sits down, but a new image overwhelms him, his (?) Is reflected in the glass of the window as the train crosses a bridge supported by piers shod dull and expressionless. Spontaneous and immediate is the question - Have you seen yourself? - You're scaring me. And 'the response from Christina. Run away, goes to the bathroom, looks in the mirror ... not at all frightened, put your hands in your pocket sure to find an identity. He opens his wallet - SEAN Fentress - TEACHER. He starts to go away, do not understand is this strange metamorphosis. Christina joined him, in front of him, begs him to say something. - Look, I do not know who is Sean and I do not know who you are. - This is not mine, the document shows. - You will see that everything will be fine - Christina reassuring. Violent, unexpected, comes the explosion. The roar of the train derails, the shattered glass and twisted metal do not leave hope. He, the teacher Sean Fentress, is the only survivor. The awakening occurs within a capsule. Thus began the incredible journey of our veteran. There will be two characters to guide them in the Source Code, the project manager Dr. Rutledge Jeffrey Wright / Soldier of the application and technical Goodwin Vera Farmiga /.

    The deaths were a tragedy that train. The Source code can ...

    Ok. The journey begins when my job ends. One last thing, Don Burgess Forrest Gump - Terminator 3 / is in charge of photography, Chris Bacon Gnomeo and Juliet / it is for music, Paul Hirsch Star Wars / getting the mount. Not bad, right?
    Council to see the film, a few yawns and many moments of reflection. The director of | Moon | although they have a small budget has confirmed to be able to give intelligent emotions.

    Good Clik!
    Expand
  53. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Source Code is an intelligent and interesting idea that can get the viewer attached to the story, but the plot crescendos too soon, lacking an impact near the end. The movie's length is only a little more than an Hour and a Half, which just barely, surprisingly, stretches the story. Despite my complaints, Source Code is good entertainment that is worth the price of admission.
  54. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    A great movie that gets better with repeated watching! After recently seeing Edge of Tomorrow (a crappy Tom Cruise flick that stole heavily from this movie) it made me appreciate this movie even more and I felt prompted to write a review. Source Code has many nuanced aspects that you may miss on first watching. The ending is very compelling and thought provoking. I loved this movie as much as Moon, this director's first movie. If you love S.C., see Moon also because although it was made on a low budget, it is just as brilliant! Expand
  55. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    I jumped the train and rode it till the end. Sure the paradoxes were insurmountable but they didn't get in the way of the story. They successfully contrived a rational other than time travel and by giving us only the broad strokes I didnâ
  56. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    This is a very well made film with lots of attention to detail, everything fits and everything works pretty well. There are overtones of Groundhog Day (1993), in that a time period is repeated, but I found this one very different. Although not as good as ‘Moon’, IMO, I really liked this film and I’m glad I gave it a second look. It’s nicely paced, there’s a pretty good soundtrack, although it’s quite subdued and at ninety three minutes, it’s not too long. Over all, it’s a well written, nicely paced piece of science fiction with quite a nice twist at the end. Comparisons have been made with ‘Inception’ but I’m not even going to go there, they are totally different. I didn’t score it quite as highly as first time around because I felt it didn’t have quite the impact it did on the big screen. Still a very enjoyable watch though.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED My score: 8.2/10.
    Expand
  57. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I usually don't write reviews with spoilers but the biggest distraction to this movie is its ending. You get the feeling the studio had 3 different endings to choose from, and I personally feel they chose the wrong one. While it is plausible, it still detaches you from the anchor and central premise of the movie (Jake Gyllenhaal has 8 minutes to solve a mystery though his actions can't affect the real world). There are other flaws logistically, for example, how many 8 minute sequences can occur in the real world and still leave enough time to save the future, but still I enjoyed the movie overall! Jake gave a great performance and I believed his romantic relationship and his sense of purpose and accomplishment regarding the mystery. Expand
  58. Oct 29, 2011
    6
    I guess it's possible to make a watchable movie even when it's confusing. The ending, which defies all logic, in particular left me scratching my head. I prefer sci-fi pictures that have plausibility, but must admit that I was entertained. Still, it does not deserve all the rave reviews.
  59. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    I will be honest. when I first seen previews for this, I thought it would be a garbage picture. Turns out, I was wrong! Very fresh vision on science fiction and something different. Its good to see directors are taking on these types of movies outside of the norm. Jake Gyllenhaal surprised the heck out of me in his role in this one. He has a very large acting range, especially in this flick. He can be emotional, funny, charming, serious and pretty much all of the above. Well, well worth a view. What The Source Code... Its not an option. 8/10. Expand
  60. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    Normally when movies have multiple points where they could have ended, I feel like the endings are tacked on and ruin some of the impact. But the end of this movie is so bold, challenging, and unexpected that it seems just right. It does raise a few questions, but that's part of the fun! People who are complaining about the ending are lacking in imagination. I enjoyed the experience of the film as it kept introducing new little pieces into the puzzle for the audience to try to figure out. The performances, music, and special effects were all well done. Some characters are a bit one dimensional but others you really begin to feel connected to as the story goes on. There is some violence and language but it's not overdone. The whole film is sort of like a cross between "Unstoppable" and "Inception", only it doesn't try to overwhelm your senses. It feels like the director is along with you for the story, instead of forcing it on you. Overall I think this is a well made film and one of the best I've seen in a while. And I'm usually very picky about what I like. I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  61. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    Fascinating and wonderful movie. An interesting idea presented here. A lot of good solid action. Well acted and a very innovative script. This is one to own!
  62. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    This movie is the best I've seen an incredible story, this movie made â
  63. May 18, 2011
    8
    This was a great movie with a very interesting plot, Jake Gylehaal who I've never liked as an actor delivers a great performance. His co-stars all deliver good performances.

    A negative I have is the only character who is actually developed to any extent is Jakes and the big baddy has seemingly no motive for his crimes, this is still worth a watch but only as rental.
  64. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    I loved this movie. Jake carried the movie just fine but what I loved was that it was internally consistent. It took a premise that I didn't think could be pulled off, and they pulled it off. Wonderful
  65. USG
    Apr 8, 2011
    8
    This movie is much more of a thinking film than many others, and in that respect I'd recommend it. The effects are well done and only add to the movie instead of distract it. Like Duncan Jones' first movie, Moon, the trailer does not give it justice. However, Moon is more complex and thought-provoking than Source Code. Both movies do create a good sensation of suspense which is what they are designed for. The ending of Source Code ties down and clarifies everything, making a sequel impossible. The ending also by far the movie's weakest point: it's lame. The movie could have ended at other stronger moments, but it's already short. Knowledge of parallel universes will help in the understanding of the film. Expand
  66. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    Duncan Jones go two for two with his follow-up to Moon. This is a creative film which feels like a cross between Memento, Inception and The Matrix. A tight and well-written script (save for the final five minutes) and solid performances across the board. Source Code is worth its price of admission.
  67. May 11, 2011
    8
    I preferred this movie to Inception. Where Inception tried too hard to be confusing, this movie just tried to blow your mind. It definitely succeeded. Right when you think you have the entire movie figured out, there's a new twist added. This goes down to the last second of the movie. While it didn't have the big budget of Inception, it knew it's boundaries and stuck to them. My favorite movie of the year so far. Expand
  68. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    Source Code is an entertaining concept thriller. It takes the whole Groundhog Day time lapse thing and constructs a new action-orientated premise out of it. Great fun all the way around.
  69. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    See this if you liked Inception or any other Hollywood Sci-fi that has some thought put into it. I liked the story and the acting was good. Maybe I'm just used to watching "who dunnit" type films and TV and even though I wasn't surprised by the twists or the ending I still enjoyed the movie.
  70. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    My kind of movie: smart, fast, extremely well-directed and acted...just a nice, tight piece of work. The kind of movie I will see twice just to catch all the interesting set-ups and nuances. A very talented director doing a complex piece of work on a very reasonable budget - definitely worth watching director Duncan Jones' career develop. Terrific score, production values and cinematography. Good script. A few logic holes and some script issues later - I would never spoil anyone else's movie experience, so no specific complaints here. To sum up....okay, I kind of loved this film, noting it's not perfect. But go see it. It deserves the effort...it really does. Expand
  71. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    It was an utter joy for me to watch. It's "Groundhog Day" meets "Minority Report", both of which are brilliant films. This is a good film, let it be said. However, the science they base this theory on is utter rubbish. But don't try to be clever or say 'Well, that's not what would happen'. If you think you're clever,sit back and instead of poking at it's plot holes, just attempt to enjoy the film, which shouldn't be too difficult. Expand
  72. Apr 10, 2011
    7
    Enjoyed the movie. Imagine Groundhog Day with terrorists. Well acted and a had very different slant on the time travel genre. The movie is full of plot holes so its not one you want to analyze too much. However, it was fun to watch. I was very disappointed with the ending though. I don't want to give anything away but this movie deserved a better, more intelligent ending. It's almost like they did the movie, and later decided to slap a standard Hollywood ending onto it. Expand
  73. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    2011 has been a crap year for movies so far, the only good movie i have seen since the green hornet is lincoln lawyer and adjustment bureau, Source code might not be for everyone, but it is the best 2011 has to offer
  74. May 13, 2011
    8
    A mindf*ck? Inception? Source Code is confusing but exciting. It's not just about technical level, but also blend humor and drama although I admit a little bit fail. Great script, acting and direction - beware Duncan Jones will blow you away.
  75. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Source Code is a great sci-fi movie which explores travels on time and parallels realities through a very simple premise, but never ceasing to be puzzling and intriguing. The scriptwriter, Ben Ripley, doesn't make many ceremonies to quickly explore the pretext of the repetition of the narrative, discovering the mechanisms of the pump or by placing the characters off the train. Some parallel actions, such as the gun, end up having less potential, but they don't undermine the progress of the narrative. Too bad the ending is sugar water, that need to deliver a happy ending to leave the viewer satisfied at the end, which is not always necessary. It is still an above well average film, engaging, dynamic and efficient. Expand
  76. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    The plot to this movie is one that has great potential.If executed right Source Code could be a great movie. Sadly though it is not, the script is good don't get me wrong, but i think the problem is that the idea and vision of the movie was to much for the pen and paper. The acting wasn't bad, but wasn't great either. It was a believable acting though, which is good. Jake is the shining star once again, with a rather exceptional performance. The FX are great, and direction by Duncan Jones was good. To get to the point, it is a pass at the theatre, but a definite rent. Expand
  77. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    A damn fine sci-fi-action movie indeed! The trailers give you a sample but this is a film where the trailers actually don't do it many favours. Source Code certainly has influences from other movies and tv series but thats not a bad thing at all as this is a hugely entertaining movie. The film follows Captain Colter Stevens (Jake Gyllenhall) who is sent aboard a train which is carrying a bomb set to detonate however he only has 8 minutes to locate the bomb and locate the individual responsible. The beginnning draws you and gets you fully engrossed. Infact, you might wonder whats going on but once the train gets blown up the first time around you'll understand things a lot better. As the film goes on it's Groundhog Day, although a much faster and action packed, meets Minority Report/The Matrix. The film does run into some confusion in parts with the whole 8 minutes and Gyllenhalls character but it doesnt spoil or overly complicate things to the extent where your left scratching your head! A twist at the end will raise a few eyebrows based on what we witnessed throughout but ultimately this is a fabulous film. In terms of storytelling its superb stuff, Jake Gyllenhall continues to get better with every performance and combined with the frantic, action packed sequences and mystery of finding out exactly whats going on you can't go wrong with Source Code! Expand
  78. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    First Moon, now this? This is clearly one of the best films of 2011 so for, a for sure must see. I am beyond excited to see what Duncan Jones has in store for us next!
  79. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    This movie i gave 4/5 despite morribey's butt-hurt. It had a smart idea, and the ending can be interpreted in more ways than one. Although morribey is right that the ending is somewhat lack luster you can take it how you want it, but i completely disagree that one would easily lose interest. I have adhd and i managed fine. If you are into time travel films this film is for you. It is not as good as primer, but when it comes to time travel what is? The movie is also a good date film, especially with what the choices have been like lately with bad films and piss poor remakes. Its no The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly but entertaining none the less. Expand
  80. Apr 14, 2011
    7
    Some fairly predicable moments and some completely unpredictable moments combine to create a very interesting film that will leave you thinking. A great story and a very recommended watch.
  81. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie! Took my wife to see it this weekend. We actually thought that the protagonist was going to end up being the bomber =) Great writing, great acting, a solid 9/10. Expand
  82. Aug 28, 2011
    7
    An enjoyable mystery-thriller movie using a science fiction plot mechanic, which is what attracted me to watch. It's not hard sci-fi, as there's a few pretty obvious holes in the premise once you think about it a bit, but if you take the idea of the "source code" at face value then it's a fun ride.
  83. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Based on what I've read, I don't think most people, including reviewers, understood this movie. The ending makes it clear that Gyllenhaal is spawning parallel universes when he enters the source code, that another version of him had done it before the action in the movie, and another version of him will do it again in the new universe spawned by the action at the end of the movie when he finally succeeds. The ending heavily implies that a version of him from before the movie starts had told Vera Farmiga to tell him everything's going to be alright, just as he, in the new universe, at the end of the movie, tells her to tell tell him (the injured soldier) everything will be alright. This reading of the movie clears up almost all of the inconsistencies that others have pointed out. The only one that remains for me is the Quantum Leap quandary. What happens to the guy Gyllanhaal is inhabiting in that final successful attempt, since Gyllanhaal doesn't ever leave his body. In Quantum Leap, the guy leaped into Sam's body back in the future, but when the leap was over, he returned to his original body. Here, the leap seemingly doesn't end. So what becomes of his consciousness? Is he just snuffed out? That doesn't seem very moral in a movie that ends on such an uplifting note. Still, a solid movie that mixed a variety of references (Quantum Leap, Groundhog Day, Avatar) rather well. Duncan Jones is a director to look out for. Expand
  84. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    Ladies and Gentlemen, let me introduce you to the first great movie of 2011. â
  85. May 4, 2011
    10
    Source Code's presence in the cinema brought me with joy and excitement, furthermore I was excited at the news that Jake Gyllenhaal and Vera Farmiga would leading the star roles, Michelle Monaghan also starred in a lead role, the tense action sequences brought me to the edge of my chair. i fell in love with storyline when it was revealed, it's one of the concept's I had been looking for! This is an emotionally charged film too (while Inception, as weâ Expand
  86. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    genius plot. the story of the movie was good. it was dramatic though. but it kept my attention. it was a good role for Jake. good movie.....................
  87. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    A+ for how it handled time and reality. A+ for attention to detail and reflections. A for the intriguing, clever, tickle me pink plot. B for the ending. A train explosion in Chicago. That's about all I can say without giving anything away. I'm partial to movies like this. Very nostalgic for me, I'm just a huge fan of sci fi and time type of movies. Love it, love it! Very Deja Vu, Quantum Leap, the Jacket, Groundhogs Day, Unstoppable, Fringe. Woot :) Expand
  88. May 15, 2011
    7
    A very interesting concept with great leads. the only issue i really had with this movie is the repetitiveness. but it sort of had to be repetitive. Also the ending is kind of a slap in the face for some casual audience members.
  89. Sep 18, 2011
    8
    Duncan Jones continues to impress with his second feature. Jake Gyllenhaal, as always, is effortlessly charming, and makes the central character easy to engage with. Vera Farmiga also impresses, but Michelle Monaghan less so, as it seems like they could have cast anyone in her role. Source Code looks good and sounds good, as well as giving viewers' brains a bit of a workout before the brainless blockbuster season begins in earnest. The central premise is rather clever, though the film borders on incomprehensibility in the last act. It's not quite up there with Jones' debut Moon, but Source Code is proof that he is a safe pair of hands even with larger-scale projects. Expand
  90. May 27, 2011
    10
    OK Captain Proice here and I am ANGRY FACE BECAUSE THE IS NO HORSES IN HORSE CODE. WHY? YOU ALL LIE TO CAPTAIN PROICE WILL GET NUKED LIKE RUSSIAN WITH SHOTGUN IN BEST GAME MODERN WARFARE 2/3
  91. May 28, 2011
    9
    I'm a sucker for thought-provoking, quasi-science-fiction, who-done-it works, and "Source Code" fulfills all those needs! The writing is wonderful, and it's well played.
  92. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    I have been waiting a long time for a mind bending thriller and I finally found it in Source Code. Not only is it a great physiological thriller it is also one of the better ones ever made. With quotable lines, likable characters and an amazing plot that you can really get hooked into, Source Code is the greatest first quarter release I have ever seen.
  93. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Very inspiring idea and well executed film. It was a really interesting experience and I felt it tried to connect to Memento, although I have to admit that it doesn't come close. Yet, "Source Code" is an incredibly well done movie that anybody can enjoy.
  94. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The movie is great and a very cool mind twisting short movie which can be enjoyed every time you watch it. I am very impressed by the story of the film. A pure mind bending movie after INCEPTION. Source Code is awesome.
  95. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Okay the movie isn't that amazing. But oh my this is good to see some sci-fi that goes further than tall blue human or spaceships. Thanks for this. You might just want to see this movie for the concept itself.
  96. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Real science fiction movies with meaning and ideas are my favourite movies and Source Code is well worth everyones time. The story is engaging with many twists and turns, Jake Gyllenhaal is good as the lead, and there are some interesting surprises. The movie does seem a little too familiar to other science fiction movies we have already seen but it is still a solid watch - I want more movies like this. Recommended Expand
  97. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    Source Code is a very good film. Its original, has a good story to tell and alot of scenes in the film was very cool. My only problem with the film is some scens in the film were a bit boring. I would give this film a high matinee!
  98. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Source Code took me by surprise. The premise of a bomb being planted somewhere and our hero having to capture the bad-guy made me expecting a sort of action movie la Die Hard but instead it offered this very deep psychological thriller that'll make you think. There is some excellent chemistry between the protagonist Colter Stevens (Jake Gyllenhaal) and his counterpart Christina Warren (Michelle Monaghan) which makes sure that the inevitable romance doesn't look awkward. Colleen Goodwin (Vera Farmiga) does an excellent job as well, playing the devil's advocate. The twist at the ending is a bit of a braintwister and far too open to interpretation and the movie would have fared better off without it if you ask me. Because of this reason alone I can't give it a 10. This is one of the most captivating thrillers I have seen in my life. Expand
  99. BeK
    Jul 11, 2011
    7
    Well, where to start from. Source Code definitely represents something new, not really never seen before, but more than certain a pleasant surprise. The idea of the so called "Source Code" really brings to live another side of humanity. In some parts I found the movie rather boring, even though the actors gave their best performance. Some minor misleading events, movie mistakes, but in general a great movie, worth seeing, at least once. A real drama. Showing what the human mind can achieve, maybe in a couple of centuries, is captivating, no matter how small the budget of the movie is. Unexpected from many points of view. It really depends on the tastes of people, some people might love it, some people might find it too boring, overrated. In my opinion the truth is somewhere in between. Trailer, as always shows the best parts, like in any case, but don't discourage, this movie won't let you down, from any points of view, especially if you're really into, how can I say, hard movies, where you don't have to just sit in you sit in your seat and laugh it off, it really makes you think about a couple of things, life. Watch it, enjoy it. Collapse
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Source Code is a formally disciplined work -- a triumph of movie syntax -- made with rhythm and pace. Jones, unlike most commercial directors, accelerates the tempo without producing visual gibberish. [11 April, 2011 p. 88]
  2. Reviewed by: Una LaMarche
    Apr 6, 2011
    75
    The psychological payoffs outweigh any implausibilities. And what's the harm in logging off your network for a few hours to indulge in some good old-fashioned science fiction?
  3. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Apr 3, 2011
    50
    It is a tremendous downer when the second half of the movie shirks logic, defies its own established principles and raises more questions than it answers.